COLLECTION FINDING AID



MARIA A. DOWNS FILES, 1974-77

Social Secretary
First Lady's Office




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Material accumulated by the Social Secretary during the planning, coordination, and direction of all official and private social events hosted by the President and his family. Included are all breakfasts, luncheons, dinners, receptions and state dinners held in the Residence and occasionally, during trips abroad.

QUANTITY
12 linear feet (ca. 9,600 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-48)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Leesa Tobin, April 1989
[s:\bin\findaid\downs, maria - files.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Maria A. Downs


1931 - Born, Chicago, IL

1956 - 63 - Professional Model in Chicago

1956 - Attended the Art Institute of Chicago

1958 - Attended DePaul University

1961 - Married John Edward Downs

1964 - Staff assistant for the Goldwater for President Committee

1964 - 69 - Various positions at the Republican National Committee including Director of Women's Programs

1970 - 71 - Executive director of the Women's National Press Club

1971 - 73 - Special assistant to Anne Armstrong, co - chairman of the Republican National Committee

1973 - 74 - Special assistant to Anne Armstrong, Counsellor to the President

Feb. - Oct. 1975 - Executive assistant in the White House Bicentennial Liaison Office

Oct. 1975 - Jan. 1977 - White House Social Secretary


INTRODUCTION

Maria Downs joined Mrs. Ford's staff as Social Secretary in October 1975, replacing Nancy Lammerding Ruwe who had held the position for one year. Lucy Winchester, formerly Mrs. Nixon's Social Secretary had remained in the White House as assistant to Mrs. Ford until October 1975. Most of the material in the Downs Files was generated during her own tenure as Social Secretary but portions document Social Office activities under Winchester's and Ruwe's leadership.

Prior to becoming White House Social Secretary, Downs worked in the White House Office of Bicentennial Liaison and earlier as staff assistant to Anne Armstrong, Counsellor to the President. She was involved for many years in Republican politics and had been on the staff of the Republican National Committee.

The file documents nearly three hundred social events held in the White House during the Ford administration. Documentation on planning and preparation is particularly complete for state dinners held to honor visiting heads of state and special dinners honoring Congress, the Judiciary, state governors, and the Medal of Freedom recipients. The record is less complete for the more numerous and routine breakfasts, brunches, luncheons, and receptions hosted by the President or the First Lady. The file for a small portion of these events occasionally includes only a guest list.

The White House Social Secretary worked closely with the First Lady and the West Wing Staff in the overall planning, arrangements, coordination and direction of all official and private social events hosted by the President and his family. Downs supervised a staff of nine which included the Social Entertainments Office and the White House calligraphers and illustrators. Additionally, she oversaw dozens of volunteers who assisted with preparations for many of the more elaborate affairs.

After the form and date of a White House function were determined, the White House Social Secretary coordinated all arrangements. Guest lists were compiled in consultation with various White House offices and the State Department when planning for a state dinner. President Ford and the First Lady were more actively involved in overseeing this procedure than many of their predecessors had been. The Social Secretary worked closely with the State Department Chief of Protocol to determine proper procedure in forms of address, religious and societal prohibitions, dress and seating arrangements.

The Social Secretary planned the menu in consultation with the White House chef and Mrs. Ford, briefed military aides and music support, made arrangements for entertainment, coordinated staff and volunteers for set - up and decoration of the Residence, and made arrangements with lending institutions and individuals for objects used as dinner table centerpieces. Following an event, the Social Secretary coordinated letters of thanks to those involved.

Downs worked most closely with three assistants: Pat Howard, Linda Baker, and Ann Watwood, a full - time volunteer. Documents created by all three appear in Downs' files.

This collection documents all of the Social Secretary's activities and responsibilities listed above. Many of the materials also illustrate how the First Lady worked closely with the Secretary when planning for particularly important events, especially state dinners. Mrs. Ford's attitudes about White House entertaining developed over many years while attending events at the Residence as the wife of a congressman. As First Lady she paid careful attention to the interests and preferences of the visiting dignitary or honored guest. Menus, entertainment, and decor were then selected in line with an appropriate theme and often highlighted some aspect of American culture. For example, knowing of Egyptian President Anwar Sadat's interest in the American West, centerpieces were created around Remington and Russell bronzes, and country music was selected for after dinner entertainment.

Related Materials (April 1989)
A closely related collection is the files of Sheila Weidenfeld, the First Lady's Press Secretary, which include considerable information on White House social events, particularly press coverage. The Betty Ford Papers' Events File also includes material on social affairs; much of this is duplicated in the Downs Files, but there are unique memoranda between the Social Secretary and the First Lady. Additionally, the White House Central Files Subject File PP 5 - 1 (Betty Ford) and SO (Social Affairs) include related material.

