COLLECTION FINDING AID



NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISOR.

NSC EUROPE, CANADA, AND OCEAN AFFAIRS STAFF FILES, 1974-77



SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials of A. Denis Clift and his staff concerning U.S relations with and events in specific countries in Europe and Canada, trips there by American officials, visits to the U.S. by European and Canadian leaders, and ocean policy.

QUANTITY
 30.8 linear feet (ca. 61,600 pages)

DONOR
 Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-118)

ACCESS
 Open, but some materials continue to be national security restricted. Access is governed by the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, and National Archives and Records Administration regulations (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
 Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Geir Gundersen, June 2012
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\nsc europe, canada, and ocean affairs staff.doc]

INTRODUCTION

The “NSC Europe, Canada, and Ocean Affairs Staff Files” is a sub-collection of the National Security Adviser Files. The provenance of the Ford Library’s National Security Adviser Files is described in Appendix A.

The NSC Europe, Canada, and Ocean Affairs staff provided foreign policy support to the President, Vice President, and National Security Adviser on bilateral and multilateral relations in the region. This included, for example, the preparation of briefing materials, talking papers, schedule proposals, Qs and As, and courtesy messages. The staff also served as points of contact for the Legislative branch, American businesses, inter-American organizations, and the general public. It often assisted with Congressional and constituent services.

The NSC Europe, Canada, and Ocean Affairs staff was headed by NSC Senior Staff Member A. Denis Clift. Clift joined the NSC in 1971 and carried over from the Nixon administration when Gerald Ford became President in August 1974. Other staff members included Gerry Flynn and Robert Gates.

Scope and Content of the Materials
The collection is comprised of four series. The materials tend to duplicate materials found in other collections (such as those listed under Related Materials), but some of the internal memoranda and supporting materials used in creating final versions of documents prepared for the President and Vice President may be found only here.

The Country File contains strong materials on US diplomatic and economic relations with the Soviet Union, Canada, France, Great Britain, Greece, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Romania, and Spain, as well as the conflict between Greece and Turkey over Cyprus.

The General Subject File contains materials on a variety of topics including the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, Eastern Europe, the European Community, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, trade, energy, and ocean policy.

The Trip File contains material on trips made by President Gerald Ford to the Vladivostok Summit, the NATO Summit, West Germany, Poland, Romania, Yugoslavia, and the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe.

The Visits File contains material for head of state and other visits from leaders of Austria, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Great Britain, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Turkey, West Germany, and Yugoslavia.

Related Materials (June 2012)
The most closely related materials are in the National Security Adviser’s Presidential Country Files for Europe and Canada, Trip Briefing Books and Cables of President Ford, Presidential Briefing Materials for VIP Visits, Presidential Correspondence with Foreign Leaders, Kissinger-Scowcroft West Wing Office Files, Kissinger Reports to the President on USSR, China, and Middle East Discussions, Trip Briefing Books and Cables of Henry Kissinger, and U.S. National Security Council Institutional Files. Several categories of the White House Central Files Subject File, especially “CO-Countries” files, also contain related materials. Researchers can identify the file locations of additional materials relating to Europe, Canada, and ocean policy from PRESNET search reports, which are available upon request.

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Country File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1-41, 16.4 linear feet)
Memorandums, memorandums of conversations, briefing papers, reports, cables, and correspondence on U.S. diplomatic relations with countries of Eastern and Western Europe, in particular Cyprus, France, Great Britain, Greece, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Romania, the Soviet Union, Spain, and Turkey, as well as Canada. Substantive topics include arms control, East-West relations, energy, foreign aid, military assistance, military bases, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, trade, the Turkish arms embargo, and policy and security interests in the region.

Arranged alphabetically by name of country.

View container list for this series

General Subject File, 1974-77. (Boxes 42-67, 10.4 linear feet)
Memorandums, memorandums of conversations, briefing papers, and correspondence on a variety of topics including the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, Eastern Europe, East-West trade, energy, the European Community, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, military exercises, SALT, Law of the Sea, Two-Hundred-Mile Limit, deep seabed mining, Svalbard, Berlin, U.S. policy and security objectives in the region, and U.S. bilateral relations with many countries in the region.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Ford Trips File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 68-70, 1.2 linear feet)
Memorandums, memorandums of conversations, briefing papers, reports, cables, correspondence, press releases, biographies, and newspaper clippings regarding trips by President Gerald Ford. Included are Ford’s 1974 trip to the Vladivostok Summit and his 1975 trips to the NATO Summit, West Germany, Poland, Romania, Yugoslavia, and the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe. The materials address U.S. bilateral relations with each country and multilateral issues within the region.

