COLLECTION FINDING AID



RON NESSEN FILES, 1974-77

Press Secretary to the President
Press Secretary's Office



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Biographical Information | Introduction | Series Descriptions | Container List

View digital copies of the Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

An incomplete set of files concerning his work as Press Secretary to President Ford. This collection includes transcripts of press briefings, case files on media interviews, correspondence with the media and an incomplete subject file. The bulk of his files can be found in a separate collection - the Ron Nessen Papers.

QUANTITY
32.4 linear feet (ca. 64,800 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77-91, 77-128, 82-48, and 83-32)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Leesa E. Tobin, August 1983
[s:\bin\findaid\nessen, ron - files.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Ronald H. Nessen


May 25, 1934 - Born, Washington, D.C.

1952-54 - Student, Shepherd College, Shepherdstown, WV and Radio Newscaster, WEPM, Martinsburg, WV

1954-59 - Part-time student, American University, Washington, D.C. (received B.A.)

1954-55 - Radio newscaster, WARL, Arlington, VA

1955-56 -Writer, Montgomery County Sentinel, Rockville, MD

1956-62 - Reporter and editor, United Press International (UPI), Washington, D.C.

1962-74 - Television news correspondent, NBC News. During this time he served as White House correspondent (1962-1965), foreign correspondent in Vietnam and other countries, and news reporter covering such topics as the 1968 election, urban affairs, and the vice presidency (1973-1974)

1974-77 - Press Secretary to the President, The White House

1977-80 - Freelance writer and lecturer

1980-84 - Senior Vice President, Marston & Rothenberg Public Affairs, Inc., Washington, D.C. and Senior Associate, Robert Marston & Associates, New York

1984- - Vice President, Mutual Broadcasting System


INTRODUCTION

Ron Nessen was appointed White House Press Secretary on September 20, 1974, replacing Jerald F. terHorst who had resigned in protest of President Ford's grant of an unconditional pardon to Richard Nixon eleven days earlier. Nessen remained as Press Secretary and head of the press office through the end of the Ford administration. Discussed below under separate headings are: organization and function of the office of the Press Secretary and the scope and content of the Nessen Files.

Organization and Function of the Office of the Press Secretary
As Press Secretary to the President from September 20, 1974 to the end of the administration, Ron Nessen served as head of the White House Press Office operation. He directed a staff of forty and was responsible for keeping informed 3,000 reporters with White House accreditation.

While the duties of the Press Secretary were many and varied, the major responsibility of everyone in the Press Office was to respond to questions from the news media relating to the President and his official actions and activities. Although the President articulated official policy and his appointees spoke on his behalf on subjects over which they had jurisdiction, the day‑to‑day news concerning the President and his policies was relayed through regular briefings for the White House press corps and responses to daily queries.

The main source for news and information from the White House was the Press Secretary's daily briefing. The briefing began with announcements concerning the President's activities and the floor was then opened for the press corps to question the Press Secretary. In addition to the regular daily briefing, special briefings were held to announce new programs or to bring before the press corps administration spokesmen on major issues.

In addition, the Press Office was responsible for arrangements needed for the news media at presidential functions where the press was in attendance. This included news conferences, formal and informal events and ceremonies, and coverage of dignitaries and officials who visited the President in his office. If there were space limitations for the press at any event involving the President, it was the responsibility of the Press Office to select a "pool" of reporters and photographers who made their reports and photos available to all. The Press Office was also responsible for preparing press releases regarding the activities of the President, such as speeches, messages, nominations, daily schedules and appointments.

Much of the Press Secretary's time was spent as an administrator. Nessen was also responsible for other divisions within the Press Office which handled specific activities. The Office of Press Advance handled arrangements for press coverage when the President traveled. Of the 3,000 accredited reporters about 100 to 150 normally traveled with the President outside Washington. The Press Advance Office was responsible for meeting their needs, as well as the needs of the news media in the communities the President visited.

The Office of Television Advisors, headed by Robert Mead, handled the arrangements for presidential radio and television appearances. This office also advised the President on the use of the television medium.

The Office of the White House Photographer, headed by David Kennerly, was attached to the press section but was transferred to the Office of the White House Operations under Donald Rumsfeld's direction in 1975.

The largest subdivision within the office of the Press Secretary was the Office of Communications. An independent entity during the Nixon administration, the Communications Office during the Ford administration handled the scheduling of media appearances by the President and administration spokesmen outside Washington, prepared the President's daily news summary, responded to requests for information from the out‑of‑town press, and maintained a close working relationship with the public affairs officers of various executive branch departments and agencies. Deputy Press Secretary Gerald Warren and Assistant Press Secretary Margita White, successively directed this office until June 1976 when the operation was reconstituted and headed by David Gergen until the end of the administration.

In addition to Nessen's responsibilities as the President's spokesman and administrator of the Press Office, he also acted as a senior editorial and communications advisor on the President's immediate staff. Nessen or one of his deputies conferred with the President regularly concerning how issues should be presented to the press to effectively promote administration policies.

Scope and Content of the Nessen Files
This inventory describes the files Ron Nessen left in the White House in 1977 to become part of Gerald Ford's presidential materials. They are called the Nessen Files. There is a separate and much larger collection known as the Nessen Papers, consisting of very closely related materials donated to the Library by Mr. Nessen in 1980.

The heart of the Nessen Files are the daily briefing transcripts, and especially case files on presidential interviews which typically include requests, background and transcripts. This "Presidential Media Interviews" series is not quite complete, however. Several presidential interviews do not appear here but are available in the Nessen Papers.

The related series "Media Requests for Interviews with the President" documents only some requests. Other requests for interviews with the President are scattered in several locations, but the majority are in the White House Central Files Subject File category Publicity ‑ News Leaks (PR 16).

