COLLECTION FINDING AID



MARTIN R. HOFFMANN PAPERS, (1962) 1971-1977 (1991)

General Counsel, Atomic Energy Commission;
General Counsel, Department of Defense;
Secretary of the Army




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Material relating primarily to his work with the Atomic Energy Commission (1971-1973), the Department of Defense (1973-1975), and the Department of the Army (1975-1977). In addition to documents on atomic energy and national security matters, the collection contains information on agency legal matters, the honor code at the U.S. Military Academy, and the work of James Schlesinger (initially as AEC administrator and later as Secretary of Defense). The collection also concerns Hoffmann’s later work (1988) on the Defense Secretary’s Commission on Base Realignment and Closure.

QUANTITY
25.6 linear feet and 9 volumes (ca. 52,000 pages)

DONOR
Martin R. Hoffmann (accession number 94-53)

ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Martin R. Hoffmann donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by William McNitt, September 2003
[s:\bin\findaid\hoffmann, martin - papers.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Martin R. Hoffmann


April 20, 1932 - Born, Stockbridge, MA

1954 - B.A., Princeton University

1954-1958 - U.S. Army

1958-1959 - Technical Editor Engineer, Martin Company, Denver, CO

1961 - L.L.B., University of Virginia Law School

1961-1962 - Law Clerk for Judge Albert V. Bryan, U.S. Court of Appeals

1962-1965 - Assistant U.S. Attorney, Washington, DC

1965-1966 - Minority Counsel, House Judiciary Committee

1967-1969 - Legal Counsel to U.S. Senator Charles Percy

1969-1971 - Assistant General Counsel and Assistant Secretary, University Computing Company, Dallas, TX

1971-1973 - General Counsel, Atomic Energy Commission

1973-1974 - Special Assistant to the Secretary and Deputy Secretary of Defense

1974-1975 - General Counsel, Department of Defense

1975-1977 - Secretary of the Army

1977-1989 - Managing Partner, Gardner, Carton & Douglas, Washington, DC

1988 - Member, Defense Secretary’s Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

1989-1993 - Vice President and General Counsel, Digital Equipment Corporation, Maynard, MA

1993-1995 - Senior visiting fellow, Center for Policy, Technology & Industrial Development, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

1996-- Of counsel, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, Washington, DC


INTRODUCTION

In 1971, Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) Chairman James Schlesinger asked Martin Hoffmann, who had previous Washington experience as a congressional staff member, to leave a private sector position to serve as AEC General Counsel. Hoffmann served in this role until 1973 when Schlesinger became Secretary of Defense. Hoffmann joined him at the Department of Defense and served successively as Special Assistant, General Counsel, and Secretary of the Army. Although the collection contains some materials from before and after his service in these two Federal agencies, Hoffmann’s six years in the Nixon and Ford administrations are its primary focus.

The Hoffmann Papers do not contain a complete record of his work in the AEC or DoD. He left the bulk of his files with the agencies when he departed. The collection consists of duplicates of agency records (such as chronological reading files and speech files), personal materials (such as personal correspondence and desk calendars), and selected subject files on topics of special interest to Hoffmann.

Materials from Hoffmann’s two years with the AEC include outgoing memoranda and correspondence in the Chronological File and personal correspondence and topical files in the General Subject File. Most of this material concerns the atomic energy industry or the legal, environmental, or legislative matters on which he advised the members of the Commission.

The collection contains relatively little from Hoffmann’s service as Special Assistant to the Secretary and Deputy Secretary of Defense. Due to the nature of this position, the materials concern bits and pieces on many topics. There is some significant material on the confirmation hearings for the appointment of James Schlesinger as Secretary of Defense.