Arranged chronologically by date of trip.

View container list for this series

Visits by Foreign Leaders File, 1974-77. (Boxes 71-77, 2.8 linear feet)
Memorandums, memorandums of conversations, briefing papers, reports, cables, correspondence, press releases, and biographies for head of state visits from Italy, Poland, Austria, Canada, West Germany, Yugoslavia, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, France, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, and Finland. Also included are materials on a visit by Soviet Foreign Minister Gromyko and an unofficial visit by Queen Margrethe II of Denmark. The materials address U.S. bilateral relations with each country and multilateral issues within the region.

Arranged chronologically by date of visit.

View container list for this series

CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Country File

  • Albania, 1976 ---
  • Austria, 1974 WH
  • Austria, 1974 NSC
  • Austria, 1975 WH
  • Austria, 1975 NSC
  • Austria, 1976 WH
  • Baltic States, 1974 WH
  • Baltic States, 1975 WH (1)-(5)
  • Baltic States, 1975 NSC
  • Baltic States, 1976 WH
  • Baltic States, 1976 NSC
  • Belgium, 1976 WH
  • Bulgaria, 1974 WH
  • Bulgaria, 1975 WH
  • Bulgaria, 1976 WH
  • Bulgaria, 1976 ---
  • Canada, 1974 WH (1)-(4)

Box 2 - Country File

  • Canada, 1974 NSC (1)-(7)
  • Canada, 1975 WH (1)-(5)

Box 3 - Country File

  • Canada, 1975 WH (6)-(10)
  • Canada, 1975 NSC (1)-(5)
  • Canada, 1976 WH (1)-(4)

Box 4 - Country File

  • Canada, 1976 WH (5)-(12)
  • Canada, 1976 NSC (1)-(5)

Box 5 - Country File

  • Cyprus, 1974 WH
  • Cyprus, 1974 NSC
  • Cyprus, 1975 WH (1)-(3)
  • Cyprus, 1975 NSC
  • Cyprus, 1976 WH (1)-(4)
  • Cyprus, 1976 NSC
  • Cyprus, 1976 ---
  • Cyprus - Letters, 1974 WH (1)-(2)

Box 6 - Country File

  • Cyprus - Letters, 1974 WH (3)-(5)
  • Cyprus - Letters, 1975 WH (1)-(2)
  • Czechoslovakia, 1975 WH
  • Czechoslovakia, 1975 NSC
  • Czechoslovakia, 1976 WH
  • Czechoslovakia, 1976 NSC
  • Denmark, 1974 WH
  • Denmark, 1975 WH (1)-(3)
  • Denmark, 1975 NSC
  • Denmark, 1976 WH
  • Denmark, 1976 NSC

Box 7 - Country File

  • Finland, 1973 NSC
  • Finland, 1975 WH (1)-(2)
  • Finland, 1975 NSC
  • Finland, 1976 WH
  • Finland, 1976 NSC
  • France, 1974 WH (1)-(3)
  • France, 1974 NSC
  • France, 1975 WH (1)-(4)

Box 8 - Country File

  • France, 1975 WH (5)-(6)
  • France, 1975 NSC
  • France, 1976 WH (1)-(4)
  • France, 1976 (1)-(2) NSC
  • France, 1977 WH
  • France - Concorde, 1975 ---
  • France - Nuclear, 1976 ---
  • Germany (FRG), 1974 WH (1)-(2)
  • Greece, 1974 WH (1)-(2)
  • Greece, 1974 NSC

Box 9 - Country File

  • Greece, 1974 (1)-(5) ---
  • Greece, 1975 WH (1)-(8)
  • Greece, 1975 NSC (1)-(2)
  • Greece, 1976 WH (1)-(2)

