COLLECTION FINDING AID



STANLEY SCOTT PAPERS, (1969) 1971-1977

Assistant to the Director of Communications
Special Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials relating to Scott’s work in the White House Office of Communications (1971-1973) and as the White House liaison with minorities (1973-1975). The bulk of the collection dates from the Nixon administration, but significant materials from the first year of the Ford administration also appear. Some files concern such issues as minority business, civil rights, and equal employment opportunity. Others relate to White House contacts with the Congressional Black Caucus, the role of African-Americans in the Republican Party, and the role of Mr. Scott and other Black appointees in the two administrations.

QUANTITY
19.6 linear feet (ca. 39,200 pages)

DONOR
Bettye L. Scott (accession numbers 98-22 and 98-36)

ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Bettye L. Scott donated to the United States of America her copyrights in all of her husband’s unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William McNitt, September 2001
[s:\bin\findaid\scott, stan - papers.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Stanley S. Scott


July 2, 1933 - Born, Bolivar, TN

1951-1953 - Attended University of Kansas

1954-1956 - Served in U.S. Army in Korea

1959 - B.S. (Journalism), Lincoln University, Jefferson City, MO

1960-1961 - Editor-General Manager, The Memphis World, Memphis, TN

1961-1964 - General assignment news reporter, copy editor and editorial writer, Atlanta Daily World, Atlanta, GA

December 23, 1962 - Married to Bettye Lovejoy. They had three children: Kenneth Earl Scott, Susan Lovejoy Scott, and Stanley Southall Scott.

1964-1966 - First full-time Black general assignment news reporter, United Press International, New York City

1966-1967 - Assistant Director of Public Relations, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, New York headquarters

1967-1971 - Radio newsman, Westinghouse Broadcasting Corporation (the 24-hour all-news station, WINS), New York City

1971-1973 - Assistant to the Director of Communications for the Executive Branch, The White House

1973-1975 - Special Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs, The White House

1975-1977 - Assistant Administrator for Africa, Agency for International Development

1977-1988 - Philip Morris, Inc. – eventually became Vice President for Corporate Affairs

1988-1991 - Owned Crescent Distributing in New Orleans, a distributor for the Miller Brewing Company

April 20, 1992 - Died, New Orleans, LA


INTRODUCTION

Stanley S. Scott was an experienced journalist and public relations specialist when he joined the Nixon White House staff in June 1971. As an assistant to Director of Communications Herbert Klein, Scott worked on White House liaison with the minority newspapers, TV stations, and radio stations. He helped to publicize administration initiatives of special interest to African-Americans and was involved in the effort to gain the support of Black voters for President Nixon in the 1972 campaign. In many of his projects, Scott worked closely with Robert J. Brown, then serving as the Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs.

Brown left the White House staff at the beginning of President Nixon’s second term in 1973, so the President appointed Stan Scott to take over Brown’s duties. In his new position, Scott handled all aspects of liaison with Black Americans and Black organizations. His duties included corresponding with individuals and organizations, speaking at national and local meetings, and arranging White House briefings.

The Office of Minority Affairs was part of the Office of Public Liaison, which handled White House liaison with interest groups. William J. Baroody, Jr. headed the Office of Public Liaison. Stan Scott’s assistant in the Office of Minority Affairs was John C. Calhoun.

After the transition to the Ford administration, Scott was especially active in bringing together groups of Black leaders to meet with the new President. He remained in the Ford White House until October 1975 when he left to become Assistant Administrator for Africa at the Agency for International Development. Calhoun succeeded him as Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs.

The Scott Papers document his work in both White House positions, but contain only a small amount of material from his work with the Agency for International Development. His materials from the Office of Communications focus on relations with minority press and media outlets, especially his interactions with Black newspaper publishers. Also included are reports on an administration-wide communications review and a minority news dissemination plan for Cabinet departments.

Even while he was working in the Office of Communications, however, Scott’s interests and activities ranged well beyond his media role. The collection contains significant files on such topics as minority business, minority contracts, Federal support for Black colleges, and attempts to appeal to Black voters in the 1972 election.