Other portions of the Nessen Files include somewhat fragmentary subject and correspondence files, reference files, drafts of press releases, and transcripts of Sunday public affairs interview shows. Other related collections in the Ford Library at this writing include all of those in the Office of the Press Secretary. The audiovisual holdings of the Library also include a complete set of video tapes of President Ford's press conferences and audiotapes of Nessen's daily briefings. There is a subject indexed set of White House press releases in the White House Permanent Operating Offices.

Related Materials (August 1983)
See especially the Ron Nessen Papers, the files of members of the Press Secretary's staff, and White House Central Files Subject File category PR (Public Relations).


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1‑23, 9.2 linear feet)
Complete set of transcripts of the Press Secretary's daily briefings. Occasionally, a special additional briefing was held to announce a new program or to bring before the White House press corps an administration spokesman on a major issue. Most briefings were held in the White House press briefing room, but briefings were also held outside Washington, D.C. Briefings were conducted for the press corps by Jerald TerHorst, John Hushen and Ron Nessen. Audiotapes of the briefings are available in the Library audiovisual collection.

Briefings are numbered consecutively and arranged chronologically. An incomplete index appears in boxes 23A-23C.

View container list for this series

Presidential Press Conference Transcripts, 1974-76. (Box 24, 0.4 linear feet)
Complete set of transcripts of President Ford's press conferences. Videotapes of the press conferences are available in the Library audiovisual collection.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Presidential Media Interviews, 1974-76.  (Boxes 25‑33, 3.6 linear feet)
Case files of correspondence, memoranda, schedule proposals, briefing papers, interview transcripts, press releases, and printed materials relating to interviews that President Ford granted to media representatives. The file is fairly complete, but a few are missing - see also a file of media interviews in the Nessen Papers.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Outgoing Correspondence with the Media, 1974-76.  (Boxes 34‑35, 0.8 linear feet)
Carbon copies of outgoing correspondence with the media dated no later than July 22, 1976 and signed primarily by Ron Nessen but occasionally by John Hushen, Roland Elliott, Paul O'Neill, and the President. Correspondence generally concerns responses to invitations to speak; public opinion polls, editorials, and articles sent in by television stations, radio stations, newspapers and magazines; and requests to join press corps on presidential trips. The file does not include requests for interviews.

Arranged alphabetically by state and thereunder chronologically. A small country file of similar material follows

View container list for this series

Subject File, 1974-77. (Boxes 36‑43, 3.2 linear feet)
Memoranda, referrals, correspondence, National Security Council briefing papers, background papers and interview transcripts. Subjects include selected state visits, press corps Christmas card list, civil emergency procedures, 1976 elections, Inter-American Development Bank, economic issues, press office operations and referrals of public correspondence to appropriate government agencies. Also included are transcripts of briefings and interviews with the President, Betty Ford, Donald Rumsfeld, Henry Kissinger, James Baker and Nelson Rockefeller not released to the press at the time. Note: There are nineteen additional feet of Nessen's subject file in the Nessen Papers.

Arranged alphabetically by subject

View container list for this series

White House Staff Memoranda, 1974.  (Boxes 44‑45, 0.6 linear feet)
Copies of memoranda between Nessen and members of the White House staff outside the press office. Much of the material is administrative and concerns daily operation of the press office. Occasionally a personal memo is included. There are several memoranda to the President. Note: This file includes copies of memoranda from 1974 only. The complete set of Nessen's White House Staff Memos is part of the Nessen Papers.

Arranged by correspondent or subject, when that subject is a person.

View container list for this series

Press Office Staff Memoranda, 1974.  (Box 45, 0.2 linear feet)
Copies of memoranda between Nessen and members of the press office staff. Much of the material relates to press office operations and arrangements for briefings and trips. Also included are Nessen's notes of meetings with various staff members. Note: This file include copies of memoranda from 1974 only. The complete set of Nessen's Press Office Staff Memoranda is a part of the Nessen Papers.

Arranged by correspondent or by subject, when that subject is a person.

View container list for this series

Media Requests for Interviews with the President, 1974-76. (Boxes 46‑47, 0.8 linear feet)
Partial compilation of copies of requests for presidential interviews, and carbons of responses from Ron Nessen and Randall Woods, Deputy Director of the Office of Communications. Earliest requests date from August 1974 with the bulk dating from the spring of 1976. Requests include those from newspapers, radio and television stations and magazines. Interview requests appear to have been kept on file to be considered for acceptance during the presidential campaign in 1976. Compiled on a state-by-state basis and then again during the early primaries and the Republican Convention. For those granted see the series "Presidential Media Interviews." Originals of these requests and backup correspondence are filed in the White House Central File Subject File designation, Publicity - News Leaks (PR 16).

Arranged alphabetically by state and thereunder chronologically.

View container list for this series

Press Secretary's Chronological File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 48‑52, 1.8 linear feet)
Carbon copies of correspondence, much of it form letters, from the Press Secretary to the public. Included are letters signed by Jerald TerHorst, John W. Hushen (acting Press Secretary) and Ronald Nessen. Letters were sent in response to comments from the public concerning press conferences, the Rockefeller nomination, inquires concerning jobs, questions concerning press office operations and requests for photos. No incoming correspondence is included.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

J. William Roberts Chronological File, 1974-76.  (Box 52, 0.2 linear feet)
Correspondence and memoranda of J. William Roberts, Assistant to the Press Secretary. Incoming material is often attached to the outgoing response. Subjects include arrangements for press pools on presidential trips, invitations to speak, requests from the public for information, press coverage of state visits, complaints from members of the press corps, and personal correspondence to friends in the media.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Press Release Subject File, 1974-76. (Boxes 53‑54, 0.8 linear feet)
Copies of selected White House press releases arranged by subject. The file is not inclusive.

Arranged alphabetically by subject and thereunder chronologically.

