COLLECTION FINDING AID



Ford Personal and Post-Presidential Files

GERALD R. FORD SCRAPBOOKS, 1929-2006




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials concerning Gerald Ford and his family, including: newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, invitations and programs and other memorabilia, and occasional correspondence and other manuscript material. The earliest scrapbook dates from Mr. Ford's high school years, and throughout Mr. Ford's public life his staff has continued to compile scrapbook material. The material is both in bound volumes and loosely filed. In each case the order is chronological. Most scrapbook materials from 1929 to 1978 are available in microfilm via interlibrary loan.

QUANTITY
74 volumes; 40.5 linear feet (ca. 72,000 pages); 28 reels (15,318 frames)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 70-NLF 012 and numerous accretions)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford has donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Paul Conway, February 1988; revised, James Neel, February 2018
[s:\bin\findaid\ford, gerald - scrapbooks.doc]


INTRODUCTION

The Gerald R. Ford Scrapbooks provide an overview of Ford's public life from his high school through his post-Presidential years. The seventy-four large bound volumes and over 40,000 pages of loosely filed items consist especially of newspaper and magazine clippings, but also included are photographs souvenir programs and invitations, holiday and courtesy messages, occasional notes and other correspondence, and assorted other memorabilia collected by Mr. Ford or his staff. For the period 1929-78, the contents are reproduced on 35 mm. microfilm and are available on interlibrary loan. The microfilm edition is described below under a separate heading.

The scrapbook collection consists of several segments: bound scrapbooks, the many items that have come loose/unglued from the scrapbooks, the loose items that the post-Presidential office sends to the Library several times per year, and the 1929-78 microfilm edition. The order is generally chronological but not entirely so because there are several special subject scrapbooks and because the Library has received the material in piecemeal fashion.

As a group, the scrapbooks contain a significant number of unique items, printed matter not readily available elsewhere, and voluminous press coverage of Mr. Ford and his family. Four volumes, assembled by Ford 1929 48, relate to his early life through his election to Congress, including his wedding to Elizabeth Bloomer Warren in 1948. Ford's office staff created thirty-four volumes during his service in the House of Representatives, 1949 73. Two additional volumes from the same period concern reviews of his book on the Kennedy assassination, Portrait of the Assassin (1965) and his congressional race in 1972.

Mr. Ford's staff continued to assemble scrapbooks on his career through his Vice Presidency, Presidency, and immediate post- Presidency. This group of thirty-three scrapbooks, 1973 78, provides an overview of Ford's activities and those of his family as reported by the national writing press. Numerous local newspaper clippings document regional reporting on domestic trips, and there are sometimes foreign press clippings from overseas trips.

Scrapbook materials from 1978 to the present were never mounted in bound volumes. They are a loose file of memorabilia and newspaper and magazine clippings. About one-half of the clippings are from local papers and concern Ford visits. The remainder are divided about equally between California dailies and weeklies and national press, especially the Washington Post, Time, and Newsweek. Mr. Ford and his staff sent scrapbook materials to the Ford Library on a regular basis. Library volunteers clip and file those items relating to Mr. Ford and his family.

Some folders in the Unbound Items series were shifted during processing in 2018. Contact the Ford Library staff if a previous version of the finding aid is needed.

 

The Microfilm Interlibrary Loan Edition

The microfilm edition is a reproduction of the contents of most of the 74 bound volumes and loose items from the period 1929 to 1978. It is available on interlibrary loan, no more than five reels per order. Appendix C summarizes the contents of each microfilm reel.

The volumes are reproduced one page per frame on 35 millimeter positive film. For multi-page items, programs for example, only the title page and selected other pages were microfilmed. Memorabilia such as badges, pins and campaign buttons were not microfilmed.

The microfilm reel for each scrapbook volume has up to three segments, filmed in succession: the bound volume pages; the loose/unglued items from the volume; and the photographs that have been removed and transferred to the Library audiovisual unit.

Index of Correspondents

An index of correspondents is available for scrapbook volumes 2 to 35, January 1949 to October 1973.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Bound Scrapbooks, 1929 79.
Containers Vol. 1A-70
Bound volumes tracing Ford's life from high school through his first post-Presidential years. Includes local and national newspaper and magazine clippings; foreign news clippings (vols. 59, 60, 65); programs, certificates, campaign buttons and other memorabilia; photographs; and scattered letters, notes, and other documents. Items which have come unglued are now in boxes 1 22 of the series described below. Most but not all of these volumes and their loose items have been microfilmed.

Arranged in rough chronological order with some anomalies.

See Appendix A for container list.

Unbound Items, 1931-2007.
Containers 1-86
Scrapbook material similar to that described above. Boxes 1 22, for the period 1949 79, consist of items that have come detached/unglued from the bound volumes above. In 1979, the Ford Office stopped placing materials in bound volumes and began sending them to the Library in loose form. These are in the later boxes. Some folders in this series were shifted during processing in 2018. Contact the Ford Library staff if a previous version of the finding aid is needed.

Arranged in rough chronological order with some anomalies.

See Appendix B for container list.

Scrapbook Microfilm Edition, 1929-78.
Reels 1-27
Microfilm edition of bound volume 1A 70 and boxes 1 22. However, these photo album volumes are not included: 38, 61, and 64.

Unarranged.