Audiovisual holdings about White House social events are plentiful and include thousands of still photographs and video tapes of state dinners and other selected events.

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Social Events File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1 - 12, 4.8 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, briefing papers, talking points, and guest lists concerning most social events hosted by the President and his family. Events include public and selected private breakfasts, brunches, luncheons, dinners and receptions. Also included are diplomatic affairs, holiday balls, Susan Ford's high school prom and special dinners held to honor individuals, outstanding events and achievements.

Arranged chronologically by date of the event.

View container list for this series

State Dinners File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 13 - 18, 2.4 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, briefing papers, guest lists, menus and press releases for state dinners at the residence and elsewhere. Included are dinners that the Fords hosted for heads of state during trips abroad, at Camp David, and aboard the U.S.S. Sequoia.

Arranged chronologically by date of the event.

View container list for this series

Entertainment File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 19 - 24, 2.4 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, photographs, biographies, press releases, news clippings, and printed programs concerning entertainment at White House events. In addition to folders for each event there is an extensive performer index arranged by agent and a compilation of offers and suggestions for acts willing to perform at the White House.

Arranged alphabetically with a subseries arranged chronologically by date of event.

View container list for this series

Decor File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 25 - 27, 1.2 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, press releases, photographs, clippings and printed material concerning decor used for state dinners and selected events where more elaborate decorations were deemed appropriate. Included are detailed descriptions of artifacts and works of art borrowed from various public and private collections to be used as centerpieces. Descriptions are also included of flowers, fabrics and other materials used to decorate the Residence. At the end of the file is a compilation of ideas considered but not used.

Arranged alphabetically with a subseries of events arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Administrative Subject File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 28 - 30, 1.2 linear feet)
Memoranda, correspondence, press releases, personnel material, and clippings concerning miscellaneous responsibilities of the Social Secretary's office. Subjects include Christmas activities and decorations, procedures for head of state dinners and gift selection, presidential acknowledgments for services rendered at White House events and inquiries concerning jobs in the Social Secretary's office.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Social Events File

  • 1974/08/13 - Luncheon; Egyptian Foreign Minister Ismail Fahmy
  • 1974/08/13 - Reception; Presidential Appointees
  • 1974/08/13 - Reception; Vice President's Secret Service
  • 1974/08/22 - Reception; Housing and Community Development Act of 1974 Signing Ceremony
  • 1974/08/22 - Reception; Better Communities Act Signing Ceremony
  • 1974/08/23 - Reception; Vice President's Staff
  • 1974/08/28 - Dinner; Cabinet
  • 1974/09/02 - Reception; Pension Reform Signing Act
  • 1974/09/05 - Reception; Manuscript Society
  • 1974/09/15 - Reception; Republican National Committee
  • 1974/09/16 - Breakfast; Republican National Committee
  • 1974/09/17 - Dinner; Senate Leaders
  • 1974/09/17 - Reception; General Federation of Women's Clubs
  • 1974/09/09 - Luncheon; White House Staff Picnic
  • 1974/09/19 - Reception; National Federation of Republican Women
  • 1974/09/23 - Dinner; Bipartisan House Leaders
  • 1974/09/24 - Reception; Congressional Staff
  • 1974/09/27 - Reception; Economic Summit
  • 1974/10/03 - Dinner; Congressional Retirees
  • 1974/10/05 - Reception; Diplomatic Corps
  • 1974/10/14 - Dinner; Salute to Americans (Canceled)
  • 1974/10/23 - Dinner; General and Mrs. Alexander Haig
  • 1974/10/18 - Dinner; Federal Judiciary (Canceled)
  • 1974/10/31 - Reception; Halloween Party for Big Brothers
  • 1974/11/08 - Breakfast; Senator Hugh Scott
  • 1974/11/08 - Reception; National Alliance of Businessmen
  • 1974/11/11 - Reception; Republican Southern State Chairmen
  • 1974/11/16 - Breakfast; Saudi Arabian Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Omar Saqqat
  • 1974/11/28 - Breakfast; 30 - 30 Club (Thanksgiving)

