Robin B. Martin Papers

COLLECTION FINDING AID

ROBIN B. MARTIN PAPERS, (1969, 1973) 1974 - 1976

Vice-Presidential and Presidential Advanceman

CONTENTS

Summary Description | Biographical Information | Introduction | Series Descriptions | Container List

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection contains material documenting foreign and domestic travel planning for the Vice-President, President, and First Lady.

QUANTITY
3.9 linear feet (ca. 7,200 pages)

DONOR
Robin B. Martin (accession number 2014-NLF-010)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Robin Martin donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by John J. O’Connell, April 2015
[s:\bin\findaid\martin, robin b. - papers.doc]

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

Robin B. Martin

Feb. 12, 1949 - Born in Glen Head, New York

1967 72 - B.S. and M.S., Rennsselaer Polytechnic Institute

1972 - Campaign Manager, New York Committee to Re-elect the President

1972 74 - Executive Vice-President, Regional Broadcasters Group

Feb. – Sept. 1974 - Staff Assistant, Vice-Presidential Advance Office

Sept. 1974 – Feb. 1976 - Staff Assistant, White House Advance Office

1978 – 2012 - President and Chief Executive Officer, Deer River Group

INTRODUCTION

Robin B. Martin came to work for Vice President Ford in February 1974, from his position as Executive Vice President of Regional Broadcasters Group. He served as a Staff Assistant in the Vice Presidential Advance Office until August 1974, when he was appointed to a similar position in the White House Advance Office, reporting directly to Advance Office Director Byron M. (Red) Cavaney. Mr. Martin held this position until February 1976.

In both posts, Mr. Martin primarily served as planner and coordinator for several facets of foreign and domestic travel. His work focused on logistical planning for trips, including accommodations and transportation, scheduling travel and events, selecting locations, managing press arrangements, supporting White House staff, and training advance volunteers. Mr. Martin also acted as the primary contact and coordinator between the White House, U.S. Secret Service, and local communities to be visited.

The Robin B. Martin Papers contain materials on domestic trips, foreign trips, and routine administrative matters. The domestic trip materials document Vice President, and later President, Gerald Ford’s U.S. travel and associated activities. A small amount of material relates to trips by Vice President Spiro Agnew. While on domestic travel, Ford attended a variety of events including fundraising dinners and luncheons, conferences, festivals, and political rallies.

The foreign trip materials document Presidential trips overseas and include State Department briefing books for countries visited, and cables discussing scheduling, security, and protocol concerns. The files include materials related to President Ford’s travels to Asia and meetings with leaders from China, Japan, Philippines, and Indonesia. There are also materials on President Ford’s travels to Western and Eastern Europe, including material on the Helsinki Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe.

The administrative materials include Advance Office procedural manuals, Presidential schedules, Advance staff assignment memorandums and considerable correspondence with prospective advancemen.

Related Materials (March 2015)
Related materials are located in a number of other collections. For example, the “TR”: Trip category in the White House Central Files contains correspondence, schedules, and summaries for foreign and domestic trips; the National Security Advisor Security Files contain substantial material pertaining to foreign trips; the Peter Sorum Papers provide details into multiple domestic trips and the Europe trip of July and August 1975; and the Jerry H. Jones Files provide material on 1976 campaign trips. In addition, the personal papers of Byron M. (Red) Cavaney and Frank Ursomarso, and the White House office files of Warren Hendriks, William Nicholson and Warren Rustand, and Terrence O’Donnell provide additional insight into advance and scheduling operation.

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Domestic Trips File, (1969, 1973) 1974-75. (Boxes 1‑3, 1.2 linear feet)
This series contains schedules, speeches, diagrams, calendars of Presidential activities, and background notes related to domestic trips taken by the Vice President and President.

Arranged chronologically by trip date.

View container list for this series

Foreign Trips File, 1974‑76. (Boxes 3‑5, 1.2 linear feet)
This series contains telegrams, embassy contact lists, diagrams, airplane manifests, fact books, fact sheets, background notes, and biographies related to Presidential foreign trips.

Arranged chronologically by trip date.

