COLLECTION FINDING AID



PRESIDENTIAL HANDWRITING FILE

Documents Annotated by the President, 1974-77

Staff Secretary's Office



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Introduction | Series Descriptions | Container List

View digital copies of documents in the Chronological File


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This file contains occasional documents in President Ford's handwriting along with numerous memoranda, briefing papers, and reports submitted to the President and bearing his annotations (rarely extensive), signature, or initials.

QUANTITY
41.4 linear feet (ca. 82,800 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-120)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William McNitt, June 1988
[s:\bin\findaid\president's handwriting file.doc]


INTRODUCTION

History of the Presidential Handwriting File
President Lyndon Johnson's staff started the practice of maintaining a separate handwriting file. Gertrude Fry copied the practices of the Johnson White House when she joined the Nixon staff and continued to be responsible for the file under President Ford.

Ms. Fry and her staff filed the documents chronologically by the date of the latest item in the document case. In the early months of the Ford administration, Ms. Fry indexed most handwriting items by creating subject and name cross references which she kept in her office. For most documents she also made a different type of cross reference sheet which she sent to Central Files.

In a June 1975 reorganization of the Staff Secretary's Office, Ms. Fry's duties changed, her staff was cut, Special Files was discontinued, and all indexing of handwriting items ended. She nonetheless continued to add materials to the Handwriting File during the remainder of the administration, including scattered items which bore no handwriting yet which she apparently considered too sensitive for Central Files (items which might have been filed in Special Files had it not been discontinued).

When received by the Ford Library, the Presidential Handwriting File consisted of the chronologically arranged originals and the subject and name index covering only the early months of the administration. During archival processing of the White House Central Files Subject File, many photocopies of handwriting documents were made and attached to their Central Files cross reference sheets. Since as many as two-thirds of the documents were never cross referenced into Central Files, however, the Ford Library staff later photocopied the entire Handwriting File and arranged the photocopies by subject in 1987-88.

Related Materials (June 1988)
This collection relates in some manner to most other collections in the Library, especially the White House Central Files. The Presidential Paperwork Logs, also maintained by Ms. Fry and her staff, record the date and time that documents were submitted to the President, the time returned to the outbox, and the subsequent disposition of the items. The records of the Special Files Unit contain a series on Special Files administration which describes another aspect of Ms. Fry's work. Scattered materials on her work may also appear in the files of her supervisor James Connor, the Staff Secretary and Secretary to the Cabinet.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Subject File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1-52, 20.8 linear feet)
Photocopies of the original handwriting documents (see next series). Ford Library staff made the copies and arranged them by subject. Memoranda, correspondence, briefing papers and reports on most Ford administration topics. Major topics include: aircraft noise control, economics, energy, environmental protection, Federal agencies and departments, federal budget, foreign aid, intelligence investigations, New York City financial crisis, political affairs, the 1976 presidential campaign, presidential speeches, taxation, trade, transportation, and uranium enrichment.

Arranged by subject using White House Central Files Subject File categories.

View container list for this series

Chronological File, 1974-77.  (Boxes C1-C48, 18.8 linear feet)
Originals of the photocopied documents in the Subject File.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series and digitized documents

Index File - Subjects, 1974-75.  (Boxes I1-I3, 1.0 linear feet)
Cross reference sheets prepared by Gertrude Fry and her staff describing most, but not all, handwriting items to June 1975. The creation of the Subject File by Ford Library staff largely replaces this incomplete index.

Arranged by White House Central Files alpha-numeric codes.

View container list for this series

Index File - Names, 1974-75. (Boxes I3-I4, 0.6 linear feet)
Cross reference sheets prepared by Gertrude Fry and her staff describing selected handwriting items to June 1975.

