COLLECTION FINDING AID



ROBERT ANDERSON PAPERS, (1946) 1965-95

Special Assistant to Secretary of State Henry Kissinger for Press Relations, Foreign Service Officer, and Ambassador




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

The collection contains materials primarily documenting the public side of diplomacy, especially Henry Kissinger’s public statements and press conferences (1974-75) and Robert Anderson’s later positions as U.S. Ambassador to Morocco and the Dominican Republic.

QUANTITY
16.4 linear feet (approximately 32,800 pages)

DONOR
Mark Anderson (Accession number 1997-NLF-005))

ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Mark Anderson donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his father’s unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William H. McNitt, January 2013
[s:\bin\finding aids & guides\anderson, robert - papers.docx]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Robert Anderson


January 6, 1922 Born in Boston, Massachusetts

1944 - B.A., Yale University

1943-1946 - First Lieutenant, U.S. Army

1946-72 - Foreign Service Officer in China, Thailand, India, and France, along with State Department assignments as International Relations Officer, Staff Assistant to the Assistant Secretary of Public Affairs, Special Assistant to the Undersecretary, and Country Director for France-Benelux in the Bureau of European Affairs

1972-74 - U.S. Ambassador to Dahomey (now known as Benin)

1974-76 - Special Assistant to Secretary of State Henry Kissinger and Department spokesman

1976-78 - U.S. Ambassador to Morocco

1978-82 - Special Assistant for International Affairs to Supreme Allied Commander, Atlantic and to U.S. Commander-in-Chief, Atlantic

1982-1985 - U.S. Ambassador to the Dominican Republic

1985-1996 - International business advisor

April 5, 1996 - Died in Fairfax County, Virginia


INTRODUCTION

During his long career in the Foreign Service, Robert Anderson served in a succession of posts both overseas and in Washington, culminating in his work as Special Assistant for Press Relations to Secretary of State Henry Kissinger and as U.S. Ambassador to three different countries.

His papers cover mostly the public face of diplomacy – speeches, remarks, testimony, trips, and events. The collection contains only occasional glimpses of behind-the-scenes discussions or exchanges of cables with other State Department officials.

Only fragmentary files covering his early years in the Foreign Service are included, but the collection contains more substantive and complete materials for the period 1965 to 1970 when his assignments focused on Europe (especially France).

His files from his work as State Department spokesman from April 1974 to late 1975 contain transcripts of his press briefings, his notes on Kissinger trips and events, and press releases of Kissinger speeches, remarks, and press conferences.

Among Anderson’s files on his three posts as U.S. Ambassador, the materials on Dahomey (now Benin) contain only congratulatory letters, guest lists, clippings, and schedules. They are the least informative about his work as Ambassador. The files on his work as Ambassador to Morocco (1976-78) and the Dominican Republic (1982-85) are much more complete. The focus is on the public aspects of the position – speeches, travels, events, and social affairs.

Related Materials (December 2012)
The many Library collections that fall under the heading National Security Adviser have much on the work of Secretary of State Kissinger and also contain copies of many Department of State cables to and from American embassies. Some of Anderson’s 1976 cables to and from Washington appear in Box 4 of the Presidential Country Files for Africa.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Foreign Service Subject File, (1946) 1965‑72.  (Boxes 1‑8, 3.0 linear feet)
Meeting notes, letters, lists, interviews, speeches, invitations, and clippings. Although some documents date from the early years of his Foreign Service career, the focus is on the period 1965 to 1970 when he served in the State Department Bureau of European Affairs and in France. Included is much on U.S. relations with France and other nations of Western Europe and briefing materials for Vice President Hubert Humphrey’s visit to Europe in 1967.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Ambassador to Dahomey Subject File, 1972‑74. (Boxes 8‑9, 0.2 linear feet)
Congratulatory letters, guest lists, clippings, and schedules. This fragmentary series focuses on personal matters and contains very little on U.S. relations with Dahomey.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Special Assistant to Secretary of the State for Press Relations Subject File, 1974‑75.  (Boxes 9‑18, 4.0 linear feet)
Press briefing transcripts, press releases, handwritten notes, schedules, briefing materials, letters, and clippings. The series focuses on the public side of Secretary of State Henry Kissinger’s work between April 1974 and late 1975, including copies of many Kissinger addresses, remarks, statements, testimony, toasts, and transcripts of press conferences and Q&A sessions. It also includes transcripts of Anderson’s briefings for the media and his notes on various Kissinger trips, events, and interviews.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Ambassador to Morocco Subject File, 1976‑78. (Boxes 19‑24, 2.2 linear feet)
Speeches, schedules, meeting agendas, and correspondence. The series focuses on public aspects of his work such as speeches, press coverage, and trips (both trips within Morocco and consultations in Paris and Washington).