View container list for this series

Draft Presidential News Releases, 1974-77.  (Boxes 55‑62, 3.2 linear feet)
Drafts and final copies of presidential statements, speeches, and announcements of appointments. Some of these releases were drafted by press office staff but most originated with the editorial staff and were sent to the press office to be released. Occasionally included is a speech draft which does not appear in any other White House staff office file. Also included are press pool reports sent to the press office for posting. There are a substantial number of these for President Ford's trip to Europe in July and August 1975.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Sunday Interview Show Transcripts, 1974-76.  (Boxes 63‑71, 3.6 linear feet)
Transcripts of the three major Sunday interview shows for the period of the Ford Administration. Very few transcripts for Issues and Answers, Meet the Press and Face the Nation are missing.

Transcripts are arranged by show and thereunder chronologically.

View container list for this series

Federal Statistical System Weekly Briefing Notes, 1975-76. (Boxes 72‑75, 1.6 linear feet)
Nessen's incomplete set of Weekly Briefing Notes prepared for the President and the Vice President by the Federal Statistical System measuring at regular intervals various social and economic indicators. Occasional special reports are included on such subjects as crime and criminal justice and conditions and status of minority groups in America.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Publications File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 76‑78, 2.4 linear feet)
Reports, journals, magazines and pamphlets. Incomplete sets and single issues of national publications and journals on topics of local interest. Also included are publications of radio and television stations, private industry, cities and states, professional organizations, and government departments and agencies. Some materials are filed by subject, others by title and the remainder by the name of the agency or company which published them.

Arranged alphabetically by folder title.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Please click on the titles below to access the digitized content.

Box 1 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 2 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 3 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 4 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 5 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 6 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 7 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 8 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 9 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 10 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 11 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 12 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 13 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 14 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 15 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 16 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 17 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 18 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 19 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 20 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 21 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 22 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 23 - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

Box 23A - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

  • Index to Press Secretary Briefings, A-G

Box 23B - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

  • Index to Press Secretary Briefings, H-O

Box 23C - Press Secretary's Press Briefing Transcripts

  • Index to Press Secretary Briefings, P-Z

Box 24 - Presidential Press Conference Transcripts

  • 8/74 - 10/76

Box 25 - Presidential Media Interviews

  • 10/21/74 - Saul Pett, Associated Press
  • 10/26/74 - Harry Reasoner, ABC News
  • 11/8/74 - Washington Journalists
  • 11/11/74 - "U.S. News and World Report"
  • 11/27/74 - "Newsweek"
  • 12/17/74 - Joseph Alsop
  • 12/18/74 - Network Executives
  • 12/26/74 - Helen Thomas, United Press International
  • 1/8/75 - Washington Post
  • 1/10/75 - "Time"
  • 1/16/75 - "New York Times"
  • 1/17/75 - Presentation of Membership Card, National Press Club
  • 1/23/75 - John Chancellor and Tom Brokaw, NBC News
  • 1/29/75 - Walter Cronkite, CBS News
  • 2/6/75 - "Chicago Tribune"
  • 2/7/75 - "Family Circle" Magazine
  • 2/7/75 - "U.S. News and World Report"
  • 2/14/75 - "Washington Star"
  • 3/7/75 - Association of Editorial Cartoonists
  • 3/10-15/75 - John Hersey, "New York Times"
  • 3/11/75 - "Fortune" Magazine

Box 26 - Presidential Media Interviews

  • 3/21/75 - "Los Angeles Times"
  • 3/24/75 - Hearst Newspapers
  • 4/21/75 - Walter Cronkite, CBS News
  • 5/9/75 - "Forbes"
  • 5/16/75 - Hugh Sidey, "Time"
  • 5/19/75 - "New York Daily News"
  • 5/23/75 - Foreign Correspondents
  • 5/27/75 - Roland Evans and Robert Novak
  • 6/2/75 - Egyptian Journalists
  • 6/9/75 - "L'Expresse"
  • 6/13/75 - "Dallas Times Herald"
  • 6/18/75 - "Des Moines Register"
  • 6/23/75 - Roy Rowan
  • 6/30/75 - Marquis Childs, Carl Rowan, and David Broder
  • 7/3/75 - Lou Cannon
  • 7/7/75 - Joseph Kraft
  • 7/15/75 - Hedley Donovan, "Time"
  • 7/15/75 - Jack Anderson
  • 7/21/75 - Godfrey Sperling, George Will and Bill Anderson

Box 27 - Presidential Media Interviews

  • 7/22/75 - "U.S. News and World Report"
  • 7/23/75 - "New York Times"
  • 7/24/75 - "Newsweek"
  • 8/7/75 - Paul Duke and Martin Agronsky, Public Broadcasting System
  • 8/8/75 - Wire Services
  • 8/21/75 - "Grand Rapids Press"
  • 8/25/75 - Irv Kupcinet, Irv Kupcinet Show
  • 8/25/75 - Milwaukee Anchormen
  • 8/27/75 - "Cleveland Plain Dealer"
  • 8/30/75 - WJAR-TV, Providence, RI
  • 9/5/75 - KNXT-TV, Sacramento, CA
  • 9/11/75 - Carroll Kilpatrick
  • 9/11/75 - WSCV, Peterborough, NH
  • 9/12/75 - St. Louis Journalists
  • 9/15/75 - "Chicago Sun Times"
  • 9/20/75 - KNBC-TV, Los Angeles, CA
  • 9/20/75 - "Los Angeles Times"
  • 9/22/75 - Westinghouse Broadcasting Company

Box 28 - Presidential Media Interviews

  • 9/29/75 - Peter Agris, "Hellenic Chronicle"
  • 10/1/75 - Omaha Journalists
  • 10/2/75 - "Chicago Daily News"
  • 10/7/75 - Knoxville Journalists
  • 10/14/75 - Briefing by the President on the Tax Cut Bill
  • 10/17/75 - Cox Newspapers
  • 10/30/75 - Metromedia Television Anchormen
  • 11/2/75 - Florida Media
  • 11/5/75 - Egyptian Editors
  • 11/9/75 - "Meet the Press" (1)-(2)
  • 11/13/75 - Scripps-Howard Newspapers
  • 11/20/75 - Lowell Thomas
  • 11/25/75 - WMUR-TV, Manchester, NH
  • 12/12/75 - "Time"

