COLLECTION FINDING AID



GLENN R. SCHLEEDE FILES, 1974-77

Associate Director for Energy and Science
Domestic Council




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Material concerning the development of federal government legislation and policy affecting the development, production, and environmental impact of nuclear, fossil, and alternative energy sources. Topics include the Alaska pipeline, off-shore oil, clean air, coal mining, deregulation of energy pricing, Naval Petroleum Reserves, proliferation of nuclear power technology, and uranium enrichment. Significant files also concern structures for providing the President with advice on science and technology policy, the space program, and earthquake prediction.

QUANTITY
28.0 linear feet (ca. 56,000 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-39)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Dennis A. Daellenbach, October 1980
[s:\bin\findaid\schleede, glenn - files.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Glenn R. Schleede


June 12, 1933 - Born, Lyons, NY

1952-56 - U.S. Air Force

1956-60 - B.A., Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, MN

1960-61 - M.A. in Industrial Relations, University of Minnesota

1961-65 - Management Intern, then Contractor Personnel Specialist, Atomic Energy Commission

1965-72 - Management analyst, then budget examiner, branch chief and assistant division director, Bureau of the Budget/Office of Management and Budget (Management Division, Energy and Science Division, and Natural Resources Division)

1972-73 - Deputy Assistant Director for Policy and Program Review, Office of Planning and Analysis, Atomic Energy Commission

March-May 1973 - Assistant to Earl Butz, Counsellor to the President for Natural Resources

1973-75 - Staff Assistant, then Assistant Director for Natural Resources, Domestic Council

1975-77 - Associate Director for Energy and Science, Domestic Council

1977-81 - Senior Vice President, National Coal Association, Washington, DC

1981 - Executive Associate Director, Office of Management and Budget

1982-? - President, New England Energy, Inc., Westborough, MA


INTRODUCTION

The bulk of the files of Glenn R. Schleede cover the period August 1974 - January 1977. They reflect his activities as a staff member of the Domestic Council in the areas of energy, environment, science and technology.

Although his titles changed, Schleede served during the entire Ford administration in the same general subject area. Initially he worked under the direction of Michael Raoul-Duval, associate director for natural resources. In the spring and early summer 1975, there was a general reorganization of the Domestic Council. Schleede became Associate Director for General Government, reporting directly to Presidential Assistant James M. Cannon, the new executive director of the Domestic Council. Kathleen Ryan joined Schleede as an assistant director. He continued to deal with science, energy, and environmental matters, while Ryan handled cultural and consumer affairs. Ryan left the Council in early spring 1976 and Schleede's title narrowed to Associate Director for Energy and Science. At that same time, Dennis Barnes came to the Council staff as an assistant director and served under Schleede until the end of the Ford administration.

As a member of the Domestic Council staff, Schleede provided policy formulation and coordination in his areas of responsibility. Typically he would gather and analyze facts and opinions from individuals in the executive branch. Usually, the result of Schleede's endeavors was a draft letter, speech, message, or briefing paper for Duval, Cannon, or the President. The Council's goal was to assure that the President benefitted from different points of view, presented in a factual and orderly fashion.

Schleede worked closely with top officials in the appropriate agencies and departments and with other staff in the White House and Executive Office of the President. The agencies he most often dealt with, as reflected in his Files, were: Energy Research and Development Administration (ERDA), Federal Energy Administration (FEA), National Science Foundation (NSF), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), and the Office of Budget and Management (OMB). The files also contain some material on the Energy Resources Council (ERC), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Nuclear Regulatory Commission, National Security Council (NSC), and the Department of Interior.

Schleede played a particularly active role in legislation related to science, energy, and the environment. Major subjects among his legislative history materials are: auto emissions and clean air standards; leasing of the outer continental shelf; establishment of an Office of Science and Technology Policy; strip mining; and the development of a private uranium enrichment industry. In several instances Schleede took part in negotiations between the executive branch and members of Congress, and the executive branch and private industry. He helped to draw up legislation, reviewed congressional testimony by administration officials, and assisted in preparing Presidential statements. As bills moved through the legislature, he drafted status reports and briefing papers for Cannon and the President. When enacted, he worked on the President's approval or veto messages.

Schleede's files also document his considerable work on policy decisions affecting science and energy developments apart from the legislative process. He reviewed and recommended appoint-ments for government positions related to science and energy and prepared administration responses to several General Accounting Office (GAO) reports. He helped devise and coordinate policy on the Alaska pipeline, earthquake prediction, coal and natural gas usage, funding for energy research and development, the naval petroleum reserves, and nuclear power and policy. Documentation on questions of nuclear energy is especially significant, particularly regarding the decisions and drafts in 1976 leading up to the Fri Report in September and President Ford's statement on nuclear policy of October 28.

The files reflect the manner in which they were created. Schleede initially segregated his material, with some overlap, into three chronological periods. He retired the first two segments, primarily covering 1974 and 1975, to the White House Central Files for storage. These two segments, together with the material he retained in his office until the end of the administration, constitute the sum of his files. Only a small number of scattered items date before Ford became President on August 9, 1974. On most documents, Schleede indicated the subject under which he wanted the items to be filed. There were many exceptions to his requests, usually when he listed only a general subject area. Karen Kemp, his secretary for most of the period (noted as "KK"), might then establish and file the material in various subdivisions within the broad subject heading. Under such a system, it is not unusual to find documents that logically could rest in two or more folders.

The subject file is the largest series with the three chrono-logical segments mentioned above consolidated into one overall subject file. Following Schleede's practice, however, folder titles where possible, still indicate the pertinent year. Some folders -- such as those for uranium enrichment in 1975 --initially contained many hundreds of pages. To be compatible with the rest of the subject file, these large folders were divided into subtopics during archival processing.

