COLLECTION FINDING AID



CHARLES H. McCALL FILES, 1974-77

Director of the Research Office
Office of Editorial Staff




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Extensive background files of newsclippings, reports, articles, speeches, and radio transcripts on a broad range of subjects. They were used as a reference aid to editorial office staff in verifying the factual accuracy of White House statements. Also included are copies of speeches and remarks sent to this office for fact and style checking.

QUANTITY
80.2 linear feet (ca. 162,000 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77-44, 78-15, 83-20, 87-6)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Leesa Tobin, October 1983 (Revised Sept. 1987)
[s:\bin\findaid\mccall, charles - files.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Charles H. McCall


July 7, 1935 - Born in Frankfort, Indiana

1957 - B.A. degree, Indiana University

1958 - M.A. degree, Indiana University

1959 - M.A. degree, Yale University in political science

1965 - Ph.D., Yale University in political science

1962-66 and 1969-70 - Professor of political science at Indiana University

1967-68 - Assistant to the Director, Arts & Science Division, Republican National Committee

1970-2003 - Professor, Political Science Department, California State College, Bakersfield (took a leave of absence while working at the White House)

May-June 1976 - Consultant to Agnes Waldron, Director of Editorial Staff Research Office, White House

July-Dec. 1976 - Director, Editorial Staff Research Office, White House

April 10, 2013 - Died in Bakersfield, California


INTRODUCTION

The McCall files document the work of editorial staff researchers throughout the Ford administration. The bulk of the file is material drawn together or created during Agnes Waldron's tenure as director of research from August 1974 to June 1976, subsequently inherited and augmented by Charles McCall.

McCall joined the White House staff as a consultant to assist Waldron with the research office operation in May 1976 and succeeded her as director in July. Waldron and later McCall reported to Gwen Anderson, Editor of Presidential Messages and Research, who in turn was responsible to Robert Hartmann, Counsellor to the President. Day-to-day activities were the responsibility of Waldron and McCall, and their research staff numbered five or six at various points during the administration.

The research office staff was responsible for supplying the speechwriting staff with background information on places where the President was to speak, issues of local concern there, and people with whom the President was likely to meet. Another function of the office was to check the accuracy of dates and other facts in speeches, statements and messages.

The main research file is arranged by subject according to a numerical classification system apparently devised by the editorial staff. Approximately half the file consists of newspaper clippings and press releases. Other print and near-print material included are reports, magazines, speech and interview transcripts, and wire service stories. Occasionally manuscript items such as background memoranda and draft speeches or statements sent to research for checking were included. Scattered items predate the Ford administration and appear to have been retained for their continuing informational value.

The McCall files arrived at the Ford Library in several installments, the final accretion arriving after the collection had been made available for research. Asterisks have been used in the container list to indicate where these items were originally filed.

Related Materials (October 1983)
Related material includes the files of Robert Orben/Paul Theis (director of speechwriting/editorial staff executive editor) and Gwen Anderson (editor of presidential message and research) on the editorial staff and the files of Wanda Phelan who maintained a research file similar to McCall's for the press operation. Three other series in the McCall files are currently unprocessed and unavailable for research.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Research File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1-94, 38.0 linear feet)
Newspaper and magazine clippings, government publications, transcripts of speeches and television talk shows, wire service stories, travel brochures and maps, White House press releases, and occasional manuscript items collected and maintained for use by editorial office researchers. Some items pre-date the Ford administration.

Arranged by subject according to the editorial office numerical classification system.

View container list for this series

Research File - States, 1974-77.  (Boxes 95-108, 5.2 linear feet)
Newspaper and magazine clippings, government publications, transcripts of speeches and television talk shows, wire service stories, travel brochures and maps, White House press releases, and occasional manuscript items collected and maintained for use by editorial office researchers. Some items pre-date the Ford administration.

Arranged alphabetically by state.

View container list for this series

Research File Accretion, 1974-77. (Boxes 109-122, 5.6 linear feet)
An accretion to the Research File received from the Ford Office in 1987. It contains similar materials to the main body of the Research File, but covers file codes that were missing when the collection was originally processed.

Arranged by subject according to the editorial office numerical classification system.

View container list for this series

Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File. (Boxes 123-202, 31.7 linear feet)
This series consists of speech drafts with notations that specific facts have been verified, related correspondence and memoranda, and briefing materials and pre-advance reports for specific trips by President Gerald Ford. In addition, the series contains background materials such as reports, publications, and newspaper clippings used in drafting and fact checking the speeches and statements.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Administrative File. (Boxes 202-203, 0.3 linear feet)
This series consists of memoranda and correspondence relating to the operation of the research office of the Editorial Staff.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 1 - Agriculture (1)-(2)
  • 1.4 - Agriculture - Other Foreign
  • 1.5 - Food Shortages - U.S. (1)-(3)
  • 1.6 - Food Shortages - Foreign (1)-(4)

Box 2 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 1.7 - Food Stamps (1)-(3)
  • 3.1 - Biographies - U.S. Officials
  • 3.11 - Biographies - Executive Branch
  • 3.121 - Biographies - Legislative Branch - Wilbur Mills
  • 3.2 - Famous Americans

Box 3 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 4 - Communications (1)-(2)
  • 4.1 - Networks
  • 4.11 - ABC
  • 4.12 - CBS
  • 4.13 - NBC
  • 4.14 - Public Television
  • 4.2 - Press
  • 4.21 - Washington Post
  • 4.22 - New York Times
  • 4.24 - Other Newspapers
  • 4.25 - Newsweek
  • 4.26 - Time
  • 4.27 - Other Magazines

Box 4 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 4.28 - Cartoons (1)-(10)

Box 5 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 5 - Economy - General (1)-(2)
  • 5.1 - Economy - U.S. (1)-(6)

Box 6 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 5.1 - Economy - U.S. (7)-(9)
  • 5.12 - Auto Industry (1)-(3)
  • 5.13 - Domestic Economic Summit (1)

Box 7 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 5.13 - Domestic Economic Summit (2)-(8)

Box 8 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 5.14 - Banking
  • 5.15 - Trade/Balance of Payments
  • 5.16 - Cost of Living Council
  • 5.17 - Taxes

