COLLECTION FINDING AID



GWEN A. ANDERSON FILES, 1974-77

Deputy Assistant to Counsellor Robert T. Hartmann;
Director of Presidential Messages and Research, Editorial Staff






SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Primarily material prepared or accumulated by Anderson documenting her work scheduling presidential appearances, acting as liaison with local, state and national Republican party organizations, and responding to requests for presidential assistance. Extensive materials relate to the 1976 presidential campaign.

QUANTITY
11.6 linear feet (ca. 23,200 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77‑42, 77‑107, 83‑26)

ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

[s:\bin\findaid\anderson, gwen - files.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Guinevere (Gwen) A. Anderson


June 3, 1930 - Born, Lignite, North Dakota

1968 - Office Manager, Nixon for President Committee, Seattle, Washington

1968‑72 - Vice Chairman and Acting Chairman, Washington State Republican Central Committee

1971‑72 - Owner and manager, Val-Mar Employment Service, Richland, Washington

1972 - Executive Director, Washington State Committee for the Re-Election of the President

1972 - National Republican Committeewoman

1973‑74 - Management Analyst; Special Assistant to Deputy Assistant Secretary, Department of HEW

Jan.-Aug. 1974 - Consultant for Public Affairs; Deputy Assistant for Non-Governmental Organizations, Office of Vice President Gerald R. Ford

Aug.-Nov. 1974 - Assistant to Counsellor to the President for Political Affairs Dean Burch

1974‑76 - Deputy Assistant to the Counsellor to the President Robert T. Hartmann

1976 - Editor of Presidential Messages and Research, Office of Editorial Staff

1980 - Surrogate speaker, Reagan/Bush Campaign

1981 - Protocol chairman, Presidential Inaugural Committee

1981‑82 - Consultant, Executive Vice President, Small Business Foundation


INTRODUCTION

Gwen A. Anderson, Washington State Republican Party official and former Republican National Committeewoman, joined Vice President Ford's staff in January 1974. In this capacity her major duties were to coordinate Ford's appearances at political events and fundraisers; to act as liaison with Republican groups; and to handle requests for messages, photographs and auction items. Upon Ford's succession to the presidency in August 1974, she transferred to the White House as an assistant to Counsellor Dean Burch, and later, to Counsellor Robert Hartmann; her duties did not change significantly.

Anderson was responsible for routine White House liaison with the leaders of local, state and national Republican Party organizations, including the Republican National Committee (RNC) and its subsidiary committees. Her duties included making recommendations and coordinating scheduled presidential appearances for campaigns and fundraisers; compiling the accompanying briefing materials; administering responses to requests for presidential messages, photographs and auction items; and corresponding with Republican Party officials regarding political opinion and local political situations. She wrote, edited or approved presidential messages and letters.

During 1974 and 1975, she assisted with Republican campaigns for governor and Congress. In 1976 her work involved not only Republican candidates for Congress, but especially, the presidential campaign. Anderson began coordinating the 1976 political invitations and presidential appearances between the RNC, the Counsellors Office and the Scheduling Office, as well as offering her recommendations. She represented the White House at political functions, especially Republican women's groups. She also delivered remarks on behalf of the president, appeared on television and met with party supporters for the RNC, which covered her expenses. In January 1976, she acquired the additional title of Editor of Presidential Messages and Research under Hartmann, who directed the Editorial/Speechwriting staff.

The Anderson files are uneven. While the Republican Party Series includes some substantive material on interactions between the White House and the Republican Party regarding party matters, the majority of the files represent the routine functions of her office and only occasionally include her own decisions and recommendations. The routine material includes requests for presidential assistance and the actions taken; lists of candidates and election results; and briefing materials for presidential appearances. There are no copies of her speeches and presentations.

Related Materials (May 1985)
Related materials include the files of Dean Burch, John Calkins and Rogers Morton, Office of Counsellors to the President, concerning Republican Party liaison and campaign materials. White House Central File category, Political Affairs (PL), contains material on national, state and local Republican Party affairs. Other 1976 campaign material is described in a listing available from the reference archivist. Anderson's files prior to August 1974 are available in the vice presidential papers.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Events File, 1974‑76. (Boxes 1‑14, 5.6 linear feet)
Copies of advance reports, briefing materials, speeches and schedules collected or compiled by Anderson. The materials concern presidential appearances, especially political events in 1975 and 1976. Also occasional correspondence, memoranda and newspaper clippings regarding these events.