Other series are considerably smaller. The chronological file covers the entire Ford administration. It is not complete, however, because Schleede occasionally filed items marked "Chron" in the subject folders. The series for congressional correspondence, referrals, and telephone logs only cover certain months in 1974-75. It is unclear whether Schleede created the documents only for the short periods, or whether he created but did not retain similar items for other periods. The final small series is a Kathleen Ryan subject file. When Ryan resigned, other members of the Domestic Council staff received her subject folders for the areas of their responsibility. Schleede kept the Ryan folders related to NASA, NSF, and science, but did not interfile any of his own material into them.

Related Materials (October 1980)
Files of several other Domestic Council staff members contain material related to subjects on which Schleede worked. Although he handled some environmental issues, he concentrated more on science, energy, and nuclear questions. The files of his first supervisor, Michael Raoul-Duval, contain complementary material on environmental concerns such as auto emissions and strip mining. Later, Steve McConahey handled transportation-related energy problems, and George Humphreys had the lead in energy-environment trade-offs. The separate files of Schleede's assistants, Kathleen Ryan and Dennis Barnes, also have related material. In addition, the White House Central Files category SP Speeches contains substantive Schleede material for several Presidential messages to Congress in 1976-77.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Subject File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1-56, 22.4 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, briefing papers, speeches and message drafts, Q's and A's, fact sheets, reports, charts, tables, biographies, press releases, congressional bills and reports and testimony, articles and clippings, and printed material. Major topics include auto emissions and clean air act, coal and strip mining, science and technology policy, energy research and development, and nuclear energy questions of waste management, safeguards, plutonium production, and uranium enrichment. Reflecting Schleede's role in helping to coordinate administration science and energy policy, the file contains material especially from ERDA, FEA, NASA, NSF, and OMB.

Arranged alphabetically by subject and subdivisions, and chronologically thereunder.

View container list for this series

Chronological File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 57-64, 3.2 linear feet)
Primarily copies of Schleede's letters, memoranda, and notes to Domestic Council staff, White House staff, officials of federal agencies and departments, and private individuals; draft briefing papers, speeches, messages, and Q's and A's; weekly activities reports. Most of the material, usually duplicated in the subject file, related to energy, science, technology, and environmental topics assigned to Schleede. Also included are a small number of administrative and personal items.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Congressional Correspondence, 1974-75.  (Box 64, 0.2 linear feet)
Primarily copies of incoming letters from members of Congress and copies of agency replies sent to Schleede for his information. Occasionally includes original incoming letters and draft replies by Schleede. All relate to the Ford Administration's energy programs.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Referrals, 1974-75.  (Boxes 65-68, 1.6 linear feet)
Each case usually includes a copy of an incoming letter, telegram, or mailgram, a White House referral form, and a copy of the outgoing response. Occasionally there are supporting memoranda and notes. Schleede referred items primarily to FEA, ERDA, EPA, and ERC. Subjects included oil prices, energy-related inventions, oil drilling problems, public utilities, and other energy-related issues. Correspondents included both members of the general public and prominent government officials.

Arranged alphabetically by correspondent's surname.

View container list for this series

Telephone Logs, 1975.  (Box 69, 0.2 linear feet)
White House telephone memoranda forms showing Schleede's daily telephone calls. Handwritten information for each call includes designation of incoming or outgoing, time of day, name of person talked to, and possible action.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Kathleen Ryan Subject File, 1975-76. (Box 70, 0.4 linear feet)
Primarily correspondence and memoranda to and from Ryan; additional items include briefing papers, agenda, schedule proposals, press releases, and printed material. Major topics are space shuttle development and other activities of NASA, the awards ceremony in 1975 for the National Medal of Science, NSF projects, and establishment of a science advisor in the White House.

Arranged alphabetically by subject, and chronologically thereunder.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Subject File

  • Accomplishments - President Ford, 1974
  • Accomplishments - President Ford, 1975
  • Accomplishments - President Ford, 1976
  • Agency Functions, 1974
  • Air Quality, 1974
    - Advisory Board
    - Ambient Standards
    - General
    - Particulates and Oxidants
    - Scrubbers (1)-(2)
    - Significant Deterioration (1)-(2)
  • Air Quality, 1975
    - General
  • Alaska Pipeline - Gas, 1974
  • Alaska Pipeline - Gas, 1975 (1)-(2)
  • Alaska Pipeline - Gas, 1976 (1)-(2)

Box 2 - Subject File

  • Alaska Pipeline - Oil, 1974
  • Alaska Pipeline - Oil, 1975
  • Alaska Pipeline - Oil, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • American Gas Association, 1974
  • American Geophysical Union, 1976
  • Analysis on Balance Among National Objectives, 1974 (1)-(2)
  • Anti-Lobbying Act, 1973
  • Arnold, Richard - Energy Project, 1976
  • Asphalt Paving Industry, 1975
  • Atomic Energy Commission, 1974
    - Budget for FY 1976
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Management by Objective
  • Auto Emissions, 1974
    - Gasoline - Leaded and Unleaded
    - National Academy of Science Report, September (1)-(2)
    - Sobotka Review of National Academy Report
    - National Petroleum Refiners Association Report
  • Auto Emissions, 1975
    - Air Quality Standards

