Domestic Council Assistant Director for Natural Resources;
Domestic Council Associate Director for Energy and Science


The collection consists of a single chronological sequence of weekly briefing papers produced by the Domestic Council staff. The focus is on issues in the policy areas in which Schleede worked (natural resources, environmental protection and energy), but some concern such topics as housing and community development, human resources, crime and justice, and intergovernmental relations.

0.2 linear feet (ca. 400 pages)

Glenn R. Schleede (accession number 91-33)


Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. In addition, Mr. Schleede has donated to the United States of America his copyright interest in any other of his writings that might be included in this collection. The copyright interest to materials written by other individuals or organizations is presumed to remain with them.

Prepared by: William McNitt, August 1991
[s:\bin\findaid\schleede, glenn - papers.doc]


Glenn R. Schleede

June 12, 1933 - Born, Lyons, NY

1952-56 - U.S. Air Force

1956-60 - B.A., Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, MN

1960-61 - M.A. in Industrial Relations, University of Minnesota

1961-65 - Management Intern, then Contractor Personnel Specialist, Atomic Energy Commission

1965-72 - Management analyst, then budget examiner, branch chief and assistant division director, Bureau of the Budget/Office of Management and Budget. He worked successively in Management Division, Energy and Science Division, and Natural Resources Division.

1972-73 - Deputy Assistant Director for Policy and Program Review, Office of Planning and Analysis, Atomic Energy Commission

March-May 1973 - Assistant to Earl Butz, Counsellor to the President for Natural Resources

1973-75 - Staff Assistant, then Assistant Director for Natural Resources, Domestic Council

1975-77 - Associate Director for Energy and Science, Domestic Council

1977-81 - Senior Vice President, National Coal Association, Washington, DC

1981 - Executive Associate Director, Office of Management and Budget

1982-? - President, New England Energy, Inc., Westborough, MA


Glenn R. Schleede served on the Domestic Council staff during both the Nixon and Ford administrations. As a staff assistant and then assistant director in the Domestic Council's natural resources policy area, Schleede aided Associate Directors Richard Fairbanks and then Michael Raoul-Duval in handling a wide variety of energy, science and environmental protection issues. During a staff reorganization in 1975, Domestic Council Executive Director James Cannon promoted Schleede to Associate Director for Energy and Science.

Schleede turned over the bulk of his Domestic Council materials from both administrations to the National Archives in 1974 and 1977. He retained this small collection of personal papers which he donated to the Ford Library in March 1991.

This collection consists of a single chronological sequence of weekly briefing papers, covering September 1973 to March 1975. The heads of the various Domestic Council policy areas drafted them to summarize Domestic Council work and legislative activity for each week. The staff initially directed these summaries to White House Counsellor Melvin Laird, but later papers are addressed to Vice Presidents Ford and Rockefeller.

Many of the briefing papers focus in some detail on issues in the areas of natural resources, energy, environmental protection and agriculture. Reports from other Domestic Council policy areas are usually less detailed and less informative.

Related Materials (As of August 1991)
Schleede's files from his service on the Nixon Domestic Council are part of the holdings of the Nixon Presidential Materials Project of the National Archives. A copy of the finding aid to that collection can be found in the Ford Library vertical file under Schleede's name.

The Ford Library has a large collection of Schleede files concerning his Domestic Council service in the Ford administration. Other closely related Domestic Council collections include those of Dennis Barnes, James Cannon, Michael Raoul-Duval and Norman Ross.


Domestic Council Weekly Briefing Papers, 1973-75.  (Box 1, 0.2 linear feet)
Briefing papers produced by the Domestic Council staff, summarizing Domestic Council activities and legislative action. While the focus is on the natural resources policy area (especially energy and environmental issues), reports from all Domestic Council policy areas are included.

Arranged chronologically.


Box 1 - Domestic Council Weekly Briefing Papers

  • 9/73-3/75 (1)-(6)