COLLECTION FINDING AID



SHEILA R. WEIDENFELD FILES, (1924) 1974-77

Press Secretary to the First Lady
Office of the First Lady




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Material compiled by Weidenfeld and the East Wing Press Office staff documenting Mrs. Ford's activities and the press office operation. Included are files concerning daily events, trips, plans for head of state visits, Mrs. Ford's campaign involvement and activities and background on the Ford children.

QUANTITY
26.4 linear feet (ca. 52,800 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77-54, 78-13, 81-27, 83-32 )

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Leesa Tobin, July 1986; Revised June 1996
[s:\bin\findaid\weidenfeld, sheila - files.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Sheila R. Weidenfeld


1943 - Born, Cambridge, Massachusetts

1965 - Graduated from Brandeis University (BA)

1965-68 - Production assistant and associate producer at WNEW-TV, New York City

1968-71 - Talent coordinator, NBC

1971-73 - Producer, "Panorama", WTTG-TV

1973-74 - Producer, "Take It From Here", NBC/WRC-TV

Oct. 1974-Jan. 1977 - Press Secretary to Mrs. Ford

1977- - Member, President's Advisory Committee on Historic Preservation

1979 - Published First Lady's Lady


INTRODUCTION

The Sheila Weidenfeld files consist of memoranda, correspondence, briefing papers, agenda, notes, newsclippings, press releases and sundry background material compiled by Weidenfeld and her assistant, Patti Matson, during her tenure as press secretary to the First Lady from November 1974 to January 1977. First Lady Pat Nixon's press secretary, Helen M. Smith, briefly served in that capacity for Mrs. Ford prior to Weidenfeld's appointment.

The East Wing Press Office handled all liaison with the press for Betty Ford and the Ford children and notified the press about all White House social functions. This involved preparing press releases, answering all incoming mail and telephone queries, writing articles to be published under Ford family bylines, generating and researching ideas for possible appearances and speeches, preparing background, planning trips, and drafting speeches (prior to 1976 when presidential speechwriter Kaye Pullen was assigned to Mrs. Ford). Weidenfeld's specific duties involved acting as spokesperson for the family and advising them on the disposition of and approach to media requests, coordinating duties and responsibilities with the West Wing, and supervising the East Wing Press Office.

Weidenfeld's files document these activities well. Files on Mrs. Ford's daily activities and trips are particularly detailed. There are scattered events and trips for which the files are missing and some of these can be located in similar open files in the Betty Ford Papers. White House social events are documented in the State Visits File for visiting heads of state, and in the Daily Events File for all other social gatherings.

The General Subject File was developed to answer questions from the press and the public on Mrs. Ford and the Ford children, the White House, and the women's movement, especially the Equal Rights Amendment. This is a particularly rich resource and addresses some obscure questions in addition to the more obvious queries.

Most of the material in the Administrative Subject File is quite routine and deals primarily with press office efforts to handle requests for interviews and photographs. There is also an extensive set of notes that Weidenfeld took during a series of meetings with three former First Lady's press secretaries, members of the press corps, and White House staff before assuming her formal duties in November 1974.

Assistant press secretary Patti Matson did not maintain a separate file. Her materials are interspersed throughout the collection as are those of Nancy Chirdon and Fran Paris, the office secretaries, and Pete Sorum, Mrs. Ford's advanceman.

Related Materials (July 1986)
Additional material concerning Mrs. Ford's public appearances and a reference file of magazine articles about the Ford family are in the Betty Ford Papers and are available for use. Most of the Betty Ford Papers, however, are currently unprocessed and therefore unavailable for research.

The White House Central File Subject File category for Mrs. Ford,(PP 5‑1), contains invitations, correspondence on her illness, and briefing and background material and agenda for meetings and public appearances. Many items are cross-references to materials available in scattered file locations.

The files of Frances Pullen include background materials, drafts and texts of many of Mrs. Ford's speeches. Pullen was a speechwriter for Mrs. Ford.

Additional material concerning Mrs. Ford is available in the Library's collection of printed materials, in the Kay Clark oral history interview, and in the videotape of a conference on First Families held in 1984 at the Gerald Ford Museum. Betty Ford and Susan Ford Vance participated in the conference.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Daily Events File, 1974-76.  (Boxes 1‑11, 4.4 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, briefing papers, press releases, news clippings, guest lists, Q's and A's, speech drafts, programs for events, and advance materials for most of the First Lady's public and private activities in the Washington area. Occasionally, the First Lady accompanied the President to the event but most she attended independently. Also filed here are press office arrangements for press coverage of events. Early files include some materials of Weidenfeld's predecessor, Helen Smith (Pat Nixon's press secretary), and Lucy Winchester, social secretary.

Arranged chronologically by date of event.

View container list for this series

Trip File, 1974-77. (Boxes 12‑29, 7.2 linear feet)
Briefing papers, memoranda, cables, media pool reports, schedules, speech drafts, press releases, press briefings, tourist literature, and wire stories concerning Mrs. Ford's foreign and domestic trips. The file includes trips Mrs. Ford took with and without her husband. The material from 1976 is almost entirely campaign-related.

Arranged chronologically by date of trip.

View container list for this series

State Visits File, 1974-76.  (Boxes 30‑34, 2.0 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, scenarios, schedules, guest lists, programs, press releases, menus, and clippings concerning the visits of foreign heads of state to the White House. Most of the material concerns arrangements made for press coverage of arrival ceremonies and state dinners. Also included is considerable background on White House entertainment, table decor, gift exchange, and the First Lady's wardrobe for each state dinner.

Arranged chronologically by date of event.

View container list for this series

General Subject File, 1974-77. (Boxes 35‑48, 5.6 linear feet)
Files compiled by the East Wing Press Office to assist in answering questions from the press concerning Mrs. Ford, the Ford children, administration personnel, the White House and women's issues. Much of the material concerns Mrs. Ford and her daughter, Susan Ford. Files include memoranda, correspondence, press releases, news clippings and handwritten notes.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Administrative Subject File, (1969-73) 1974-77.  (Boxes 49‑59, 4.4 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, meeting notes and personnel material concerning the operation of the East Wing Press Office. Included are requests for information, interviews, photographs and jobs; East Wing staff background; press releases for 1974 and 1975; and inquiries concerning the White House Record Library.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Clippings File, (1924-73) 1974-77. (Boxes 60‑66, 2.4 linear feet)
An extensive file of newspaper and magazine clippings maintained by Mrs. Ford until her husband became Vice President in 1973, at which time her secretary and various volunteers continued the task. Clippings are all related to the Ford family.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Daily Events File