Box 3 - Subject File

  • Auto Emissions, 1975
    - "Auto Emissions, Fuel Economy, and Related Issues"
    - Automobile Manufacturers
    - Control Device Testing
    - Energy Impact of Emission Standards
    - Fact Sheet Drafts, June
    - Federal Energy Administration Correspondence with Congress
    - General (1)-(3)
    - General Motors Statements (1)-(2)
    - Goldmuntz Study (1)-(2)
    - Gasoline - Leaded and Unleaded
    - National Academy of Sciences Report
    - National Science Foundation Memoranda
    - Possible Action Plan

Box 4 - Subject File

  • Auto Emissions, 1975
    - Presidential Decision Memo, 3/1/75
    - Presidential Decision Memo, 5/19/75 (1)-(3)
    - Presidential Decision Memo, 7/24/75
    - Presidential Response to Randolph - Baker Letter
    - Presidential Statement Drafts, June
    - Reports by Consultants
    - Stanford Research Institute Papers
    - Statements by EPA Administrator Russell Train
    - Sulfuric Acid
  • Auto Fuel Economy, 1974 (1)-(2)

Box 5 - Subject File

  • Auto Fuel Economy, 1975
  • Bicentennial Commission on American Government, 1975 (1)-(4)
  • Bonneville Power Administration Self-Financing Bill, 1974
  • Briefing Reports for Vice President, 1975
  • Briefing Reports - Weekly, 1976 (1)-(3)
  • Budget, FY 1977 (1)-(2)
  • Budget, FY 1978
  • Bureau of Standards, 1975
  • Cargo Preference Bill, 1974
  • Carolina Power and Light Company, 1976
  • Charleston Facility, 1975-76
  • Chart Project for Vice President, 1975

Box 6 - Subject File

  • Clean Air Act, 1974
    - Amendments
    - General
  • Clean Air Act, 1975
    - Amendments
  • Clean Air Act, 1976
    - Amendments (1)-(2)
    - Auto Emissions (1)-(3)
    - FEA Studies
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Legislation
    - Selective Enforcement Audit
    - Significant Deterioration (1)-(2)

Box 7 - Subject File

  • Clean Air Act, 1976
    - Significant Deterioration - Memo to the President
  • Coal, 1974
    - Conversions
    - General
    - Leasing
    - Strike
  • Coal, 1975
    - Allocation
    - Coal Dinner, March (1)-(2)
    - "Coal News", September - December
    - General
    - Scottish Gasification Plant
    - Systems Management Concept
  • Coal, 1976
    - "Coal Facts 1974-75"
    - "Coal News" (1)-(2)
    - Conversions
    - General
    - Leasing (1)-(2)

Box 8 - Subject File

  • Coal, 1976
    - Leasing - Approval and Veto Messages
    - Strike
  • Computer Developments, 1976
  • Conduct - Acceptance of Gifts, 1975
  • Consumer Representation Plans, 1976
  • Council on Environmental Quality, 1974: Annual Report (1)-(2)
  • Council on Environmental Quality, 1974-75: General
  • Council on Environmental Quality, 1976: General
  • Council on Environmental Quality, 1976: Report on Energy R&D
  • Crude Oil Equalization, 1974-75
  • Crude Oil Price Controls, 1976
  • Deepwater Ports, 1974 (1)-(2)
  • Defense Production Act, 1974
  • Department of Energy and Natural Resources, 1975
  • Depletion Allowance, 1974
  • Domestic Council, 1975
  • Domestic Policy, 1974
  • Domestic Policy Review of Environmental Protection Agency, 1974
  • Double Recovery of Oil Costs, 1974
  • Earth Resources Technology Satellite, 1975
  • Earthquake Prediction, 1976
    - Advisory Group

Box 9 - Subject File

  • Earthquake Prediction, 1976
    - Articles
    - Background Information
    - Correspondence
    - General
    - Legislation
    - Memoranda to the President
  • Economic Impact of Environmental Programs, 1974
    - Council on Environmental Quality Summary (1)-(4)
    - EPA Studies (1)-(2)
    - General (1)-(2)
  • Economic Impacts of Environmental Programs, 1975
  • Economic Speech, October 1974
  • Effluent Guidelines for Steam Electric Plants, 1974 (1)-(3)
  • Effluent Guidelines for Steam Electric Plants, 1975
  • Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act, 1974-75

Box 10 - Subject File

  • Energy, 1974
    - Canada
    - Conservation - Federal Agencies
    - Conservation - General (1)-(2)
    - Defense Department Report
    - Facility Siting Bill
    - Legislation - Pending, May-July
    - Legislation - Pending, August-November
    - Organization - Executive Branch
    - Research and Development - Funding
    - Research and Development - General (1)-(2)
    - Research and Development - Legislation

Box 11 - Subject File

  • Energy, 1974
    - Research and Development Committee
    - State Actions
    - Taxes
  • Energy, 1975
    - Agriculture
    - Alternative Energy Programs (1)-(2)
    - Alternatives - A Fact Sheet
    - Analysis by FEA (1)-(2)
    - Bills to Block Administration Energy Program
    - Conservation - Federal Agencies (1)-(2)
    - Conservation - General
    - Conversation Statement
    - Energy Independence Act of 1975
    - Energy Independence Authority (1)-(2)
    - Energy Resources Finance Corporation (1)

Box 12 - Subject File

  • Energy, 1975
    - Energy Resources Finance Corporation (2)
    - Facilities - Capital Investment
    - Facilities - Siting
    - Federal Energy Management Program
    - Floor Price Proposal
    - House Hearings
    - Legislation - Pending Energy Bills
    - Legislation - Status Reports
    - Oil Products Entitlements
    - Omnibus Energy Bill, October - November (1)-(2)
    - Omnibus Energy Bill, December (1)-(2)
    - Organization - Executive Branch
    - President's Energy Proposals (1)-(2)
    - Presidential Statements
    - Research and Development
  • Energy, 1976
    - Budget Analysis - Federal Energy Research
    - Energy Independence Authority
    - Energy Program
    - Energy Research and Development Advisory Council
    - Export of Advanced Technologies

