| |
COLLECTION FINDING AID
GERALD R. FORD
Funeral Materials, ca. 2006-2007
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
This collection consists of condolence messages sent to Betty Ford and family following the death of President Gerald R. Ford.
QUANTITY
Approximately 46 linear feet (approximately 92,000 pages)
DONOR
Betty Ford (2010-NLF-006)
ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).
COPYRIGHT
Betty Ford donated to the United States of America her copyrights in all of her unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by John J. O’Connell, January 18, 2022
[S:BIN/Finding Aids & Guides/Ford, Gerald R.- Funeral Materials]
INTRODUCTION
Former President Gerald R. Ford died peacefully at his home in Rancho Mirage, California, on December 26, 2006. The following day, President George W. Bush issued a proclamation announcing President Ford’s death and directing US flags on all federal facilities be flown at half-staff. On December 28, 2006, President Bush issued Executive Order 13421 proclaiming January 2, 2007, a day of respect and remembrance for the former President and ordered the closing of federal offices and agencies.
The first funeral service for Gerald Ford took place at St. Margaret's Episcopal Church in Palm Desert, California, on December 30, 2006. Following the service, President Ford's casket was flown to Washington, DC, for the state funeral service at the US Capitol Rotunda, which preceded his lying in state. The national funeral service followed on January 2, 2007, at Washington National Cathedral. The next day, Mrs. Ford and the family accompanied President Ford’s casket on his final flight home to Grand Rapids, Michigan, for a funeral service at Grace Episcopal Church and interment at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum.
The Gerald R. Ford Funeral Materials contain a wide array of condolence messages and expressions of sympathy sent to Betty Ford and family following the death of President Ford. A large portion of the collection consists of condolence books collected by American embassies overseas; foreign embassies in Washington, DC; the United Nations headquarters in New York City; US Supreme Court; US House of Representatives; Blair House; US Department of Interior’s White House Visitors Office; Presidential Libraries; and funeral homes across the US. There are also numerous official tributes to Gerald R. Ford from foreign dignitaries, such as King Albert II of Belgium, Queen Margrethe II of Denmark, Emperor Akihito of Japan, and Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom. In addition, the collection contains proclamations and resolutions issued by state and municipal governments, public and private universities, police departments, state troopers, state national guard, and other local organizations.
On a more personal level are the cards, letters, emails, and tokens of sympathy sent to Betty Ford and the family following Gerald Ford’s passing. In general terms, these messages share remembrances of the Ford presidency, including the impact of the Watergate scandal, Nixon pardon, Bicentennial celebration, and Betty Ford’s breast cancer surgery, and the Ford children. Of particular note are letters from past acquaintances sharing anecdotal information from President Ford’s early years about his football accomplishments, park ranger experience, Yale Law School years, and WWII service, as well as Mrs. Ford’s modeling career and employment at Herpolsheimer's department store. The tokens of sympathy run the gamut from children’s drawings to photos, prayer cards, mass enrollment cards, poems, and musical compositions.
In addition, the collection contains a small of amount of material relating to the funeral ceremonies, but these materials are rather selective and fragmentary.
Related Materials (January 2022)
Related materials can be found in the Gerald R. Ford Congressional Papers A series (General and Case Files) and J series (Special Files), especially letters from constituents alongside their corresponding letters in the funeral materials. Likewise, the Gerald R. Ford Scrapbooks contain material related to Ford and football, Yale law school, Park Ranger experience in the Grand Tetons Wyoming, WWII service, and congressional career. Lastly, the Gerald R. Ford Post-Presidential Office Files and Betty Ford Post-White House Papers may be of some use because of their connection to the Betty Ford Center as well as the continuous letters Ford received from the general public.
SERIES DESCRIPTIONS
Cards and Letters, 2006-2007. (Boxes 1-49, 96, and 101, 21.9 linear feet)
This series contains condolence mail that was received by the Office of Gerald R. Ford in Rancho Mirage, California, as well as the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum. Contents include cards, letters, drawings, poems, photos (transferred to AV), prayer books, mass enrollment cards, music compositions. Topics include the Ford family, Ford Presidency, memorial suggestions, offers of tribute, and sympathetic appeals for aid or mementos.
Unarranged with oversized material in container 96.
View container list for this series
Email Messages, 2006-2007. (Boxes 50-65 and 101, 7.4 linear feet)
This series contains email messages that were received by the Office of Gerald R. Ford. Topics include the Ford family, Ford Presidency, memorial suggestions, offers of tribute, and sympathetic appeals for aid or mementos.