  • 8/9/74 ‑ Swearing In
  • 8/13/74 ‑ White House Tour
  • 8/19/74 ‑ Reception for V.P. Protective Division
  • 8/19/74 ‑ Moving to the White House
  • 8/20/74 ‑ Nomination of Nelson Rockefeller
  • 8/22/74 ‑ Luncheon with Happy Rockefeller
  • 8/22/74 ‑ Signing Ceremony ‑ Better Communities Act
  • 8/22/74 ‑ Dinner for Congressional Friends and Governor Rockefeller
  • 8/23/74 ‑ Reception for the Vice Presidential Staff
  • 8/28/74 ‑ Dinner for White House Staff, Cabinet and Rockefellers
  • 9/4/74 ‑ Mrs. Ford's Press Conference
  • 9/4/74 ‑ Kennedy Center
  • 9/5/74 ‑ Manuscript Society
  • 9/11/74 ‑ Washington, D.C. Mormon Temple
  • 9/14/74 ‑ Kennedy Center
  • 9/14/74 ‑ National Council for Negro Women (1)‑(2)
  • 9/15/74 ‑ Reception for the Republican National Committee
  • 9/17/74 ‑ Reception for the General Federation of Women's Clubs
  • 9/17/74 ‑ Dinner for Bipartisan Senate Leadership
  • 9/18/74 ‑ Washington Press Club
  • 9/18/74 ‑ Tea with Mrs. Aiken (cancelled)
  • 9/19/74 ‑ Staff Picnic
  • 9/19/74 ‑ Reception for the National Federation of Republican Women
  • 9/20/74 ‑ Greek Festival

Box 2 - Daily Events File

  • 9/22/74 ‑ Dinner given by Sylvan Marshall
  • 9/26/74 ‑ Mayor's Consumer Food Dollar Conference
  • 9/27/74 ‑ Breast Surgery (1)‑(2)
  • 9/27/74 ‑ LBJ Grove Groundbreaking
  • 9/27/74 ‑ Salvation Army Luncheon
  • 9/27/74 ‑ Economic Summit
  • 10/3/74 ‑ Dinner for Congressional Retirees
  • 10/5/74 ‑ Diplomatic Cops
  • 10/7/74 ‑ Honduran Relief Fund Sponsorship
  • 10/15/74 ‑ Wedding Anniversary
  • 10/19‑20/74 ‑ White House Garden Tour
  • 10/27/74 ‑ Alexander Haig
  • 10/28/74 ‑ International Horse Show
  • 10/31/74 ‑ Halloween UNICEF Drive
  • 11/4/74 ‑ Drop‑by at Weidenfeld Press Meeting
  • 11/5/74 ‑ Election Day
  • 11/8/74 ‑ Greeting School Children
  • 11/13/74 ‑ Drop‑By with Lammerding Press Meeting
  • 11/18/74 ‑ Luncheon Given by Mrs. Scott
  • 11/20/74 ‑ Women's Economic Conference (1)‑(2)
  • 11/21/74 ‑ Greeting 1974 Muscular Dystrophy Poster Child
  • 11/21/74 ‑ Luncheon for Mrs. Aiken

Box 3 - Daily Events File

  • 11/22/74 ‑ National Association for Mental Health (1)‑(2)
  • 11/28/74 ‑ Thanksgiving Breakfast ‑ 30‑30 Club
  • 12/2/74 ‑ United Cerebral Palsy Poster Children
  • 12/2/74 ‑ Volunteer Brunch
  • 12/2/74 ‑ Scouter of the Year Dinner
  • 12/4/74 ‑ "No Greater Love" Christmas Party
  • 12/6/74 ‑ National Symphony Ball
  • 12/6/74 ‑ Receiving Christmas Tree
  • 12/10/74 ‑ People's Republic of China Archeological Exhibit
  • 12/10/74 ‑ Press Preview of Christmas Decorations
  • 12/11/74 ‑ 1975 March of Dimes Poster Child
  • 12/11/74 ‑ Diplomatic Children's Christmas Party
  • 12/13/74 ‑ Christmas Party for the Residence Staff
  • 12/17/74 ‑ Christmas Ball for Members of Congress
  • 12/18/74 ‑ Hospital for Sick Children
  • 12/19/74 ‑ White House Press Christmas Party

Box 4 - Daily Events File

  • 1/9/75 ‑ Signing Proclamation on International Women's Year
  • 1/13/75 ‑ Mrs. Ford's Portrait Unveiling
  • 1/14/75 ‑ Reception for Spouses of the Association of American Colleges
  • 1/15/75 ‑ Holton Arms School
  • 1/15/75 ‑ State of the Union Message
  • 1/22/75 ‑ Republican Congressional Wives
  • 1/23/75 ‑ Taping for 1974 United Cerebral Palsy Telethon
  • 1/24/75 ‑ Farewell Party for Sandy Fox
  • 1/26/75 ‑ St. Matthews Cathedral and Kennedy Center
  • 1/27/75 ‑ Lunch with Ansel Adams
  • 1/30/75 ‑ National Prayer Breakfast
  • 2/1/75 ‑ Washington Mardi Gras Ball
  • 2/11‑12/75 ‑ Women's Committee of the National Symphony Orchestra
  • 2/14/75 ‑ Nancy Lammerding Wedding
  • 2/14/75 ‑ Washington Heart Association
  • 2/14/75 ‑ Surprise Party for Mrs. Ford
  • 2/18/75 ‑ U.S. Capitol Historical Society
  • 2/19/75 ‑ Dinner with the Markleys
  • 2/20/75 ‑ U.S. Governors
  • 2/21/75 ‑ Chamber of Commerce Wives
  • 2/24/75 ‑ National Bicentennial Conference
  • 2/27/75 ‑ President's Committee on Mental Retardation
  • 2/28/75 ‑ Young Republican Leadership Conference
  • 3/5/75 ‑ Secretary of State Leaving for the Middle East
  • 3/9/75 ‑ Kennedy Center (cancelled)
  • 3/10/75 ‑ Swearing in of Carla Hills (cancelled)
  • 3/10/75 ‑ Opening Concert Series (cancelled)
  • 3/13/75 ‑ Radio and TV Correspondents Dinner (cancelled)
  • 3/14/75 ‑ National Amvets Auxiliary (cancelled)
  • 3/20/75 ‑ Congressional Club Fashion Show (cancelled)

