COLLECTION FINDING AID
ROBERT GOLDWIN FILES, 1974-76
White House Operations Office
Materials concerning his work on White House liaison with the academic world and with Jewish groups. The bulk of this collection is routine in nature, but some substantive materials on such issues as affirmative action, crime and the Arab Boycott appear.
2 linear feet (ca. 4,000 pages)
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-107)
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by Barbara J. White, August 1984
[s:\bin\findaid\goldwin, robert - files.doc]
Robert Allen Goldwin
April 16, 1922 - Born in New York City
1942-1946 - Enlisted man and officer, US Calvary
1950 - B.A., St. John's College, Annapolis, MD
1951-1960 - Director of Research, American Foundation for Political Education, Chicago, IL
1954 - M.A. The University of Chicago, Chicago, IL
1960-1966 - Lecturer in Political Science and Director, Public Affairs Conference, The University of Chicago
1963 - Ph.D., Political Science, The University of Chicago
1966 - Fellow, The Guggenheim Foundation
1966-1969 - Associate Professor Political Science and Director, Public Affairs Conference Center, Kenyon College, Gambier, OH
1969-1973 - Dean and Charles Hammond Elliot Tutor, St. John's College, Annapolis MD
1973-1974 - Special Advisor to the Ambassador of the United States Mission to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Donald Rumsfeld
September 1974 - Detailed to the White House Editorial Staff from the Department of State
Dec. 1974-Oct. 1976 - Special Consultant to the President
1976 - Special Assistant to Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld
1977 -- Director of Seminar Programs, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research
Long-time confidant of Donald Rumsfeld, Robert Goldwin served in the White House as Special Consultant to the President. Congressmen Rumsfeld and Gerald Ford attended conferences run by Goldwin when he was director of the Public Affairs Conference Center. In 1973 he went to Brussels to aid Rumsfeld, then Ambassador to NATO. When Rumsfeld took over from Alexander Haig as Ford's chief of staff, Goldwin accompanied him and worked under him until November 1975, when Rumsfeld became Secretary of Defense. He then worked under Richard Cheney, Rumsfeld's former deputy and successor.
Goldwin was responsible for insuring the flow of information and ideas on long-range problems to the President from people outside the government. He arranged a series of six small seminars between the President, government officials, and academic experts, which covered crime, welfare, higher education, the Bicentennial, the world food problems, ethnicity and unemployment. The seminars were held as informal conversations over luncheon or dinner rather than as meetings. He also traveled frequently to university campuses for academic seminars and relayed ideas and suggestions to the Domestic Council, appropriate government agencies, or occasionally, to the President. In addition, Goldwin was responsible for White House liaison with interest groups in higher education, the arts, the humanities, and with Jewish affairs. He actively sought highly qualified academic personnel for presidential appointments. Occasionally, he helped with presidential speech writing and participated in small groups working on special projects.
The Goldwin files reflect his academic seminars and his liaison with higher education organizations. Unfortunately, no material remains reflecting the contents of six seminars. The most substantive material on education issues concerns affirmative action, federal regulations, and financial support. There is a small amount of material on the Bicentennial and the Arab boycott of firms dealing with Israel, from his participation in special project groups; and on crime, from his help in presidential speechwriting. The majority of this collection is routine, consisting of general correspondence, some with well-known academic and government figures. There is very little material for 1976; beginning that spring, he received an additional appointment to aid Rumsfeld, now Secretary of Defense.
Related materials include the Domestic Council staff files of David H. Lissy on education and Jewish affairs and of Sarah C. Massengale on cultural affairs, and the White House Central Files category ED - Education.
Subject File, 1974-76.
(Boxes 1-3, 1 linear foot)
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, briefing papers, speeches, and printed material relating to the academic seminars, to problems in higher education, and to Jewish affairs. Other topics include the Bicentennial and crime.
Arranged alphabetically by subject and chronologically thereunder.
View container list for this series
Name File, 1974-76.
(Box 3, 0.2 linear feet)
Correspondence and memoranda, with occasional agendas and reports, between Goldwin and his colleagues in academia and government. The majority covers the seminars, Goldwin's travel and lectures, and the ideas and suggestions on domestic issues relayed by him. Also included are suggestions for presidential personnel appointments.
View container list for this series
Correspondence File, 1974-76. (Boxes 4-5, 0.8 linear feet)
Correspondence and memoranda to and from White House staff, federal agencies and councils, academic colleagues, the public, and groups with whom Goldwin acted as liaison; and reports, agendas and newspaper clippings. Covers issues similar to the above series.
View container list for this series
Box 1 - Subject File
- Academy for Contemporary Problems
- Activity Report
- American Association of University Professors
- American Council on Education
- American Enterprise Institute
- American Political Science Association
- Arab Boycott (1)-(3)
- Asia Foundation
- Aspen Institute for Humanistic Studies
- Association for American Colleges
- Bicentennial (1)-(2)
- Bicentennial Speeches
- Brookings Institution
- Committee on Academic Non-discrimination and Integrity (1)-(4)
Box 2 - Subject File
- Council for the Advancement of Small Colleges
- Council on Social Advisors
- Crime (1)-(2)
- Domestic Council
- Education and Work
- Federal Design Improvement Program
- Internal Revenue Service
- Jewish Organizations (1)-(2)
- National Endowment for the Humanities
- Presidential Memoranda
- Seminar, 12/9/74
- Seminar, 1/11/75
- Seminar, 2/22/75
- Seminar, 4/12/75
- Seminar, 9/27/75
- Seminar, 11/22/75
- Speech Requests
- South Africa
Box 3 - Subject File
- Trend Report (1)-(3)
- Uranium Enrichment Message
Box 3 (Continued) - Name File
- Jack Anderson
- Edward Banfield
- David L. Bazelon
- Bell, Terrell H.
- Billington, James H.
- Boorstin, Daniel J.
- Brandow, George E.
- Brann, Eva T.H.
- Burns, Arthur F.
- Cheney, Richard B. (1)-(2)
- Cochrane, Willard
- Connor, James E.
- Cropsey, Joseph
- Diamond, Martin
- Duval, Michael
- Hartmann, Robert T.
- Horwitz, Robert H.
- Kristol, Irving
- Levi, Edward H.
- Nelson, Charles A.
- Nessen, Ronald
- Theis, Paul
- Wilson, James Q.
- Zarb, Frank
Box 4 - Correspondence File
Box 5 - Correspondence File