APPENDIX A: List of Scrapbook Volumes

Volume Title Reel
1A 1929-41, 1943 1
1B 1934-48 1
1C Curbstone QB / Jaycees 1941 16
(California) Wedding 1948 1
2 1949-50 1
3 Jan. 1951 - April 1953 2
4 May 1953 - Dec. 1954 2
5 Jan. 195 - March 1956 2
6 Feb. 1956 - Dec. 1956 3
7 Jan. 1957 - Dec. 1957 3
8 Jan. 1958 - Oct. 1958 3
9 Oct. 1958 - Aug. 1959 4
10 Aug. 1959 - Feb. 1960 4
11 Feb. 1960 - July 1960 4
12 July 1960 - Dec. 1960 5
13 Jan. 1961 - Dec. 1961 5
14 Jan. 1962 - July 1962 5
15 Aug. 1962 - Jan. 1963 6
16 Jan. 1963 - March 1964 6
17 April 1964 - Jan. 1965 7
18 Jan. 1965 - May 1965 7
19 June 1965 - Oct. 1965 8
20 Nov. 1965 - July 1966 8
21 Aug. 1966 - Feb. 1967 9
22 Feb. 1967 - Aug. 1967 9
23 Aug. 1967 - Dec. 1967 10
24 Jan. 1968 - March 1968 10
25 March 1968 - Aug. 1968 11
26 Sept. 1968 - March 1969 11
27 March 1969 - Sept. 1969 12
28 Sept. 1969 - April 1970 12
29 May 1970 - Dec. 1970 13
30 Jan. 1971 - May 1971 13
31 May 1971 - Nov. 1971 14
32 Nov. 1971 - June 1972 14
33 June 1972 - Nov. 1972 15
34 Nov. 1972 - April 1973 15
35 May 1973 - Oct. 1973 16
36 Portrait of the Assassin, 1965 7
37 Fifth District Campaign, 1972 15
38 Photos of staff interns not filmed
39 Oct. 1973 - Dec. 1973 17
40 Dec. 1973 - Feb. 1974 17
41 Feb. 1974 - Aug. 8, 1974 18
42 Aug. 1974 19
43 Aug. 1974 - Sept. 1974 19
44 Sept. 1974 - Oct. 1974 19
45 Oct. 1974 19
46 Oct. 1974 - Nov. 1974 19
47 Nov. 1974 - Dec. 1974 19
48 Jan. - Feb. 1975 20
49 Feb. - April 1975 20
50 May - July 1975 21
51 July - Sept.1975 21
52 Sept. - Nov. 1975 22
53 Nov. 1975 - March 1976 23
54 March - June 1976 23
55 June -Aug. 1976 24
56 Sept. - Oct. 1976 24
57 Misc. Aug. 1974 - Oct. 1975 27
58 Grand Rapids Press, Aug. 1974 - Jan. 1976 26
59 Foreign Press, Oct. 1974 - Sept. 1975 26
60 Far East Trip, 1975 (China, Indonesia, Philippines, Hawaii) 22
61 Photo album not filmed
62 Invitations, awards, programs, 1974-76 (see boxes 18 & 19) 27
63 Miscellaneous, Oct. 1975 - April 1976 27
64 Photo ablum not filmed
65 Foreign press, Oct. 1975 - Aug. 1976 26
66 Miscellaneous, April 1976 - Dec. 1978 27
67 Grand Rapids Press, Jan. 1976 - Aug. 1978 26
68 Invitations, awards, programs, 1976-78 (see boxes 20 & 21) 27
69 June 1977 - Dec. 1978 25
70 Oct. 1976 - May 1977 24A

 

APPENDIX B: Container List of Unbound Items

Box 1 - Unbound Itams

  • January 1931
  • August 1935
  • 1937
  • 1940
  • 1943
  • 1948
  • Papers,
    • 1949 [S1-1]
    • Undated, 1950 [S1-2]
    • Undated, 1950 [S1-3]
    • Undated, 1950 [S1-4]
    • January 1950 [S1-5]
    • Feb.-Apr. 1950 [S1-6]
    • May-Sept. 1950 [S1-7]
    • October 1950 [S1-8]
    • Nov.-Dec. 1950 [S1-9]
    • 1951 [S1-10]
    • Jan.-June 1952 [S1-11]
    • July-Sept. 1952 [S1-12]
    • Oct. 1952 [S1-13]
    • Oct. 1952 [S1-14]
    • Nov.-Dec. 1952 [S1-15]
    • Jan. 1953 [S1-16]
    • Jan. 1953 [S1-17]

Box 2 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Jan. 1953 [S1-18]
    • Jan. 1953 [S1-19]
    • Feb. 1953 [S1-20]
    • Mar.-Dec. 1953 [S1-21]
    • 1954 [S1-22]
    • Jan.-Apr. 1955 [S1-23]
    • May 1955 [S1-24]
    • June-Dec. 1955 [S1-25]
    • Undated, 1956 [S1-26]
    • Jan. 1956 [S1-27]
    • Feb. 1956 [S1-28]
    • Mar.-Aug. 1956 [S1-29]
    • Oct.-Dec. 1956 [S1-30]
  • 1957
  • Papers,
    • Jan. 1957 [S1-31]
    • Feb.-May 1957 [S1-32]

     

Box 3 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • June-Dec. 1957 [S1-33]
    • Jan.-June 1958 [S1-34]
    • July 1958 [S1-35]
    • Aug. 1958 [S1-36]
    • Aug. 1958 [S1-36]
    • Aug. 1958 [S1-37]
    • Sept. 1958 [S1-38]
    • Sept. 1958 [S1-39]
    • Oct. 1958 [S1-40]
    • Oct. 1958 [S1-41]
    • Nov. 1958 [S1-42]
    • Nov. 1958 [S1-43]
    • Dec. 1958 [S1-44]
    • Jan.-May 1958 [S1-45]
    • June 1959 [S1-46]
    • June 1959 [S1-47]