The collection contains numerous documents addressed to or written by Robert J. Brown, including some that date from before Scott joined the White House staff. It is unclear whether Brown turned these materials over to Scott in a batch upon his departure from the White House staff or just sent them piecemeal as Scott needed to see them.

Scott’s folders dating from the period during which he served as Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs (1973-1975) are much broader in scope. As the highest-ranking Black official in the White House, he received contacts from many organizations and individuals seeking assistance, information, or meetings with government officials. Major topics include the administration’s response to a drought in Africa, appointment of Blacks to positions in the administration, White House interactions with the Congressional Black Caucus and other Black organizations, Federal civil rights activities, equal employment opportunity, and minority business programs.

The small file on the Agency for International Development focuses on Scott’s appointment and swearing-in and contains only a few scattered items on his work for that agency.

Related Materials (September 2001)
The Domestic Council files of Arthur Fletcher, Deputy Assistant to the President for Urban Affairs, document his work on urban affairs, minority business, and other issues of special interest to Black Americans during 1976. The files of Richard Parsons and Norman Ross, two other African-Americans on the Domestic Council staff, concern topics ranging from voting rights and school desegregation to natural resources and immigration. The campaign records of the President Ford Committee, President Ford’s campaign committee for the 1976 election, contain extensive materials on efforts to appeal to Black voters. See especially the files of Robert Keyes and the Black Desk in the People for Ford division.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Subject File, (1969) 1971-1976.  (Boxes 1-25, 9.7 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, reports, briefing papers, lists, speeches, travel vouchers, press releases, and clippings. A large portion of the materials concern Scott's work as Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs (1973-1975), although a significant amount dates from his work in the Office of Communications (1971-1973) and a small amount from his work with the Agency for International Development (1975-1977). Major topics include issues of special interest to African-Americans, the role of Blacks in the Republican Party, White House contacts with Black organizations, and the role of Black appointees in the administration.

Arranged alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.

View container list for this series

Speech File, (1969) 1971-1975.  (Boxes 25-27, 0.7 linear feet)
Copies of speeches delivered by Scott, along with about eight speeches by Robert J. Brown (Scott's predecessor as Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs) and one by John Calhoun (Scott's assistant). For most speeches only the final version of the speech appears, but occasionally the file includes drafts.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Outgoing Memoranda Chronological File, 1971-1975.  (Boxes 27-28, 0.75 linear feet)
Carbon copies of memoranda written by Scott to other White House staff members or agency officials.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Outgoing Correspondence Chronological File, 1971-1975.  (Boxes 29-31, 1.05 linear feet)
Carbon copies of letters written by Scott. Occasionally the incoming letter is attached. The files for 1971 and 1972 include some letters drafted by Scott but signed by Herbert G. Klein, White House Director of Communications.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Incoming Correspondence File, 1971-1975.  (Boxes 31-42, 4.4 linear feet)
Letters and some White House memoranda received by Scott. This series does not contain all letters received by Scott - many are also filed in the Subject File. Much of the correspondence in this series is routine in nature, but it often touches on the same topics as those appearing in the Subject File.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Referrals to Agencies, 1974-1975.  (Boxes 42-44, 0.7 linear feet)
Letters received by Scott from individuals or small businesses asking for information or assistance. He referred these letters to government agencies to either respond directly or draft a response for his use. Many of the letter writers requested assistance in dealing with problems faced by themselves, family members, or small businesses that they owned.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

White House Press Releases, 1973-1975.  (Boxes 44-47, 1.3 linear feet)
Copies of selected press releases issued by the White House Press Office. Included are presidential speeches, transcripts of press conferences and the Press Secretary's press briefings, and other information released by the White House.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Newspaper Clippings, (1959) 1972-1977. (Boxes 47-49, 1.0 linear feet)
Newspaper clippings, mainly focusing on Stan Scott's activities and the issues of interest to him and his office.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Subject File