Arranged alphabetically by name of the individual or organization. White House staff are not indexed.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Subject File

  • Agriculture (1)-(3)
  • Arts
  • Atomic Energy (1)-(8)

Box 2 - Subject File

  • Atomic Energy - Uranium Enrichment (1)-(2)
  • Business and Economics - Antitrust (1)-(2)
  • Business and Economics - Consumer Affairs (1)-(7)
  • Business and Economics - Domestic Trade (1)-(2)

Box 3 - Subject File

  • Business and Economics - Industry
  • Business and Economics - Industry: Automobiles
  • Business and Economics - Industry: Food
  • Business and Economics - Industry: Forestry
  • Business and Economics - Industry: Mining (1)-(3)
  • Business and Economics - Industry: Petroleum (1)-(5)
  • Business and Economics - Industry: Steel

Box 4 - Subject File

  • Business and Economics - National Economy (1)-(12)

Box 5 - Subject File

  • Business and Economics - National Economy (13)-(14)
  • Civil Aviation
  • Civil Aviation - CAB Decisions (1)-(2)
  • Civil Aviation - Jet Engine Cooperative Arrangement (1)-(2)
  • Civil Aviation - Noise Control (1)-(5)

Box 6 - Subject File

  • Civil Aviation - Noise Control (6)-(7)
  • Civil Aviation - Pan Am
  • Civil Aviation - Regulatory Reform
  • Commodities - Coffee
  • Commodities - Tin
  • Countries
  • Countries - Angola
  • Countries - Belgium
  • Countries - Burma
  • Countries - China (PRC)
  • Countries - China (Taiwan)
  • Countries - Cuba
  • Countries - Egypt
  • Countries - Ethiopia
  • Countries - France
  • Countries - Germany (Federal Republic)
  • Countries - Hungary
  • Countries - India
  • Countries - Iraq
  • Countries - Israel
  • Countries - Italy
  • Countries - Japan

Box 7 - Subject File

  • Countries - Korea (South)
  • Countries - Lebanon
  • Countries - Liberia
  • Countries - Mexico
  • Countries - Panama
  • Countries - Philippines
  • Countries - Poland
  • Countries - Portugal
  • Countries - Rhodesia
  • Countries - Saudi Arabia
  • Countries - South Africa
  • Countries - Spain
  • Countries - Turkey
  • Countries - United Kingdom
  • Countries - USSR
  • Countries - Vatican City
  • Countries - Vietnam (South)
  • Countries - Zambia
  • Disasters
  • Education (1)-(2)
  • Federal Aid
  • Federal Aid - Education
  • Federal Aid - Housing (1)-(3)

Box 8 - Subject File

  • Federal Aid - Revenue Sharing
  • Federal Aid - Transportation (1)-(3)
  • Federal Government
  • Federal Government - Freedom of Information
  • Federal Government - Presidential Libraries (1)-(2)
  • Federal Government - Presidential Powers (1)-(2)
  • Federal Government - Records and Archives
  • Federal Government Organizations Subseries:
  • Federal Government Organizations - General
    Agriculture Department
    American Revolution Bicentennial Administration
    Amtrak
    Board of Foreign Scholarships
    Business Council
    Cabinet

Box 9 - Subject File

  • Federal Government Organizations Subseries:
    Cabinet Meetings, 1974/08 - 1975/01
    Cabinet Meetings, 1975/02 - 1975/03
    Cabinet Meetings, 1975/04 - 1975/07
    Cabinet Meetings, 1975/08 - 1975/09
    Cabinet Meetings, 1975/10 - 1977/01
    Central Intelligence Agency (1)-(2)
    Civil Aeronautics Board
    Commerce Department
    Commission on Central Intelligence Agency Activities Within the United States (1)-(3)
    Commission on Civil Rights
    Commission on Postal Service
    Commodity Futures Trading Commission
    Community Service Administration

Box 10 - Subject File

  • Federal Government Organizations Subseries:
    Congress (1)-(2)
    Congress - House (1)-(3)
    Congress - Mail Logs (1)-(10)