As General Counsel of the Department of Defense, Hoffmann played a more major role in the Department and had more focused duties. The collection documents his role as an advisor on legal and legislative matters. Significant files concern such topics as conflict of interest allegations against Deputy Secretary William Clements, possible racial discrimination in the appointment of a military attaché to Chile, disposal of obsolete and excess chemical warfare materials from the Rocky Mountain Arsenal, a lawsuit involving the appointment of General Alexander Haig to the civilian position of White House Chief of Staff, arms sales to Iran, and surface-to-air missile development. The collection is also useful for examining the role of James Schlesinger as Secretary of Defense and contains many of his speeches, press conferences, interviews, articles, etc.

The most significant portion of this collection concerns Hoffmann’s work as Secretary of the Army. The materials concern fiscal and other management issues, the All-Volunteer Army, reviews of weapons system acquisition processes, resolution of a West Point cheating scandal, possible unionization of the military, and the 1977 transition to the Carter administration.

Hoffmann continued his interest in the Army and other defense matters after he left the government. The collection contains speeches and some folders on defense matters into the 1980s. There is also an entire series of correspondence, briefing materials and meeting transcripts relating to Hoffmann’s service on the DoD Secretary’s Commission on Base Realignment and Closure in 1988.

Related Materials (September 2003)
The Library has only scattered folders on the Atomic Energy Commission and its successor, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Key files are White House Central Files Subject Files categories AT, FG 78 and FG 384 and the Domestic Council files of Glenn Schleede. However, none of this material dates from the period in which Hoffmann served on the AEC staff.

Materials relating to the Department of Defense include Central Files category FG 13, the papers of Assistant Secretary of Defense for Public Affairs William Greener, the Defense Department News Summaries, and scattered other folders. Collections concerning the U.S. Army include Central Files categories FG 14 and ND and the papers of Secretary of the Army Howard “Bo” Callaway.

The papers of DoD Secretary Melvin Laird (1969-1972) and the many sub-collections created by National Security Advisers Henry Kissinger and Brent Scowcroft and their staffs are currently being processed. Researchers should inquire of their status.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

General Subject File, (1962) 1971-1977 (1989).  (Boxes 1-32, 12.8 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, meeting agendas, desk calendars, lists, notes, affidavits, news summaries, telephone call logs, travel vouchers, and newspaper clippings. The bulk of this material dates from Hoffmann’s service with the Atomic Energy Commission and the Department of Defense. Topics include: All-Volunteer Force, Armed Forces Policy Council, agency legal matters, conflict of interest allegations against William Clements, Army management, Army transition books, invitations, arms sales to Iran, activities of James Schlesinger, unionization of the military, and weapons systems acquisition. The series also contains a few folders dating from after Hoffmann’s government service, including speech materials and also information on 1988 Republican platform hearings.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Speech File, 1974-1981 (1988).  (Boxes 33-35, 1.2 linear feet)
Speech drafts, reading copies, and version released to the public. For most speeches the collection contains one, but not all, of these versions. The focus is on the Army and defense and national security matters, even for the speeches that date from after Hofmann’s government service.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

U.S. Military Academy Honor Code File, (1971) 1976-1977.  (Boxes 36-40, 1.7 linear feet)
Reports, briefing books, transcripts of press conferences and congressional hearings, working papers, and correspondence. The materials concern cheating in a class at the U.S. Military Academy; the punishments given to the students; and subsequent reviews of the Military Academy Honor Code by the Army, a commission headed by Frank Borman, and congressional committees. After all of these reviews, Secretary of the Army Hoffmann announced his decisions on whether the students would be allowed to return to the Military Academy.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Chronological File, 1971-1977.  (Boxes 40-55, 6.1 linear feet)
Copies of outgoing letters and memoranda written by Hoffmann to colleagues, other government officials, and the general public. Only very occasionally are copies of incoming letters included and no attachments mentioned in the documents appear in this series. Documents from 1971 to 1973 focus on atomic energy and the work of the Atomic Energy Commission; those from 1973 to 1975 concern the Department of Defense legal and legislative matters; and those from 1975 to 1977 relate to the management of the Army. The material gives a good overview of all of the topics on which Hoffmann worked in his various positions, but usually does not provide detailed information on them.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Defense Secretary’s Commission on Base Realignment and Closure File, (1978) 1988 (1991).  (Boxes 55-64, 3.8 linear feet)
Commission meeting agendas, briefing books, and transcripts; activity reports; final report and drafts; memoranda; and newspaper clippings. Also included are hearings transcripts and reports about earlier discussions of base closings in the 1970s and 1980s. The series focuses on Commission meetings and hearings during which they explored the issue of base closing, the decision-making process in deciding which bases to recommend for closure or realignment, and the writing of the final report.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks, 1975-1977. (Vol. I-IX, 9 volumes)
Newspaper clippings, photographs, press releases, trip itineraries, and occasional routine letters (primarily cover letters transmitting other materials to Hoffmann). The focus of the scrapbooks is on trips made by Hoffmann during his tenure as Secretary of the Army.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Subject File