Box 5 - Daily Events File

  • 3/22/75 ‑ Gridiron Dinner
  • 3/26/75 ‑ 1975 National Association of Retarded Citizens Poster Child
  • 3/31/75 ‑ Easter Egg Roll
  • 4/8/75 ‑ Kennedy Center and Private Dinner
  • 4/10/75 ‑ President's Message to Congress
  • 4/11/75 ‑ Visiting Nurse Association
  • 4/12‑13/75 ‑ Spring Garden Tour
  • 4/14/75 ‑ Funeral for James Howe
  • 4/14/75 ‑ International Women's Year Commission
  • 4/15/75 ‑ Republican Senate ‑ House Dinner
  • 4/16/75 ‑ White House News Photographers Association
  • 4/17/75 ‑ Ford's Theater
  • 4/22/75 ‑ Ladies of the Senate
  • 4/23‑26/75 ‑ Holton Arms Auction and Jamboree
  • 4/24/75 ‑ National Volunteer Awards Winners
  • 4/24/75 ‑ Advertising Council
  • 4/24/75 ‑ Gerald Ford Portrait Unveiling
  • 4/29/75 ‑ Photo Session with Civitan International Officers
  • 5/3/75 ‑ White House Correspondents Association
  • 5/5/75 ‑ Senate Ladies Luncheon
  • 5/16/75 ‑ Federal Advisory Committees on the Status of Women
  • 5/8/75 ‑ Keating Funeral
  • 5/10/75 ‑ OAS Reception
  • 5/15/75 ‑ Tea with Mrs. d'Estaing
  • 6/10/75 ‑ Alaskan Eskimo Basket
  • 6/11/75 ‑ American Newspaper Publishers Association
  • 6/18/75 ‑ National Association of Broadcasters
  • 6/18/75 ‑ Republican Congressional Wives

Box 6 - Daily Events File

  • 6/23/75 ‑ Republican Women's Federal Forum
  • 6/23/75 ‑ Wolf Trap
  • 6/25/75 ‑ Tea for Mary Edith Wilroy, Manager, Blair House
  • 6/27/75 ‑ Harvey Family Reception
  • 6/28/75 ‑ Washington D.C. Folk Festival
  • 7/1/75 ‑ "Christmas with Love is Caring, 1975" Awards Ceremony
  • 7/2/75 ‑ Golden Rose Award
  • 7/2/75 ‑ Renwick Gallery Craft Exhibition
  • 7/4/75 ‑ July 4th weekend
  • 7/9/75 ‑ Lunch with the Shahbanou
  • 7/10/75 ‑ National Archives IWY Reception
  • 7/14/15 ‑ District of Columbia Village
  • 7/14/75 ‑ President's Birthday Party
  • 7/17/75 ‑ Future Homemakers of America
  • 7/24/75 ‑ Weinberger Dinner
  • 8/6/75 ‑ Tea for Mrs. Miki
  • 8/7/75 ‑ Wolf Trap Ball Committee
  • 8/7/75 ‑ Dinner for Steve Derounian
  • 8/7/75 ‑ Presentation of Book on White House China
  • 8/8/75 ‑ Mrs. Juan Velasco
  • 8/9/75 ‑ American Apollo‑Soyuz Astronauts
  • 8/9/75 ‑ First Year in Office Anniversary
  • 8/10/75 ‑ CBS "60 Minutes" Interview
  • 9/7/75 ‑ Rockefeller House Opening
  • 9/8/75 ‑ Republican National Committee Reception
  • 9/10/75 ‑ Capitol Hill Club Foundation
  • 9/11/75 ‑ Photo With Marlo Thomas
  • 9/12/75 ‑ National Association of Commissions for Women
  • 9/12/75 ‑ Treemonisha Company Reception
  • 9/23/75 ‑ Meeting with Mrs. Mott and Mrs. Manley
  • 9/24/75 ‑ Women Stockbrokers Association

Box 7 - Daily Events File

  • 9/26/75 ‑ Identity in Homemaking Conference (1)‑(2)
  • 10/8/75 ‑ Tea with Madame Huang Chen
  • 10/14/75 ‑ Hirshorn Museum and Gadsby's Tavern
  • 10/15/75 ‑ Ford's 27th Wedding Anniversary
  • 10/16/75 ‑ Junior League of Washington Christmas Shop Luncheon
  • 10/20/75 ‑ Buchen Dinner
  • 10/20/75 ‑ Hunter Dinner
  • 10/20/75 ‑ Tree Planting Ceremony
  • 10/22/75 ‑ Epilepsy Poster Child
  • 10/24/75 ‑ Girl Scouts Convention (1)‑(2)
  • 10/26/75 ‑ UNICEF First Donation
  • 10/27/75 ‑ National Committee, Arts for the Handicapped (cancelled)
  • 10/28/75 ‑ Girl Scouts Photo Session
  • 10/31/75 ‑ Collectors Committee of the National Gallery of Art
  • 11/5/75 ‑ YMCA International Fair
  • 11/11/75 ‑ Ford's Theatre Society
  • 11/12/75 ‑ Meeting with Liliane Thorn‑Petit
  • 11/13/75 ‑ National Council of Negro Women
  • 11/13/75 ‑ Presentation of White House Books
  • 11/14/75 ‑ Presentation of Books ‑ White House Historical Society and National Geographic
  • 11/14/75 ‑ St. John's Christmas Dinner
  • 11/17/75 ‑ Calder Braniff Jet Unveiling
  • 11/18/75 ‑ Tea with Imelda Marcos
  • 11/18/75 ‑ Filming of the Mary Tyler Moore TV Show

Box 8 - Daily Events File

  • 11/19/75 ‑ Fund for a Representative Congress
  • 11/20/75 ‑ Dinner with Senior Citizens
  • 11/22/75 ‑ Moscow State Symphony
  • 11/24/75 ‑ Federal Judiciary
  • 11/27/75 ‑ Thanksgiving
  • 12/12/75 ‑ International Club #2 and International Neighbors Club #1
  • 12/12/75 ‑ Christmas Party for White House Volunteers
  • 12/15/75 ‑ Press Review of Christmas Decorations
  • 12/15/75 ‑ Christmas Volunteer Party
  • 12/16/75 ‑ Diplomatic Children's Christmas Party
  • 12/17/75 ‑ Congressional Ball
  • 12/18/75 ‑ Christmas Pageant of Peace
  • 12/18/75 ‑ Hospital for Sick Children
  • 12/19/75 ‑ White House Press Corps Christmas Party
  • 1/5/76 ‑ State Chairmen and Advisory Committee of the President Ford Committee
  • 1/12/76 ‑ League of Republican Women of D.C.
  • 1/14/76 ‑ Martin Luther King Library
  • 1/19/76 ‑ State of the Union
  • 1/20/76 ‑ Tribute to Pearl Bailey
  • 1/12/76 ‑ Transfer of the Check for Inaugural Medals to the National Cancer Institute
  • 1/23/76 ‑ U.S. Governors
  • 1/25/76 ‑ Kennedy Center Gala
  • 1/28/76 ‑ Tea for Mrs. Yitzhak Rabin
  • 2/10/76 ‑ National Theater