Box 4 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • July 1959 [S2-1]
    • Aug. 1959 [S2-2]
    • Aug. 1959 [S2-3]
    • Sept.-Nov. 1959 [S2-4]
    • Dec. 1959 [S2-5]
    • Dec. 1959 [S2-6]
    • 1959, American Exhibit in Moscow [S2-7]
  • 1960
  • Papers,
    • Jan.-Feb. 1960 [S2-8]
    • Mar. 1960 [S2-9]
    • Mar. 1960 [S2-10]
    • Apr. 1960 [S2-11]
    • Apr. 1960 [S2-12]
    • Apr. 1960 [S2-13]
    • May 1960 [S2-14]
    • May 1960 [S2-15]

Box 5 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • May 1960 [S2-16]
    • June 1960 [S2-17]
    • June 1960 [S2-18]
    • June 1960 [S2-19]
    • June 1960 [S2-20]
    • June 1960 [S2-21]
    • July-Aug. 1960 [S2-22]
    • Sept. 1960 [S2-23]
    • Sept. 1960 [S2-24]
    • Oct. 1960 [S2-25]
    • Nov. 1960 [S2-26]
    • Dec. 1960 [S2-27]
    • Dec. 1960 [S2-28]
    • Dec. 1960 [S2-29]
    • 1960 Republican National Convention [S2-30]

Box 6 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • 1960 Republican National Convention [S2-31]
    • 1960 Republican National Convention [S2-32]
    • 1960 Republican National Convention [S2-33]
    • 1960 Republican National Convention [S2-34]
    • 1960 Republican National Convention [S2-35]
  • 1961
  • Papers,
    • Jan. 1961 [S2-36]
    • Feb. 1961 [S2-37]
    • Mar.-June 1961 [S2-38]
    • July 1961 [S2-39]
    • July 1961 [S2-40]
    • Aug.-Dec. 1961 [S2-41]
    • Jan.-Mar. 1962 [S2-42]
    • Apr. 1962 [S2-43]
    • Apr. 1962 [S2-44]
    • May 1962 [S2-45]

Box 7 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • May 1962 [S2-46]
    • May 1962 [S2-47]
    • June-Oct. 1962 [S3-1]
    • Nov.-Dec. 1962 [S3-2]
    • Jan.-Feb. 1963 [S3-3]
    • Mar.-Aug. 1963 [S3-4]
    • Sept. 1963 [S3-5]
    • Sept. 1963 [S3-6]
    • Oct.-Dec. 1963 [S3-7]
  • November 1963
  • Papers,
    • Undated, 1964 [S3-8]
    • Jan.-Feb. 1964 [S3-9]
    • Mar. 1964 [S3-10]

Box 8 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Mar. 1964 [S3-11]
    • Mar. 1964 [S3-12]
    • Mar. 1964 [S3-13]
    • Mar. 1964 [S3-14]
    • Apr.-May 1964 [S3-15]
    • June-July 1964 [S3-16]
    • Aug.-Sept. 1964 [S3-17]
    • Oct. 1964 [S3-18]
    • Oct. 1964 [S3-19]
    • Nov.-Dec. 1964 [S3-20]
    • Jan. 1965 [S3-21]
    • Jan. 1965 [S3-22]
    • Jan. 1965 [S3-23]
    • Feb. 1965 [S3-24]

Box 9 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Mar. 1965 [S3-25]
    • Mar. 1965 [S3-26]
    • Apr.-May 1965 [S3-27]
    • June 1965 [S3-28]
    • July-Sept. 1965 [S3-29]
    • Oct.-Dec. 1965 [S3-30]
    • Jan. 1966 [S3-31]
    • Feb.-May 1966 [S3-32]
    • June 1966 [S3-33]
    • June 1966 [S3-34]
    • July-Oct. 1966 [S3-35]
    • Nov. 1966 [S3-36]
    • Nov. 1966 [S3-37]
    • Dec. 1966 [S3-38]
    • Jan. 1967 [S3-39]

Box 10 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Jan. 1967 [S3-40]
    • Feb. 1967 [S3-41]
    • Mar.-May 1967 [S3-42]
    • June 1967 [S3-43]
    • June 1967 [S3-44]
    • July-Aug. 1967 [S4-1]
    • July-Aug. 1967 [S4-2]
    • Sept. 1967 [S4-3]
    • Sept. 1967 [S4-4]
    • Oct. 1967 [S4-5]
    • Oct. 1967 [S4-6]

Box 11 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Nov.-Dec. 1967 [S4-7]
    • Undated 1968 [S4-8]
    • Undated 1968 [S4-9]
    • Undated 1968 [S4-10]
    • Jan. 1968 [S4-11]
    • Feb. 1968 [S4-12]
    • Mar. 1968 [S4-13]
    • Mar. 1968 [S4-14]
    • Mar. 1968 [S4-15]
    • Mar. 1968 [S4-16]
    • Apr. 1968 [S4-17]
    • Apr. 1968 [S4-18]
    • May 1968 [S4-19]
    • May 1968 [S4-20]
    • June-July 1968 [S4-21]

