COLLECTION FINDING AID



ROLAND L. ELLIOTT FILES, 1974-77

Deputy Special Assistant to the President, Director of Correspondence
White House Editorial Staff




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Much of the collection is comprised of carbon copies of routine outgoing letters signed by President Ford or Roland Elliott. Also included are administrative materials such as weekly mail reports and analyses, an office manual, form letters, response cards, and attachments used with the letters.

QUANTITY
17.8 linear feet (ca. 35,600 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 77-97, 90-27, 91-5, 93-28, 99 -6, 99-26X)

ACCESS
Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue. Even after the completion of this review some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Andrew S. Hunt, April 2007


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Roland L. Elliott


1937 - Born in Bremerton, WA

1937-1955? - Reared in Fresno, CA

1950s? - U.S. Army service

1960s? - Degree, UCLA

? - 1971 - Director of Alumni Relations, UCLA

1971-74 - Special Assistant to President Nixon

1974-77 - Special Assistant to President Ford

1979 - Died of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease) in Florence, MA


INTRODUCTION

Roland L. Elliott became a special assistant to President Nixon and director of the Correspondence Office in 1971. He continued those duties through the end of the Ford Administration. As director of the Correspondence Office, he supervised the flow of mail to and from the White House, including presidential correspondence. One exception was correspondence between President Ford and his friends and family, which was handled by Personal Assistant to the President Mildred Leonard.

This collection documents Mr. Elliot’s work during the Ford administration. Although many of the materials relate to routine administrative tasks of the Correspondence Office, of particular importance is a survey of the week-to-week concerns of ordinary citizens tallied in regular reports counting the volume of mail by subject.

Two series consist of chronological files of all of the letters sent out by the Correspondence Office over the signature of either President Ford or Elliott, on behalf of the President. Another series contains thank you letters related to trips of President or Mrs. Ford and White House social events.

Also included are copies of form letters and cards that were mailed out to the public relating to a wide variety of topics, from the Nixon Pardon to the Equal Rights Amendment to Mrs. Ford’s dessert recipes; presidential cards related to Christmas, birthdays, weddings, and other acknowledgements; and photographs and publications used as attachments to responses.

Related Materials (April 2007)
The White House Central Files Subject Files contains both incoming and outgoing correspondence, arranged by subject. The White House Central Files Name File provides name access to this correspondence.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

General Subject File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1-9, 3.6 linear feet)
Memoranda written by Elliott and his deputy Anne Higgins, mail analyses (count and subject breakdown of mail received in a given period), and form letters. Included are Bicentennial form letters and speech packets, form letters related to the 1972 Olympic Games, resignation letters, condolence letters, White House Correspondence Manual, and Christmas listings with names and addresses.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

View container list for this series

Presidential Letters, 1974-77.  (Boxes 10-16, 4.0 linear feet)
Carbon copies of letters written by the Correspondence Office for President Ford’s signature responding to public mail on a variety of subjects. Most are based on form letters with some additional details added to personalize the letter.

Arranged chronologically.

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

View container list for this series

Elliott Letters, 1974-76.  (Boxes 17-23, 3.2 linear feet)
Carbon copies of letters written by the Correspondence Office for Roland Elliott’s signature responding to public mail on a variety of subjects. Most are based on form letters with some additional details added to personalize the letter.

Arranged chronologically.

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

View container list for this series

Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events, 1974-77.  (Boxes 24-35, 4.8 linear feet)
Carbon copies of outgoing letters, memoranda, and trip schedules. Following trips by the President or Mrs. Ford, advancemen would submit requests to the Correspondence Office for letters of appreciation to people who had been helpful before or during the trip. Similarly, White House staff would request thank you letters for those who assisted with preparations for social events. Mary Fenton was responsible for preparing both kinds of thank you letters.

Arranged chronologically by date of the trip.

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

View container list for this series

Cost Savings Reduction Program Letters, 1975–76.  (Boxes 36-39, 1.6 linear feet)
Carbon copies of letters, and memoranda and lists of names. The material relates to presidential letters sent to persons whose work resulted in saving government money or resources.

Arranged chronologically.

