COLLECTION FINDING AID



U.S. NATIONAL SECURITY COUNCIL

INSTITUTIONAL FILES, (1969) 1974-77 (1980)





SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

These are the formal, institutional records of the Ford-era NSC and its committees, working groups, panels, and administrative staff. The NSC had retained them for continuity of government until the Clinton administration. That portion of the collection which pertains to intelligence matters remains unprocessed and is in the physical custody of the National Archives in Washington, D.C.

QUANTITY
47 linear feet (approximately 94,400 pages)

DONOR
Clinton Presidential Records that were transferred by the National Archives to the Ford Library at President Clinton’s direction. (accession number 2004-NLF-047)

ACCESS
Open, but many documents continue to be national security classified and restricted. Closed documents are identified by withdrawal sheets. Access is governed by the Presidential Records Act of 1978.

COPYRIGHT
Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.

Prepared by Helmi Raaska, December 2007
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\us national security council insitutional files.doc]


INTRODUCTION

The National Security Council was established by the National Security Act of 1947 in recognition of the need for coordination of political, military, and economic considerations in the development of national security policy in the post-World War II period. By the Reorganization Plan of 1949, the NSC was placed in the Executive Office of the President.

The statutory function of the NSC is to advise the President with respect to the integration of domestic, foreign, and military policies relating to the national security. It is the instrument of the President and he may use it as he chooses. During the Eisenhower administration the NSC system became highly structured and formal. Presidents Kennedy and Johnson preferred a more informal, flexible system. The Nixon administration developed a system which combined the Eisenhower administration’s formality with the flexibility of the Kennedy and Johnson years, and established the position of Staff Secretary. Jeanne Davis, Director of the Secretariat Staff at the State Department, was detailed to the NSC to organize and direct a Secretariat. She served as Staff Secretary from June 1970 to the end of the Ford administration.

When Gerald Ford became President, he modified the Nixon system to suit his style. He wanted a system which would provide a sound, orderly basis for the decision-making process and ensure that he heard all the appropriate voices on major issues. Dissents and disagreements were to be identified and discussed and not buried in bureaucratic consensus. The NSC acted as the principal forum through which major issues of national security policy were brought to the President for decision. It served as the mechanism for identifying and analyzing national security issues, defining U.S. objectives, developing viable alternative courses of action, obtaining the views and recommendations of the departments involved, presenting those views to the President for decision, and ensuring implementation of presidential decisions.

President Ford chaired the NSC and the Vice President and Secretaries of State and Defense were statutory members. The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff served as statutory military adviser to the Council, the Director of Central Intelligence as its intelligence adviser, and the Director of the Arms Control and Disarmament Agency as adviser on arms control matters. Other Cabinet officers and Agency heads were often invited by the President to attend NSC meetings when issues of concern to them were on the agenda. Henry Kissinger and then Brent Scowcroft, as Assistants to the President for National Security Affairs, were the chief supervisory officers of the NSC system. An NSC staff of approximately forty professionals, primarily career officers detailed from foreign affairs and national security agencies, did the staff work for the President and his Assistant for National Security Affairs.

Three sets of sub-groups (Interdepartmental Groups, Intermediate Groups, and Operational Groups) were under the NSC umbrella. Six Interdepartmental Groups at the Assistant Secretary level, one for each geographic area, formed the base of the system. These groups prepared the basic papers defining the issues for decision. Five senior-level Intermediate Groups (Senior Review Group, Verification Panel, Defense Review Panel, Committee on Foreign Intelligence, and Operations Advisory Group), reviewed the work of the Interdepartmental Groups and considered issues which cut across geographic lines. The Operational Groups were the Washington Special Actions Group (WSAG) and the Under Secretaries Committee. WSAG, chaired by the Secretary of State, was a crisis management group responsible for coordination of U.S. activity in crisis situations. The Under Secretaries Committee, chaired by the Deputy Secretary of State, was responsible for overseeing implementation of the President’s decisions and developing operational programs and recommendations.

A typescript entitled Coordinative Staff Work provides background for the organizational structure of the NSC and describes how the system functioned. It is located in “Davis, Jeanne W. – Personal File – Coordinative Staff Work (1)-(3),” Box 84.

Scope and Content of the Materials
The Ford NSC Institutional Files were retained by the NSC at the end of the administration to provide continuity to the ongoing operations of government. At the end of the Clinton administration institutional files from earlier presidencies were transferred to the custody of the National Archives and at President Clinton’s request, were eventually transferred to their respective presidential libraries. The Ford Presidential Library received its institutional files in June 2004, but intelligence related files remain with the National Archives in Washington, D.C.

Institutional Files include material directly related to the institution of the NSC and the NSC system. These files consist of, but are not limited to: records of deliberations of the NSC and its auxiliary bodies, boards, and committees; all decisions issued by or in the name of the President as Chairman of the NSC; and all agency and NSC staff material submitted in response to NSC directives. Examples of these types of materials are National Security Study Memoranda (NSSM) and National Security Decision Memoranda (NSDM), responses to NSSMs, material prepared for meetings of the NSC and its sub-groups, records of actions and minutes of such meetings, and Under Secretaries Committee responses to NSC directives. Institutional Files also include Congressional and General Accounting Office inquiries addressed to the NSC staff in its statutory role, FOIA and Privacy Act requests submitted to the NSC, and administrative and personnel records.

Subject content of the files covers the broad range of foreign policy and national security issues addressed within the NSC system. Topics include U.S. relations with individual nations, U.S. interests in various regions of the world, arms transfers, and SALT negotiations with the Soviet Union. A series called Institutional Files – Secretariat includes NSC administrative materials and files of Staff Secretary Jeanne Davis.

Related Materials (December 2007)
Related and duplicative materials are found throughout wholly and partially processed sub-collections of National Security Adviser Files. Additional related materials will undoubtedly become available as processing continues in these files.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

IFM (Institutional Files – Meetings), 1974-77.  (Boxes 1‑30, 12.0 linear feet)
Materials and minutes for Verification Panel (VP), National Security Council (NSC), Senior Review Group (SRG), Washington Special Actions Group (WSAG), and Defense Review Panel (DRP) meetings. VP meetings were primarily concerned with SALT and MBFR issues. SALT and MBFR were ongoing topics at NSC meetings, along with issues of an immediate nature such as the Middle East, Vietnam, Cambodia, Mayaguez Incident, and Angola. SRG meetings focused on specific NSSMs. Crisis situations discussed at WSAG meetings include Cyprus, the Middle East, Vietnam, Cambodia, Lebanon, and Korea. DRP meetings were concerned with SALT, naval forces, and tactical aircraft issues.

Meeting materials such as agendas, briefing papers, and talking points are filed first, followed by a separate sequence of minutes. Files concerning NSC Ad Hoc Technical Panels meetings and miscellaneous materials are filed last. Arranged by name of group and thereunder by date of meeting.

View container list for this series

IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs), 1974-77. (Boxes 31‑52, 8.8 linear feet)
A National Security Study Memorandum defined an issue to be studied, set the terms of reference for the study, assigned it to a particular group to prepare (normally one of the Interdepartmental Groups), set a due date for completion of the study, and indicated which of the Intermediate Groups would review the study. Files usually include drafts and final form of the NSSM, background materials, input from concerned departments and agencies, and drafts and final version of the study. The studies covered a wide range of topics including U.S. security assistance to Israel, South Korea, Taiwan, and South Vietnam; U.S. policy toward Japan, Greece, Oman, the Middle East, Southern Europe, Angola, Thailand, and the Persian Gulf; and issues such as uranium enrichment, arms transfers, the strategic stockpile, management of classified national security information, international energy policy, civil defense policy, and national defense policy and military posture.

Folders containing drafts, studies, and comments are filed first, followed by separate sequences of the original ribbon copies of the final NSSMs and responses to selected studies. Arranged by NSSM number.

View container list for this series

IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs), 1974-77.  (Boxes 53‑71, 7.6 linear feet)
When the President made a decision as Chairman of the NSC a National Security Decision Memorandum was prepared. The NSDM informed the appropriate departments and agencies of the President’s decision in specific terms and in as much detail as was required, and included directives for operational activity and for reporting on implementation. Files contain drafts and final form of the NSDM, background materials, comments by concerned departments and agencies, directives for implementing the decision, and follow-up reports as required by the NSDM. Decision memoranda were issued to provide instructions for SALT, MBFR, Nuclear Test Ban, Peaceful Nuclear Explosions, Law of the Sea, Panama Canal, and military base negotiations. Decision memoranda were also issued on a broad range of topics including communications security, weapons and strategic and critical materials stockpiles, establishment of the Sinai Support Mission, implications of worldwide population growth, and policies dealing with many aspects of nuclear energy and nuclear weapons.

