Benjamin Waterhouse Wins 2006 Gerald R. Ford Scholar Award in Honor of Robert M. Teeter

The Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library is proud to announce that Benjamin C. Waterhouse has been chosen as the 2006 winner of the Gerald R. Ford Scholar Award in Honor of Robert M. Teeter.  Mr. Waterhouse is a doctoral student at Harvard University and is completing his doctoral dissertation: Corporate Leaders and the Pro-Business Agenda in Modern American Politics.  He is investigating how the American business community mobilized in the 1970s and 1980s to pursue business-friendly policies through legislation and public opinion.

This annual award of $5000 is given to a doctoral student conducting dissertation research and writing on an aspect of the United States political process during the latter part of the 20th century.  In was established in 2005 to honor the life and work of Robert Teeter. Robert Teeter spent over thirty years as a leader in public opinion analysis and campaign strategy, including the 1976 campaign of President Gerald R. Ford.  The majority of written materials from Teeter’s career are part of the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library collection. This award has been made possible by the generous support of the Teeter family and friends, and his colleagues on the United Parcel Service Board of Directors.

The application deadline for next year’s award is May 1, 2007.  For more information, please visit the Ford Library’s website or contact Joshua D. Cochran at (734) 205-0564.