Box 9 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 5.18 - Tax Reform
  • 5.18 - Ford's Tax Program (1)-(2)
  • 5.19 - Capital Investment
  • 5.2 - Foreign Economy
  • 5.21 - Trade (1)-(2)
  • 5.22 - Multinational Trade Negotiations
  • 5.23 - International Monetary Fund

Box 10 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 5.3 - Labor
  • 5.31 - AFL/CIO (1)-(2)
  • 5.32 - International Brotherhood of Teamsters
  • 5.33 - United Auto Workers
  • 5.34 - United Mine Workers
  • 5.35 - United Federation of Teachers
  • 5.36 - Government Unions
  • 5.37 - Labor - 1974 Elections
  • 5.38 - Labor - 1976 Elections

Box 11 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 5.39 - Democratic Party
  • 5.40 - Public Employees' Union (1)-(2)
  • 5.41 - Budget FY 1975
  • 5.42 - Budget FY 1976 (1)-(3)
  • 5.43 - Revenue Sharing

Box 12 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 5.44 - Budget FY 1977
  • 5.45 - Budget FY 1978
  • 5.46 - Employment/Unemployment
  • 6 - Energy (1)-(3)

Box 13 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 6.1 - Energy - U.S. (1)-(2)
  • 6.1 - Energy - U.S. - General (1)-(3)
  • 6.12 - Energy - Costs (1)-(2)
  • 6.120 - Energy - Price Controls/Decontrol (1)-(2)

Box 14 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 6.120 - Energy - Price Controls/Decontrol (3)
  • 6.121 - Energy - Public Utilities
  • 6.13 - Energy - Development
  • 6.14 - Energy - Taxes - Oil
  • 6.15 - Energy - Shortages
  • 6.16 - Project Independence
  • 6.17 - Ford Energy Program (1)-(5)

Box 15 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 6.18 - Gas Rationing
  • 6.19 - Fuels
  • 6.191 - Alaska Pipeline
  • 6.192 - Natural Gas (1)-(2)
  • 6.193 - Off Shore Drilling (1)-(2)

Box 16 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 6.194 - Coal
  • 6.195 - Strip Mining
  • 6.196 - Nuclear Power (1)-(3)
  • 6.197 - Geothermal
  • 6.198 - Solar, Wind, Methanol and Other Fuels (1)-(2)
  • 6.199 - Hydroelectric Power
  • 6.2 - Energy - Foreign (1)-(2)

Box 17 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 6.2 - Energy - Foreign (3)-(6)
  • 6.21 - Saudi Arabia
  • 6.22 - Other Arab Countries
  • 6.23 - Iran
  • 6.24 - OPEC (1)-(2)

Box 18 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 6.241 - Petroleum Dollars
  • 6.25 - Latin America
  • 6.26 - Western Europe
  • 6.27 - Japan
  • 6.28 - India
  • 6.29 - China
  • 6.30 - South Vietnam
  • 7 - Governments - Foreign
  • 7.1 - Africa (1)-(5)

Box 19 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.11 - Rhodesia
  • 7.12 - South Africa
  • 7.13 - Portuguese Africa
  • 7.14 - Ethiopia
  • 7.15 - Angola (1)-(2)
  • 7.2 - Asia (1)

Box 20 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.2 - Asia (2)-(4)
  • 7.21 - Bangladesh
  • 7.22 - India
  • 7.23 - Indonesia
  • 7.24 - Japan (1)

Box 21 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.24 - Japan (2)-(4)
  • 7.25 - Malaysia
  • 7.26 - North Korea
  • 7.27 - North Vietnam
  • 7.28 - Pakistan
  • 7.29 - Philippines
  • 7.30 - Peoples Republic of China (1)

Box 22 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.30 - Peoples Republic of China (2)-(6)
  • 7.31 - South Korea

Box 23 -Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.32 - South Vietnam/Cambodia/Laos (1)-(3)
  • 7.321 - Refugees (1)-(3)

Box 24 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.33 - Thailand
  • 7.34 - Taiwan
  • 7.4 - Europe
  • 7.41 - Austria

Box 25 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.51 - Iceland
  • 7.52 - Ireland
  • 7.53 - Italy
  • 7.54 - Norway
  • 7.55 - Netherlands
  • 7.56 - Poland
  • 7.57 - Portugal (1)-(3)
  • 7.58 - Romania

Box 26 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.59 - Spain
  • 7.60 - Sweden
  • 7.61 - Yugoslavia (1)-(2)
  • 7.62 - West Germany (1)-(2)
  • 7.63 - Hungary
  • 7.64 - Cyprus
  • 7.65 - USSR (1)-(3)

Box 27 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.71 - Common Market
  • 7.72 - NATO (1)-(4)
  • 7.73 - European Economic Community
  • 7.74 - Warsaw Pact
  • 7.8 - Latin America and the Caribbean (1)-(2)

Box 28 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.8 - Latin America and the Caribbean (3)-(5)
  • 7.81 - Organization of American States (1)-(2)
  • 7.82 - Cuba (1)-(2)
  • 7.83 - Panama Canal

Box 29 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.84 - Mexico
  • 7.85 - Argentina
  • 7.9 - Middle East
  • 7.91 - Egypt (1)-(2)
  • 7.92 - Iran (1)-(2)
  • 7.93 - Iraq
  • 7.94 - Israel (1)-(2)

Box 30 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.94 - Israel (3)-(5)
  • 7.95 - Jordan (1)-(3)
  • 7.96 - Lebanon

Box 31 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 7.97 - Libya
  • 7.98 - Morocco
  • 7.99 - Saudi Arabia (1)-(2)
  • 8.0 - Syria
  • 8.1 - Turkey (1)-(4)
  • 8.82 - Australia/New Zealand (1)-(2)

Box 32 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 8.83 - Canada (1)-(2)
  • 9 - U.S. Government
  • 9.1 - Executive (White House)
  • 9.11 - Cabinet (1)-(2)
  • 9.12 - National Security Council

Box 33 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.13 - Central Intelligence Agency (1)-(8)

Box 34 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.131 - Central Intelligence Agency - Investigations (1)-(8)