  • Affidavits, 1976
  • All-Volunteer Force Article for the Baltimore Sun, 1977 (1)-(6)
  • Amon Carter Museum of Western Art
  • Appreciation Letters from Secretary Hoffmann, 1977 (1)-(3)

Box 2 - Subject File

  • Armed Forces Policy Council, 1973-1975 (1)-(5)
  • Army Materiel Acquisition Review Committee, 1973-1975 (1)-(4)
  • Army Organization, 1974-1975
  • Army Reserve Forces Policy Committee, 1973-1974
  • Army Surveillance Files on Civilians, 1975
  • Army Year End Report, 1975

Box 3 - Subject File

  • Atomic Energy Commission
    - Blue Ribbon Panel on Separation of Regulatory Functions, 1972
    - Court Cases, 1971-1973
    - General, 1972-1973 (1)-(3)
    - Nuclear Fuel Cycle Environmental Survey, 1972
    - Office of the General Counsel - Bethesda: Budget, 1972-1973
    - Photographs, 1972
    - White House Meetings and Contacts, 1973
  • Augustine, Norman, 1976

Box 4 - Subject File

  • Cachets (Navy ship launching and keel laying ceremonies), 1972-1976 (1)-(6)
  • Civilian Aides to the Secretary of the Army, 1977
  • Classified Correspondence Signed by Secretary Hoffmann - Unclassified Listing, 1975-1977
  • Clements, William - Conflict of Interest Allegations, 1973-1975 (1)-(5)

Box 5 - Subject File

  • Clements, William - Conflict of Interest Allegations, 1973-1975 (6)-(10)
  • Computer Privacy, 1970-1971 (1)-(2)
  • Department of Defense - Reorganization, 1975-1976
  • Department of Health, Education and Welfare - Office of General Counsel, 1973
  • Department of the Army
    - General, 1973-1976
    - Transition Books, December 1976
    - Assistant Secretary for Civil Works (1)-(3)

Box 6 - Subject File

  • Department of the Army
    - Transition Books, December 1976
    - Assistant Secretary for Civil Works (1)-(3)
    - Assistant Secretary for Financial Management (1)-(3)
    - Assistant Secretary for Installations and Logistics (1)-(5)
    - Assistant Secretary for Manpower and Reserve Affairs (1)-(3)

Box 7 - Subject File

  • Department of the Army
    - Transition Books, December 1976
    - Assistant Secretary for Research and Development (1)-(3)
    - Cover Letter
    - General Counsel (1)-(3)
    - Secretary and Under Secretary (1)-(5)

Box 8 - Subject File

  • Desk Calendar, 1973
  • Desk Calendar, 1974
  • Desk Calendar, 1975 (1)

Box 9 - Subject File

  • Desk Calendar, 1975 (2)
  • Desk Calendar, 1976 (1)-(2)