Box 11 - Subject File

  • Federal Government Organizations Subseries:
    Congress - Mail Logs (11)-(14)
    Congress - Senate (1)-(2)
    Consumer Products Safety Commission
    Corporation for Public Broadcasting
    Council of Economic Advisers
    Council on Environmental Quality
    Council on International Economic Policy
    Defense Department (1)-(4)

Box 12 - Subject File

  • Federal Government Organizations Subseries:
    Domestic Council
    Domestic Council Committee on the Right of Privacy
    District of Columbia Government
    Drug Enforcement Administration
    Economic Policy Board
    Energy Independence Authority
    Energy Research and Development Administration
    Environmental Protection Agency
    Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
    Export-Import Bank of the United States
    Federal Aviation Administration
    Federal Bureau of Investigation
    Federal Council on Aging
    Federal Election Commission (1)-(3)
    Federal Energy Administration
    Federal Home Loan Bank Board
    Federal Maritime Commission
    Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
    Federal National Mortgage Association
    Federal Power Commission

Box 13 - Subject File

  • Federal Government Organizations Subseries:
    Federal Property Council
    Federal Reserve System
    Federal Trade Commission
    Foreign Claims Settlement Commission
    General Services Administration
    Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation
    Health, Education and Welfare Department (1)-(2)
    Housing and Urban Development Department
    Immigration and Naturalization Service
    Intelligence Oversight Board
    Interagency Classification Review Committee
    Interior Department
    Interstate Commerce Commission
    Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin
    Judicial Branch (1)-(3)
    Judicial Branch - District of Columbia Superior Court
    Judicial Branch - Supreme Court

Box 14 - Subject File

  • Federal Government Organizations Subseries:
    Justice Department
    Labor Department
    Law Enforcement Assistance Administration
    Legal Service Corporation
    Mining Enforcement and Safety Administration
    National Advisory Council on Education Professions Development
    National Alliance of Businessmen
    National Center for Productivity and the Quality of Working Life
    National Commission on Productivity and the Quality of Working Life
    National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year
    National Endowment for the Humanities
    National Historical Publications and Records Commission
    National Labor Relations Board
    National Mediation Board
    National Security Council
    National Study Commission on the Records and Documents of Public Officials
    National Transportation Policy Study Commission
    Nuclear Regulatory Commission
    Office of Economic Opportunity
    Office of Management and Budget
    Office of Science and Technology Policy
    Office of Telecommunications Policy
    Pennsylvania Avenue Development Corporation
    President (1)-(2)

Box 15 - Subject File

  • Federal Government Organizations Subseries:
    President - Former
    President - Former: Eisenhower
    President - Former: Johnson
    President - Former: Nixon
    President - Former: Truman
    President - Personal Representative
    President - Transition (1)-(2)
    President's Advisory Committee on Refugees
    President's Biomedical Research Panel
    President's Commission on Olympic Sports
    President's Committee on Urban Development and Neighborhood Revitalization (1)-(2)
    President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board
    President's Labor-Management Committee
    Securities and Exchange Commission
    Special Action Office for Drug Abuse Prevention (1)-(2)
    Special Representative for Trade Negotiations
    State Department

Box 16 - Subject File

  • Federal Government Organizations Subseries:
    Task Force on Questionable Corporate Payments Abroad (1)-(3)
    Tennessee Valley Authority
    Transportation Department
    Treasury Department
    U.S. Attorneys and Marshals
    U.S. Information Agency
    U.S. Parole Commission
    U.S. Postal Service (1)-(2)
    Veterans Administration
    Vice President (1)-(2)
    White House Office (1)-(3)

Box 17 - Subject File

  • Finance
  • Finance - Budget (1)-(8)
  • Finance - Budget: Agriculture Department
  • Finance - Budget: Defense Department (1)-(2)

Box 18 - Subject File

  • Finance - Budget: Defense Department (3)-(5)
  • Finance - Budget: District of Columbia
  • Finance - Budget: EPA
  • Finance - Budget: ERDA
  • Finance - Budget: Export-Import Bank
  • Finance - Budget: FEA
  • Finance - Budget: HEW (1)-(4)
  • Finance - Budget: HUD

