INTRODUCTION

John E. Reinhardt was a career diplomat who joined the United States Information Agency (USIA) in 1957 as a Foreign Service Officer, one of the first African-Americans to join the diplomatic service during that era.

USIA had been created by President Eisenhower in 1953 with the mission of understanding, informing, and influencing foreign publics in the promotion of the national interest, and broadening the dialogue between Americans and US institutions and their counterparts abroad. The agency promoted cultural understanding through exchanges of persons, cultural programs, and Voice of America (VOA) broadcasts.

During his career at USIA, Reinhardt held overseas postings in the Philippines, Japan, and Iran; and rose through the ranks to hold various administrative posts in the areas of African and East Asia and Pacific affairs.

From 1971-75, John Reinhardt served as US Ambassador to Nigeria, becoming the first African-American to fill this post. In 1975-77, he served as Assistant Secretary of State for Public Affairs under Henry Kissinger and was considered one of Secretary Kissinger’s closest advisers on Africa policy.

In 1977, President Jimmy Carter appointed Reinhardt as Director of USIA, becoming the first career diplomat to head this agency. The following year, Reinhardt presided over the integration of USIA and the State Department’s Bureau of Educational Cultural Affairs into a new agency called the United States International Communications Agency (USICA), which he headed until 1981.

As head of USIA and USICA, Reinhardt frequently communicated with members of the House Representatives and Senate concerning the agency’s mission and budget, and developed and fostered relationships with cultural organizations and foreign governments throughout the world. USIA and USICA also provided an avenue for prominent Americans to engage with foreign audiences during their travels abroad.

During his career, John Reinhardt also held several special assignments, including Chairman of the US Delegations to the 19th and 20th United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) General Conferences in Nairobi and Paris respectively; and Chairman of the US Cultural Delegation to the People’s Republic of China in 1980.

Following his tenure at USICA, Reinhardt served as Assistant Secretary for History and Art, and Director of International Activities, at the Smithsonian Institution.

Scope and Content of the Reinhardt Papers

The papers of John Reinhardt focus primarily on Reinhardt’s role as Director of USIA and USICA during the Carter Administration, with some materials pertaining to earlier and later aspects of his career. The collection provides a good window on the varied activities and interactions of the Director and the goals, objectives, and activities of USIA and USICA, including its oversight of the Voice of America (VOA).

The General Subject File, for example, focuses mostly on John Reinhardt’s time leading USIA and USICA, including materials on his appointment as Director of USIA, daily activities and schedules, speeches, and travel in support of these agencies. Also included are limited materials on other aspects of Reinhardt’s career, including his years as Ambassador to Nigeria, Assistant Secretary of State for Public Affairs, and Director of International Activities at the Smithsonian Institution.

The Chronological File focuses exclusively on John Reinhardt’s tenure as Director of USIA and USICA and provides many insights into his leadership and the work of these agencies. There are materials on a wide range of issues and topics including Reinhardt’s contacts and exchanges on behalf of the agencies; agency restructuring; diplomatic and cultural exchange programs utilized in support of US foreign policy; news summaries of foreign press coverage, which provide an interesting perspective on how American foreign policy is perceived in other parts of the world; and the work of the VOA.

The University of Wisconsin Subject File contains materials from Reinhardt’s days as a graduate student, including his thesis on James Russell Lowell.

Related Materials
Related materials on USIA, VOA, and international broadcasting are located in several subject categories within the White House Central File Subject Files, including FG 230: USIA; several sub-collections within the National Security Adviser Files; and the U.S. National Security Institutional Records. Specific collection and folder titles can be identified by requesting a PRESNET search report from the Ford Library.