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

View container list for this series

Correspondence Enclosures and Supplies, 1974-77.  (Boxes 40-43, 1.6 linear feet)
Form responses such as acknowledgement cards for birthdays, weddings, anniversaries, or charitable contributions; form responses on issues; or WIN letters. Also letter enclosures such as photographs, signature cards, copies of Mrs. Ford’s recipes, House and Senate documents, White House publications explaining legislative vetoes by the President, and ceremonial proclamations issued by President Ford.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

NOTE: Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - General Subject File

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Bicentennial Messages and Speeches
  • Bocek, Margaret A. - Letters - October 2-15, 1975
  • Christmas Listing, 1974 (1)-(2)
  • Christmas Listings, 1975 (1)-(2)
  • Christmas Listing, 1976
  • Condolence Letters, 1974-1975 (1)-(2)

Box 2 - General Subject File
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Form Letters (1)-(2)
  • Form Letters - Elliott (1)-(4)
  • Form Letters - Elliott (5)
  • Form Letters - Letters to Groups and Organizations

Box 3 - General Subject File
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Form Letters - President and Elliott (1)-(5)
  • Key to Groupings and Set-Up of Letters (1)

Box 4 - General Subject File
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Key to Groupings and Set-Up of Letters (2)-(3)

Box 5 - General Subject File
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Johnny Horizon
  • Membership - Micellaneous (1)-(2)
  • Memberships - Pending (Memos to Barry Roth)
  • Memberships - President
  • Membership Turndowns (1)-(4)

Box 6 - General Subject File
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Memoranda (1)-(12)

Box 7 - General Subject File
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Olympics - United States, 1972
  • Pat Strunk's Pending Correspondence (1)-(8)

Box 8 - General Subject File
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Perusso, Edith M. - Letters
  • Perusso, Edith M. - Letters for Elliott (1)-(2)
  • Report - Foreign Policy, 1972-1974 (1)-(3)
  • Resignation Letters (1)-(8)

Box 9 - General Subject File
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • White House Correspondence Manual (1)-(2)
  • White House Mail and Comment Tallies (1)-(11)

Box 10 - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • August 12, 1974 - October 22, 1974

Box 11 - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • October 23, 1974 - December 22, 1974

Box 12 - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • January 1, 1975 - March 31, 1975

Box 13 - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • April 2, 1975 - May 28, 1975

Box 14 - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • June 2, 1975 - September 5, 1975

Box 15 - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • September 8, 1975 - November 11, 1975

Box 16A - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • November 12, 1975 - March 21, 1976

Box 16B - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • November 12, 1975 - March 31, 1976

Box 16C - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • April 1, 1976 – June 14, 1976

Box 16D - Presidential Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • June 15, 1976 – September 30, 1976

Box 17 - Elliott Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • October 1, 1976 – January 6, 1977

Box 18 - Elliott Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • December 12, 1974 - March 17, 1975

Box 19 - Elliott Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • March 18, 1975 - May 13, 1975

Box 20A - Elliott Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • May 14, 1975 - July 14, 1975

Box 20B - Elliott Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • July 15, 1975 – September 30, 1975

Box 21 - Elliott Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • October 1, 1975 - January 30, 1976

Box 22 - Elliott Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • February 3, 1976 - August 14, 1976

Box 23 - Elliott Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • August 16, 1976 - December 3, 1976

Box 24 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • October 10, 1974 - President's Visit to Detroit
  • January 9, 1975 - NCAA Coaches of the Year Ceremony
  • January 10-30, 1975 - Ford at Religious Ceremonies in Washington, DC
  • January 11, 1975 - State of the Union
  • January 17, 1975 - January 29, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • January 26, 1975 - National Press Club
  • January 28, 1975 - Mardi Gras Ball of Louisiana State Society in Washington, DC
  • February 2, 1975 - Swearing in of Edward Levi
  • February 3, 1975 - Atlanta Trip
  • February 9, 1975 - Houston, TX
  • February 11, 1975 - Topeka, KS
  • February 13, 1975 - President's Visit to New York
  • February 14, 1975 - February 21, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • February 24, 1975 - President's Visit to Florida
  • February 27, 1975 - March 4, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • March 5, 1975 - University of Michigan Club Dinner
  • March 7-17, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • March 8, 1975 - Lee Elder's Pro-Am Golf Tournament
  • March 15, 1975 - President's Visit to Notre Dame
  • March 19-22, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • March 24 - April 7, 1975 - California
  • April 7, 1975 - Las Vegas, NV
  • April 8-16, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • April 17-19, 1975 - Massachusetts
  • April 22-23, 1975 - New Orleans, LA
  • April 23 - May 22, 1975 - Virginia Events
  • April 25, 1975 - Yale
  • May 3-13, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • May 18, 1975 - Philadelphia, PA
  • May 20, 1975 - North Carolina
  • May 23-24, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • June 4, 1975 - West Point, NY
  • June 12, 1975 - Washington, DC Events