Box 19 - Subject File

  • Finance - Budget: Interior Department
  • Finance - Budget: Law Enforcement Assistance Administration
  • Finance - Budget: Labor Department
  • Finance - Budget: Legislative Branch
  • Finance - Budget: NASA
  • Finance - Budget: National Endowment for the Arts
  • Finance - Budget: Transportation Department
  • Finance - Budget: Veterans Administration
  • Finance - Currency and Coinage (1)-(2)
  • Finance - Gold
  • Finance - International Financial Conditions Reports (1)-(3)
  • Finance - Loans: Housing
  • Finance - Loans: Students

Box 20 - Subject File

  • Finance - Monetary and Financial Conditions Report (1)-(3)
  • Finance - Public Debt
  • Finance - Taxation (1)-(10)

Box 21 - Subject File

  • Finance - Taxation (11)-(12)
  • Foreign Affairs
  • Foreign Affairs - Ambassadors (1)-(5)
  • Foreign Affairs - Financial Relations
  • Foreign Affairs - Foreign Aid (1)-(3)

Box 22 - Subject File

  • Foreign Affairs - Foreign Aid (4)-(10)
  • Foreign Affairs - Foreign Aid: Portugal
  • Foreign Affairs - Foreign Aid: South Vietnam
  • Foreign Affairs - Foreign Aid: Turkey

Box 23 - Subject File

  • Foreign Affairs - Fisheries
  • Foreign Affairs - Foreign Travel
  • Foreign Affairs - Moscow Embassy
  • Foreign Affairs - Panama Canal (1)-(2)
  • Gifts (1)-(3)
  • Health
  • Health - Cancer
  • Health - Drug Abuse
  • Health - Food and Nutrition
  • Health - Government Physicians Pay
  • Health - Pollution: Air (1)

Box 24 - Subject File

  • Health - Pollution: Air (2)-(5)
  • Health - Pollution: Toxic Substances Legislation
  • Health - Pollution: Water
  • Highways
  • Holidays - Christmas Cards
  • Housing
  • Human Rights
  • Human Rights - Equality (1)-(2)
  • Human Rights - Equality: Education
  • Human Rights - Equality: Employment
  • Human Rights - Equality: Voting

Box 25 - Subject File

  • Human Rights - Equality: Women (1)-(2)
  • Immigration and Naturalization
  • Indian Affairs
  • Insurance - Health
  • Insurance - No-Fault Automobile
  • International Organizations Subseries
    African Development Bank
    Asian Development Bank
    Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe
    International Atomic Energy Agency
    International Development Association
    International Finance Corporation
    International Joint Commission: U.S. and Canada
    International Labor Organization
    NATO
    Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
    Organization of American States

Box 26 - Subject File

  • International Organizations Subseries
    UNESCO
    United Nations
    United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea
    US - USSR Trade and Economics Council
  • Invitations (1)-(2)
  • Judicial-Legal Matters - Antitrust
  • Judicial-Legal Matters - Assassination
  • Judicial-Legal Matters - Clemency Program (1)-(4)
  • Judicial-Legal Matters - Crime (1)-(3)
  • Judicial-Legal Matters - INTERPOL
  • Judicial-Legal Matters - Lawyers

Box 27 - Subject File

  • Judicial-Legal Matters - Pardons
  • Judicial-Legal Matters - Pardons: Nixon
  • Judicial-Legal Matters - Protection of Candidates
  • Labor-Management Relations - Common Situs Picketing
  • Labor-Management Relations - Employment Statistics
  • Labor-Management Relations - Handicapped
  • Labor-Management Relations - Job Creation Legislation (1)-(3)
  • Labor-Management Relations - Labor Disputes
  • Labor-Management Relations - Labor Disputes: Coal Industry
  • Labor-Management Relations - Pensions
  • Labor-Management Relations - Unemployment (1)-(2)

