COLLECTION FINDING AID



PATRICIA LINDH and JEANNE HOLM FILES, 1974-77

Special Assistants to the President for Women
Office of Public Liaison




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

The collection documents Lindh's and Holm's liaison with women's groups and their advocacy within the White House on issues of special interest to women. It includes material accumulated by presidential Counsellor Anne Armstrong and Office of Women's Programs Director Karen Keesling.

QUANTITY
20.8 linear feet (ca. 41,600 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-115)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Nancy Mirshah, March 1989
[s:\bin\findaid\lindh, patricia and holm, jeanne - files.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Patricia Sullivan Lindh


1928 - Born, Toledo, Ohio

1946-50 - B.A., Trinity College

1950-55 - Secretary, personnel consultant and adoption case worker in Chicago

1956 - Teacher, Singapore American School

1957 - Instructor, Nanyang University, Singapore

1957-62 - Editor, Singapore American newspaper

1970-74 - Vice-Chairwoman, Republican Party of Louisiana

1974 - Republican National Committeewoman, Louisiana

1974 - Special Assistant to Counsellor Anne M. Armstrong, The White House

1974-76 - Special Assistant to the President, The White House

1976-77 - Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs

1978-93 Vice-President and Director of Corporate Communications, Bank of America, Los Angeles

2004 - Died, San Diego, California



Jeanne Marjorie Holm


1921 - Born, Portland, Oregon

1940-42 -Silversmith and radio assembler, Portland, Oregon

1942-46 - Captain, Women's Army Corps

1946-48 - Attended Lewis and Clark College

1948-49 - Women's Army Corps

1949-75 - Officer, U.S. Air Force

1952 - Attended Air University, Maxwell AFB

1956-57 - B.A., Lewis and Clark College

1957-61 - Chief of Manpower and Management, Headquarters of Allied Air Forces in Southern Europe, Naples

1961-65 - Congressional liaison officer, Directorate of Manpower and Organization, U.S. Air Force Headquarters

1965-73 - Director, Women in the Air Force

1973-75 - Major General and Director, Air Force Personnel Council, Office of U.S.A.F. Assistant Secretary for Manpower

1975-76 - Consultant, Defense Manpower Commission

1976-77 - Special Assistant to the President for Women, The White House

1979-? - Under Secretary of the Air Force

2010 - Died, Annapolis, Maryland



Karen Ruth Keesling


1946 - Born, Wichita, Kansas

1968, 1970 - B.A., M.A., Arizona State University; Executive Director of Intercollegiate Association of Women Students

1971-72 - Assistant Dean of Women, University of Kansas; Adviser to the University of Kansas Commission on the Status of Women, Member of University Human Relations Committee, Administrative Assistant for the Affirmative Action Board

1972 - Administrative Assistant, Committee to ReElect the President

1972-74 - Administrative Staff Assistant, Department of Health, Education and Welfare; Executive Secretary of the Secretary's Advisory Committee on the Rights and Responsibilities of Women, Member Citizen's Advisory Council on the Status of Women and the Advisory Committee on the Economic Role of Women

1974-76 - Deputy to Special Assistant to the President for Women, The White House

1974-75 - Director, Office of Women's Programs, The White House

1976 - Director, Office of Women's Affairs, The White House

1981-89 - United States Department of the Air Force, Deputy for Equal Opportunity and Director of Equal Employment Opportunity (1981-82); Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force (Manpower Resources and Military Personnel) (1982-83); Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Manpower, Reserve Affairs, and Installations (1983-87); Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Readiness Support (1987-89); Assistant Secretary of the Air Force (Manpower & Reserve Affairs)(1988-89)


INTRODUCTION

The Special Assistant to the President for Women advised the President on women's issues, handled White House liaison with women's organizations and oversaw the work of the Office of Women's Programs (OWP) headed by Karen Keesling. Presidential Counsellor Anne Armstrong created the small office in the Nixon White House in February 1973 and brought it into the Ford administration. The office provided liaison between the President and women as a special interest group, encouraged recruitment of women for top-level government positions and initiated and assisted in the development of programs, policies, legislation and regulations supporting women's civil rights (see Appendix A). In addition, the office sponsored a number of meetings attended by Mrs. Ford and occasionally sent her briefings concerning women's issues.

When Counsellor Armstrong resigned in December 1974, the OWP was transferred to the Office of Public Liaison. Patricia Lindh, Armstrong's assistant, was appointed to the new position of Special Assistant to the President for Women and headed the office during the United Nations' International Women's Year, 1975. Retired Major General Jeanne Holm succeeded Lindh when she resigned in March 1976.

The Lindh/Holm collection contains material from Armstrong, Lindh, Holm and Keesling from throughout the administration. Although the leadership changed, the purpose and substance of the office remained the same with only minor differences in style.