Box 10 - Subject File

  • Desk Calendar, 1977
  • Dictating, 1988-1989
  • Earhardt, Amelia - Historical Records, 1976
  • European Trip, November 1973
  • Federal Power Commission, 1975
  • Financial Management - Army Violations of the Anti-Deficiency Act, 1975 (1)-(2)
  • Financial Management Advisory Committee, 1976 (1)-(2)

Box 11 - Subject File

  • Financial Management Advisory Committee, 1976 (3)-(6)
  • Fitzgerald, A. Ernest, 1973-1975 (1)-(2)
  • Foreign Investments in Defense-Related Industries, 1975
  • Foreign Military Sales, 1974-1975
  • Gafford, Travis M. - Appointment as Military Attaché to Chile or Colombia, 1973-1974 (1)-(4)

Box 12 - Subject File

  • Gafford, Travis M. - Appointment as Military Attach to Chile or Colombia, 1973-1974 (5)-(7)
  • Gas - Rocky Mountain Arsenal, 1973-1974 (1)-(5)
  • General Officer Matters, 1975-1977

Box 13 - Subject File

  • Graham, Lt. Gen. Daniel O., 1974-1976
  • Haig, General Alexander M. - Lawsuit Involving the Appointment of a Military Officer to a Civil Position, 1973-1974 (1)-(4)
  • Historical, 1973 (Agnew resignation)
  • Hoffmann
    - Confirmation as General Counsel of the Department of Defense, 1974
    - Confirmation as Secretary of the Army, 1975
    - Congratulatory Letters on Association with Gardner Carton & Douglas, 1977 (1)-(5)

Box 14 - Subject File

  • Hoffmann
    - Passports, 1973
    - Personal Correspondence, 1971 (1)-(2)
    - Personal Correspondence, 1972 (1)-(2)
    - Personal Correspondence, 1973 (1)-(4)
    - Personal Correspondence, 1974 (1)-(3)

Box 15 - Subject File

  • Hoffmann
    - Personal Correspondence, 1974 (4)-(7)
    - Personal Correspondence, 1975 (1)-(7)

Box 16 - Subject File

  • Hoffmann
    - Personal Correspondence, 1975 (8)-(12)
    - Personal Correspondence, 1976 (1)-(6)

Box 17 - Subject File

  • Hoffmann
    - Personal Correspondence, 1977 (1)-(4)
    - Personnel, 1973-1977 (1)-(2)
  • Impeachment, 1974
  • Infantry Antitank Weapons Report, 1972 (1)-(2)
  • Invitations, 1973
  • Invitations, 1974 (1)-(3)

Box 18 - Subject File

  • Invitations, 1974 (4)-(5)
  • Invitations, 1975 (1)-(4)
  • Iran - Bell Helicopter Contract Report, 1974-1975 (1)-(4)
  • Iran - Hallock, Richard, 1974-1976 (1)-(2)

Box 19 - Subject File

  • Iran - Military Sales and Assistance, 1973-1977 (1)-(10)
  • Iran - Radio Contract, 1975

Box 20 - Subject File

  • Iran - Sparrow, 1975-1976 (1)-(3)
  • Legal Services in the Three Military Departments, 1977 (1)-(2)
  • Letters Sent Upon Departure from Office, 1977 (1)-(5)
  • Lightweight Fighters (Navy & Air Force), 1974-1975 (1)-(3)

Box 21 - Subject File

  • Lightweight Fighters (Navy & Air Force), 1974-1975 (4)-(6)
  • Litigation Pending Against Mr. Hoffmann, 1977
  • Little Cabinet Dance, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Mailing Lists (1)-(3)
  • Management Initiatives, 1975
  • Military Aircraft and Missiles - Developmental and Operational Systems, 1975 (1)-(2)
  • Military Justice, 1976

Box 22 - Subject File

  • Miscellaneous, 1975-1976
  • News Clippings About Appointment as Secretary of the Army, 1975
  • Notebooks, 1973-1977 (1)-(11)