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Tangiers American Legation Museum Society Subject File, 1980‑95.  (Boxes 24‑25, 0.4 linear feet)
Meeting materials, financial records, and a history of the legation building. After leaving Morocco, Anderson became involved in an effort to preserve the old American legation building (the first overseas property ever acquired by the U.S. Government) as a museum of early American diplomacy.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Special Assistant for International Affairs to CINCLANT Subject File, 1978‑82. (Box 25, 0.2 linear feet)
A fragmentary set of personal materials dating from the time Anderson spent on the staff of CINCLANT (Commander in Chief, Atlantic Command).

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Ambassador to Dominican Republic Subject File, 1982‑85.  (Boxes 26‑35, 4.0 linear feet)
Speeches, guest lists, and press coverage. The series focuses on public aspects of his work such as speeches and trips. Some materials focus more broadly on matters relating to the entire Caribbean area.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Post-State Department Subject File, 1985‑90. (Boxes 36‑37, 0.6 linear feet)
Correspondence and meeting materials for organizations to which he belonged and an oral history covering his entire career.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Correspondence File, 1977‑95.  (Boxes 37‑39, 1.0 linear feet)
Personal correspondence arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Contact Cards File, ca. 1969‑ca1985. (Boxes 40‑43, 0.8 linear feet)
Card files contain names and contact information for individuals Anderson knew in France, Morocco, Dominican Republic, and other countries.

Arranged by country and thereunder alphabetically for the three countries. A separate sequence covers “General Out-of-Country.”

View container list for this series

Audiovisual Material 

View container list


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Foreign Service Subject File

  • Anderson – Springsteen Consultation, September 29, 1966
  • Appointment as Chairman of Task Force VIII
  • Article on America by Raymond Cartier, PARIS MATCH, December 19-26, 1970
  • Atlantic Affairs Conference, May 1965
  • Ball, George, Transcript of ABS News Tribute to Undersecretary George Ball, October 1966
  • Berlin Crisis: A Report on the Moscow Discussion, 1948
  • Bordeaux Trip, October 30-31, 1970
  • Brussels, May 1966
  • Brussels, Meeting Notes, November 13-14, 1970
  • Card Project (1)-(2)
  • China, Foreign Service Trip, July 14, 1946
  • Congratulatory Letters, 1968 (1)-(2)
  • Conrad-Alexandre Gerard – Artisan De L’independence Des Etats-Unis
  • Consulate General
  • Creation of Action Committee for a United States of Europe
  • Ecole Nationale d’Administration (ENA) – Article, January 1963
  • Europe – Nuclear
  • Europe – Policy

Box 2 - Foreign Service Subject File

  • France, 1965
  • France, 1966
  • France, 1967
  • France, 1968
  • France – NATO Propaganda File, 1965-66 (1)-(2)
  • French News Clippings
  • Grenoble Trip Press Coverage, December 1969
  • Guest Lists (1)-(2)

Box 3 - Foreign Service Subject File

  • Guest Lists (3)-(10)
  • The Hague, May 1966
  • Inauguration de L’Avenue du President Kennedy, October 2, 1969
  • Inauguration Ecole Maternelle Kennedy, October 1969
  • Informal Survey of Legal Provisions Affecting Foreign Investment in the U.S.
  • Introduction Au Debat Sur “Les Etats-Unis Et L’Europe: Vers La Paix de L’an 2000”
  • London Trip, November 27, 1964