Box 28 - Subject File

  • Labor-Management Relations - Unions
  • Labor-Management Relations - Wages and Hours
  • Labor-Management Relations - Work and Education Initiative
  • Labor-Management Relations - Youth Employment
  • Legislation (1)-(2)
  • Legislation - Filibustering
  • Legislation - Vetoes
  • Local Governments
  • Local Governments - Grand Rapids
  • Local Governments - New York (1)-(5)

Box 29 - Subject File

  • Local Governments - New York (6)-(10)
  • Medals and Awards
  • Medals and Awards - Civil Service (1)-(3)
  • Medals and Awards - Inaugural Medals
  • Medals and Awards - National Medal of Science (1)-(2)
  • Medals and Awards - National Security Medal
  • Medals and Awards - Presidential Medal of Freedom
  • Meetings and Conferences - Economic Summit

Box 30 - Subject File

  • Meetings and Conferences - Governors Conferences
  • Meetings and Conferences - White House Conference on Education
  • Meetings and Conferences - White House Conference on Handicapped Individuals
  • Meetings and Conferences - White House Conference on Library and Information Services
  • Meetings and Conferences - White House Conferences: General
  • Messages (1)-(2)
  • National Security
  • National Security - Chemical Warfare
  • National Security - Civil Defense
  • National Security - Intelligence (1)-(6)

Box 31 - Subject File

  • National Security - Intelligence (7)-(16)

Box 32 - Subject File

  • National Security - Intelligence (17)-(18)
  • National Security - Military Installations
  • National Security - Military Pay and Pensions
  • National Security - Military Personnel
  • National Security - MIA's
  • National Security - Refugees: Soviet Union
  • National Security - Refugees: Vietnam
  • National Security - SALT Treaties

Box 33 - Subject File

  • National Security - Strategic Stockpile
  • National Security - Wars: Angola
  • National Security - Wars: Cambodia (1)-(2)
  • National Security - Wars: Middle East (1)-(2)
  • National Security - Wars: Vietnam (1)-(3)
  • National Security - Wars: World War II
  • National Security - Weapons
  • Natural Resources
  • Natural Resources - Beverage Container Deposits
  • Natural Resources - Fish and Wildlife
  • Natural Resources - Land

Box 34 - Subject File

  • Natural Resources - Naval Petroleum Reserves (1)-(2)
  • Natural Resources - Oil and Natural Gas (1)-(6)
  • Natural Resources - Outer Continental Shelf Leasing (1)-(2)
  • Natural Resources - Waterways
  • Natural Resources - Wilderness Areas
  • Outer Space
  • Parks and Monuments - Memorials and Monuments
  • Parks and Monuments - Parks and Reservations

Box 35 - Subject File

  • Personnel Management
  • Personnel Management - Employment Appointments (1)-(4)
  • Personnel Management - Hatch Act
  • Personnel Management - Pay (1)-(8)

Box 36 - Subject File

  • Personnel Management - Pay (9)
  • Personnel Management - Retirement System
  • Political Affairs (1)-(3)
  • Political Affairs - Carter, Jimmy
  • Political Affairs - Debates
  • Political Affairs - Ford, Gerald (1)-(5)

Box 37 - Subject File

  • Political Affairs - Ford, Gerald (6)-(13)
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Alabama
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Alaska
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Arizona
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Arkansas
  • Political Affairs - Ford - California
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Colorado
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Connecticut
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Delaware
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Florida
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Georgia
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Hawaii
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Idaho
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Illinois
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Indiana
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Iowa
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Kansas
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Kentucky
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Louisiana

Box 38 - Subject File

  • Political Affairs - Ford - Maryland
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Massachusetts
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Michigan
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Minnesota
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Mississippi
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Missouri
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Nebraska
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Nevada
  • Political Affairs - Ford - New Hampshire
  • Political Affairs - Ford - New Jersey
  • Political Affairs - Ford - New Mexico
  • Political Affairs - Ford - New York
  • Political Affairs - Ford - North Carolina
  • Political Affairs - Ford - North Dakota
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Ohio
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Oklahoma
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Oregon
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Pennsylvania
  • Political Affairs - Ford - South Carolina
  • Political Affairs - Ford - South Dakota
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Tennessee
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Texas
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Utah
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Virginia
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Washington
  • Political Affairs - Ford - West Virginia
  • Political Affairs - Ford - Wyoming
  • Political Affairs - Fundraising