Box 29 - Presidential Media Interviews

  • 12/30/75 - "Washington Post"
  • 12/31/75 - Conversation with the President by Selected Newsman
  • 1/3/76 - John Chancellor and Tom Brokaw, NBC News
  • 1/12/76 - "Time"
  • 1/22/76 - New Hampshire Editors
  • 2/3/76 - Walter Cronkite, CBS News
  • 2/5/76 - "Christian Science Monitor"
  • 2/10/76 - Godfrey Sperling Breakfast Group
  • 2/11/76 - WBZ-Radio, Boston, MA
  • 2/12/76 - New Hampshire Radio Network
  • 2/18/6 - Florida Newspapers
  • 2/19/76 - New Hampshire Television Network
  • 2/20/76 - WCVB-TV, Dover, NH
  • 2/21/76 - "Boston Globe"
  • 2/24/76 - Hearst Newspapers Publishers and Editors

Box 30 - Presidential Media Interviews

  • 2/25/76 - Inland Daily Press Association
  • 2/26/76 - WTVJ, Miami, FL
  • 3/1/76 - WCKT-TV, Miami, FL
  • 3/3/76 - Florida Newspapers
  • 3/4/76 - WJXT-TV, Jacksonville, FL
  • 3/7/76 - Florida Radio Stations
  • 3/10/76 - Chicago Television Anchorman
  • 3/10/76 - "Chicago Tribune"
  • 3/12/76 - Field Newspapers Editorial Board
  • 3/17/76 - WSOC-TV, Charlotte, NC
  • 3/18/76 - North Carolina Newspapers
  • 3/19/76 - North Carolina Television Stations
  • 3/27/76 - KABC-TV, Beverly Hills, CA
  • 4/7/76 - "Nashville Banner" and Gannett Newspapers
  • 4/8/76 - "Indianapolis Star"
  • 4/10/76 - KDFW-TV, Dallas, TX
  • 4/12/76 - "Wall Street Journal"
  • 4/15/76 - WFAA-TV, Dallas, TX
  • 4/16/76 - Trude Feldman
  • 4/19/76 - Harte-Hanks Texas Newspapers

Box 31 - Presidential Media Interviews

  • 4/20/76 - Corinthian Television Stations
  • 4/21/76 - Texas Correspondents
  • 4/22/76 - Texas Radio
  • 4/22/76 - WRTV-TV, Indianapolis, IN
  • 4/22/76 - WTHR-TV, Indianapolis, IN
  • 4/26/76 - KMOL-TV, San Antonio, TX
  • 4/27/76 - Newspaper Farm Editors Association
  • 4/30/76 - Lubbock, TX Media
  • 5/1/76 - Alabama Television Anchormen
  • 5/2/76 - Mignon Smith
  • 5/2/76 - WPTA-TV, Fort Wayne, IN
  • 5/8/76 - "Kansas City Star" and "Kansas City Times"
  • 5/8/76 - "Omaha World Herald" Editors
  • 5/12/76 - "Detroit Free Press"
  • 5/12/76 - "Detroit News"
  • 5/12/76 - WXYZ-TV, Southfield, MI, Michigan
  • 5/13/76 - WNC-TV, Memphis, TN
  • 5/13/76 - WEWS-TV, Cleveland, OH
  • 5/13/76 - WCPO-TV, Cincinnati, OH
  • 5/15/76 - WKZO-TV, Kalamazoo, MI
  • 5/15/76 - Panax Newspapers
  • 5/15/76 - WJBK-TV, Detroit, MI
  • 5/15/76 - WJIM-TV, Lansing, MI
  • 5/15/76 - WILX-TV, Lansing, MI
  • 5/15/76 - Michigan Newspaper Publishers, Executives and Editors
  • 5/15/76 - WWJ-TV, Detroit, MI
  • 5/16/76 - Michigan Radio Stations
  • 5/16/76 - WEYI-TV, Saginaw, MI
  • 5/16/76 - WGN-TV, Chicago
  • 5/16/76 - WDTV-TV, Grand Rapids, MI
  • 5/16/76 - WZZM-TV, Grand Rapids, MI
  • 5/18/76 - KATV-TV, Little Rock, AR
  • 5/18/76 - KARK-TV, Little Rock, AR
  • 5/18/76 - KTHV-TV, Little Rock, AR
  • 5/20/76 - Kentucky Media
  • 5/21/76 - Tennessee Media
  • 5/22/76 - Oregon State Editorial Board
  • 5/22/76 - "Portland Journal"
  • 5/22/76 - "Portland Oregonian"
  • 5/22/76 - Oregon Radio Stations
  • 5/22/76 - KPTV-TV, Portland, OR
  • 5/22/76 - KATU-TV, Portland, OR
  • 5/22/76 - KOIN-TV, Portland, OR
  • 5/22/76 - KGW-TV, Portland, OR