Folders containing drafts and final version of the NSDM, background materials, comments, and directives are filed first, followed by separate sequences of original ribbon copies of the NSDMs and Jeanne Davis working files. Arranged by NSDM number.

View container list for this series

IFU (Institutional Files – Under Secretaries Committee), 1974-77. (Boxes 72‑77, 2.2 linear feet)
The Under Secretaries Committee, chaired by the Deputy Secretary of State, had the responsibility of overseeing implementation of the President’s decisions and developing operational programs and recommendations. The files contain numbered Under Secretaries Committee Memoranda with occasional reports and other related material. Subject content of the documents closely parallels the subject content of NSSMs and NSDMs. This series has three sequences of numbered memoranda: NSC-U/SM concerning studies and recommendations, and NSC-U/DM and NSC-U/N concerning presidential decisions and their implementing and reporting requirements.

Arranged in each sequence by document number.

View container list for this series

IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat), (1969) 1974-77 (1980).  (Boxes 77‑104, 11.0 linear feet)
Materials concerning the organization and ongoing work of the Secretariat of the NSC. Files include administrative materials, Jeanne Davis files, materials concerning the Commission on the Organization of the Government for the Conduct of Foreign Policy (Murphy Commission), and NSC handling of document requests from the Church and Pike Committees during the intelligence investigations. The series also contains a set of NSC log-numbered documents and files for the NSC Telecommunications Panel and Vietnam Ad Hoc Group.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Administrative Files, 1974-77. (Boxes 105‑110, 2.4 linear feet)
Primarily staff and personnel files, including NSC staff, consultants, and Rand employees.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

John Niehuss Files from the Council on International Economic Policy, 1972-75.  (Boxes 111‑115, 2.0 linear feet)
Files concerning international economic policy issues including expropriation, international investment, and Law of the Sea negotiations.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Miscellaneous NSC Institutional Files – Secretariat Files, 1971-77. (Boxes 116‑118, 1.2 linear feet)
Duplicate copies of NSC-numbered documents, including an Under Secretaries Committee Memoranda and selected NSSMs and NSDMs, and meeting materials. The materials were labeled “Institutional Files that were not sent to Warrenton,” the site where NSC materials were microfilmed.

NSC-numbered documents are arranged by document number; meeting materials are arranged by name of group and thereunder by date of the meeting.

View container list for this series

[Intelligence Files - stored at the National Archives, Washington, D.C. to be transferred to the Ford Library] 


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Verification Panel Meeting, 8/30/74 - SALT (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 9/5/74 - SALT Compliance (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 9/7/74 - MBFR (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 9/9/74 - SALT
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 9/28/74 - Test Ban (1)-(4)

Box 2 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Verification Panel Meeting, 10/4/74 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 10/17/74 - SALT (1)-(4)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 12/20/74 - SALT Compliance and MIRV Verification (1)-(3)

Box 3 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Verification Panel Meeting, 12/20/74 - SALT Compliance and MIRV Verification (4)-(6)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 1/3/75 - MIRV Verification (1)-(2)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 1/10/75 - SALT (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 1/16/75 - MBFR (1)-(2)

Box 4 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Verification Panel Meeting, 1/20/75 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 2/8/75 - TTB/PNE and Non-Proliferation (1)-(5)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 2/28/75 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 4/19/75 - Non-Proliferation (1)-(3)

Box 5 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Verification Panel Meeting, 5/17/75 - SALT (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 5/24/75 - SALT (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 7/18/75 - SALT
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 7/24/75 - SALT
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 9/10/75 - SALT (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 11/26/75 - SALT
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 11/28/75 - SALT

Box 6 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Verification Panel Meeting, 12/19/75 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 1/5/76 - SALT (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 2/5/76 - SALT (postponed from 1/31/76) (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 2/10/76 - SALT
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 3/5/76 - PNE (1)-(2)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 3/18/76 - SALT (1)-(3)

Box 7 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Verification Panel Meeting, 4/21/76 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 5/11/76 - MBFR (1)-(2)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 6/3/76 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 7/13/76 - SALT (1)-(3)
  • Verification Panel Meeting, 9/9/76 - MBFR (1)-(2)

Box 8 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • NSC Meeting, 8/10/74 - NSC System
  • NSC Meeting, 9/6/74 - Israeli Arms Request (1)-(6)
  • NSC Meeting, 9/14/74 - SALT
  • NSC Meeting, 10/7/74 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • NSC Meeting, 10/18/74 - SALT (1)-(4)

Box 9 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • NSC Meeting, 12/2/74 - President and HAK Report on Trip
  • NSC Meeting, 1/23/75 - MBFR (1)-(3)
  • NSC Meeting, 1/29/75 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • NSC Meeting, 3/5/75 - SALT (1)-(3)
  • NSC Meeting, 3/28/75 - Middle East Policy (1)-(2)
  • NSC Meeting, 4/9/75 - Vietnam and Cambodia (1)-(3)

Box 10 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • NSC Meeting, 4/24/75 - South Vietnam
  • NSC Meeting, 4/28/75 - Evacuation
  • NSC Meeting, 5/12/75 - Seizure of American Ship by Cambodians
  • NSC Meeting, 5/13/75 - Seizure of American Ship by Cambodians
  • NSC Meeting, 5/14/75 - Seizure of American Ship by Cambodians
  • NSC Meeting, 5/15/75 - Panama Canal (1)-(2)
  • NSC Meeting, 6/27/75 - Angola (1)-(2)
  • NSC Meeting, 7/23/75 - Panama Canal
  • NSC Meeting, 7/25/75 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • NSC Meeting, 8/9/75 - SALT
  • NSC Meeting, 9/17/75 - SALT
  • NSC Meeting, 12/22/75 - SALT
  • NSC Meeting, 1/8/76 - SALT (1)-(2)

Box 11 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • NSC Meeting, 1/13/76 - Israel (1)-(2)
  • NSC Meeting, 1/19/76 - SALT
  • NSC Meeting, 1/21/76 - SALT
  • NSC Meeting, 2/11/76 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • NSC Meeting, 4/7/76 - Lebanon
  • NSC Meeting, 4/22/76 - Defense/NSC Study on Naval Force Requirements
  • NSC Meeting, 5/1/76 - Navy Study (1)-(3)
  • NSC Meeting, 5/11/76 - African Trip
  • NSC Meeting, 7/21/76 - SALT
  • NSC Meeting, 7/30/76 - SALT
  • NSC Meeting, 8/9/76 - Stockpile (1)-(2)

Box 12 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

Box 13 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 8/28/74 - Environmental Warfare (2)-(4)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 8/30/74 - Israeli Arms Request (1)-(4)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 9/4/74 - CIEP - Critical Imported Materials Study (NSSM 197) (1)-(2)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 11/11/74 - Japan (NSSM 210) (1)-(3)

Box 14 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 1/27/75 - CW Policy (NSSM 192) (1)-(4)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 4/22/75 - Panama Canal (1)-(2)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 5/6/75 - Indian Ocean (1)-(4)

Box 15 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 6/19/75 - Angola (NSSM 224) (1)-(2)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 10/17/75 - U.S. Force Reductions in Thailand (1)-(4)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 12/16/75 - GEOS-3 Data
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 12/17/75 - Israeli Arms (1)-(2)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 2/12/76 – Future of Kagnew Station (NSSM 233) (1)-(2)

Box 16 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 2/27/76 - Taiwan (1)-(5)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 6/1/76 - Arms Control Impact Statements (1)-(4)

Box 17 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 6/4/76 - U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Area (NSSM 235) (1)-(2)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 7/22/76 - Strategic Stockpile (NSSM 228) (1)-(3)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 11/4/76 (Out Card Only)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 11/29/76 - MAAG Requirements (NSSM 243)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 12/7/76 - Arms Transfers (NSSM 223)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 12/21/76 - Civil Defense Policy (NSSM 244) (1)-(3)
  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 12/22/76 - Ethiopia (NSSM 248)

Box 18 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Senior Review Group Meeting, 12/29/76 - Chemical Munitions (NSSM 192) (1)-(4)
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 8/9/74 - Transition
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 8/14/74 - Cyprus
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 8/15/74 - Cyprus
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 1/7/75 - Indochina (1)-(3)
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 1/14/75 - Middle East (1)-(3)

Box 19 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 2/27/75 - Ethiopia (1)-(2)
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 3/20/75 - South Vietnam and Cambodia (1)-(2)
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 3/27/75 - Indochina
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/2/75 - Indochina
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/17/75 - Evacuation (1)-(3)
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/19/75 - Evacuation (1)-(3)

