COLLECTION FINDING AID



J. STANLEY POTTINGER PAPERS, 1968 -1981

Director, Office of Civil Rights, Department of HEW;
Assistant Attorney General, Civil Rights Division, Department of Justice




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials relating primarily to Pottinger’s work on civil rights matters in the Department of Health, Education and Welfare (1970-1973), and the Department of Justice (1973-1977) during the Nixon and Ford administrations. The collection documents the investigation and enforcement of various civil rights issues, including: desegregation, busing, women’s rights, affirmative action, education, employment, government surveillance, Kent State, and Wounded Knee.

QUANTITY
56.4 linear feet (ca. 112,000 pages)

DONOR
The American Heritage Center (AHC) at the University of Wyoming, which had acquired the papers as a gift from Mr. Pottinger. When the AHC redefined its collecting scope, it donated the collection to the Ford Library with the support of Mr. Pottinger (accession number: 2006-NLF-030)

ACCESS
Open with some items temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them.

Prepared by Valerie S. Hinojosa, November 2007
[s:\bin\findaid\pottinger, j. stanley - papers .doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


J. Stanley Pottinger


February 13, 1940 - Born, Dayton, OH

1962 - Graduated, Harvard University

1965 - J.D., Harvard Law School

1965-1969 - General Counsel, Broad, Khourie, and Schulz, San Francisco, CA

1969 - Consultant, Department of Health, Education and Welfare

1969 - Regional Attorney, Department of Health, Education and Welfare

1970-1973 - Director, Office of Civil Rights, Department of Health, Education and Welfare

1973-1977 - Assistant Attorney General, Civil Rights Division, Department of Justice

1977 - Special Assistant to the Attorney General

1977-1981 - Attorney, Washington, D.C.

1981-1987 - Investment banking, New York City

1987 - Trustee, Lawyer’s Committee for Civil Rights

1987 - United Nations Association’s Advisory Committee for Multilateral Projects

1987 - Consultant, Rockefeller Foundation

1987 - Director, National Alliance of Breast Cancer Organizations (NABCO)

1993-- President, Barnstorm Books

1995-- Author of several works of fiction


INTRODUCTION

J. Stanley Pottinger held two important Federal offices involved with civil rights enforcement during the Nixon and Ford administrations: Director of the Office of Civil Rights for the Department of Health Education and Welfare and the Assistant Attorney General in charge of the Civil Rights Division of the Department of Justice.

Approximately one quarter of the collection documents Pottinger’s work with the Department of Health, Education and Welfare (1970-1973). The majority of the materials relate to enforcing civil rights regulations and policies in education including such matters as desegregation, the Emergency School Assistance Program, busing, and affirmative action. Also included, perhaps by mistake, is a small portion of what was once a larger series of files created by Martin Gerry, the Deputy Director of the Office of Civil Rights under Pottinger’s successor, Peter Holmes. These files primarily pertain to the administration of HEW offices.

The bulk of the collection concerns Pottinger’s work as head of the Civil Rights Division for the Department of Justice (1973-1977). The division was responsible for enforcing federal statutes that prohibited discrimination based on race, religion, sex, disability, or national origin. The case files included in this collection cover the investigation and prosecution of various civil rights violations. Topics include discrimination in education, employment, housing, voting, healthcare and federally funded programs, rights of the mentally handicapped, sex discrimination, and prisoner’s rights. The collection also includes materials documenting Pottinger’s role as chief negotiator during the American Indian Movement standoff at the Pine Ridge Reservation town of Wounded Knee, investigations on the student protests and resulting fatalities at Kent State University and Jackson State University, the investigation of the FBI’s Counter Intelligence Program (COINTELPRO), and the social unrest surrounding busing enforcement plans in Boston and other cities.

Several of the series in this collection are arranged by file numbers instead of alphabetically or chronologically. Apparently Pottinger’s staff assigned these numbers sequentially as they created new subject files. One must assume that the staff maintained some sort of index to file numbers to facilitate filing, but the collection does not include such an index. Therefore researchers will have to scan the entire listing of folders in the series or make use of the Library’s PRESNET database to locate folders on a specific topic.

Related Materials (November 2007)
Significant materials relating to the Equal Rights Amendment, sex discrimination and other women’s rights issues can be found in the files of Patricia Lindh and Jeanne Holm, as well as in the collections of the First Lady and her staff.

Key collections relating to desegregation, busing, and discrimination in education are in the files of David Lissy and Bobbie Greene Kilberg, and the papers of Robert Goldwin and Stanley Scott. The papers of Stanley Scott also contain numerous materials related to minority rights such as equal employment opportunity, race relations, voting rights, affirmative action, open housing and discrimination.

Important civil rights materials can be found in the files of Richard D. Parsons, the Associate Director of Justice, Crime, Civil Rights and Communications for the Domestic Council. These files contain records of Parson’s contributions to the formulation of domestic policy in the areas of affirmative action, busing, civil rights, American Indians, Puerto-Rican Americans, sex discrimination and voting rights.

The Scrapbooks and Speeches of Attorney General Edward H. Levi and the papers of Edward Hutchinson concern topics such as busing, electronic surveillance, voting rights, and affirmative action. White House Central Files Subject File category HU (Human Rights) contains materials pertaining to such topics as equality, education, employment, housing, voting, and women’s rights.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File, (1967) 1970-1973 (1976).  (Boxes 1-28, 11.2 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, agendas, notes, speech materials, staff meeting minutes, interviews, transcripts, and court records. These materials document Pottinger’s work as Director of HEW’s Office of Civil Rights (OCR). Most concerns the desegregation of local school districts and higher education systems throughout the country, the Emergency School Assistance Program (ESAP), sex discrimination, and the administration of the OCR.

Arranged sequentially by file numbers assigned by his staff with unnumbered folders at the beginning of the sequence.

View container list for this series

Martin Gerry’s Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File, (1970) 1973-1975.  (Boxes 29-32, 1.6 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, statistics, internship applications, copies and transcripts of speeches and testimonies given by Martin Gerry and Peter Holmes. Gerry served as Deputy Director of HEW’s Office of Civil Rights and Holmes was his boss. These materials appear to be only a fragment of what was once a larger sequence as the folders only cover the letters S-W. The surviving materials focus less on the civil rights issues of the times, and more on the administration of the Office of Civil Rights (management, training, interns, team building.)

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Department of Justice Subject File, (1967) 1973-1977 (1979).  (Boxes 33-114, 32.8 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, drafts of letters and speeches, reports, agendas, notes, telegrams, press clippings, court record documents, transcripts of hearings, speeches, and press releases. This series documents Pottinger’s work as Assistant Attorney General in charge of the Civil Rights Division. Topics include Wounded Knee, Spanish Speaking Americans Task Force, Kent State, sex discrimination, busing, and voting rights.

Arranged sequentially by file numbers assigned by Pottinger’s staff.

View container list for this series

Department of Justice Speech File, 1973-1977.  (Boxes 115-122, 3.2 linear feet)
Notes, memoranda, speech drafts, speech and interview transcripts, travel itinerary, photographs, phone logs, clippings, press releases, agendas, and correspondence. Documents focus on speech writing process and circumstances surrounding numerous speeches, testimony, interviews, articles and press conferences given by Pottinger on a wide range of civil rights issues. Some speeches also appear in his Department of Justice Subject File.

Arranged chronologically by date of the speech.

View container list for this series

Department of Justice Administrative File, 1973-1980.  (Boxes 123-128, 2.4 linear feet)
Telephone logs, section management materials, press clippings and accolades. Also included are copies of a number of speeches given by Attorney General Edward Levi, as well as telephone logs dating after the end of Pottinger’s appointment as Assistant Attorney General.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Department of Justice Chronological File, 1973-1977.  (Boxes 129-133, 2.0 linear feet)
Copies of outgoing letters and memoranda written by Pottinger. Topics range from civil rights issues and cases being investigated to administrative and personal correspondence.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Federal Bureau of Investigation Chronological File, 1975-1978.  (Box 134, 0.4 linear feet)
Incoming and outgoing correspondence, memoranda, and clippings files. This series documents investigations of surveillance of radical groups and surreptitious entries made by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, especially under the Counter Intelligence Program (COINTELPRO).