Box 23 - Subject File

  • Notebooks, 1973-1977 (12)-(14)
  • NSSM 214: Implications of U.S. Participation in Siberian Development, 1974-1975 (1)-(2)
  • Office of the Secretary of Defense - Schlesinger Transition, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Panama Canal - Pilots Association Labor Dispute, 1973
  • Panama Canal - Treaty Negotiations, 1973-1976
  • Pocket Diary, 1976
  • Press Releases, 1976
  • Procurement Decisions, 1976
  • Publications Transferred to the Book Collection

Box 24 - Subject File

  • Republican National Committee Platforms Hearings, 1988 (1)-(10)

Box 25 - Subject File

  • Request for Proposal - Forward Area Air Defense line-of--Sight-Forward-Heavy System, 1987 (1)-(6)
  • Resumes, 1974-1975 (1)-(4)
  • Rumsfeld, Don - Swearing-In Remarks, 1975
  • Sanguine Project (Navy System for Communicating with Submarines), 1973-1974 (1)-(2)

Box 26 - Subject File

  • Schlesinger, James
    - Affidavits re Army Surveillance of U.S. Citizens, 1974-1975 (1)-(2)
    - Articles About, 1974-1976
    - Articles By, 1968-1976
    - Confirmation as Secretary of Defense: General, 1973
    - Confirmation as Secretary of Defense: Hearings Transcript, 1973 (1)-(3)
    - Confirmation as Secretary of Defense: Richardson and Clements Hearings Transcript, 1973
    - General, 1973-1975
    - Speeches, Interviews, and Press Conferences, 1973-1976 (1)-(3)

Box 27 - Subject File

  • Schlesinger, James
    - Speeches, Interviews, and Press Conferences, 1973-1976 (1)-(3)
  • Secretary of the Army's Daily Mail Summaries, 1975-1977 (1)-(7)

Box 28 - Subject File

  • Selected Statements of President Ford and Department of Defense Officials on National Security Matters, March-May 1976 (1)-(4)
  • Smith, Anthony Wayne, 1974
  • Speaking Engagements - Lists, 1975-1977
  • Speech Material, 1972-1976 (1)-(6)
  • Speech Material - Defense, 1979-1980

Box 29 - Subject File

  • Speeches, 1979-1980 (1)-(2)
  • Stewart, Donald - Defense Investigative Service, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Surface-to-Air Missile Development (SAM-D), 1972-1975 (1)-(6)

Box 30 - Subject File

  • Telephone Call Log, 1973
  • Telephone Call Log, 1974 (1)-(3)
  • Telephone Call Log, 1975 (1)-(3)
  • Telephone Call Log, 1976 (1)-(3)
  • Travel Vouchers - Atomic Energy Commission: Hoffmann, 1971-1973 (1)-(2)

Box 31 - Subject File

  • Travel Vouchers - Atomic Energy Commission: Kitts, 1972-1973
  • Travel Vouchers - Department of Defense, 1973-1977 (1)-(3)
  • Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands - Transfer of Excess Property, 1974
  • Turkey/Greece, 1974-1975 (1)-(2) (all but 7 pages in this folder actually concerns Richard Hallock and Iran)
  • Unionization of the Military, 1975-1977 (1)-(5)
  • University Computing Company, 1970-1973 (1)

Box 32 - Subject File

  • University Computing Company, 1970-1973 (2)-(5)
  • Vacation, 1972
  • Watergate Indictments, 1974-1975 (Northrop Corporation campaign contributions)
  • Weapons System Acquisition, 1969-1974 (1)-(7)
  • Weather Modification Hearings, 1974