The bulk of the collection is derived from liaison activities with over 300 women's organizations, agency women's groups and program units, advisory committees on women and women appointees. Topics include public policy, legislation and regulation of women's civil rights in the government and the economy.

One series is devoted entirely to the planning of White House meetings, some of which were attended by President or Mrs. Ford, in which women leaders exchanged views with administration officials. These were part of the "Tuesday" and "Wednesday" meeting series organized by all White House Public Liaison Office units. Several meetings generated follow-up meetings hosted by, for example, the Small Business Administration and the Department of Labor. Other meetings sought priorities for the OWP agenda and candidates for presidential appointment.

The files also contain material related to OWP outreach activities, including attendance at conventions, speeches and solicitation of organization background and printed materials.

The OWP regularly provided the President and the White House staff with advice on legislation, regulations, proclamations and executive orders. Many documents were routinely staffed to the OWP for comment and review, as were large amounts of informational material. Substantial amounts of material are present related to sex and credit discrimination, affirmative action, education and child care.

Additionally, the Office's role in overseeing national activities for International Women's Year provided interesting material related to its origin in 1972, and Armstrong's and Lindh's efforts in securing an executive order and agency funding for a National Commission to Observe International Women's Year. Files on the United Nations' International Conference in Mexico City, the U.S. delegation's role and efforts to begin a 10 year World Plan of Action also appear.

Related Materials (March 1989)
Related materials are in the files of the First Lady's Press Secretary Sheila Weidenfeld, in White House Central Files categories FG 399 (National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year), HU 2-5 (Human Rights - Women), PP 5-1 (Mrs. Ford), WE 1 (Children), WE 1-1 (Child Welfare Services), WE 3 (Family Planning), WE 7 (Social Security), in the routine files of Counsellor Anne Armstrong and First Lady's Director of Correspondence Elizabeth O'Neill, and in the unprocessed papers of Mrs. Ford and files of William J. Baroody.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Meetings File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1-5, 2.0 linear feet)
Minutes (occasional, 1974 only), correspondence, memoranda, briefing papers, talking points, schedule proposals, draft presidential remarks and proclamations, agendas, speeches, Q's and A's, background materials, newsclips, lists, notes. Topics include proclamation ceremonies, Tuesday and Wednesday meeting in the White House and meetings with the President on subjects of interest to women.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

General Subject File, 1970-76.  (Boxes 6-16, 4.4 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, bills, regulations, transcripts, press releases and printed materials from private and government organizations. Topics include abortion, child care, ERA, sex discrimination in employment, education, social security, credit and the enforcement and legislation thereof.

Arranged alphabetically by subject and thereunder by type of material.

View container list for this series

Jeanne Holm Speeches, Apr.-Dec. 1976.  (Box 17, 0.4 linear feet)
Copies of speeches given to women's organizations.

Arranged chronologically

View container list for this series

Karen Keesling Speeches, 1974-76.  (Boxes 18-20, 1.2 linear feet)
Correspondence, speeches, schedules, printed material, notes, lists, maps, travel requests related to speeches given to women's organizations.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Administration Statements on Women's Issues, 1974-77.  (Boxes 21-22, 0.8 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, briefing papers, Q's and A's, press releases, proclamations, background and printed material. Topics include State of the Union inserts, Women's Equality Day Proclamations and Mrs. Ford's views on women's issues.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

International Women's Year Conference, Mexico City, June-July, 1975.  (Boxes 23-25, 1.2 linear feet)
Correspondence, reports, background materials, agenda items, draft resolutions and reports, statements, U.S. position book, an international bibliography, newsclips and press releases. Topics include proceedings of the Conference, U.S. resolutions, the adjacent Tribune Conference and related events.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

National Commission for International Women's Year, 1974-76.  (Boxes 26-29, 1.6 linear feet)
Correspondence and memoranda, draft executive orders, budget estimates, agendas, committee reports, papers, proposals, progress reports, background material, speeches, press releases, newsletters, printed material, lists and resumes. Topics include the goals, staffing, funding and meetings of the Commission and the U.S. Center for International Women's Year.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Women's Organizations File, 1974-76. (Boxes 30-39, 4.0 linear feet)
Correspondence, press releases, newsletters, printed material and membership lists submitted by national organizations concerning their views on women's issues and related national policy.

Arranged alphabetically by title of organization.

View container list for this series

Federal Government Reference File, 1972-76.  (Boxes 40-45, 2.4 linear feet)
Correspondence and memoranda, guidelines, reports, studies, draft proposals and resolutions, agendas, speeches, minutes, notes, newclips, newsletters and press releases, printed materials and publications. Topics include regulation of public law in the federal workplace, administration policy on women's civil rights, departmental plans and events for International Women's Year, and international conferences on issues of interest to women.