Box 4 - Foreign Service Subject File

  • Michigan Speaking Tour, April 22-26, 1968 (1)-(2)
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1962-71
  • Mission Commerciale Americaine, October 10, 1960
  • Monsieur le Maire, Avignon
  • Morton Interview with Tran Kim Phuong
  • Multilateral Force (MLF), 1964-66
  • NAC – UNCTAD Trip, March 21-29, 1964
  • NATO – Consultation
  • News Clippings, etc. (1)-(5)
  • Nixon Interview at Newspaper Editors’ Convention, 1971
  • Paris and Brussels Trip, December 1967
  • Paris, France Trip, April 1966
  • Paris, France Trip, April 30-May 10, 1967

Box 5 - Foreign Service Subject File

  • Paris, France Trip, June 1968
  • Personal (1)-(5)
  • Personnel File
  • Pompidou
  • Presidential Trips to Europe
  • Representation Vouchers, 1971
  • Shriver, Sargent – Remarks to American Chamber of Commerce, Paris, June 26, 1968
  • Social Invitations, 1970
  • Speeches
  • State Department Newsletters
  • Statement by Ambassador J. Robert Schaetzel, March 23, 1970

Box 6 - Foreign Service Subject File

  • Travel – Itinerary, 1970
  • Travel – Official – Old File (1)-(3)
  • U.S. – French Relations (1)-(7)
  • U.S. Economy: An Interpretation by Gabriel Hague
  • U.S. Relations with Western Europe (1)

Box 7 - Foreign Service Subject File

  • U.S. Relations with Western Europe (2)
  • Undersecretary Ball Visit, November 10-13, 1963
  • Undersecretary’s Visit to Paris, France, July 29-30, 1968
  • United Nations Fund for Population Activities (UNFPA)
  • USS Enterprise CVAN-65
  • Vice President Hubert Humphrey’s Trip to Europe, 1967 (1)–(8)

Box 8 - Foreign Service Subject File

  • Vice President Hubert Humphrey’s Trip to Europe, 1967 (9)-(12)
  • Vice President Hubert Humphrey’s Trip to Europe, 1967 – Information Book – Bonn, Germany
  • Vice President Hubert Humphrey’s Trip to Europe, 1967 – Information Book – Italy
  • Washington, D.C. Trip File, January 1971 (1)-(2)
  • World Affairs Council of Philadelphia, May 9, 1968
  • Young Leaders Conference, Bellagio, November 3-6, 1966

Box 8 [Continued] - Ambassador to Dahomey Subject File

  • Congratulatory Letters, 1971-72
  • Guest Lists (1)-(2)
  • News Clippings
  • Schedules

Box 9 - Ambassador to Dahomey Subject File

  • Travel
  • Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File
  • American Bar Association
  • Anderson Notes, 1974 (1)-(5)
  • Anderson Notes, 1975 (1)-(3)

Box 10 - Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File

  • Anderson Notes, 1975 (4)
  • Anderson Press File – Kissinger
  • China Background Briefing
  • CSCE, Final Act, Helsinki, 1975 (1)-(2)
  • Daily Press Briefings, June 3, 1974-January 8, 1975 (7 folders)

Box 11 - Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File

  • Daily Press Briefings, January 9-June 25, 1975 (9 folders)

Box 12 - Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File

  • Daily Press Briefings, July 7-November 15, 1975 (7 folders)
  • Detroit Michigan Trip, November 24-25, 1975
  • Enforcement of Paris Agreement
  • Fifth Annual Dinner of Japan Society, Kissinger Speech
  • Foreign Travel of Secretary of State Henry A. Kissinger, 1973-1975
  • Good Luck Letters, Robert Anderson
  • Israel – Egypt Agreement, January 9, 1975

Box 13 - Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File

  • Kissinger Arrival and Departure Statements, Joint Statements, Exchange of Toasts, 1974-75 (1)-(5)
  • Kissinger Press Conferences, 1974-75 (1)-(5)