Arranged chronologically by date.
View container list for this series
Gerald R. Ford Memorial Resolutions and Proclamations, 2006-2007. (Boxes 66-68, 96, and 99, 2.6 linear feet)
This series contains memorial tributes and proclamations of varying length about Gerald R. Ford from heads of state, ambassadors, cabinet ministers, politicians, judges, local community leaders, local organizations, boy scouts, state governors, and law schools.
Arranged alphabetically by Country with oversized material in containers 96 and 99.
View container list for this series
Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations, 2006-2007. (Boxes 69-81 and 96-100, 7.4 linear feet)
This series contains condolence books collected by federal government organizations, including Blair House, Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum, Richard Nixon Presidential Library and Museum, Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum, US Congress, US Department of State/United Nations, US Supreme Court, and White House.
Arranged alphabetically by name of government organization with oversized material in containers 96-100.
View container list for this series
Condolence Books from Funeral Homes and Churches, 2006-2007. (Boxes 82-88 and 100, 3.1 linear feet)
This series contains condolence books from funeral homes and churches in California, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, New York, North Carolina, and Virginia. Included with the condolence books are prayer cards, mass enrollment cards, photos (transferred to AV), drawings, letters, notes, and clippings.
Arranged alphabetically by state/city and thereunder by funeral home with oversized material transferred to container 100.
View container list for this series
General Subject File, 2006-2007. (Boxes 89-91, 98, and 100, 1.9 linear feet)
This series contains funeral programs, letters, cards, notes, loose clippings, tribute messages, photos (transferred to AV), children’s drawings, poster signs, music compositions, news clippings, magazines, and artwork. The vast majority of items were left at the Ford Museum in sympathy. Topics include the Ford family, Ford presidency, memorial suggestions, offers of tribute, and sympathetic appeals for aid or mementos.
Arranged alphabetically by name with oversized material in containers 98 and 100.
View container list for this series
Publications, 2006-2007. (Boxes 92-95, 1.7 linear feet)
This series contains printed material covering the death of Gerald R. Ford and subsequent funeral ceremonies in California, Washington DC, and Michigan. Contents include print editions of Newsweek, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Desert Sun, and The Grand Rapids Press.
Arranged alphabetically by name of publication.
View container list for this series
CONTAINER LIST
Box 1-49 - Cards and Letters
- Cards and Letters (1)-(349)
Box 50 - Email Messages
- 12/26/2006 - Email Messages (1)-(3)
- 12/27/2006 - Email Messages (1)-(4)
Box 51 - Email Messages
- 12/27/2006- Email Messages (5)-(11)
Box 52 - Email Messages
- 12/27/2006 - Email Messages (12)-(18)
Box 53 - Email Messages
- 12/27/2006 - Email Messages (19)-(26)
Box 54 - Email Messages
- 12/28/2006 - Email Messages (1)-(9)
Box 55 - Email Messages
- 12/28/2006 - Email Messages (10)-(16)
- 12/29/2006 - Email Messages (1)-(2)
Box 56 - Email Messages
- 12/29/2006 - Email Messages (3)-(10)
Box 57 - Email Messages
- 12/29/2006 - Email Messages (11)-(14)
- 12/30/2006 - Email Messages (1)-(6)
Box 58 - Email Messages
- 12/30/2006 - Email Messages (7)-15)
Box 59 - Email Messages
- 12/31/2006 - Email Messages (1)-(4)
- 01/02/2007 - Email Messages (1)-(5)
Box 60 - Email Messages
- 01/02/2007 - Email Messages (6)-(14)
Box 61 - Email Messages
- 01/02/2007 - Email Messages (15)-(16)
- 01/03/2007 - Email Messages (1)-(8)
Box 62 - Email Messages
- 01/03/2007 - Email Messages (9)-(17)
Box 63 - Email Messages
- 01/03/2007 - Email Messages (18)-(20)
- 01/04/2007 - Email Messages (1)-(7)
Box 64 - Email Messages
- 01/04/2007 - Email Messages (8)-(9)
- 01/05/2007 - Email Messages (1)-(3)
- 01/06/2007 - Email Messages (1)-(2)
- 01/07/2007 - Email Messages
- 01/08/2007 - Email Messages