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Clippings File, 1973-1977. (Boxes 135-141, 2.8 linear feet)
Newspaper clippings concerning various civil rights issues receiving media attention at the time, including sex discrimination, education, busing, the FBI Counter Intelligence Program (COINTELPRO), and CIA intelligence programs.

Arranged sequentially by file numbers assigned by Pottinger’s staff.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah
  • Civil Rights for National Origin Minorities (1)-(5)
  • "Drive Toward Equality," Change Magazine, Oct. 1972
  • Emergency School Assistance Program (1)-(2)
  • Emergency School Assistance Program (ESAP) Miscellaneous (1)-(5)

Box 2 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • Emergency School Assistance Program (ESAP) Miscellaneous (6)-(11)
  • Happy File (1)-(2)
  • Miscellaneous
  • Reimbursement
  • Report of Women's Action Program
  • School Achievement and Demographic Data by State (1)-(2)

Box 3 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • School Achievement and Demographic Data by State (3)-(7)
  • School Desegregation (1)-(4)
  • Sex Discrimination (1)-(2)

Box 4 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • Sex Discrimination (3)
  • Status of School Desegregation in the South (1)-(2)
  • Travel Folder - Receipts, etc.
  • Travel Miscellaneous
  • Travel Orders
  • Travel Vouchers - Fiscal Year 1970
  • Travel Vouchers - Fiscal Year 1971
  • Travel Vouchers - Fiscal Year 1972 (1)-(2)
  • Travel Vouchers - Fiscal Year 1973
  • Travel Vouchers - Miscellaneous, Taxis, etc
  • Travel Vouchers - To Be Paid

Box 5 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 101 - Boston - Martin Gerry's Middle School Review
  • 102 - Del Rio, Texas (San Felipe-Del Rio Independent School District), (1)-(2)
  • 102A - San Felipe-Del Rio, Texas - Jose Cardenas Testimony
  • 102B - Del Rio, Texas (San Felipe-Del Rio) (1)-(2)
  • 104 - Swann Decision - Current Office of Civil Rights District Status Report
  • 104A - Memo to Secretary - School Procedures During Pendency of Administration Bills
  • 104A - Sunday Meeting - Swann
  • 105 - San Francisco Emergency School Assistance Program (ESAP)

Box 6 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 106 - Prince George's County, Maryland (1)-(6)
  • 106A - Prince George's County, Maryland - Press
  • 106B - Prince George's County, Maryland - Emergency School Assistance Program (ESAP) I Termination
  • 106C - Prince George's County, Maryland - Current (1)-(2)
  • 107 - California Rural Legal Fund and Mexican-American Legal Defense Fund / California Welfare (1)-(3)

Box 7 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 107 - California Rural Legal Assistance and Mexican-American Legal Defense Fund / California Welfare (4)-(6)
  • 109 - Wicomico, Maryland
  • 112 - Morgan, Ed - Swann District's Status Reports
  • 115 - Office for Civil Rights History
    - Ability Grouping
    - Adams v. Richardson
    - Agenda for Secretarial Meeting
    - Archie Davis
    - Arnold Webber
    - Beaufort, South Carolina
    - Beeville Letter
    - Bossier Parrish
    - Budget Request for FY 1974
    - Cabinet Committee
    - Clippings
    - Columbia, South Carolina
    - Complaints to OCR
    - Confidential (1)-(2)
    - Corpus Christi
    - Department of Justice Free Transfers
    - Department of Justice General
    - Earle, Arkansas
    - Elimination of Discrimination in Assignment of Pupils - Classes for Mentally Retarded
    - Engagement Calendar, 1972
    - Faculty Dismissals and Demotions

Box 8 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 115 - Office of Civil Rights (OCR) History
    - Georgia Higher Education
    - Hearing Examiners
    - Higher Education Sex Discrimination Memo
    - Hunter's Point
    - INC. Fund Lawsuit
    - Info for National Education Association (NEA), National Association of Human Rights Workers (formerly NAIRO) Panel
    - Jim Clawson, T.T.D
    - Kansas City
    - Matoaca Lab
    - Meeting with Butler et. al. 12/18/1970
    - Memo from Owen Kiely
    - Minority Group Enrollment Data
    - Miscellaneous (1)-(7)
    - Monitoring Response Letters
    - Morales Memo
    - Moynihan Letter
    - National Education Association (NEA) Meeting 12/17/1970
    - North Carolina Higher Education
    - Notebook

Box 9 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 115 - Office of Civil Rights History
    - OCR Position Changes
    - OCR Priorities
    - Office of the Secretary (OS) / Executive Secretary (ES) Forms for Secretary
    - Press
    - Publications (1)-(2)
    - Ryland Kelly Letter
    - San Francisco Teacher Firings
    - School Desegregation Notebook (1)-(5)
    - Smothers
    - State Advisory Committee, ELR Notes
    - Swann and Health, Education and Welfare (HEW) Enforcement
    - Teacher Training Program
    - Texas Road Show
    - Title VI and State Agency Support
    - Tom Curtis
    - University of Oregon
    - University of Utah

Box 10 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 115 - Office of Civil Rights History - UPI Statement - Walter Mondale 2/26
    - Vocational Education Letter
    - William and Mary
  • 116 - NAACP - Comparison with Government Desegregation Results
  • 117 - Office of Civil Rights Achievements
  • 118 - Evansville, Indiana
  • 119 - Putnam, Harold
  • 121 - Justice Weekly Reports
  • 122 - Rene Cardenas
  • 123 - Freedom of Information, Office of Civil Rights Policy - Robert E. Smith (RES) Draft 08/16/1971
  • 129 - Utah University - Contract Compliance Review - Clarence Robinson
  • 130 - Swann District Reviews - Tony Miles Checklist
  • 134 - Wichita, Kansas
  • 139 - Macon County Medical Society v. Elliott L. Richardson (ELR)
  • 142 - Social and Rehabilitation Service / Office of Civil Rights (OCR) Statement of Common Understanding, 07/27/1971
  • 143 - Map to Pottinger House
  • 144 - Columbia, South Carolina (Richland School District) (1)-(3)
  • 144A - Columbia, South Carolina - Press
  • 144B - Columbia, South Carolina 1971 Plan
  • 144C - Columbia, South Carolina - Maps (1)-(3)

Box 11 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 145 - National Origin Memo - Dallas Status on Reviews, 09/10/1971
  • 146 - Uvalde, Texas (1)-(3)
  • 147 - Marion County, Florida
  • 148 - Briefing, Elliot L. Richardson
  • 149 - Gainesville, Georgia (1)-(2)
  • 150 - Mississippi Teacher Evaluation Study - Justice Referral (1)-(2)
  • 152 - Emergency School Assistance Program, Batch 3
  • 153 - Emergency School Assistance Program, Non-LEA
  • 154 - Washington Plan

Box 12 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 156 - Press Clips - Trouble Spots
  • 157 - Weekly Reports - Office of Civil Rights Staff
  • 158 - San Francisco Unified School District
  • 159 - Public Information - Press Conferences (1)-(2)
  • 162 - Sex Discrimination - Public Info
  • 166 - Emergency School Assistance Program II - Evaluation Procedures
  • 167 - Office of General Counsel - Management Study
  • 168 - Title I
  • 169 - Title IV - Consultants to Office of Civil Rights Districts
  • 170 - Boston - Bynoe Memo Supporting Non-Compliance, 09/10/1971
  • 171 - Harvard Center for Law and Education - Swann Issues (1)-(2)

Box 13 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 173 - Burger Opinion on 08/31/1971 - Winston-Salem Supreme Court Stay Refused
  • 174 - Winslow, Arizona
  • 174 - Winslow, Arizona - District #1, Navajo County (1)-(3)
  • 175 - Casa de la Raza and Black House
  • 179 - Cartoons - Busing
  • 180 - Speech and Travel Calendar - Office of the Secretary
  • 181 - Office of Civil Rights Reorganization Plan
  • 182 - Gardner - Morse Agreement
  • 183 - Teachers - Displacement and Hiring - Comparison 1968 - 1970
  • 185 - Serrano, John
  • 186 - Austin, Texas - Emergency School Assistance Program (1)-(3)
  • 187 - State of the Office of Civil Rights
  • 189 - Office of Civil Rights Staff Meeting Agenda
  • 190 - Constitutional Amendment - Busing - Wilmot R. Hastings Memo
  • 192 - Sequoia Union High School District, California
  • 193 - Tennessee Briefing Memo - Swann Status - 09/21/1971
  • 194 - Health and Social Services - Frank Weil Memo
  • 197 - Spanish-Speaking Americans Conference