Box 25 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • June 13-14, 1975 - Fort Benning, GA
  • July 1-15, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • July 3, 1975 - Ohio
  • July 4, 1975 - Baltimore, MD
  • July 7, 1975 - Groundbreaking Ceremony for the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, Bethesda, MD
  • July 11-13, 1975 - Michigan
  • July 11-12, 1975 - Chicago, IL
  • July 14, 1975 - President's Participation in the Heroes, Inc. Golf Tournament
  • July 14-23, 1975 - Washington, DC Events
  • August 1975 - Europe
  • August 1975 - Vail, CO
  • August 10, 1975 - Fort Smith, AR
  • August 18, 1975 - Minnesota
  • August 19, 1975 - Illinois
  • August 24, 1975 - Seattle, WA
  • August 24, 1975 - Libby Dam Dedication
  • August 25, 1975 - Milwaukee, WI
  • August 27, 1975 - Iowa
  • August 30, 1975 - Rhode Island
  • August 30, 1975 - Maine
  • September 4-5, 1975 - Pacific Northwest
  • September 11, 1975 - New Hampshire
  • September 12, 1975 - Kansas City, MO
  • September 12-13, 1975 - Kansas City, KS
  • September 13, 1975 - Texas
  • September 15, 1975 - St. Louis, MO
  • September 16, 1975 - Air Force Association
  • September 19-22, 1975 - Oklahoma and California
  • September 21, 1975 - Stanford University, Stanford, CA
  • September 25, 1975 - State Dinner - President Lopez of Colombia
  • September 30, 1975 - Dedication of New J. Edgar Hoover FBI Building
  • September 30 - October 1, 1975 - Chicago, IL and Omaha, NB (1)-(2)

Box 26 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • October 2, 1975 - Visit of Emperor and Empress of Japan
  • October 4, 1975 - Newark, NJ
  • October 4, 1975 - Elkins, WV
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville, TN
  • October 7, 1975 - 57th Annual Meeting American Society of Oral Surgeons
  • October 9, 1975 - 200th Birthday of U.S. Navy, Washington Naval Yard
  • October 10, 1975 - Detroit, MI (1)-(2)
  • October 14, 1975 - Hartford, CT
  • October 15, 1975 - National Association of Food Chains (Washington, DC)
  • October 17, 1975 - Buchen Party
  • October 20, 1975 - Clausen Dinner
  • October 24, 1975 - University of Florida, Gainesville, FL (trip canceled)
  • October 24, 1975 - South Carolina State Fair (trip canceled)
  • October 27, 1975 - Arlington Cemetery Veteran's Day Program
  • October 28, 1975 - President Sadat Dinner - Anderson House
  • October 29-30, 1975 - California and Wisconsin (1)-(3)
  • November 2, 1975 - Jacksonville, FL
  • November 7, 1975 - Boston, MA
  • November 9, 1975 - President's Participation on "Meet the Press"
  • November 11, 1975 - Iwo Jima Memorial Ceremony
  • November 11, 1975 - Charleston, WV