- 01/09-11/2007 - Email Messages
Box 65 - Email Messages
- 01/11-14/2007 - Email Messages
- 01/14-19/2007 - Email Messages
- 01/20-26/2007 - Email Messages
- 01/26/2007-04/10/2007 - Email Messages
Box 66 - Gerald R. Ford Memorial Resolutions and Proclamations
- Albania - President Alfred Moisiu
- Andorra - Chargé d'Affaires Jelena Piacomella
- Belgium - King Albert II
- Belgium - Prime Minister Guy Verhofstadt
- Brazil - President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva
- Bulgaria - President Georgi Parvanov
- Canada - Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty
- Canada - Prime Minister Steven Harper
- Czech Republic - Minister of Foreign Affairs Alexandr Vondra
- Czech Republic - President Vaclav Klaus
- Denmark - Prime Minister Anders Fogh Rasmussun
- Denmark - Queen Margrethe II
- France - President Jacques Chirac
- Gambia - Ambassador Dodou Bammy Jagne
- Greece - Prime Minister Alexandros Mallias
- Guinea - Chargé d'Affaires Ibrahima Sory Traore
- Ireland - Ambassador Noel Fahey
- Ireland - Chargé d'Affaires Orla O'Hanrahan
- Ireland - President Mary McAleese
- Ireland - Taoiseach Bertie Ahern
- Israel - Former Prime Minister Ehud Barak
- Israel - Orthodox Jewish Community, Rabbi Matityahu Cheshin
- Israel - Vice Prime Minister Shimon Peres
- Japan - Ambassador Ryozo Kato
- Japan - City of Sendai
- Japan - Emperor Akihito
- Japan - Prime Minister Shinzo Abe
- Jordan - King Abdullah
- Jordan - Prince El Hassan Bin Talal
- Kosovo - Minister Agim Veliu
- Liechtenstein - Ambassador Claudia Fritsche
- Luxemburg - Grand Duke
- Macedonia - President Branko Crvenkovski
- Malaysia - Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi
- Mexico - President Felipe Calderon
- Monaco - Prince Albert
- Morocco - King Mohammed VI
- Nepal - Deputy Prime Minister K.P. Sharma Oli
- Netherlands - Queen Beatrix
- Nicaragua - Ambassador Eduardo J. Sevilla Somoza
- Nigeria - President Oluseoun Obasanjo
- Pakistan - General Pervez Musharraf (President)
- Palau - National Congress
- Philippines - Ambassador Alfonso T. Yuchengco
- Philippines - Ambassador Willy C. Gaa
- Republic of China (Taiwan) - Representative David Tawei Lee
- Republic of Suriname - Chargé d'Affaires Henry L. MacDonald
- Romania - President Traian Basescu
- Saudi Arabia - Ambassador Turki Al Faisal
- Singapore - President S.R. Nathan
- Swaziland - King Mswati III
- Tibet - Tibetan Parliament in Exile
- Turkey - President Ahmet Needet Sezer
- United Kingdom - Queen Elizabeth II and Prime Minister Tony Blair
Box 67 - Gerald R. Ford Memorial Resolutions and Proclamations
- United States - California, Duarte
- United States - California, Glendale
- United States - California, Indian Wells
- United States - California, La Quinta
- United States - California, Los Angeles
- United States - California, Los Angeles County
- United States - California, Manhattan Beach
- United States - California, Merced
- United States - California, Pico Rivera (see oversize container 96)
- United States - California, Rancho Mirage
- United States - California, Redlands
- United States - California, Riverside County, (Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians)
- United States - California, Sacramento (Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger)
- United States - California, Sacramento (State Senate)
- United States - California, San Mateo
- United States - California, Santa Ana
- United States - California, South Gate
- United States - California, Tustin
- United States - California, Yuba County
- United States - Colorado, Denver
- United States - Connecticut, Bristol
- United States - Connecticut, Hartford (General Assembly) (see oversize container 99)
- United States - Guam, Hagatna (Governor Felix Camacho)
- United States - Idaho, Twin Falls
- United States - Illinois, Chicago (Mayor Richard Daley)
- United States - Illinois, Cook County (Board of Commissioners)
- United States - Illinois, Springfield (State House)
- United States - Illinois, Tinley Park
- United States - Iowa, Des Moines (General Assembly)
- United States - Iowa, Des Moines (State Senate)
- United States - Kentucky, Frankfort (State House)