Box 14 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 198 - In-School Discrimination - Poster Operation
  • 199 - San Francisco, California - Teacher Discrimination Case
  • 199 - CRLA - California Welfare - Demonstration Project
  • 200 - Higher Education - Maryland
  • 203 - Columbia University - New York, NY (1)-(9)

Box 15 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 204 - El Paso, Texas
  • 205 - Berkeley - University of California - Contract Compliance (1)-(3)
  • 206 - Speech - Mexican-American National Issues Conference 10/08/1971
  • 207 - Marland, Commissioner Sidney P.
  • 209 - Higher Education - Race Enrollment Data
  • 210 - Higher Education - General/Desegregation (1)-(4)
  • 211 - Press, South Carolina Re: President's August 5, 1971 Statement
  • 212 - Jackson, Mississippi
  • 213 - Thomas, Stan
  • 214 - Davis, Robert
  • 215 - Moore, Jonathan
  • 217 - Ability Grouping
  • 218 - Hesburgh Letter - Department of Health, Education and Welfare (HEW) Accomplishments - 10/18/1971
  • 219 - Adams v. Richardson

Box 16 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 220 - Speech - New England NAACP
  • 221 - Higher Education - Louisiana (1)-(7)
  • 225 - Mills, Max
  • 226 - Emergency School Assistance Program Office of Civil Rights (OCR ) Compliance Form
  • 207 - In-School Discrimination - General
  • 228 - Sex Discrimination ACE Meeting 01/19/1971
  • 229 - Miles Agenda (Theodore A. Miles) (1)-(2)

Box 17 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 230 - Hastings, Wilmot - Agenda
  • 231 - King, Patricia - Agenda (1)-(2)
  • 232 - Turner, Richard
  • 233 - Anti-Busing Amendment
  • 234 - Harvard University - Equal Educational Opportunity (EEO)
  • 235 - National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Legal Defense Fund
  • 237 - Boston School Review - General (1)-(6)
  • 238 - Department Regulations Nov. 1971 (45 FR Part 80)

Box 18 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 239 - National Origin Memo to Elliot L. Richardson, November 5, 1971 (1)-(4)
  • 242 - Camp David - December 1-2, 1971
  • 243 - Chicano Law Students Association
  • 240 - Goldberg Agenda
  • 275 - Berkeley, Unified School District, California (1)-(3)

Box 19 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 291 - Sex Discrimination - Alice Cook Paper, December 1971
  • 292 - Heide, Ms. Wilma Scott
  • 293 - Sex Discrimination - Philadelphia Session
  • 294 - Sex Discrimination - Affirmative Action Plans
  • 295 - Regional Directors Conference Agenda
  • 297 - Sex Discrimination - List of Women's Group Publications
  • 298 - Northern Schools - Staff Status Report
  • 299 - Memphis, Tennessee
  • 301 - Lambda
  • 305 - Operations Manual (1)-(3)
  • 307 - Revised Order No. 4
  • 308 - Columbia University - Title VI
  • 309 - Sex Discrimination - Health Manpower
  • 310 - Indian Conference - Reno
  • 312 - Affirmative Action Plan

Box 20 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 313 - Health - National Origin Minorities (1)-(3)
  • 314 - Oregon, University of
  • 315 - Speech - Elliot L. Richardson to Commonwealth Club of California
  • 317 - California Welfare Review (1)-(5)
  • 318 - Office of Civil Rights - Education Division Training Program
  • 319 -Government Accountability Office Investigation - Prince George's County, Maryland
  • 320 - Smith, Bob - Agenda
  • 322 - Richmond Decision
  • 323 - Spanish Speaking Agenda (1)-(2)

Box 21 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 324D - Harvard University
  • 324E - O. Yale Lewis, Jr.
  • 324F - Alfred Walker
  • 324G - Henry Francis David
  • 324H - Appointment Congratulations (1)-(3)
  • 324J - Paul Pottinger
  • 324K - Miscellaneous
  • 324M - Handwritten Notes
  • 324N - Clarke Reed - Chairman Mississippi Republican Party
  • 324O - San Francisco Lighthouse for the Blind
  • 324P - Al Morici
  • 325 - Boston Review - Derrick Bell Report 06/10/1966
  • 326 - Boston Review - Patterson Report (Lewenberg) 03/10/1970
  • 327 - Speech - American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Conference - December 1971

Box 22 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 328 - White House - General
  • 329 - Chicano Posters
  • 331 - National Education Association Rubin Proposal re: Teachers
  • 332 - Columbia University - Interim Affirmative Action Plan (1)-(4)
  • 333 - Palm Beach Florida
  • 334 - Pottinger Miscellaneous
  • 335 - Secretary Staff Meeting
  • 336 - Spanish Speaking Mailing List
  • 337 - Federal Register - Department of Labor - Obligations of Contractors
  • 338 - Speech Materials - Reference
  • 339 - National Education Task Force de la Raza - Annual Report 1971

Box 23 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 340 - Confidential - General (1)-(2)
  • 341 - Office Communications
  • 342 - Office of Civil Rights Regional Directors' Meeting - Washington D.C. - 02/24/1972
  • 343 - Educational Television
  • 343 - Undersecretary - Discussion Hems
  • 344 - Miscellaneous
  • 345 - Educable Mentally Retarded Draft (1)-(6)

Box 24 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 346 - Cornell University - Contract Compliance
  • 347 - Office of Civil Rights Recruitment - General
  • 348 - Community Contracts - Tape Lists
  • 348 - Tape Listings [348 A-B, D-I] - [Empty Folder]
  • 348-C - Tape Listings - Spanish American Organizations
  • 349 - Boston - Harvard Study (1)-(3)
  • 350 - Leadership Conference on Civil Rights
  • 351 - Equal Educational Opportunity Act of 1972
  • 352 - Menges - General (1)-(2)
  • 353 - Springfield, Ohio
  • 354 - Atlanta, Texas
  • 356 - Portsmouth, Virginia
  • 357 - Lynn, Larry
  • 360 - Moratorium (1)-(2)
  • 361 - Status Report - Contract Compliance

Box 25 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 363 - San Jose State, California
  • 364 - Press Clips - Pottinger (1)-(2)
  • 365 - Legal Cases
  • 366 - President's Statement 03/24/1970 - Elementary and Secondary School Desegregation
  • 367 - Richardson Agenda
  • 377 - Reassignment (1)-(7)

Box 26 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 427 - Emergency School Assistance Program (1)-(3)
  • 428 - Higher Education - Press and Public Statements (1)-(2)
  • 421 - Kahl, Michael B.
  • 430 - Chicago Teachers
  • 431 - Higher Education Guidelines - Interested Persons and Groups Notified
  • 432 - American Council on Education
  • 433 - Higher Education Advisory Committee (1)-(3)
  • 434 - Elementary and Secondary Education Act Title 1 Memo
  • 435 - Matthews, Al
  • 436 - Office of General Counsel - Inventory of Current Work

Box 27 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 437 - Higher Education - 11246 Current Compliance Status Report
  • 438 - Operational Planning System - Office of the Secretary (1)-(2)
  • 439 - Millie Morse
  • 440 - Rodriguez Case
  • 441 - ESEA Title I - Comparability Data
  • 442 - Regional Directors' Meeting - November 20-21, 1972 - Atlanta, Georgia
  • 443 - Health and Social Services Task Group
  • 444 - Higher Education Advisory Committee Agenda
  • 445 - Hart, Jeffrey
  • 446 - Canarsie
  • 447 - Henderson, Lloyd - Agenda
  • 448 - Office of Civil Rights - Enforcement Priorities Regional Offices
  • 449 - Ombudsman
  • 450 - Austin, Granville S. - Office of International Affairs
  • 451 - Office of Education: Office of the Press Secretary Equal Educational Opportunity
  • 452 - Elementary and Secondary Education Act Batch 3
  • 453 - Federal Regional Councils

