## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## **DECEMBER 30, 1974**

Office of the White House Press Secretary (Vail, Colorado)

## THE WHITE HOUSE

The President today announced the appointment of 24 persons as members of the National Commission on Productivity and Work Quality. The President also announced the designation of Dr. John T. Dunlop as Chairman of the Commission, and I. W. Abel and Donald C. Burnham as Vice Chairmen.

The members are:

Dr. John T. Dunlop, of Belmont, Massachusetts; Professor at Harvard University and coordinator of the President's Labor-Management Advisory Committee.

I. W. Abel, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; President, United Steelworkers of America.

Donald C. Burnham, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Chairman, Westinghouse Electric Corporation.

Berkeley Graham Burrell, of Washington, D. C; President, National Business League.

Frank E. Fitzsimmons, of Chevy Chase, Maryland; President, International Brotherhood of Teamsters.

Wayne L. Horovitz, of Washington, D. C; Chairman, Joint Labor-Management Committee of the Retail Food Industry.

R. Heath Larry, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Vice Chairman, United States Steel Corporation.

John H. Lyons, of Potomac, Maryland; President, International Association of Bridge, Structural and Ornamental Ironworkers.

William H. McClennan, of Arlington, Virginia; President, Public Employees Department, AFL-CIO.

Jerome M. Rosow, of Scarsdale, New York; Planning Manager, Public Affairs Department, Exxon Corporation.

John F. O'Connell, of Kantfield, California; President, Bechtel Corporation.

F. E. Barnett, of New York, New York; Chairman, Union Pacific Railroad.

C. L. Dennis, of Des Plaines, Illinois; President, Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express and Station Employees.

Catherine B. Cleary, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; President, First Wisconsin Trust Company.

(MORE)

L. William Seidman, Assistant to the President for Economic Affairs.

Thomas Bradley, Mayor of Los Angeles, California.

Daniel J. Evans, Governor of the State of Washington.

Charles L. Schultze, of Washington, D. C; Senior Fellow, the Brookings Institution.

William E. Simon, Secretary of the Treasury.

Frederick B. Dent, Secretary of Commerce.

Peter J. Brennan, Secretary of Labor.

Roy L. Ash, Director of the Office of Management and Budget.

Alan Greenspan, Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers.

Albert Rees, Executive Director of the Council on Wage and Price Stability.

The statute establishing the National Commission on Productivity and Work Quality provides that the Commission shall advise the Congress and the President with respect to Government policy affecting productivity and quality of work, and requires the Commission to report annually on its activites both to the Congress and the President. In view of these requirements and the interest of the General Accounting Office in measuring and enhancing public sector productivity, the Comptroller General of the United States, Elmer B. Staats, has been invited to work closely with the Commission.

The Commission was originally established in 1970 and acquired its present name and charter in Public Law 93-311 of June 8, 1974.

# # #