Box 9 - Daily Events File

  • 2/12/76 ‑ Washington Heart Association (1)‑(2)
  • 2/12/76 ‑ Alice Longworth's 92nd Birthday
  • 2/12/76 ‑ Kennedy Center ‑ Multiple Sclerosis Benefit
  • 2/15/76 ‑ Professional Athletes Prayer Brunch
  • 2/17/76 ‑ Women in Communications
  • 2/18/76 ‑ Parent‑Teacher Association
  • 3/9/76 ‑ B'nai B'rith Reception
  • 3/20/76 ‑ Women's National Republican Club Award
  • 3/24/76 ‑ Congressional Club Cookbook
  • 3/26/76 ‑ American Cancer Society's Courage Award
  • 3/26/76 ‑ Radio and TV Correspondents Dinner
  • 3/27/76 ‑ Helen Reddy Concert
  • 4/1/76 ‑ Presentation of the Presidential Medal of Freedom
  • 4/3/76 ‑ Gridiron Dinner
  • 4/5/76 ‑ American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association
  • 4/6/76 ‑ Kennedy Center
  • 4/7/76 ‑ Photo ‑ Cherry Blossom Princesses
  • 4/7/76 ‑ Photo for Adams Chronicle
  • 4/8/76 ‑ Mrs. Ford's Birthday
  • 4/12/76 ‑ Hospital for Sick Children Photo
  • 4/13/76 ‑ Senate Wives Luncheon
  • 4/14/76 ‑ White House Visitors Ellipse Opening
  • 4/19/76 ‑ Easter Egg Roll South Grounds
  • 4/22/76 ‑ White House News Photographer Dinner
  • 4/28/76 ‑ Kennedy Center Gala

Box 10 - Daily Events File

  • 5/3/76 ‑ Senate Ladies Luncheon
  • 5/8/76 ‑ Azalea Reception
  • 5/13/76 ‑ Recording for the Blind Scholastic Achievement Awards
  • 5/21/76 ‑ Former Members of Congress Auxiliary
  • 5/22/76 ‑ First Lady's Brunch
  • 6/1/76 ‑ National Gallery of Art
  • 6/9/76 ‑ Happy Rockefeller's Birthday
  • 6/10/76 ‑ National Symphony Business Committee
  • 6/11/76 ‑ Presidential Appointees Dinner
  • 6/14/76 ‑ Filming Bicentennial Minute
  • 6/15/76 ‑ Republican National Committee Finance Group
  • 6/23/76 ‑ Republican Congressional Candidates
  • 6/24/76 ‑ Smithsonian Gown Presentation
  • 6/25/76 ‑ Republican National Committee
  • 6/29/76 ‑ Meeting Sandra Fortune, Ballerina
  • 6/29/76 ‑ National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year
  • 7/1/76 ‑ Cast of "Guys and Dolls"
  • 7/2/76 ‑ Wolf Trap Award to Yehudi Menuhin
  • 7/13/76 ‑ Veterans Administration Art Contest Winners
  • 7/14/76 ‑ Egyptian Ship Visit
  • 7/14/76 ‑ President's Birthday
  • 7/20/76 ‑ Bicentennial Reception (1)‑(2)
  • 7/29/76 ‑ White House Spouses Briefing
  • 8/12/76 ‑ Hadassah National Board Reception
  • 9/7/76 ‑ Tea for Donna Leone
  • 9/8/76 ‑ Washington Fashion Benefit Gala
  • 9/12/76 ‑ Washington Cathedral Dedication Service

Box 11 - Daily Events File

  • 9/13/76 ‑ National Conference of Puerto Rican Women
  • 9/17/76 ‑ National Federation of Republican Women
  • 9/29/76 ‑ Black Women's Issues Conference
  • 10/13/76 ‑ Citizens of the Americas Award
  • 10/13/76 ‑ Mississippi Homemakers Tour
  • 10/14/76 ‑ Martha Graham Medal of Freedom Presentation (1)‑(2)
  • 11/16/76 ‑ Republican Eagles
  • 11/16/76 ‑ Kennedy Center ‑ Martha Graham
  • 11/18/76 ‑ Cabinet Wives Luncheon
  • 11/22/76 ‑ Mrs. Carter's Visit
  • 11/23/76 ‑ Breast Cancer Conference
  • 11/24/76 ‑ Thanksgiving
  • 11/29/76 ‑ Republican Governors and Spouses
  • 12/1/76 ‑ American Cancer Society ‑ District of Columbia Branch
  • 12/3/76 ‑ National Symphony Ball
  • 12/4/76 ‑ Arrival of the White House Christmas Tree
  • 12/9/76 ‑ Congressional Ball
  • 12/9/76 ‑ Press Preview of Christmas Decorations
  • 12/10/76 ‑ White House Volunteers Christmas Party
  • 12/11/76 ‑ Secretary of Defense, Joint Chiefs of Staff, and the Commanders of the Unified Commands Dinner
  • 12/14/76 ‑ Diplomatic Children's Christmas Party
  • 12/15/76 ‑ Members of the Press Christmas Party
  • 12/16/76 ‑ President's Committee on Mental Retardation
  • 12/16/76 ‑ Candlelighters
  • 12/16/76 ‑ Presentation of Wheelchair
  • 12/16/76 ‑ Christmas Tree Lighting
  • 12/16/76 ‑ Hospital for Sick Children Christmas Party
  • 12/17/76 ‑ White House Staff Christmas Party

Box 12 - Trip File

  • 8/19/74 ‑ VFW Convention, Chicago
  • 9/1‑2/74 ‑ Camp David
  • 9/6‑7/74 ‑ Birmingham, Alabama (1)‑(3)
  • 9/18/74 ‑ UN Assembly, New York City
  • 9/23‑24/74 ‑ Chicago, IL (1)‑(2)
  • 11/18/74 ‑ Japan (Mrs. Ford Cancelled)
  • 12/14‑16/74 ‑ Martinique (Mrs. Ford Cancelled)
  • 12/22/74‑1/2/75 ‑ Vail, Colorado (1)‑(2)

Box 13 - Trip File

  • 12/22/74‑1/2/75 ‑ Vail, Colorado (3)‑(4)
  • 2/4/75 ‑ Visit to New York
  • 2/25‑26/75 ‑ Miami, Florida (1)‑(2)
  • 2/28/75‑3/2/75 ‑ Camp David
  • 3/29/75‑4/8/75 ‑ West Coast (1)‑(4)
  • 4/2/75 ‑ Blue Ribbon 400 Luncheon, Los Angeles, CA
  • 4/30/75 ‑ New York City (1)‑(2)

Box 14 - Trip File

  • 5/12/75 ‑ Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (1)‑(2)
  • 5/19‑20/75 ‑ California (1)‑(9)

Box 15 - Trip File

  • 5/19‑20/75 ‑ California (10)‑(11)
  • 5/28/75‑6/3/75 ‑ European Trip ‑ General (1)‑(6)