Box 20 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/20/75 - Evacuation
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/21/75 - Evacuation
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/22/75 - Evacuation
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/23/75 - Evacuation
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/26/75 - Evacuation
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/28/75 - Evacuation
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/29/75 - Evacuation
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 5/17/75 - Indochina
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 10/10/75 - Lebanon
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 10/13/75 - Lebanon, Portugal, and Italy (1)-(2)
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 3/24/76 - Cuba and Lebanon (1)-(2)

Box 21 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 4/22/76 - Cuba and Lebanon (1)-(3)
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 8/18/76 - Korea
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 8/19/76 - Korea
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 8/25/76 - Korea
  • Washington Special Actions Group Meeting, 8/25/76 - Korea (Minutes)
  • Defense Review Panel Meeting, 4/7/76 - SALT (1)-(2)
  • Defense Review Panel Meeting, 4/29/76 - Naval Forces (1)-(2)
  • Defense Review Panel Meeting, 7/8/76 - Tactical Aircraft (1)-(3)

Box 22 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Defense Review Panel Meeting, 11/5/76 - National Defense Policy and Military Posture (NSSM 246) (1)-(2)
  • Defense Review Panel Meeting, 11/24/76 - Naval Study (NSSM 246) (1)-(5)
  • Defense Review Panel Meeting, 11/30/76 - NSSM 246 (1)-(2)
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Drafts), January - February 1976
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Drafts), March 1976
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Drafts), April - July 1976
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Notes) (1)-(3)

Box 23 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Notes) (4)
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Originals), August - September 1974
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Originals), October 1974 - January 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Originals), January 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Originals), February 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Originals), April - May 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Verification Panel (Originals), November 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - NSC (Drafts) (1)-(2)
  • Meeting Minutes - Senior Review Group, August 1974
  • Meeting Minutes - Senior Review Group, November 1974 - January 1975

Box 24 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Meeting Minutes - Senior Review Group, April - May 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Senior Review Group, June - October 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Senior Review Group, December 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Senior Review Group, February 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Meeting Minutes - Senior Review Group, June 1976
  • Meeting Minutes - Senior Review Group, November - December 1976
  • Meeting Minutes - Washington Special Actions Group, August 1974
  • Meeting Minutes - Washington Special Actions Group, January 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Washington Special Actions Group, February 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Washington Special Actions Group, April 1975 (1)-(2)

Box 25 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Meeting Minutes - Washington Special Actions Group, April 1975 (3)-(4)
  • Meeting Minutes - Washington Special Actions Group, October 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - Washington Special Actions Group, March - April 1976
  • Meeting Minutes - Washington Special Actions Group, August 1976
  • Meeting Minutes - Defense Review Panel
  • Meeting Materials - Cuba (1)-(7)

Box 26 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Meeting Materials - Defense Review Panel Meeting, 11/5/76 (1)-(3)
  • Meeting Materials - NSC Ad Hoc Technical Panels - Log Numbers 7300216-7406375, 1974 (1)-(9)
  • Meeting Materials - NSC Ad Hoc Technical Panels - Log Numbers 7500013-7508036, 1975 (1)

Box 27 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Meeting Materials - NSC Ad Hoc Technical Panels - Log Numbers 7500013-7508036, 1975 (2)-(9)
  • Meeting Materials - NSC Ad Hoc Technical Panels - Log Numbers 7608264-7706793, 1976-1977 TQ (1)-(7)

Box 28 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Meeting Materials - NSC Ad Hoc Technical Panels - New Panel Topics (1)-(3)
  • Meeting Materials - NSC Ad Hoc Technical Panels - Reports (1)-(3)
  • Meeting Materials - NSC Meeting Dates (1)-(6)

Box 29 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Meeting Materials - NSC Meeting Dates (7)
  • Meeting Materials - NSC Meeting - Semiannual Review of the Intelligence Community, 1/13/77 (1)-(6)
  • Meeting Materials - NSC Miscellaneous (1)-(7)

Box 30 - IFM (Institutional Files - Meetings)

  • Meeting Materials - NSC Miscellaneous (8)-(12)
  • Meeting Materials - Senior Review Group - MAAG Requirements, 11/29/76

Box 31 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

Box 32 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

Box 33 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 213 - Review of U.S. Assistance Policy and Programs for the Republic of Vietnam
  • NSSM 214 - Implications of U.S. Participation in Siberian Development (1)-(3)
  • NSSM 215 - U.S. Security Policy Toward Greece (1 of 2) (1)-(2)
  • NSSM 215 - U.S. Security Policy Toward Greece (2 of 2) (1)-(2)
  • NSSM 216 - National Security Aspects of Releasing Safeguards Data and Procedures (1)-(2)

Box 34 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 216 - National Security Aspects of Releasing Safeguards Data and Procedures (3)-(6)
  • NSSM 217 - Security Policy Toward Oman (1)-(2)
  • NSSM 218 - U.S. Policy Toward U.S. and Soviet Military Access to Singapore
  • NSSM 219 - U.S.-Iran Agreement on Cooperation in Civil Uses of Atomic Energy
  • NSSM 220 - U.S. Policy in the Middle East (1)-(4)

Box 35 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 221 - U.S. Security Interests in the Azores (1)-(2)
  • NSSM 222 - U.S. and Allied Security Policy in Southern Europe (1)-(5)
  • NSSM 223 - Review of U.S. Policy on Arms Transfers (1)-(7)

Box 36 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 224 - United States Policy Toward Angola (1)-(5)
  • NSSM 225 - Review of U.S. Policy Toward Thailand (1)-(3)
  • NSSM 226 - Review of U.S. Policy Toward the Korean Peninsula

Box 37 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

Box 38 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 229 - Review of the Management of Classified National Security Information (4)-(7)
  • NSSM 230 - Establishment of U.S. Sinai Support Mission
  • NSSM 231 - Israeli Military Requests (1)-(10)

Box 39 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 231 - Israeli Military Requests (11)
  • NSSM 232 - U.S. Policy Toward Svalbard (Spitzbergen)
  • NSSM 233 - The Future of Kagnew Station (1)-(3)
  • NSSM 234 - United States Policy Toward Angola
  • NSSM 235 - U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Region (1 of 2) (1)
  • NSSM 235 - U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Region (1 of 2) (2)
  • NSSM 235 - U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Region (1 of 2) (3)
  • NSSM 235 - U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Region (1 of 2) (4)
  • NSSM 235 - U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Region (1 of 2) (5)
  • NSSM 235 - U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Region (2 of 2) (1)
  • NSSM 235 - U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Region (2 of 2) (2)

Box 40 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 235 - U.S. Interests and Objectives in the Asia-Pacific Region (2 of 2) (3)-(11)
  • NSSM 236 - United States Policy on Export-Import Bank Loans for South Africa (1)-(3)

Box 41 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 236 - United States Policy on Export-Import Bank Loans for South Africa (4)-(6)
  • NSSM 237 - U.S. International Energy Policy (1)-(4)
  • NSSM 238 - U.S. Policy Toward the Persian Gulf (1 of 3) (1)-(3)

Box 42 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 238 - U.S. Policy Toward the Persian Gulf (1 of 3) (4)-(7)
  • NSSM 238 - U.S. Policy Toward the Persian Gulf (2 of 3) (1)-(5)
  • NSSM 238 - U.S. Policy Toward the Persian Gulf (3 of 3) (1)-(4)

Box 43 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 238 - U.S. Policy Toward the Persian Gulf (3 of 3) (5)-(8)
  • NSSM 239 - The Future of the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas (FTAI) (1 of 3) (1)-(2)
  • NSSM 239 - The Future of the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas (FTAI) (2 of 3) (1)-(4)
  • NSSM 239 - The Future of the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas (FTAI) (3 of 3)
  • NSSM 240 - Alternative Siting for Thai-based Operations (1)-(2)

Box 44 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

Box 45 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 244 - United States Civil Defense Policy (3)-(10)
  • NSSM 244 - United States Civil Defense Policy - Report - The Annexes (1)-(5)

Box 46 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 244 - United States Civil Defense Policy - Report - Principal Reference Documents (1)-(9)
  • NSSM 245 - President's Report to Congress Concerning International Broadcast Facilities (1)-(2)

Box 47 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 245 - President's Report to Congress Concerning International Broadcast Facilities (3)-(4)
  • NSSM 246 - National Defense Policy and Military Posture (1 of 2) (1)-(9)
  • NSSM 246 - National Defense Policy and Military Posture (2 of 2) (1)-(3)

Box 48 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 246 - National Defense Policy and Military Posture (2 of 2) (4)-(15)
  • NSSM 247 - U.S. Policy Toward East-West Economic Relations (1)-(2)