Box 35 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.131 - Central Intelligence Agency - Investigations (9)-(17)

Box 36 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.131 - Central Intelligence Agency - Investigations (18)-(24)
  • 9.14 - Office of Management and Budget
  • 9.2 - Departments
  • 9.25 - Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • 9.27 - Department of Justice (1)-(4)

Box 37 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.271 - Federal Bureau of Investigation (1)-(8)
  • 9.272 - Immigration and Naturalization Service (1)-(2)

Box 38 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.28 - Department of Labor (1)-(2)
  • 9.29 - Department of State (1)-(5)

Box 39 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.29 - Department of State (6)-(11)

Box 40 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.30 - Department of Transportation (1)-(4)
  • 9.31 - Department of the Treasury (1)-(3)

Box 41 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.31 - Department of the Treasury (4)-(6)
  • 9.311 - Internal Revenue Service
  • 9.312 - Secret Service
  • 9.4 - Independent Agencies
  • 9.41 - ACTION
  • 9.42 - Atomic Energy Commission
  • 9.43 - Civil Aeronautics Board
  • 9.44 - Civil Rights Commission
  • 9.45 - Consumer Product Safety
  • 9.46 - Environmental Protection Agency
  • 9.46 - Federal Energy Administration
  • 9.47 - Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Box 42 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.48 - Federal Communications Commission
  • 9.49 - Federal Trade Commission
  • 9.50 - General Services Administration
  • 9.51 - National Aeronautics and Space Administration (1)-(2)
  • 9.52 - Securities and Exchange Commission (1)-(3)
  • 9.53 - Civil Service Commission
  • 9.54 - Postal Service (1)

Box 43 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.54 - Postal Service (2)
  • 9.56 - Veterans Administration
  • 9.57 - Other
  • 9.58 - Regulatory Agencies and Reform (1)-(6)

Box 44 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.581 - Deregulation
  • 9.59 - Food and Drug Administration
  • 9.6 - Congress (1)-(5)
  • 9.61 - House of Representatives (1)

Box 45 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.61 - House of Representatives (2)-(4)
  • 9.62 - Senate
  • 9.63 - Legislation (1)-(2)

Box 46 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.63 - Legislation (3)-(8)

Box 47 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.64 - Bills to Laws
  • 9.7 - Supreme Court (1)-(4)
  • 9.71 - Federal Courts
  • 9.8 - State and Local Governments (1)-(4)

Box 48 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.81 - District of Columbia (1)-(2)
  • 9.82 - New York City (1)-(5)

Box 49 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 9.82 - New York City (6)
  • 9.83 - Marianas
  • 9.84 - Puerto Rico
  • 9.86 - Cities: Problems, Reforms
  • 9.87 - Intergovernmental Relations
  • 10.4 - Western Europe
  • 11 - Foreign Aid
  • 12 - U.S. History
  • 13 - Past Presidents (1)-(4)

Box 50 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 14 - Nixon, Richard M. (1)-(6)
  • 14.1 - Nixon, Richard M. - Administration (1)-(2)

Box 51 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 14.1 - Nixon, Richard M. - Administration (3)-(6)
  • 14.2 - Watergate (1)-(5)

Box 52 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 14.2 - Watergate (6)-(13)

Box 53 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 14.3 - Nixon Pardon (1)-(6)

Box 54 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 14.3 - Nixon Pardon (7)-(12)
  • 14.4 - "Watergate 6" Trial (1)-(2)

Box 55 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 14.4 - "Watergate 6" Trial (3)-(7)
  • 14.5 - Transition/Pension Funds (1)-(3)

Box 56 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 15 - Other Past Government Officials
  • 20 - Law
  • 20.1 - Law - General
  • 20.2 - Antitrust
  • 20.3 - Criminal (1)-(3)
  • 20.4 - Crime (1)-(4)
  • 20.42 - Prison Disturbances
  • 20.43 - Riots, Disturbances
  • 20.46 - Terrorism

Box 57 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 20.51 - Law Enforcement Assistance Administration
  • 20.53 - Probation/Parole
  • 32 - Amnesty (1)-(3)
  • 35.1 - Defense - General
  • 35.2 - Defense - Budget (1)-(4)

Box 58 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 35.3 - Convention - Biological Weapons
  • 35.4 - Disarmament (1)-(2)
  • 35.41 - Strategic Arms Limitation Talks (1)-(3)
  • 35.7 - Detente (1)-(5)
  • 35.8 - Treaties

Box 59 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 36.1 - Peace Talks - Mideast (1)-(8)
  • 36.2 - Peace Talks - Cyprus
  • 36.3 - Peace Talks - Vietnam

Box 60 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 40.1 - Campaign Reform - Federal Election Commission (1)-(4)
  • 41 - Political Organizations
  • 41.1 - Democrats (1)-(3)
  • 41.2 - Republicans - (1)-(2)

Box 61 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 41.2 - Republicans (3)-(5)
  • 41.3 - Common Cause
  • 41.4 - Nader Group
  • 41.5 - Left Wing Groups (1)-(2)
  • 41.6 - Right Wing Groups (1)-(2)
  • 41.7 - Platforms and State of the Union
  • 41.8 - Democratic Convention (1)-(2)

Box 62 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 41.8 - Democratic Convention (3)-(4)
  • 41.9 - Republican Convention (1)-(5)
  • 42.1 - 1974 Campaigns - General
  • 42.3 - 1974 Campaigns - Senate
  • 42.4 - Campaigns - State Campaigns

Box 63 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 47 - 1974 Elections (1)-(6)
  • 47.1 - 1975 Mayoralty Elections
  • 48.1 - Presidential Election - General (1)

Box 64 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.1 - Presidential Election - General (2)-(5)
  • 48.12 - Ford/Carter Debates - General (1)-(3)
  • 48.121 - Ford/Carter Debates - 9/23/76

Box 65 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.122 - Ford/Carter Debates - 10/6/76
  • 48.123 - Ford/Carter Debates - 10/22/76
  • 48.124 - Dole/Mondale Debate
  • 48.2 - Democratic Candidates (1)-(3)
  • 48.21 - Bayh, Birch
  • 48.22 - Bentsen, Lloyd
  • 48.23 - Brown, Jerry (1)-(3)