Arranged alphabetically by department.

View container list for this series

Chronological File, 1974-77. (Boxes 46-52, 2.8 linear feet)
Correspondence and memoranda, option and briefing papers, and schedule proposals from Armstrong, Lindh, Holm and Keesling. Topics include program planning, outreach activities, and the administration's view on ERA.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Meetings File

  • 8/26/74 - Women's Equality Day Signing Ceremony
  • 8/29/74 - Women Appointees
  • 9/4/74 - Women Appointees
  • 9/6/74 - Women's Organizations Leaders
  • 9/74 - Economic Summit - Conference on Inflation
  • 10/10/74 - Women's Advisory Committee
  • 10/21/74 - Counsellor Armstrong with Madame Francoise Giroud of France
  • 10/30/74 - Barbara Hutchison with President
  • 11/20/74 - Economics Briefing for Women's Organizations Leaders with Mrs. Ford
  • 12/3/74 - Outstanding Young Women of America with President
  • 12/12/74 - Top-Level Women in Government
  • 1/9/75 - International Women's Year Executive Order Signing Ceremony
  • 1/14/75 - Tuesday Meeting - Women's Education

Box 2 - Meetings File

  • 1/20/75 - State of the Union Briefing for Women's Organizations Leaders
  • 2/5/75 - Wednesday Meeting - Women in Business
  • 2/12/75 - Wednesday Meeting - Home Economists in Business
  • 3/25/75 - Tuesday Meeting - Equal Employment Opportunity with Vice President
  • 3/25/75 - Women Appointees with Pat Lindh
  • 4/14/75 - International Women's Year Commission - Reception with President and Mrs. Ford
  • 4/29/75 - Civic Organizations Leaders with the President
  • 5/5/75 - National Forest Products Association Wives
  • 5/6/75 - Women's Federal Advisory Committee with Mrs. Ford
  • 5/12/75 - American Newspaper Women's IWY Awardees
  • 5/13/75 - International Women Lawyers
  • 7/14/75 - International Women's Year Conference
  • 7/29/75 - Tuesday Meeting - Child Care
  • 7/30/75 - American Federation of Government Employees

Box 3 - Meetings File

  • 8/12/75 - Tuesday Meeting - Employment of the Handicapped
  • 9/12/75 - National Association of Commissions for Women
  • 9/17/75 - President's Commission on Personnel Interchange
  • 9/23/75 - Junior League Briefing
  • 11/18/75 - American Nurses Association Briefing
  • 11/19/75 - Ten Outstanding Young Women of America
  • 2/17/76 - Tuesday Meeting - Access America - Barriers to the Handicapped
  • 3/1/76 - International Management and Development Institute Wives

Box 4 - Meetings File

  • 3/3/76 - Women and Business (1)-(3)
  • 3/4/76 - National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs
  • 3/9/76 - B'nai B'rith Women
  • 4/20/76 - Second Women and Business Meeting at SBA
  • 4/23/76 - Citizen's Advisory Council on the Status of Women
  • 4/26/76 - Women Appointees and Top Career Women
  • 5/27/76 - Women's Organization Leaders re Single-Sex Membership Organizations

Box 5 - Meetings File

  • 7/1/76 - International Women's Year Ceremony (1)-(3)
  • 9/7/76 - Child Care Bill Signing with President and Mrs. Ford
  • 9/17/76 - National Federation of Republican Women Board
  • 9/20/76 - Women in Business - Contracting and Procurement Conference
  • 9/24/76 - Black Woman's Agenda Conference, with Mrs. Ford
  • 11/16/76 - Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Service
  • 11/16/76 - Outstanding Young Women of America
  • 1/11/77 - National Women's Party

Box 6 - General Subject File

  • Abortion - General (1)-(3)
  • Abortion - Printed Material
  • Abortion - Report to HEW Secretary's Advisory Committee on the Rights and Responsibilities of Women (1)-(3)
  • Affirmative Action
  • Business, Women in (1)-(2)

Box 7 - General Subject File

  • Business, Women in (3)-(5)
  • CETA Act of 1973
  • Campaign of 1976
    - Campaign Issues Book on Women's Issues (1)-(2)
    - President Ford Committee (1)-(2)
    - Questionnaires - General
    - Questionnaires - Printed Material
    - Republican Platform - Women's Concerns
    - White House Briefing for Spouses of Presidential Spokespersons, July 29, 1976
    - "Women and the Republican Party" (Convention Handout)

Box 8 - General Subject File

  • Child Care
    - General (1)-(2)
    - HEW Conference on Child Care and the Working Woman, June 12-13, 1975
    - Printed Material
    - Testimony of Secretary Weinberger on the Child and Family Services Act of 1975
  • Civil Rights Attorneys' Fees
  • Credit Discrimination - General (1)-(3)
  • Credit Discrimination - Printed Material (1)-(2)