Box 28 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • 454 - Adams - Enforcement Actions (1)-(4)
  • 455 - Adams v. Richardson - Justice Coordination
  • 456 - Adams v Richardson - Memo to Secretary
  • 457 - Office of Civil Rights: Management Evaluation
  • 458 - State University of New York Access Issue
  • 459 - Justice Department - Court Order Monitoring (Empty Folder)
  • 460 - Sex Discrimination - Title IX Policies
  • 461 - Staff Meeting Minutes (1)-(4)

Box 29 - Martin Gerry's Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • Secretary Management Conferences (1)-(3)
  • Speeches (Other)
  • Speeches (Secretary's) (1)-(3)
  • Speeches MHG (Martin H. Gerry) (1)-(5)

Box 30 - Martin Gerry's Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • Speeches - PEH (Peter E. Holmes) (1)-(3)
  • Statistical Information (1)-(2)
  • Summer Intern Program 1970 (1)-(5)
  • Summer Interns (1)-(3)

Box 31 - Martin Gerry's Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • Supervisor's Training Session
  • Team Building - Admin (1)-(3)
  • Technical Assistance - Personnel
  • Testimony - Martin H. Gerry
  • Testimony - Other
  • Testimony - Peter E. Holmes (1)-(3)
  • Training - Miscellaneous (1)-(3)

Box 32 - Martin Gerry's Department of Health, Education and Welfare Subject File

  • Training Session (Dallas, May 25 Memo) (1)-(3)
  • Travel Procedures
  • Weekly Activity Reports
  • Writing Workshop, Report

Box 33 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 101 - Wounded Knee (1)-(7)
  • 101 - Wounded Knee - Press Clippings (1)-(3)
  • 102 - Executive Committee - Agenda (1)-(4)

Box 34 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 103 - White House (1)-(9)

Box 35 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 104 - Alpha A
  • 104 - Alpha B (1)-(2)
  • 104 - Alpha C (1)-(2)
  • 104 - Alpha D-F
  • 104 - Alpha F
  • 104 - Alpha G
  • 104 - Alpha H
  • 104 - Alpha I-J
  • 104 - Alpha K

Box 36 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 104 - Alpha L (1)-(3)
  • 104 - Alpha M (1)-(4)
  • 104 - Alpha Mc
  • 104 - Alpha N
  • 104 - Alpha O
  • 104 - Alpha P

Box 37 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 104 - Alpha R (1)-(3)
  • 104 - Alpha S (1)-(4)
  • 104 - Alpha T-V
  • 104 - Alpha W (1)-(3)
  • 104 - Alpha X-Z

Box 38 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 106 - Botero, Beatrice
  • 108 - Rose, David L. (Agenda)
  • 109 - Deputy Attorney General Agenda (1)-(5)
  • 111 - Goals and Timetables (1)-(4)

Box 39 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 111 - Goals and Timetables (5)-(7)
  • 112 - Special File: Department of Justice Guidelines on Newsmen's Privilege (1)-(3)
  • 113 - Equal Employment Opportunity Coordinating Committee (EEOCC) (1)-(3)

Box 40 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 113 - Equal Employment Opportunity Coordinating Council (EEOCC) (4)-(10)
  • 114 - Administrative - Department of Justice / Civil Rights Division (1)-(3)

Box 41 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 114 - Administrative - Department of Justice / Civil Rights Division (4)-(12)

Box 42 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 114 - Administrative - Department of Justice / Civil Rights Division (13)-(15)
  • 118 - Edelman, Ms. Marian Wright
  • 119 - Cabinet Committee on Civil Rights
  • 120 - Spanish Speaking American Task Force (1)-(6)

Box 43 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 120 - Spanish Speaking Americans Task Force (7)-(9)
  • 121 - Kent State (1)-(7)

Box 44 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 121 - Kent State (8)-(18)

Box 45 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 121a - Kent State Press Clippings (1)-(5)
  • 121b - Kent State
  • 121c - Kent State Liaison Committee
  • 121d - Kent State - Electronics Analysts Group (1)-(2)
  • 122 - Sex Discrimination - Department of Justice Task Force (1)-(3)

Box 46 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 122 - Sex Discrimination – Department of Justice Task Force (4)-(13)

Box 47 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 122 - Sex Discrimination - Department of Justice Task Force (14)-(18)
  • 123 - Black Caucus, Civil Rights Division
  • 124 - Chicago Police Department (1)-(5)

Box 48 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 124 - Chicago Police Department (6)-(7)
  • 125 - Office of Indian Rights Part 1 (1)-(2)
  • 125 - Office of Indian Rights, Part 2 (1)-(8)

Box 49 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 126 - Criminal Section (1)-(12)

Box 50 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 126 - Criminal Section (13)-(14)
  • 126a - Obligacion, Gaudencio
  • 126b - Chavez, Cesar (1)-(3)
  • 126c - Relf Girls (1)-(3)
  • 126d - Virgin Islands
  • 126e - Pekin, Illinois
  • 126f - Chaney, Mrs. Virginia
  • 127 - Education Section, part 1 (1)-(2)

Box 51 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 127 - Education Section, part 1 (3)-(4)
  • 127 - Education Section, part 2 (1)-(3)
  • 127 - Education Section, part 3 (1)-(7)

Box 52 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 127 - Education Section, part 3 (8)-(9)
  • 127b - Lau (1)-(4)
  • 127d - Pasadena (1)-(4)

Box 53 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 127d - Pasadena (5)-(6)
  • 127e - Richmond (1)-(2)
  • 127f - Serrano and Rodriguez
  • 127g - Texas Bilingual Association Act
  • 127h - Denver
  • 128 - Employment Section (1)-(4)

Box 54 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 128 - Employment Section (5)-(13)

Box 55 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 128 - Employment Section (14)-(21)

Box 56 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 128 - Employment Section (22)-(29)
  • 128a - Employment Section Planning

Box 57 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 129 - Housing (1)-(11)

Box 58 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 129 - Housing Section (12)-(13)
  • 130 - Public Accommodations and Facilities (1)-(8)
  • 130a - Parchman

Box 59 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 131 - Appellate Section (1)-(10)

Box 60 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 131 - Appellate Section (11)-(20)

Box 61 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 131 - Appellate Section (21)-(29)
  • 132 - Federal Programs Section (1)-(3)

Box 62 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 132 - Federal Programs Section (4)-(12)

Box 63 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 132 - Federal Programs Section (13)
  • 132 - Federal Programs Section (Book)
  • 132 - Federal Programs Section Management
  • 132 - Federal Programs Section, Civil Rights Division (1)-(3)
  • 133 - Voting (1)-(2)

Box 64 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 133 - Voting (3)-(5)
  • 133 - Voting Section (1)-(7)

Box 65 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 134 - Speech and Article Material (1)-(7)
  • 136 - Willowbrook (1)-(2)
  • 137 - Laudatory Letters - Civil Rights Division
  • 138 - Dana Mead Agenda
  • 139 - Section Chiefs Agenda (1)-(2)

Box 66 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 139 - Section Chiefs Agenda (3)
  • 141 - Collinsville, Illinois (1)-(2)

Box 67 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 141 - Collinsville, Illinois (3)-(4)
  • 142 - Attorney General (Memoranda, Meetings, etc.) (1)-(9)
  • 143 - Moore, Jonathan

Box 68 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 144 - Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law (1)-(3)
  • 145 - South African Trip (Legal Aid Conference) (1)-(4)
  • 146 - U.S. Attorneys (1)-(5)

Box 69 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 146 - U.S. Attorneys (6)-(8)
  • 147 - Inspector General
  • 148 - Cabinet Committee on Opportunities for the Spanish Speaking
  • 149 - Special Prosecutor (1)-(5)
  • 150 - Front Office Operations, Civil Rights Division (1)