- United States - Kentucky, Frankfort (State Senate) (see oversize container 99)
- United States - Massachusetts, Cambridge
- United States - Michigan, Battle Creek
- United States - Michigan, Kent County
- United States - Michigan, Lansing (Governor Granholm) (see oversize container 96)
- United States - Michigan, Lansing (House Resolution No. 7) (see oversize container 99)
- United States - Michigan, Lansing (Senate Resolution No. 3) (see oversize container 99)
- United States - Michigan, Lansing (State House)
- United States - Michigan, Pine Grove Township
- United States - Michigan, Walker
Box 68 - Gerald R. Ford Memorial Resolutions and Proclamations
- United States - Missouri, Mansfield
- United States - Missouri, Sibley
- United States - Nevada, Carson City (Governor Jim Gibbons)
- United States - New Jersey, Clifton
- United States - New York, Albany (Executive Chamber) (see oversize container 99)
- United States - New York, Elmsford
- United States - New York, Essex County
- United States - New York, Monroe County
- United States - New York, Onondaga County (Onondaga Nation)
- United States - New York, Rensselaer County
- United States - North Carolina, Landis
- United States - North Carolina, Rowan County Republican Party
- United States - North Dakota, Bismarck (Legislative Assembly)
- United States - Northern Mariana Islands, Commonwealth Legislature
- United States - Northern Mariana Islands, Resident Representative Pedro A. Tenorio
- United States - Oklahoma, Oklahoma City (State Senate)
- United States - Oregon, Salem (Legislative Assembly)
- United States - Pennsylvania, Harrisburg (State Senate) (see oversize container 96)
- United States - Puerto Rico, San Juan (Governor Anibal Acevedo Vila)
- United States - Puerto Rico, San Juan (Mayor Jorge A. Santini)
- United States - Rhode Island, Providence (State House)
- United States - Rhode Island, Westerly
- United States - Washington, DC, (H. Res. 15) (1)-(2) (see oversize container 99)
- United States - Washington, DC, (Hon. Ted Poe) (1)-(2)
- United States - Washington, DC, Executive Proclamation (see oversize container 96)
- United States - Wisconsin, Madison (Governor Jim Doyle)
- Vatican - Archbishop Pietro Sambi
Box 69 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- Dwight D. Eisenhower Library and Museum (see oversize container 99)
- Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
- George Herbert Walker Bush Presidential Library and Museum
- Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum (1)-(8)
Box 70 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum (9)-(16)
Box 71 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum (17)-(24)
Box 72 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum (25)-(32)
Box 73 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- Harry S. Truman Library Presidential Library and Museum
- Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum
- James E. Carter Presidential Library and Museum
- John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum
- Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library and Museum
- Richard M. Nixon Presidential Library and Museum (1)
- Richard M. Nixon Presidential Library and Museum (2)-(5) (see oversize container 96-97)
Box 74 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- Ronald W. Reagan Presidential Library and Museum (1)-(3)
Box 75 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- U.S. Department of Interior - White House Visitor Book
- U.S. Department of State - Embassy of Slovakia, Washington D.C.
- U.S. Department of State - U.S. Consulate General in Chengdu, China
- U.S. Department of State - U.S. Embassy in Beijing, China (1)-(3)
Box 76 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- U.S. Department of State - U.S. Embassy in Beijing, China (4)-(6)
- U.S. Department of State - U.S. Embassy in Dushanbe, Tajikistan
- U.S. Department of State - U.S. Embassy in New Delhi, India
- U.S. Department of State - U.S. Embassy in Dodoma, Tanzania
Box 77 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- U.S. Department of State - U.S. Embassy in Warsaw, Poland
- U.S. Department of State - U.S. Interests Section for Havana in Washington D.C.