Box 9 - General Subject File

  • Earnings Gap (1)-(2)
  • Employment and Economic Issues of Low-Income Women
  • Employment in Federally-Funded Work Relief Programs
  • Equal Rights Amendment - General (1)-(3)
  • Equal Rights Amendment - Printed Material (1)-(4)
  • Fair Labor Standards Act of 1974 - Domestics
  • Federal Property Act

Box 10 - General Subject File

  • Foreign Aid Act (1974), Percy Amendment to - General (1)-(2)
  • Foreign Aid Act (1974), Percy Amendment to - Report of the Working Committee
  • HEW Data Collection
  • HEW and Department of Labor Lawsuit by Women's Organizations Against
  • Homeless Women - House of Ruth
  • Housing
  • Inheritance Tax (1)-(2)
  • Invitations, Speaking, for Jeanne M. Holm
  • Legislation - General
  • Mailing Lists (1)-(2)

Box 11 - General Subject File

  • Mailing Lists (3)-(4)
  • Mailings - Memoranda and Form Letters
  • Military and Women - General
  • Military and Women - Printed Material
  • Minimum Wage for Domestics
  • National Center for Women
  • National Health Insurance Plan
  • National Women's Conference (International Women's Year, 1976) (1)-(3)

Box 12 - General Subject File

  • Office of Federal Contract Compliance Guidelines
  • Op-Ed Page Article by Jeanne M. Holm
  • Part-time Federal Employment
  • Pensions (1)-(2)
  • Political Rights Convention
  • Pregnancy, Adolescent
  • Presidential Initiatives
  • Rape
  • Revenue Sharing
  • Rockefeller Pay Panel's Recommendations for Clerical Workers (1) - (2)
  • Sewall-Belmont House National Historic Site
  • Sex Discrimination - Justice Department Initiative

Box 13 - General Subject File

  • Sex Discrimination - Proposed Legislation to Eliminate Sex Discrimination in Federally Funded Programs (1) - (2)
  • Sex Discrimination - Single-Sex Organizations
  • Social Security - Briefing, 5/19/76
  • Social Security - General (1) - (2)
  • Social Security - Printed Materials
  • Supreme Court - Appointment of Women
  • Tax Reform
  • Title IX
    - General Memoranda and Correspondence
    - General - Organizational Literature
    - General - Printed Material (1)

Box 14 - General Subject File

  • Title IX
    - General - Printed Material (2)
    - General - Testimony before Committees
    - Regulations (1)-(7)

Box 15 - General Subject File.

  • Travel Requests by Jeanne M. Holm and Karen Keesling
  • Travel Vouchers (1)-(5)
  • Veterans Preference
  • Vocational Education Bill
  • Vocational Preparation of Women - Report of Secretary's Advisory Committee on the Rights and Responsibilities of Women Subcommittee on Education (1)-(2)
  • Volunteers for White House Women's Office
  • Welfare Reform - Memoranda

Box 16 - General Subject File

  • Welfare Reform - Printed Material
  • White House Health Facility
  • Women in the Federal Government
  • Women Presidential Appointees
  • Women's Equal Educational Opportunity Act (1)-(2)
  • Women's Equal Educational Opportunity Act - Percy Bill

Box 17 - Jeanne Holm Speeches

  • April 13, 1976 - Washington, DC - Board of Directors of SER
  • April 29, 1976 - Washington, DC - Executive Women in Government
  • April 30, 1976 - Bethesda, MD - Nuclear Regulatory Agency
  • May 13, 1976 - Mt. Hood, Oregon - Federal Executive Board
  • May 14, 1976 - San Jose, CA - California Elected Women's Association for Education and Research
  • June 14, 1976 - Washington, DC - Republican Women's Federal Forum
  • June 21, 1976 - San Diego, CA - Kiwanis International Wives
  • July 8, 1976 - San Francisco, CA - Federally Employed Women's Conference
  • July 28, 1976 - Denver, CO - Business and Professional Women's National Convention
  • August 6, 1976 - Miami, FL - Hemispheric Conference for Women '76
  • August 18, 1976 - Kansas City, MO - National Federation of Republican Women
  • August 23, 1976 - Seattle, WA - American Legion Auxiliary
  • September 14, 1976 - Chicago, IL - Republican Women of Northfield Township
  • September 16, 1976 - Washington, DC - National Federation of Republican Women
  • September 18, 1976 - Atlanta, GA - Georgia Women's Forum
  • September 29, 1976 - New York, NY - National Association of Black Women
  • October 2, 1976 - Des Moines, IA - Iowa Women's Political Caucus
  • October 12, 1976 - Worcester, MA - Women in Business Seminar
  • October 15, 1976 - Denver, CO - Federal Women's Program
  • October 29-30, 1976 - North Dakota - Rallies for Ford
  • November 1, 1976 - Washington, DC - League of Republican Women of D.C.
  • November 6, 1976 - San Antonio, TX - WAF Officers Reunion
  • November 16, 1976 - White House - Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Services
  • December 1, 1976 - Washington, DC - Wednesdays for Women at Trinity College
  • December 7, 1976 - Seattle, WA - Women in Business Forum
  • December 10, 1976 - Chicago, IL - Women in Business Forum