Box 12 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Aug. 1968 [S4-22]
    • Sept. 1968 [S4-23]
    • Sept. 1968 [S4-24]
  • October 1968
  • Papers,
    • Oct.-Nov. 1968 [S4-25]
    • Dec. 1968 [S4-26]
    • 1968 Republican National Convention [S4-27]
    • 1968 Republican National Convention [S4-28]
    • 1968 Republican National Convention [S4-29]
    • 1968 Republican National Convention [S4-30]
    • Undated 1969 [S4-31]
    • Undated 1969 [S4-32]
    • Jan. 1969 [S4-33]
    • Jan. 1969 [S4-34]
    • Jan. 1969 [S4-35]

Box 13 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Jan. 1969 [S4-36]
    • Jan. 1969 [S4-37]
    • Jan. 1969 [S4-38]
    • Jan. 1969 [S4-39]
    • Feb. 1969 [S4-40]
    • Mar. 1969 [S4-41]
    • Apr. 1969 [S4-42]
    • May 1969 [S4-43]
    • May 1969 [S4-44]
    • May 1969 [S4-45]
    • June 1969 [S5-1]
    • July 1969 [S5-2]
    • Aug.-Sept. 1969 [S5-3]

Box 14 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Oct.-Dec. 1969 [S5-4]
  • December 1969
  • Papers,
    • Undated 1970 [S5-5]
    • Jan.-Feb. 1970 [S5-6]
    • Mar. 1970 [S5-7]
    • Mar. 1970 [S5-8]
    • Apr. 1970 [S5-9]
    • May 1970 [S5-10]
    • May 1970 [S5-11]
    • June 1970 [S5-12]
    • July 1970 [S5-13]
    • Aug.-Sept. 1970 [S5-14]
    • Oct. 1970 [S5-15]
    • Nov.-Dec. 1970 [S5-16]
    • Undated 1971 [S5-17]
  • January 1971

Box 15 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Jan. 1971 [S5-18]
    • Jan. 1971 [S5-19]
    • February 1971 [S5-20]
    • Feb. 1971 [S5-21]
    • Mar. 1971 [S5-22]
    • Mar. 1971 [S5-23]
    • Mar. 1971 [S5-24]
    • Mar. 1971 [S5-25]
    • Apr. 1971 [S5-26]
    • May 1971 [S5-27]
    • May 1971 [S5-28]
  • May 1971
  • Papers,
    • June 1971 [S5-29]
    • June 1971 [S5-30]
    • June 1971 [S5-31]
    • July-Aug. 1971 [S5-32]
    • Sept. 1971 [S5-33]

Box 16 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • Sept. 1971 [S5-34]
    • Oct. 1971 [S5-35]
    • Oct. 1971 [S5-36]
    • Nov. 1971 [S5-37]
    • Dec. 1971 [S5-38]
    • Undated 1972 [S5-39]
    • Undated 1972 [S5-40]
    • Jan. 1972 [S5-41]
    • Feb. 1972 [S5-42]
    • Mar.-Apr. 1972 [S5-43]
    • May 1972 [S5-44]
    • May 1972 [S5-45]
    • May 1972 [S5-46]

Box 17 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
    • June 1972 [S5-47]
    • July 1972 [S5-48]
    • July 1972 [S5-49]
    • Aug. 1972 [S6-1]
    • Sept. 1972 [S6-2]
    • Sept. 1972 [S6-3]
    • Oct. 1972 [S6-4]
    • Nov. 1972 [S6-5]
    • Dec. 1972 [S6-6]
    • Dec. 1972 [S6-7]
    • 1972 Republican National Convention [S6-8]
    • 1972 Republican National Convention [S6-9]
    • 1972 Republican National Convention [S6-10]
    • 1972 Republican National Convention [S6-11]

Box 18 - Unbound Items

  • Papers,
  • 1972 Fifth District Campaign [S6-12]
  • 1972 Fifth District Campaign [S6-13]
  • 1972 Fifth District Campaign [S6-14]
  • Undated 1973 [S6-15]
  • Jan. 1973 [S6-16]
  • Jan. 1973 [S6-17]
  • Jan. 1973 [S6-18]
  • Feb. 1973 [S6-19]
  • Mar. 1973 [S6-20]
  • Mar. 1973 [S6-21]
  • Mar. 1973 [S6-22]
  • Apr. 1973 [S6-23]
  • Apr. 1973 [S6-24]
  • May 1973 [S6-25]
  • June 1973 [S6-26]
  • July-Sept. 1973 [S6-27]
  • Oct. 1973 [S6-28]

Box 19 - Unbound Items

  • Notes on White House Meetings,
    • 1969-1972 [S6-29]
    • 1973-1974 [S6-30]
  • Biographical Sketches Prepared by Ford’s Office, 1961-1973 [S6-31]
  • “Representative Gerald R. Ford” (biographical information), 1963 [S6-32]
  • Published articles about Gerald Ford,
    • 1953 [S6-33]
    • 1958 [S6-34]
    • 1959 [S6-35]
    • 1960-1962 [S6-36]
    • 1963 [S6-37]
    • 1964 [S6-38]
    • 1965 [S6-39]
    • 1965 [S6-40]
    • 1966 [S6-41]
    • 1966 [S6-42]
    • 1966 [S6-43]
    • 1966 [S6-44]
    • 1967 [S6-45]
    • 1967 [S6-46]
    • 1967 [S6-47]
    • 1970-1971 [S6-48]