Arranged alphabetically by state and thereunder chronologically by event.

View container list for this series

Campaign File, 1974‑76. (Boxes 15‑18, 1.6 linear feet)
Correspondence and memoranda, lists of candidates, schedules, copies of telegrams and endorsement letters, question and answer sheets, newspaper articles and printed material created or accumulated by Anderson concerning the presidential, congressional and gubernatorial campaigns of 1974, 1975 and 1976. Topics for the presidential election include the Republican National Convention, local support for Ford, finance and contributions. For other elections, the majority concern presidential appearances and endorsements, photograph and taping sessions, and post-election responses.

Arranged by year and alphabetically by subject thereunder.

View container list for this series

Republican Party File, 1974‑77. (Boxes 19‑22, 1.4 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, newsletters, membership lists and printed material exchanged between Anderson and officials of national and state Republican party organizations. Correspondence with Mary Louise Smith, RNC chairwoman, covers fundraising, scheduling and travel; other topics include requests for presidential assistance, party and local issues, finances and appointments. Also covered are concerns of the Republican Spanish speaking community, especially the status of Cuban refugees.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Subject File, 1974‑77. (Boxes 22‑29, 3 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, lists of attendees, copies of presidential messages, polls, advance reports, newspaper articles and printed material. Subjects include presidential appearances at Bicentennial events, an analysis of Ford's voting record and routine matters such as messages and scheduling.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Events File

  • Alabama ­ 5/3/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)
  • Alabama ­ 9/26/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Alaska ­ 11/29/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Arkansas ­ 8/10/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • California ­ 10/31‑11/1/74 ­ Presidential Trip
  • California ­ 3/29‑4/6/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • California ­ 10/29‑30/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • California ­ 3/26‑27/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(4)
  • California ­ 5/23‑25/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(4)

Box 2 - Events File

  • California ­ 10/7/76 ­ Salute to the President Dinner
  • California ­ 10/7‑8/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)
  • California ­ 10/24/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Colorado ­ 11/2/74 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Colorado ­ 8/13/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Connecticut ­ 4/25/75 ­ Yale Law School Visit
  • Connecticut ­ 10/14/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Connecticut ­ 7/17/76 ­ State Republican Convention
  • District of Columbia ­ 3/6‑8/75 ­ Republican National Committee's Leadership Conference
  • District of Columbia ­ 3/26/75 ­ Republican National Committee Reception
  • District of Columbia ­ 4/15/75 ­ Republican Senate ­ House Dinner
  • District of Columbia ­ 5/16/75 ­ National Republican Heritage Groups Council Reception
  • District of Columbia ­ 5/21‑22/75 ­ Republican National Committee Big Cities Conference
  • District of Columbia ­ 6/24/75 ­ Republican National Associates Reception
  • District of Columbia ­ 9/8/75 ­ Republican National Committee Reception
  • District of Columbia ­ 11/13/75 ­ Republican National Finance Committee Reception
  • District of Columbia ­ 12/11/75 ­ Republican National Hispanic Assembly Meeting
  • District of Columbia ­ 1/14/76 ­ Western States Republican Chairmen's Meeting
  • District of Columbia ­ 1/20/76 ­ Budget Briefing
  • District of Columbia ­ 1/27/76 ­ Rabin Visit
  • District of Columbia ­ 1/28/76 ­ Young Republican Leadership Conference

Box 3 - Events File

  • District of Columbia ­ 1/30/76 ­ Bush, George, CIA Swearing­in (1)‑(2)
  • District of Columbia ­ 2/1/76 ­ National Press Club Reception
  • District of Columbia ­ 2/16/76 ­ National Association of Secondary School Principals Convention
  • District of Columbia ­ 2/23/76 ­ National Governors Conference
  • District of Columbia ­ 2/26/76 ­ Republican National Committee Reception
  • District of Columbia ­ 3/9/76 ­ Associated General Contractors of America Convention (1)‑(3)
  • District of Columbia ­ 3/15/76 ­ VFW Annual Congressional Dinner
  • District of Columbia ­ 3/15/76 ­ Congressional ­ City Conference
  • District of Columbia ­ 3/17/76 ­ Cosgrave, Liam M., Prime Minister of Ireland, Visit
  • District of Columbia ­ 3/25/76 ­ Radio and Television Correspondents Dinner
  • District of Columbia ­ 3/29/76 ­ Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce Dinner
  • District of Columbia ­ 3/31/76 ­ Republican Senate ­ House Dinner
  • District of Columbia ­ 4/5/76 ­ American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association Banquet
  • District of Columbia ­ 4/21/76 ­ Daughters of the American Revolution Congress
  • District of Columbia ­ 4/26/76 ­ United States Chamber of Commerce Meeting
  • District of Columbia ­ 5/1/76 ­ White House Correspondents' Association Dinner