Box 49 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • NSSM 248 - U.S. Policy Toward Ethiopia (1 of 2) (1)-(4)
  • NSSM 248 - U.S. Policy Toward Ethiopia (2 of 2) (1)-(2)
  • Originals - NSSM 207 to NSSM 227
  • Originals - NSSM 228 to NSSM 248
  • Responses - NSSM 216 - National Security Aspects of Releasing Safeguards Data and Procedures (1 of 2) (1)-(4)
  • Responses - NSSM 216 - National Security Aspects of Releasing Safeguards Data and Procedures (2 of 2) (1)-(3)

Box 50 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • Responses - NSSM 216 - National Security Aspects of Releasing Safeguards Data and Procedures (2 of 2) (4)-(10)
  • Responses - NSSM 223 - Review of the U.S. Policy on Arms Transfers (1)-(3)
  • Responses - NSSM 231 - Israeli Military Requests (1)-(6)

Box 51 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • Responses - NSSM 233 - The Future of Kagnew Station
  • Responses - NSSM 236 - United States Policy on Export-Import Bank Loans for South Africa
  • Responses - NSSM 238 - United States Policy Toward the Persian Gulf (1)-(3)
  • Responses - NSSM 244 - United States Civil Defense Policy (1)-(7)

Box 52 - IFS (Institutional Files – NSSMs)

  • Responses - NSSM 244 - United States Civil Defense Policy (8)-(14)
  • Responses - NSSM 246 - National Defense Policy and Military Posture (1)-(6)

Box 53 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 260 - Third United States Conference on the Law of the Sea (1)-(5)
  • NSDM 261 - Nuclear Sales to the PRC (1)-(3)
  • NSDM 262 - Use of U.S. Bases in Japan in the Event of Aggression Against South Korea
  • NSDM 263 - U.S. Policy on Antarctic Mineral Resources (1)-(4)

Box 54 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 264 - Nuclear Test Program for FY 1975 (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 265 - The NSC System
  • NSDM 266 - Improved Security of Telecommunications (1)-(5)
  • NSDM 267 - Turkish Opium Production (1)-(3)
  • NSDM 268 - Renegotiation of Bases Agreement with Spain (1)-(3)

Box 55 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 269 - Instructions for the Mutual and Balanced Force Reduction Talks, Vienna, 9/16/74
  • NSDM 270 - Israeli Military Assistance
  • NSDM 271 - Instructions for SALT Talks, Geneva, 9/18/74
  • NSDM 272 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, SALT Standing Consultative Commission, Geneva, 9/24/74
  • NSDM 273 - Instructions for U.S. Delegation to the PNE Negotiations, Moscow, 10/7/74
  • NSDM 274 - Nuclear Weapons Deployment Authorization for FY 75 (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 275 - COCOM Position on the Return of Depleted Uranium (Tails) from the USSR
  • NSDM 276 - FY 1975-1977 Nuclear Weapons Stockpile Plan
  • NSDM 277 - International Restraints on Environmental Warfare (1)-(5)
  • NSDM 278 - Joint Cooperation Commissions (1)-(2)

Box 56 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 278 - Joint Cooperation Commissions (3)-(7)
  • NSDM 279 - Geneva Protocol of 1925 and Riot Control Agents and Chemical Herbicides (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 280 - Revised Nuclear Test Program for FY 1975
  • NSDM 281 - Ratification of the Geneva Protocol of 1925 on Gas Warfare
  • NSDM 282 - Korean Force Modernization Plan (1)-(3)

Box 57 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 282 - Korean Force Modernization Plan (4)-(10)
  • NSDM 283 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, SALT Standing Consultative Commission, Compliance Issues
  • NSDM 284 - U.S. Position on the Mutual and Balanced Force Reduction Talks, Vienna, 1/30/75
  • NSDM 285 - Instructions for the SALT Talks in Geneva, 1/31/75 (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 286 - Long-Term Military Force Levels in Thailand (1)-(7)

Box 58 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 287 - Instructions for U.S. Delegation to the TTB/PNE Negotiations, 2/10/75 (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 288 - Instructions for the U.S. Delegation to the Geneva Session of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea (1)-(6)
  • NSDM 289 - U.S. Military Supply Policy to Pakistan and India (1)-(3)
  • NSDM 290 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, SALT Standing Consultative Commission, Geneva, 3/24/75
  • NSDM 291 - U.S. Security Policy Toward Greece (1)

Box 59 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 291 - U.S. Security Policy Toward Greece (2)-(3)
  • NSDM 292 - U.S.-Nuclear Cooperation (1)-(5)
  • NSDM 293 - U.S. Approach toward Enhancing the Allied Contribution to the Defense of NATO (1)-(3)
  • NSDM 294 - Change in the Eligibility of States to be Suppliers for AID Development Loan-Financed Procurement
  • NSDM 295 - Instructions Concerning Use of the Direct Communications Link between Washington and Moscow
  • NSDM 296 - Improved Communications Security (1)-(3)

Box 60 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 296 - Improved Communications Security (4)-(7)
  • NSDM 297 - Instructions for the U.S. Delegation to the PNE Negotiations, Moscow, 6/3/75
  • NSDM 298 - FRG Reactor Sale to the USSR
  • NSDM 299 - Cooperation with France (1)-(3)
  • NSDM 300 - Nuclear Weapons Deployment Authorization for FY 1976 and FY 1977 (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 301 - Instructions for the SALT Talks in Geneva, 7/2/75
  • NSDM 302 - Panama Canal Treaty Negotiations (1)-(2)

Box 61 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 303 - Instructions for the SALT Talks in Geneva
  • NSDM 304 - Instructions for the U.S. Delegation to the PNE Negotiations, Moscow, 9/5/75
  • NSDM 305 - Termination of U.S. Restrictions on Third Countries Trading with Cuba (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 306 - U.S.-Japan Space Cooperation
  • NSDM 307 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, Standing Consultative Commission, Geneva, 9/22/75 (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 308 - FY 1976 Underground Nuclear Test Program
  • NSDM 309 - Decisions on ROK Air Defense Requirements (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 310 - FY 1976-1978 Nuclear Weapons Stockpile
  • NSDM 311 - U.S.-Indonesia Consultative Arrangements
  • NSDM 312 - Nuclear Weapons Recovery (1)-(3)

Box 62 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 313 - Establishment of U.S. Sinai Support Mission (1)-(14)
  • NSDM 314 - Implications of Worldwide Population Growth for United States Security and Overseas Interests (1)-(2)

Box 63 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 314 - Implications of Worldwide Population Growth for United States Security and Overseas Interests (3)-(4)
  • NSDM 315 - Military Assistance for Israel (1)-(8)
  • NSDM 316 – Instructions for the SALT Negotiations
  • NSDM 317 - U.S. Participation in the Third International Coffee Agreement
  • NSDM 318 - U.S. Policy for Antarctica
  • NSDM 319 - Underground Nuclear Test Program for the Second Half of FY 1976 and the Transition Quarter (1)

Box 64 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 319 - Underground Nuclear Test Program for the Second Half of FY 1976 and the Transition Quarter (2)-(3)
  • NSDM 320 - Recommended Instructions for the Fourth Negotiating Session of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea (1)-(4)
  • NSDM 321 - Instructions for the U.S. Delegation to the PNE Negotiations, Moscow, 3/10/76
  • NSDM 322 - American Equipment Captured in Indochina (1)-(3)
  • NSDM 323 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, Standing Consultative Commission, Geneva
  • NSDM 324 - Negotiation of a Nuclear Agreement with Iran

Box 65 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 325 - United States Policy Toward Svalbard (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 326 - Functions and Organization of National Security Council Sub-Groups (1)-(4)
  • NSDM 327 - U.S. Policy Toward Thailand (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 328 - Modification of SSBN Commitments to NATO
  • NSDM 329 - [Title Classified] (1)-(3)
  • NSDM 330 - United States Policy on Export-Import Bank Loans for South Africa (1)-(2)

Box 66 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 331 - Instructions for the SALT Talks, Geneva, 6/1/76
  • NSDM 332 - Nuclear Weapons Deployment Authorization for FY 1977 and FY 1978 (1)-(5)
  • NSDM 333 - Enhanced Survivability of Critical U.S. Military and Intelligence Space Systems (1)-(6)
  • NSDM 334 - Questionable Payments Legislation
  • NSDM 335 - Army Special Operations Field Office in Berlin (1)-(2)