Box 2 - Social Events File

  • 1974/12/02 - Brunch; Mrs. Ford's Get Well Volunteers
  • 1974/12/05 - Breakfast; Defeated Congressional Members
  • 1974/12/06 - Reception; Michigan Vice Presidential Staff
  • 1974/12/11 - Reception; Diplomatic Children's Party
  • 1974/12/12 - Reception; Medal of Honor Presentation
  • 1974/12/13 - Reception; White House Staff
  • 1974/12/17 - Reception; Ball for Members of Congress
  • 1974/12/18 - Luncheon; Television Network Executives
  • 1974/12/19 - Reception; Press Corps
  • 1975/01/03 - Luncheon; Presidential Advisers
  • 1975/01/13 - Dinner; Mrs. Ford's Portrait Unveiling
  • 1975/01/14 - Reception; Spouses of the Association of American Colleges
  • 1975/01/21 - Breakfast; Republican Leaders
  • 1975/01/23 - Reception; New Congressmen and Spouses
  • 1975/02/11 - Reception; Women's Committee of the National Symphony
  • 1975/02/17 - Dinner; Senate Steering Committee
  • 1975/02/18 - Dinner; Wednesday Club
  • 1975/02/19 - Reception; 94th Congress Club
  • 1975/02/20 - Dinner; Governors
  • 1975/02/24 - Reception; National Bicentennial Conference
  • 1975/02/28 - Reception; Young Republican Leadership Conference

Box 3 - Social Events File

  • 1975/03/06 - Reception; Key Industry Associations Council of American Society
  • 1975/03/07 - Reception; Swearing - in Ceremony of William T. Coleman as Secretary of Transportation
  • 1975/03/10 - Reception; Swearing - in Ceremony of Carla Hills as Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
  • 1975/03/11 - Luncheon; Committee for the Preservation of the White House
  • 1975/03/12 - Reception; Broadcast Executives
  • 1975/03/14 - Reception; National Newspaper Association Government Affairs Conference
  • 1975/03/18 - Reception; Swearing - in Ceremony of John Dunlop as Secretary of Labor
  • 1975/03/19 - Luncheon; Prime Minister Dzemal Bijedic
  • 1975/03/21 - Dinner; Coal Industry Representatives
  • 1975/03/26 - Reception; Republican National Committee, Congress Campaign Committees, Republican Governors Association
  • 1975/03/31 - Reception; Easter Egg Roll
  • 1975/04/01 - Dinner; Friends in Palm Springs (out of house)
  • 1975/04/08 - Reception; National Alliance of Business
  • 1975/04/11 - Reception; Visiting Nurses Association
  • 1975/04/14 - Reception; International Women's Year Commission
  • 1975/04/16 - Reception; American Society of Newspaper Editors
  • 1975/04/23 - Reception; Valery Giscard d'Estaing with Mrs. Ford and Susan
  • 1975/04/24 - Reception; National Volunteer Award Winners
  • 1975/04/24 - Reception; Ad Council
  • 1975/04/30 - Reception; Chowder and Marching Club
  • 1975/05/05 - Luncheon; Senate Ladies
  • 1975/05/09 - Reception; International Student Day
  • 1975/05/10 - Reception; Organization of American States

Box 4 - Social Events File

  • 1975/05/15 - Reception; Mrs. Valery Giscard d'Estaing
  • 1975/05/16 - Reception; National Republican Heritage Groups
  • 1975/05/19 - Reception; President's Advisory Committee on Refugees
  • 1975/05/20 - Dinner; Congressional Leaders
  • 1975/05/22 - Luncheon; President Leopold Senghor of Senegal
  • 1975/05/22 - Reception; Former Member of Congress
  • 1975/06/10 - Reception; National Industrial Council
  • 1975/06/11 - Luncheon; American Newspaper Publishers Association
  • 1975/06/12 - Reception; Mrs. Yitzhak Rabin
  • 1975/06/18 - Reception; National Association of Broadcasters
  • 1975/06/24 - Reception; Republican National Associates
  • 1975/06/25 - Tea; In Honor of Mrs. Mary Edith Wilroy
  • 1975/06/18 - Luncheon; Republican Wives Brown Bag Luncheon
  • 1975/06/23 - Brunch; Republican Women's Federal Forum
  • 1975/06/25 - Reception; Regional Media Representatives
  • 1975/07/01 - Reception; 1975 Presidential Scholars
  • 1975/07/05 - Luncheon; General Suharto of Indonesia
  • 1975/07/06 - Reception; Susan Ford's Birthday Party
  • 1975/07/09 - Luncheon; Shahbanon of Iran
  • 1975/07/10 - Reception; City Mayors
  • 1975/07/23 - Reception; Congressional Summer Interns
  • 1975/08/06 - Reception; Mrs. Mutsuko Miki
  • 1975/08/08 - Reception; Mrs. Juan Velasco
  • 1975/08/09 - Luncheon; Apollo - Soyuz Astronauts
  • 1975/08/09 - Dinner; Ford Administration 1st Anniversary
  • 1975/09/04 - Reception; Wives of Delegates of the International Monetary Fund and World Bank Annual Meeting
  • 1975/09/08 - Reception; Republican National Committee
  • 1975/09/08 - Reception; Treemonisha Company