Box 18 - Karen Keesling Speeches

  • Speaking Engagements
  • August 16, 1974 - Kentucky BPW
  • October 16, 1974 - New York - Women's National Republican Club, Inc.
  • December 7, 1974 - West Virginia - National Management Association
  • December 9, 1974 - Dallas, TX - Second Southwest Regional Consultation of Commissions, Committees and Department of Labor
  • February 24, 1975 - Arizona State University - Associated Women Students
  • February 26, 1975 - University of Tennessee - Mortar Board
  • March 7, 1975 - Washington, DC - Secondary School Teachers' Institute
  • March 16, 1975 - Atlantic City - American Alliance for Health, Physical Education and Recreation
  • March 28, 1975 - Salt Lake City, Intercollegiate Association of Women Students
  • April 3, 1975 - Philadelphia - National Association for Women Deans, Administrators and Counselors
  • April 5, 1975 - Gettysburg - Pennsylvania Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs
  • April 9-12, 1975 - La Crosse, WI - International Conference on the Status of Women
  • April 17, 1975 - Maryland - Maryland Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs
  • April 23, 1975 - Kansas City, MO - Federal Executive Board Conference/Federal Women's Program

Box 19 - Karen Keesling Speeches

  • May 5, 1975 - Pentagon, Washington, DC - San Francisco Close Up Group
  • May 13, 1975 - Carlisle Barracks, PA - Association of the United States Army
  • May 22, 1975 - Washington, DC - International Monetary Fund
  • May 23, 1975 - Washington, DC - Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • August 18, 1975 - Chicago - Management Seminar
  • August 26, 1975 - Seneca Falls, NY - Issuance of International Women's Year Stamps
  • August 27, 1975 - Bethesda, MD - National Naval Medical Center
  • September 6, 1975 - Kansas City - Business and Professional Women's Club
  • September 8-9, 1975 - Tennessee - TVA
  • September 18, 1975 - Trenton, NJ - Mercer County Republican Committee Women's Division
  • September 19, 1975 - Cleveland - NASA
  • September 20, 1975 - Grand Rapids, MI - Legal Secretaries
  • September 22, 1975 - Alexandria, VA - Department of the Army
  • October 13, 1975 - Tennessee - Tennessee Association of Women Deans, Administrators and Counselors
  • October 18, 1975 - Danville, VA - Business and Professional Women's Club
  • October 20, 1975 - Fort Lee, VA - Department of the Army
  • October 20, 1975 - Richmond, VA - Business and Professional Women's Club
  • October 23, 1975 - Pittsburgh, KS - International Women's Year Symposium
  • October 24, 1975 - Tulsa, OK - Seminar of the Community Relations Commission
  • November 13, 1975 - Arlington, VA - Department of the Navy
  • November 15, 1975 - Richmond, VA - Congress of Women's Organizations
  • December 4, 1975 - Huntsville, AL - Federal Women's Day
  • December 11, 1975 - Spokane, WA - Whitworth College
  • December 13, 1975 - Vancouver, WA - International Women's Year Luncheon