Box 10 - Country File

  • Greece, 1976 WH (3)-(10)
  • Greece, 1976 NSC
  • Greece - Base Negotiations, 1975 WH (1)-(3)
  • Greece - Base Negotiations, 1976 WH

Box 11- Country File

  • Hungary, 1974 WH
  • Hungary, 1975 WH (1)-(2)
  • Hungary, 1976 WH (1)-(3)
  • Hungary, 1976 NSC
  • Hungary, 1977 WH
  • Iceland, 1974 WH
  • Iceland, 1974 NSC
  • Iceland, 1975 WH (1)-(3)
  • Iceland, 1975 NSC
  • Iceland, 1976 WH
  • Iceland, 1976 NSC

Box 12 - Country File

  • Ireland, 1974 NSC
  • Ireland, 1975 WH (1)-(4)
  • Ireland, 1976 WH (1)-(6)
  • Ireland, 1976 NSC
  • Ireland, 1976 ---
  • Italy, 1974 WH
  • Italy, 1974 NSC

Box 13 - Country File

  • Italy, 1975 WH (1)-(8)
  • Italy, 1975 NSC (1)-(2)
  • Italy, 1976 WH (1)-(5)

Box 14 - Country File

  • Italy, 1976 WH (6)-(11)
  • Italy, 1976 NSC (1)-(6)

Box 15 - Country File

  • Italy, 1976 (1)-(2) ---
  • Liechtenstein, 1976 WH
  • Luxembourg, 1975 WH
  • Luxembourg, 1975 NSC
  • Luxembourg, 1976 WH
  • Luxembourg, 1976 NSC
  • Netherlands, 1974 WH
  • Netherlands, 1974 NSC
  • Netherlands, 1975 WH (1)-(2)
  • Netherlands, 1975 NSC
  • Netherlands, 1976 WH (1)-(2)
  • Norway, 1975 WH (1)-(3)
  • Norway, 1976 WH (1)-(2)
  • Norway, 1976 NSC

Box 16 - Country File

  • Poland, 1974 WH (1)-(2)
  • Poland, 1974 NSC
  • Poland, 1975 WH (1)-(2)
  • Poland, 1975 NSC
  • Poland, 1976 WH (1)-(5)
  • Poland, 1976 NSC (1)-(3)

Box 17 - Country File

  • Portugal, 1974 WH (1)-(3)
  • Portugal, 1974 NSC (1)-(2)
  • Portugal, 1975 WH (1)-(10)

Box 18 - Country File

  • Portugal, 1975 WH (11)-(16)
  • Portugal, 1975 NSC (1)-(6)
  • Portugal, 1976 WH (1)-(3)

Box 19 - Country File

  • Portugal, 1976 WH (4)-(10)
  • Portugal, 1976 NSC (1)-(7)

Box 20 - Country File

  • Romania, 1974 WH (1)-(2)
  • Romania, 1975 WH (1)-(10)
  • Romania, 1976 WH (1)-(2)

Box 21 - Country File

  • Romania, 1976 WH (3)-(4)
  • Romania, 1976 NSC (1)-(2)
  • Romania, 1976 ---
  • Spain, 1974 WH (1)-(2)
  • Spain, 1974 NSC
  • Spain, 1975 WH (1)-(4)

Box 22 - Country File

  • Spain, 1975 WH (5)-(7)
  • Spain, 1975 NSC
  • Spain, 1976WH (1)-(7)

Box 23 - Country File

  • Spain, 1976 NSC (1)-(4)
  • Spain, 1977 NSC
  • Spain - Spanish Bases Negotiations, 1975 (1)-(3) ---
  • Sweden, 1974 WH
  • Sweden, 1975 WH
  • Sweden, 1976 WH (1)-(3)
  • Sweden, 1976 NSC
  • Switzerland, 1975 WH
  • Switzerland, 1976 WH

Box 24 - Country File

  • Turkey, 1974 WH (1)-(2)
  • Turkey, 1975 WH (1)-(11)

Box 25 - Country File

  • Turkey, 1975 WH (12)-(23)

Box 26 - Country File

  • Turkey, 1975 WH (24)-(28)
  • Turkey, 1975 NSC (1)-(4)
  • Turkey, 1976 WH (1)-(3)