Box 70 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 150 - Front Office Operations, Civil Rights Division (2)
  • 151 - Planning, Civil Rights Division (1)-(3)
  • 152 - Records, Computers, and Rights of Citizens (1)-(2)
  • 153 - General Councils
  • 154 - Public Information, Department of Justice - Media Policy, Press Policy (1)-(3)
  • 155 - Mississippi, Voting Rights Act, 1976
  • 156 - Civil Rights History
  • 157 - Personnel (1)-(2)

Box 71 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 157 - Personnel (3)-(14)
  • 158 - Puerto Rico Affairs, July 1973 (1)

Box 72 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 158 - Puerto Rican Affairs, July 1973 (2)
  • 159 - Steel Industry (1)-(10)
  • 160 - Gilbert v. General Electric (1)

Box 73 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 160 - Gilbert v. General Electric (2)-(5)
  • 161 - American Civil Liberties Union (1)-(2)
  • 162 - Bunzel, John H., President, California State University, San Jose
  • 163 - Hampton, Chairman Robert E., Civil Service Commission
  • 164 - Community Relations Service
  • 165 - Busing (1)-(2)

Box 74 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 165 - Busing (3)-(11)
  • 165 - Pottinger Speech, Sigma Delta Chi "20th Anniversary of Brown Decision (Busing)" (1)-(2)

Box 75 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 166 - Busing Legislation (1)-(5)
  • 166 - Busing Legislation, 1976 (1)-(4)
  • 167 - Puerto Rico Language Bill

Box 76 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 168 - San Diego Immigration and Naturalization Service
  • 169 - Olloqui, Ambassador Jose
  • 170 - Title VII Section 707 Transfer (1)-(7)
  • 171 - Maryland State Police (1)-(3)
  • 172 - Busing Fuel Allocation
  • 173 - Holmes, Peter E. (Agenda, etc.)

Box 77 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 174 - Federal Bureau of Investigation (1)-(2)
  • 175 - HUD (Agenda, etc.)
  • 176 - Trucking Industry - Teamsters
  • 177 - Dallas Fire Department
  • 178 - National Association of Real Estate Boards
  • 179 - Parma
  • 180 - US v. State of Nevada
  • 181 - DeFunis (1)-(5)
  • 182 - Tennessee Higher Education Case (Geier v. Dunn) (1)-(2)

Box 78 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 182 - Tennessee High Education Case (Geier v. Dunn) (3)
  • 183 - Budget, Civil Rights Division (1)-(10)
  • 184 - Morales, Ricardo (San Antonio) (1)-(2)

Box 79 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 184 - Morales, Ricardo (San Antonio) (3)-(5)
  • 185 - Committee for Public Justice
  • 186 - Gossett, Henricke
  • 187 - Louisiana Higher Education (1)-(2)
  • 188 - Reorganization, Civil Rights Division (1)-(4)
  • 189 - Reorganization, Department of Justice (1)-(2)
  • 190 - New Executive Order, Title VI (1)-(2)

Box 80 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 190 - New Executive Order, Title VI (3)-(4)
  • 191 - Saluda Schools
  • 192 - Hayes, Elton
  • 193 - Texas Law Firms
  • 194 - Rosch, Thomas J.
  • 195 - Bar Examination
  • 196 - American Council on Education - Equal Employment Opportunity Task Force
  • 197 - Pommerening, Glen E., Agenda
  • 201 - Saxbe Press and Testimony
  • 202 - Southern University Baton Rouge
  • 203 - Applications and Recommendations (1)-(5)

Box 81 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 203 - Applications and Recommendations (6)-(12)
  • 204 - Detroit (1)-(4)

Box 82 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 205 - Richardson, Elliot L. (1)-(3)
  • 206 - Hesburgh, Rev. Theodore
  • 207 - Sex Discrimination (Police)
  • 208 - Civil Rights, Commission on (U.S.) (1)-(2)
  • 209 - Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (1)-(2)
  • 210 - King, Martin Luther (National Civil Rights Day)
  • 211 - Truckers' Protest
  • 212 - Public Advocates, Inc.
  • 213 - National Conference of Christians and Jews
  • 214 - Civil Rights Act (1964) 10th Anniversary
  • 215 - St. Mary's, Georgia
  • 216 - Office for Civil Rights, General

Box 83 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 217 - Kansas City Schools (1)-(2)
  • 218 - DeSoto Parish (1)-(2)
  • 219 - Caddo Parish
  • 220 - Montgomery (Alabama) Schools (1)-(5)
  • 221 - Title IX Regulations (1)-(3)

Box 84 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 221 - Title IX Regulations (4)-(12)
  • 222 - New York Voting Rights Hearing (1)-(2)

Box 85 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 222 - New York Voting Rights Hearing (3)-(5)
  • 223 - Indian Affairs, General (1)-(7)
  • 224 - Los Angeles Fire Department
  • 225 - Awards, General (1)-(2)

Box 86 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 226 - Green v. Conaly / Norwood v. Harrison (1)-(3)
  • 227 - Cowman, Hazel (FICA Taxes)
  • 228 - Massachusetts Racial Balance Law
  • 229 - Gates v. Collier (1)-(6)
  • 230 - Jackson State (1)-(2)

Box 87 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 231 - Lima State Hospital
  • 232 - Speaking Invitations, General (1)-(4)
  • 233 - Management by Objectives, General (1)-(3)
  • 233 - Management by Objectives Criminal Section
  • 233 - Management by Objectives Education Section
  • 233 - Management by Objectives Employment Section
  • 233 - Management by Objectives Federal Programs Section
  • 233 - Management by Objectives Housing Section
  • 233 - Management by Objectives Office of Indian Rights
  • 233 - Management by Objectives Office of Institutions and Facilities
  • 233 - Management by Objectives Office of Planning, Legislation and Appeals [empty]
  • 233 - Management by Objectives Voting and Public Accommodations Section

Box 88 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 234 - Civil Disturbance Committee
  • 235 - Businessweek Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) Article
  • 236 - Bell and Howell
  • 237 - School Openings 1976
  • 238 - Dayton, Ohio (Schools, etc.)
  • 239 - Whitehurst Case, Montgomery Alabama (Ira Dement)
  • 241 - Badillo, Congressman Herman
  • 242 - San Diego Police Department (Intelligence Operations)
  • 243 - Queen, Jesse H.
  • 244 - Boston Schools (1)-(5)

Box 89 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 244 - Boston Schools (6)-(16)

Box 90 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 244 – Boston Schools (17)-(25)

Box 91 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 245 - Boston Schools, Press (1)-(13)

Box 92 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 246 - Dunbaugh, Frank M.
  • 247 - Turner, James, P.
  • 248 - Midland (Texas) Independent School District
  • 249 - Garment, Leonard, Agenda
  • 250 - Buckley, Senator James L.
  • 253 - Confirmation Hearing Materials, Pottinger (1)-(3)
  • 254 - McLachlen National Bank Records
  • 257 - Travel Vouchers (1)-(5)

Box 93 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 257 - Travel Vouchers (6)-(11)
  • 259 - Bilingual Children's Television (1)-(2)
  • 262 - Taylor Suit
  • 263 - Rockefeller Service Awards
  • 264 - Monteclair, New Jersey
  • 264 - Thomas, Fred N.
  • 266 - Schulock, Alma
  • 267 - Civil Rights Records - Stan Scott

Box 94 - Department of Justice Subject File

Box 95 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 270 - Voting Rights Act (6)-(13)
  • 271 - Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (1)-(2)

Box 96 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 271 - Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (3)
  • 272 - Arizona (Voting Rights Act)
  • 273 - Memphis (Housing Authority)
  • 274 - Black Panthers (1)-(2)
  • 275 - Lonzy Oliver v. Attorney General
  • 277 - Sterilization Regulations (1)-(2)
  • 278 - Mone, James
  • 279 - New Civil Rights Jurisdiction
  • 280 - SSA / Civil Rights Division
  • 281 - National Advisory Board on Child Abuse and Neglect (1)-(4)
  • 282 - QE II (Queen Elizabeth II Ocean Liner)
  • 283 - Braden, Joan

Box 97 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 285 - Reader's Digest Article
  • 286 - Office of Special Litigation (1)-(9)