- U.S. Department of State - United Nations (1)-(2) (see oversize container 100)
- U.S. House of Representatives (1)-(4)
Box 78 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- U.S. House of Representatives (5)-(9)
Box 79 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- U.S. House of Representatives (10)-(14)
Box 80 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- U.S. House of Representatives (15)-(19)
Box 81 - Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- U.S. House of Representatives (20)-(23)
- U.S. Supreme Court
- U.S. Supreme Court / Blair House (1)-(2) (see oversize container 97-98)
- William J. Clinton Presidential Library and Museum
Box 82 - Condolence Books from Funeral Homes and Churches
- Alaska, Fairbanks - Fairbanks Funeral Home
- Alaska, Kenai - Peninsula Memorial Chapel
- Alaska, Wasilla - Valley Funeral Home
- Arizona, Prescott Valley - Sunrise Funeral Home
- California, Lafayette - Oakwood Memorial Park
- California, Lower Lake - Jones and Lewis Clear Lake Memorial Chapel
- California, Rancho Mirage - Thunderbird Country Club Memorial Book (1)-(2)
- California, Red Bluff - Hoyt/Cole Chapel of the Flowers
- California, Sacramento - Lombard Funeral Home
- Colorado, Vail Valley - Vail Valley Memorial Book (see oversize container 100)
- Connecticut, Danbury - Green Funeral Home
- Florida, Citrus County - Hooper Funeral Home
- Georgia, Augusta - Platts Funeral Home
- Georgia, Columbus - McMullen Funeral Home
- Georgia, Savanah - Hubert C. Baker Funeral Home
- Georgia, Statesboro - Hodges / Moore Funeral Home
- Georgia, Vienna - Brannen / Nesmith Funeral Home
Box 83 - Condolence Books from Funeral Homes and Churches
- Illinois, Albion - Ingram Funeral Home
- Illinois, Cisne - Hosselton Funeral Home
- Illinois, Decatur - Brintlinger and Earl Funeral Home
- Illinois, Decatur - Graceland/Fairlawn Funeral Home
- Illinois, Du Quoin - Maxton Funeral Home
- Illinois, Hamilton - Lamporte Funeral Home
- Illinois, Illinois - Trimble Funeral Home
- Illinois, Springfield - Butler Funeral Home
- Indiana, Connersville - Showalter Blackwell Long Funeral Home
- Indiana, Fort Wayne - McComb and Sons Funeral Home
- Indiana, Greencastle - Bittles and Hurt Funeral Home
- Indiana, Greenwood - Forest Lawn Memory Gardens and Funeral Home
- Indiana, Indianapolis - Lincoln Memorial Gardens Cemetery Memorial Book
- Indiana, Madison - Morgan and Nay Funeral Home
- Indiana, Marion - Grant County Memorial Book
- Indiana, Osceola - Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens and Funeral Home
- Indiana, Terre Haute - Debaun Funeral Home
- Indiana, Terre Haute - Mattox Family Funeral Home
- Iowa, Decorah - Fjelstul Funeral Home
- Iowa, Manchester - Murdoch Funeral Home
- Kansas, El Dorado - Air Force One 707 Simulator Memorial Book
Box 84 - Condolence Books from Funeral Homes and Churches
- Kansas, Lawrence - Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics, University of Kansas
- Kansas, Leavenworth - Belden/Sexton/Sumpter Funeral Chapel
- Kansas, Pittsburg - Pittsburg State University Memorial Book
- Kentucky, Bowling Green - Memorial Record
- Kentucky, Frankfort - State Capitol Memorial Book
- Kentucky, Franklin - Crafton Funeral Home
- Kentucky, Olive Hill - Oneg/Henderson Funeral Home
- Kentucky, Owensboro - Glenn Funeral Home
- Louisiana, Bossier City - Boone Funeral Home
- Maryland, Hagerstown - Condolence Book (no title)
- Massachusetts, Lynn - Solimine Landergan and Richardson Funeral Home
- Michigan, Ann Arbor - Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy Memorial Book
- Michigan, East Grand Rapids - East Grand Rapids Memorial Book (1)
Box 85 - Condolence Books from Funeral Homes and Churches
- Michigan, East Grand Rapids - East Grand Rapids Memorial Book (2)
- Michigan, Grand Haven - Klassen Family Funeral Home
- Michigan, Grand Rapids - Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens
- Michigan, Grand Rapids - Grace Church Memorial Book
- Michigan, Grosse Pointe - A.H. Peters Funeral Home
- Michigan, Holland - Notier/Verlee/Langleland and Yntema Funeral Home
- Michigan, Stanton - Stanton Memorial Book
- Michigan, Sterling Heights - Bagnasco and Calcatera Funeral Home