Box 27 - Country File

  • Turkey, 1976 WH (4)-(12)
  • Turkey, 1976 NSC (1)-(3)

Box 28 - Country File

  • USSR, 1969 WH
  • USSR, 1974 WH (1)-(4)
  • USSR, 1974 NSC (1)-(2)
  • USSR, 1975 WH (1)-(6)

Box 29 - Country File

  • USSR, 1975 WH (7)-(18)

Box 30 - Country File

  • USSR, 1975 WH (19)-(24)
  • USSR, 1975 NSC (1)-(4)
  • USSR, 1976 WH (1)-(2)

Box 31 - Country File

  • USSR, 1976 WH (3)-(15)

Box 32 - Country File

  • USSR, 1976 WH (16)-(19)
  • USSR, 1976 NSC
  • USSR - Bilaterals, 1975 WH (1)-(5)
  • USSR - Bilaterals, 1976 WH (1)-(2)

Box 33 - Country File

  • USSR - Bilaterals, 1976 WH (3)-(7)
  • USSR - Bilaterals, 1977 WH
  • USSR - Incidents at Sea, 1975 WH
  • USSR - Incidents at Sea, 1975 NSC
  • USSR - Incidents at Sea, 1976 WH (1)-(2)
  • USSR - Maritime, 1975 WH
  • USSR - Maritime, 1975 NSC
  • USSR - Maritime, 1976 WH (1)-(3)
  • USSR - Maritime, 1976 NSC

Box 34 - Country File

  • USSR - Siberian Development, 1974 WH
  • USSR - Siberian Development, 1975 WH (1)-(4)
  • USSR - Siberian Development, 1976 WH
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration, 1974 WH (1)-(3)
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration, 1975 WH (1)-(3)

Box 35 - Country File

  • USSR - Soviet Emigration, 1975 WH (4)-(12)
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration, 1976 WH (1)-(4)

Box 36 - Country File

  • USSR - Soviet Emigration, 1976 WH (5)-(12)
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration, 1976 NSC
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration - Kudirka, Simas, 1974 WH
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration - Kudirka, Simas, 1975 WH
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration - Kudirka, Simas, 1976 WH
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration - Moroz, Valentyn, 1974 WH
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration - Moroz, Valentyn, 1975 WH (1)-(2)
  • USSR - Soviet Emigration - Moroz, Valentyn, 1976 WH

Box 37 - Country File

  • USSR - Soviet Jewry, 1974 WH
  • USSR - Soviet Jewry, 1975 WH (1)-(3)
  • USSR - Soviet Jewry, 1975 NSC
  • USSR - Soviet Jewry, 1976 WH (1)-(2)
  • USSR - Soviet Jewry, 1976 NSC
  • USSR - Space, 1975 WH (1)-(5)
  • USSR - Space, 1976 WH
  • USSR - Trade, 1974 WH (1)-(2)
  • USSR - Trade, 1974 NSC (1)-(2)

Box 38 - Country File

  • USSR - Trade, 1975 WH (1)-(7)
  • USSR - Trade, 1975 NSC (1)-(3)
  • USSR - Trade, 1976 WH (1)-(3)

Box 39 - Country File

  • United Kingdom, 1974 WH (1)-(3)
  • United Kingdom, 1974 NSC
  • United Kingdom, 1975 WH (1)-(8)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (1)-(2)

Box 40 - Country File

  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (3)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (4)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (5)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (6)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (7)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (8)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (9)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (10)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (11)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 WH (12)
  • United Kingdom, 1976 NSC
  • United Kingdom, 1977 NSC

Box 41 - Country File

  • Vatican, 1974 WH
  • Vatican, 1975 WH (1)-(3)
  • Vatican, 1976 WH (1)-(2)
  • Vatican, 1976 NSC
  • Yugoslavia, 1975 WH (1)-(5)
  • Yugoslavia, 1976 WH (1)-(5)

Box 42 - General Subject File

  • Atlantic Relations, 1974 ---
  • Baltic-Americans, 1974 WH
  • Baltic-Americans, 1975 WH
  • Baltic-Americans, 1976 WH (1)-(3)
  • Berlin, 1975 WH
  • Berlin, 1975 NSC
  • Berlin, 1976 WH
  • Berlin, 1976 NSC
  • Bicentennial, 1975 WH (1)-(4)