Box 20 - Karen Keesling Speeches

  • January 12, 1976 - Washington, DC - Department of Transportation
  • January 20, 1976 - Baton Rouge, LA - Accountants
  • February 2-3, 1976 - San Francisco, CA - Federal Women's Program
  • February 13, 1976 - Cocoa Beach, FL - Federally Employed Women
  • February 28, 1976 - Washington, DC - Brotherhood of Railway, Airlines and Steamship Clerks
  • February 27-28, 1976 - University of Georgia - Southeastern Panhellenic Conference
  • March 13, 1976 - Arizona - Arizona Women's Commission
  • March 22, 1976 - Washington, DC - Close-Up
  • April 10, 1976 - Virginia - Business and Professional Women's Clubs Leadership Seminar
  • April 24, 1976 - New York University - Women in Management Seminar
  • April 30, 1976 - Washington, DC - Federally Employed Women
  • May 3, 1976 - Falls Church, VA - Annandale Business and Professional Women's Club
  • May 4, 1976 - Washington, DC - Institute for Women in Politics
  • May 10, 1976 - New Hampshire - Federation of Republican Women
  • May 14-15, 1976 - Ohio and Michigan - Business and Professional Women's Clubs
  • May 23, 1976 - Roanoke, VA - Business and Professional Women's Clubs
  • June 10, 1976 - Rochester, NY - Monroe County Federation of Women's Republican Clubs
  • July 1976 - Washington, DC - American Association of University Women
  • July 24, 1976 - Denver, CO - Business and Professional Women's Clubs National Convention
  • August 30, 1976 - Fort McNair - Federal Women's Day Luncheon
  • September 11, 1976 - Arlington, VA - Business and Professional Women's Clubs Political Action Conference
  • October 9, 1976 - Charlottesville, VA - Virginia Federation of Republican Women
  • October 14, 1976 - Alexandria, VA - Business and Professional Women's Club
  • October 15, 1976 - Dallas, TX - Women's Advisory Committee Seminar, HEW
  • October 19, 1976 - Arlington, VA - Business and Professional Women's Club

Box 21 - Administration Statements on Women's Issues

  • Bill of Rights Proclamation
  • Briefing Book Material
  • Cabinet Officers Statements on Women
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Memorandum
  • Ford - Clippings on Women's Issues
  • Ford Fact Sheet
  • Ford - General
  • Ford, Betty - Briefings
  • Ford, Betty - on Women
  • Ford, Betty - on Equal Rights Amendment
  • Ford, Susan - on Women
  • Foreign Boycotts Memo
  • International Women's Year Executive Order
  • Mother's Day Proclamations
  • National Saint Elizabeth Seaton Day Proclamation
  • Presidential Statements on Women
  • Press Conferences - Questions and Answers

Box 22 - Administration Statements on Women's Issues

  • State of the Union Inserts - 1975
  • State of the Union Inserts - 1976
  • State of the Union Inserts - 1977
  • Susan B. Anthony Statement
  • U.N. Day Proclamation
  • Vice President's Statements on Women
  • Voting Record on Women's Issues
  • Women's Convention
  • Women's Equality Day Proclamation - 1974
  • Women's Equality Day Proclamation - 1975
  • Women's Equality Day Proclamation - 1976
  • World Law Day Proclamation

Box 23 - International Women's Year Conference - Mexico City

  • Agenda Item 8
  • Agenda Item 9, 10
  • Agenda Item 11 (1)-(2)
  • Background Papers (1)-(2)

Box 24 - International Women's Year Conference - Mexico City

  • Conference Participants
  • Contingency Papers (1)-(2)
  • Miscellaneous (1)-(3)
  • Press Articles (1)-(3)
  • Tribune Concurrent Conference

Box 25 - International Women's Year Conference - Mexico City

  • U.S. Delegates' Statements and Reports (1)-(3)
  • U.S. Positions Book (1)-(2)
  • U.S. Positions - Miscellaneous

Box 26 - National Commission for International Women's Year

  • Annual Report
  • Appointments - July 1, 1976
  • Appointments - October 14, 1976
  • Appointments - Suggestions (1)-(3)
  • Executive Order (1)-(3)

Box 27 - National Commission for International Women's Year

  • Funding
  • General Information (1)-(4)
  • Injunctions
  • Interagency Task Force

Box 28 - National Commission for International Women's Year

  • National Commission Meeting - April 15, 1975
  • National Commission Meeting - May 14, 1975
  • National Commission Meeting - August 29, 1975
  • National Commission Meeting - January 15, 1976 (1)-(3)
  • National Commission Meeting - February 26, 1976 (1)-(2)

Box 29 - National Commission for International Women's Year

  • National Commission Meeting - April 6, 1976
  • National Commission Meeting - July 1, 1976
  • National Commission Meeting - December 9, 1976
  • National Commission - Principal Candidates
  • National Commission Proposals
  • National Commission Questionnaire
  • U.S. Center for International Women's Year (1)-(3)

Box 30 - Women's Organizations File

  • Academy of Management
  • Advocates for Non-Veteran's Employment Rights Legislation (ANVER)
  • Advocates for Women
  • AFL-CIO National Auxiliaries
  • AFTRA National Women's Committee
  • Altrusa International
  • American Advertising Federations (AAF)
  • American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation
  • American Association for Affirmative Action
  • American Association of Geographers
  • American Association for Higher Education
  • American Association of Industrial Nurses
  • American Association of Neurosurgical Nurses
  • American Association of School Administrators
  • American Association of University Professors
  • American Association of University Women
  • American Association of Women in Community and Junior Colleges
  • American Baptist Women
  • American Business Women's Association (1)-(2)