Box 98 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 286 - Office of Special Litigation (10)-(12)
  • 287 - Pennsylvania Nursing Homes
  • 288 - Los Angeles Police Department
  • 289 - Ferndale, Michigan (1)-(3)
  • 290 - Testing Guidelines - Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (1)-(2)
  • 291 - Grievance Procedure Material (1)-(4)

Box 99 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 294 - Harvard Law School, Class Reunion 1965
  • 296 - Office of Revenue Sharing (1)-(5)
  • 297 - Indianapolis Schools (1)-(5)
  • 298 - Voting Rights Act - Spanish-Speaking Americans (1)

Box 100 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 298 - Voting Rights Act - Spanish-Speaking Americans (2)
  • 299 - Arab Boycott (1)-(6)
  • 300 - Equal Rights Amendment (1)-(3)
  • 300 - Equal Rights Amendment Task Group
  • 301 - Levi, Edward H.
  • 302 - Social Service Amendments of 1974
  • 303 - Freedom of Information Act (1)

Box 101 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 303 - Freedom of Information Act (2)-(3)
  • 304 - Wallace, Governor George (Alabama, Voting Rights Act)
  • 305 - Juvenile Justice Act of 1974
  • 306 - Indianapolis Star Reporters
  • 308 - Holt Amendment
  • 309 - Dorlester, Helen
  • 310 - Attica (1)-(3)
  • 311 - Morales v. Turman (1)-(5)

Box 102 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 312 - Little, Joanne
  • 313 - Estelle
  • 314 - Freedom of Information Act Appeal of Harvey Grossman
  • 314 - Freedom of Information Act Requests (Individual) (1)-(2)
  • 316 - Coshow, Victoria
  • 317 - California Welfare Review
  • 318 - Rehr, Meleny
  • 320 - Roberts, Jewel
  • 323 - Federal Employee Discrimination
  • 324 - Cook County Jails (1)
  • 324 - Cook County Jails (2)
  • 325 - Snuff Films (1)-(2)
  • 326 - Gray, Tracy Chrysis (1)-(2)

Box 103 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 327 - Voting Rights Act Supplemental Appropriation
  • 329 - Norton, Eleanor Holmes
  • 330 - Anderson, Jack
  • 331 - Policy and Plans, Department of Justice
  • 332 - Oversight Committee (1)-(2)
  • 333 - FBI Guidelines
  • 334 - IRS Tradewinds Haven
  • 335 - Overseas Voting Rights Acts (1)-(2)
  • 336 - Columbus, Mississippi
  • 337 - Milwaukee Schools
  • 339 - Abortion Issue
  • 340 - Philadelphia Police Department
  • 341 - Law Enforcement Assistance Administration (1)-(2)
  • 342 - Wiretaps
  • 343 - Virginia State Police (1)-(2)

Box 104 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 344 - Louisville
  • 345 - Title VI Regulations (1)-(5)
  • 346 - Thomas, Bettye (1)-(2)
  • 347 - British Government - American Embassy in London (1)-(4)

Box 105 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 348 - London Trip
  • 350 - Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Consultants (1)-(2)
  • 351 - Wilmington Schools (1)-(2)
  • 352 - Dallas Schools
  • 353 - Bilingual Courts Act
  • 355 - Department of Justice Complaint Adjudication Officer (1)-(3)
  • 355 - Proposed Modifications Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Regulations
  • 356 - Von Zamft, Martin
  • 357 - Committee Re: Federal Judicial System
  • 358 - Institute of Politics, Kennedy School of Government (1)-(2)
  • 359 - Equal Employment Opportunity Civil Rights Division
  • 360 - McDonald, L.N. and Raymond L. Laird v. Santa Fe Transportation Company, et al.
  • 361 - Revenue Sharing Act, 1976 (1)

Box 106 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 361 - Revenue Sharing Act, 1976 (2)-(3)
  • 362 - Real Estate Appraisers (1)-(3)
  • 364 - Department of Justice Executive Conference, Big Meadows, Virginia (1)-(2)
  • 365 - International Women's Year (1)-(2)

Box 107 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 365 - International Women's Year (3)-(5)
  • 366 - Civil Rights Division Organization, 1976 (1)-(3)
  • 367 - Adams v. Richardson (1)-(3)

Box 108 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 367 - Adams v. Richardson (4)-(9)
  • 369 - Cleveland Desegregation
  • 370 - Urban League v. Comptroller
  • 371 - Busing Task Force
  • 372 - Al Hamlin, CSC Investigation
  • 376 - Corporation for Public Broadcasting, Public Broadcasting System (1)-(2)

Box 109 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 377 - Roman, Gilbert (1)-(4)
  • 380 - Pima College
  • 381 - Special Prosecutor Bill, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • 382 - Kennedy, John F. (Assassination)
  • 383 - Wright, April
  • 384 - San Antonio Voting
  • 385 - Office of Professional Responsibility
  • 386 - Alabama - Voting Rights Act - National Democratic Party of Alabama (NDPA)
  • 387 - Mississippi National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
  • 390 - Civil Rights Attorneys' Fees Awards Act, 1976
  • 391 - Frohnmayer, David B.
  • 392 - Omaha (Schools)

Box 110 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 393 - Office of Management and Budget Race Relations
  • 394 - Illinois Department of Corrections
  • 395 - Mary Poppins (1)-(3)
  • 397 - NASA
  • 398 - University of Miami "Iron Arrow"
  • 400 - Transition (1)-(2)
  • 404 - Puerto Rican Affairs (1)-(2)
  • 521 - Agronsky, Martin
  • 523 - Time Leadership Conference, 1976
  • 524 - Bell, Griffin B. (1)-(2)
  • 525 - Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs Guidelines

Box 111 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 526 - Sentencing Prisons (Bibliography, etc.) (1)-(3)
  • 528 - Title VII Amendment - Pregnancy
  • 529 - Exon (Horacek & United States v. Exon)
  • 531 - Fuck Up, Department of Justice
  • 533 - Los Angeles Busing Plan
  • 534 - Wilmington Ten
  • 535 - Westheimer (Texas) Independent School District
  • 536 - Holzer, Jane
  • 537 - Battered Wives (1)-(3)
  • 538 - Days, Drew Saunders III
  • 539 - Requests - Cartoons, Photographs, Books, etc.
  • 541 - Pottinger - Departure from Department of Justice

Box 112 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 542 - Lance, Mark - Libel/Slander (1)-(2)
  • 555 - Black Impact on the 1976 Elections
  • 556 - American Indian Movement (AIM) Leadership Trials
  • 559 - Pottinger Press
  • 581 - CIA (Department of Justice, Termination, Pottinger)
  • 583 - Government Accountability Office - Office of Civil Rights Report
  • 609 - Surreptitious Entries (1)-(2)
  • 635 - David v. Passman (1)-(2)
  • 645 - Bakke (Allen)
  • 646 - Equal Rights Amendmen

Box 113 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 654 - Wounded Knee (1)-(9)

Box 114 - Department of Justice Subject File

  • 654 - Wounded Knee (10)-(15)

Box 115 - Department of Justice Speech File

  • 12/1971 - American Association for the Advancement of Sciences, Philadelphia
  • 1973 - US Attorneys Regional Conferences
  • 3/20/1973 - Dayton (Ohio) Chamber of Commerce
  • 4/01/1973 - 04/5/1973 - International Multilingual Conference Proceedings
  • 4/03/1973 - Presidential Classrooms for Young Americans
  • 4/07/1973 - Annual Student Bar Association Banquet, Pepperdine University Law School
  • 4/19/1973 -, Washington Seminar program American University
  • 5/04/1973 - Keynote (Dinner) Speech, National Legal Rights Conference
  • 5/11/1973 - Presentation, U.S. Attorneys Southern Regional Conference
  • 6/15/1973 - Press Conference, Statement and Handouts
  • 6/15/1973 - General Press Conference
  • 6/21/1973 - Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law Conference
  • 7/5/1973 - Annual Meeting, School of Law Section Texas Bar Association (1)-(2)
  • 7/13/1973 - Speech and Q&A, National Federation of Temple Youth
  • 7/18/1973 - Speech and Q&A, American University Washington Summer Seminar
  • 7/19/1973 - Speech and Q&A, Department of Justice Summer Law Clerks
  • 7/25/1973 - 21st Anniversary of Puerto Rico
  • 7/31/1973 - Speech and Q&A, White House Interns
  • 8/3/1973 - Press Conference - Kent State
  • 8/13/1973 - Press Conference, Office of Indian Rights
  • 9/12/1973 - 38th Annual Michigan Bar Association Conference
  • 9/18/1973 - Interview Baltimore Sun re: Attorney General Richardson and Department of Justice