Box 43 - General Subject File

  • Bicentennial, 1976 WH (1)-(8)
  • Captive Nations, 1975 WH
  • Captive Nations, 1975 NSC
  • Captive Nations, 1976 WH
  • Captive Nations, 1976 NSC
  • Concorde, 1975 WH
  • Concorde, 1976 WH
  • Concorde, 1976 NSC

Box 44 - General Subject File

  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1974 WH
  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1974 NSC
  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1975 WH (1)-(7)
  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1975 NSC (1)-(2)
  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1976 WH (1)-(4)

Box 45 - General Subject File

  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1976 WH (5)-(9)
  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1976 NSC (1)-(6)

Box 46 - General Subject File

  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1976 NSC (7)-(13)
  • Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1977 NSC

Box 47 - General Subject File

  • Eastern Europe, 1974 NSC
  • Eastern Europe, 1975 WH
  • Eastern Europe, 1975 NSC
  • Eastern Europe, 1976 WH (1)-(3)
  • Eastern Europe, 1976 NSC
  • East-West Trade, 1975 WH (1)-(2)
  • East-West Trade, 1975 NSC (1)-(3)
  • East-West Trade, 1976 NSC (1)-(2)

Box 48 - General Subject File

  • Energy, 1974 NSC (1)-(2)
  • Energy, 1975 NSC
  • Energy, 1976 WH
  • Europe, 1974 WH
  • Europe, 1975 WH
  • Europe, 1975 NSC (1)-(4)
  • Europe, 1976 WH (1)-(3)
  • Europe - General, 1974 ---
  • Europe - General, 1976 ---

Box 49 - General Subject File

  • European Community, 1974 WH
  • European Community, 1975 WH
  • European Community, 1975 ---
  • European Community, 1976 WH
  • European Community, 1976 (1)-(3) ---
  • European Community, 1977 WH
  • F-104, 1974 NSC
  • F-104, 1975 WH
  • General, 1974 WH
  • General, 1975 WH (1)-(6)

Box 50 - General Subject File

  • General, 1975 WH (7)-(21)

Box 51 - General Subject File

  • General, 1975 WH (22)-(25)
  • General, 1975 NSC
  • General, 1976 WH (1)-(13)
  • General, 1976 NSC

Box 52 - General Subject File

  • HAK European Trip, 1974 WH (1)-(7)
  • Intelligence Community Guide, 1975 NSC
  • Mutual and Balanced Force Reduction (MBFR), 1975 ---
  • Mutual and Balanced Force Reduction (MBFR), 1976 ---
  • Military Exercises, 1975 WH (1)-(6)

Box 53 - General Subject File

  • Military Exercises, 1976 WH (1)-(7)
  • National Security Study Memorandums (NSSMs), 1974 WH
  • National Security Study Memorandums (NSSMs), 1975 WH
  • National Security Study Memorandums (NSSMs), 1976 WH
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), 1975 WH (1)-(3)
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), 1975 NSC
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), 1976 WH
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) - Standardization, 1975 WH
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) - Standardization, 1976 WH (1)-(2)

Box 54 - General Subject File

  • Ocean Policy, 1974 NSC
  • Ocean Policy, 1974 ---
  • Ocean Policy, 1975 WH (1)-(8)

Box 55 - General Subject File

  • Ocean Policy, 1975 WH (9)-(21)

Box 56 - General Subject File

  • Ocean Policy, 1975 NSC (1)-(9)

Box 57 - General Subject File

  • Ocean Policy, 1976 WH (1)-(13)

Box 58 - General Subject File

  • Ocean Policy, 1976 WH (14)-(21)
  • Ocean Policy, 1976 NSC (1)-(3)

Box 59 - General Subject File

  • Ocean Policy, 1976 NSC (4)-(15)

Box 60 - General Subject File

  • Ocean Policy, 1976 NSC (16)-(27)

Box 61 - General Subject File

  • Ocean Policy, 1976 NSC (28)-(34)
  • Port Security, 1976 WH
  • Port Security, 1976 NSC
  • Presidential Qs & As, 1975 WH (1)-(7)