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

General Subject File, 1971-1987. (Boxes 1-10, 4.3 linear feet)
This series primarily consists of correspondence, calendars, speeches, press releases, briefing papers, schedules, clippings, scrapbooks, and vouchers from John Reinhardt’s time as Director of the United States Information Agency (USIA) and the United States International Communications Agency (USICA), but also including his time as Ambassador to Nigeria and tenures at the State Department and the Smithsonian Institution.
There are materials on Reinhardt’s appointment as Director of USIA, daily activities and appointments during his leadership of USIA and USICA, speeches as head of these agencies, and domestic and overseas travels in support of his work at USIA and USICA. Also included are limited materials on Reinhardt’s tenure as Ambassador to Nigeria, a 1976 NATO trip while Assistant Secretary of State for Public Affairs, his 1980 trip to the People’s Republic of China while leading the US Cultural Delegation, and some of his activities at the Smithsonian Institution.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Chronological File, 1977-1981. (Boxes 10-19, 3.9 linear feet)
This series consists primarily of outgoing correspondence, memorandums, and reports focusing on the day-to-day activities and operations of the United States Information Agency (USIA) and the United States International Communications Agency (USICA).
There are materials on a wide range of issues and topics including John Reinhardt’s contacts and exchanges with his staff, members of Congress, government officials, foreign dignitaries, cultural institutions, and the general public; his guidance and reflections on agency goals, objectives, and procedures; the reorganization of USIA into USICA; agency programs, resources, and efforts overseas in support of US foreign policy; summaries of foreign press coverage of US foreign policy, including presidential speeches and trips; agency budget and staffing levels; and the activities and policies of the Voice of America (VOA). Specific topics include East-West relations, human rights, Soviet/Cuban intervention in Africa, the Middle East peace process, and NATO.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

University of Wisconsin Subject File, 1948-1950. (Boxes 20, 0.4 linear feet)
This series consists of writings, notes, and a thesis on poet James Russell Lowell from John Reinhardt’s graduate school days at the University of Wisconsin.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - General Subject File

• Appointment – USIA Director
  • Congratulatory Letters (1)
  • Congratulatory Letters (2)
  • Congratulatory Letters (3)
  • Congratulatory Letters (4)
  • Congratulatory Letters (5)
  • Congratulatory Letters (6)
  • Congratulatory Letters (7)
  • Congratulatory Letters (8)
  • Congratulatory Letters (9)
  • Congratulatory Letters (10)
  • Congratulatory Letters (11)
  • Congratulatory Letters (12)
  • Congratulatory Letters (13)
  • Personal
  • Swearing-In

Box 2 - General Subject File

• Calendar (1971) – Pocket Weekly
• Calendar (1972) – Pocket Weekly
• Calendar (1974) – Pocket Weekly
• Calendar (1977) – Pocket Weekly
• Calendar (1977) – Weekly Business Planner (1)
• Calendar (1977) – Weekly Business Planner (2)
• Calendar (1978) – Weekly Business Planner (1)
• Calendar (1978) – Weekly Business Planner (2)
• Calendar (1979) – Weekly Business Planner (1)
• Calendar (1979) – Weekly Business Planner (2)
• Calendar (1980) – Pocket Weekly
• Calendar (1980) – Weekly Business Planner (1)
• Calendar (1980) – Weekly Business Planner (2)

Box 3 - General Subject File

• Calendar (1984) – Pocket Weekly
• Calendar (1985) – Brooks Brothers Weekly (1)
• Calendar (1985) – Brooks Brothers Weekly (2)
• Calendar (1985) – Brooks Brothers Weekly (3)
• Calendar (1985) – Pocket Weekly
• Calendar (1986) – Brooks Brothers Weekly (1)
• Calendar (1986) – Brooks Brothers Weekly (2)
• Calendar (1986) – Brooks Brothers Weekly (3)
• Calendar (1986) – Pocket Weekly
• Calendar (1987) – Brooks Brothers Weekly (1)
• Calendar (1987) – Brooks Brothers Weekly (2)
• Calendar (1987) – Brooks Brothers Weekly (3)
• Calendar (1987) – Pocket Weekly