Box 27 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • November 12, 1975 - Swearing in of Daniel Boorstin - Library of Congress
  • November 14, 1975 - North Carolina and Atlanta, GA
  • November 14, 1975 - Atlanta, GA and North Carolina
  • November 24, 1975 - Swearing in of Donald Rumsfeld
  • November 24, 1975 - Federal Judiciary Dinner at White House
  • November 29-30, 1975 - Alaska Visit
  • December 7, 1975 - Hawaii
  • December 7, 1975 - Christmas Party for Members of Congress
  • December 18, 1975 - Christmas Tree Lighting, Pageant of Peace
  • December 19, 1975 - Swearing In of Justice John Paul Stevens
  • December 19, 1975 - Christmas Party for Press Corps
  • December 23-30, 1975 - Vacation in Vail, CO
  • January 5, 1976 - St. Louis, MO
  • January 6, 1976 - Funeral Service for Richard Welch
  • January 6, 1976 - Visit to President Ford Committee Headquarters
  • January 19, 1976 - State of the Union
  • January 19, 1976 - National Presbyterian Church
  • January 20, 1976 - Office of Management and Budget Briefing on the Budget
  • January 27, 1976 - Dinner in Honor of Prime Minister Rabin of Israel
  • January 29, 1976 - Rabin Reception
  • January 29, 1976 - National Prayer Breakfast
  • January 30, 1976 - George Bush Swearing In
  • January 31, 1976 - Dearborn, MI - GOP Conference
  • January 31, 1976 - Williamsburg, VA
  • February 1, 1976 - National Press Club Inaugural
  • February 5, 1976 - Christmas Decorations Thanks
  • February 6, 1976 - Northeast Republican Conference
  • February 7-8, 1976 - New Hampshire
  • February 10, 1976 - Bubbling Brown Sugar - National Theatre
  • February 12, 1976 - Alice Roosevelt Longworth's 92nd Birthday
  • February 12, 1976 - Visit to Lincoln Memorial
  • February 13-14, 1976 - Florida (1)-(3)
  • February 15, 1976 - Professional Athletes Prayer Brunch

Box 28 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • February 16, 1976 - National Association of Secondary School Principals
  • February 19-20, 1976 - New Hampshire
  • February 22, 1976 - National Religious Broadcasters and National Association of Evangelicals
  • February 23, 1976 - White House Dinner for Governors
  • February 28-29, 1976 - Florida (1)-(3)
  • March 3, 1976 - Senator John McClellan Reception
  • March 3, 1976 - Dedication of DAV National Service Headquarters
  • March 5-6, 1976 - Illinois (1)-(4)
  • March 9, 1976 - Associated General Contractors of America Convention
  • March 9, 1976 - VFW Annual Congressional Dinner
  • March 11-12, 1976 - Chicago, IL
  • March 11-12, 1976 - Rockford, IL (1)-(2)
  • March 13, 1976 - Wilkesboro, NC
  • March 15, 1976 - National League of Cities and US Conference of Mayors
  • March 17, 1976 - St. Patrick's Dinner in Honor of Prime Minister Cosgrave

Box 29 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • March 20, 1976 - North Carolina (1)-(2)
  • March 25, 1976 - Radio and Television Correspondents Dinner
  • March 26-27, 1976 - Visit to California and Wisconsin (1)-(2)
  • March 30, 1976 - Dinner in Honor of King Hussein
  • April 2-3, 1976 - Wisconsin (1)-(3)
  • April 4-5, 1976 - Mrs. Ford's Visit to Wisconsin
  • April 5, 1976 - AHEPA Dinner
  • April 6, 1976 - Dedication of Lyndon Baines Johnson Memorial Grove
  • April 9-10, 1976 - Texas (1)-(3)
  • April 13, 1976 - Thomas Jefferson Memorial Ceremony
  • April 18, 1976 - Easter Sunday Service, Catoctin Furnace, MD
  • April 20, 1976 - Marshall Corridor Dedication
  • April 21, 1976 - National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution Continental Congress

Box 30 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • April 22-23, 1976 - Indiana and Georgia (1)-(3)
  • April 26, 1976 - 64th Annual Meeting U.S. Chamber of Commerce
  • April 27-30, 1976 - Texas and Louisiana (1)-(7)
  • May 1, 1976 - 62nd Annual White House Correspondents Dinner
  • May 2-3, 1976 - Indiana and Alabama (1)-(2)
  • May 5, 1976 - Awards Dinner, American Mothers Committee
  • May 6, 1976 - Michigan Association of Broadcasters, Washington, DC
  • May 7-8, 1976 - Nebraska and Missouri (1)-(2)
  • May 10, 1976 - Washington Monument Armed Forces Week Exhibit
  • May 11, 1976 - Luncheon for Queen Margrethe II of Denmark
  • May 12, 1976 - Detroit, MI

Box 31 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • May 13, 1976 - Small Business Administration Luncheon, Washington, DC
  • May 14-16, 1976 - Tennessee, Kentucky, Michigan (1)-(9)
  • May 16, 1976 - Alexandria Friends of President Ford Fundraiser
  • May 17, 1976 - State Dinner for President Giscard d'Estaing
  • May 18, 1976 - French Reciprocal Dinner
  • May 19, 1976 - Sound and Light Presentation, Mt. Vernon, VA
  • May 19, 1976 - American Enterprise Institute Dinner
  • May 22-26, 1976 - West Coast and Ohio (1)-(4)