Box 32 - Presidential Media Interviews

  • 5/24/76 - KOCE-TV, Anaheim, CA
  • 5/24/76 - KFMB-TV, San Diego, CA
  • 5/24/76 - KGTV-TV, San Diego, CA
  • 5/24/76 - KCST-TV, San Diego, CA
  • 5/25/76 - KNBC-TV, Los Angeles, CA
  • 5/28/76 - Newhouse Newspapers
  • 5/28/76 - Rhode Island Media
  • 6/1/76 - WKRC-TV, Cincinnati, OH
  • 6/1/76 - WJW-TV, Cleveland, OH
  • 6/1/76 - WHIO-TV, Dayton, OH
  • 6/1/76 - Washington Bureau Chiefs and Correspondents from California
  • 6/2/76 - New Jersey Media
  • 6/3/76 - Ohio Newspaper Executives
  • 6/3/76 - Associated Press
  • 6/4/76 - Editors of the "Los Angeles Times"
  • 6/4/76 - Ohio Radio Representatives
  • 6/4/76 - KFMB-TV, San Diego, CA
  • 6/6/76 - "Face the Nation"
  • 6/7/76 - WLWT-TV, Cincinnati, OH
  • 6/7/76 - WCPO-TV, Cincinnati, OH
  • 6/11/76 - National Education Association
  • 6/18/76 - KMPC-Radio, Los Angeles, CA
  • 6/18/76 - Hugh Sidey, "Time"
  • 6/22/76 - U.S. Jaycees - "Future" Magazine
  • 7/9/76 - Salt Lake City "Deseret News"
  • 7/20/76 - "Waterloo Courier"
  • 7/22/76 - "Reader's Digest"
  • 7/30/76 - "Time" and "Newsweek"
  • 8/7/76 - United Press International and Associated Press
  • 8/12/76 - "U.S. News and World Report"
  • 8/13/76 - "Washington Post"

Box 33 - Presidential Media Interviews

  • 8/14/76 - "Chicago Tribune"
  • 9/6/76 - Harry Reasoner, ABC News
  • 9/11/76 - "TV Guide"
  • 9/14/76 - Today Show
  • 9/16/76 - National Religious Broadcasters
  • 9/16/76 - "Parade" Magazine
  • 9/29/76 - "Newsweek"
  • 10/7/76 - KCOP-TV, Los Angeles, CA
  • 10/10/76 - San Francisco Examiner
  • 10/12/76 - Media Executives
  • 10/13/76 - Barbara Walters, ABC News
  • 10/13/76 - Walter Cronkite
  • 10/14/76 - Jewish Press Corps
  • 10/14/76 - Ethnic Editors
  • 10/15/76 - Des Moines Register
  • 10/20/76 - Panax Newspapers
  • 10/24/76 - "Time"
  • 12/1/76 - KTAL-TV, Los Angeles, CA
  • 12/6/76 - Barbara Walters, ABC News
  • 12/8/76 - Dick Growald, United Press International
  • 12/17/76 - "Time"
  • 12/28/76 - "U.S. News and World Report"

Box 34 - Outgoing Correspondence with the Media

  • Alabama - New York

Box 35 - Outgoing Correspondence with the Media

  • North Carolina - Wyoming and Foreign Countries

Box 36 - Subject File

  • Administration Spokesman - Biographies
  • B-1 Bomber Contract
  • Blair Summer School for Journalism Students, 1976
  • Block Grants - Remarks by President Ford
  • Briefing Book - Visit of Mexican President-Elect Jose Lopez Portillo, 9/23-27/76
  • Briefing Book - Visit of President William R. Tolbert of Liberia, 9/21-27/76
  • Christmas Card List - 1974 (1)-(4)
  • Christmas Card List - 1975 (1)-(3)

Box 37 - Subject File

  • Christmas Press Party - 1974 (1)-(3)
  • Christmas Press Party - 1975 (1)-(4)
  • Day in the Life of the President (Published Article)
  • Election, 1976 - Common Cause Issue Profiles (1)-(3)

Box 38 - Subject File

  • Election, 1976 - Common Cause Issue Profiles (4)-(9)
  • Federal Civil Emergency Actions Guidelist (1)-(5)
  • Federal Civil Emergency Actions Guidelist (6)-(8)

Box 39 - Subject File

  • Federal Government Public Affairs/Information Directors
  • Health, Education and Welfare Department - Public Affairs Personnel
  • Hushen, Jack - Personal Correspondence
  • Inter-American Development Bank
    - Annual Report, 1974 (Publication)
    - Board of Governors Meeting, May 1975 (1)-(3)
    - Publications
    - Statement of Loans, 1974

Box 40 - Subject File

  • International Economic Issues Briefing Book (1)-(3)
  • Material Not Released to the Press
    - American Leaders of East European Ancestry Press Conference, 10/12/76
    - Background Briefings by Administration Officials (1)-(2)
    - Catholic Bishops Press Conference, 9/10/76
    - First Lady's Press Conference, 9/4/74
    - Jewish Leaders, 9/20/76
    - Nessen Briefings
    - Presidential Remarks (1)-(3)
    - Remarks of Administration Officials (1)-(2)

Box 41 - Subject File

  • Media Invitations Pending - Fall 1976
  • Miscellaneous Memoranda
  • National Security Briefing Papers, 1975
  • National Security Briefing Papers, 1976 (1)-(3)
  • National Security Guidance and Wires (1)-(2)
  • Nessen Personal
  • Peterson Report, 1971 (1)-(3)

Box 42 - Subject File

  • President - Biographical Materials
  • President - Letters Drafted by the Press Office
  • President - Schedule, 1976-77: Notice to the Press (1)-(4)
  • President - Signed Articles (1)-(2)
  • President's Trip to Europe, May - June, 1975
  • Press Office - Administrative
  • Press Office - Correspondence Reports, 4/76 - 8/76
  • Press Office - Organization
  • Referrals - Agriculture Department
  • Referrals - Bicentennial Administration
  • Referrals - Civil Service Commission
  • Referrals - Commerce Department
  • Referrals - Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Referrals - Defense Department
  • Referrals - Energy Agencies
  • Referrals - Environmental Protection Agency
  • Referrals - Health, Education and Welfare Department

Box 43 - Subject File

  • Referrals - Housing and Urban Development Department
  • Referrals - Interior Department
  • Referrals - Justice Department
  • Referrals - Labor Department
  • Referrals - National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Referrals - Office of Management and Budget
  • Referrals - Postal Service
  • Referrals - State Department (1)-(2)
  • Referrals - Transportation Department
  • Referrals - Treasury Department
  • Referrals - Veterans Administration
  • Referrals - Incomplete
  • Rumsfeld, Donald - Briefing Book for Confirmation as Secretary of Defense (1)-(2)
  • Simon, William E. - Speeches, 9/76 - 12/76 (1)-(3)
  • Television Publicity Outlets - List (1)-(2)