  • 1890 Land Grant Colleges, 1971-1972
  • Administration Accomplishments for Blacks, 1973
  • Administration Activities and Accomplishments, 1972
  • Administration Initiatives in Civil Rights and Related Social Programs, 1975
  • Administration Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications, November 3, 1971
  • Administration Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications, January 4, 1972
  • Administration Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications, July 14, 1972 (1)-(2)
  • Administration Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications, June 14, 1973
  • Administration Initiatives Receiving Top Coverage in Minority Publications, August 6, 1973
  • Administration-Wide Communications Review - Departmental Reports, December 1971 (1)-(2)
  • Administration-Wide Communications Review - Draft Outline, October 7, 1971
  • Administration-Wide Communications Review - Draft Report, December 1971
  • Administration-Wide Communications Review - Final Report, June 1972
  • Advertising Expenditures by the Armed Services with Black News Media, 1973-1974
  • African Drought, 1973-1974 (1)-(3)

Box 2 - Subject File

  • African Drought, 1973-1974 (4)-(6)
  • Agency for International Development - Media Report, 1972
  • Agency for International Development - Stan Scott's Activities, 1975-1977 (1)-(5)
  • American Revolution Bicentennial Administration - Black Minority Candidates, May 1974 (1)-(2)
  • American Revolution Bicentennial Administration - Chairman and Administrator, 1973
  • Baroody, Bill - Conference on Economic and Domestic Affairs Speech, August 19, 1975

Box 3 - Subject File

  • Black Appointees, 1969-1975 (1)-(5)
  • Black Architects and Engineers, 1973-1974
  • Black Caucus - General, 1974-1975
  • Black Caucus - Legislative Agenda, February 1975
  • Black Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: Analyses of Position Papers (1)-(2)
  • Black Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: Briefing Book
  • Black Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: General (1)-(2)
  • Black Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: Notes

Box 4 - Subject File

  • Black Caucus - Meeting with the President, August 1974: Position Statements
  • Black Caucus - Response to Campaign Statement, October 1972
  • Black Caucus - Review of Recommendations, May 18, 1971
  • Black Caucus - Status Report on Administration Commitments, April 1972
  • Black Colleges, 1972-1975 (1)-(5)
  • Black Mayors, 1971
  • Black Military Officers - Promotions, 1973
  • Black Perspective - Organization of Professional Newsmen (Folder received empty)
  • Black Press Periodical Directory, 1973
  • Black Publishers, 1971-1975 (1)-(2)

Box 5 - Subject File

  • Black Publishers, 1971-1975 (3)-(4)
  • Black Report, 1972
  • Black Republican Analysis of Inflation Priorities, 1974
  • Black Republicans, 1972-1975 (1)-(2)
  • Black Silent Majority Committee, 1972-1975
  • Black Unemployment, 1975
  • Black Vote in 1972 - Campaign Plan (1)-(7)

Box 6 - Subject File

  • Black Vote in 1972 - General (1)-(5)
  • Black-Sponsored Presidential Dinner, 1975
  • Blacks Serving in the Ford Administration, 1975
  • Blacks Serving in the Nixon Administration, 1973
  • Blacks Serving in the Nixon Administration, 1974
  • Blair House, 1972
  • Boston School Situation, 1974-1975
  • Briefing Book Updates, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Briefing Book Updates, 1975
  • Briefings, 1971-1974 (1)-(3)

Box 7 - Subject File

  • Brimmer, Andrew F. - Speeches, 1972-1974
  • Broadcast License Renewal Act, 1974
  • Brown, Robert J. - Chronological File, December 1972 - February 1973
  • Brown, Robert J. - Draft Memo on the Office of Minority Affairs, 1973
  • Brown, Robert J. - Files, 1973
  • Brown, Robert J. - General, 1970-1972
  • Brown, Robert J. - Transcript of "Black Journal" Television Program on the Campaign, October 1972
  • Cabinet Department Reports on Progress in Civil Rights, 1972 (1)-(2)
  • Calhoun, John - Press Release on Appointment, 1973
  • Calhoun, John - Speech re Peace Corps and Minority Communications, 1971
  • Chisholm, Shirley - Bicentennial Speech, June 19, 1976
  • Christmas Cards, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • College Desegregation: A Survey of Black Students, 1974 (Publication)
  • Comprehensive Planning Assistance Program, 1973