Box 32 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • May 31, 1976 - Memorial Day Service, Arlington National Cemetery
  • June 2, 1976 - State Dinner for King Juan Carlos I of Spain
  • June 5, 1976 - Face the Nation, CBS Studios
  • June 5, 1976 - Mrs. Shouse's 80th Birthday - Wolf Trap Farm
  • June 5-6, 1976 - Ohio and New Jersey (1)-(4)
  • June 6, 1976 - Meeting with Cardinal Baum
  • June 11, 1976 - Springfield, MO
  • June 15, 1976 - Norfolk, Virginia - Southern Baptist Convention
  • June 18, 1976 - Des Moines, IA (Mrs. Ford's Trip)
  • June 22, 1976 - Indianapolis, IN
  • June 23, 1976 - Capitol Hill Club Reception
  • June 24, 1976 - Museum of History and Technology
  • June 26-28, 1976 - International Economic Summit - Puerto Rico (1)-(2)
  • July 1, 1976 - National Air and Space Museum and U.S. Capitol
  • July 2, 1976 - National Archives
  • July 3, 1976 - Kennedy Center
  • July 4, 1976 - Bicentennial Observance
  • July 5, 1976 - Charlottesville, VA (Monticello)

Box 33 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • July 7, 1976 - Dinner in Honor of Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip
  • July 8, 1976 - Dinner at British Embassy with the Queen
  • July 10, 1976 - Plattsburgh, NY and Newport, RI
  • July 12, 1976 - National Exchange Club
  • July 13, 1976 - All-Star Game Philadelphia, PA
  • July 15, 1976 - State Dinner for Chancellor Schmidt of Germany
  • July 16, 1976 - Baltimore, MD
  • July 17, 1976 - Hartford, CT
  • July 20, 1976 - "A Salute to American Music"
  • July 24, 1976 - Dinner - National League of Families of POW's and MIA's
  • July 29, 1976 - Republican National Hispanic Assembly Dinner
  • July 30, 1976 - President and Mrs. Ford - Jackson, MS
  • August 3, 1976 - State Dinner for President Kekkonen of Finland
  • August 4, 1976 - Good Guys Dinner
  • August 8, 1976 - International Eucharistic Congress - Philadelphia
  • August 10, 1976 - PGA Tournament Dinner - Pohanka Residence
  • August 20, 1976 - Russell, KS (Bob Dole's Home Town)
  • August 20-29, 1976 - Vail, CO
  • August 29, 1976 - Yellowstone National Park and Ellsworth AFB
  • September 1, 1976 - 98th General Conference of the National Guard Association of the United States
  • September 12, 1976 - Service at Washington Cathedral by Archbishop of Canterbury
  • September 14, 1976 - American Business Volunteers - Kickoff Meeting
  • September 15, 1976 - University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
  • September 16, 1976 - National Italian-American Bicentennial Tribute Dinner and Hispanic Mass Reception
  • September 21, 1976 - Dinner honoring President Tolbert of Liberia
  • September 23-24, 1976 - Visit to Philadelphia (and TV Debate)

Box 34 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • September 25-27, 1976 - Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida (1)-(4)
  • October 2, 1976 - Visit to Western Electric - Arlington, VA
  • October 4, 1976 - Moore and Moore Printing Co.
  • October 4-7, 1976 - San Francisco Debate
  • October 7, 1976 - Los Angeles, CA
  • October 8, 1976 - Lawton, OK
  • October 8-9, 1976 - California, Oklahoma, and Texas
  • October 12-13, 1976 - New York and New Jersey
  • October 14, 1976 - Dinner Honoring Martha Graham
  • October 15-16, 1976 - Iowa, Illinois, and Missouri - Including the Illinois Train Trip (1)-(3)
  • October 21, 1976 - Alfred E. Smith Memorial Dinner - New York, NY
  • October 22, 1976 - Williamsburg, VA (Campaign Debate)
  • October 22-23, 1976 - Richmond, VA