View container list for this series

Administrative File, 1973‑76. (Boxes 6‑9, 1.5 linear feet)
This series contains letters, memoranda, newsletters, diagrams, calendars, schedules, trip checklists, telephone listings, and Advance office handbooks that document Advanceman roles and responsibilities.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Domestic Trips File

5/8/73 Charlottesville, Virginia
5/31/73 Cleveland, Ohio
6/11/73 St. Louis, Missouri
1/12/74 Little Rock, Arkansas
2/15/74 Omaha, Nebraska
2/18/74 Chattanooga, Tennessee
2/20/74 Cincinnati, Ohio
2/24/74 New York, New York
3/1/74 Phoenix, Arizona
3/4 - 5/74 Denver, Colorado
3/4/74 New York, New York
3/8/74 Tampa, Florida
3/8/74 Miami, Florida
3/9/74 New York, New York
3/11/74 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
3/11/74 Boston, Massachusetts
3/14 - 15/74 Chicago, Illinois
3/15 - 18/74 Charleston, South Carolina
3/18/74 Maryland
3/23/74 Hilburn, New Jersey
3/30/74 Chicago, Illinois
3/30/74 Clearwater, Florida
4/4/74 Cincinnati, Ohio
4/4 - 5/74 Denver, Colorado
4/9 - 10/74 Michigan
4/13 - 21/74 Kansas; California
4/22 - 23/74 New York, New York
4/23/74 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
4/26/74 White Sulphur Springs, Virginia
4/26/74 Upper Marlboro, Maryland
4/27/74 Wichita Falls, Texas
4/27/74 Tulsa, Oklahoma
5/1/74 Charlotte, North Carolina
5/3/74 Columbia, South Carolina
5/3/7 4 Ann Arbor, Michigan
5/9/74 Charleston, Illinois
5/10/74 Buffalo, New York
5/11/74 Dallas, Texas
5/16/74 Honolulu, Hawaii
7/6 - 7/74 Dallas, Texas
7/16/74 Washington, D.C.
7/18 - 19/74 Grand Rapids, Michigan
7/19 - 22/74 Roanoke and Hot Springs, Virginia
7/25/74 Muncie, Indiana
7/26/74 Chicago, Illinois
7/27/74 Canton, Ohio
7/29 - 31/74 San Francisco, California; Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada; San Diego, California
7/31/74 Worcester, Massachusetts
8/3/74 Starkville-Jackson, Mississippi
8/3 - 8/12/74 New Orleans, Louisiana; Los Angeles and Monterey, California
8/19/74 Chicago, Illinois
8/21/74 Washington, D.C.
8/30/74 Columbus, Ohio
8/9/74 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
9/11/74 Pinehurst, North Carolina
9/23/74 Detroit, Michigan
10/9/74 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
10/10/74 Detroit, Michigan
10/15 - 16/74 Missouri; South Dakota; Nebraska; Indiana

Box 2 - Domestic Trips File

10/19/74 South Carolina; North Carolina; Kentucky
10/21 - 22/74 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; Cleveland, Ohio
10/24/74 Des Moines, Iowa; Melvin and Chicago, Illinois
10/31 - 11/2/74 Sioux City, Iowa; Los Angeles and Fresno, California; Portland, Oregon; Salt Lake City, Utah; Grand Junction, Colorado; Wichita, Kansas
11/3/74 Washington, D.C.
12/3/74 Washington, D.C.
12/10/74 New York, New York
1/9/75 Washington, D.C.
11/11/75 Washington D.C.
1/14/75 Washington, D.C.
1/18/75 Washington, D.C.
1/22/75 Washington, D.C.
1/22/75 Washington, D.C.
1/24/75 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1/26/75 Washington D.C. (1)
1/26/75 Washington D.C. (2)
1/26/75 Washington, D.C.
1/28/75 Washington, D.C.
2/1/75 Washington, D.C.
2/3 - 4/75 Atlanta, Georgia
2/10 - 11/75 Houston, Texas; Topeka, Kansas
2/13/75 Washington, D.C.
2/13/75 New York, New York (1)
2/13/75 New York, New York (2)
2/14/75 Washington, D.C.
2/17/75 Alexandria, Virginia
2/18/75 Washington, D.C.
2/25 - 26/75 Florida
3/17/75 South Bend, Indiana
3/29 - 4/6/75 Palm Springs, California (1)
3/29 - 4/6/75 Palm Springs, California (2)
4/4/75 San Francisco, California
4/23/75 New Orleans, Louisiana
5/20/75 Charlotte, North Carolina
5/24/75 Washington, D.C.
6/4/75 West Point, New York
6/14/75 Fort Benning, Georgia (1)
6/14/75 Fort Benning, Georgia (2)
6/14/75 Fort Benning, Georgia (3)
7/3/75 Cincinnati and Cleveland, Ohio
7/4/75 Baltimore, Maryland
7/11 - 13/75 Illinois and Michigan
7/14/75 Washington, D.C.
7/15/75 Washington, D.C.
7/15/75 Washington, D.C.
7/17/75 Washington, D.C.
7/23/75 Washington, D.C.