Box 16 - Trip File

  • 5/28‑31/75 ‑ Brussels (1)‑(2)
  • 5/31/75‑6/1/75 ‑ Madrid
  • 6/1‑3/75 ‑ Salzburg (1)‑(2)
  • 6/3/75 ‑ Rome
  • 6/11/75 ‑ New York City
  • 6/11/75 ‑ New York City Anti‑Defamation League of B'nai B'rith (1)‑(2)
  • 6/11/75 ‑ New York City Martha Graham Benefit

Box 17 - Trip File

  • 7/11‑13/75 ‑ Michigan, Illinois (1)‑(3)
  • 7/26/75‑8/4/75 ‑ European Trip (1)‑(6)
  • 7/26‑28/75 ‑ Bonn (1)‑(2)
  • 7/28‑29/75 ‑ Warsaw (1)‑(2)

Box 18 - Trip File

  • 7/29/75‑8/2/75 ‑ Helsinki (1)‑(2)
  • 8/2‑3/75 ‑ Bucharest
  • 8/3‑4/75 ‑ Belgrade (1)‑(2)
  • 8/10/75 ‑ Arkansas
  • 8/11‑25/75 ‑ Vail, Colorado
  • 9/3/75 ‑ New York City
  • 9/19‑22/75 ‑ Oklahoma and California

Box 19 - Trip File

  • 10/9‑10/75 ‑ New York City (1)‑(2)
  • 10/25/75 ‑ Cleveland, Ohio (1)‑(4)
  • 11/3/75 ‑ Jacksonville, Florida
  • 11/6‑7/75 ‑ New York City (1)‑(3)

Box 20 - Trip File

  • 11/29/75‑12/8/75 ‑ Pacific Basin ‑ General
  • 11/29/75‑12/8/75 ‑ Alaska (1)‑(2)
  • 11/29/75‑12/8/75 ‑ Japan
  • 11/29/75‑12/8/75 ‑ China (1)‑(5)
  • 11/29/75‑12/8/75 ‑ Indonesia (1)‑(3)
  • 11/29/75‑12/8/75 ‑ Philippines (1)‑(2)
  • 11/29/75‑12/8/75 ‑ Hawaii (1)‑(2)

Box 21 - Trip File

  • 12/23‑30/75 ‑ Vail, Colorado (1)‑(3)
  • 1/13/76 ‑ Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (1)‑(2)
  • 1/31/76 ‑ Williamsburg, Virginia
  • 2/7‑8/76 ‑ New Hampshire (1)‑(4)

Box 22 - Trip File

  • 2/24‑28/76 ‑ Florida (1)‑(7)
  • 3/8‑12/76 ‑ Arizona, California, and Illinois (1)‑(5)

Box 23 - Trip File

  • 3/20/76 ‑ New York City (1)‑(4)
  • 4/4‑5/76 ‑ Wisconsin (1)‑(4)
  • 4/8/76 ‑ New York City ‑ "Women of the Year" (1)‑(5)

Box 24 - Trip File

  • 4/19‑22/76 ‑ Texas (1)‑(13)
  • 4/26/76 ‑ Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Box 25 - Trip File

  • 4/29/76 ‑ New York City
  • 4/30/76 ‑ Indiana
  • 5/4‑8/76 ‑ Ohio, California, Oregon, South Dakota, Missouri (1)‑(4)
  • 5/14‑16/76 ‑ Tennessee, Kentucky, Michigan
  • 5/22/76 ‑ Bennington, Vermont (1)‑(2)

Box 26 - Trip File

  • 5/27‑28/76 ‑ New Jersey, Ohio
  • 6/4‑6/76 ‑ California, Michigan (1)‑(5)
  • 6/17/76 ‑ New York City ‑ Republican Fundraisers
  • 6/18/76 ‑ Des Moines, Iowa ‑ State Republican Convention
  • 6/22/76 ‑ New York City (1)‑(4)
  • 6/25/76 ‑ St. Paul, Minnesota ‑ Republican State Convention (1)‑(2)

Box 27 - Trip File

  • 6/29/76 ‑ Plymouth, Massachusetts ‑ "Remember the Ladies" Exhibit (1)‑(3)
  • 8/10/76 ‑ New York City ‑ Duke Ellington Celebration
  • 8/14‑20/76 ‑ Kansas City, Kansas ‑ Republican National Convention (1)‑(9)

Box 28 - Trip File

  • 8/20/76‑9/4/76 ‑ Vail, Colorado
  • 9/5/76 ‑ Chicago, Illinois
  • 9/15‑16/76 ‑ Michigan and Ohio
  • 9/25/76 ‑ Mississippi River Boat Trip
  • 9/26/76 ‑ Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • 10/1‑2/76 ‑ Pennsylvania, Indiana, Texas (1)‑(3)
  • 10/6‑10/76 ‑ California, Washington, Colorado, New York (1)‑(3)
  • 10/15/76 ‑ Illinois

Box 29 - Trip File

  • 10/19‑22/76 ‑ California, Illinois, Iowa, Ohio, Virginia (1)‑(3)
  • 10/26‑28/76 ‑ Ohio, Illinois, Michigan, New Jersey (1)‑(2)
  • 10/31/76 ‑ New York, Pennsylvania
  • 11/7‑15/76 ‑ Palm Springs, California
  • 11/20‑21/76 ‑ Pocantico, New York
  • 11/30/76 ‑ Hayannis, Massachusetts ‑ Cape Cod Hospital
  • 12/1/76 ‑ New York City ‑ American Cancer Society
  • 12/19/76‑1/2/77 ‑ Vail, Colorado
  • 12/19/76 ‑ Ann Arbor, Michigan

Box 30 - State Visits File

  • 8/16/74 ‑ Jordan (1)‑(2)
  • 9/12/74 ‑ Israel (1)‑(2)
  • 9/25/74 ‑ Italy (1)‑(2)
  • 10/8/74 ‑ Poland (1)‑(2)
  • 11/12/74 ‑ Austria (1)‑(3)
  • 12/4/74 ‑ Canada
  • 12/5/74 ‑ Federal Republic of Germany (1)‑(2)
  • 1/30/75 ‑ United Kingdom (1)‑(3)

Box 31 - State Visits File

  • 2/5/75 ‑ Pakistan (1)‑(3)
  • 4/19/75 ‑ Zambia
  • 4/29/75 ‑ Jordan
  • 5/1/75 ‑ Tunisia
  • 5/8/75 ‑ Singapore
  • 5/14/75 ‑ Netherlands
  • 5/15/75 ‑ Iran (1)‑(3)

Box 32 - State Visits File

  • 6/11/75 ‑ Israel
  • 6/16/75 ‑ Federal Republic of Germany (1)‑(4)
  • 8/5/75 ‑ Japan
  • 9/25/75 ‑ Colombia
  • 10/2/75 ‑ Japan (1)‑(4)