Box 13 - Subject File

  • Energy, 1976
    - General
    - International Issues
    - Midwest Governors' Task Force
    - Organization - ERC/OMB Report (1)-(4)
    - Organization - General
    - Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries
    - Presidential Energy Message, 2/26/76 - General
    - Presidential Energy Message, 2/26/76 - Message Drafts
    - Presidential Energy Message, 2/26/76 - Fact Sheet
    - Presidential Energy Message, 2/26/76 - Fact Sheet Summary
    - Presidential Energy Message, 2/26/76 - Nuclear Energy
    - Presidential Positions
    - Presidential Statements

Box 14 - Subject File

  • Energy, 1976
    - Research and Development Plans
  • Energy Conversion Process - John Wayne Project, 1975
  • Energy Development Impact Assistance, 1975
  • Energy Development Impact Assistance, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Energy Research and Development Administration, 1974
    - Activation - Congressional Relationships
    - Activation - General
    - Activation - Office Space and Location
    - Activation - Organizational Alternatives
    - Employee Handbook
    - Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 (1)-(2)
    - General
    - Issues Papers
    - Personnel (1)-(4)

Box 15 - Subject File

  • Energy Research and Development Administration, 1974
    - Seamans Q's and A's
    - Security Clearance Requirements
  • Energy Research and Development Administration, 1975
    - Activation
    - Budget Request Estimates for FY 1977
    - Energy and Environmental Policy Analysis
    - General (1)-(3)
    - Liquid Metal Fast Breeder Reactor
    - MHD
    - Research and Development Demonstration Plan (1)-(2)
    - Solar Energy Research Institute (1)-(2)
  • Energy Research and Development Administration, 1976
    - Articles
    - Budget
    - Congressional Correspondence

Box 16 - Subject File

  • Energy Research and Development Administration, 1976
    - Energy Related Invention Program
    - Environmental Policy Analysis
    - Field Organization
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Invitations to President and Vice President
    - Legislation
    - MHD Facility
    - "National Plan for Energy, Research and Development and Demonstration" (1)-(2)
    - Press Releases
    - Patent Policies
    - Schedule Proposals
    - "Shedding Light on Facts About Nuclear Energy"
    - Solar Energy Research Institute
    - Speeches
    - Status of ERDA Legislation
    - Teton Dam Disaster - ERDA Lands
    - Transfer of Programs to Defense Department

Box 17 - Subject File

  • Energy Resources Council, 1974
    - Executive Order on Membership
    - General (1)-(2)
  • Energy Resources Council, 1975 (1)-(3)
  • Environmental Study, 1975
  • Environmental Impact Statements on Project Independence, 1974
  • Environmental Protection Agency, 1974
    - Air Quality Transportation Control
    - Management by Objective
  • Environmental Protection Agency, 1974-75
    - General
  • Environmental Protection Agency, 1976
    - General
  • Environmental Protection Agency, 1976
    - Overlap with NRC in Radiation Activities
  • Executive Seminar Program, 1975
  • Experimental Technology Incentives Program, 1974-75
  • Extraterritorial Impact of National Environmental Policy Act, 1976
  • Federal Energy Administration, 1974
    - General
    - Petroleum Import Reports
    - Petroleum Situation Reports
    - Presidential Objectives (1)-(2)
  • Federal Energy Administration, 1975
    - Budget
    - Exemptions and Appeals Decisions
    - Federal Energy Management Program
    - Federal Energy Organization Plans

Box 18 - Subject File

  • Federal Energy Administration, 1975
    - General
    - Petroleum Situation Reports
  • Federal Energy Administration, 1976
    - Articles
    - Budget
    - California Crude Oil - Gravity Price Differential
    - Congressional Correspondence
    - Conservation
    - Energy Events
    - Entitlements Program
    - Extension (1)-(5)
    - Federal Energy Management Program
    - Federal Energy Office
    - General (1)-(3)
    - Import Fee
    - Petroleum Marketing Practices Act
    - Presidential Statement - Decontrol of Residual Oil

Box 19 - Subject File

  • Federal Energy Administration, 1976
    - Project Independence
    - Q's and A's
    - Schedule Proposals (Empty)
    - Speeches
    - Standby Rationing and Conservation Plans
    - Strategic Oil
  • Federal Power Commission, 1975
  • Federal Property Council, 1975
  • Federal Regional Councils, 1975
  • Federal Support of Civilian R&D, 1974
  • Federal Technology Transfers - Directory, 1975
  • Foreign Oil Production and Prices, 1974
  • Franchised Petroleum Legislation (S. 1694), 1974
  • Gasoline Tax, 1974
  • General Motors, 1974
  • General Services Administration, 1975
  • Geothermal Energy, 1974
  • Geothermal Energy, 1975 (1)-(2)
  • Geothermal Energy, 1976
  • Governor's Conference, 1974
  • Horsepower Tax, 1974

Box 20 - Subject File

  • Industrial Research Institute, 1975
  • Interior Department, 1975
  • Interior Department, 1976
  • International Atomic Energy Agency, 1976
  • Interstate Nuclear Boards, 1974
  • Jackson Energy Policy Letters, 1974
  • Kaiparowits Project - Generating Plant, 1974
  • Land Use, 1974-75
  • Legislative Message (Presidential), November 18, 1974
  • Legislative Message to Congress, July 22, 1976
  • Liquified Natural Gas, 1975
  • Liquified Natural Gas Imports, 1976
  • Management of Government - Management by Objectives, 1975
  • Material Shortages, 1974
  • Motor Vehicle Goals, 1975
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 1974
    - Aeronautics and Space Report
    - Budget for FY 1976 (1)-(2)
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Printed Material (1)