Box 31 - Women's Organizations File

  • American Citizens Concerned for Life
  • American Council of Railroad Women
  • American Council on Education
  • American Dental Assistants Association
  • American Dental Hygienists Association
  • American Dietetic Association
  • American Economics Association - Commission on the Status of Women
  • American Farm Bureau Federation
  • American Historical Association
  • American Home Economics Association
  • American Jewish Congress
  • American Legion Auxiliary
  • American Library Association
  • American Medical Association Auxiliary
  • American Medical Women's Association
  • American National Red Cross
  • American Newspaper Women's Club
  • American Nurses Association (1)-(2)
  • American Political Science Association
  • American Society for Medical Technology
  • American Society for Public Administration
  • American Society of Women Accountants
  • American Sociological Association
  • American Statistical Association
  • American Woman's Society of Certified Public Accountants
  • American Women in Radio and Television

Box 32 - Women's Organizations File

  • Association of American Colleges (1)-(3)
  • Association of American Foreign Service Women
  • Association of Feminist Consultants
  • Association of Junior Leagues
  • Association of Women Business Owners
  • Association of Women in Science
  • Authenticated News International
  • Baltic Women's Council
  • B'nai B'rith Women
  • Business Ladies in Session
  • Campfire Girls
  • Center for Women Policy Studies
  • Center of Concern
  • Church Women United

Box 33 - Women's Organizations File

  • Clearinghouse on Women's Issues
  • Coalition of Labor Union Women
  • Credit Women - International
  • Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR)
  • Daughters of Penelope
  • Delta Kappa Gamma Society
  • Delta Sigma Theta, Inc.
  • Democratic National Committee
  • ERAmerica
  • The Executive Woman
  • The Fashion Group, Inc.
  • The Federal City College
  • Federally Employed Women
  • Federation of Organizations for Professional Women
  • Feminist Action Alliance, Inc.
  • Feminists for Life, Inc.
  • Financial Women's Association of New York
  • Future Homemakers of America
  • General Federation of Women's Clubs (1)-(2)

Box 34 - Women's Organizations File

  • Girl Scouts of the United States of America
  • Girls Clubs of America, Inc.
  • Girls Nation
  • Gray Panthers
  • Hadassah
  • Home Economists in Business
  • Human Rights for Women, Inc.
  • Institute for the Study of Women in Transition
  • Intercollegiate Association of Women Students
  • International Association of Personnel Women
  • International Association of Physical Education and Sports for Girls and Women
  • Ladies Auxiliary to the Military Order of the Purple Heart of the USA
  • Leadership Foundation, Inc.
  • League of Women Voters (1)-(2)
  • Links, Inc.
  • Loyola University
  • LULAC (League of United Latin American Citizens) - National Committee for Women's Affairs
  • Lutheran Church Women
  • McCall Magazine
  • Media Women in Action
  • Mexican - American Women's National Association
  • Ms. Magazine

Box 35 - Women's Organizations File

  • National Abortion Rights Action League
  • National Ad Hoc Committee for ERA
  • National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
  • National Association for Practical Nurse Education
  • National Association of Bank Women
  • National Association of Black Women Attorneys
  • National Association of Commissions for Women
  • National Association of Counties
  • National Association of Educational Secretaries
  • National Association of Insurance Women
  • National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women's Clubs
  • National Association of Railway Business Women
  • National Association of Women Deans and Counselors
  • National Association of Women Highway Safety Leaders, Inc.
  • National Association of Women in Construction
  • National Association of Women Lawyers
  • National Child Day Care Association
  • National Committee Concerned with Asian Wives of US Servicemen
  • National Committee on Household Employment
  • National Conference of Puerto Rican Women
  • National Conference on Social Welfare
  • National Congress of Parents and Teachers
  • National Council of Administrative Women in Education
  • National Council of Catholic Laity (National Council of Catholic Women)
  • National Council of Negro Women
  • National Council on Family Relations
  • National Council of Jewish Women
  • National Council of Women of the US

Box 36 - Women's Organizations File

  • National Executive Housekeepers Association, Inc.
  • National Extension Homemakers Council
  • National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs (NBPW) (1)-(2)
  • National Federation of Democratic Women
  • National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses
  • National Federation of Press Women
  • National Federation of Republican Women
  • National Home Fashions League, Inc.
  • National League for Nursing, Inc.
  • National League of American Pen Women, Inc.
  • National Order of Women Legislators
  • National Organization for Women (NOW)
  • NOW Legal Defense and Education Fund
  • National Research Council
  • National Resource Center on Women Offenders
  • National Secretaries Association
  • National Spanish - Speaking Business Women's Association
  • National Urban Coalition
  • National Urban League
  • National Woman's Christian Temperance Union