Box 39 - Subject File

  • Political Affairs - Reagan, Ronald (1)-(3)
  • Political Affairs - Republican Convention
  • Political Affairs - States - Michigan
  • Political Affairs - States - Other (1)-(2)
  • President Personal
  • President Personal - Articles and Books about the President
  • President Personal - Articles and Books by the President
  • President Personal - Family
  • President Personal - Memberships (1)-(2)

Box 40 - Subject File

  • President Personal - Memberships (3)-(5)
  • President Personal - Messages Received - Birthday
  • President Personal - Messages Received - Campaign (1)-(2)
  • President Personal - Names in Honor of the President
  • President Personal - Pets
  • President Personal - Post Administration Suggestions
  • Public Relations - Administration Support
  • Public Relations - Autographs and Photographs
  • Public Relations - Bicentennial (1)-(3)
  • Public Relations - Expo '81

Box 41 - Subject File

  • Public Relations - Engagements and Appointments (1)-(4)
  • Public Relations - Graphics
  • Public Relations - News Media (1)-(4)
  • Public Relations - Presidential Favors
  • Public Relations - Presidential Handwriting
  • Public Relations - Presidential News Summary
  • Public Relations - Presidential Telephone Calls
  • Public Relations - Press Briefings

Box 42 - Subject File

  • Public Relations - Press Conferences (1)-(5)
  • Public Relations - Public Opinion Polls
  • Publications
  • Real Property - Disposal
  • Recreation and Sports - Basketball
  • Recreation and Sports - Baseball
  • Recreation and Sports - Boxing
  • Recreation and Sports - Football
  • Recreation and Sports - Golf
  • Recreation and Sports - Olympics
  • Recreation and Sports - Skiing
  • Recreation and Sports - Swimming
  • Recreation and Sports - Tennis
  • Religious Matters
  • Religious Matters - Catholic
  • Religious Matters - Jewish

Box 43 - Subject File

  • Reports and Statistics - Population Censuses
  • Safety - Fire
  • Safety - Highway
  • Safety - Occupational
  • Sciences
  • Social Affairs
  • Social Affairs - Dinners (1)-(3)
  • Social Affairs - Receptions
  • Speeches (1)-(5)

Box 44 - Subject File

  • Speeches - 1975/01/13 - Economics and Energy
  • Speeches - Messages to Congress (1)-(2)
  • Speeches - Messages to Congress - 1975/06/19 - Crime Message (1)-(2)
  • Speeches - Messages to Congress - 1975/03/04 - Petroleum Tariff Suspension Veto (1)-(3)
  • Speeches - 1975/10/29 - National Press Club
  • Speeches - Presidential Spokesmen
  • Speeches - State of the Union (1)-(2)

Box 45 - Subject File

  • States
  • Trade
  • Trade - Arab Boycott
  • Trade - Exports
  • Trade - Grain Sales to Soviet Union (1)-(2)
  • Trade - Imports (1)-(2)
  • Trade - Imports - Asparagus
  • Trade - Imports - Cognac

Box 46 - Subject File

  • Trade - Imports - Footwear
  • Trade - Imports - Meat
  • Trade - Imports - Petroleum (1)-(5)
  • Trade - Imports - Specialty Steel

Box 47 - Subject File

  • Trade - Imports - Sugar
  • Trade - Imports - Textiles
  • Transportation
  • Transportation - Alaska Pipeline
  • Transportation - Mass Transit (1)-(4)
  • Transportation - Railroads (1)-(5)
  • Transportation - Trucking Industry Deregulation