Box 33 - State Visits File

  • 10/27/75 ‑ Egypt (1)‑(3)
  • 11/12/75 ‑ Luxembourg
  • 1/27/76 ‑ Israel (1)‑(3)
  • 3/17/76 ‑ Ireland (1)‑(3)
  • 3/30/76 ‑ Jordan (1)‑(2)
  • 5/11/76 ‑ Denmark (1)‑(2)
  • 5/17/76 ‑ France (1)‑(3)

Box 34 - State Visits File

  • 6/2/76 ‑ Spain (1)‑(2)
  • 7/8/76 ‑ Great Britain (1)‑(4)
  • 7/15/76 ‑ Federal Republic of Germany (1)‑(2)
  • 7/27/76 ‑ Australia
  • 8/3/76 ‑ Finland
  • 9/21/76 ‑ Liberia
  • 9/24/76 ‑ President‑Elect Portillo of Mexico (private)
  • 12/6/76 ‑ Italy

Box 35 - General Subject File

  • Administration Personnel, A‑Z (1)‑(7)
  • Blair House
  • Bloomer, William (Mrs. Ford's brother)
  • Christmas, 1974 ‑ Card
  • Christmas, 1974 ‑ General
  • Christmas, 1974 ‑ National Christmas Tree
  • Christmas, 1974 ‑ Ornament Suggestions
  • Christmas, 1974 ‑ White House Decorations (1)‑(2)
  • Christmas, 1974 ‑ White House Tours
  • Christmas, 1974 ‑ White House Tree

Box 36 - General Subject File

  • Christmas, 1975 ‑ Card
  • Christmas, 1975 ‑ Decoration Requests Filled
  • Christmas, 1975 ‑ General
  • Christmas, 1975 ‑ National Christmas Tree
  • Christmas, 1975 ‑ Volunteers
  • Christmas, 1975 ‑ White House Decorations (1)‑(3)
  • Christmas, 1975 ‑ White House Tours
  • Christmas, 1976 ‑ Card
  • Christmas, 1976 ‑ Decorations
  • First Families ‑ Former
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Abortion
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Arts ‑ Dance
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Arts ‑ General Involvement
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Arts ‑ Handicapped
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Arts ‑ National Endowment for the Arts

Box 37 - General Subject File

  • Ford, Betty ‑ Beauty and Health
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Bicentennial
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Biography
  • Ford, Betty ‑ "Betty's Husband for President" Campaign Button
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Campaigning
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Cancer
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Cancer ‑ American Cancer Society
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Cancer ‑ Printed Material
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Citizens Band Radio (1)‑(3)
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Equal Rights Amendment
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Fashion ‑ American Industry
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Fashion ‑ Betty Ford Scarf

Box 38 - General Subject File

  • Ford, Betty ‑ Fashion ‑ Designers ‑ Capraro, Albert (1)‑(2)
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Fashion ‑ Designers ‑ Estevez, Luis
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Fashion ‑ Designers ‑ Halston
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Fashion ‑ Designers ‑ Welch, Frankie
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Fashion ‑ Energy Savings
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Fashion ‑ Fur Coat
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Fashion ‑ Philosophy
  • Ford, Betty ‑ First Memory
  • Ford, Betty ‑ First Year Articles
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Food ‑ Beef Prices
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Food ‑ Family Recipes
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Gardening
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Gun Control
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Hairstyle
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Handicapped
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Hays, Wayne
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Homes
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Honorary Affiliations
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Hospital for Sick Children

Box 39 - General Subject File

  • Ford, Betty ‑ Mail Analyses
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Marriage & Divorce
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Mental Retardation
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Nessen, Ron ‑ "Saturday Night Live"
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Nixon, Patricia
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Nixon, Richard
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Polls and Surveys
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Portrait
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Reagan ‑ Ann Armstrong Controversy
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Religious Beliefs
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Restaurants
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Salary for First Lady
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Supreme Court Appointment
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Television
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Trees
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Vice‑Presidency
  • Ford, Betty ‑ WIN Program
  • Ford, Betty ‑ Year End Articles 1975
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Biography
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Busing
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Campaign
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Children
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Clothing
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Conservation

Box 40 - General Subject File

  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Debates
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Drug Abuse
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Food
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Golf
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Hats
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Finances
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Handwriting
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Hersey, John, "Six Days with the President"
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Health
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Inaugural Medal
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ International Women's Year Commission
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Portraits and Photographs
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Post‑Presidential
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Taxes
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Television Appearances
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Television Viewing
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ terHorst, Jerald, articles
  • Ford, Gerald ‑ Watch
  • Ford, John ‑ American Broadcasting Corp. (1) ‑ (2)
  • Ford, John ‑ Biography
  • Ford, John ‑ Events ‑ George Harrison Visit 12/13/74
  • Ford, John ‑ Events ‑ Vail 8/17/75
  • Ford, John ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning ‑ New Jersey, California, 5/22/76 ‑ 6/5/76
  • Ford, John ‑ Events ‑ 60 Minutes, 6/27/76
  • Ford, John ‑ Events ‑ Republican National Convention, 8/14‑20/76
  • Ford, John ‑ Events ‑ President Ford Committee Taping, 9/7/76
  • Ford, John ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in Ohio, 9/29/76
  • Ford, John ‑ Events ‑ "Tomorrow" Show Appearance, 10/19/76
  • Ford, John ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in California, 10/21/76
  • Ford, John ‑ The Great American T‑Shirt
  • Ford, John ‑ William Morris Agency

Box 41 - General Subject File

  • Ford, Michael ‑ Biography
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Events ‑ Adirondack Hiking Trip, 5/16‑21/76
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in Maine, 9/29/76
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in Vermont & New Hampshire, 10/9‑11/76
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in New Jersey, 10/16‑17/76
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in Virginia, 10/25/76
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in Ohio, New York, Delaware, Maine, 10/28/76 to 11/1/76
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Newsweek article
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Richard Nixon Comments
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Religious Views
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Visits from Family
  • Ford, Michael ‑ Wake Forest University
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Biography
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Education ‑ Clippings
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Forum International Horse Show Clippings, 10/11/75
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Casey Tibbs Bronc Riding Clinic Clippings, 5/1‑2/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Tablerock Lake Bass Fishing Contest, 5/17/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in Oregon, 5/19‑20/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Trip to California, 6/2‑3/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ John Davidson Show, 6/7/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Bicentennial Trail Ride, 6/14‑17/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Calgary Stampede, 7/8‑10/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Republican National Convention, 8/14‑20/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in Western States, 9/30/76 ‑ 10/20/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Camp‑O‑Ree, Lincoln, Illinois, 10/9/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Columbus Day Parade, New York City
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in Ohio, California, New York, 10/21‑23/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Events ‑ Campaigning in California, 10/27‑30/76
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Marijuana Clippings
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Military Draft Clippings
  • Ford, Steven ‑ "People"
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Post Election Activities ‑ Clippings
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Rodeoing
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Social Life
  • Ford, Steven ‑ Tony Lama Boots