Box 21 - Subject File

  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 1974
    - Printed Material (2)
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 1975
    - Aeronautics and Space Report
    - Budget
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Goddard Memorial Trophy (1)-(2)
    - Personnel
    - Space Shuttle (1)-(2)
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 1976
    - Aeronautics and Space Report
    - Fletcher Letter to the President, June 4
    - Fletcher Meeting with the President, September 8
    - General (1)-(2)
    - LANDSAT
  • National Association of Counties, 1976
  • National Association of Realtors, 1974

Box 22 - Subject File

  • National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissions, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • National Center on Productivity, 1976
  • National Leadership Conference, 1976
  • National Medal of Science Awards, 1976
  • National Science Foundation, 1974
  • National Science Foundation, 1975
    - General (1)-(2)
    - National Science Board - Annual Report
    - National Science Board - Appointments
    - National Science Board - Background
    - National Science Board - Meeting with the President
  • National Science Foundation, 1976
    - Appropriations for FY 1977
    - General (1)-(2)
    - National Science Board - Personnel (1)-(2)
    - National Science Board - Reports
    - Personnel
    - Project Knowledge 2000
    - Speeches

Box 23 - Subject File

  • Natural Gas, 1975
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Legislation
    - Proposed Dinner
  • Natural Gas, 1976
    - General
    - Legislation (1)-(2)
  • Natural Gas Deregulation, 1974
    - Briefing Material
    - Congressional Correspondence
    - Federal Power Commission - Pipeline Data
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Legislation
  • Natural Gas Deregulation, 1975
    - General
    - Legislation
    - Testimony
  • Naval Petroleum Reserve, 1974
    - Background (1973)
    - Congressional Correspondence

Box 24 - Subject File

  • Naval Petroleum Reserve, 1974
    - Congressional Report
    - General
  • Naval Petroleum Reserve, 1975
    - GAO Report
    - General
    - Historical Background
    - Legislation (1)-(2)
    - President's Visit to Elk Hills (1)-(2)
    - President's Visit to Elk Hills - Maps
  • Naval Petroleum Reserve, 1976
    - General
    - Signing Ceremony (1)-(2)
  • New England Energy
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization, Standardization of Weapons, 1976
  • Nuclear Energy, 1974
    - Breeder Reactors
    - Domestic Safeguards
    - Licensing
    - Offshore Nuclear Plants
    - Price/Anderson Act
    - Power Plants - AEC Action Plans
    - Power Plants - General

Box 25 - Subject File

  • Nuclear Energy, 1975
    - "Atomic Electron Binding Energies"
    - Atomic Energy Legislation - History
    - Domestic Safeguards
    - Energy Centers
    - Fuel Cycle Problems
    - General (1)-(2)
    - General, Overview Memo
    - Licensing
    - Moratorium - California, General
    - Moratorium - California, Hans Mark Correspondence
    - Offshore Nuclear Plants

Box 26 - Subject File

  • Nuclear Energy, 1975
    - Plutonium Recycling (GESMO) (1)-(2)
    - Price/Anderson Act
    - Reactor Safety
  • Nuclear Energy, 1976
    - Agreements with Foreign Countries
    - Atomic Industrial Forum Statement
    - Breeder Reactor
    - Domestic Safeguards
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Licensing
    - Moratorium - California FEA Report
    - Moratorium - California, General
    - Moratorium - Hans Mark Correspondence
    - Moratorium - California, Zarb Statements
    - Moratorium - Questions and Answers
    - Moratorium - Seamans Speeches
    - Moratorium - State Initiatives and Legislation

Box 27 - Subject File

  • Nuclear Energy, 1976
    - Power
    - Process Heat
    - Protection Sensitive Information
    - Seabrook Nuclear Plant
  • Nuclear Policy, 1976
    - Agency Comments on Fri Report
    - Articles
    - Background Material (1)-(3)
    - Carter Speech
    - Eisenhower Speech - "Atoms for Peace"
    - Exports (1)-(2)
    - Fact Sheets
    - Fri/Percy Compromise
    - Fri Report - Draft (1)-(2)

Box 28 - Subject File

  • Nuclear Policy, 1976
    - Fri Report - Draft (3)
    - High Commission Report
    - Implementation
    - Meeting with the President, March 25
    - Meeting with the President, July 29
    - Meeting with the President, September 17
    - Memos to the President
    - Nonproliferation - General
    - Nonproliferation - Legislation (1)-(3)
    - Nonproliferation - Legislation - Bills (1)-(2)
    - Nonproliferation - Legislation - General
    - Nonproliferation - Legislation - National Fuel Assurance Act Memoranda
    - Nuclear Policy Study

Box 29 - Subject File

  • Nuclear Policy, 1976
    - Presidential Decision Memo, July 10 (1)-(2)
    - Presidential Decision Memo, September 15
    - Presidential Statement - Drafts, Sept. 29-30
    - Presidential Statement - Drafts, October 15
    - Presidential statement - Drafts, October 18-19
    - Presidential Statement - Drafts, October 19-20
    - Presidential Statement - Drafts, October 19-21
    - Presidential Statement - Drafts, October 20-21
    - Presidential Statement - Drafts, October 21 (1)-(4)