Box 35 - Thank You Letters for Trips and White House Social Events
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • October 23, 1976 - Columbia, SC - Governor's Mansion Reception
  • October 24-25, 1976 - San Diego, CA - Fountain Valley
  • October 25, 1976 - Portland, OR and Seattle, WA
  • October 26, 1976 - Chicago and Suburbs
  • October 26, 1976 - Pittsburgh, PA
  • October 27, 1976 - Philadelphia, PA
  • October 27, 1976 - Atlantic City, NJ
  • October 28, 1976 - Cleveland, OH
  • October 28, 1976 - Cincinnati, OH
  • October 29, 1976 - Milwaukee, WI
  • October 29-30, 1976 - Houston, TX
  • October 30, 1976 - Bucks County, PA
  • October 30, 1976 - Syracuse, NY
  • October 31, 1976 - Buffalo, NY Reception and Rally
  • October 31, 1976 - Long Island, NY - Nassau and Suffolk Counties
  • November 1, 1976 - Ohio and Michigan
  • November 3, 1976 - National Symphony Ball
  • November 5, 1976 - Washington Cathedral Service
  • November 6, 1976 - Dinner in Honor of Prime Minister Andreotti of Italy
  • November 7-15, 1976 - Palm Springs, CA
  • November 19, 1976 - Reception for John Rhodes
  • November 20, 1976 - Pocantico Hills Visit (Rockefeller Home)
  • December 15, 1976 - White House Christmas Party for Press Corps
  • December 16, 1976 - Lighting of National Christmas Tree at Ellipse
  • January 4, 1977 - National Presbyterian Church
  • January 5, 1977 - Cabinet Dinner in Honor of Fords - F Street Club
  • January 6, 1977 - "We're Proud of Jerry" Party - Capitol Hill Club

Box 36 - Cost Savings Reduction Program Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • May - November 1975

Box 37 - Cost Savings Reduction Program Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • December 1975 - February 1976 (1)

Box 38 - Cost Savings Reduction Program Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • February 1976 (2) - April 1976

Box 39 - Cost Savings Reduction Program Letters
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • May - June 1976

Box 40 - Correspondence Enclosures and Supplies
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Agriculture Act of 1975, Emergency - Veto
  • Amnesty Decision - Con
  • Amnesty Decision - Pro
  • Appropriations for Fiscal Year 1975 - Vetoing Joint Resolution
  • Appropriations for Fiscal Year 1975, Making Further Continuing
  • Assassination Plots Involving Foreign Leaders, Alleged
  • Bicentennial Cardboard (Received Empty)
  • Bicentennial Certificates, Message with Blank for Community Name (Received Empty)
  • Bicentennial Speech Covers (Received Empty)
  • Bicentennial Speech Sheets
  • Bicentennial White House Envelopes (Received Empty)
  • Budget - Supplemental Reports, Deferral of
  • Busing Students to Correct Segregation
  • Campaign Act Amendments, Federal Election
  • Cardboard Photo Mounting Sheet 11 x 14
  • Cardboard Photo Mounting Sheets 14 x 18 (Received Empty)
  • Cards - "The White House, Washington" at Top Right Corner
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - 100th Birthday with Seal on Front Cover
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - 50th Wedding Anniversary with Seal on font cover.
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - 50th Wedding Anniversary with Seal on font cover.
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - 80th Birthday with Seal on Front Cover
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - 85th Birthday with Seal on Front Cover
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - 90th Birthday with Seal on Front Cover
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - 95th Birthday w/Seal on Front Cover
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Bar Mitzvah
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Bas Mitzvah
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Benefit of Views
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Charitable Contribution (American Cancer Society)
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Charitable Contribution (other than American Cancer Society)
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Confirmations
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Congratulations on Eagle Scout Cards
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Congratulatory - Baby, Birth
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Congratulatory - Birthday
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Congratulatory - Birthday Congratulations with Seal on Front Cover
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Congratulatory - Presidential Birthday Cards - Mr. & Mrs. Ford
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Congratulatory - Graduation
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Congratulatory Marriage
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Congratulatory Wedding Anniversary - Mr. & Mrs. Ford
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Easter Spiritual Bouquets
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Equal Rights Amendment (Con)
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Equal Rights Amendment (Pro)
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - General (Gifts)
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - General - All
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - General Anniversary with Seal on Front Cover - Mr. & Mrs. Ford
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - General Anniversary with Seal on Front Cover - Mr. & Mrs. Ford
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Get Well
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Get Well/Hospitalization
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Girl Scouts - Rank of First Class
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Holiday Remembrance
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Holy Communion
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Incidental Gifts
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Messages of Congratulations
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Mrs. Ford's Illness
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - President and Mrs. Ford's Anniversary
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Presidential Thank You for Christmas Gift
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Presidential Thank You for Spiritual Christmas Gift
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Response to KO-1
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Service to Education
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Special Message of Friendship
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Spiritual Bouquet
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Spiritual Bouquets (Mrs. Ford)
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Spiritual Christmas Gift
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Sympathy
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Thoughtful Message
  • Cards - Acknowledgement - Wedding Anniversary
  • Cards - Miscellaneous
  • Cards - Placement Seating (Long Table)
  • Cards, Plain
  • Cards, Record, Invitation
  • Cards, Signature - Gerald R. Ford Printed in Black
  • Ceremonial Copies of Certain Proclamations (3 envelopes)
  • Ceremonial Proclamations issued by President Ford during 1974