Box 3 - Domestic Trips File

8/10 - 25/75 Fort Smith, Arkansas; Vail and Rifle, Colorado; Des Moines, Iowa; Minneapolis, Minnesota; Peoria, Illinois; Libby Dam, Montana; Chicago, Illinois; Milwaukee, Wisconsin (1)
8/10 - 25/75 Fort Smith, Arkansas; Vail and Rifle, Colorado; Des Moines, Iowa; Minneapolis, Minnesota; Peoria, Illinois; Libby Dam, Montana; Chicago, Illinois; Milwaukee, Wisconsin (2)
8/10 - 25/75 Fort Smith, Arkansas; Vail and Rifle, Colorado; Des Moines, Iowa;Minneapolis, Minnesota; Peoria, Illinois; Libby Dam, Montana; Chicago, Illinois; Milwaukee, Wisconsin (3)
8/30/1975 Augusta and Portland, Maine; Newport, Rhode Island
9/4 - 5/75 Seattle, Washington; Portland, Oregon; Sacramento, California (1)
9/4 - 5/75 Seattle, Washington; Portland, Oregon; Sacramento, California (2)
9/11/75 New Hampshire
9/12 - 13/75 Missouri; Kansas; Texas
9/19 - 22/75 Oklahoma; California
9/30 - 10/1/75 Chicago, Illinois; Omaha, Nebraska
10/4/1975 Elkins, West Virginia
10/7/1975 Knoxville, Tennessee
10/9/1975 Washington, D.C.
10/10/1975 Detroit, Michigan
10/14/1975 Hartford, Connecticut
10/17/1975 Washington, D.C.
10/20/1975 Washington, D.C.
10/22/1975 Washington, D.C.
10/24/1975 Columbia, South Carolina; Gainesville, Florida
10/24/1975 Dothan, Alabama
10/27/75 Arlington, Virginia
11/2/75 Jacksonville, Florida
11/6 - 7/75 New York, New York
11/7/75 Springfield and Boston, Massachusetts
11/11/75 Charleston, West Virginia
11/19/75 Washington, D.C.
1/5/76 St. Louis, Missouri
1/31/76 Dearborn, Michigan; Williamsburg, Virginia

Box 3 (Continued) - Foreign Trips File

7/31 - 8/1/69 New Delhi, India
10/21/74 Mexico
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Communications
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Diagrams
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Motorcades
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan Phone Numbers
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Fact Book
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, General Information
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Contacts for Advance Party - Embassy Task Force

Box 4 - Foreign Trips File

11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Contacts for Advance Party - Counterpart Meetings
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Contacts for Advance Party - Prime Minister's Office
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Contacts for Advance Party - Foreign Office and Imperial Household
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Contacts for Advance Party - Security
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Contacts for Advance Party - Administrative Logistics
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Contacts for Advance Party - Press Relations
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Consular
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Schedule (1)
11/18 - 21/74 Tokyo, Japan, Schedule (2)
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Schedule (1)
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Schedule (2)
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Manifests
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Motorcade Flow Chart
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Helicopter Flow Chart
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Diagrams
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, General Info
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Schedule
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Mrs. Ford
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Map; Fact Sheets - France
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Background Notes
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, French Officials
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, U.S. party
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Presidential Travel
12/14 - 16/74 Martinique, Correspondence
5/28 - 6/3/75 Belgium; Spain; Austria; Italy; The Vatican (1)
5/28 - 6/3/75 Belgium; Spain; Austria; Italy; The Vatican (2)
5/28 - 6/3/75 Belgium; Spain; Austria; Italy; The Vatican (3)
7/26 - 8/4/75 Federal Republic of Germany; Poland; Finland; Romania; Yugoslavia (1)
7/26 - 8/4/75 Federal Republic of Germany; Poland; Finland; Romania; Yugoslavia (2)
7/26 - 8/4/75 Federal Republic of Germany; Poland; Finland; Romania; Yugoslavia(3)
7/26 - 8/4/75 Federal Republic of Germany; Poland; Finland; Romania; Yugoslavia(4)
7/26 - 8/4/75 Federal Republic of Germany; Poland; Finland; Romania; Yugoslavia(5)
7/26 - 8/4/75 Federal Republic of Germany; Poland; Finland; Romania; Yugoslavia(6)
7/26 - 8/4/75 Federal Republic of Germany; Poland; Finland; Romania; Yugoslavia(7)
7/30 - 8/1/75 Helsinki, Finland, Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe

Box 5 - Foreign Trips File

11/14 - 17/75 Paris, France (1)
11/14 - 17/75 Paris, France (2)
11/14 - 17/75 Paris, France (3)
11/29 - 12/8/75 Pacific Basin (1)
11/29 - 12/8/75 Pacific Basin (2)
11/29 - 12/8/75 Pacific Basin (3)
11/29 - 12/8/75 Pacific Basin (4)
11/29 - 12/8/75 Pacific Basin (5)
11/29 - 12/8/75 Pacific Basin (6)
11/29 - 12/8/75 Pacific Basin (7)
11/29 - 12/8/75 Pacific Basin (8)

Box 6 - Administrative File

Advance Assignments and Pre-Advance Schedules (1)
Advance Assignments and Pre-Advance Schedules (2)
Advanceman's Handbook
Advanceman's Newsletter (1)
Advanceman's Newsletter (2)
Advanceman's Newsletter (3)
Advanceman's Newsletter (4)
Advanceman's Newsletter (5)
Alphabetical List of Members of Republican National Committee
Correspondence Outgoing 1973 - 1975 (A - F)
Correspondence Outgoing 1973 - 1975 (G - L)
Correspondence Outgoing 1973 - 1975 (M - R)
Correspondence Outgoing 1973 - 1975 (S - Z)
Correspondence Incoming 1973 - 1974 (A - F)
Correspondence Incoming 1973 - 1974 (G - L)
Correspondence Incoming 1973 - 1974 (M - P)
Correspondence Incoming 1973 - 1974 (R - S)
Correspondence Incoming 1973 - 1974 (W - Z)
Correspondence Incoming 1973 - 1974 (Misc.)

Box 7 - Administrative File

Memoranda 9/27/73 - 2/11/74
Memoranda 2/19/74 -5/15/74
Memoranda 5/30/74 - 8/1/74
Memoranda 8/5/74 - 1/27/75
Memoranda 2/10/75 - 6/18/75
Memoranda 6/20/75 - 9/10/75
Memoranda 9/15/75 - 12/18/75
Memoranda Undated

Box 8 - Administrative File

President's Schedule 8/9/74 - 8/16/74
President's Schedule 8/17/74 - 8/24/74
President's Schedule 8/26/74 - 8/31/74
President's Schedule 9/3/74 - 9/7/74
President's Schedule 9/9/74 - 9/15/74
President's Schedule 9/16/74 - 9/21/74
President's Schedule 9/23/74 - 9/28/74
President's Schedule 9/30/74 - 10/6/74
President's Schedule 10/7/74 - 10/12/74
President's Schedule 10/14/74 - 10/17/74
President's Schedule 10/23/74 - 10/25/74
President's Schedule 10/28/74 - 10/31/74
President's Schedule 11/4/74 - 11/8/74
President's Schedule 11/13/74 - 12/1/74
President's Schedule 12/2/74 - 12/11/74
President's Schedule 12/18/74 - 12/21/74
President's Schedule 1/3/75 - 1/9/75
President's Schedule 4/9/75 - 7/11/75
President's Schedule 7/14/75 - 7/19/75
President's Schedule 7/21/75 - 7/26/75
President's Schedule 8/26/75 - 9/11/75
President's Schedule 9/15/75 - 9/19/75
President's Schedule 9/24/75 - 10/11/75
President's Schedule 10/16/75 - 12/9/75
Office of Military Assistant to the President - Duty Roster 11/74 - 12/75
Form Letters
First Family Manual #6
International Advance Handbook
Manual for Advance Representatives of Richard Nixon (1)
Manual for Advance Representatives of Richard Nixon (2)
Manual for Advance Representatives of Richard Nixon (3)
Manual for Advance Representatives of Richard Nixon (4)
Manual for Advance Representatives of Richard Nixon (5)
Manual for Advance Representatives of Richard Nixon (6)
Manual for Advance Representatives of Richard Nixon (7)
Planning Schedule 9/74 - 2/26
Presidential Advancemen
Republican State Chairmen

Box 9 - Administrative File

Trip Checklists (1)
Trip Checklists (2)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (1)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (2)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (3)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (4)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (5)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (6)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (7)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (8)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (9)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (10)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (11)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (12)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (13)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (14)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (15)
Vice Presidential Advanceman's Manual (16)
Weekly Schedule 1/75 - 1/76
White House Office Handbook (1)
White House Office Handbook (2)
White House Office Handbook (3)
White House Office Handbook (4)
White House Telephone Listings (1)
White House Telephone Listings (2)
White House Telephone Listings (3)