Box 4 - Events File

  • District of Columbia ­ 5/31/76 ­ Small Business Administration Luncheon
  • District of Columbia ­ 6/76‑7/76 ­ Bicentennial Events (1)‑(3)
  • District of Columbia ­ 7/1/76 ­ Centennial Safe Opening
  • District of Columbia ­ 7/1/76 ­ Air and Space Museum Bicentennial Celebration
  • District of Columbia ­ 7/2/76 ­ National Archives Bicentennial Ceremony
  • District of Columbia ­ 7/3/76 ­ Honor America Bicentennial Ceremony
  • District of Columbia ­ 7/29/76 ­ Republican National Hispanic Assembly
  • District of Columbia ­ 9/9/76 ­ B'nai B'rith Convention
  • District of Columbia ­ 9/14/76 ­ American Business Volunteer for Ford Meeting
  • District of Columbia ­ 9/16/76 ­ Hispanic Americans Reception
  • District of Columbia ­ 9/16/76 ­ Iranian­American Bicentennial Tribute Dinner
  • District of Columbia ­ 9/17/76 ­ National Federation of Republican Women Reception
  • District of Columbia ­ 10/11/76 ­ Columbus Day Observance
  • District of Columbia ­ 12/8/76 ­ Arends, Les ­ Dedication Ceremony
  • Florida ­ 2/25‑26/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Florida ­ 12/12/75 ­ Canceled
  • Florida ­ 2/13‑14/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)

Box 5 - Events File

  • Florida ­ 2/13‑14/76 ­ Presidential Trip (3)‑(4)
  • Florida ­ 2/28‑29/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)
  • Florida ­ 7/4/76 ­ Citizens Swearing­In Ceremony
  • Florida ­ 9/27/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Georgia ­ 2/3‑4/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Georgia ­ 6/14/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Georgia ­ 11/14/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Georgia ­ 4/23/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)
  • Hawaii ­ 12/7/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Illinois ­ 10/24/74 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Illinois ­ 7/12/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Illinois ­ 8/25/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Illinois ­ 9/30/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Illinois ­ 1/15/76 ­ Republican State Chairmen's Meeting
  • Illinois ­ 3/5‑6/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)

Box 6 - Events File

  • Illinois ­ 3/11‑12/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(3)
  • Illinois ­ 10/16/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Illinois ­ 10/26/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Indiana ­ 3/17/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Indiana ­ 4/22‑23/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Indiana ­ 5/2­3/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Indiana ­ 6/22/76 ­ United States Jaycees National Convention (1)‑(2)
  • Indiana ­ 10/28/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Iowa ­ 10/24/74 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Iowa ­ 10/31/74 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Iowa ­ 8/18/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Iowa ­ 6/18/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Iowa ­ 10/15/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Kansas ­ 11/2/74 ­ Republican Party Rally
  • Kansas ­ 2/11/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Kansas ­ 9/12/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Kentucky ­ 10/19/74 ­ Republican Fundraising Rally
  • Kentucky ­ 10/16/75 ­ Canceled (Empty)
  • Kentucky ­ 5/14/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)

Box 7 -  Events File

  • Kentucky ­ 5/14/76 ­ Presidential Trip (2)
  • Louisiana ­ 4/23/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Louisiana ­ 4/27/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(3)
  • Louisiana ­ 9/25/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Maine ­ 8/30/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Massachusetts ­ 4/18‑19/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Massachusetts ­ 11/7/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Michigan ­ 10/10/74 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Michigan ­ 10/29/74 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Michigan ­ 10/10/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Michigan ­ 1/31/76 ­ Midwest Republican Conference
  • Michigan ­ 5/12/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(3)