Box 66 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.23 - Brown, Jerry (4)
  • 48.24 - Carey, Hugh
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Biography and Family (1)-(4)
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Presidential Campaign (1)-(4)

Box 67 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Presidential Campaign (5)
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Changes of Position on Issues
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Earlier Campaigns
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Governorship (1)-(3)
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Issues (1)-(6)

Box 68 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Issues (7)-(11)
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Miscellaneous (1)-(5)

Box 69 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Miscellaneous (6)-(11)
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Staff
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Group Support (1)-(4)
  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Ticket

Box 70 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.25 - Carter, Jimmy - Vice Presidential Search
  • 48.26 - Mondale, Walter (1)-(2)
  • 48.27 - Harris, Fred
  • 48.28 - Jackson, Henry (1)-(4)
  • 48.29 - Sanford, Terry
  • 48.30 - Wallace, George (1)

Box 71 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.30 - Wallace, George (2)-(4)
  • 48.31 - Udall, Morris (1)-(3)
  • 48.32 - Humphrey, Herbert (1)-(3)
  • 48.33 - McGovern, George

Box 72 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.34 - Muskie, Edmund S.
  • 48.35 - Walker, Dan
  • 48.36 - Kennedy, Edward (1)-(2)
  • 48.36 - Kennedy, Edward - Pre 9/23/75 "Non-candidacy" (1)-(4)
  • 48.37 - Bond, Julian
  • 48.38 - McCarthy, Eugene
  • 48.39 - Shapp, Milton
  • 48.391 - Byrd, Robert
  • 48.392 - Shriver, Sargent

Box 73 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.393 - Church, Frank
  • 48.394 - Glenn, John
  • 48.4 - House Races - 1976
  • 48.5 - Senate Races - 1976
  • 48.6 - Governorships - 1976
  • 48.7 - Republicans - Election Histories (1)-(5)

Box 74 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.71 - Reagan, Ronald (1)-(12)

Box 75 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.71 - Reagan, Ronald (13)
  • 48.712 - Schweiker, Richard S.
  • 48.72 - Baker, Howard
  • 48.73 - Percy, Charles
  • 48.74 - Rockefeller, Nelson
  • 48.75 - Richardson, Elliot
  • 48.76 - Connally, John
  • 48.77 - Mathias, Charles
  • 48.8 - Ford Presidential Campaign
    - General (1)-(4)

Box 76 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.8 - Ford Presidential Campaign
    - Family
    - Group Support (1)-(4)
    - Issues (1)-(5)
    - Miscellaneous (1)-(4)

Box 77 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.8 - Ford Presidential Campaign
    - Strategy (1)-(6)
    - Ticket (1)-(2)
  • 48.81 - Ford Presidential Campaign
    - Organization - Personnel (1)-(3)
  • 48.82 - Ford Presidential Campaign
    - Primaries (1)-(3)
  • 48.83 - Ford Presidential Campaign
    - Finances
  • 48.84 - Ford Presidential Campaign
    - Delegate Count

Box 78 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 48.85 - Ford Presidential Campaign
    - Delegate Search (1)-(2)
  • 49.1 - Polls - Presidential Popularity - Gallup
  • 49.1 - Polls - Presidential Popularity - Harris
  • 49.2 - Polls - Trial Heats
  • 49.21 - Polls - Gerald Ford vs. Various Candidates
  • 49.22 - Polls - Democratic Candidates
  • 49.5 - Polls - Domestic Policy Issues (1)-(5)
  • 49.6 - Polls - Foreign Policy Issues (1)

Box 79 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 50 - The President (1)-(2)
  • 50.2 - The President - Biography
  • 50.2 - The President - Biography -USS Monterey (1)-(2)
  • 50.3 - Betty Ford (1)-(5)

Box 80 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 50.4 - Ford Children (1)-(2)
  • 50.5 - Ford as a Congressman (1)-(5)
  • 50.51 - Ford Congressional Speeches - Log
  • 50.51 - Ford Congressional Speeches (1)-(2)

Box 81 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 50.51 - Ford Congressional Speeches (3)-(8)
  • 50.52 - Legislation File
  • 50.53 - Ford Congressional Voting Record
  • 50.6 - Ford as Vice President (1)-(2)
  • 50.6 - Ford as Vice President - Newspaper Clippings (1)

Box 82 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 50.6 - Ford as Vice President - Newspaper Clippings (2)-(5)
  • 50.6 - Ford as Vice President - Speeches - Log
  • 50.6 - Ford as Vice President - Speeches (1)-(6)

Box 83 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 50.6 - Ford as Vice President - Speeches (7)
  • 50.7 - Assassination Attempts
  • 51.1 - Transition - Nixon to Ford (1)-(5)
  • 51.1 - Transition - Ford to Carter (1)-(2)

Box 84 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 54 - Foreign Policies (1)-(3)
  • 56.2 - White House Children's Book
  • 59.2 - Ford Administration - First Year Evaluations (1)-(3)
  • 59.21 - Ford Administration - Second Year Evaluations
  • 59.22 - Ford Administration - First One Hundred Days
  • 59.3 - Editorial Endorsements
  • 59.4 - Summit Conferences
  • 61 - Presidential Vetoes (1)

Box 85 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 61 - Presidential Vetoes (2)-(10)

Box 86 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 62 - Travel - Statistical Records (1)-(5)
  • 62.1 - Camp David (1)-(4)
  • 62.2 - Vail (1)-(2)
  • 65 - Ford's Vice President (1)-(2)

Box 87 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 65 - Ford's Vice President (3)-(7)
  • 65 - Ford's Vice President - Newspaper Clippings (1)-(4)

Box 88 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 65.1 - Ford's Vice President - Rockefeller Nomination (1)-(4)
  • 65.2 - Rockefeller Hearings (1)-(4)
  • 65.2 - Rockefeller Hearings - Newspaper Clippings (1)-(2)

Box 89 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 65.2 - Rockefeller Hearings - Newspaper Clippings (3)-(6)
  • 65.3 - Nelson Rockefeller - Personal
  • 65.31 - Happy Rockefeller
  • 65.4 - Rockefeller Speeches (1)-(5)