Box 14 - Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File

  • Kissinger Press Conferences, 1974-75 (6)-(7)
  • Kissinger Speaking Engagements, 1975 (1)-(5)
  • Kissinger Speeches, Interviews, Statements, Testimony, 1974 (1)-(2)
  • Kissinger Speeches, Interviews, Statements, Testimony, 1975 (1)-(3)

Box 15 - Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File

  • Kissinger Speeches, Interviews, Statements, Testimony, 1975 (4)-(7)
  • Kissinger Trip to Berlin, Germany – Briefing Book, May 21, 1975
  • Kissinger Trip to Milwaukee/Minneapolis, July 14-16, 1975
  • Murphy Commission – Role of Ambassador
  • News Clippings (1)-(2)

Box 16 - Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File

  • News Releases (1)-(2)
  • Notebook: Ottawa, June 18-19, 1974
  • Notebook: Moscow and Western Europe, June 30, 1974
  • Notebook: New Republic Lunch, July 11, 1974; Time, August 13, 1974; Egyptian Journalists, August 26, 1974; Department Background, September 10, 1974; Foreign Correspondents Background Lunch, September 12, 1974
  • Notebook: United Nations General Assembly, September 22-24, 1974; New York Times Luncheon, September 30, 1974; Newsweek Luncheon, October 1, 1974
  • Notebook: Middle East Trip, October 8-15, 1974
  • Notebook: Moscow and South Asia, October 23-November 9, 1974 (1)-(2)
  • Notebook: China Trip, November 21-30, 1974; NATO Ministerial, Brussels, December 10-13, 1974
  • Notebook: Legargae (?) Group Luncheon, December 20, 1974

Box 17 - Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File

  • Notebook: Los Angeles, January 24, 1975
  • Notebook: Middle East and Europe, February 9-19, 1975
  • Notebook: Houston, Texas, March 1-2, 1975; Salinger Interview, April 12, 1975; Luncheon with de Ligonzac (?), April 16, 1975; St. Louis, May 12, 1975; Kansas City, Missouri, May 13, 1975; Atlanta, Georgia, June 23-24, 1975
  • Notebook: United Kingdom, March 5-23, 1975
  • Notebook: Middle East Trip, March 5-23, 1975
  • Notebook: Vienna, Bonn, Berlin, Ankara, Paris, Brussels, May 18-31, 1975
  • Notebook: Paris, France; Geneva, Switzerland; Bonn, London, Milwaukee, Montreal; Birmingham, Alabama, July 9-August 14, 1975
  • Notebook: Middle East Trip, August 20-September 3, 1975
  • Notebook: New York; Kissinger Press Conference; Orlando, Florida; Cincinnati, Ohio; United Nations General Assembly, New York, September 5-October 2, 1975
  • Notebook: Ottawa, Canada, October 14-15, 1975; Kissinger Press Conference, Washington, D.C., November 10, 1975; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, November 11, 1975; New York, November 18, 1975; Legangae Lunch, November 29, 1975; Detroit, Michigan, November 24, 1975
  • Notebook: Washington, D.C.

Box 18 - Special Assistant to the Secretary of State for Press Relations Subject File

  • Notebook: Unidentified (1)-(3)
  • Official Visit of Shah of Iran
  • Ottawa, Canada, October 14-15, 1975
  • People’s Republic of China – Background Notes
  • Select Committee on Intelligence
  • Southern Commodity Producers Conference, Birmingham, Alabama, August 14, 1975
  • Southern Governors’ Conference, September 16, 1975
  • St. Louis and Kansas City, Missouri, May 12-13, 1975
  • Stevenson, Adlai – Speech, Jersey City University, February 7, 1975
  • Trade and Emigration Agreement – Statement by Senator Henry Jackson
  • Travel – Ambassador Anderson (1)-(3)
  • U.S. International Agreements – Transmission to Congress, P.L. 92-403
  • United Nations General Assembly – 30th Regular Session, September 21-25, 1975
  • United Nations General Assembly – Special Session
  • World Affairs Council, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, November 11, 1975