Box 67 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 335 - Army Special Operations Field Office in Berlin (3)-(4)
  • NSDM 336 - Instructions for the August-September 1976 Session of the Third United Nations Conference on Law of the Sea (1)-(3)
  • NSDM 337 - Strategic and Critical Materials Stockpile (1)-(3)
  • NSDM 338 - Further Improvements in Telecommunications Security (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 339 - U.S. Force Reductions on Taiwan (1)-(3)

Box 68 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 339 - U.S. Force Reductions on Taiwan (4)-(7)
  • NSDM 340 - U.S. Port Security Program (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 341 - FY 1977-1979 Nuclear Weapons Stockpile
  • NSDM 342 - Organizations to Perform Security Assistance Functions
  • NSDM 343 - FY 1977 Underground Nuclear Test Program (1)-(4)
  • NSDM 344 - Navy Shipbuilding Program
  • NSDM 345 - U.S. Anti-Satellite Capabilities

Box 69 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • NSDM 346 - Security of U.S. Telecommunications (1)-(2)
  • NSDM 347 - [The Classification of Sensitive Nuclear Safeguards Information]
  • NSDM 348 - U.S. Defense Policy and Military Posture
  • Originals - NSDM 265 to NSDM 280
  • Originals - NSDM 281 to NSDM 300
  • Originals - NSDM 301 to NSDM 315
  • Originals - NSDM 316 to NSDM 330
  • Originals - NSDM 331 to NSDM 348
  • Working File (Jeanne W. Davis)
    - NSDM 265 - The National Security Council System
    - NSDM 266 - Improved Security of Telecommunications
    - NSDM 267 – Turkish Opium Production
    - NSDM 268 - U.S. Policy Toward Spain
    - NSDM 269 - Instructions for the MBFR Talks, Vienna, 9/16/74
    - NSDM 270 - Israeli Future Military Requirements
    - NSDM 271 - Instructions for the SALT Talks, Geneva, 9/18/74
    - NSDM 272 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, SALT SCC, Geneva, 9/24/74
    - NSDM 273 - Instructions for U.S. Delegation to the PNE Negotiations, Moscow, 10/7/74
    - NSDM 274 - Nuclear Weapons Deployment Authorization for FY 1975
    - NSDM 275 - Returning Depleted Uranium from USSR
    - NSDM 276 - FY 1975-1977 Nuclear Weapons Stockpile
    - NSDM 277 - International Restraints on Environmental Warfare
    - NSDM 278 - Joint Cooperation Commissions
    - NSDM 279 - Geneva Protocol of 1925 and Riot Control Agents and Chemical Herbicides
    - NSDM 280 - Revised Nuclear Test Program for FY 1975
    - NSDM 281 - Ratification of the Geneva Protocol of 1925 on Gas Warfare

Box 70 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • Working File (Jeanne W. Davis)
    - NSDM 282 - Korean Force Modernization Plan
    - NSDM 283 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, SALT SCC Session on Compliance Issues
    - NSDM 284 - U.S. Position on MBFR Talks, Vienna, 1/30/75
    - NSDM 285 - Instructions for the SALT Talks in Geneva, 1/31/75 (1)-(2)
    - NSDM 286 - Long-Term U.S. Military Force Levels in Thailand
    - NSDM 287 - Instructions for U.S. Delegation to the TTB/PNE Negotiations, Moscow, 2/10/75
    - NSDM 288 - Instructions for U.S. Delegation to the Geneva Session of the Third UN Conference on the Law of the Sea
    - NSDM 289 - U.S. Military Supply Policy to Pakistan and India
    - NSDM 290 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, SALT SCC, Geneva, 3/24/75
    - NSDM 291 - U.S. Security Policy Toward Greece
    - NSDM 292 - U.S. - Iran Nuclear Cooperation
    - NSDM 293 - U.S. Approach toward Enhancing the Allied Contribution to the Defense of NATO
    - NSDM 294 - Change in the Eligibility of States to be Suppliers for AID Development Loan-Financed Procurement
    - NSDM 295 - Instructions Concerning Use of the Direct Communications Link between Washington and Moscow
    - NSDM 296 - Improved Communications Security
    - NSDM 297 - Instructions for the U.S. Delegation to the PNE Negotiations, Moscow, 6/3/75
    - NSDM 298 - FRG Reactor Sale to the USSR
    - NSDM 299 - Cooperation with France
    - NSDM 300 - Nuclear Weapons Deployment Authorization for FY 1976 and FY 1977
    - NSDM 301 - Instructions for the SALT Talks in Geneva, 7/2/75
    - NSDM 302 - Panama Canal Treaty Negotiations
    - NSDM 303 - Instructions for the SALT Talks in Geneva
    - NSDM 304 - Instructions for the U.S. Delegation to the PNE Negotiations, Moscow, 9/5/75
    - NSDM 305 - Termination of U.S. Restrictions on Third Countries Trading with Cuba
    - NSDM 306 - U.S.-Japan Space Cooperation
    - NSDM 307 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, SCC, Geneva, 9/22/75
    - NSDM 308 - FY 1976 Underground Nuclear Test Program
    - NSDM 309 - Decisions on ROK Air Defense Requirements
    - NSDM 310 - FY 1976-1978 Nuclear Weapons Stockpile
    - NSDM 311 - U.S. - Indonesia Consultative Arrangements
    - NSDM 312 - Nuclear Weapons Recovery Policy
    - NSDM 313 - Establishment of U.S. Sinai Support Mission
    - NSDM 314 - Implications of Worldwide Population Growth for United States Security and Overseas Interests
    - NSDM 315 - Military Assistance for Israel
    - NSDM 316 - Instructions for the SALT Talks in Geneva
    - NSDM 317 - U.S. Participation in the Third International Coffee Agreement
    - NSDM 318 - U.S. Policy for Antarctica

Box 71 - IFD (Institutional Files – NSDMs)

  • Working File (Jeanne W. Davis)
    - NSDM 319 - Underground Nuclear Test Program for the Second Half of FY 1976 and Transition Quarter
    - NSDM 320 - Instructions for the U.S. Delegation to the New York Session of the Third UN Conference on the Law of the Sea
    - NSDM 321 - Instructions for the U.S. Delegation to the PNE Negotiations, Moscow, 3/10/76
    - NSDM 322 - American Equiptment Captured in Indochina
    - NSDM 323 - Instructions for U.S. Commissioner, SCC, Geneva
    - NSDM 324 - Negotiation of a Nuclear Agreement with Iran
    - NSDM 325 - United States Policy Toward Svalbard
    - NSDM 326 - Functions and Organizations of National Security Council Sub-Groups
    - NSDM 327 - U.S. Policy Toward Thailand
    - NSDM 328 - Modification of SSBN Commitments to NATO
    - NSDM 329 - [Title Classified]
    - NSDM 330 - United States Policy on Export-Import Bank Loans for South Africa
    - NSDM 331 - Instructions for the SALT Talks, Geneva, 6/1/76
    - NSDM 332 - Nuclear Weapons Employment Authorization for FY 1977 and FY 1978
    - NSDM 333 - Enhanced Survivability of Critical U.S. Military and Intelligence Space Systems
    - NSDM 334 - Questionable Payments Legislation
    - NSDM 335 - Army Special Operation Field Office in Berlin
    - NSDM 336 - Instructions for the August-September 1976 Session of the Third UN Conference on Law of the Sea
    - NSDM 337 - Strategic and Critical Materials Stockpile
    - NSDM 338 - Further Improvements in Telecommunications Security
    - NSDM 339 - U.S. Force Reductions on Taiwan
    - NSDM 340 - U.S. Port Security Program
    - NSDM 341 - FY 1977-1979 Nuclear Weapons Stockpile
    - NSDM 342 - Organizations to Perform Security Assistance Functions
    - NSDM 343 - FY 1977 Underground Nuclear Test Program
    - NSDM 344 - Navy Shipbuilding Program
    - NSDM 345 - U.S. Anti-Satellite Capabilities
    - NSDM 346 - Security of U.S. Telecommunications
    - NSDM 347 - Classification of Sensitive Nuclear Safeguards Information
    - NSDM 348 - U.S. Defense Policy and Military Posture

Box 72 - IFU (Institutional Files – Under Secretaries Committee)

  • NSC-U/SM 151 - Amendment of the LTBT to Allow Safe Evacuation PNEs
  • NSC-U/SM-152 - Co-Production in Iran (1)
  • NSC-U/SM-152 - Co-Production in Iran (2)
  • NSC-U/SM-153 - Joint Cooperation Commissions: Iran (1)-(2)
  • NSC-U/SM-154 - Nuclear Weapons Recovery (1)-(3)
  • NSC-U/SM-156 - Dissemination of GEOS-3 Data
  • NSC-U/SM-157 - Standing Committee on Space Policy
  • NSC-U/SM-158 - U.S. - Indonesian Joint Consultative Group
  • NSC-U/SM-159 - Coordination of Actions Related to the Special Session of the UN General Assembly
  • NSC-U/SM-160 - Implementation of the CSCE Final Act
  • NSC-U/SM-160A - Implementation of the CSCE Final Act - First Quarterly Report, 12/22/75
  • NSC-U/SM-160B - Implementation of the CSCE Final Act - Second Quarterly Report, 3/22/76

