The original documents are located in Box 44, folder "1975/04/30 - Executive Committee of the House Republican Study Committee" of the James M. Cannon Files at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

Copyright Notice

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. If you think any of the information displayed in the PDF is subject to a valid copyright claim, please contact the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

11AM - Executive Committee of House Republican Study Group The Cabinet Room (45 Min.)

Wednesday, April 30, 1975

Cannon

THE WHITE HOUSE

WASHINGTON

April 29, 1975

MEETING WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, HOUSE REPUBLICAN STUDY COMMITTEE

Wednesday, April 30, 1975
11:00 - 11:30 a.m. (30 minutes)
The Cabinet Room Roosevell Room

Thru:

Max L. Friedersdorf

Vern Loen

From:

Charles Leppert, Jr. C.

I. PURPOSE

To exchange information and views with the President on issues of major concern to the Members of the House Republican Study Committee.

II. BACKGROUND

A. Background:

- 1. The House Republican Study Committee (formerly the House Republican Steering Committee) was organized in February 1973 by Representatives Crane (III), Spence (SC), Blackburn (Ga.), Derwinski (III) and Rousselot (Calif) and formally organized upon adoption of a Statement of Purpose and By-Laws in February, 1974.
- 2. The Committee is composed of approximately 70 75
 Republican Members of the House of Representatives who
 espouse a distinctly conservative philosophy of government. Leadership of the Committee is provided by the
 Officers and the Executive Committee. (See Tab A)

3. The Committee through its Chairwoman, Rep. Marjorie Holt, has requested this meeting to present issues of major concern to the Committee as follows:

(a) Opening Statement by Rep. Holt stating that the conservatives are the President's national base of support. A number of Presidential actions have disappointed the Committee members, and that better lines of communication between the President and Committee members should be established and maintained.

(b) Veto Strategy will be discussed by Mrs. Holt and concern "when is a pledge to veto not a pledge", when and how are straight veto signals to be transmitted, vetoes of the tax bill, farm bill, strip mining bill, land use and consumer protection legislation.

(c) Welfare Reform and Food Stamps will be discussed by
Rep. Clair Burgener (Calif) and requesting support for the
Committee's sponsored bill, H.R. 5133, the National Welfare
Reform Act of 1975. In addition, this discussion will include
food stamps and OMB cooperation.

(d) Energy will be discussed by Rep. William Armstrong (R-Colo.) and will urge the President to take administrative actions where authority to do so exists such as deregulation of old oil. He will encourage the President to show political initiatives in formulating a national energy policy. He will express strong support for the imposition of the second dollar fee on imported crude oil.

(e) Land Use will be discussed by Rep. Bob Bauman (R-Md.). He will express their support and gratitude for the Administration's opposition to the land use bill which has been reported out of subcommittee in the House. Bauman will emphasize the need to have the people in various Departments aware of the reasons and need to oppose this legislation.

(f) Economy will be discussed by Rep. Jack Kemp (NY) concerning sound capital creation and general economic philosophy.

(g) Appointments will be discussed by Rep. William Dickinson (Ala). Rep. Dickinson will express the Committee's opposition to the appointment of Neil Staebler to the Federal Election Commission and request participation in future appointments as they come up including openings on the Council of Economic Advisors and the U.S. Supreme Court.

they come up including openings on the Council of Economic visors and the U.S. Supreme Court.

I VS - forkout Adm Ball
Pres - I'm Sprongly Opphosely

Pru got to appoint were republicant

Pres to grant were republicant

Pres to grant and Republicant

Republicant

and who is to be appointed.

Thousand Sund

Jed befor of APDC Ornerholm needs - (2) Grant 8007, and many malways i wind many malways i wind many Francis but - 1033 Roman bust meones francis from ar sk (2000)

free cut a private

from a house i or or or of

countries programs

with introduces Copilian

with whim Brit - hart

form of anywher

become of anywher

grantfy

country

country

constitute

consti

- B. Participants: (See Tab A)
- C. Press Plan:

Announce to Press
White House photographer only

III. TALKING POINTS

- 1. I am delighted to meet with the Executive Committee of the House Republican Study Committee.
- 2. Marjorie (Holt), I appreciate your assistance in arranging this meeting and I am hopeful we can meet on a regular basis.
- 3. I know there are some specific areas you wish to discuss, and I hope we can have an open and frank exchange on these and any other matters of interest.
- 4. Members of my senior staff are here and will also be available to respond to your comments and inquiries.
- 5. So, Marjorie, please let us proceed.

PARTICIPANTS

The President

Representative Marjorie S. Holt (Md)

Representative Philip M. Crane (III)

Representative Barry M. Goldwater, Jr. (Calif.)

Representative Tom Hagedorn (Minn)

Representative Steven D. Symms (Idaho)

Representative John H. Rousselot (Calif)

Representative William L. Armstrong (Colo)

Representative Robert E. Bauman (Md.)

RepresentativeRobin L. Beard (Tenn.)

Representative Clair W. Burgener (Calif)

Representative Del Clawson (Calif)

Representative Edward J. Derwinski (III)

Representative Samuel L. Devine (Ohio)

Representative William L. Dickinson (Ala)

Representative William F. Goodling (Pa.)

Representative Charles E. Grassley (Iowa)

Representative Jack F. Kemp (NY)

Representative Trent Lott (Miss.)

Representative Floyd Spence (SC)

Representative David C. Treen (La.)

Mr. Robert T. Hartmann

Mr. John O. Marsh

Mr. Max L. Friedersdorf

Mr. William Seidman

Mr. James Cannon

Mr. Vern Loen

Mr. Charles Leppert, Jr.

Mr. Douglas Bennett

Mr. Paul O'Neill

Mr. James Cavanaugh

Mr. William Walker

- Chairwoman

- Vice Chairman

- Vice Chairman

- Vice Chairman

- Vice Chairman

- Treasurer