COLLECTION FINDING AID
PAUL O'NEILL PAPERS, 1975-77
Deputy Director, Office of Management and Budget
Included are O'Neill's copies of his outgoing correspondence, arranged by date, with President Ford and his staff; Members of Congress; Executive branch officials; state and local government officials; and others.
2.6 linear feet (ca. 5100 pages)
Paul H. O'Neill (accession number 91-57)
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of Mr. O'Neill's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
Paul O'Neill donated to the United States of America his copyright interest in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives Collections. The copyright interest to materials written by other individuals or organizations is presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by Kenneth G. Hafeli, October 1992
[s:\bin\findaid\o'neill, paul - papers.doc]
Paul H. O'Neill
December 4, 1935 - Born, St. Louis, Missouri
1960 - A.B., Fresno State College
1960-61 - Claremont Graduate School
1962-65 - Post-graduate Studies, George Washington University
1966 - M.P.A., Indiana University
1961-66 - Systems Analyst, Veterans Administration
1967-69 - Budget Examiner, Bureau of the Budget
1969-70 - Chief, Human Resources Program Division, Office of Management and Budget
1971-72 - Assistant Director, Office of Management and Budget
1973-74 - Associate Director, Office of Management and Budget
1975-77 - Deputy Director, Office of Management and Budget
1977-81 - Vice President, International Paper Company
1981-85 - Senior Vice President, International Paper Company
1985-87 - President, Director, International Paper Company
1987-2000 - Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, Aluminum Company of America
1995-? - Chairman, RAND Corporation
1997-2000, 2003-2006 - Director, Eastman Kodak Company
2001-2002 - United States Secretary of the Treasury, Bush Administration
2004-2008 - Director, Nalco Holding Co.
2004-- Director, Celanese Chemicals, Inc.
The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) was established in July 1970. The Office's primary responsibility was to assist the President in preparing the budget and to keep the President informed on the progress of government agencies with respect to legislation proposed, and projects initiated or completed. OMB also provided coordination so that overlapping legislation was reviewed by all Federal organizations potentially affected.
Paul O'Neill joined OMB during the Nixon administration and served as Assistant Director, then Associate Director. There are no Nixon-era papers in the collection, however. As Deputy Director during the Ford administration, O'Neill assisted OMB Director Roy Ash and Ash's successor, James T. Lynn. O'Neill often represented them in meetings with the President, and he frequently signed outgoing correspondence as Acting Director.
The collection is a chronologically arranged file of O'Neill's outgoing correspondence with the President and his staff; Federal agency officials; state governors and civic leaders; and federal and state legislators. The materials range from courtesy notes and summaries of annual reports of Presidential advisory bodies, to substantive comments on particular programs, proposals, and budget concerns.
Selected budget-related Ford Library materials include White House Central Files Subject File categories FG 6-16 (Office of Management and Budget) and FI-4 (Federal Budget-Appropiations); budget review files in the White House Special Files Unit, the Files and Papers of James M. Cannon, and the Papers of Arthur F. Quern. See also the Hyde-Wayne interview collection. Several collections offer outstanding material on economic issues, presumably including the budget, e.g. Arthur Burns Papers, L. William Seidman Files; William Simon microfiche; and U.S. Council of Economic Advisers Records.
Outgoing Correspondence, 1975-1977. (Boxes 1-7, 2.1 linear feet)
Included is O'Neill's outgoing letters and memorandums to the heads of government departments and agencies regarding preparation of their annual budgets and agency appropriations and reapportionments; to members of the Federal Regional Councils; to Congress concerning legislation; and to state and local officials addressing federal projects in their area. There are also reports to the President on the activities of presidential advisory councils and commissions.
Arranged by date.
View container list for this series
Box 1 - Chronological File
Box 2 - Chronological File
Box 3 - Chronological File
Box 4 - Chronological File
- January 1 - March 12, 1976
Box 5 - Chronological File
Box 6 - Chronological File
- June 15, 1976 - October 31, 1976
Box 7 - Chronological File
- November 1, 1976 - January 1977