Box 42 - General Subject File

  • Ford, Susan ‑ Associated Press Job
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Bed ‑ Clippings
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Biography
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Boyfriends ‑ Clippings
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Campaign Trips
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Candace Bergen Comments
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Cartoon
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Equal Rights Amendment
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Fur Coat
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 11/2/74 ‑ Diplomatic Reception ‑ Clippings
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 11/2/74 ‑ Scholarship Aptitude Test
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 11/3/74 ‑ International Horse Show
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 11/25/74 ‑ Little Rock, Arkansas Church Tour
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 12/7/74 ‑ Interview with West Point Cadets
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 2/7/75 ‑ Liberty's Birthday Party
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 3/20‑31/75 ‑ Vail, Colorado Vacation
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 4/23/75 ‑ Meeting with Valerie‑Ann Giscard d'Estaing
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 4/27/75 ‑ Rocking Chair Fundraising Marathon
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 5/1‑4/75 ‑ Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival (1)‑(3)
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 5/31/75 ‑ Holton Arms Senior Prom (1)‑(2)

Box 43 - General Subject File

  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 6/5/75 ‑ Holton Arms Commencement
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 6/8‑12/75 ‑ Ansel Adams Yosemite Workshop
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 6/27/75 ‑ Operation Sail Flagship Christening
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 7/5/75 ‑ Birthday Party
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 7/7/75 to 8/15/75 ‑ Topeka Capital Journal Summer Job
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 8/15/75 to 9/4/75 ‑ Vail, Colorado Vacation
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 10/6‑13/75 ‑ University of Missouri Photo Journalism Workshop
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 12/20/75 ‑ 1/26/76 ‑ Vail, Colorado Vacation
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 2/8‑9/76 ‑ Skiing in New Hampshire
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 2/17‑19/76 ‑ "Family Circle" ‑ Modeling
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 3/25‑28/76 ‑ Jamaican Vacation
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 4/6/76 ‑ Ringling Brothers and Barnum and Bailey Circus
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 4/25/76 to 5/2/76 ‑ Azalea Festival (1)‑(2)
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 4/27/76 ‑ Visit with Muhammad Ali ‑ Clippings
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 5/14‑16/76 ‑ Tulip Time Festival Parade
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 6/5/76 ‑ Milk Day Celebration

Box 44 - General Subject File

  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 6/20/76 ‑ Walt Disney World
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 7/4/76 ‑ Sequoia Birthday Cruise
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 7/29/76 ‑ GOP Youth Training Camp
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 8/15‑19/76 ‑ Republican National Convention
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 8/21‑31/76 ‑ Vail, Colorado Vacation
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 9/6/76 ‑ Washington County Bicentennial Parade
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 9/10/76 ‑ Dinner for President at Apartment
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 9/11/76 ‑ Mexican American Parade
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 9/15/76 ‑ Campaigning ‑ South Carolina
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 9/18/76 ‑ Steuben Day Parade
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 10/1/76 ‑ Campaigning ‑ Illinois
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 10/3‑10/76 ‑ University of Missouri – Photography Workshop
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 10/15‑17/76 ‑ Campaigning ‑ Texas and Minnesota
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 10/27/76 ‑ "Tony Orlando and Dawn Rainbow Hour" ‑ Appearance
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 10/28‑31/76 ‑ Campaigning ‑ Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana, Wisconsin, Missouri, Illinois
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Events ‑ 11/2/76 ‑ Voting in Alexandra, Virginia
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Holton Arms School
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Holton Arms Senior Project
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Job Offers
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Ladies' Home Journal" Article, 1/75
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Ladies' Home Journal" Article, 8/76
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Mt. Vernon College
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Miscellaneous Newspaper Articles
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Needlepoint
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "People" Article, 7/76

Box 45 - General Subject File

  • Ford, Susan ‑ Portrait
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Recipes
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Relationship with Parents
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Seventeen" Article, 12/24
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Seventeen" Column ‑ Contract
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Seventeen" Column ‑ Correspondence
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Seventeen" Column ‑ Drafts
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Seventeen" Column
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Seventeen" Column ‑ Press Coverage
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "60 Minutes" Interview with Betty Ford
  • Ford, Susan ‑ Stony Brook School
  • Ford, Susan ‑ U.S. Ski Team
  • Ford, Susan ‑ University of Kansas
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Washington Post" Summer Job
  • Ford, Susan ‑ "Women's Wear Daily" Article, 10/12/76
  • Ford, Mr. & Mrs. Thomas (President's Half Brother)
  • Ford Family ‑ Biographies
  • Friends ‑ Brown, Mr. & Mrs. James
  • Friends ‑ Goebel, Mrs. Paul
  • Friends ‑ Parma, Mr. & Mrs. Leon
  • Friends ‑ Powell, Clara (Former Ford Family Housekeeper)
  • Friends ‑ Secchia, Peter
  • Friends ‑ Wilson, Flip
  • Friends ‑ Zeoli, Billy
  • Gifts ‑ Official Head of State (1) ‑ (2)
  • King, Leslie (President's Half Brother)
  • Legacy of Parks Program
  • Pets ‑ Liberty (Golden Retriever) and Puppies
  • Pets ‑ Shan (Siamese Cat)

Box 46 - General Subject File

  • Rockefeller, Mrs. Nelson
  • White House ‑ Bowling Alley
  • White House ‑ China
  • White House ‑ Communication System
  • White House ‑ Dining Room (wallpaper removal)
  • White House ‑ Easter Egg Roll
  • White House ‑ Entertainment
  • White House ‑ Food
  • White House ‑ Grounds
  • White House ‑ Nativity Scene
  • White House ‑ Oval Office
  • White House ‑ Redecoration (Nixon Administration) (1) ‑ (2)
  • White House ‑ Report of the Committee for the Preservation of the White House, 1969‑74 (1) ‑ (2)
  • White House ‑ The Residence
  • White House ‑ Silver
  • White House ‑ Staff
  • White House ‑ Tours
  • White House ‑ WIN Garden

Box 47 - General Subject File

  • Women ‑ Clippings (1) ‑ (5)
  • Women ‑ Equal Rights Amendment ‑ General
  • Women ‑ Equal Rights Amendment ‑ Samples of Public Mail
  • Women ‑ Equal Rights Amendment ‑ State Legislatures
  • Women ‑ Government Appointments
  • Women ‑ International Women's Year
  • Women ‑ International Women's Year Conference