Box 90 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 65.5 - Vice President and Presidential Politics
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Armstrong, Anne
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Baker, Howard
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Bush, George
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Connally, John
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Reagan/ Schweiker
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Rockefeller, Nelson
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Rumsfeld, Donald
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Scranton, William
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Simon, William
  • 65.6 - Vice Presidential Potentials - Weicker, Lowell
  • 65.7 - Dole, Robert (1)-(3)
  • 70 - Sports
  • 70.1 - Sports - Presidential Interest and Participation (1)-(2)
  • 70.2 - Olympics

Box 91 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 75 - Social Welfare (1)-(2)
  • 75.1 - Aging
  • 75.2 - Social Security
  • 75.3 - Medicare (1)-(3)
  • 75.4 - Medicaid
  • 75.5 - Health Insurance (1)-(3)

Box 92 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 75.6 - Abortion (1)-(2)
  • 75.7 - Population Problems - General (1)-(5)
  • 75.71 - Population Problems - U.S.
  • 75.72 - Population Problems - Other
  • 75.8 - Transfer Payments
  • 75.9 - Medical Care (1)

Box 93 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 75.9 - Medical Care (2)-(3)
  • 75.91 - Drugs
  • 76 - Child Welfare
  • 76.1 - Day Care
  • 76.2 - Juvenile Delinquency
  • 76.3 - Aid for Dependent Children
  • 76.4 - Child Health Care
  • 77.2 - Private Schools
  • 77.3 - Busing (1)-(5)

Box 94 - Research File (See also accretion in boxes 109-122)

  • 77.4 - Colleges and Universities
  • 77.5 - Vocational Education
  • 78 - Environment
  • 78.2 - Air Pollution (1)-(2)
  • 78.2 - Water Pollution
  • 78.3 - Environment - Legislation
  • 78.4 - Conservation
  • 78.5 - Environment - Growth
  • 81 - Human Interest
  • 90 - Religion

Box 95 - Research File - States

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California (1)-(4)

Box 96 - Research File - States

  • California (5)-(14)

Box 97 - Research File - States

  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida

Box 98 - Research File - States

  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois

Box 99 - Research File - States

  • Indiana
  • Iowa

Box 100 - Research File - States

  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland (1)

Box 101 - Research File - States

  • Maryland (2)-(3)
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota (1)

Box 102 - Research File - States

  • Minnesota (2)-(3)
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada

Box 103 - Research File - States

  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico

Box 104 - Research File - States

  • New York

Box 105 - Research File - States

  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma

Box 106 - Research File - States

  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee

Box 107 - Research File - States

  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont

Box 108 - Research File - States

  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Box 109 - Research File Accretion

  • 1.1 - Agriculture - United States
  • 1.2 - Agriculture - U.S.S.R
  • 1.3 - Agriculture - Third World
  • 2.1 - Art and Culture - United States
  • 5.1 - Economy - United States

Box 110 - Research File Accretion

  • 5.11 - Inflation

Box 111 - Research File Accretion

  • 5.11 - Inflation
  • 5.12 - Employment/Unemployment

Box 112 - Research File Accretion

  • 5.12 - Employment/Unemployment
  • 9.131 - Central Intelligence Agency
  • 9.14 - Office of Management and Budget
  • 9.15 - Domestic Council
  • 9.21 - Department of Agriculture
  • 9.22 - Department of Commerce
  • 9.23 - Department of Defense

Box 113 - Research File Accretion

  • 9.23 - Department of Defense
  • 9.231 - Navy
  • 9.24 - Department of Health, Education and Welfare

Box 114 - Research File Accretion

  • 9.25 - Department of Housing and Urban Development

Box 115 - Research File Accretion

  • 9.26 - Department of the Interior
  • 20.41 - Crime Rate
  • 20.44 - Organized Crime
  • 20.45 - Drug Related Crime

Box 116 - Research File Accretion

  • 20.5 - Law Enforcement
  • 20.52 - Courts/Sentencing
  • 20.54 - Prison, Corrections, Reform, Rehabilitation
  • 30.3 - Veterans Organizations
  • 35 - Defense
  • 35.42 - Mutual and Balanced Force Reductions
  • 35.6 - Nuclear Weapons
  • 36 - Peace Talks
  • 40 - Political Science
  • 48 - 1976 Elections
  • 49 - Polls

Box 117 - Research File Accretion

  • 49 - Polls
  • 50.1 - President - Personal

Box 118 - Research File Accretion

  • 50.2 - Biography
  • 50.6 - Ford as Vice President - Speeches

Box 119 - Research File Accretion

  • 52 - Appointments
  • 53 - Domestic
  • 53.1 - Awards to President
  • 55 - White House Staff

Box 120 - Research File Accretion

  • 56 - White House History
  • 56.1 - White House Mail
  • 57 - Relations with the Cabinet
  • 58 - Relations with Congress
  • 59 - Relations with the Press
  • 59.1 - Ford Interviews

Box 121 - Research File Accretion

  • 59.1 - Ford Interviews

Box 122 - Research File Accretion

  • 59.1 - Ford Interviews

Box 123 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • August 1974 - Action Memoranda (1)-(3)
  • August 1974 - Drafts (1)-(5)
  • August 16, 1974 - VFW Convention (1)-(4)
  • August 30, 1974 - Ohio State University (1)-(2)

Box 124 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • August 30, 1974 - Ohio State University (3)-(8)
  • September 1974 - Action Memoranda (1)-(3)
  • September 1974 - Drafts (1)-(3)

Box 125 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 1974 - Drafts (4)-(6)
  • September 4, 1974 - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (1)-(5)
  • September 9, 1974 - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (1)-(2)

Box 126 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 9, 1974 - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (3)
  • September 11, 1974 - Pinehurst, North Carolina (1)-(4)
  • September 18, 1974 - United Nations (1)-(2)
  • September 23, 1974 - World Energy Conference, Detroit, Michigan (1)-(2)
  • September 24, 1974 - Chiefs of Police
  • October 1974 - Action Memoranda (1)-(3)