Box 30 - Subject File

  • Nuclear Policy, 1976
    - Presidential Statement - Press Release, October 28
    - Questions and Answers
    - Testimony
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission, 1974
    - Budget for FY 1976
    - Candidates
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission, 1975
    - Activism
    - Budget for FY 1977
    - General
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission, 1976
  • Nuclear Waste Management, 1976
    - Background
    - Conference, October
    - Environmental Statements
    - Energy Resources Council Statements
    - ERDA Report
    - General, Jan-May (1)-(2)

Box 31 - Subject File

  • Nuclear Waste Management, 1976
    - General, June-July
    - Technical Alternatives Document (1)-(3)
  • Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1975
  • Oil Company Divestiture, 1976
  • Oil Decontrol, 1974
  • Oil Decontrol, 1975
  • Oil Decontrol, 1976
  • Oil Depletion Allowance, 1975
  • Oil Import Fees (1)-(3)
  • Oil - Refinery Loans, 1974
  • Oil Spill Liability, 1975
  • Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries, 1976
  • Outer Continental Shelf, 1974
    - General

Box 32 - Subject File

  • Outer Continental Shelf, 1974
    - Meeting with Coastal State Governors (1)-(3)
    - Southern California
  • Outer Continental Shelf, 1975
    - General (1)-(4)
    - Options Paper
    - Presidential Memo from Cavanaugh, February 21 (1)-(2)
    - Presidential Memo from Lynn, March 12 (1)-(2)
    - Presidential Memo from Zarb, November 21 (1)-(3)

Box 33 - Subject File

  • Outer Continental Shelf, 1976
    - Leasing Legislation (1)-(3)
  • Ozone Depletion, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Party Platforms, 1976
  • Payments to Interveners (S. 2715), 1976
  • Pennsylvania Forum - Energy and Resources Management, 1975
  • Petroleum Deallocation, 1974 (1)-(2)
  • Presidential Energy Message, 1974
  • Presidential Invitations, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Presidential Meeting, 1974 (1)-(2)
  • Project Independence, 1974 (1)

Box 34 - Subject File

  • Project Independence, 1974 (2)-(3)
  • Project Independence, 1974: Input Statement
  • Public Correspondence, 1975
  • Public Correspondence, 1976 (1)-(3)
  • Publications - General (1)-(2)
  • Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands Oil Imports, 1975
  • Pumped Storage Capacity
  • Q's and A's, 1976 (1)-(2)

Box 35 - Subject File

  • Q's and A's, 1976 (3)-(4)
  • Radiation, 1976
  • Rasmussen Report (Nuclear Safety), 1976
  • Rationing Ideas, 1975
  • Research and Development Funding, (1)-(2)
  • Rivken, Steven - Residential Utility Proposal, 1976
  • Schedule Proposals (1)-(2)
  • Science and Technology Policy, 1974
    - Articles
    - Background Information
    - Congressional Correspondence
    - Congressional Report
    - Legislation
    - NSF - Dr. Stever
    - Presidential Memoranda (1)

Box 36 - Subject File

  • Science and Technology Policy, 1974
    - Presidential Memoranda (2)
    - Speech - "Science in the White House"
    - Scientists Meeting with the President
    - Strasser Associates Report
    - Testimony before Congress
  • Science and Technology Policy, 1975
    - Advisory Groups (1)-(4)
    - American Association for the Advancement of Science
    - Articles
    - Budget and Staffing
    - Correspondence (1)-(2)
    - Correspondence - W.O. Baker
    - General (1)

Box 37 - Subject File

  • Science and Technology Policy, 1975
    - General (2)
    - Gilpin Study - Technology and the Economy
    - Legislation - H.R. 4461
    - Legislation - H.R. 7830 and H.R. 7990
    - Legislation - H.R. 9058 (1)-(3)
    - Legislation - H.R. 10230
    - Legislation - S. 32 (1)-(3)
    - Legislation - Comments on H.R. 9058
    - Legislation - Correspondence with Scientists
    - Legislation - Related Bills
    - Legislation - Status Reports (1)

Box 38 - Subject File

  • Science and Technology Policy, 1975
    - Legislation - Status Reports (2)
    - Notes for Talks to Science Groups
    - NSF Answers to Congressional Questions
    - Presidential Announcement, June 9
    - Presidential Memorandum, March - April (1)-(2)
    - Presidential Speeches/Messages
    - Presidential Memorandum
    - Privacy and Information Policy
    - Research and Development in Industry
    - Science
    - Scientists Meeting on September 4
    - Senate and House Positions
    - Speech Material
    - Testimony
    - Vice Presidential Statements

Box 39 - Subject File

  • Science and Technology Policy, 1976
    - Advisory Groups (1)-(2)
    - Advisory Groups - Science Court
    - Articles
    - Correspondence (1)-(2)
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Impact of Regulations
    - Implementation - Budget and Organization (1)-(3)
    - Implementation - Staffing
    - Legislation - Administration Position (1)-(2)
    - Legislation - Bill Reports (1)

Box 40 - Subject File

  • Science and Technology Policy, 1976
    - Legislation - Bill Reports (2)-(4)
    - Legislation - General (1)-(3)
    - Miscellaneous
    - Nomination of Dr. Stever (1)-(2)
    - Presidential Message (1)-(2)
    - Presidential Committee on Science and Technology (1)-(2)
    - Senate and House Positions
    - Signing Ceremony, May 11 (1)-(2)

Box 41 - Subject File

  • Science and Technology Policy, 1976
    - Speech Material
    - Swearing in Ceremony for Dr. Stever
    - Testimony
  • Scientific and Engineering Societies, 1975 (1)-(2)
  • Singer, Fred - Correspondence, 1976
  • Solar Energy Legislation, 1974
  • Solar Energy, 1975
  • Solar Energy, 1976
    - General
    - Speech Material
  • South Pole Station - Antarctic Dedication, 1974
  • Speed Limit, 1974 (1)-(2)
  • Standby Energy Emergency Act, 1974
    - Bills (1)-(3)