Box 4 - General Subject File

• General
  • Conflict of Interest
  • Ellington School of the Arts
  • Farewell Letters (1/19/1981)
  • Personnel Actions
  • Personnel Evaluations: 1977-1981
  • Public Affairs Officer Letters (1)
  • Public Affairs Officer Letters (2)
  • Public Affairs Officer Letters (3)
• Personal
  • Biography of Ambassador Reinhardt
  • Chronological, 1977-1981 (1)
  • Chronological, 1977-1981 (2)

Box 5 - General Subject File

• Personal
  • Correspondence, 10/1974-01/1977
  • Correspondence: A-B, 1976-1980 (1)
  • Correspondence: A-B, 1976-1980 (2)
  • Correspondence: C, 1976-1980 (1)
  • Correspondence: C, 1976-1980 (2)
  • Correspondence: D-F, 1976-1980 (1)
  • Correspondence: D-F, 1976-1980 (2)
  • Correspondence: G-K, 1976-1980 (1)
  • Correspondence: G-K, 1976-1980 (2)
  • Correspondence: L-O, 1976-1980 (1)

Box 6 - General Subject File

• Personal
  • Correspondence: P-R, 1976-1980 (1)
  • Correspondence: P-R, 1976-1980 (2)
  • Correspondence: S-Z, 1976-1980 (1)
  • Correspondence: S-Z, 1976-1980 (2)
  • General (1)
  • General (2)
  • Maps to Residence in Maryland
  • Photographs
  • Scrapbook/Miscellaneous (1977-1980) (1)
  • Scrapbook/Miscellaneous (1977-1980) (2)
  • Scrapbook/Miscellaneous (1977-1980) (3)

Box 7 - General Subject File

• Speeches: Material
• Speeches: 1977 (1)
• Speeches: 1977 (2)
• Speeches: 1978 (1)
• Speeches: 1978 (2)
• Speeches: 1978 (3)
• Speeches: 1978 (4)
• Speeches: 1978 (5)

Box 8 - General Subject File

• Speeches: 1979 (1)
• Speeches: 1979 (2)
• Speeches: 1979 (3)
• Speeches: 1979 (4)
• Speeches: 1980 – Walt Whitman High School Commencement
• Speeches: 1980 (1)
• Speeches: 1980 (2)
• Speeches: 1980 (3)
• Speeches: 1980 (4)
• Speeches: Award from the Women’s Action Organization of the Department of State
• Speeches: Charles W. Bray III, Deputy Director of the USICA (1)
• Speeches: Charles W. Bray III, Deputy Director of the USICA (2)

Box 9 - General Subject File

• Travel
  • Ambassador Reinhardt’s Travel, 1975-1977 (1)
  • Ambassador Reinhardt’s Travel, 1975-1977 (2)
  • Ambassador Reinhardt’s Travel, 1975-1977 (3)
  • China Briefing Book
  • Director’s Travel Vouchers, 1977-1978 (1)
  • Director’s Travel Vouchers, 1977-1978 (2)
  • Director’s Travel Vouchers, 1979
  • Director’s Travel Vouchers, 1980 (1)
  • Director’s Travel Vouchers, 1980 (2)
  • Director’s Travel Vouchers, 1980 (3)

Box 10

General Subject File

• Travel
  • NATO Trip – June 1976
  • S/PRS – Office of Press Relations – Temporary Duty Travel, 1973 (10/1976-12/1976)
  • Tokyo, Japan Visit, 1980

Chronological File

• 1977 – January - March (1)
• 1977 – January - March (2)
• 1977 – April – June (1)
• 1977 – April – June (2)
• 1977 – April – June (3)
• 1977 – April – June (4)

Box 11 - Chronological File

• 1977 – April – June (5)
• 1977 – July – August (1)
• 1977 – July – August (2)
• 1977 – July – August (3)
• 1977 – July – August (4)
• 1977 – July – August (5)
• 1977 – September – October (1)
• 1977 – September – October (2)
• 1977 – September – October (3)
• 1977 – September – October (4)
• 1977 – November – December (1)