Box 116 - Department of Justice Speech File

  • 10/2/1973 - Speech and Q&A, Chicago Forum
  • 10/4/1973 - Interview with Bill Connelly, General Media Paper
  • 10/12/1973 - Commonwealth Club of California
  • 10/15/1973 - Brandeis University
  • 10/19/1973 - General Services Administration Women Employees (Federal Women's Week)
  • 11/13/1973 - Interview with Press on Kent State
  • 11/8/1973 - Department of Transportation Conference: Managing Civil Rights Programs, Washington Motel
  • 11/10/1973 - Annual Convention, National Association of Realtors
  • 11/13/1973 - Interview with Knight Newspapers, Kent State
  • 11/20/1973 - Interview W. Goodman of the New York Times (Mental Retardation)
  • 1/14/1974 - Press Conference, Maryland State Police Suit
  • 1/8/1974 - Washington Journalism Center Conference, Speech and Q&A, Watergate Hotel
  • 1/9/1974 - Interview: Victor Navasky, New York Times Article
  • 1/29/1974 - Panel Discussion, Leadership Conference on Civil Rights
  • 1/31/1974 - News Conference - Georgia Power Decree
  • 2/5/1974 - Testimony S.1724 Bilingual Courts Act, Senate Judiciary Committee
  • 2/21/1974 - News Conference - Filing of Rosewood Suit
  • 3/12/1974 - Testimony - Lau v. Nichols Ramifications
  • 3/13/1974 - Presidential Classroom for Young Americans
  • 3/14/1974 - 03/15/1974 - San Francisco, Stanford & Barristers Club Luncheon
  • 3/18/1974 - Speech & Discussion, Federal Bar Association Luncheon
  • 3/18/1974 - Testimony (H.R.) Education Rights of the Retarded
  • 3/20/1974 - News Conference - Trucking Industry Suit

Box 117 - Department of Justice Speech File

  • 3/21/1974 - National Institute of Municipal Law Offices Seminar
  • 3/22/1974 - Brown vs. Board of Education Conference & Panel Discussion
  • 3/27/1974 - Interview with David Parker, Title VII transfer, Steel Industry Case
  • 3/29/1974 - News Conference, Kent State Incident
  • 4/23/1974 - Brookings Institution Conference
  • 5/13/1974 - Public Hearing, New York City Commission on Human Rights
  • 5/15/1974 - Panel Interview, American Jewish Conference Domestic Affairs Commission
  • 5/22/1974 - Society of Professional Journalists, Sigma Delta Chi Washington Chapter
  • 5/23/1974 - Seminar of Public Policy Training Institute
  • 5/24/1974 - Telecon with S. McBee (Post) - Busing
  • 5/24/1974 - Telecon with Jules Witcover (Post) re: Busing
  • 6/1974 - "How the Civil Rights Movement Got Buried by Progress" Barrister Magazine
  • 6/4/1974 - Panel Presentation, Association of Police Chiefs
  • 6/7/1974 - National Neighbors Conference and Reception (1)-(2)
  • 6/8/1974 - NAACP Freedom Fund Dinner
  • 6/10/1974 - Lawyer's Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, Luncheon Speech
  • 6/13/1974 - Interview: Jonathan Power, London Times Review of the Administration's Civil Rights Policies
  • 6/20/1974 - Testimony on Equal Credit Bill

Box 118 - Department of Justice Speech File

  • 6/27/1974 - Interview with Mike Sachs United States Information Agency
  • 7/1/1974 - Statement on Tenth Anniversary of Civil Rights Act of 1964
  • 7/17/1974 - Robert Prince, Assistant General Counsel for Claims and Litigation Rm.
  • 8/29/1974 - Dinner Speech, U.S. Youth Conference, Dirksen SOB, 08/29/1974
  • 9/06/1974 - Federal Bar Association 1974 Annual Meeting: Speech & Discussion, Affirmative Action Programs (1)-(3)
  • 9/23/1974 - Article - 10 Years of Civil Rights
  • 9/27/1974 - Speech / Panel Participation, Congressional Black Caucus
  • 10/7/1974 - National Institute of Municipal Law Officers Annual Conference (1)-(2)
  • 10/24/1974 - TV Appearance - WHYY Philadelphia
  • 10/15/1974 - 10/18/1974 - National Conference of United States Attorneys New Orleans, Monteleone Hotel
  • 11/8/1974 - Department of Transportation Conference on Civil Rights
  • 11/14/1974 - National Association of Realtors Convention, Las Vegas (1)-(3)
  • 3/1975 - Men's Liberation (1)

Box 119 - Department of Justice Speech File

  • 3/1975 - Men's Liberation (2)-(3)
  • 3/15/1975 - Testimony on Extension of Voting Rights Act, House [Empty]
  • 7/29/1975 - Press Availability on Goals v. Quotas
  • 8/13/1975 - Labor Relations Section of the American Bar Association (ABA)
  • 8/27/1975 - Press Conference on Bilingual Guidelines under Voting Rights Act
  • 9/4/1975 - Press Briefing with Governor Dukakis & Mayor White on Boston
  • 9/8/1975 - Interview with NBC re: Boston and Louisville
  • 9/9/1975 - News Briefing held by Local Government and School Officials & Pottinger in Boston
  • 10/1/1975 - Draft Comments to Washington Journalism Conference
  • 10/7/1975 - Conference for Journalists
  • 10/9/1975 - Testimony on Civil Rights Aspects of Revenue, Subcommittee on Civil & Constitutional Rights, House Judiciary Committee
  • 10/11/1975 - National Association for Puerto Rican Civil Rights
  • 10/14/1975 - Interview, Beau Cutts, Atlanta Constitution
  • 10/14/1975 - Interview with Barbara Palmer of the Washington Star-News
  • 10/17/1975 - Interview with John Goscko Washington Post
  • 10/17/1975 - LULAC Supreme Council Meeting
  • 10/21/1975 - National Association for Retarded Citizens Annual Convention (1)-(2)
  • 10/23/1975 - Testimony on Bilingual Court Proceedings
  • 10/29/1975 - Panel Participation, Voice of America, American Issues Forum
  • 11/7/1975 - Milwaukee Teachers Education Association
  • 11/12/1975 - Statement Title VI Coordination

Box 120 - Department of Justice Speech File

  • 2/19/1976 - Press Conference re: Fairfax Break-in
  • 2/29/1976 - Race Relations Day, Memphis, Tennessee
  • 3/12/1976 - Testimony, Senate Banking Committee on Fair Lending
  • 4/16/1976 - Press Briefing on Real Estate
  • 4/27/1976-06/24/1976 - Day Book
  • 4/29/1976 - Transcript of Press Conference re: Martin Luther King
  • 5/13/1976 - American Psychiatric Association Annual Meeting
  • 5/20/1976 - Affirmative Action Seminar, Ohio State University
  • 5/26/1976 - Cincinnati - Dayton Bar Labor System (1)-(2)
  • 5/26/1976 - Rotary Club of Kettering, Ohio
  • 5/28/1976 - Interviews with Pat Mitchell of WBTZ TV
  • 6/24/1976 - Press Statement on Proposed School Desegregation Standards and Assistance Act
  • 6/28/1976 - National Association of Counties
  • 7/2/1976 - Press Briefing on Presidential Directive to Department of Justice re: Sex Discrimination Task Force
  • 7/10/1976 - Speech & Panel Participation FBI National Executive Institute
  • 7/15/1976 - Presidential Classroom for Young Americans
  • 7/30/1976 - Press Briefing on Title VI Regulations
  • 8/9/1976 - Testimony, House of Representatives Subcommittee on Communications on Equal Opportunity in Public Broadcasting
  • 8/12/1976 - Statement to Federal Reserve Board re: Proposed Amendment to Regulation B Equal Credit Opportunity Act
  • 8/20/1976 - Interview, by Tim Shellhardt, Wall Street Journal, on Sex Discrimination Task Force