Box 44 - White House Staff Memoranda

  • Adams - Scowcroft (1974 only)

Box 45 - White House Staff Memoranda

  • Seidman - Zook (1974 only)

Box 45 (Continued) - Press Office Staff Memoranda

  • A-Z (1974 only)

Box 46 - Media Requests for Interviews with the President

  • National and Alabama - New Mexico

Box 47 - Media Requests for Interviews with the President

  • New York - Wyoming, Early Primary, and Republican Convention

Box 48 - Press Secretary's Chronological File

  • 9/74 - 12/16/74

Box 49 - Press Secretary's Chronological File

  • 12/17/74 - 5/75

Box 50 - Press Secretary's Chronological File

  • 6/75-12/75

Box 51 - Press Secretary's Chronological File

  • 1/76-10/10/76

Box 52 - Press Secretary's Chronological File

  • 10/11/76-1/77

Box 52 (Continued) - J. William Roberts Chronological File

  • 10/74 - 11/76

Box 53 - Press Release Subject File

  • Agriculture
  • Appointments
  • Arts
  • Bicentennial
  • Budget
  • Campaign - 1976 (1)-(3)
  • Central Intelligence Agency
  • China
  • Commerce
  • Commission on Physical Fitness
  • Congress
  • Crime
  • Defense
  • Environment
  • Energy
  • Foreign Policy

Box 54 - Press Release Subject File

  • Governmental Processes
  • Health
  • Health, Education and Welfare, Department of
  • Housing and Urban Development, Department of
  • Immigration
  • Labor
  • Minority Citizens
  • Parks
  • Proclamations
  • Reagan
  • Religious
  • Revenue Sharing
  • Senior Citizens
  • State of the Union Message - 1975
  • Taxes
  • Trade
  • Transportation
  • United Nations
  • Veterans Affairs
  • Vice President Rockefeller
  • White House
  • White House Fellows

Box 55 - Draft Presidential News Releases

  • 8/74-10/25/74

Box 56 - Draft Presidential News Releases

  • 10/26/74-12/11/74

Box 57 - Draft Presidential News Releases

  • 12/12/74-2/75

Box 58 - Draft Presidential News Releases

  • 3/75-4/75

Box 59 - Draft Presidential News Releases

  • 5/75-7/12/75

Box 60 - Draft Presidential News Releases

  • 7/13/75-12/24/75

Box 61 - Draft Presidential News Releases

  • 12/25/75-5/8/76

Box 62 - Draft Presidential News Releases

  • 5/9/76-1/77

Box 63 - Sunday Interview Show Transcripts

  • Face the Nation
    10/6/74 - William B. Saxbe
    10/13/74 - Frank Robinson (Manager, Cleveland Indians)
    10/20/74 - Robert C. Byrd
    10/27/74 - Mike Mansfield
    11/3/74 - Donald Rumsfeld
    11/10/74 - Robert J. Dole
    11/17/74 - Rogers C. B. Morton
    11/24/74 - John D. deButts (AT&T)
    12/1/74 - Robert Strauss (Democratic National Committee)
    12/15/74 - Golda Meir
    12/22/74 - Edgar Speer (U.S. Steel Corporation)
    12/29/74 - John Gardner (Common Cause)
    1/5/75 - Henry S. Reuss
    1/12/75 - Jeb S. Magruder
    1/19/75 - Frank G. Zarb
    1/26/75 - Nelson A. Rockefeller
    2/16/75 - Robert C. Byrd
    2/23/75 - Lloyd Bentsen
    3/2/75 - Al Ullman
    3/9/75 - Hubert H. Humphrey
    3/16/75 - John J. Rhodes
    4/20/75 - Sheik Ahmed Zaki Yamani
    5/4/75 - William E. Simon
    6/15/75 - Yitzhak Rabin
    6/22/75 - Alan Greenspan
    6/29/75 - Carla A. Hills
    7/6/75 - William A. Sullivan
    7/13/75 - Benjamin Bailar
    7/20/75 - Richard S. Schweiker
    7/27/75 - Thomas P. O'Neill

Box 64 - Sunday Interview Show Transcripts

  • Face the Nation
    8/3/75 - Earl Butz
    8/17/75 - Triloka Nath Kaul (Ambassador from India)
    8/24/75 - Arthur Burns
    8/31/75 - Frank G. Zarb and Bob Eckhardt
    9/7/75 - Yasser Arafat
    9/14/75 - David Mathews
    9/21/75 - James R. Schlesinger
    9/28/75 - Otis Pike
    10/5/75 - William E. Colby
    10/12/75 - John B. Connally
    10/19/75 - Henry S. Ruth
    10/26/75 - Daniel P. Moynihan
    11/2/75 - James B. Allen and Jacob K. Javits
    11/9/75 - Frank Church
    11/16/75 - Clifton Garvin (Exxon)
    11/23/75 - David Belin
    11/30/75 - Jimmy Carter
    12/7/75 - Howard "Bo" Callaway
    12/14/75 - Shimon Peres
    12/21/75 - Edward H. Levi
    12/28/75 - Alexander M. Schmidt
    1/18/76 - Julie and David Eisenhower
    1/25/76 - Alan Greenspan
    2/1/76 - Donald H. Rumsfeld
    2/8/76 - Elliot L. Richardson
    2/15/76 - William Proxmire
    2/22/76 - Birch Bayh
    2/29/76 - Morris K. Udall