Box 20 - Unbound Items

  • Papers, October 1973
  • 1973-Magazines
  • 1974-Booklets/Magazines/Programs (1)-(3)
  • July 1974
  • Papers, August 1974
  • August 1974
  • November 1974
  • December 1974
  • 1975
  • January 1975
  • April 1975
  • June 1975
  • July 1975
  • August 1975
  • September 1975
  • October 1975

Box 21 - Unbound Items

  • USS Monterey Reunion
  • Volume 57
  • Michigan State Bar Journal, Volume 53, September 1974
  • People Magazine, Vol. 2, No. 17, October 21, 1974
  • The New Republic, Vol. 171, No. 23, Issue 3126, December 7, 1974
  • Grand Rapids (Special Issue), Vol. 2, No. 10, October 1974
  • The Economist, Vol. 253, No. 6849, November 30, 1974
  • The New Republic, Vol. 171, No. 24, Issue 3127, December 14, 1974
  • The New Republic, Vol. 171, No. 25, Issue 3128, December 21, 1974
  • Gente Y La Actualidad, Ano 8, No. 454, April 4, 1974
  • Army-Yale Football Program, October 21, 1939 [April/May 1975]
  • Women Sports, Vol. 2, No. 8, August 1975
  • Time (Europe), June 2, 1975
  • Les Informations, No. 1577, August 4, 1975
  • Newspaper Clippings from Des Moines, Iowa [August 1975]
  • New England Newspaper Clippings [August 1975]
  • The Western Horseman, Vol. XXXX, No. 10, October 1975
  • Michigan State-Michigan Football Program, October 11, 1975
  • Look at Finland, Conference of Security and Cooperation in Europe Edition, 3/19/75
  • Illustrated Football 1934 Annual

Box 22 - Unbound Items

  • 1976
  • Miscellaneous Items, 1976
  • Epoca, A. XXV, No. 1246, August 24, 1974
  • Japanese Magazine dated October 31, 1975
  • Stanford Lawyer (Celebration Issue), Vol. 10, No. 2, Fall 1975
  • Life (Special Report), Winter 1976
  • Concord Hymn [Jan. 1976]
  • Department of State Newsletter, No. 158, July 1974 [April 1976]
  • The White House News Photographers Association Awards Book 1976
  • February 1976
  • April-May 1976
  • August 1976
  • October 1976
  • November 1976
  • 1976-National Enquirer

Box 23 - Unbound Items

  • Volume 62, Pages 1-10

Box 24 - Unbound Items

  • Volume 62, Pages 11-35

Box 25 - Unbound Items

  • Volume 68, Pages 1-17

Box 26 - Unbound Items

  • Volume 68, Pages 18-35

Box 27 - Unbound Items

  • 1977
  • 1977-Clippings
  • 1978-Clippings
  • Undated-Clippings
  • 1977-Programs, etc.
  • January 1978-Programs, etc.
  • February 1978-Programs, etc.
  • March 1978-Programs, etc.
  • April-May 1978-Programs, etc.
  • May 1978-Programs
  • June 1978-Programs, etc.
  • August 1978-Clippings
  • August 1978-Programs, etc.
  • September 1978-Clippings
  • September 1978-Programs, etc.
  • October 1978-Clippings
  • October 1978-Programs, etc.
  • November 1978-Clippings
  • November 1978-Programs, etc.

Box 28 - Unbound Items

  • December 1978-Clippings
  • December 1978-Programs, etc.
  • 1979
  • Undated, 1979
  • January 1979-Clippings
  • January 1979-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • February 1979-Clippings
  • February 1979-Programs, etc.
  • March 1979-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • March 1979-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)

Box 29 - Unbound Items

  • April 1979-Clippings
  • April 1979-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • May 1979-Clippings
  • May 1979-Programs, etc. (1)-(6)
  • May-June 1979, Reviews of A Time to Heal (1)-(3)

Box 30 - Unbound Items

  • June 1979-Clippings
  • June 1979-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • July 1979-Clippings
  • July 1979-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • August 1979-Clippings
  • August 1979-Programs, etc.
  • September 1979-Clippings
  • September 1979-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)

Box 31 - Unbound Items

  • October 1979-Clippings
  • October 1979-Programs, etc.
  • November 1979-Clippings
  • November 1979-Programs, etc.
  • December 1979-Clippings
  • December 1979-Programs, etc.
  • 1980
  • Undated, 1980-Programs, etc.
  • January 1980-Clippings
  • January 1980-Programs, etc.
  • February 1980-Clippings
  • February 1980-Programs, etc.

Box 32 - Unbound Items

  • March 1980-Clippings (1)-(4)
  • March 1980-Programs, etc.
  • April 1980-Clippings
  • April 1980-Programs, etc.
  • May 1980-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • May 1980-Programs, etc.
  • June 1980-Clippings
  • June 1980-Programs, etc.