Box 8 - Subject File

  • Conference on Inflation, 1974 - General (1)-(2)
  • Conference on Inflation, 1974 - Invitees (1)-(4)
  • Conference on Problems of the Minority Black Consumer, 1974?
  • Consumer Affairs, 1974-1975 (1)-(2)
  • Contractors (Minority), 1969-1974 (1)-(3)

Box 9 - Subject File

  • Contractors (Minority), 1969-1974 (4)-(8)
  • Council on Minority Planning and Strategy, 1973
  • Cover Letter File, 1971
  • Cover Letter File, 1972
  • Cover Letter File, 1974
  • Cover Letter File, 1975
  • Department of Agriculture - Reports on Minority Affairs, 1975

Box 10 - Subject File

  • Department of Commerce - Press Releases Impacting Minorities and Disadvantaged Persons, 1975 (1)-(5)
  • Department of Justice - Civil Rights Division Report, 1975
  • Department of Transportation - Civil Rights Activities Report, 1975
  • Department-Agency White House Liaison, 1973
  • Desk Calendar, 1973
  • District of Columbia Representation, 1973-1974
  • Economic Policy Briefing, January 20, 1975
  • Employment Policy, 1975
  • Equal Employment Opportunity, 1973-1975

Box 11 - Subject File

  • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 1973-1975 (1)-(2)
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Conference, 1973
  • Equal Opportunity in Housing, 1973-1974 (Publication)
  • Federal Civil Rights Activities - Special Analysis, 1975
  • Federal Interagency Committee on Education - Task Force Report on Black Colleges, 1970? (1)-(2)
  • First Monday - Republican National Committee Newsletter, 1972-1973 (1)-(5)
  • General Revenue Sharing and Civil Rights, 1975
  • General Services Administration - Affirmative Actions and Minority Contracts, 1975
  • General Services Administration - Civil Rights Program, 1974

Box 12 - Subject File

  • Hurst, Charles, 1973
  • Impoundment of Funds, 1971
  • Inauguration, 1973
  • Interagency Council for Minority Business Enterprise, 1974-1975 (1)-(3)
  • Interviews (Radio and TV), 1971
  • Kennedy Center Schedules, 1973-1975
  • Klein, Herbert G. - Speeches, 1972-1973
  • Letters of Recommendation, 1969-1975
  • List of Contacts, 1971
  • Mailing List of Black Newspapers - Additions, 1974
  • Mailing Lists, 1973-1974 (1)-(4)

Box 13 - Subject File

  • Mailing Lists, 1973-1974 (5)-(11)
  • Memos for the Record, 1974
  • Memos to Jerry Jones, 1974-1975
  • Minority Business, 1971-1975 (1)-(4)

Box 14 - Subject File

  • Minority Business, 1971-1975 (5)-(8)
  • Minority Employee Programs in the Foreign Affairs Agencies, 1974
  • Minority Employment in Federal Agencies in Mississippi, 1974
  • Minority Group Utilization of National Recreational Facilities, 1973
  • Minority Media News Dissemination Plan for Cabinet Departments, 1972
  • Miscellaneous, 1971-1974
  • NAACP, 1971-1975 (1)-(3)
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration - Equal Opportunity Program, 1974
  • National Bar Association Directory, 1970 (Publication)
  • National Business League Convention, 1974
  • National Citizens Committee for Fairness to the Presidency, 1974