Box 42 - Subject File

  • Standby Energy Emergency Act, 1974
    - General
    - Reports
  • Standby Energy Emergency Bill, 1975
  • State of the Union Address, 1975
    - Background
    - Briefing Paper on Energy
    - Drafts (1)-(2)
    - Fact Sheet - Drafts (1)-(2)
    - General
  • State of the Union Address, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • State of the Union Address, 1977
  • Strategic Petroleum Reserves, 1974
  • Strip Mining, 1974
    - American Mining Congress
    - Analysis of H.R. 11500 by Bureau of Mines
    - Bill - H.R. 12898

Box 43 - Subject File

  • Strip Mining, 1974
    - Bill - H.R. 11500
    - Coal Conversion and the Clean Air Act
    - Congressional Correspondence
    - Conference Committee Print, H.R. 11500 and S. 425
    - Conference Report, S. 425
    - Cost and Production Estimates
    - Floor Amendments to H.R. 11500
    - General (1)-(4)
    - Interior Department Correspondence with Congress
    - Meeting with the President, December 13

Box 44 - Subject File

  • Strip Mining, 1974
    - Memo to the President, November 16
    - Mined Area Protection
    - National Coal Association
    - Survey of State Activities to Control Strip Mining
  • Strip Mining, 1975
    - Administration Position Papers
    - Administration Strip Mining Bill
    - American Mining Congress (1)-(2)
    - Analysis of Strip Mining Legislation
    - Clippings
    - Comparison of Administration and Congressional Bills
    - Committee Reports, S. 7 and H.R. 25
    - Comparison of Differences Between Congressional Bills

Box 45 - Subject File

  • Strip Mining, 1975
    - Conference Report, H.R. 25
    - Congressional Correspondence
    - Congressional Record, March 18
    - Correspondence - General
    - Cost and Production Estimates
    - Draft Administration Surface Mining Bill
    - Explanation of Changes in H.R. 25, for Congressman Ruppe
    - Fannin Letter
    - General (1)-(4)
    - Interior Department Correspondence with Congress
    - Interior Department Strip Mining Regulations
    - Interior Department Strip Mining Regulations - EPA Comments

Box 46 - Subject File

  • Strip Mining, 1975
    - Issues Papers and Agenda Drafts
    - Managers' Joint Statement on H.R. 25
    - Memo to the President, Jan. 20
    - Memo to the President, Jan. 25 (1)-(2)
    - Memo to the President, April 21
    - Memo to the President, May 3
    - Memo to the President, May 15 (1)-(2)
    - National Coal Association
    - President's Letter to Congress, Feb 6 (1)-(3)
    - Questions and Answers
    - Senate Strip Mining Bill - S.7
    - Speech by EPA Administrator Train
    - State Activities on Strip Mining

Box 47 - Subject File

  • Strip Mining, 1975
    - Veto Message, May 20 (1)-(2)
    - Zarb Letter to Congress
    - Zarb Statement before Congressional Committee
  • Strip Mining, 1976
    - Bills
    - Conference Report
    - General (1)-(2)
  • SYNCON - Portland, 1974
  • Synthetic Fuels, 1975
    - Commercialization Report (1)-(2)
  • Synthetic Fuels, 1975
    - General
    - Commercialization Demonstration Program
  • Synthetic Fuels, 1976
    - Congressional Telephone Calls
    - ERDA Status Reports

Box 48 - Subject File

  • Synthetic Fuels, 1976
    - Congressional Correspondence
  • Synthetic Fuel Legislation, 1976
    - Criticisms and Responses
    - General
    - Testimony before Congress
    - Voting Analysis
  • Tennessee Valley Authority, 1974
  • Tennessee Valley Authority, 1975
  • Tennessee Valley Authority, 1976
  • Tyler Ecology Award, 1974
  • Union Carbide - Energy Policy for Puerto Rico, 1976
  • Uranium Enrichment, 1974
  • Uranium Enrichment, 1975
    - Administration Action Plans (1)-(3)
    - American Nuclear Energy Council (Hosmer)
    - Articles, Clippings
    - Atomic Industrial Forum Speech
    - Baker and Montoya Amendments
    - Briefings on Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act

Box 49 - Subject File

  • Uranium Enrichment, 1975
    - Cash Flow Charts
    - Centrifuge Enrichment Projects
    - Congressional Briefings, Sept. (1)-(2)
    - Congressional Contacts
    - Congressional Research Service "Issue Brief"
    - Congressional Statements
    - Contract Adjustments
    - Distribution of Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act Information
    - Economic Impact
    - Environmental Impact
    - ERDA - Publications
    - ERDA - Seamans
    - Fact Sheet, June
    - Foreign Contracts
    - Foreign Investments
    - GAO Draft Report
    - GAO Draft Report - Administration Comments (1)

Box 50 - Subject File

  • Uranium Enrichment, 1975
    - Cash Flow Charts
    - Centrifuge Enrichment Projects
    - Congressional Briefings, Sept. (1)-(2)
    - Congressional Contacts
    - Congressional Research Service "Issue Brief"
    - Congressional Statements
    - Contract Adjustments
    - Distribution of Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act Information
    - Economic Impact
    - Environmental Impact
    - ERDA - Publications
    - ERDA - Seamans
    - Fact Sheet, June
    - Foreign Contracts
    - Foreign Investments
    - GAO Draft Report
    - GAO Draft Report - Administration Comments (1)