Box 33 - Unbound Items

  • July 1980-Clippings (1)-(4)
  • July 1980-Programs, etc.
  • August 1980-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • August 1980-Programs, etc.
  • September 1980-Clippings (1)-(2)

Box 34 - Unbound Items

  • September 1980-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • October 1980-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • October 1980-Programs, etc.
  • November 1980-Clippings
  • November 1980-Programs, etc.
  • December 1980-Clippings
  • December 1980-Programs, etc.
  • 1981
  • Undated 1981-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)

Box 35 - Unbound Items

  • January 1981-Clippings
  • January 1981-Programs, etc.
  • February 1981-Clippings
  • February 1981-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • March 1981-Clippings
  • March 1981-Programs, etc.
  • April 1981-Clippings
  • April 1981-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)

Box 36 - Unbound Items

  • May 1981-Clippings
  • May 1981-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • June 1981-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • June 1981-Programs, etc.
  • July 1981-Clippings
  • July 1981-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • August 1981-Clippings
  • August 1981-Programs, etc.
  • September 1981-Clippings (1)-(2)

Box 37 - Unbound Items

  • September 1981-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)
  • October 1981-Clippings
  • October 1981-Programs, etc. (1)-(5)
  • November 1981-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • November 1981-Programs, etc.
  • December 1981-Clippings
  • December 1981-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)

Box 38 - Unbound Items

  • 1982
  • Undated 1982 (1)-(2)
  • January 1982-Clippings
  • January 1982-Programs, etc. (1)-(4)
  • February 1982-Clippings
  • February 1982-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • March 1982-Clippings
  • March 1982-Programs, etc.

Box 39 - Unbound Items

  • April 1982-Clippings
  • April 1982-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • May 1982-Clippings
  • May 1982-Programs, etc.
  • June 1982-Clippings
  • June 1982-Programs, etc.
  • July 1982-Clippings
  • July 1982-Programs, etc.
  • Album date August 5, 1982-July/August 1982 Clippings
  • August 1982-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • August 1982-Programs, etc.

Box 40 - Unbound Items

  • September 1982-Clippings (1)-(3)
  • September 1982-Programs, etc.
  • October 1982-Clippings
  • October 1982-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • November 1982-Clippings
  • November 1982-Programs, etc.
  • December 1982-Clippings
  • December 1982-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)

Box 41 - Unbound Items

  • 1983
  • Betty Ford, 1983
  • January 1983-Clippings
  • January 1983-Programs, etc. (1)-(4)
  • February 1983-Clippings
  • February 1983-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)

Box 42 - Unbound Items

  • March 1983-Clippings (1)-(3)
  • March 1983-Programs, etc. (1)-(4)
  • April 1983-Clippings
  • April 1983-Programs, etc.
  • May 1983-Clippings
  • May 1983-Programs, etc.

Box 43 - Unbound Items

  • June 1983-Clippings
  • June 1983-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)
  • July 1983-Clippings
  • August 1983-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • August 1983-Programs, etc.
  • September 1983-Clippings
  • September 1983-Programs, etc.

Box 44 - Unbound Items

  • October 1983-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • October 1983-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)
  • November 1983-Clippings
  • November 1983-Programs, etc.
  • December 1983-Clippings
  • December 1983-Programs, etc.

Box 45 - Unbound Items

  • 1984
  • Betty Ford, 1984
  • January 1984-Clippings
  • January 1984-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)
  • February 1984-Clippings
  • February 1984-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)

Box 46 - Unbounds Items

  • March 1984-Clippings
  • March 1984-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)
  • April 1984-Clippings
  • April 1984-Programs, etc.
  • May 1984-Clippings
  • May 1984-Programs, etc.
  • June 1984-Clippings
  • June 1984-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)

Box 47 - Unbound Items

  • July 1984-Clippings
  • July 1984-Programs, etc.
  • August 1984-Clippings (1)-(3)
  • August 1984-Programs, etc.
  • The Eighth Annual Jerry Ford Invitational Golf Tournament, August 3-7, 1984
  • September 1984-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • September 1984-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)

Box 48 - Unbound Items

  • October 1984-Clippings
  • October 1984-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)
  • November 1984-Clippings
  • November 1984-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • December 1984-Clippings
  • December 1984-Programs, etc.

Box 49 - Unbound Items

  • 1985
  • January 1985-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • January 1985-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • February 1985-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • February 1985-Programs, etc.
  • March 1985-Clippings
  • March 1985-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)

Box 50 - Unbound Items

  • April 1985-Clippings
  • April 1985-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • May 1985-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • May 1985-Programs, etc.
  • June 1985-Clippings
  • June 1985-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • July 1985-Clippings

Box 51 - Unbound Items

  • August 1985-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • August 1985-Programs, etc. (1)-(3)
  • September 1985-Clippings
  • September 1985-Programs, etc.
  • October 1985-Clippings

Box 52 - Unbound Items

  • October 1985-Programs, etc. (1)-(4)
  • November 1985-Clippings
  • November 1985-Programs, etc.
  • December 1985-Clippings
  • December 1985-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • 1986
  • Undated, 1986
  • January 1986-Clippings
  • January 1986-Programs, etc. (1)-(4)

Box 53 - Unbound Items

  • February 1986-Clippings
  • February 1986-Programs, etc.
  • March 1986-Clippings (1)-(2)
  • March 1986-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • April 1986-Clippings
  • April 1986-Programs, etc. (1)-(2)
  • May 1986

Box 54 - Unbound Items

  • June 1986
  • July 1986 (1)-(2)
  • August 1986 (1)-(2)
  • September 1986 (1)-(2)

Box 55 - Unbound Items

  • October 1986 (1)-(2)
  • November 1986 (1)-(2)
  • December 1986
  • 1987
  • January 1987
  • February 1987
  • March 1987 (1)-(2)

Box 56 - Unbound Items

  • April 1987
  • May 1987
  • June 1987
  • July 1987
  • August 1987
  • September 1987
  • October 1987 (1)-(2)
  • November 1987 (1)-(2)
  • December 1987