Box 65 - Sunday Interview Show Transcripts

  • Face the Nation
    3/7/76 - George C. Wallace
    3/14/76 - Jimmy Carter
    3/21/76 - Fred Harris
    3/28/76 - Mike Mansfield
    4/4/76 - Henry M. Jackson
    4/11/76 - James R. Schlesinger
    4/18/76 - Russell E. Train
    5/2/76 - Muhammed Ali
    5/9/76 - Edmund G. Brown, Jr.
    5/16/76 - Walter F. Mondale
    5/23/76 - Howard H. Baker
    5/30/76 - Nelson A. Rockefeller
    6/13/76 - Wendell D. Anderson
    6/20/76 - John J. Rhodes
    6/27/76 - Richard Schweiker
    7/11/76 - Yitzhak Rabin
    8/1/76 - Hugh Scott
    8/8/76 - Clarence Kelley
    8/15/76 - John J. Rhodes
    8/29/76 - W. Mark Felt
    10/24/76 - Henry A. Kissinger
    10/31/76 - Alan Greenspan and Lawrence Klein
    11/7/76 - John B. Vorster
    12/19/76 - Kenneth Gibson and Coleman Young
    12/26/76 - Ralph Nader

Box 66 - Sunday Interview Show Transcripts

  • Issues and Answers
    10/6/74 - Caspar Weinberger
    10/13/74 - John J. Rhodes and William Proxmire
    10/27/74 - William E. Simon
    11/3/74 - Jimmy Carter, William Brock and Robert Michel
    11/10/74 - Yasser Arafat
    11/17/74 - Howard Cannon
    11/23/74 - Earl Butz
    12/1/74 - Morris K. Udall
    12/15/74 - Philip Burton and John Anderson
    12/22/74 - Edward Brooke
    12/29/74 - William Proxmire
    1/5/75 - Hugh Scott
    1/12/75 - Robert Byrd
    1/26/75 - Howard H. Baker
    2/16/75 - Benjamin Bailar
    2/23/75 - James R. Schlesinger
    3/2/75 - James T. Lynn
    3/9/75 - Frank Robinson
    3/16/75 - Stuart Symington
    3/23/75 - Al Ullman
    4/20/75 - John Anderson
    5/4/75 - Robert Strauss
    6/15/75 - Barry Goldwater
    6/22/75 - Mrs. Anwar Sadat and Mrs. Yitzhak Rabin
    6/29/75 - Roy Wilkins and Margaret Bush Wilson of the NAACP
    7/6/75 - James Schlesinger
    7/13/75 - John Swearingen (Standard Oil of Indiana) and Ralph Nader
    7/20/75 - Kurt Waldheim
    7/27/75 - Adolph Hutter and Paul Adkins (Professors of Medicine)
    8/3/75 - Leon Jaworski and Lawrence E. Walsh
    8/10/75 - Takeo Miki
    8/24/75 - Tony Dechant (Farmers Union) and Carol Foreman (Consumer Federation of America)
    8/31/75 - John T. Dunlop

Box 67 - Sunday Interview Show Transcripts

  • Issues and Answers
    9/7/75 - Yitzhak Rabin
    9/14/75 - Louis Wyman and John Durkin
    9/21/75 - Jacob K. Javits
    9/28/75 - John J. Rhodes
    10/5/75 - Frank Church
    10/12/75 - William Proxmire and George Mahon
    10/19/75 - William Simon
    10/26/75 - Anwar Sadat
    11/2/75 - Nelson A. Rockefeller
    11/9/75 - Charles Mathias
    11/16/75 - George Meany
    11/23/75 - Robert Bennett, Christopher Bond, Daniel Evans, Arch Moore, Meldrim Thomson
    11/30/75 - Ronald Reagan
    12/7/75 - Daniel Patrick Moynihan and Pearl Bailey
    12/14/75 - Edmund Muskie
    12/21/75 - Ralph Nader
    12/28/75 - Herblock and Jeff MacNelly/John Ryor (National Education Association)
    1/4/76 - John J. McFall
    1/11/76 - Clarence Kelley
    1/18/76 - Arthur Burns
    1/25/76 - Hubert Humphrey
    2/1/76 - Sidney Wolfe (Public Service Health Research Group)

Box 68 - Sunday Interview Show Transcripts

  • Issues and Answers
    2/8/76 - Yvonne Braithwaite Burke, Charles Rangel and John Conyers
    2/15/76 - F. Lee Bailey
    2/22/76 - Jimmy Carter, Morris Udall, Fred Harris, Sargent Shriver
    2/29/76 - Henry Jackson and Milton Shapp
    3/7/76 - Morris Udall
    3/14/76 - George Wallace
    3/21/76 - Frank Church
    3/28/76 - Donald Rumsfeld
    4/4/76 - King Hussein
    4/11/76 - Henry Jackson
    4/18/76 - Louis Harris
    4/25/76 - Jimmy Carter, Frank Church, Henry Jackson, Morris Udall and George Wallace
    5/2/76 - Nelson Rockefeller
    5/9/76 - Hubert Humphrey
    5/16/76 - Morris Udall and Edmund G. Brown
    5/23/76 - Charles Mathias, John Tower and Paul Laxalt
    5/30/76 - Golda Meir
    6/6/76 - Edmund Brown, Jimmy Carter, Frank Church, Morris Udall, George Wallace
    6/13/76 - Ralph Nader and Carl Walske (Atomic Industrial Forum)
    6/20/76 - William Simon and Alan Greenspan
    6/27/76 - John Anderson
    7/4/76 - H.R.H. Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh
    7/11/76 - George McGovern, Barbara Jordan and Wendell Anderson
    8/1/76 - John Sears
    8/8/76 - John Connally
    8/15/76 - Richard Schweiker, Howard Baker, Robert Dole and Robert Griffin
    10/24/76 - Mike Mansfield, James Baker and Robert Strauss
    10/31/76 - Louis Harris, George Ball and Melvin Laird
    11/7/76 - Donald Riegle and Paul Sarbanes
    11/21/76 - Richard Lugar and John Chafee
    12/19/76 - Peter Peterson
    12/26/76 - Benjamin Hooks