Box 51 - Subject File

  • Uranium Enrichment, 1975
    - National Security Implications
    - Negotiations with Uranium Enrichment Associates (UEA)
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act (NFAA) - Bill
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act - Hearings
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act - Revisions
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act - Testimony by Commerce, FEA, ERDA
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act - Testimony by EPA, REA, GAO, Justice
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act - Testimony by Labor, NRC
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act - Testimony by OMB
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act - Testimony by State, Treasury
    - Power Supply - Portsmouth
    - Presidential Memo from Cannon, May 23
    - Presidential Memo from Cannon, June 3 (1)-(2)

Box 52 - Subject File

  • Uranium Enrichment, 1975
    - Presidential Memo from Cannon, June 3 (3)
    - Presidential Memo from Lynn, May 6
    - Private Ventures
    - Q's and A's on the President's Program
    - Seamans - Lynn Correspondence
    - Signing Ceremony, June 26
    - Status Reports
    - United States Enrichment Corporation
    - Uranium Enrichment Associates (1)-(2)
    - Utility Companies
  • Uranium Enrichment, 1976
    - Administration Position
    - Administration Reaction to Joint Committee on Atomic Energy Bill
    - Articles, Clippings
    - Atomic Industrial Forum
    - Budget for FY 1977 and Related Items (1)-(2)
    - Bill Reported by Joint Committee on Atomic Energy (1)

Box 53 - Subject File

  • Uranium Enrichment, 1976
    - Bill Reported by Joint Committee on Atomic Energy (2)-(3)
    - Carter's Position
    - Cash Flow Charts
    - Centrifuge (1)-(2)
    - Commercial Charge Legislation
    - Congressional Budget Office Report
    - Congressional Correspondence (1)-(2)
    - Congressional Correspondence - Glenn
    - Congressional Correspondence - Harsha
    - Congressional Correspondence - Mansfield
    - Congressional Record, July 30
    - Congressional Timetable
    - Contract Agreements

Box 54 - Subject File

  • Uranium Enrichment, 1976
    - Correspondence with Joint Committee - General
    - Correspondence with Joint Committee - Pastore (1)-(4)
    - Correspondence with Joint Committee - Executive Director Murphy
    - Correspondence with Private Firms
    - Crawford Letter to Pastore
    - Demand - Supply Comparison
    - ERDA Authorization Bill
    - ERDA Response to AP Story
    - ERDA's Separative Work Units (SWU) Supplies
    - Export Reorganization Bill
    - Fact Sheets
    - Funding for Add-on
    - GAO Reports
    - Hedge Plan
    - House and Senate Votes - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act
    - International Separative Work Units and Uranium Pool
    - Japanese Government Discussions
    - Labor Support

Box 55 - Subject File

  • Uranium Enrichment, 1976
    - Legislation
    - Merrill Lynch Proposal
    - Miscellaneous
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act
    - Nuclear Fuel Assurance Act - Hearings
    - Nuclear Fuel Cycle
    - Ohio Newspaper Controversy - Portsmouth
    - Ohio Republican Delegation
    - Portsmouth Add-on
    - Power Supply
    - Presidential Briefing Packages
    - Presidential Memoranda
    - Presidential Statements - Portsmouth
    - Private Ventures
    - Q's and A's
    - Q's and A's - Portsmouth
    - Reprocessing
    - Requests for Proposals - Power Supply for Portsmouth
    - Schedule Proposals
    - Status Reports
    - Testimony
    - Title V, S. 3105
    - Transaction Tails Assay

Box 56 - Subject File

  • Uranium Enrichment, 1976
    - Uranium Enrichment Associates
    - Uranium Reserves
    - White House Briefing Packages
    - White House Memoranda
  • Utilities - Proposed Dinner
  • Vinyl Chloride
  • Wallace and Wallace Proposal (Oil Refining)
  • Weatherization Assistance
  • Westinghouse (Fertilizer Production)
  • White House Conference, Miami - Presidential Remarks (1)-(2)
  • White House Press Releases
  • Willrich, Mason - Radioactive Waste Study (1)-(2)
  • World Energy Conference (1)-(2)

Box 57 - Chronological File

  • 8/74 - 12/74

Box 58 - Chronological File

  • 1/75 - 5/75

Box 59 - Chronological File

  • 6/75 - 9/75

Box 60 - Chronological File

  • 10/75 - 1/12/76

Box 61 - Chronological File

  • 1/13/76 - 4/76

Box 62 - Chronological File

  • 5/76 - 7/12/76

Box 63 - Chronological File

  • 7/13/76 - 10/6/76

Box 64 - Chronological File

  • 10/7/76 - 1/77

Box 64 (Continued) - Congressional Correspondence

  • 8/74 - 4/75

Box 65 - Referrals

  • A - Ev

Box 66 - Referrals

  • Fa - Klug (1)

Box 67 - Referrals

  • Klug (2) - Ri

Box 68 - Referrals

  • Ro - Z

Box 69 - Telephone Logs

  • 6/75 - 12/75

Box 70 - Kathleen Ryan Subject File

  • Consumer Affairs
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 1975
    - Congressional Space Medal of Honor
    - General (1)-(2)
    - Space Shuttle (1)-(3)
  • National Medal of Science, 1975
    - Announcement of Winners
    - Awards Ceremony (1)-(2)
    - Awards Ceremony - Invitation List
    - Background
  • National Science Foundation, 1975
    - General
    - Project Knowledge 2000
  • Presidential Speech on Science and Technology
  • Science
  • Science and Technology Policy, 1975
    - Science Advisory Apparatus (1)-(2)