- Michigan, Warren - A.H. Peters Funeral Home
- Mississippi, Biloxi - Bradford/O'Keefe Funeral Home
- Mississippi, Oxford - Waller Funeral Home
Box 86 - Condolence Books from Funeral Homes and Churches
- Missouri, St. Charles - Baue Funeral Home
- Missouri, St. Joseph - Meierhoffer Funeral Home
- Missouri, Sikeston - Nunnelee Funeral Home
- Nevada, Mesquite - Virgin Valley Mortuary
- New Jersey, Keyport - Day Funeral Home
- New York, Fulton - Foster Funeral Home
- New York, Oneonta - Bookhout Funeral Home
- New York, Oneonta - Lester R. Grummons Funeral Home
- New York, Rochester - Bartolomeo and Perotto Funeral Home
- North Carolina, Asheboro - Ridge Funeral Home
- North Carolina, Boone - Hampton Funeral Service
- North Carolina, Conover - Drum Funeral Home
- North Carolina, Elizabeth City - Twiford's Chapels
- North Carolina, Goldsboro - Shumate/Faulk Funeral Home
- North Carolina, High Point - Cumby Family Funeral Home
- North Carolina, Marion - Westmoreland Funeral Home
- North Carolina, Statesville - Bunch/Johnson Funeral Home
- North Carolina, Winston-Salem - Hayworth/Miller Funeral Home
- North Dakota, Rugby - Niewoehner Funeral Home
- Ohio, Fremont - Keller/Ochs/Koch Funeral Home
- Ohio, Greenville - Zechar/Bailey Funeral Home
- Ohio, Holland - Neville Funeral Home
- Oklahoma, Ardmore - Harvey Douglas Funeral Home
- Oklahoma, Stillwater - Bernhart's Strode Funeral Home
Box 87 - Condolence Books from Funeral Homes and Churches
- Oregon, Cottage Grove - Smith/Lord/Mills Funeral Home
- Pennsylvania, Athens - Lowery Funeral Home
- Pennsylvania, East Pittsburgh - Patrick T. Lanigan Funeral Home
- Pennsylvania, Hanover - Wetzel Funeral Home
- Pennsylvania, Pittsburgh - John F. Slater Funeral Home
- Tennessee, Cookeville - Dyer Funeral Home
- Tennessee, Madisonville - Tate Funeral Home
- Texas, Longview - Rader Funeral Home
- Texas, Lufkin - Gipson Funeral Home
- Texas, Nacogdoches - Laird Funeral Home
- Texas, Tyler - Stewart Family Funeral Home
- Virginia, Culpeper - Clore/English Funeral Home
- Virginia, Front Royal - Turner/Robert Shaw
- Virginia, Petersburg - J.T. Morriss and Sons Funeral Home
- Virginia, Poquoson - Claytor Rollins Funeral Home
- Virginia, Richmond - Bennett Funeral Home
- Virginia, Staunton - Hamrick Funeral Home
- Virginia, Staunton - Henry Funeral Home
- Virginia, Waynesboro - Reynolds Funeral Home
- Washington, Ellensburg - Steward and Williams Tribute Center
- Washington, Othello - Stevens Funeral Chapel
Box 88 - Condolence Books from Funeral Homes and Churches
- Wisconsin, Brookfield - Church and Chapel Funeral Home
- Wisconsin, Green Bay - Schauer and Schumacher Funeral Home
- Wisconsin, Sheboygan - Ballhorn Chapels
- Wisconsin, Solon Springs - Brown Funeral Home
Box 89 - General Subject File
- 1935 Silver Dollar left at Ford Museum
- Betty Ford Center (see oversize container 98)
- Bookmarker from St. Margaret's Episcopal Church, Palm Desert, California
- Boy Scouts of America
- Cards and Letters left at the Ford Museum (1)-(5)
- Chief of Protocol's Office (U.S. State Department)
- Citizenship Book left at the Ford Museum
- College of the Desert
- Davenport University
- Floral Arrangement Photos
Box 90 - General Subject File
- Funeral Program from Grace Episcopal Church, Grand Rapid, Michigan
- Gerald R. Ford Museum (Marty Allen Tribute)
- Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy
- Grand Rapids Airport Connections
- Grand Valley State University
- Mason Lodge of Middleboro Kentucky
- Memorial Signs left at the Ford Museum (see oversize container 98 and 100)
- Michigan Army National Guard
- Michigan State Troopers Association
- NAACP Legal Defense Fund
- National Cathedral Floral Arrangements
- National Defense Intelligence College
- National Sojourners
- Order of Program from the United States Capitol (Rotunda)
- Passover Book from Jack Kemp
- Pepperdine University (see oversize container 100)
- Photos left at the Ford Museum
- Poems left at the Ford Museum
- Private Repose Guest List (1)-(4)
- Republican Party of Puerto Rico
- Republican Party of Rowan County North Carolina
- Saint Michaels College
- Travelers Protective Association of America
- U.S. Secret Service
- United States Army
- United States Marine Corps.