Box 33 - Speech File

  • 10/7/74 - Charlottesville, VA
  • 2/7/75 - CILMOC (Criminal Investigator Logistics Management Orientation) Graduation, Fort Lee, VA
  • 5/1/75 - Law Day
  • 8/6/75 - Welcome as Secretary of the Army
  • 8/12/75 - American Bar Association Standing Committee on Military Law, Montreal, Canada
  • 10/1/75 - Association of the United States Army, Fort Campbell, KY
  • 10/8/75 - COL Board
  • 10/16/75 - Annual JAG Conference, Charlottesville, VA
  • 10/20/75 - Association of the United States Army, Washington, DC
  • 10/23/75 - Army Retirees Council, Fort Myer Officers' Open Mess
  • 12/3/75 - 1975 Commanders Conference
  • 12/8/75 - USAREC Commanders Conference
  • 12/9/75 - Virginia Peninsula Chapter of AUSA, Fort Monroe, VA
  • 12/10/75 - TRADOC Commanders Conference, Fort Monroe, VA
  • 12/12/75 - Action Officers
  • 10/2/75 - Annual Army Leadership Conference, Fort Myer Officers Open Mess
  • 1/7/76 - Action Officers
  • 1/9/76 - Claremont Men's College, Los Angeles, CA
  • 1/13/76 - Chevy Chase Rotary Club
  • 1/28/76 - Presentation to NCOs in the Pentagon
  • 2/13/76 - Armed Forces Staff College
  • 2/19/76 - Reserve Officers Association
  • 2/20/76 - Army Comptrollers Conference, Airlie House
  • 3/4/76 - Lawton, OK Chapter AUSA
  • 3/17/76 - Command and General Staff College, Fort Leavenworth, KS
  • 3/30/76 - Nebraska Legislature and Chamber of Commerce, Lincoln, NE
  • 4/1/76 - Bicentennial, Denver, CO
  • 4/15/76 - Calvin Bullock Forum, New York, NY
  • 4/15/76 - Meet the Newsmakers Interview, ABC Radio, New York, NY
  • 4/20/76 - Marshall Corridor Dedication
  • 4/24/76 - State House, Columbia, SC
  • 4/28/76 - Chamber of Commerce, Corpus Christi, TX
  • 4/29/76 - International Azalea Festival, Norfolk, VA
  • 5/11/76 - Brigadier General Selection Board Briefing
  • 5/12/76 - Combined Civic Clubs of Augusta, GA

Box 34 - Speech File

  • 6/2/76 - U.S. Military Academy Graduation Ceremony, West Point, NY
  • 6/7/76 - U.S. Army War College Graduation
  • 7/9/76 - Commonwealth Club of California, San Francisco, CA
  • 8/4/76 - News Conference on Memorandum of Understanding re U.S. and West German Tanks
  • 8/23/76 - Testimony Before Subcommittee on Manpower and Personnel, Senate Committee on Armed Services
  • 9/29/76 - Princeton Club of Washington
  • 9/30/76 - Tribute to Fred Weyand
  • 10/76? - Project Managers
  • 10/76? - Standard Army Speech
  • 10/4/76 - Arrival Ceremony for General Bernard W. Rogers, Chief of Staff
  • 10/7/76 - Greater Washington Area Army Officers Wives Club
  • 10/7/76 - Worldwide Force Structure and Manpower Management Conference
  • 10/11/76 - Association of the U.S. Army
  • 10/20/76 - Reserve Component Brigadier Generals
  • 10/29/76 - Retirement Ceremony for General Richard G. Stillwell, Fort Myer, VA
  • 10/29/76 - Retirement Ceremony for LTG Herron N. Maples
  • 1/5/77 - News Conference on U.S. Military Academy Honor Code
  • 2/2/77 - Farewell Review
  • 5/21/78 - California Western School of Law Commencement, San Diego, CA
  • 2/5/79 - Kiwanis Club, Washington, DC
  • 10/11/79 - Interview on XM1 Tank by ABC News 20/20
  • 10/29/79 - Republican National Committee Advisory Council on National Security and International Affairs, Los Angeles, CA
  • 10/30/79 - Westinghouse R&D Management Meeting
  • 1/9/80 - American Defense Preparedness Association Seminar on Army Weapons Systems, Armed Forces Staff College, Norfolk, VA (1)-(3)