Box 41 - Correspondence Enclosures and Supplies
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Ceremonial Proclamations issued by President Ford during 1975 (1) - (2)
  • Child Day Care Standards Act Veto
  • Christmas Greeting Cards, 1974 - 5 1/2 x 7 1/4
  • Christmas Greeting Cards, 1974 - Non-Sectarian
  • Christmas Greeting Cards, 1974 - Envelopes - 5 11/16 x 7 1/2
  • Christmas Greeting Cards, 1975 - 5 1/2 x 7 1/4
  • Christmas Greeting Cards, 1975 - Non-Sectarian
  • Christmas Greeting Cards, 1975 - Envelopes - 5 11/16 x 7 1/2
  • Christmas Greeting Cards, 1976 - 5 1/2 x 7 1/4
  • Christmas Greeting Cards, 1976 - Non-Sectarian
  • Christmas Greeting Cards, 1976 - Envelopes - 5 11/16 x 7 1/2
  • Christmas Prints Large, 1974 (Received Empty)
  • Christmas Prints Large, 1975 (Received Empty)
  • Christmas Prints Large, 1976 (Received Empty)
  • Community Services, Financial Assistance for
  • Conference on Inflation Transcript
  • Conference on Inflation Transcript - Economists
  • Construction - Diego Garcia
  • Cooperation Agreement with Turkey, Defense
  • Correspondence Manual Cover
  • Criminal Justice Program
  • Cyprus Negotiations Progress
  • Deferrals
  • Deferrals of Budget Authority
  • Department of the Treasury - Economic and Tax Press Release
  • Dispatch Records - "The White House Garage"
  • District of Columbia Budget for Fiscal Year 1976
  • District of Columbia for Fiscal Year 1977
  • Drug Abuse
  • Earthquake Relief - Italy
  • Economy and Energy
  • Education Division and Related Agencies Appropriation Act Veto
  • Education, Financial Assistance for Elementary and Secondary
  • Employment - Emergency Employment Appropriation Act Veto
  • Employment - Emergency Employment Appropriation Act Veto
  • Employment - Public works Employment Act Veto
  • Energy - Act to Amend the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 - Veto
  • Energy Program
  • Envelopes - "The White House" in Silver
  • Envelopes, Bond - White House" Embossed in Blue
  • Envelope, White - "The White House"
  • Federal-Aid Highway Act of 1975
  • Financial Assistance for Health Care Message
  • Food Stamp Program, Controlling the costs of the