- University of Michigan: College of Literature, Science and the Arts Student Government
- University of Notre Dame
- University of Southern Maine
- Wake Forest University
- Yale Law School
Box 91 - General Subject File
- Newsweek, 01/08/2007
- Press Clippings (1)-(5)
Box 92 - Publications
- Desert Sun, 12/27-29/2006 (Oversize Items)
- Desert Sun, 12/30/2006-01/01/2007 (Oversize Items)
- Desert Sun, 01/02-03/2007 (Oversize Items)
- Desert Sun, 01/04-05/2007 (Oversize Items)
- Grand Rapids Press, 12/26-27/2006 (Oversize Items)
- Grand Rapids Press, 12/28-30/2006 (Oversize Items)
- Grand Rapids Press, 12/31/2006-01/02/2007 (Oversize Items)
Box 93 - Publications
- Grand Rapids Press, 01/03-05/2007 (Oversize Items)
- Grand Rapids Press, 01/06-07/2007, 01/09/2007, 01/11/2007, 01/14/2007 (Oversize Items)
- Los Angeles Daily News, 12/28/2006, 01/03/2007 (Oversize Items)
- Los Angeles Times, 12/28-30/2006 (Oversize Items)
- Los Angeles Times, 12/31/2006-01/02/2007 (Oversize Items)
- Los Angeles Times, 01/03-04/2007 (Oversize Items)
- New York Times, 12/28 - 29/2006 (Oversize Items)
Box 94 - Publications
- New York Times, 12/30-31/2006 (Oversize Items)
- New York Times, 01/01-03/2007 (Oversize Items)
- USA Today, 12/28/2006-01/03/2007 (Oversize Items)
- Ventura County Star, 12/27-28/2006 (Oversize Items)
- Wall Street Journal, 12/27-29/2006 (Oversize Items)
- Wall Street Journal, 01/02-04/2007 (Oversize Items)
Box 95 - Publications
- Washington Post, 12/26-29/2006 (Oversize Items)
- Washington Post, 12/30/2006-01/01/2007 (Oversize Items)
- Washington Post, 01/02-04/2007, 01/07/2007 (Oversize Items)
Box 96 - Oversize Cards and Letters
Box 96 (continued) - Oversize Gerald R. Ford Memorial Resolutions and Proclamations
- United States - California, Pico Rivera
- United States - Michigan, Lansing (Governor Granholm)
- United States - Pennsylvania, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania (State Senate)
- United States - Washington, D.C. Executive Proclamation
Box 96 (continued) - Oversize Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- Richard M. Nixon Presidential Library and Museum (2)
- Richard M. Nixon Presidential Library and Museum (3)
Box 97 - Oversize Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- Richard M. Nixon Presidential Library and Museum (4)
- Richard M. Nixon Presidential Library and Museum (5)
- U.S. Supreme Court/Blair House (1)
Box 98 - Oversize Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- U.S. Supreme Court/Blair House (2)
Box 98 (continued) - Oversize General Subject File
- Betty Ford Center
- Memorial Signs left at the Ford Museum
Box 99 - Oversize Gerald R. Ford Memorial Resolutions and Proclamations
- United States - Connecticut, Hartford (General Assembly)
- United States - Kentucky, Frankfort (State Senate)
- United States - Michigan, Lansing (House Resolution No. 7)
- United States - Michigan, Lansing (Senate Resolution No. 7)
- United States - New York, Albany (Executive Chamber)
- United States - Washington, D.C., U.S. House of Representatives (H. Res. 15) (1)
- United States - Washington, D.C., U.S. House of Representatives (H. Res. 11) (2)
Box 99 (continued) - Oversize Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum
Box 100 - Oversize Condolence Books from Federal Government Organizations
- U.S. Department of State - United Nations (1)-(2)
Box 100 (continued) - Oversize Condolence Books from Funeral Homes and Churches
- Vail Valley, Colorado - Vail Valley Memorial Book
Box 100 (continued) - Oversize General Subject File
- Memorial Signs left at the Ford Museum
- Pepperdine University
Box 101 - Cards and Letters
- Cards and Letters (withdrawn item)
Box 101 (continued) - Email Messages
- Email Messages (withdrawn items)
| |