Box 48 - General Subject File

  • Women ‑ League of Women Voters
  • Women ‑ "Life" Remarkable American Women Issue
  • Women ‑ The Martha Movement
  • Women ‑ National Equal Rights Amendment Development Committee
  • Women ‑ National Organization of Women
  • Women ‑ National Women Conference, 1976
  • Women ‑ Supreme Court
  • Women ‑ "Time" Woman of the Year, 12/75
  • Women ‑ Virginia Slims, 1975 Calendar
  • Women ‑ Women's Campaign Fund
  • Women ‑ Women's Detention Center
  • Women ‑ Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
  • Women ‑ "Women's Work"
  • Year End Articles ‑ 1975

Box 49 - Administrative Subject File

  • AP/UPI Wire Services
  • Advance Persons ‑ First Family
  • American Newspaper Women's Club Inc.
  • American Women in Radio and Television Inc. (1) ‑ (2)
  • Bicentennial (1) ‑ (2)
  • Bulgari, Nicola ‑ Gift for First Lady
  • Catering Services
  • "Celebrity Bulletin"
  • Committee on Women for Human Rights
  • Correspondence ‑ Personal
  • Crank Mail
  • Department of Children's Affairs ‑ Children
  • East Wing ‑ Press Office Organization
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Armentrout, Russell
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Chirdon, Nancy
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Downs, Maria
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Engebretson, Margaret

Box 50 - Administrative Subject File

  • East Wing Staff ‑ Howe, Nancy
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Ivey, Jerry
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Lammerding, Nancy
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Matson, Patricia
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Paris, Fran
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Patterson, Bradley
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Porembka, Carolyn
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Pullen, Kaye
  • East Wing Staff ‑ Smith, Helen
  • ERA Telethon
  • Form Letters
  • Future Projects ‑ ERA Television Special
  • Future Projects ‑ Ozark Fork Art Center
  • Future Projects ‑ "The Women of Russia"
  • Goodwill Industries
  • Job Inquiries (1) ‑ (7)

Box 51 - Administrative Subject File

  • Max, Peter ‑ Mexico/Canadian Border Project
  • Meeting, 10/74 ‑ Liz Carpenter
  • Meeting, 10/14/74 ‑ Winnie McLendon, Clare Crawford, Susan Bluttman
  • Meeting, 10/21/74 ‑ Helen Smith
  • Meeting, 10/21/74 ‑ Mrs. Ford, Brad Patterson, Nancy Howe, Nancy Lammerding, Helen Smith, Mike Farrell, Rex Scouten
  • Meeting, 10/22/74 ‑ Patti Matson
  • Meeting, 10/23/74 ‑ Tish Baldridge
  • "Panorama" ‑ (Weidenfeld's TV Show)
  • Photo Office ‑ Lab Orders Completed
  • Photo Office ‑ Release Policy
  • Photos Provided, A ‑ H

Box 52 - Administrative Subject File

  • Photos Provided, I ‑ S

Box 53 - Administrative Subject File

  • Photos Provided, T ‑ Z
  • Press ‑ Buchwald, Art
  • Press ‑ Hama, Taka
  • Press ‑ Howar, Barbara
  • Press ‑ Howard, Jane
  • Press ‑ Lewine, Fan
  • Press ‑ McPherson, Myra
  • Press ‑ O'Quinn, Jeanne
  • Press ‑ Porter, Sylvia
  • Press ‑ Quinn, Sally
  • Press ‑ Sutton, Suzy
  • Press ‑ Thomas, Helen
  • Press ‑ Walters, Barbara
  • Press Briefings ‑ West Wing
  • Press Corps ‑ East Wing
  • Press Releases

Box 54 - Administrative Subject File

  • Requests ‑ Ford Children ‑ Interview
  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Appearances
  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Book (1)‑(4)
  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Foreign (1)‑(3)
  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Magazine (1)‑(4)

Box 55 - Administrative Subject File

  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Magazine (5)‑(9)
  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Messages
  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Miscellaneous
  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Newspaper
  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Radio (1)

Box 56 - Administrative Subject File

  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ Radio (2)‑(3)
  • Requests ‑ Betty Ford ‑ TV (1)‑(5)
  • Requests ‑ John Ford (1)‑(5)
  • Requests ‑ Michael and Gayle Ford
  • Requests ‑ Steven Ford
  • Requests ‑ Susan Ford ‑ Book

Box 57 - Administrative Subject File

  • Requests ‑ Susan Ford ‑ Magazines
  • Requests ‑ Susan Ford ‑ Miscellaneous
  • Requests ‑ Susan Ford ‑ Newspapers (1)‑(2)
  • Requests ‑ Susan Ford ‑ Radio (1)‑(2)
  • Requests ‑ Susan Ford ‑ Submit Photographs
  • Requests ‑ Susan Ford ‑ Television (1)‑(3)
  • Requests ‑ Susan Ford ‑ Topeka Capitol Journal
  • Requests ‑ Susan Ford ‑ Pets ‑ Interviews
  • Requests ‑ Recipes
  • Requests ‑ White House and Grounds
  • Requests ‑ White House Staff ‑ Interviews

Box 58 - Administrative Subject File

  • Security
  • Schedules 1974
  • Scheduling Procedures
  • Souvenir Requests
  • Standards of Conduct
  • State Dinners ‑ Entertainment Suggestions (1)‑(2)
  • State Dinners ‑ Policy
  • State Dinners ‑ Suggested Guests
  • Summer Intern Program
  • Telephone Credit Cards
  • "Television Digest"
  • Washington Performing Arts Society
  • U.S. National Women's Agenda
  • Washington Press Club
  • "We The People" Bicentennial Fair
  • White House Curator ‑ Conger, Clem
  • White House Health Unit
  • White House Historical Association
  • White House Prayer Meetings

Box 59 - Administrative Subject File

  • White House Tours ‑ Special Requests
  • White House Record Library (1)‑(6)
  • Women Law Reporter
  • Women's Festival for the Bicentennial
  • The Women's Institute, Inc.
  • Women's Legal Defense Fund
  • York, Joanne ‑ "How I Feed My Family on $16 a Week"
  • Zeoli, Billy

Box 60 - Clippings File

  • 1924
  • 1928
  • 1934
  • 1935
  • 1936‑37
  • 1938
  • 1943
  • 1946
  • 1948
  • 1950
  • 1951
  • 1952
  • 1953
  • 1954
  • 1955
  • 1958
  • 1959
  • 1960
  • 1961
  • 1962
  • 1963
  • 1964
  • 1965 (1)‑(3)
  • 1966
  • 1967
  • 1968
  • 1969

Box 61 - Clippings File

  • 1970‑72
  • 1973 (1)‑(2)
  • 1974 (1)‑(7)

Box 62 - Clippings File

  • 1975 (1)‑(8)

Box 63 - Clippings File

  • 1975 (9)‑(16)

Box 64 - Clippings File

  • 1976 (1)‑(7)

Box 65 - Clippings File

  • 1976 (8)‑(14)

Box 66 - Clippings File

  • 1976 (15)‑(23)
  • 1977