Box 8 - Events File

  • Michigan ­ 5/14‑16/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)
  • Michigan ­ 9/13/76 ­ University of Michigan Speech
  • Michigan ­ 10/31‑11/2/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Minnesota ­ 8/19/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Mississippi ­ 7/30/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Mississippi ­ 9/26/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Missouri ­ 10/16/74 ­ Fundraising Breakfast
  • Missouri ­ 9/12/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Missouri ­ 1/5/76 ­ American Farm Bureau Federation Speech
  • Missouri ­ 5/8/76 ­ Truman Statue Unveiling
  • Missouri ­ 6/11/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Missouri ­ 10/29/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Missouri ­ 10/29/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Montana ­ 8/24/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Nebraska ­ 10/16/74 ­ Airport Rally
  • Nebraska ­ 5/7/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)

Box 9 - Events File

  • Nevada ­ 5/27/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • New Hampshire ­ 4/18/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • New Hampshire ­ 9/11/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • New Hampshire ­ 2/7‑8/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(3)
  • New Hampshire ­ 2/19‑30/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • New Jersey ­ 10/4/75 ­ Fund Raising Dinner
  • New Jersey ­ 6/6/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • New Jersey ­ 10/13/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • New Jersey ­ 10/27/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • New York ­ 2/13/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • New York ­ 7/4/76 ­ Operation Sail '76
  • New York ­ 10/12/76 ­ Salute to the President Dinner
  • New York ­ 10/12­13/76 ­ Presidential Trip

Box 10 - Events File

  • New York ­ 10/21/76 ­ Smith, Alfred E., Dinner
  • New York ­ 10/30/76 ­ War Memorial Address
  • New York ­ 10/31/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • New York ­ 11/20‑21/76 ­ Rockefeller Estate Visit
  • North Carolina ­ 10/19/74 ­ Airport Rally
  • North Carolina ­ 11/14/75 ­ Fundraising Dinner
  • North Carolina ­ 3/13­14/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(4)
  • North Carolina ­ 3/20/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • North Carolina ­ 10/23/76 ­ State Fair
  • Ohio ­ 10/22/74 ­ Fundraising Dinner
  • Ohio ­ 7/3/75 ­ Fundraising Dinner
  • Ohio ­ 5/26/76 ­ Conference on Aging
  • Ohio ­ 6/7/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)

Box 11 - Events File

  • Ohio ­ 6/7/76 ­ Presidential Trip (3)‑(4)
  • Ohio ­ 10/28/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Ohio ­ 11/1/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Oklahoma ­ 10/21/74 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Oklahoma ­ 9/19/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Oklahoma ­ 10/8/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Oregon ­ 11/1/74 ­ Fundraising Dinner
  • Oregon ­ 9/4/75 ­ Fundraising Dinner
  • Oregon ­ 10/2‑4/75 ­ Western States Republican Conference
  • Oregon ­ 5/22‑24/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Oregon ­ 10/25/76 ­ National Association of Broadcasters Regional Conference
  • Pennsylvania ­ 10/9/74 ­ Governor Scranton Dinner
  • Pennsylvania ­ 5/18/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Pennsylvania ­ 7/2/76 ­ Independence Hall Bicentennial Ceremony
  • Pennsylvania ­ 7/4/76 ­ Valley Forge Bicentennial Ceremony
  • Pennsylvania ­ 8/8/76 ­ International Eucharistic Congress
  • Pennsylvania ­ 9/24/76 ­ Polish American Congress
  • Pennsylvania ­ 10/26/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Pennsylvania ­ 10/27/76 ­ Presidential Trip

Box 12 - Events File

  • Pennsylvania ­ 10/30/76 ­ Rally
  • Rhode Island ­ 8/30/75 ­ Fundraiser
  • South Carolina ­ 10/19/74 ­ Rallies
  • South Carolina ­ 10/23/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • South Dakota ­ 10/16/74 ­ Fundraiser/Rally
  • Tennessee ­ 10/7/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Tennessee ­ 5/14/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)
  • Texas ­ 2/10‑11/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Texas ­ 9/13/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Texas ­ 4/9‑10/76 ­ Presidential Trips (1)‑(4)
  • Texas ­ 4/27‑30/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(3)

Box 13 - Events File

  • Texas ­ 4/27‑30/76 ­ Presidential Trip (4)‑(9)
  • Texas ­ 10/9‑10/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Texas ­ 10/29/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Utah ­ 10/2/74 ­ Brigham Young University Address
  • Utah ­ 11/2/74 ­ Rally
  • Virginia ­ 4/26/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Virginia ­ 1/31/76 ­ State Assembly Address (1)‑(2)
  • Virginia ­ 2/6/76 ­ Northeastern States Republican Conference
  • Virginia ­ 6/15/76 ­ Southern Baptist Convention
  • Virginia ­ 7/2/76 ­ Monticello Bicentennial Ceremony