Box 48 - Subject File

  • Transportation - Water (1)-(2)
  • Transportation - Water - Cargo Preference Legislation
  • Transportation - Water - Tanker Industry
  • Transportation - Water - Third Flag Legislation (1)-(2)
  • Trips - Domestic (1)-(4)
  • Trips - Domestic - Atlanta
  • Trips - Domestic - Vail
  • Trips - Domestic - Washington Metropolitan Area

Box 49 - Subject File

  • Trips - Foreign (1)-(2)
  • Trips - Foreign - Economic Summit - 1975 (1)-(3)
  • Trips - Foreign - Economic Summit - 1976 (1)-(4)
  • Utilities - Electricity

Box 50 - Subject File

  • Utilities - Energy (1)-(4)
  • Utilities - Energy - Biweekly Report on President's Program
  • Utilities - Energy - Conservation
  • Utilities - Energy - Energy Policy Briefing, 1974/12/19 (1)-(2)
  • Utilities - Energy - Legislation (1)-(4)

Box 51 - Subject File

  • Utilities - Energy - Legislation (5)-(7)
  • Utilities - Energy - Proposed Department of Energy (1)-(2)
  • Utilities - Energy - Synthetic Fuels
  • Utilities - Energy - Telecommunications
  • Utilities - Telephone
  • Veterans Affairs
  • Veterans Affairs - Educational Programs
  • Veterans Affairs - Hospitalization
  • Veterans Affairs - Pensions
  • Welfare
  • Welfare - Abortions

Box 52 - Subject File

  • Welfare - Children
  • Welfare - Correctional Institutions
  • Welfare - Food Stamps (1)-(3)
  • Welfare - Poverty Programs (1)-(3)
  • Welfare - Social Security
  • Welfare - Vocational Rehabilitation
  • Welfare - Youth Programs
  • White House Administration
  • White House Administration - Budget
  • White House Administration - Furnishings
  • White House Administration - Mail Reports

Please click on the titles below to access listings of the documents in each box along with links to view them.

Box C1 - Chronological File

Box C2 - Chronological File

Box C3 - Chronological File

Box C4 - Chronological File

Box C5 - Chronological File

Box C6 - Chronological File

Box C7 - Chronological File

Box C8 - Chronological File

Box C9 - Chronological File

Box C10 - Chronological File

Box C11 - Chronological File

Box C12 - Chronological File

Box C13 - Chronological File

Box C14 - Chronological File

Box C15 - Chronological File

Box C16 - Chronological File

Box C17 - Chronological File

Box C18 - Chronological File

Box C19 - Chronological File

Box C20 - Chronological File

Box C21 - Chronological File

Box C22 - Chronological File

Box C23 - Chronological File

Box C24 - Chronological File

Box C25 - Chronological File

Box C26 - Chronological File

Box C27 - Chronological File

Box C28 - Chronological File

Box C29 - Chronological File

Box C30 - Chronological File

Box C31 - Chronological File

Box C32 - Chronological File

Box C33 - Chronological File

Box C34 - Chronological File

Box C35 - Chronological File

Box C36 - Chronological File

Box C37 - Chronological File

Box C38 - Chronological File

Box C39 - Chronological File

Box C40 - Chronological File

Box C41 - Chronological File

Box C42 - Chronological File

Box C43 - Chronological File

Box C44 - Chronological File

Box C45 - Chronological File

Box C46 - Chronological File

Box C47 - Chronological File

Box C48 - Chronological File

Box C49 - Chronological File

Box C50 - Chronological File

Box C51 - Chronological File

Box C52 - Chronological File

Box C53 - Chronological File

Box C54 - Chronological File

Box I1 - Index File - Subjects

  • AG (Agriculture) - FI (Finance)

Box I2 - Index File - Subjects

  • FO (Foreign Affairs) - PU (Publications)

Box I3 - Index File - Subjects

  • RA (Real Property) - WH (White House Administration)

Box I3 (Continued) - Index File - Names

  • A-F

Box I4 - Index File - Names

  • G-Z