Box 57 - Unbound Items

  • January 1988 (1)-(3)
  • February 1988
  • March 1988
  • April 1988 (1)-(2)
  • May 1988
  • June 1988
  • July 1988

Box 58 - Unbound Items

  • August 1988 (1)-(2)
  • September 1988
  • October 1988
  • November 1988 (1)-(3)
  • December 1988 (1)-(3)

Box 59 - Unbound Items

  • January 1989 (1)-(2)
  • February 1989 (1)-(6)
  • February 1989-Lavazza Meeting (2/10)
  • February 1989-Daily Schedule Update for President Ford (2/10)

Box 60 - Unbound Items

  • March 1989 (1)-(2)
  • April 1989 (1)-(3)
  • May 1989
  • June 1989 (1)-(2)
  • July 1989
  • August 1989 (1)-(2)

Box 61 - Unbound Items

  • September 1989
  • October 1989 (1)-(4)
  • November 1989
  • December 1989 (1)-(2)
  • January 1990 (1)

Box 62 - Unbound Items

  • January 1990 (2)
  • February 1990
  • March 1990 (1)-(2)
  • April 1990 (1)-(3)
  • May 1990
  • June 1990

Box 63 - Unbound Items

  • July 1990 (1)-(5)
  • August 1990
  • September 1990
  • October 1990 (1)-(3)
  • November 1990
  • December 1990

Box 64 - Unbound Items

  • January 1991 (1)-(2)
  • February 1991 (1)-(2)
  • March 1991
  • April 1991
  • May 1991 (1)-(2)
  • June 1991
  • July 1991

Box 65 - Unbound Items

  • August 1991
  • September 1991 (1)-(2)
  • October 1991 (1)-(2)
  • November 1991
  • December 1991
  • 1992
  • January 1992 (1)-(2)

Box 66 - Unbound Items

  • February 1992
  • March 1992
  • April 1992
  • May 1992
  • June 1992
  • July 1992
  • August 1992
  • September 1992
  • October 1992 (1)-(3)
  • November 1992
  • December 1992 (1)-(2)

Box 67 - Unbound Items

  • January 1993
  • February 1993 (1)-(5)
  • March 1993
  • April 1993
  • May 1993
  • June 1993
  • July 1993

Box 68 - Unbound Items

  • August 1993 (1)-(2)
  • September 1993
  • October 1993
  • November 1993
  • December 1993

Box 69 - Unbound Items

  • 1994 (1)-(3)
  • January 1994
  • February 1994 (1)-(2)
  • March 1994
  • April 1994
  • May 1994
  • June 1994
  • July 1994

Box 70 - Unbound Items

  • August 1994 (1)-(4)
  • September 1994 (1)-(2)
  • October 1994
  • November 1994
  • December 1994

Box 71 - Unbound Items

  • January 1995
  • February 1995 (1)-(3)
  • March 1995
  • April 1995 (1)-(3)
  • April 1995-Russian American Daily Newspaper (April 21, 1995)

Box 72 - Unbound Items

  • May 1995
  • June 1995
  • July 1995
  • August 1995
  • September 1995
  • October 1995
  • November 1995
  • December 1995 (1)-(2)

Box 73 - Unbound Items

  • January 1996
  • January 1996-Bob Hope Chrysler Classic (1)-(3)
  • February 1996
  • Spring 1996-March through April
  • March 1996
  • April 1996
  • May 1996 (1)-(2)
  • June 1996

Box 74 - Unbound Items

  • July 1996 (1)-(2)
  • August 1996
  • August 1996-Jerry Ford Invitational (1)-(2)
  • September 1996

Box 75 - Unbound Items

  • October 1996
  • November 1996
  • December 1996
  • January 1997
  • February 1997
  • March 1997
  • April 1997 (1)-(3)
  • May 1997

Box 76 - Unbound Items

  • June 1997
  • July 1997
  • August 1997
  • September 1997
  • October 1997
  • November 1997
  • November 1997-George Bush Library-Bryan College Station, Texas “The Eagle”
  • November 1997-Bush Library Dedication
  • December 1997

Box 77 - Unbound Items

  • Winter 1998
  • January 1998 (1)-(2)
  • February 1998
  • March 1998
  • April 1998
  • May 1998
  • June 1998
  • July 1998
  • August 1998
  • September 1998
  • October 1998

Box 78 - Unbound Items

  • November 1998
  • December 1998
  • 1999
  • January 1999
  • February 1999
  • March 1999
  • April 1999
  • May 1999
  • June 1999
  • July 1999
  • August 1999
  • September 1999

Box 79 - Unbound Items

  • October 1999
  • November 1999 (1)-(2)
  • December 1999
  • December 1999-Gerald R. Ford International Airport
  • January 2000
  • February 2000
  • March 2000
  • April 2000
  • May 2000
  • June 2000
  • July 2000
  • August 2000

Box 80 - Unbound Items

  • September 2000
  • Fall 2000-Univ. of Chicago Law School-Edward Levi, pp. 80-81
  • Fall 2000-U. of M.-Political Science Dept., pp. 12, 15-16
  • October 2000
  • November 2000
  • November 2000-Election
  • December 2000
  • January 2001
  • February 2001
  • March 2001
  • April 2001
  • May 2001
  • May 2001-Kennedy Annual May Dinner

Box 81 - Unbound Items

  • June 2001
  • July 2001
  • August 2001
  • September 2001
  • October 2001
  • November 2001
  • December 2001
  • 2002
  • January 2002
  • February 2002
  • March 2002
  • April 2002
  • May 2002
  • June 2002
  • July 2002