Box 37 - Women's Organizations File

  • National Woman's Party
  • National Women's Education Fund
  • National Women's Health Coalition
  • National Women's Political Caucus (1)-(2)
  • National Women's Relief Corps
  • Nebraska Educational Secretaries Association
  • New Directions for Women
  • New Republic Feature Syndicate
  • Ninety - Nines, Inc. (International Organization of Women Pilots)
  • Nurses Coalition for Action in Politics
  • P.E.O.
  • Permanent Commission on the Status of Women
  • Pilot Club International
  • Planned Parenthood - World Population
  • The Population Crisis Committee
  • Project on Equal Education Rights
  • Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints - Women's Ministry Commission
  • Republican Women's Task Force
  • Rockland County Guidance Center for Women
  • SER/Jobs for Progress
  • Society of American Archivists
  • Society of Women Engineers
  • Sociologists for Women in Society
  • Soroptimist Federation of the Americas
  • Ukrainian National Women's League

Box 38 - Women's Organizations File

  • United Daughters of the Confederacy
  • United Methodist Women
  • United Order True Sisters
  • Veterans of Foreign Wars - Ladies Auxiliary
  • Washington Women's Representative
  • Whirly-Girls
  • Wider Opportunities for Women, Inc.
  • Woman
  • Woman's National Farm and Garden Association
  • Womanpower
  • Womanpower Projects, Inc.
  • Women Educator's Caucus
  • Women for Constitutional Government
  • Women in Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Planning
  • Women in Communications (1)-(2)
  • Women in Community Service
  • Women in Touch
  • Women Law Reporter
  • Women Today (1)-(2)

Box 39 - Women's Organizations File

  • Women United
  • Women United for the United Nations
  • Women World War Veterans
  • Women's Action Alliance
  • Women's American ORT
  • Women's Army Corps Veterans Association
  • Women's Auxiliary to the American Medical Association (AMA)
  • Women's Campaign Fund
  • Women's Caucus for Art
  • Women's Coalition for the Third Century
  • Women's Council of Realtors
  • Women's Crusade Against Crime
  • Women's Equity Action League
  • Women's History Library
  • The Women's Institute
  • Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
  • Women's International Network
  • Women's Lobby
  • Women's Media Workshop, Inc.
  • The Women's National Republican Club, Inc.
  • Women's Resources and Research Center University of California, Davis
  • Young Women's Christian Association
  • Zero Population Growth
  • Zeta Phi Eta
  • Zonta International

Box 40 - Federal Government Reference File

  • Advisory Council on Women's Educational Programs
  • Bicentennial - Women
  • CACSW - Citizens Advisory Council on the Status of Women
  • Civil Service Commission - Federal Women's Program
  • Commerce Department
  • Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Corporation for Public Broadcasting
  • DACOWITS
  • Economic Advisory Council on Role of Women
  • EEOC
  • EPA
  • Executive Women in Government

Box 41 - Federal Government Reference File

  • HEW
  • HEW - Federal Women's Program
  • HEW - Office for Civil Rights
  • HEW - Office of Education
  • HEW - Secretary's Advisory Committee on the Rights and Responsibilities of Women (1)-(3)

Box 42 - Federal Government Reference File

  • HEW - Women's Action Program
  • HUD
  • Inter-American Commission of Women (1)-(4)
  • Justice Department

Box 43 - Federal Government Reference File

  • Labor Department (1)-(4)
  • Labor Department - Women's Bureau
  • Labor Department - Secretary's Advisory Committee on Women
  • Military
  • NASA
  • NIE - Women's Bureau Interagency Group
  • OMB - Women's Committee
  • Presidential Spokespersons
  • Republican National Committee - RNC
  • Republican Women's Federal Forum

Box 44 - Federal Government Reference File

  • State Department (1)-(2)
  • U.N. Commission on the Status of Women
  • UNESCO
  • USIA
  • U.S. Civil Rights Commission
  • Veterans Administration
  • Warfield Proposal
  • White House - Office of Consumer Affairs

Box 45 - Federal Government Reference File

  • White House - Office of Public Liaison (1)-(2)
  • White House - Office of the Special Assistant to the President for Women
  • World Food Conference (1)-(2)
  • World Population Conference (1)-(2)

Box 46 - Chronological File

  • Office Chronological File, August 12 - November 30, 1974

Box 47 - Chronological File

  • Office Chronological File, December 1, 1974 - March 20, 1975

Box 48 - Chronological File

  • Office Chronological File, March 21 - August 20, 1975

Box 49 - Chronological File

  • Office Chronological File, August 21 - December 31, 1975

Box 50 - Chronological File

  • Office Chronological File, January 1 - April 22, 1976

Box 51 - Chronological File

  • Office Chronological File, April 23 - September 26, 1976

Box 52 - Chronological File

  • Office Chronological File, September 27, 1976 - January 11, 1977