Box 19 - Ambassador to Morocco Subject File

  • Agadir Trip, November 24-27, 1976
  • Amman, Paris Consultations, Aug 4-9, 1977
  • Atlas Trip, May 7-13, 1977
  • Brussels Consultation, September 13-16, 1978
  • Chief of Mission Conference, Amman, Jordan, February 16-22, 1977
  • Constitution – Kingdom of Morocco
  • Embassy Meeting Agendas, 1977
  • Embassy Meeting Agendas, 1978
  • Fez Trip, October 29-31, 1976
  • Gibraltar Trip, November 18-21, 1976
  • Honorary President of American Chamber of Commerce in Morocco
  • Imilchil Trip, October 1-3, 1976
  • Italy Trip, January 14-17, 1977 (1)-(2)
  • Le Monde, March 21, 1978
  • Marrakech Trip, March 24-26, 1978
  • Marrakech - Agadir Trip, November 3-10, 1976

Box 20 - Ambassador to Morocco Subject File

  • Marrakech, Ouarzazate, Zagora, September 26, 1978
  • Maroc Magazine, 1977
  • Menknes Trip, November 3-4, 1977
  • Morocco – Bicentennial Media Coverage
  • Morocco – Binder I (1)-(2)
  • Morocco – Press File (1)-(6)

Box 21 - Ambassador to Morocco Subject File

  • Morocco – Press File (7)-(9)
  • Norfolk, Washington, New York Consultations, August 11-September 4, 1978
  • North Moroccan Trip, August 15-17, 1976
  • Paris Consultation, July 27-30, 1977
  • Paris Consultation, June 4-5, 1978
  • Phosphate Trip, June 23-25, 1976
  • Press Coverage (1)-(6)

Box 22 - Ambassador to Morocco Subject File

  • References - Villa Taylor and Dar es-Saada (1)-(2)
  • Schedules, 1977 (1)-(2)
  • South Moroccan Trip, November 10-19, 1977
  • South Moroccan Trip, May 13-20, 1978
  • Spain Trip, September 4-9, 1976
  • Speeches (1)-(5)

Box 23 - Ambassador to Morocco Subject File

  • Stuttgart Trip, July 29-30, 1976
  • Tangier Trip, July 6-8, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Tangier Trip (on USS Nimitz), July 20-21, 1976
  • Tangier Trip, January 27-29, 1977
  • Tangier Trip (also Brussels and Paris), June 1977
  • Tangier Trip (also Gilbraltar), October 1-5, 1977
  • Tangier Trip, April 3-4, 1978
  • Tangier Trip, April 24-26, 1978 (1)-(2)
  • Tangier Trip, June 16-19, 1978
  • Travel – Personal

Box 24 - Ambassador to Morocco Subject File

  • Trophee Hassan II, December 6-14, 1975
  • Tunis/Paris Consultations, February 28-March 4, 1978
  • U.S. Exhibition – Casablanca, 1977
  • Washington Consultation, May 23-28, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Washington Consultation, March 1977
  • Washington Consultation, November 24-December 10, 1977
  • Washington Consultation, March 9-15, 1978
  • Washington Trip, January 26-February 24, 1976

Box 24 [Continued] - Tangier American Legation Museum Society Subject File

  • Board Meeting, June 20, 1980
  • Board Meeting, July 21, 1980
  • Board Meeting, October 24, 1980
  • Board Meeting, January 16, 1981
  • Board Meeting, April 24, 1981
  • Board Meeting, September 17, 1981
  • Financial (1)-(2)
  • History (1)-(2)
  • Miscellaneous

Box 25 - Tangier American Legation Museum Society Subject File

  • Personal Correspondence (1)-(6)

Box 25 [Continued] - Special Assist for International Affairs to CINCLANT Subject File

  • Anderson – Binder 3
  • Anderson – Binder 4
  • Personnel File
  • Press File – CINCLANT (1)-(2)
  • Trip to Caribbean, March 7-April 8, 1980
  • Yorktown Victory Celebration