Box 73 - IFU (Institutional Files – Under Secretaries Committee)

  • NSC-U/SM-160D - Implementation of the CSCE Final Act - Third Quarterly Report, 7/14/76 (1)-(2)
  • NSC-U/SM-160E - Implementation of the CSCE Final Act - Fourth Quarterly Report, 9/23/76
  • NSC-U/SM-160F - Implementation of the CSCE Final Act - First Semi-Annual Report to the CSCE, 11/4/76 (1)-(3)
  • NSC-U/SM-161 - Federal Support for Research and Education on Foreign Affairs
  • NSC-U/SM-162 - U.S. Policy Toward Svalbard (Spitzbergen)
  • NSC-U/SM-163 - Disputed Islands in the Pacific
  • NSC-U/SM-164 - NSSM 245: International Broadcast Facilities (1)-(3)
  • NSC-U/SM-165 - United States Withdrawal from the International Convention for the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries (ICNAF)
  • NSC-U/DM-127 - Guam (1)

Box 74 - IFU (Institutional Files – Under Secretaries Committee)

  • NSC-U/DM-127 - Guam (2)-(4)
  • NSC-U/DM-128 - Limited Test Ban Treaty (1)-(2)
  • NSC-U/DM-129 - U.S. Government Initiatives Toward Latin America
  • NSC-U/DM-130 - First Annual Report on U.S. International Population Policy
  • NSC-U/DM-131 - Co-Production in Iran (1)-(3)
  • NSC-U/DM-132 - Joint Commissions
  • NSC-U/DM-133 - [No Copy in Folder]
  • NSC-U/DM-134 - Policy on Release of Data from Geodynamics Experimental Ocean Satellite 3 (GEOS-3) (1)-(2)

Box 75 - IFU (Institutional Files – Under Secretaries Committee)

  • NSC-U/DM-135 - [No Copy in Folder]
  • NSC-U/DM-137 - Implementation of the Final Act of the CSCE - First Quarterly Report, January 1976 (1)-(3)
  • NSC-U/DM-137A - Implementation of the Final Act of the CSCE - Second Quarterly Report
  • NSC-U/DM-137B - Implementation of the Final Act of the CSCE - Third Quarterly Report
  • NSC-U/DM-137C - Implementation of the Final Act of the CSCE - Fourth Quarterly Report
  • NSC-U/DM-137D - Implementation of the Final Act of the CSCE - First Semi-Annual Report to the CSCE (1)-(2)
  • NSC-U/DM-138 - U.S. Policy Toward Svalbard (Spitzbergen) (1)-(2)
  • NSC-U/DM-139 - Federal Support for Research and Education on Foreign Affairs

Box 76 - IFU (Institutional Files – Under Secretaries Committee)

  • NSC-U/DM-141 - United States Withdrawal from the International Convention for the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries (ICNAF) (1)-(2)
  • NSC-U/DM-142 - NSSM 245: U.S. International Broadcasting Facilities (1)-(3)
  • NSC-U/N-124 - Agency Views of "Modification of the LTBT to Allow PNEs for Evacuation Projects"
  • NSC-U/N-125 - Appointment of New Staff Director
  • NSC-U/N-126 - Co-Production in Iran - Change of Due Date
  • NSC-U/N-127 - COCOM Position on the Return of Depleted Uranium (Tails) from the USSR (NSDM 275)
  • NSC-U/N-128 - International Restraints on Environmental Warfare (NSDM 277)
  • NSC-U/N-129 - Monitoring Overseas Direct Employment
  • NSC-U/N-132 - U.S. Nuclear Non-Proliferation Policy
  • NSC-U/N-133 - U.S. Actions Affecting Latin American Trade and NSDM 257
  • NSC-U/N-135 - Fourth USC/FAR Consolidated Plan for Foreign Affairs Research, FY 1975-76
  • NSC-U/N-137 - Law of the Sea - Interim Instructions on Archipelagoes and Special Environmental Areas
  • NSC-U/N-138 - Negotiations with Guam on a New Political Relationship
  • NSC-U/N-140 - Law of the Sea - Meeting of the Under Secretaries Committee
  • NSC-U/N-141 - Law of the Sea
  • NSC-U/N-142 - Supplementary Instruction - Future Status of the Marianas District of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands
  • NSC-U/N-143 - Darien Gap Highway
  • NSC-U/N-146 - Co-Production in Iran
  • NSC-U/N-148 - Nuclear Weapons Recovery - Meeting of the Under Secretaries Committee
  • NSC-U/N-149 - Implementation Procedures for Agreement on Measures to Reduce the Risk of Nuclear War between the USA and USSR
  • NSC-U/N-150 - Third Annual Review of the US-USSR Agreement on Prevention of Incidents On and Over the High Seas
  • NSC-U/N-151 - U.S. Policy on Antarctic Mineral Resources
  • NSC-U/N-152 - Additional Law of the Sea Instructions on Arctic Waters
  • NSC-U/N-153 - Appointment of U.S. Deputy Representative for Micronesian Status Negotiations
  • NSC-U/N-154 - Review of Procedures for Implementing Agreement on Measures to Reduce Risk Nuclear War Between the US and USSR
  • NSC-U/N-155 - 200-Mile Interim Fisheries Legislation
  • NSC-U/N-156 - Termination of U.S. Restrictions on Third Countries Trading with Cuba (NSDM 305)
  • NSC-U/N-157 - U.S. - Japan Space Cooperation
  • NSC-U/N-158 - Arab Boycott (1)-(4)

Box 77 - IFU (Institutional Files – Under Secretaries Committee)

  • NSC-U/N-159 - FY 1976 Underground Nuclear Test Program
  • NSC-U/N-160 - Proposed Termination of the Foreign Affairs Executive Seminar
  • NSC-U/N-161 - Establishment of an Under Secretaries Committee Interagency Group on Fisheries Negotiations
  • NSC-U/N-162 - Private Sector Involvement in Joint Commissions
  • NSC-U/N-163 - U.S. - Indonesia Consultative Arrangements
  • NSC-U/N-164 - Nuclear Weapons Recovery Policy
  • NSC-U/N-165 - Special Representative for the Law of the Sea Conference
  • NSC-U/N-166 - Designation of Chairman, NSC Interagency Task Force on the Law of the Sea
  • NSC-U/N-167 - Meeting of the Under Secretaries Committee - Law of the Sea
  • NSC-U/N-168 - U.S. Policy for Antarctica (NSDM 318)
  • NSC-U/N-169 - Underground Nuclear Test Program for the Second Half of FY 1976 and the Transition Quarter
  • NSC-U/N-170 - Instructions for the US Delegation to the New York Session of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea
  • NSC-U/N-171 - United States Policy Toward Svalbard (NSDM 325)
  • NSC-U/N-172 - Law of the Sea - Negotiating Instructions on the Special Environmental Regime for the Arctic
  • NSC-U/N-173 - Project STORMFURY-Americas
  • NSC-U/N-174 - Fourth Annual Review of the US-USSR Agreement on Prevention of Incidents On and Over the High Seas
  • NSC-U/N-175 - Designation of Vice Chairmen, NSC Interagency Task Force on the Law of the Sea
  • NSC-U/N-176 - Instructions for the August-September 1976 Session, Law of the Sea
  • NSC-U/N-177 - Executive Branch Coordination on Deep Seabed Mining Statements and Testimony
  • NSC-U/N-178 - Maintaining the Worldwide Balance between Food and Population
  • NSC-U/N-179 - Appointment of US Deputy Representative for Micronesian Status Negotiations
  • NSC-U/N-180 - Interim Communication with Micronesian Status Commission
  • NSC-U/N-181 - Law of the Sea - Instructions for 1977
  • NSC-U/N-182 - Fourth Quarterly Report on Implementation of the Final Act of CSCE
  • NSC-U/N-183 - Deep Seabed Mining Legislation
  • NSC-U/N-184 - United States Withdrawal from ICNAF
  • NSC-U/N-185 - First Annual Report on U.S. International Population Policy
  • NSC-U/N-186 - United States Withdrawal from ICNAF
  • NSC-U/N-187 - FY 1977 Underground Nuclear Test Program

Box 77 (Continued) - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Administrative Files (1)-(5)
  • Administrative Files - Budget/Contract Research (1)-(2)