Box 127 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 1974 - Action Memoranda (4)-(10)
  • October 1974 - Drafts (1)-(4)

Box 128 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 8, 1974 - Joint Session of Congress (1)-(3)
  • October 9, 1974 - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • October 10, 1974 - Detroit, Michigan
  • October 15, 1974 - Future Farmers (1)-(2)
  • October 16, 1974 - Kansas City, Missouri
  • October 19, 1974 - South Carolina
  • October 19, 1974 - North Carolina
  • October 21, 1974 - Trip to Mexico
  • October 22, 1974 - Oklahoma and Ohio
  • October 24, 1974 - Iowa and Illinois (1)-(2)

Box 129 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 29, 1974 - Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • October 31, 1974 - Los Angeles, California (1)-(2)
  • November 1974 - Action Memoranda (1)-(2)
  • November 1974 - Drafts (1)-(6)

Box 130 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • November 1974 – Drafts (7)
  • November 1, 1974 - Oregon
  • November 2, 1974 - Wichita, Kansas
  • November 14, 1974 - Nevada and Phoenix (1)-(6)

Box 131 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • November 18, 1974 - Message to Congress - Legislative Proposals (1)-(3)
  • November 18, 1974 - Japan (1)-(2)
  • November 1974 - Vladivostok, Russia (1)-(2)
  • December 1974 - Action Memoranda (1)-(5)

Box 132 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • December 1974 - Action Memoranda (6)-(8)
  • December 1974 - Drafts (1)-(6)

Box 133 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • December 3, 1975 - American Conference on Trade (1)-(2)
  • December 3, 1974 - American Conference on Trade (3)
  • December 15, 1974 - Martinique
  • January 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(5)

Box 134 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • January 1975 - Drafts (1)-(7)

Box 135 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • January 15, 1975 - State of the Union Message (1)-(6)

Box 136 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • January 22, 1975 - Conference Board Speech (1)-(2)
  • February 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(4)
  • February 1975 - Drafts (1)-(4)

Box 137 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • February 1975 - Drafts (5)-(7)
  • January-February 1975 - OIC
  • Speech, Atlanta (1)-(3)
  • February 10, 1975 - Houston/Kansas (1)-(2)

Box 138 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • February 10, 1975 - Houston/Kansas (3)-(6)
  • February 13, 1975 - New York City (1)-(3)
  • February 25-26, 1975 - Florida (1)-(2)

Box 139 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • March 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(4)
  • March 1975 - Drafts (1)-(5)

Box 140 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • March 1975 - Drafts (6)-(10)
  • March 17, 1975 - Notre Dame (1)-(4)

Box 141 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • March 17, 1975 - Notre Dame (3)-(7)
  • March 17, 1975 - Indiana (1)-(3)
  • April 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(4)
  • April 1975 - Drafts (1)-(3)

Box 142 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • April 1975 - Drafts (4)-(10)
  • April 3, 1975 - California Trip (1)-(2)
  • April 10, 1975 - State of the World Speech (1)-(2)

Box 143 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • April 15, 1975 - Daughters of the American Revolution (1)-(2)
  • April 18-19, 1975 - Massachusetts and New Hampshire (1)-(8)

Box 144 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • April 23, 1975 - New Orleans
  • April 25, 1975 - Yale University (1)

Box 145 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • April 25, 1975 - Yale University (2)-(4)
  • April 28, 1975 - Chamber of Commerce (1)-(4)
  • May 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(4)

Box 146 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • May 1975 - Drafts (1)-(10)

Box 147 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • May 3, 1975 - USS Nimitz (1)-(5)
  • May 18, 1975 - University of Pennsylvania

Box 148 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • May 20, 1975 - Mecklenburg, North Carolina (1)-(3)
  • May 28-June 3, 1975 - European Trip (1)-(3)
  • June 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(3)

Box 149 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • June 1975 - Drafts (1)-(9)

Box 150 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • June 1975 - Drafts (10)-(11)
  • June 4, 1975 - West Point (1)-(2)
  • July 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(5)
  • July 1975 - Drafts (1)-(2)

Box 151 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • July 1975 - Drafts (3)-(11)

Box 152 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • July 3, 1975 - E.P.A. Research Center, Cincinnati, Ohio (1)-(2)
  • July 3, 1975 - Cincinnati and Cleveland, Ohio (1)-(6)
  • July 10, 1975 - Uniformed Services University (Medical School), Bethesda, Maryland
  • July 11, 1975 - Walter Hagen Golf Tournament, Traverse City, Michigan

Box 153 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • July 11-13, 1975 - Chicago/Michigan Trip (1)-(5)
  • July 26-August 4, 1975 - Europe Trip (1)-(5)

Box 154 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • July 26-August 4, 1975 - Europe Trip (5)-(6)
  • August 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(3)
  • August 1975 - Drafts (1)-(2)
  • August 10, 1975 - President's Trips - Ft. Chaffe/St. Edward's Hospital
  • August 12-16, 1975 - Vail Symposium (1)-(5)

Box 155 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • August 17, 1975 - Peoria, Illinois (1)-(3)
  • August 18, 1975 - Iowa State Fair (1)-(4)

Box 156 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • August 19, 1975 - Minneapolis, Minnesota (1)-(4)
  • August 24, 1975 - Libby Dam, Montana
  • August 25, 1975 - Hardware Industry Conference (1)-(2)
  • August 25, 1975 - White House Conference (1)-(2)
  • August 30, 1975 - Augusta, Maine; Newport, Rhode Island (1)-(2)

Box 157 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(3)
  • September 1-15, 1975 -Drafts (1)-(4)
  • September 16-30, 1975 - Drafts (1)-(7)

Box 158 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 4, 1975 - Portland, Oregon (1)-(4)
  • September 4, 1975 - Seattle, Washington (1)-(4)

Box 159 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 5, 1975 - Sacramento, California (1)-(3)
  • September 11, 1975 - New Hampshire
  • September 12, 1975 - Missouri G.O.P. Fundraiser (1)-(2)
  • September 12, 1975 - Kansas City, Kansas (1)