Box 35 - Speech File

  • 4/1/80 - International Banking and Operations and Automation Divisions of the American Bankers Association (1)-(4)
  • 6/6/80 - Republican Platform Committee, New York, NY
  • 7/1/76 - Bethesda/Chevy Chase Rotary Club
  • 8/16/80 - Vought Corporation Speech, Durango, CO (1)-(2)
  • 10/22/80 - Chamber of Commerce of the U.S.
  • 11/19/80 - Rubber Manufacturers Association
  • 2/3/81 - Winter Convention on Aerospace and Electronics Systems
  • 4/30/81-5/1/81 - Association of the United States Army, Ft. Campbell, KY
  • 5/11-12/81 - Civilian Aides Conference
  • 9/15/81 - Association of the United States Army, Fort Sheridan
  • 10/24/88 - Army Science Board (1)-(3)

Box 36 - United States Military Academy Honor Code File

  • Allegations that Army Personnel Have Harassed and Intimidated Defense Counsel in the EE 304 Cases at West Point, 1976
  • Borman Commission Report, 12/15/76 (1)-(3)
  • Decision Background Book, January 1977 (1)-(2)
  • Hoffmann - News Conference, 1/5/77
  • House Armed Services Committee Hearings, August-September 1976
    - Background Book (1)-(2)
    - Transcript (1)-(3)

Box 37 - United States Military Academy Honor Code File

  • House Armed Services Committee Hearings, August-September 1976
    - Transcript (4)-(5)
  • Notes and Comments by the Secretary and Special Assistant, 1976-1977
  • Questions and Answers, 1976-1977
  • Regulations for the U.S. Military Academy, 1971-1975
  • Rose, Michael T. - Book on Military Academies' Conduct, Honor, and Ethics Systems, 1974 (1)-(3)
  • Senate Armed Services Committee Hearings, June-August 1976
    - Background Book (1)-(4)

Box 38 - United States Military Academy Honor Code File

  • Senate Armed Services Committee Hearings, June-August 1976
    - Background Book - First Draft
    - Transcript (1)-(7)
  • West Point - Actions Group Final Report Drafts, Dec. 1976-Jan. 1977 (1)-(3)

Box 39 - United States Military Academy Honor Code File

  • West Point - Actions Group Working Papers, Dec. 1976 (1)-(3)
  • West Point - BB Grams (Bob Berry), March-September 1976
  • West Point - Study Group Final Report, July 1977
  • Working Papers, 1976-1977 (1)-(6)

Box 40 - United States Military Academy Honor Code File

  • Working Papers, 1976-1977 (7)-(8)

Box 40 (Continued) - Chronological File

  • September 1971 - March 1972

Box 41 - Chronological File

  • April - July 1972

Box 42 - Chronological File

  • August 1972 - January 1973

Box 43 - Chronological File

  • February - October 1973

Box 44 - Chronological File

  • November 1973 - May 1974

Box 45 - Chronological File

  • June - September 1974

Box 46 - Chronological File

  • October 1974 - January 1975

Box 47 - Chronological File

  • February - May 1975

Box 48 - Chronological File

  • June - August 13, 1975

Box 49 - Chronological File

  • August 14 - October 1975, 1975

Box 50 - Chronological File

  • November 1975 - February 21, 1976

Box 51 - Chronological File

  • February 22 - May 19, 1976

Box 52 - Chronological File

  • May 20 - July 1976

Box 53 - Chronological File

  • August - October 1976

Box 54 - Chronological File

  • November 1976 - January 1977

Box 55 - Chronological File

  • February - March 1977

Box 55 (Continued) - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • Base Closure and Realignment Report, 1991
  • Base Realignment Announcements, March 29, 1979
  • Commission Activity Report
    - June 17, 1988
    - June 27, 1988
    - July 1, 1988 (1)-(2)
    - August 8, 1988
    - August 18, 1988
    - September 6, 1988
    - September 23, 1988
    - October 14, 1988 (1)-(3)