Box 15 - Subject File

  • National Medical Association, 1969-1972 (1)-(3)
  • National Medical Association - Delegation to China, 1972
  • National Negro History Week, 1971-1972
  • Negro Press, 1969-1970
  • Negro Women's Advisory Council, 1969-1970
  • Nondiscrimination in Elementary and Secondary School Staffing Practices, 1971-1973
  • Office of Economic Opportunity, 1973
  • Office of Minority Business Enterprise - Congressional Hearings and Report, 1975 (1)-(3)
  • Office of Minority Business Enterprise - General, 1973-1975 (1)-(2)

Box 16 - Subject File

  • Office of Minority Business Enterprise - General, 1973-1975 (3)-(6)
  • Office of Minority Business Enterprise - Samuel Cornelius, 1974
  • Omnibus Crime Control Act, 1972
  • Op-Ed Responses, 1972-1973
  • Operation Second Chance, 1974
  • Opportunities Industrialization Centers, 1972-1975 (1)-(2)
  • Personnel Office, 1971-1975 (1)-(3)

Box 17 - Subject File

  • Personnel Office, 1971-1975 (4)-(16)

Box 18 - Subject File

  • Phelps-Stokes Fund, 1973
  • Photographic Regulations, 1971
  • Pottinger, J. Stanley - Speeches, 1973-1974
  • Presidential Delegation to the Bahamas Independence Ceremonies, 1973 (1)-(3)
  • Presidential Meeting with Black Civil Rights Leaders, October 25, 1974
  • Presidential Meeting with Mayors, August 14, 1974
  • Presidential Meetings, 1971-1975 (1)-(9)

Box 19 - Subject File

  • Presidential News Conferences, 1963-1971
  • Presidential News Summaries, 1973-1975 (1)-(3)
  • Presidential Papers, 1971?
  • Presidential Schedules, 1973-1975
  • Presidential Speeches, 1974-1975
  • Presidential Task Force for Jackson County, Mississippi - Education Committee Report, 1971
  • Press Conferences, 1972-1973
  • Project 75 (Minority Recruitment for Health Careers), 1975
  • Race Relations and Industry (Publication of D. Parke Gibson Associates), 1971-1975
  • Republican National Convention, 1972 - General
  • Republican National Convention, 1972 - Requests for Credentials
  • Republican Party, 1971-1975
  • Revenue Sharing Information, 1972-1973
  • Rhodesian Chrome, 1974

Box 20 - Subject File

  • Salute to Black Colleges, 1971
  • Scott, Lewis A. - Obituaries and Sympathy Cards, 1972
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Biographical Data, 1972-1975
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Christmas Cards
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Job Responsibilities, November 20, 1972
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Job Search, November 15, 1976
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Letters of Congratulation Upon Appointment as Special Assistant to the President, 1973 (1)-(3)
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Photographs and Audiotapes, 1971-1975
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Proposed Book, 1974?
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Public Appearances, 1975
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Staff, 1973-1975
  • Scott, Stanley S. - Trip to Lesotho, 1976
  • Sickle Cell Anemia, 1972-1974
  • Smith, A. Kendall, 1972
  • Soul City, 1973-1975 (1)-(2)
  • Southern Conference of Black Mayors, 1973-1975 (1)-(3)

Box 21 - Subject File

  • Southern Rural Action, Inc., 1973-1974
  • Special Assistant to the President for Minority Affairs - Office Role, 1972-1975 (1)-(3)
  • Standards of Conduct, 1974-1975
  • State of the Union, 1974-1975
  • Statistics (Workload), 1975
  • Surrogates - 1972 Presidential Campaign (1)-(2)
  • Swearing-In Ceremonies, 1971-1972
  • Talking Paper - "The Urban Phenomenon", 1971
  • Telephone Numbers and Addresses, 1974-1975
  • Thimmesch, Nick - Columns, 1973
  • Transcripts, 1971-1975 (1)-(3)
  • Travel Vouchers, 1971-1975 (1)-(2)