Box 26 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • American Chamber of Commerce Speech, January 18, 1984 (1)-(3)
  • American Chamber of Commerce Speech, November 21, 1984 (1)-(2)
  • Anderson – Appointment and Agreement (1)-(2)
  • Azua Trip, January 5, 1984
  • Cabo Trip, September 15, 1982
  • Caribbean
  • Caribbean Basin Initiative (1)-(2)

Box 27 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • Caribbean Basin Initiative (3)-(6)
  • Caribbean Basin Initiative – Seminars, April 29-May 4, 1985
  • Caribbean Investment Commitments
  • Caribbean Resources Development Foundation, Inc. – The Caribbean 100
  • Casa de Campo Property Owners
  • Central America
  • Chicago – Washington – New York, June 20-27, 1985
  • Chiefs of Mission Conference, December 1-2, 1983 (Miami, FL)
  • Chiefs of Mission Conference, March 27-30, 1985 (Homestead AFB, FL)
  • Constanza Trip, October 25, 1984
  • Constanza Trip, July 16, 1985

Box 28 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • Da Jaban, Monte Cristi, and Northwest Coast Trip, October 3-8, 1984
  • Death of President Guzman
  • Decoration of Order of Merit Duarte, Sanchez, and Mella, June 23, 1985
  • Dominican American Chamber of Commerce, January 25-29, 1984 (New York)
  • Dominican American Chamber of Commerce, February 22-24, 1984 (Miami)
  • Dominican Republic – Economy – Unclassified (1)-(3)
  • Dominican Republic – History - Unclassified
  • Dominican Republic – State Visit of President Blanco to Washington, April 1984 (1)-(4)
  • Dominican Republic – State Visit of President Blanco to Washington, April 1984 – Clippings before the Trip (1)-(2)

Box 29 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • Dominican Republic – State Visit of President Blanco to Washington, April 1984 – Clippings during the Trip (1)-(4)
  • Dominican Republic – Trips (1)-(2)
  • Eastern Trip, January 24-25, 1985
  • Editorials, 1982-85
  • Employee Evaluation Reports – Personal
  • Falconbridge Trip, November 5, 1982
  • Federal Programs
  • Florida Trip, April 19-26, 1983
  • Foreign Investments – Dominican Republic
  • Guest Lists, June-December 1982 (1)-(2)

Box 30 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • Guest Lists, June-December 1982 (3)
  • Guest Lists, July 4, 1982
  • Guest Lists, 1983 (1)-(3)
  • Guest Lists, July 4, 1983
  • Guest Lists, July 4, 1984
  • Guest Lists, July 4, 1985
  • Guest Lists at Ambassador’s Residence, Santo Domingo, 1984 (1)-(5)

Box 31 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • Guest Lists at Ambassador’s Residence, Santo Domingo, 1985 (1)-(2)
  • Inauguration of Dominican President Salvador Jorge Blanco, August 16, 1982
  • Isla de Cabritos – Barahona Trip, May 16-17, 1984
  • Miami Conference on the Caribbean, December 5-8, 1982
  • Miami Conference on the Caribbean, December 3-8, 1984
  • Morning Watch Research Project – Hon. Sumner Gerard (1)-(2)
  • National Security – Gulf & Western, Industries, Inc., 1984-85
  • Paris Trip, February 1983
  • Personnel File
  • Political-Economic Affairs, 1982-83 (1)-(3)

Box 32 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • Political-Economic Affairs, 1984-85 (1)-(4)
  • President Salvador Jorge Blanco (1)-(3)
  • Presidential Trip to the U.S., 1982
  • Press Coverage, 1982-83 (1)-(3)

Box 33 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • Press Coverage, May 1985 (1)-(2)
  • Press Coverage – American Chamber of Commerce Speech, November 24, 1982 (1)-(2)
  • Press Coverage – Arrival in the Dominican Republic
  • Press Coverage – Social Affairs, 1982-83 (1)-(3)
  • Press Coverage – Social Affairs, 1984-85 (1)