Box 69 - Sunday Interview Show Transcripts

  • Meet the Press
    10/6/74 - E. Gough Whitlam
    10/13/74 - Lloyd Bentsen and Wayne Hays
    10/20/74 - Leon Jaworski
    10/27/74 - Earl Butz, John Hannah, Jean Mayer, Sterling Wortman, and Lester Brown
    11/3/74 - Robert Strauss and Mary Louise Smith
    11/10/74 - John Glenn
    11/17/74 - William Saxbe
    11/24/74 - Francoise Giroud (French Secretary of State for the Condition of Women)
    12/1/74 - Terry Sanford and Yvonne Burke
    12/15/74 - Jimmy Carter
    12/22/74 - Walter Heller
    12/29/74 - Henry Reuss and Mike McCormack
    1/5/75 - John Brademas
    1/12/75 - Ella Grasso
    1/26/75 - Leonard Woodcock
    2/16/75 - Hubert Humphrey
    2/23/75 - Joseph Sisco
    3/2/75 - Frank Zarb
    3/9/75 - Donald Rumsfeld
    3/16/75 - Dale Bumpers
    3/25/75 - William Coleman
    4/20/75 - Thomas Murphy (General Motors), Reginald Jones (General Electric), Irving Shapiro (duPont), Donald Cook (American Electric Power), Arthur Wood (Sears), and Walter Wriston (Citicorp)
    5/4/75 - King Hussein
    5/25/75 - Arthur Burns
    6/15/75 - Nelson A. Rockefeller
    6/22/75 - Friedrich Von Hayek
    6/29/75 - William Colby
    7/6/75 - Joseph Alioto, Wes Uhlman, Fred Hofheinz, Richard Carver, Kevin White, and Coleman Young
    7/13/75 - Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
    7/20/75 - Alejandro Orfila
    7/27/75 - Mike Mansfield

Box 70 - Sunday Interview Show Transcripts

  • Meet the Press
    8/3/75 - Fred Ikle
    8/10/75 - Police Chiefs and Officials: Patrick Murphy, Robert DiGrazia, Joseph McNamara, Edward Davis, Hubert Williams, and James Varsons
    8/17/75 - Frank Church
    8/24/75 - Indira Gandhi
    8/31/75 - Leonard Woodcock, I.W. Abel, Jerry Wurf, Robert Georgine and John Rynor
    9/7/75 - William Simon
    9/14/75 - Daniel P. Moynihan
    9/21/75 - Sargent Shriver
    9/28/75 - Prince Saud Al-Faisal of Saudi Arabia
    10/5/75 - Edmund G. Brown, Jr.
    10/12/75 - Henry A. Kissinger
    10/19/75 - Abraham Beame
    10/26/75 - James Lynn
    11/2/75 - Hubert Humphrey
    11/9/75 - Gerald R. Ford
    11/16/75 - George C. Wallace
    11/23/75 - James Schlesinger
    11/30/75 - Morris Udall
    12/7/75 - Hugh Carey
    12/14/75 - Thomas P. O'Neill
    12/21/75 - L. William Seidman
    12/28/75 - Philip Hart and Jane Hart
    1/4/76 - John A. Marcum (University of California, Santa Cruz)
    1/11/76 - Birch Bayh, Jimmy Carter, Fred Harris, and Milton Shapp

Box 71 - Sunday Interview Show Transcripts

  • Meet the Press
    1/18/76 - Lloyd Bentsen, Henry Jackson, Terry Sanford, and Morris Udall
    1/25/76 - Rogers C. B. Morton
    2/1/76 - Yitzhak Rabin
    2/8/76 - Yasser Arafat
    2/15/76 - Meldrim Thomson and William Loeb
    2/22/76 - George Bush
    2/29/76 - Tom Kleppe
    3/7/76 - Ronald Reagan
    3/14/76 - Henry Jackson
    3/21/76 - Senator Dick Clark
    3/28/76 - George C. Wallace
    4/4/76 - Morris Udall
    4/11/76 - Walter Heller
    4/18/76 - Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein
    4/25/76 - Donald Rumsfeld
    5/9/76 - John J. Rhodes
    5/16/76 - Paul D. Laxalt
    5/23/76 - Valery Giscard d'Estaing
    5/30/76 - Barbara Jordan, Mervyn Dymally, Vernon Jordan, Jesse Jackson, and Jay Cooper
    6/6/76 - John Ehrlichman
    6/13/76 - John Connally
    6/20/76 - Hamilton Jordan
    6/27/76 - Robert Strauss
    7/4/76 - Robert Ray, Michael Dukakis, Wendell Anderson, Mills Godwin and Milton Shapp
    7/11/76 - Jimmy Carter
    8/1/76 - Richard Schweiker
    8/8/76 - Elliot Richardson
    8/15/76 - John Sears and Nelson Rockefeller
    10/24/76 - Milton Friedman
    10/31/76 - Jack Ford
    11/7/76 - Dixie Lee Ray
    11/14/76 - Benjamin Hooks
    11/21/76 - James R. Thompson
    12/19/76 - William Simon
    12/26/76 - Edward Levi

Box 72 - Federal Statistical System Weekly Briefing Notes

  • 8/75 - 10/75

Box 73 - Federal Statistical System Weekly Briefing Notes

  • 11/75 - 2/76

Box 74 - Federal Statistical System Weekly Briefing Notes

  • 3/76 - 6/76

Box 75 - Federal Statistical System Weekly Briefing Notes

  • 7/76 - 11/76

Box 76 - Publications File

  • A

Box 77 - Publications File

  • A-E

Box 78 - Publications File

  • E-M

Box 79 - Publications File

  • M-R

Box 80 - Publications File

  • R-U

Box 81 - Publications File

  • U-Z