Box 22 - Subject File

  • Travel Vouchers, 1971-1975 (3)-(11)
  • Trends in Social and Economic Status of Negroes, 1971 (1)-(2)
  • "Tuesday at the White House" Meeting, March 25, 1975 - Community Health Care (1)-(2)
  • "Tuesday at the White House" Meeting, April 15, 1975 - Law Enforcement Assistance Administration

Box 23 - Subject File

  • United Cerebral Palsy, 1974
  • United States Air Force Equal Opportunity Briefing, September 27, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • United States Navy Equal Opportunity Briefing, July 26, 1972
  • United Way, 1973-1974
  • Urban League, 1971-1975 (1)-(5)
  • Urban League Convention, 1971
  • Vice President, 1973-1975
  • Voting Rights Act Extension, 1974-1975
  • Watergate and Black America, June 1974

Box 24 - Subject File

  • Wheat Street Gardens Housing Project, Atlanta, GA, 1973
  • White House Small Towns Task Force, 1974-1975 (1)-(2)
  • White House Staff Memoranda, 1972-1975
  • White House Telephone Directory, 1973-1975 (1)-(2)
  • White House "Think Tank" Session on Minority Business Development, March 14, 1975 (1)-(6)

Box 25 - Subject File

  • Whitney M. Young, Jr., Memorial Foundation, 1971-1973
  • WIN Campaign, 1975
  • Women's Bureau, 1972
  • World Peace Through Law Center, 1975
  • Wynn, Henry, 1974-1975

Box 25 (Continued) - Speech File

  • Undated Speeches by Robert J. Brown
  • November 26, 1969 - Thomasville Senior High School, Thomasville, NC (Speech by Robert J. Brown)
  • April 24, 1971 - Conference of Black Republicans (Speech by Robert J. Brown)
  • September 14, 1971 - National Association of Media Women
  • November 10, 1971 - Army Equal Employment Opportunity Officers Conference (Speech by Robert J. Brown)
  • December 4, 1971 - First Anniversary Banquet of Radio Station WAUC "Voice of the Atlanta University Center"
  • December 6-8, 1971 - Department of Transportation Public Affairs Conference
  • February 26, 1972 - Conference of the Association for Black Broadcasting
  • March 1972? - Draft Speech on Equal Employment Opportunity (Speech by Robert J. Brown)
  • March 11, 1972 - Midwest Regional Urban League Guilds
  • March 16, 1972 - Hungry Club of the Fourth Avenue Branch YMCA, Birmingham, AL
  • April 11, 1972 - University of South Carolina
  • April 21, 1972 - Friends of Richard Nixon Seminar (Speech by Robert J. Brown)
  • May 6, 1972 - California Progressive Republican Club
  • July 21, 1972 - Soul City (Speech by Robert J. Brown)
  • September 28, 1972 - Governor's Conference on Equal Opportunity in Employment (Speech by Robert J. Brown)
  • September 30, 1972 - Marion County Re-Elect the President Dinner, Indianapolis, IN
  • November 1, 1972 - Butler Street YMCA Hungry Club, Atlanta, GA
  • January 25, 1973 - National Newspaper Publishers Association
  • February 9, 1973 - Fiscal Year 1974 Budget, Fayette, MS
  • February 23, 1973 - National Association of Market Developers
  • March 23, 1973 - Op-Ed Response to Vernon Jordan
  • March 28, 1973 - National Urban League
  • March 29, 1973 - National Association of Minority Contractors