Box 160 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 12, 1975 - Kansas City, Kansas (2)-(3)
  • September 12, 1975 - Baptist Convention (1)-(3)
  • September 12, 1975 - White House Field Conference - St. Louis, Missouri (1)-(2)
  • September 13, 1975 - Midland, Texas

Box 161 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 13, 1975 - Southern Methodist University - Dallas, Texas (1)-(3)
  • September 13, 1975 - Midland, Texas - Petroleum Museum (1)-(2)
  • September 13, 1975 - Dallas, Texas - G.O.P. Fundraiser
  • September 19, 1975 - Oklahoma State Fair (1)-(4)
  • September 20, 1975 - California - Pepperdine University (1)-(2)
  • September 21, 1975 - California - Stanford Law Dedication (1)

Box 162 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 21, 1975 - Stanford Law Dedication (2)
  • September 21, 1975 - Underwriters' Convention - California
  • September 22, 1975 - World Affairs Council - Los Angeles, California
  • September 22, 1975 - AFL/CIO - California
  • September 30, 1975 - Illinois G.O.P. (1)-(2)

Box 163 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 30, 1975 - J. Edgar Hoover (1)-(2)
  • October 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(3)
  • October 1975 - Drafts (1)-(6)

Box 164 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 2, 1975 - Hirohito
  • October 4, 1975 - South Carolina State Fair - Cancelled (1)-(4)
  • October 4, 1975 - Elkins, West Virginia

Box 165 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 4, 1975 - New Jersey G.O.P. (1)-(2)
  • October 7, 1975 - Kings Mountain, North Carolina (1)-(2)
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville, Tennessee (1)-(4)

Box 166 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 10, 1975 - Detroit, Michigan G.O.P. Fundraiser (1)-(5)
  • October 14, 1975 - Connecticut (1)-(2)
  • October 16, 1975 - Kentucky Fundraiser - Cancelled
  • October 20, 1975 - Bicentennial Tree Planting

Box 167 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 24, 1975 - Florida (1)-(2)
  • October 27, 1975 - Sadat (1)-(2)
  • October 29, 1975 - California (1)-(6)

Box 168 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 30, 1975 - Milwaukee, Wisconsin (1)-(2)
  • November 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(4)
  • November 1-15, 1975 - Drafts (1)-(3)

Box 169 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • November 16-30, 1975 - Drafts (1)-(3)
  • November 7, 1975 - Massachusetts (1)-(3)

Box 170 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • November 7, 1975 - Massachusetts (4)
  • November 11, 1975 - West Virginia (1)-(3)
  • November 12, 1975 -Swearing in of Dr. Boorstin - Library of Congress
  • November 14, 1975 - North Carolina Fundraiser - North Carolina Central University (1)-(2)
  • November 14, 1957 - G.O.P. Fundraiser - Raleigh, North Carolina

Box 171 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • November 14, 1975 - Atlanta, Georgia
  • November 14, 1975 - Atlanta, Georgia - Newspaper Clippings (1)-(2)
  • November 14-17, 1975 - Economic Summit (1)-(2)
  • November 14-17, 1975 - Economic Summit - Newspaper Clippings

Box 172 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • November 29, 1975 - Alaska and Far East Trip (1)-(4)
  • November 29, 1975 - Alaska and Far East Trip - Newspaper Clippings
  • December 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(2)

Box 173 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • December, 1975 - Drafts (1)-(3)
  • January 1975 - Action Memoranda (1)-(2)
  • January 1-15, 1976 - Drafts (1)

Box 174 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • January 1-15, 1976 - Drafts (2)
  • January 16-31, 1976 - Drafts (1)-(2)
  • January 5, 1976 - St. Louis, Missouri
  • January 31, 1976 - Dearborn, Michigan
  • January 31, 1976 - Williamsburg, Virginia (1)

Box 175 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • January 31, 1976 - Williamsburg, Virginia (2)
  • February 1976 - Action Memoranda
  • February 1976 - Drafts (1)-(3)

Box 176 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • February 6, 1976 - Northeastern State Conference (1)-(2)
  • February 7-8, 1976 - New Hampshire
  • February 13-14, 1976 - Florida (Orlando, Ft. Myers, St. Petersburg, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale) (1)-(3)

Box 177 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • February 13-14, 1976 - Florida (Orlando, Ft. Myers, St. Petersburg, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale) (4)-(6)
  • February 14, 1976 - Senior Citizens Speech - Florida
  • February 1976 - University of Massachusetts - Amherst, Massachusetts - Cancelled
  • February 18-20, 1976 - New Hampshire (1)

Box 178 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • February 18-20, 1976 - New Hampshire (2)
  • February 28, 1976 - Florida
  • February 28, 1976 - Florida Motorcade
  • March 1976 - Action Memoranda (1)-(2)
  • March 1976 - Drafts (1)-(2)
  • March 5, 1976 - Illinois Trip (1)

Box 179 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • March 5, 1976 - Illinois Trip (2)
  • March 9, 1976 - 57th National Convention of the Associated General Contractors of America (1)-(2)
  • March 9, 1976 - Veterans of Foreign Wars Congressional Award Dinner - Sheraton Park
  • March 11, 1976 - Illinois (1)-(3)

Box 180 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • March 11, 1976 - Illinois (4)-(5)
  • March 11, 1976 - Farm Group Speech - Rockford, Illinois
  • March 12, 1976 - Remarks Before Chamber of Commerce - Rockford, Illinois
  • March 13, 1976 - Wilkesboro High School - Wilkesboro, North Carolina
  • March 13, 1976 - North Carolina (1)-(2)
  • March 20, 1976 - Charlotte, North Carolina (1)-(2)
  • March 20, 1976 - Wisconsin

Box 181 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • March 26, 1976 - California (1)-(2)
  • March 27, 1976 - Wisconsin
  • April 1976 - Action Memoranda
  • April 1976 - Drafts (1)-(3)

Box 182 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • April 1976 - Drafts (4)-(7)
  • April 2, 1976 - Wisconsin (1)-(3)

Box 183 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • April 5, 1976 - American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association (AHEPA)
  • April 9-10, 1976 - Texas (1)-(2)
  • April 21, 1976 - Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) (1)-(2)
  • April 22-23, 1976 - Indiana (1)