Box 62 - General Subject File

Box 63 - General Subject File

  • SALT, 1975 WH (1)-(2)
  • SALT, 1976 WH (1)-(4)
  • Secretary of Defense Budget Report to Congress, 1976 (1)-(6) ---
  • Security Assistance, 1975 WH
  • Security Assistance, 1975 NSC (1)-(2)

Box 64 - General Subject File

  • Security Assistance, 1976 NSC (1)-(2)
  • Senate Intelligence Committee, 1976 ---
  • State of the World Address, 1976 (1)-(4) ---
  • Svalbard, 1975 WH
  • Svalbard, 1975 NSC (1)-(2)
  • Svalbard, 1976 WH
  • Svalbard, 1976 NSC

Box 65 - General Subject File

  • Vice President - General, 1975 WH (1)-(9)
  • Vice President - General, 1976 WH (1)-(6)

Box 66 - General Subject File

  • Vice President - General, 1976 WH (7)-(22)

Box 67 - General Subject File

  • Vice President - General, 1976 WH (23)-(24)
  • Vice President - Qs & As, 1975 WH (1)-(7)
  • Vice President - Qs & As, 1976 WH (1)-(5)
  • Visits - General, 1976 WH (1)-(3)

Box 68 - Ford Trips File

  • November 1974 - Vladivostok Summit WH (1)-(4)
  • November 1974 - Vladivostok Summit - Briefing Book WH (1)-(4)
  • November 1974 - Vladivostok Summit - State Department Telegrams WH (1)-(2)
  • December 1974 - Martinique Summit WH (1)-(5)

Box 69 - Ford Trips File

  • December 1974 - Martinique Summit WH (6)-(7)
  • 1975 - European Trips - General WH
  • May-June 1975 - European Trip WH (1)-(5)
  • May-June 1975 - European Trip - North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Summit WH (1)-(5)
  • May-June 1975 - European Trip - North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Summit NSC

Box 70 - Ford Trips File

  • July-August 1975 - European Trip WH (1)-(2)
  • July-August 1975 - European Trip - Federal Republic of Germany WH
  • July-August 1975 - European Trip - Poland WH (1)-(2)
  • July-August 1975 - European Trip - Romania WH
  • July-August 1975 - European Trip - Yugoslavia WH (1)-(2)
  • July-August 1975 - Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe WH (1)-(5)
  • July-August 1975 - Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe - Talkers WH (1)-(2)

Box 71 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

  • September 1974 - Italy - President Leone WH (1)-(7)
  • October 1974 - Poland - First Secretary Gierek WH (1)-(8)

Box 72 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

  • October 1974 - Poland - First Secretary Gierek WH (9)-(14)
  • November 1974 - Austria - Chancellor Kreisky WH (1)-(4)
  • December 1974 - Canada - Prime Minister Trudeau WH (1)-(4)

Box 73 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

  • December 1974 - Canada - Prime Minister Trudeau WH (5)-(7)
  • December 1974 - Federal Republic of Germany - Chancellor Schmidt WH (1)-(6)
  • March 1975 - Yugoslavia - President Bijedic WH (1)-(5)

Box 74 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

  • May 1975 - Netherlands - Prime Minister den Uyl WH (1)-(3)
  • September 1975 - USSR - Foreign Minister Gromyko WH (1)-(2)
  • November 1975 - Luxembourg - Prime Minister Thorn WH (1)-(4)
  • May 1976 - Denmark - Queen Margrethe II WH (1)-(4)
  • May 1976 - France - President dEstaing WH

Box 75 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

  • June 1976 - Spain - King Juan Carlos I WH (1)-(6)
  • June 1976 - Turkey - Prime Minister Caramanlis (canceled) WH
  • June 1976 - Canada - Prime Minister Trudeau WH (1)-(3)
  • July 1976 - Federal Republic of Germany - Chancellor Schmidt WH (1)-(4)

Box 76 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

  • July 1976 - Federal Republic of Germany - Chancellor Schmidt WH (5)-(6)
  • July 1976 - United Kingdom - Queen Elizabeth II WH (1)-(9)

Box 77 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

  • August 1976 - Finland - President Kekkonen WH (1)-(6)
  • December 1976 - Italy - Prime Minister Andreotti WH (1)-(7)