Box 78 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Administrative Files - Budget/Contract Research (3)-(9)
  • Administrative Files - Clearances (State Department Clearance Problems)
  • Administrative Files - COINS and Hotline
  • Administrative Files - Coordination and Distribution of Materials Sent from the White House
  • Administrative Files - Disposition of NSC Staff Files
  • Administrative Files - Executive Privilege
  • Administrative Files - Leaks (1)-(2)
  • Administrative Files - Nixon Papers Access (1)

Box 79 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Administrative Files - Nixon Papers Access (2)-(5)
  • Administrative Files - NSC Secretariat Paper Flow (1)-(3)
  • Administrative Files - NSC Staff Instructions
  • Administrative Files - Office of Emergency Preparedness Special Facility (1)-(2)
  • Briefing Book for June 2-13 [1980] Session of Ad Hoc Committee on Indian Ocean (1)-(3)

Box 80 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Briefing Book for June 2-13 [1980] Session of Ad Hoc Committee on Indian Ocean (4)-(7)
  • Computer Development - Applicational Development (1)-(4)
  • Computer Development - Computer Procedures (1)-(3)
  • Computer Development - Correspondence Management Office - GIM DMS Users' Guide
  • Computer Development - Correspondence Management Office - NSCAIMS Operators' Guide
  • Computer Development - Correspondence Management Office - RSTS/E and MUMPS Benchmark Testing

Box 81 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Computer Development - Data Processing
  • Computer Development - Document Control (1)-(2)
  • Computer Development - Document Logging and Action Status System
  • Computer Development - Memoranda on Computer Developments - Historical (1)-(2)
  • Computer Development - Mitre Corporation Contracts (1)-(5)
  • Computer Development - Rand Study on NSC Information System (1)-(3)

Box 82 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Computer Development - Tests and Evaluation (1)-(3)
  • Computer Development - Transition and Training Plan for WHCC Operations
  • Computer Development - User Guides - First Generation IBM for ODMS (1)-(3)
  • Computer Development - User Guides - On/Line 1974 History Book (1)-(6)

Box 83 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Computer Development - User Guides - Pilot Retrieval Capability
  • Computer Development - User Guides - Skeletal File
  • Computer Development - User Guides - TORUS On-Line Retrieval
  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Briefings, Lectures, etc., 1971
  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Briefings, Lectures, etc., 1972 (1)-(4)
  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Briefings, Lectures, etc., 1973 (1)-(4)
  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Briefings, Lectures, etc., 1974 (1)-(2)

Box 84 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Briefings, Lectures, etc., 1975 (1)-(5)
  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Briefings, Lectures, etc., 1976 (1)-(3)
  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Coordinative Staff Work (typescript) (1)-(3)
  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Miscellaneous Speech Materials

Box 85 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - NSC Organization and Administration (1)-(10)
  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Print Material
    - Administration of National Security - Basic Issues - Senate Subcommittee on National Security Staffing and Operations
    - Administration of National Security - Hearings, Parts 1-2 - Senate Subcommittee on National Security Staffing and Operations
    - Administration of National Security - Hearings, Parts 3-5 - Senate Subcommittee on National Security Staffing and Operations
    - Administration of National Security - Hearings, Parts 6-9 - Senate Subcommittee on National Security Staffing and Operations

Box 86 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Davis, Jeanne W. - Personal File - Print Material
    - Administration of National Security - The Secretary of State - Senate Subcommittee on National Security Staffing and Operations
    - Conduct of National Security Policy - Hearings - Senate Subcommittee on National Security and International Operations
    - Conduct of National Security Policy - Initial Memorandum - Senate Subcommittee on National Security & International Operations
    - Conduct of National Security Policy - Selected Readings - Senate Subcommittee on National Security and International Operations
    - National Security Policy and the Changing World Power Alignment
    - Organizing for National Security - Hearings - Volume 1
    - Organizing for National Security - Staff Reports and Recommendations

Box 87 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Intelligence Investigations
    - Church/Pike Committees - Disposition of Hardy/Duval Files
    - Church/Pike Committees - Impact of Church Committee Reports on Pending FOI Litigation (1)-(3)
    - Church/Pike Committees - Lists of Documents Used during Investigation
    - Church/Pike Committees - Requests for Documents (1)-(11)

Box 88 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Intelligence Investigations
    - Church/Pike Committees - Requests for Documents (12)-(18)
    - Church/Pike Committees - Requests for Documents from Johnson Library (1)-(2)
    - Church/Pike Committees - Requests for Intelligence Documents (1)-(4)
    - Church/Pike Committees - Wilderotter Files (1)-(3)

Box 89 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Intelligence Investigations
    - Church/Pike Committees - Wilderotter Files (4)-(8)

Box 90 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Intelligence Investigations
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Composite Report of all Related Actions on Church Committee - Keyword Count Index
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Composite Report of all Related Actions on Church Committee - Keyword Index (1)-(6)
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Composite Report - Church Committee Full Master and Attachments (1)-(3)
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Composite Report of all Related Actions on Pike Committee - Keyword Count Index
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Composite Report of all Related Actions on Pike Committee - Keyword Index (1)

Box 91 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Intelligence Investigations
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Composite Report of all Related Actions on Pike Committee - Keyword Index (2)-(3)
    - Computer Printouts - Pike Committee Full Master and Attachments (1)-(2)
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Report of Church Committee Request - Request/Description KWOC
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Report of Church Committee Requests - Document KWOC (1)-(4)
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Report of Church Committee Requests - Church Committee Request (1)-(2)
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Report of Church Committee Requests - Church Committee Request Attachments

Box 92 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Intelligence Investigations
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Report of Pike Committee Request - Request/Description KWOC
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Report of Pike Committee Request - Pike Document KWOC (1)-(2)
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Report of Pike Committee Request - Pike Committee Request
    - Computer Printouts - NSC Report of Pike Committee Request - Pike Committee Request Attachments

Box 93 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Logged Documents - 1974 - Log Numbers 7403492-7406372
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7500392-7503196
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7503349-7505843
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7505986-7506062
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Number 7506813
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7506856-7506944
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Number 7507028 (1)-(2)
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7507206-7507219
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Number 7507490
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7507581-7507806
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7507835-7507854
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7507904-7507978

Box 94 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Number 7508026 (1)-(2)
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7508069-7508149
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7508151-7508307
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7508334-7508489
  • Logged Documents - 1975 - Log Numbers 7508525-7508535
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7600043-7600053
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7600058-7600067
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7600198-7600279
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7600294-7600398
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7600421-7600488
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7600500-7600826
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7600951 (1)

Box 95 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7600951 (2)
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7600969-7601128
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7601192-7601392
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7601442-7601453
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7601504
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7601574-7601749
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7601773-7601961
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7602007-7602136 (1)
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7602136 (2)
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7602136 (3)
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7602139-7602514
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7602592-7602696 (1)
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7602696 (2)

Box 96 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7602696 (3)-7602777
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7602845-7602940
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7603010-7603105
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7603106-7603108
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7603175-7603389
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7603406-7603614
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7603688-7603801
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7603805-7603907
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7604069-7604312
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7604320-7604479
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7604490-7604631
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7604641-7604781
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7604821

Box 97 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7604836-7605000
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7605084-76055132
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7605215
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7605227-7605637
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7605639-7605924
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7606019-7606063 (1)-(2)
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7606068 (1)-(2)
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7606083
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7606144-7606421
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Number 7606424
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7606433-7606481
  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7606533-7606592

Box 98 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Logged Documents - 1976 - Log Numbers 7606625-7606675
  • Logged Documents - 1977 - Log Numbers 7706767-7706775 (1)
  • Logged Documents - 1977 - Log Number 7706775 (2)
  • Logged Documents - 1977 - Log Numbers 7706808-7706811
  • Logged Documents - 1977 - Log Numbers 7706832-7706846
  • Murphy Commission - Comments on the Commission Report (1)-(4)
  • Murphy Commission - Comments on the Commission Report - Executive-Legislative Relations
  • Murphy Commission - Comments on the Commission Report - Organization of Intelligence
  • Murphy Commission - General (1)-(3)

Box 99 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Murphy Commission - General (4)-(11)
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations - Checklist
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 1-190
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 1-4 - Executive Office of the President
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 5-8 - State Department
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 9-25 - International Economic Policy
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 26-45 - Defense Policy
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 46-55 - Intelligence
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 56-64 - Public Opinion and Humanitarian Considerations