Box 184 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • April 22-23, 1976 - Indiana (2)
  • April 23, 1976 - Atlanta, Georgia (1)-(3)
  • April 27-30, 1976 - Bossier City and Shreveport, Louisiana; Longview, Tyler, Ft. Worth, Houston, Conroe, Waco, Dallas, Lubbock, Abilene, Texas (1)-(3)

Box 185 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • April 27-30, 1976 - Bossier City and Shreveport, Louisiana; Longview, Tyler, Ft. Worth, Houston, Conroe, Waco, Dallas, Lubbock, Abilene, Texas (4)-(5)
  • May 1976 - Action Memoranda
  • May 1976 - Drafts (1)-(3)

Box 186 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • May 1976 - Drafts (4)
  • May 2-3, 1976 - Indianapolis and Ft. Wayne, Indiana
  • May 3, 1976 - Birmingham, Alabama (1)-(4)
  • May 7, 1976 - Omaha, Nebraska (1)

Box 187 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • May 7, 1976 - Omaha, Nebraska (2)-(3)
  • May 7-8, 1976 - Lincoln, Nebraska
  • May 8, 1976 - Independence, Missouri
  • May 12, 1976 - Michigan (1)-(2)
  • May 14, 1976 - Tennessee (1)

Box 188 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • May 14, 1976 - Tennessee (2)
  • May 14, 1976 - Kentucky
  • May 15-16, 1976 - Michigan (1)-(2)
  • May 15, 1976 - Saginaw, Michigan
  • May 15, 1976 - Kalamazoo, Michigan
  • May 15, 1976 - Niles, Michigan
  • May 15, 1976 - Lansing, Michigan
  • May 15, 1976 - Battle Creek, Michigan
  • May 17, 1976 - Arrival of Valery Giscard d'Estaing, President of France

Box 189 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • May 22-23, 1976 - Oregon (1)-(2)
  • May 22, 1976 - Medford, Oregon
  • May 22, 1976 - Portland, Oregon
  • May 24, 1976 - Nevada
  • May 24, 1976 - Las Vegas, Nevada
  • May 24-25, 1976 - California (1)-(2)

Box 190 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • May 24-25, 1976 - California (3)
  • June 1976 - Action Memoranda (1)-(3)
  • June 1976 - Drafts (1)-(4)

Box 191 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • June 2, 1976 - Dinner at Spanish Embassy with King Juan Carlos
  • June 6-7, 1976 - New Jersey and Ohio (1)-(3)
  • June 11, 1976 - Springfield, Missouri
  • June 15, 1976 - Norfolk, Virginia
  • June 18, 1976 - Iowa
  • June 22, 1976 - Indianapolis, Indiana (1)

Box 192 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • June 22, 1976 - Indianapolis, Indiana (2)
  • June 26-28, 1976 - Puerto Rico (1)-(2)
  • July 1976 - Action Memoranda
  • July 1976 - Drafts (1)-(3)

Box 193 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • July 1976 - Drafts (4)-(7)
  • July 1976 - Drafts - Newspaper Clippings
  • July 1-3, 1976 - Washington, D.C. (1)-(2)

Box 194 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • July 1-3, 1976 - Washington, D.C. (3)
  • July 4, 1976 - Operation Sail, New York
  • July 4, 1976 - Valley Forge and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • July 5, 1976 - Monticello, Charlottesville, Virginia
  • July 7-8, 1976 - Queen Elizabeth II Visit
  • July 10, 1976 - Queen Elizabeth II State Dinner - Newport, Rhode Island
  • July 10, 1976 - Olympic Send-Off (1)-(2)

Box 195 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • July 17, 1976 - Connecticut State Republican Convention - Hartford, Connecticut
  • July 30, 1976 - Mississippi
  • August 1976 - Action Memoranda
  • August 1976 - Drafts
  • September 1976 - Action Memoranda (1)-(3)

Box 196 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 1976 - Drafts (1)-(7)

Box 197 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • September 9, 1976 - B'nai B'rith
  • September 15, 1976 - University of Michigan - Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • September 24, 1976 - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • September 25, 1976 - Campaign: Southern States
  • September 27, 1976 - Miami, Florida

Box 198 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 1976 - Action Memoranda (1)-(2)
  • October 1976 - Drafts (1)-(4)

Box 199 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 1976 - Drafts (5)-(10)
  • October 4-9, 1976 - Pre Advance Reports: California, Oklahoma, Texas (1)

Box 200 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 4-9, 1976 - Pre Advance Reports: California, Oklahoma, Texas (2)
  • October 12-13, 1976 - New York and New Jersey (1)-(2)
  • October 15-16, 1976 - Iowa, Illinois, and Missouri (1)-(3)

Box 201 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • October 21, 1976 - Alfred E. Smith Dinner - New York City, New York
  • October 23-November 2, 1976 -Pre Advance Reports: Eleven Day Campaign Swing - Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and California
  • October 23-November 2, 1976 - Pre Advance Reports: Eleven Day Campaign Swing - Washington, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Illinois
  • October 23-November 2, 1976 - Pre Advance Reports: Eleven Day Campaign Swing - New Jersey and Pennsylvania
  • October 23-November 2, 1976 - Pre Advance Reports: Eleven Day Campaign Swing - Indiana, Ohio, Wisconsin, and Missouri
  • October 23-November 2, 1976 - Pre Advance Reports: Eleven Day Campaign Swing - Texas, Pennsylvania, and New York
  • October 23-November 2, 1976 - Pre Advance Reports: Eleven Day Campaign Swing - Ohio and Michigan

Box 202 - Draft Speeches and Statements Fact and Style Checking File

  • November-December 1976 - Action Memoranda and Drafts (1)-(4)
  • November 20-21. 1976 - Pre Advance Reports: Tarrytown, New York

Box 202 (Continued) - Administrative File

  • Administration
  • Correspondence
  • Information Retrieval Systems (1)

Box 203 - Administrative File

  • Information Retrieval Systems (2)
  • Library
  • Memos (1)
  • Memos (2)
  • States Visited and Not Visited by the President
  • Subscriptions
  • Volunteers