Box 14 - Events File

  • Virginia ­ 10/23/76 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Vermont ­ 10/7/74 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Washington ­ 9/4/75 ­ Fundraisers
  • Washington ­ 10/25/76 ­ Rally
  • West Virginia ­ 11/11/75 ­ Fundraising Dinner
  • Wisconsin ­ 8/25/75 ­ Presidential Trip
  • Wisconsin ­ 10/30/75 ­ Fundraising Dinner
  • Wisconsin ­ 3/27/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(2)
  • Wisconsin ­ 4/2­3/76 ­ Presidential Trip (1)‑(4)
  • Wisconsin ­ 10/29/76 ­ Presidential Trip

Box 15 - Campaign File

  • 1974 ­ Congressional Races
  • 1974 ­ Election
  • 1974 ­ Endorsement Letters ­ Gubernatorial Candidates
  • 1974 ­ Endorsement Letters ­ House Candidates
  • 1974 ­ Endorsement Photograph Sessions ­ House Candidates
  • 1974 ­ Endorsement Photograph Sessions ­ Senate and Gubernatorial Candidates
  • 1974 ­ Endorsement Taping Requests (1)‑(3)
  • 1974 ­ Endorsement Taping Sessions
  • 1974 ­ Endorsement Taping Sessions ­ Briefing Books (1)‑(2)
  • 1974 ­ Financial Assistance for Candidates
  • 1974 ­ Gubernatorial Races
  • 1974 ­ Post­Election Telegrams (1)

Box 16 - Campaign File

  • 1974 ‑ Post‑Election Telegrams (2)‑(3)1974 ‑ Post‑Election Telephone Calls
  • 1974 ‑ Scheduled Appearances (Vice Presidential)
  • 1974 ‑ Scheduled Appearances ‑ Canceled1974 ‑ Senate Races
  • 1975 ‑ Campaign Support
  • 1975 ‑ Congressional Races
  • 1975 ‑ Election Analysis1975 ‑ Source Book (1)‑(5)
  • 1975 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Alabama to Arkansas
  • 1975 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ California (1)‑(2)
  • 1975 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Colorado to Hawaii

Box 17 - Campaign File

  • 1975 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Idaho to Louisiana
  • 1975 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Maine to Montana
  • 1975 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Nebraska to North Dakota
  • 1975 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Ohio to Tennessee
  • 1975 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Texas1975 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Utah to Wyoming
  • 1976 ‑ Congressional Races
  • 1976 ‑ Election Candidates ‑ General
  • 1976 ‑ Election Candidates ‑ Alabama to Florida
  • 1976 ‑ Election Candidates ‑ Georgia to Louisiana
  • 1976 ‑ Election Candidates ‑ Maine to Montana
  • 1976 ‑ Election Candidates ‑ Nebraska to North Dakota
  • 1976 ‑ Election Candidates ‑ Ohio to Rhode Island
  • 1976 ‑ Election Candidates ‑ South Carolina to Texas
  • 1976 ‑ Election Candidates ‑ Utah to Wyoming
  • 1976 ‑ Ford Campaign Brochures
  • 1976 ‑ Foreign Policy Debate (10/6/76, California)
  • 1976 ‑ Fundraising Letters
  • 1976 ‑ President Ford Committee (1)‑(2)

Box 18 - Campaign File

  • 1976 ‑ President Ford Committee (3)‑(5)
  • 1976 ‑ President Ford Finance Committee
  • 1976 ‑ Primary Dates
  • 1976 ‑ Republican Governors Association
  • 1976 ‑ Republican National Convention (1)‑(2)
  • 1976 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Alabama to Arkansas
  • 1976 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ California (1)‑(2)
  • 1976 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Colorado to Hawaii
  • 1976 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Idaho to Louisiana
  • 1976 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Maine to Montana
  • 1976 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Nebraska to North Dakota
  • 1976 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Ohio to Tennessee
  • 1976 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Texas
  • 1976 ‑ State Correspondence ‑ Utah to Wyoming

Box 19 - Republican Party File

  • College Republican National Committee
  • Fundraising
  • Lincoln Day
  • National Black Republican Council
  • National Federation of Republican Women (1)‑(2)
  • National Republican Senatorial Committee
  • Republican Citizens' Committee
  • Republican Congressional Campaign Committee
  • Republican Governors Association (1)‑(3)
  • Republican Governors Association Conference, 1975 (1)‑(2)
  • Republican Governors Association Conference, 1976 (1)