Box 26 - Speech File

  • April 7, 1973 - Ohio Republican Council Spring Conference
  • April 20, 1973 - Municipal Auditorium, Topeka, KS
  • May 4, 1973 - National Association of Minority Architects
  • May 17, 1973 - Atlanta Federal Personnel Council
  • June 1, 1973 - Associated Press Broadcasters Association
  • June 3, 1973 - Alabama State Commencement
  • June 22, 1973 - National Newspaper Publishers Association
  • June 23, 1973 - Concerned Citizens of the Capital District, Albany, NY
  • June 24, 1973 - St. Joseph's Academy Commencement Speech
  • August 2, 1973 - National Bar Association
  • August 9, 1973 - National Association of Television and Radio Announcers
  • August 15, 1973 - Delta Sigma Theta Convention
  • October 18, 1973 - Federal Executive Institute
  • October 19, 1973 - Defense Race Relations Institute
  • November 17, 1973 - Southern Black Mayors Conference
  • November 23, 1973 - New Carrollton, MD
  • November 27, 1973 - Associated General Contractors of America
  • December 10, 1973 - Professional Agricultural Workers Conference (Speech by John Calhoun)
  • January 16, 1974 - Sigma Delta Chi
  • February 27, 1974 - Hungry Club Forum, Butler Street YMCA, Atlanta, GA
  • May 21, 1974 - American Transit Association
  • July 16, 1974 - Foreign Affairs Executive Seminar
  • July 17, 1974 - National Association of Human Rights Agencies
  • July 24, 1974 - National Bar Association
  • September 14, 1974 - Radio and Television News Directors
  • September 28, 1974 - Ohio Black Political Assembly
  • October 10, 1974 - National Bankers Association
  • October 18, 1974 - National Business League Convention
  • October 26, 1974 - Lincoln University Alumni Luncheon
  • January 1975 - Headline Club, Chicago, IL
  • February 14, 1975 - "Think Tank" Session
  • February 26, 1975 - Equal Employment Opportunity
  • March 7, 1975 - King George Grand Lodge Dinner Dance in Honor of State Senator Owen Henry Johnson
  • March 14, 1975 - White House "Think Tank" Session

Box 27 - Speech File

  • April 1975? - Political Mobilization Rally
  • April 3, 1975 - Lincoln University Journalism Awards Seminar
  • June 6, 1975 - J.E.B. Stuart High School Commencement Address
  • June 28, 1975 - Campaign to Elect Melvin R. Jennings to Congress, Jackson, MS
  • November 10, 1975 - Swearing-In as Assistant Administrator of AID

Box 27 (Continued) - Outgoing Memoranda Chronological File

  • June 1971 - July 1972

Box 28 - Outgoing Memoranda Chronological File

  • August 1972 - October 1975 (incomplete for January 1973 to November 1974)

Box 29 - Outgoing Correspondence Chronological File

  • June 1971 - December 1973 (incomplete for January to September 1973)

Box 30 - Outgoing Correspondence Chronological File

  • January 1974 - March 1975 (incomplete for September 1974 and November 1974 to January 1975)

Box 31 - Outgoing Correspondence Chronological File

  • April - October 1975

Box 31 (Continued) - Incoming Correspondence File

  • June 1971 - October 1972

Box 32 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • November 1972 - October 22, 1973

Box 33 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • October 23, 1973 - March 1974

Box 34 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • April 1974 - August 12, 1974

Box 35 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • August 13, 1974 - October 1974

Box 36 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • November 1974 - December 1974

Box 37 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • January 1975 - February 11, 1975

Box 38 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • February 12, 1975 - March 23, 1975

Box 39 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • March 24, 1975 - April 1975

Box 40 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • May 1975

Box 41 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • June 1975 - August 5, 1975

Box 42 - Incoming Correspondence File

  • August 6-27, 1975

Box 42 (Continued) - Referrals to Agencies

  • January - August 1974

Box 43 - Referrals to Agencies

  • September 1974 - April 1975

Box 44 - Referrals to Agencies

  • May - October 1975

Box 44 (Continued) - White House Press Releases

  • February 1973 - March 1974

Box 45 - White House Press Releases

  • July 1974 - October 29, 1974

Box 46 - White House Press Releases

  • October 29, 1974 - March 1975

Box 47 - White House Press Releases

  • April - October 1975

Box 47 (Continued) - Newspaper Clippings

  • (1959) 1972 - January 1973

Box 48 - Newspaper Clippings

  • February 1973 - September 1974

Box 49 - Newspaper Clippings

  • November 1974 - January 1977