Box 12 - Chronological File

• 1977 – November – December (2)
• 1977 – November – December (3)
• 1977 – November – December (4)
• 1978 – January – February (1)
• 1978 – January – February (2)
• 1978 – January – February (3)
• 1978 – January – February (4)
• 1978 – January – February (5)
• 1978 – March – April (1)
• 1978 – March – April (2)
• 1978 – March – April (3)

Box 13 - Chronological File

• 1978 – March – April (4)
• 1978 – March – April (5)
• 1978 – May – June (1)
• 1978 – May – June (2)
• 1978 – May – June (3)
• 1978 – May – June (4)
• 1978 – May – June (5)
• 1978 – May – June (6)
• 1978 – May – June (7)
• 1979 – July – August (1)
• 1979 – July – August (2)
• 1979 – July – August (3)
• 1979 – July – August (4)

Box 14 - Chronological File

• 1979 – July – August (5)
• 1979 – July – August (6)
• 1979 – July – August (7)
• 1978 – September – October (1)
• 1978 – September – October (2)
• 1978 – September – October (3)
• 1978 – September – October (4)
• 1978 – November – December (1)
• 1978 – November – December (2)
• 1978 – November – December (3)
• 1979 – January – February (1)
• 1979 – January – February (2)

Box 15 - Chronological File

• 1979 – January – February (3)
• 1979 – January – February (4)
• 1979 – January – February (5)
• 1979 – March – April (1)
• 1979 – March – April (2)
• 1979 – March – April (3)
• 1979 – March – April (4)
• 1979 – March – April (5)
• 1979 – March – April (6)
• 1979 – March – April (7)
• 1979 – May – June (1)
• 1979 – May – June (2)
• 1979 – May – June (3)
• 1979 – May – June (4)

Box 16 - Chronological File

• 1979 – May – June (5)
• 1979 – July – August (1)
• 1979 – July – August (2)
• 1979 – July – August (3)
• 1979 – July – August (4)
• 1979 – July – August (5)
• 1979 – September – October (1)
• 1979 – September – October (2)
• 1979 – September – October (3)
• 1979 – September – October (4)
• 1979 – September – October (5)
• 1979 – November – December (1)

Box 17 - Chronological File

• 1979 – November – December (2)
• 1979 – November – December (3)
• 1979 – November – December (4)
• 1979 – November – December (5)
• 1979 – November – December (6)
• 1980 – January – February (1)
• 1980 – January – February (2)
• 1980 – January – February (3)
• 1980 – January – February (4)
• 1980 – March – April (1)
• 1980 – March – April (2)
• 1980 – March – April (3)
• 1980 – March – April (4)

Box 18 - Chronological File

• 1980 – March – April (5)
• 1980 – May – June (1)
• 1980 – May – June (2)
• 1980 – May – June (3)
• 1980 – May – June (4)
• 1980 – May – June (5)
• 1980 – July – August (1)
• 1980 – July – August (2)
• 1980 – July – August (3)
• 1980 – July – August (4)
• 1980 – July – August (5)
• 1980 – July – August (6)

Box 19 - Chronological File

• 1980 – July – August (7)
• 1980 – September – October (1)
• 1980 – September – October (2)
• 1980 – September – October (3)
• 1980 – September – October (4)
• 1980 – September – October (5)
• 1980 – November – December (1)
• 1980 – November – December (2)
• 1980 – November – December (3)
• 1980 – November – December (4)
• 1981 – January (1)
• 1981 – January (2)
• 1981 – January (3)

Box 20 - University of Wisconsin Subject File

• Collegiate Writings and Notes
• Thesis on James Russell Lowell (1)
• Thesis on James Russell Lowell (2)
• Thesis on James Russell Lowell (3)
• University of Wisconsin Notebook