Box 34 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • Press Coverage – Social Affairs, 1984-85 (2)-(3)
  • Press Coverage – Visits and Trips, 1984-85 (1)-(2)
  • Puerto Plata – Dedication of Playa Dorado Holiday Inn, February 9, 1984
  • Puerto Rico Trip, April 5-7, 1983
  • Puerto Rico Trip, March 7-9, 1985
  • Puerto Rico Trip, May 28-29 and June 28-July 9, 1985
  • Punta Cana Trip, July 22, 1983
  • Samana Trip, November 11-14, 1982
  • San Juan de la Maguana Trip, June 27, 1983
  • Santiago – Puerto Plata – La Isabella, July 19-21, 1985
  • Santiago Trip, October 21-22, 1982
  • Senate Nomination of Anderson to be Ambassador
  • Speech File, 1982
  • Speech File, 1983 (1)-(2)

Box 35 - Ambassador to the Dominican Republic Subject File

  • Speech File, 1984 (1)-(4)
  • Speech File, 1985 (1)-(2)
  • Strategic Review, Summer 1980
  • Sugar – Dominican Republic – Unclassified
  • U.S. – Dominican Republic Relations – Unclassified (1)-(2)
  • Washington, Paris, and Rome Trip, August 27-October 7, 1983
  • Washington Consultation, June and August 1984
  • Washington Trip, August 17-29, 1982
  • Young Presidents’ Organization – Rebel Chapter Meeting, Casa de Campo, January 16-17, 1985

Box 36 - Post-State Department Subject File

  • Aspen Institute
  • Atlantic Council
  • Byrnes Center
  • Council of American Ambassadors
  • Council on Foreign Relations
  • Diplomatic Studies Association (1)-(3)
  • Ditchley Foundation
  • Hamel and Park
  • International Institute for Strategic Studies (1)-(2)

Box 37 - Post-State Department Subject File

  • Mid-Atlantic Club
  • Oral History – Ambassador Anderson, March 12, 1990 (1)-(2)
  • United Nations Association of the U.S.A.
  • Washington Institute of Foreign Affairs (1)-(2)

Box 37 [Continued] - Correspondence File

  • A-C (2)

Box 38 - Correspondence File

  • C (3)-L

Box 39 - Correspondence File

  • M-Z

Box 40 - Contact Cards File

  • France

Box 41 - Contact Cards File

  • Morocco
  • Unidentified

Box 42 - Contact Cards File

  • Dominican Republic

Box 43 - Contact Cards File

  • General Out-of-Country

Audiovisual Material

AV items transferred from the Robert Anderson Papers are listed below, with a brief description. They have been reviewed and opened by the Library staff.

The copyright status of these items is unknown and restrictions may exist on the use and reproduction of them. If known, the copyright holders are noted in [brackets].

  • 1997-NLF-005 (1) WKAR, Michigan State Univ. with Rob Downey, 4/24/1968; Audiotape, 5” reel-to-reel
  • 1997-NLF-005 (2) Kissinger Backgrounders from trip to Europe, 7/9-10/1975; Audiocassette
  • 1997-NLF-005 (3) Kissinger Backgrounders from trip to Europe, 7/11-12/1975; Audiocassette
  • 1997-NLF-005 (4) Briefing by Robert Anderson re Kissinger Law of the Sea Speech; 8/12/1975; 7” reel-to-reel (broken splice 2650’)
  • 1997-NLF-005 (5) L’Ambassadeur Robert Anderson presente Ses Lettres de Creances, 04/12/1976; 16mm film
  • 1997-NLF-005 (6) Ambassador Anderson/Assistant Secretary of State for Consular Affairs Barbara Watson, 3/10/1978. (Barbara Watson was the first African-American and the first woman to serve as an Assistant Secretary of State); Audiocassette
  • 1997-NLF-005 (7) Caribbean Cruise, 3/10-23/1980; Audiocassette
  • 1997-NLF-005 (8) Interview with Ambassador Robert Anderson, Voice of America (VOA)/French, 1995 handwritten on label: “2nd. copy, J. Hartman;” aired on 3/8/3/8/1995; Audiocassette