Box 20 - Republican Party File

  • Republican Governors Association Conference, 1976 (2)
  • Republican Heritage Groups, 1974 (1)‑(3)
  • Republican Heritage Groups, 1975 (1)‑(3)
  • Republican Heritage Groups, 1976 (1)‑(2)
  • Republican Heritage Groups Convention, 1975
  • Republican National Committee (1)‑(2)
  • Republican National Committee ‑ Answer desk (Empty)
  • Republican National Committee ‑ List of members

Box 21 - Republican Party File

  • Republican National Committee ‑ Publication: First Monday
  • Republican National Finance Committee (1)‑(3)
  • Republican National Hispanic Assembly (1)‑(3)
  • Republican National Hispanic Assembly ‑ Cuban Refugees (1)‑(2)
  • RIPON Society
  • Southern Association of Republican State Chairmen
  • Special Assistant for Ethnic Affairs
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ Alabama to Arkansas
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ California
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ Colorado to Georgia
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ Hawaii to Iowa
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ Kansas to Massachusetts

Box 22 - Republican Party File

  • State Party Correspondence ‑ Michigan
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ Minnesota to Montana
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ Nebraska to North Dakota
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ Ohio to Rhode Island
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ South Carolina to Virginia
  • State Party Correspondence ‑ Washington to Wyoming
  • Young Republican National Federation (1)‑(2)
Box 22 (Continued)- Subject File
  • Auction Requests (1)‑(2)
  • Bicentennial ‑ General
  • Bicentennial ‑ Activities: General
  • Bicentennial ‑ Activities: Air and Space Museum
  • Bicentennial ‑ Activities: Archives & Valley Forge

Box 23 - Subject File

  • Bicentennial ‑ Activities: Independence Hall & Operation Sail
  • Bicentennial ‑ Activities: Monticello
  • Bicentennial ‑ Activities: Honor America & President Grant Celebration
  • Blacks
  • Conservative Caucus
  • Economic Summit, Puerto Rico
  • Federal Executive Boards
  • Ford ‑ Biography
  • Ford ‑ Voting Record (1)‑(4)
  • Ford ‑ "Why America Needs Ford" (Article in Skeptic Magazine)
  • Ford, Betty
  • Freedom Train

Box 24 - Subject File

  • Japanese Americans (1)‑(2)
  • Media
  • Message Requests (1)‑(5)
  • Messages Sent, 1/76 ‑ 3/76 (1)‑(6)

Box 25 - Subject File

  • Messages Sent, 4/76 ‑ 12/76 (1)‑(13)
  • Monterey, USS
  • National Association of Counties

Box 26 - Subject File

  • National Security Council
  • New York City
  • Nuclear Energy (1)‑(3)
  • Office of Management and Budget
  • Photo Requests Completed, 8/74 ‑ 8/76

Box 27 - Subject File

  • Photo Requests Completed, 9/76 ‑ 12/76
  • Polls, 1948
  • Polls, 1975 (1)‑(2)
  • Questions and Answers
  • Research Background
  • Revenue Sharing
  • Scheduling ­ Invitations, Non­Political
  • Scheduling ­ Invitations, Political ­ Recommendations (RNC)
  • Scheduling ­ Invitations, Political ­ Regrets (RNC)
  • Scheduling ­ Invitations, Political ­ Suspense
  • Scheduling ­ Presidential Activities ­ Approved (1)

Box 28 - Subject File

  • Scheduling ­ Presidential Activities ­ Approved (2)‑(3)
  • Scheduling ­ Presidential Trips
  • Scheduling ­ Requests and Recommendations (1)‑(3)
  • State Dinners ­ Guest Lists and Recommendations (1)‑(4)
  • Transition ­ Events Cancelled
  • Transition ­ Invitations Regretted

Box 29 - Subject File

  • Vice President Rockefeller
  • Vice Presidential Suggestions
  • Voting Statistics
  • White House ­ Congressional Relations, 1974
  • White House ­ Summer Intern Program
  • White House ­ Tours
  • Women ­ Appointees (1)‑(2)
  • Women ­ Citizens' Advisory Council on Status of Women (1)-(2)
  • Women ­ International Women's Year, 1975
  • Women ­ National Women's Political Caucus
  • Youth
  • Items Transferred