Box 100 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 65-86 - The Practice of Diplomacy
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 87-93 - Planning for Foreign Policy
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 94-104 - Budgeting and Foreign Affairs
  • Murphy Commission - Recommendations 105-168 - Personnel for Foreign Affairs
  • Murphy Commission - Report, June 1975
  • Murphy Commission - Report - Appendices, Volume 1 (Appendices A-C)
  • Murphy Commission - Report - Appendices, Volume 2 (Appendices D-G)
  • Murphy Commission - Report - Appendices, Volume 3 (Appendices H-J)

Box 101 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Murphy Commission - Report - Appendices, Volume 4 (Appendix K)
  • Murphy Commission - Report - Appendices, Volume 6 (Appendices O-T)
  • Murphy Commission - Report - Appendices, Volume 7 (Appendices U-X)

Box 102 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Telecommunications Panel - Drafts of Report (1)-(5)
  • Telecommunications Panel - Duckpins
  • Telecommunications Panel - Executive Secure Voice Network Plan
  • Telecommunications Panel - Jamming
  • Telecommunications Panel - Meetings (1)-(3)
  • Telecommunications Panel - NSC Memos, etc. (1)-(2)

Box 103 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Telecommunications Panel - NSC Memos, etc. (3)-(7)
  • Telecommunications Panel - Notes (1)-(3)
  • Telecommunications Panel - Paper, 4/13/76 (Cover Sheet with Distribution Only)
  • Telecommunications Panel - Paper - Middle East
  • Telecommunications Panel - Paper - Policy, Legal, and Political
  • Telecommunications Panel - Press Material
  • Telecommunications Panel - Protected Radio Modulation
  • Telecommunications Panel - Proprietary
  • Telecommunications Panel - Robert L. Smith (1)-(2)
  • Telecommunications Panel - Working Paper - Further Improvements in Telecommunications Security

Box 104 - IFG (Institutional Files – Secretariat)

  • Vietnam Ad Hoc Group - 1971 (1)-(9)

Box 105 - Administrative Files

  • Briefing Participants (1)-(4)
  • Chapman, Dennis - Memoranda
  • Chapman, Dennis - Pending
  • Chronological File - Botsai, Sally
  • Chronological File - Fazio, James (1)-(9)

Box 106 - Administrative Files

  • Chronological File - Situation Room - Incoming (1)-(2)
  • Consultants - 1974 (1)-(2)
  • Consultants - 1975
  • Consultants - 1976
  • Daily Highlights (1)-(3)
  • Forms - Extra Copies
  • Hudson Institute - Personnel
  • Journal Vouchers FY 1975
  • Journal Vouchers FY 1976 and Transition
  • NSA Problems
  • NSA Publications (1)-(2)
  • Office Expenditures

Box 107 - Administrative Files

  • Panels - Communication
  • Panels - Laser
  • Panels - NATO
  • Panels - NIEMR
  • Panels - Night All Weather Tactical Air
  • Panels - Ocean Surveillance
  • Panels - Space
  • Panels - Strategic Qualitative Improvements
  • Panels - Tactical Applications of National Reconnaissance Assets
  • Panels - Telephone Security
  • Panels Accounting Workform
  • Rand Contract (1)-(6)
  • Rand Employees - Berger, Howard M.
  • Rand Employees - Catlett, Louis Eldon
  • Rand Employees - Culp, Claude Richard
  • Rand Employees - Garber, Theodore Bruce
  • Rand Employees - Jones, William M.
  • Rand Employees - Kephart, Donald
  • Rand Employees - Komer, Robert W.
  • Rand Employees - Parker, Theodore Melvin
  • Rand Employees - Pauker, Guy Jean
  • Rand Employees - Pillsbury, Michael P.
  • Rand Publications (1)-(2)

Box 108 - Administrative Files

  • Rand Publications (3)-(5)
  • Security Guidelines Relative to Codeword Clearances - CIA (1)-(3)
  • Separations and Transfers
  • Situation Room Audit, 2/27/74
  • Time and Attendance - Mabel Moses/Bernice Alexander
  • Warrenton Meetings (1)-(3)

Box 109 - Administrative Files

  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Janka, Leslie A.
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Juszcyzyk, Barbara
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Kaufmann, William W. (Consultant)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Kelly, Patricia A.
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Klein, Marion M.
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Kowalewski, David Ray (Navy)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Mozeleski, Daniel J.
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Moses, Mabel (1)-(2)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Niehuss, Rosemary N. (1)-(2)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Reed, Mary Ann (State)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Reed, Vera Modene (1)-(2)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Roberts, Edward W. (1)-(2)

Box 110 - Administrative Files

  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Ruyle, Karl
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Schaefer, Jacalyn
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Schechter, Janice E. (1)-(2)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Scowcroft, Brent (USAF)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Simon, Carol Ann
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Sinnreich, Richard H.
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Skancke, Steven L. (1)-(2)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Smith, Robert L.
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Smith, Robert S. (AID)
  • NSC Staff Personnel Files - Sprey, Pierce

Box 111 - John Niehuss Files from the Council on International Economic Policy

  • CIEP Executive Committee - International Investment (1)-(2)
  • CIEP Executive Committee - MNCs and Investment (folder received empty)
  • CIEP Meetings and Actions (1)-(7)
  • Economic Policy Review Materials, March 1975 (1)-(2)
  • Expropriation (1)-(3)

Box 112 - John Niehuss Files from the Council on International Economic Policy

  • International Economic Policy Review (1)-(7)
  • Investment Distortions in OECD Countries (1)-(2)
  • Investment in the U.S. by Foreign Government Institutions (1)-(2)
  • Investment in the U.S. by Oil Producing Nations (1)-(2)

Box 113 - John Niehuss Files from the Council on International Economic Policy

  • Investment in the U.S. by Oil Producing Nations (3)-(7)
  • Investment - Middle East Direct Investment in the U.S.
  • Investment - Miscellaneous
  • Investment - Multinational Corporations and Investment
  • KLM Negotiations
  • Law of the Sea - General (1)-(6)

Box 114 - John Niehuss Files from the Council on International Economic Policy

  • Law of the Sea - General (7)-(14)
  • Law of the Sea - Modifications to Draft Instructions (1)
  • Law of the Sea - Modifications to Draft Instructions (2)
  • Law of the Sea - Ocean Policy (1)-(2)

Box 115 - John Niehuss Files from the Council on International Economic Policy

  • Law of the Sea - Ocean Policy (3)-(7)
  • Law of the Sea - Policy Notebook (1)-(3)
  • Law of the Sea - Under Secretaries Committee (1)-(2)
  • Transnational Enterprises (1)-(2)
  • U.S.-PRC Air Links

Box 116 - Miscellaneous NSC Institutional Files – Secretariat Files

  • Institutional Files that were not sent to Warrenton
    - NSC-U/SM-131V
    - NSDM 71 - U.S. Policy in Antarctica (1)-(4)
    - NSSM - Draft re Host Country Support of U.S. Troops in the FRG
    - NSSM 3 - U.S. Military Posture and the Balance of Power
    - NSSM 113/EO 10501 - Security Classification Procedures (1)-(3)
    - NSSM 229 - Management of Classified National Security Information (1)-(2)
  • Meeting Material
    - DRP Meeting, 11/24/76 - NSSM 246 and Navy Shipbuilding Study (1)-(2)

Box 117 - Miscellaneous NSC Institutional Files – Secretariat Files

  • Meeting Material
    - DRP Meeting, 11/24/76 - NSSM 246 and Navy Shipbuilding Study (3)
    - DRP Meeting, 11/24/76 - NSSM 246 and Naval Force Requirements (Howard Eldredge Copy) (1)-(3)
    - SRG Meeting, 12/7/76 - NSSM 223 - Review of U.S. Policy on Arms Transfers
    - Telecommunications Panel, 8/28/76 - Executive Secure Voice Network (1)-(2)
    - Verification Panel, 5/17/75 - SALT (1)-(3)
    - Verification Panel, 9/9/76 - MBFR (1)-(3)

Box 118 - Miscellaneous NSC Institutional Files – Secretariat Files

  • NSDM 215 - US-USSR Space Cooperation
  • NSDM 313 - Sinai Support Mission
  • NSDM 315 - Israel's Military Requirements
  • NSDM 341 - Energy Research and Development Administration (1)-(2)
  • NSSM - Sampling of NSSMs (Haig Memo)
  • NSSM 222 - U.S. and Allied Security Policy in Southern Europe (Response to) (1)-(3)
  • NSSM 229 - Management of National Security Classified Information (1)-(2)
  • NSSM 236 - Export-Import Bank Loans for South Africa
  • NSSM 238 - Executive Summary - U.S. Policy Toward the Persian Gulf (Response to)
  • NSSM 245 - International Broadcasting Programs (1)-(2)