Box 121 - Department of Justice Speech File

  • 8/24/1976 - Ohio District of Kiwanis International
  • 9/8/1976 - US Customs Service Seminar, Luncheon
  • 11/5/1976 - American Bar Association National Institute on the Law of Equal Educational Opportunity & Discrimination in Institutions of Higher Education, Shoreham (1)-(2)
  • 1/28/1977 - Interview with Cox Broadcasting [Partial Label]
  • 2/25/1977 - Farewell Comments to the Civil Rights Division
  • 4/28/1977 - Affirmative Action Symposium
  • 4/29/1977 - Social Indicators & Civil Rights
  • 5/1977 - Center for Applied Linguistics
  • 6/2/1977 - Civil Rights Seminar: Anderson Publishing Co., Cincinnati, Ohio (Jack Ruzicho)
  • 6/7/1977 - Americans and their government
  • 6/20/1977 - "Murky Busing Policy" article
  • 8/22/1977 - Bell Letter
  • 10/2/1977 - Joint Speech w/ GMS (Gloria Steinem) California Dental Association, San Francisco
  • 10/3/1977 - Joint Speech with Gloria Steinem, College of Marin

Box 122 - Department of Justice Speech File

  • 10/7/1977 - Association of General Counsels, Washington, D.C. 10/07/1977
  • 10/22/1977 - National Savings and Loan League
  • 111/21-22/1977 - Seventh Annual Conference on Leadership in Special Ed
  • 1/25/1978 - National Society of Professional Engineers
  • 2/16/1978 - Midwestern University, Wichita Falls, Texas, Joint Speech
  • 3/1978 - Brookings Institute Williamsburg
  • 4/1978 - Speech
  • 5/1978 - Political - Ripon Speech
  • 8/10/1978 - Brigham Young University, Law and Education Conference
  • 7/27/1979 - Panel Discussion (Bakke), Virginia Bar Association, The Greenbrier
  • 11/14/1979 - Seminar for Japanese Corporations, Palm Springs (1)-(5)
  • 11/14/1979 - Japan External Trade Organization

Box 123 - Department of Justice Administrative File

  • Department of Justice Section Management Meetings
    - Administrative Section R
    - Criminal Section R
    - Education Section
    - Employment Section R
    - General Memoranda R (1)-(2)
    - Housing Section R
    - Institutions & Facilities Unit
    - Planning Legislation & Appeals Units R
    - Section Chief Meetings
    - Title VI Section R
    - Voting & Public Accommodations Section R
  • Grace Ibanez Reimbursements (1)-(2)

Box 124 - Department of Justice Administrative File

  • Happy File - 03/1973 - 12/1974 (1)-(4)
  • Happy File - 01/1978 - 02/1978 (1)-(4)
  • Levi, Edward - Speeches (1)-(3)

Box 125 - Department of Justice Administrative File

  • Levi, Edward - Speeches (4)
  • Misc. Photographs 1970 - 1976
  • Phone Log - 02/1973 - 09/1974 (1)-(6)

Box 126 - Department of Justice Administrative File

  • Phone Log - 09/1974 - 12/1975 (7)-(13)

Box 127 - Department of Justice Administrative File

  • Phone Log - 03/1976 - 01/1977 (14)-(18)
  • Spanish American Task Force Memoranda (original black binder) (1)-(2)
  • Telephone Log - November - December 1979
  • Telephone Log - January 1980
  • Telephone Log - February 1980
  • Telephone Log - March 1980

Box 128 - Department of Justice Administrative File

  • Telephone Log - April 1980 (1)-(2)
  • Telephone Log - May 1980
  • Telephone Log - June 1980
  • Telephone Logs - July 1980
  • Telephone Log - August 1980
  • Telephone Log - September 1980
  • Telephone Log - October 1980
  • Telephone Log - November 1980 - December 1980 [empty]

Box 129 - Department of Justice Chronological File

  • April 1973 - October 1973

Box 130 - Department of Justice Chronological File

  • November 1973 - September 1974

Box 131 - Department of Justice Chronological File

  • October 1974 - August 1975

Box 132 - Department of Justice Chronological File

  • September 1975 - April 1976

Box 133 - Department of Justice Chronological File

  • May 1976 - February 1977

Box 134 - Federal Bureau of Investigation Chronological File

  • 1975 - November 1978

Box 135 - Clippings File

  • Miscellaneous Clippings
  • Pottinger Newsclips (1)-(3)
  • Civil Rights - General (Newsclips) (1)-(5)
  • 002 - Newsclips - Criminal, Misc. (1)-(3)

Box 136 - Clippings File

  • 003 - Joanne Little Trial
  • 004 - John F. Kennedy Assassination (newsclippings) (1)-(2)
  • 005 - Martin Luther King Assassination (1)-(2)
  • 006 - Ku Klux Klan (Newsclippings)
  • 007 - Prince Georges Country Police Brutality Matters (newsclippings)
  • 009 - CIA Newsclips - Chicago Tribune
  • 009 - CIA Newsclips - Los Angeles Times
  • 009 - CIA Newsclips - New York Times (1)-(3)
  • 009 - CIA Newsclips - United Press International (UPI)
  • 009 - CIA Newsclips - Washington Post (1)-(3)
  • 009 - CIA Newsclips - Wall Street Journal

Box 137 - Clippings File

  • 009 - CIA Newsclips - Washington Star
  • 010 - FBI General (Newsclippings (1)-(2)
  • 011 - FBI - Counter Intelligence Program (COINTELPRO) (1)-(4)
  • 012 - FBI Informants (newsclippings)
  • 013 - FBI Wiretaps (news clippings)
  • 014 - FBI Guidelines (Newsclippings)
  • 015 - Department of Justice / Equal Employment Opportunity (newsclippings)
  • 016 - Newsclips - Employment, Misc, (1)-(4)

Box 138 - Clippings File

  • 016 - Newsclips - Employment, Misc.
  • 017 - Probe of Marshal's Service
  • 018 - Arab Boycott (newsclips)
  • 019 - Chicago Police Department Case (news clippings)
  • 020 - Sex Discrimination - General (newsclippings) (1)-(2)
  • 021 - Sex Discrimination - Employment (1)-(2)
  • 022 - Sex Discrimination - Education (newsclippings)
  • 023 - Sex Discrimination - Housing
  • 024 - Equal Rights Amendment (news clippings)
  • 025 - Education: General (news clippings) (1)-(4)

Box 139 - Clippings File

  • 026 - Education: Busing (newsclippings) (1)-(5)
  • 027 - Education - Faculty Discrimination
  • 028 - Education, Higher Education (1)-(2)
  • 029 - Newsclips, 20th Anniversary of Brown Decision (1)-(3)
  • 030 - Detroit Schools
  • 031 - Wilmington, Delaware Schools
  • 032 - Dallas Schools
  • 033 - Milwaukee School Desegregation

Box 140 - Clippings File

  • 034 - Cleveland Schools
  • 035 - Louisville Desegregation Cases and Disturbances (1)-(2)
  • 036 - Newsclips - Federal Programs
  • 037 - Newsclips - Housing (1)-(2)
  • 038 - Newsclips - Prisons (1)-(2)
  • 039 - Newsclips - Public Accommodations
  • 040 - Newsclips - Voting (1)-(3)
  • 041 - Newsclips - Mentally Retarded (1)-(2)
  • 042 - Newsclips - Willowbrook

Box 141 - Clippings File

  • 043 - Newsclips - Indians (1)-(2)
  • 044 - Newsclips - Spanish-Speaking Americans (SSAs)
  • 045 - Newsclips - Asian Americans
  • 046 - Newsclips - Privacy
  • 047 - Newsclips - Bar Exam Discrimination
  • 048 - Pottinger Clippings 1973
  • 049 - Pottinger Newsclips 1974 (1)-(2)
  • 050 - Attorney General Levi
  • 051 - Newsclips - Attorney General William Saxbe
  • 052 - Newsclips re: Attorney General Eliot Richardson
  • 053 - Newsclips - Department of Justice, General
  • 054 - Newsclips - Political (Misc.)