Box 42 - Correspondence Enclosures and Supplies
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Foreign Assistance Act of 1975, Revisions to
  • Foreign Intelligence Community, Organization and Control of the
  • Foreign Policy, Review of
  • Fuel for Nuclear Power Reactors, Establishment of a New Private Industry to Provide the
  • Gift Boxes, White (Received Empty)
  • Government Reform
  • Hatch Act Repeal Veto
  • Health Research Veto, Animal
  • Housing - Emergency Housing Act of 1975 - Veto
  • Inflation, Proposals to Fight
  • Information Act Amendments Veto, Freedom of
  • Labor Contractor Registration Act Amendments Veto, Farm
  • Lunch Act and Child Nutrition Act of 1966 Amendments Veto, National School
  • Medical Science Program, Ninth Annual Report United States-Japan Cooperative
  • Military Assistance Program, Reduction of
  • Military Assistance to Vietnam and Cambodia, Proposals for Increases in
  • Mining - Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1975 Veto
  • News Summary Cover Sheets in Blue "News and Comment"
  • Nutrition Reform, Child
  • Oath of Office for the 38th President of the United States (Received Empty)
  • Oath of Office for the 40th Vice-President of the United States (Received Empty)
  • Oil Pollution Liability and Compensation, Comprehensive
  • Our American Government
  • Pay Adjustment, 90 Day Deferral in the Pending
  • Pay System, Report on Comparability Adjustment for the Federal
  • Paymens Deficit, Fifth Quarterly Report - Progress Toward Balance of
  • Payments Deficit, Progress Toward Offsetting Balance of
  • Petroleum Allocation Extension Act Veto, Emergency
  • Petroleum Pricing Review Act Veto
  • Phosphate Interests Veto, Sell Reserved
  • Photo - Family - 5 x 7 - Black and White
  • Photo - Family - 5 x 7 - Color
  • Photo - Family - 8 x 10 - Color
  • Photo - First Family with Liberty and Puppies - 5 x 7 - Black and White
  • Photo - President & Mrs. Ford with Facsimile Signature 8 x 10 - Color
  • Photo - President - 8 x 10 - Color
  • Photo - President and his Dog - 5 x 7 - Black and White
  • Photo - President with Facsimile Signature - 8 x 10 - Black and White
  • Photo - President with Facsimile Signature - 8 x 10 - Black and White
  • Photo - President with Facsimile Signature - 8 x 10 - Color
  • Photo Mounting Stock for Presidential Photos with Best Wishes
  • President's 1975 State of the Union Message Including Economy and Energy
  • Presidents House
  • Prints - North East View of the White House
  • Progress in Cyprus Negotiations
  • Public Papers of the Presidents - Gerald R. Ford - 1974 (Received Empty)
  • Public Papers of the Presidents - Herbert Hoover - 1930 (Received Empty)
  • Railroad Retirement Act Amendments Veto
  • Recipes - Mrs. Ford - Beef Stew with Walnuts (click on the link to view the document)
  • Recipes - Chocolate Ice Box Dessert (click on the link to view the document)
  • Rescission and Deferral Reports, Revising Proposed
  • Rescission of Budget Authority for the Office of Drug Abuse Policy
  • Rescission or Deferral of Certain Budget Authority, Proposals for

Box 43 - Correspondence Enclosures and Supplies
(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Rescission, Deferral Budget, Fiscal Year, 1975
  • Rescissions - Summary of Proposed Deferrals and Supplementary Report
  • Rescissions and Deferrals
  • Rescissions and Deferrals
  • Rescissions and Deferrals and an Increase in Previously Transmitted Deferrals, Proposed
  • Rescissions and Deferrals of Budget Authority
  • Rescissions and Deferrals, Proposed
  • Rescissions and Deferrals, Proposed
  • Rescissions and Deferrals, Summary of Proposed
  • Rescissions and Impoundments, Summary of Proposed
  • Rescissions or Deferrals of Certain Budget Authority
  • Rehabilitation Act Extension Veto
  • Relief Act, Guatemala Disaster
  • Relief of Burt, Popo, and Kennedy
  • Relief of Nolan Sharp
  • Retirement Systems, Overcompensation in Federal
  • Revision of 1974 Deferral Reports
  • Rockefeller to be Vice President, Nominating Nelson A.
  • Situs Picketing Act Veto, Common
  • Social Security Legislation
  • Special Steel Import Relief Action
  • Standards of Conduct for the White House Staff
  • State of the Union No. 1
  • State of the Union No. 2
  • State of the Union Message, 1976
  • Summer Youth and Temporary Employment Assistance Programs
  • Swearing-In Speech of President Ford
  • Swine Influenza Vaccine, Supplemental Appropriation for
  • Tariff Schedules, An Act to Amend
  • Telephone Directory - Wallet Sized - Selected Numbers
  • Temporary Parking Permits
  • Title 5, An Act to Amend - Veto
  • Tour Card #2 with Attachment, White
  • Tour Card #2 with Attachment, White, Size 2 1/2 x 4
  • Trade Agreements Program - Nineteenth Annual Report
  • United States - Romanian Trade Agreement Extension
  • Veto of H.R. 1767
  • Veto of S. 2350
  • White House (Domestic Council) - Portfolio
  • White House Conference on Domestic and Economic Affairs - Portfolio
  • White House Conference on Domestic and Economic Affairs - South Florida - Portfolio
  • White House Office Handbook
  • WIN Letter - "The White House Washington" Printed in Blue