Box 56 - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • Commission Activity Report
    - October 28, 1988
    - November 9, 1988 (1)-(2)
  • Commission Background, 1985-1988
  • Commission Business Meetings and Hearings
    - June 8, 1988 - Agendas
    - June 8, 1988 - Briefing Book (1)-(3)
    - June 8, 1988 - Preliminary Briefing Book (1)-(2)

Box 57 - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • Commission Business Meetings and Hearings
    - June 8, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(8)
    - July 7, 1988 - Hearing Book (1)-(3)
    - July 7, 1988 - Preliminary Book (1)-(3)

Box 58 - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • Commission Business Meetings and Hearings
    - July 7, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(4)
    - July 28, 1988 - Hearing Book (1)-(2)
    - July 28, 1988 - Preliminary Book (1)-(2)
    - July 28, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(2)
    - September 14, 1988 - Hearing Book (1)-(2)

Box 59 - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • Commission Business Meetings and Hearings
    - September 14, 1988 - Read Ahead Book
    - October 6, 1988 - Hearing Book (1)-(2)
    - October 6, 1988 - Preliminary Index Book (1)-(2)
    - October 6, 1988 - Services Phase I Input (1)-(2)
    - October 6, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(3)
    - November 14, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(2)

Box 60 - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • Commission Business Meetings and Hearings
    - November 14, 1988 - Transcript (3)-(5)
    - November 15, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(4)
    - November 28, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(4)

Box 61 - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • Commission Business Meetings and Hearings
    - November 29, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(3)
    - December 13, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(4)
    - December 14, 1988 - Transcript (1)-(2)
  • Commission Report - Draft Chapters, November 22-28, 1988
  • Commission Report - Draft Chapters, December 7, 1988

Box 62 - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • Commission Report - Draft Chapters, December 13, 1988
  • Commission Report - Final, December 1988
  • Decision Paper - Shipyards, September 1988
  • Environmental Impacts, June-July 1988
  • Fort Sheridan Memos, December 13, 1988
  • General Accounting Office Reports, 1979-1986 (1)-(3)
  • Goldwater List, 1985-1988
  • Hoffmann Notes, June-December 1988
  • House Committee on Armed Services Hearings, June 12, 1985
  • House Committee on Armed Services Hearings, May 18, 1988 (1)-(2)

Box 63 - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • Joint Basing Memo by Paul Johnson, November 8, 1988
  • Miscellaneous, 1988-1989 (1)-(9)
  • News Clips, January 12, 1989 (1)-(2)
  • News Clips, April 7, 1989
  • News Clips, May 15, 1989

Box 64 - Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure

  • News Clips - General, 1987-1989 (1)-(2)
  • Official "Lists" of Military Installations for Study of Possible Closure and Realignment, November 8, 1988 (1)-(2)
  • Personnel Documents - Hoffmann, 1988
  • Secretary of the Army's Report on Fort Derussy, Hawaii, March 1, 1988 (1)-(2)
  • Senate Committee on Armed Services Hearings, August 4, 1978
  • Senate Committee on Armed Services Hearings, May-June 1979 (1)-(2)
  • Senate Committee on Armed Services Hearings, May 2, 1985
  • Working Group on Guard and Reserve Bases, June 9, 1988

Vol. I - Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks

  • July-September 1975

Vol. II - Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks

  • October-December 1975

Vol. III - Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks

  • January-March 1976

Vol. IV - Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks

  • April-May 1976

Vol. V - Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks

  • June-August 1976

Vol. VI - Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks

  • September 1976

Vol. VII - Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks

  • September-October 1976

Vol. VIII - Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks

  • November-December 1976

Vol. IX - Secretary of the Army Scrapbooks

  • January-February 1977 and Cartoons, May 1976-February 1977