Box 82 - Unbound Items

  • September-October 2002
  • November-December 2002
  • January-February 2003
  • March 2003
  • April-May 2003
  • June 2003
  • July-October 2003
  • November-December 2003

Box 83 - Unbound Items

  • January-May 2004
  • June 2004
  • July-December 2004
  • 2005
  • 2006
  • 2007
  • Undated (1)-(3)
  • Undated [1964]
  • Undated [1973/1974]

Box 84 - Unbound Items

  • Cadence, September 9, 1981 [East Grand Rapids newspaper]
  • Cadence, “Celebration on the Grand II,” September 16, 1981 [East Grand Rapids newspaper] [Insert]
  • Cadence, September 16, 1981 [East Grand Rapids newspaper]
  • Des Moines Register, August 9, 1974 [Partial copy, photocopy]
  • Detroit Free Press, September 16, 1981
  • Detroit Free Press, September 18, 1981
  • Detroit News, September 18, 1981 [Partial copy, section A]
  • Grand Rapids Press, August 9, 1974 [Photocopy]
  • Grand Rapids Press, “Gerald R. Ford: A Special Report,” September 13, 1981 [Insert]
  • Grand Rapids Press, “Celebration on the Grand,” September 13, 1981 [Insert]
  • Grand Rapids Press, September 13, 1981
  • Grand Rapids Press, September 14, 1981
  • Grand Rapids Press, September 15, 1981
  • Grand Rapids Press, September 16, 1981
  • Grand Rapids Press, September 17, 1981
  • Grand Rapids Press, September 18, 1981
  • Grand Rapids Press, September 19, 1981
  • Grand Rapids Press, September 20, 1981
  • International Herald Tribune, August 10-11, 1974 [Partial copy]
  • International Herald Tribune, August 20, 1976 [Partial copy]

Box 85 - Unbound Items

  • Oversize Items

Box 86 - Unbound Items

  • Oversize Items

 

APPENDIX C: Contents of Scrapbook Microfilm Edition

Reel Scrapbook Title Frames
1 1A 1929-41, 1943 534
  1B 1934-48  
  -- Wedding, 1948  
  2 1949-50  
2 3 January 1951 - April 1953 631
  4 May 1953 - December 1954  
  5 January 1955 - March 1956  
3 6 February 1956 - December 1956 472
  7 January 1957 - December 1957  
  8 January 1958 - October 1958  
4 9 October 1958 - August 1959 552
  10 August 1959 - February 1960  
  11 February 1960 - Jukly 1960  
5 12 July 1960 - December 1960 609
  13 January 1961 - December 1961  
  14 January 1962 - July 1962  
6 15 August 1962 - January 1963 641
  16 January 1963 - March 1964  
7 17 April 1964 - January 1965 533
  18 January 1965 - May 1965  
  36 Portrait of the Assassin, 1965-66  
8 19 June 1965 - October 1965 521
  20 November 1965 - July 1966  
9 21 August 1966 - February 1967 550
  22 February 1967 - August 1967  
10 23 August 1967 - December 1967 474
  24 January 1968 - March 1968  
11 25 March 1968 - August 1968 645
  26 September 1968 - March 1969  
12 27 March 1969 - September 1969 621
  28 September 1969 - April 1970  
13 29 May 1970 - December 1970 511
  30 January 1971 - May 1971  
14 31 May 1971 - November 1971 544
  32 November 1971 - June 1972  
15 33 June 1972 - November 1972 589
  37 Fifth District Campaign, 1972  
  34 November 1972 - April 1973  
16 35 May 1973 - October 1973 306
  1C "Curbstone Quarterback" 1941  
17 39 October 1973 - December 1973 695
  40 December 1973 - February 1974  
18 41 February 1974 - August 8, 1974 431
19 42 Clippings, Aug. 1974 648
  43 Clippings, Aug. 1974 - Sept. 1974  
  44 Clippings, Sept. 1974 - Oct. 1974  
  45 Clippings, Oct. 1974  
  46 Clippings, Oct. 1974 - Nov. 1974  
  47 Clippings, Nov. 1974 - Dec. 1974  
20 48 Clippings, Jan. 1975 - Feb. 1975 524
  49 Clippings, Feb. 1975 - April 1975  
21 50 Clippings, May 1975 - July 1975 699
  51 Clippings, July 1975 - Sept. 1975  
22 52 Clippings, Sept. 1975 - Nov. 1975 519
  60 Far East Trip, Nov. - Dec. 1975  
23 53 Clippings, Nov. 1975 - March 1976 515
  54 Clippings, March 1976 - June 1976  
24 55 Clippings, June 1976 - Aug. 1976 863
  56 Clippings, Aug. 1976 - Oct. 1976  
24A 70 Clippings, Oct. 1976 - May 1977 494
25 69 Clippings, June 1977 - Dec. 1978 479
26 59 Grand Rapids Press, Aug. 1974 - January 1976 877
  67 Grand Rapids Press, Jan. 1976 - August 1978  
  59 Foreign News Articles, June 1974 - Sept. 1975  
  65 Foriegn News Articles, Sept. 1975 - Aug. 1976  
27 62 Invitiations and Programs, August 1974 - July 1976 536
  68 Invitiations and Programs, May 1976 - January 1979  
  57 Miscellaneous Items, August 1974- October 1975  
  63 Miscellaneous Items, October 1975 - April 1976  
  66 Miscellaneous Items, April 1976 - December 1978