Box 5 - Social Events File

  • 1975/09/18 - Reception; Medal of Science Award Presentation
  • 1975/09/24 - Reception; American Chamber of Commerce Executives
  • 1975/09/26 - Reception; Homemaker Conference
  • 1975/10/03 - Luncheon; Chancellor Helmut Schmidt of West Germany
  • 1975/10/07 - Reception; U.S. - U.S.S.R. Trade and Economic Council
  • 1975/10/15 - Dinner; Wedding Anniversary
  • 1975/10/17 - Reception; Swearing in of Thomas Kleppe as Secretary of Interior
  • 1975/10/21 - Reception; Association of American Universities
  • 1975/11/05 - Reception; Collectors Committee of the National Gallery of Art
  • 1975/11/05 - Reception; American Business Press Group, Inc.
  • 1975/11/06 - Dinner; Cabinet Members
  • 1975/11/11 - Reception; Ford's Theatre Board of Governors
  • 1975/11/12 - Reception; Magazine Publishers Association
  • 1975/11/13 - Reception; National Council of Negro Women
  • 1975/11/13 - Reception; Republican National Finance Committee
  • 1975/11/14 - Reception; Presentation of White House Books
  • 1975/11/20 - Dinner; Senior Citizens
  • 1975/11/23 - Dinner; Ford Family Thanksgiving
  • 1975/11/24 - Dinner; Judiciary
  • 1975/11/24 - Reception; President Ford Finance Committee

Box 6 - Social Events File

  • 1975/12/09 - Dinner; Presidential Advisors
  • 1975/12/12 - Reception; International Neighbors Club
  • 1975/12/13 - Dinner; Ford Family and Friends
  • 1975/12/15 - Reception; White House Christmas Volunteers
  • 1975/12/15 - Reception; White House Staff
  • 1975/12/16 - Reception - Diplomatic Children's Christmas Party
  • 1975/12/17 - Reception; Ball for Members of Congress
  • 1975/12/22 - Reception; White House Christmas Volunteers
  • 1976/01/09 - Reception; President Ford Committee - State Chairman and Advisory Committees
  • 1976/01/14 - Reception; Western State Chairman of the Republican Party
  • 1976/01/20 - Luncheon; Governors and Mayors
  • 1976/01/27 - Reception; Administration Spouses
  • 1976/01/23 - Reception; U.S. Industrial Payroll Savings Committee
  • 1976/01/28 - Reception; Mrs. Yitzhak Rabin
  • 1976/01/29 - Reception; Annual Young Republican Leadership Conference
  • 1976/01/30 - Reception; Radio and Television News Directors Association

Box 7 - Social Events File

  • 1976/02/02 - Reception; Swearing in of Elliot Richardson as Secretary of Commerce
  • 1976/02/05 - Reception; Railroad Bill Signing Ceremony
  • 1976/02/10 - Breakfast; Godfrey Sperling Breakfast Group
  • 1976/02/10 - Reception; Swearing in Ceremony of William Usery as Secretary of Labor
  • 1976/02/10 - Reception; Military - Oriented Organizations
  • 1976/02/12 - Reception; Swearing in Ceremony of Mitchell P. Kobelinski as Administrator of the Small Business Administration
  • 1976/02/15 - Brunch; Professional Athletes Prayer Breakfast
  • 1976/02/18 - PTA National Legislative Conference
  • 1976/02/18 - Reception; Business Council
  • 1976/02/23 - Dinner; Governors
  • 1976/02/25 - Reception; Inland Daily Press Association
  • 1976/02/25 - Reception; U.S. Interparliamentary Conference
  • 1976/02/26 - Reception; Republican National Committee
  • 1976/02/26 - Reception; Republican National Committee
  • 1976/03/02 - Reception; Southeastern Seaboard Republican Members of Congress
  • 1976/03/03 - Reception; President Ford Committee Staff
  • 1976/03/04 - Reception; Medal of Honor Award Ceremony
  • 1976/03/09 - Reception; B'nai B'rith Women (1) - (2)
  • 1976/03/09 - Reception; Midwest Republican Members of Congress

Box 8 - Social Events File

  • 1976/03/10 - Reception; Finance Chairman and Sponsors, President Ford Committee
  • 1976/03/14 - Brunch; Dr. and Mrs. John Craighead
  • 1976/03/15 - Reception; Swearing - in Ceremony for William Scranton as United Nations Ambassador
  • 1976/03/18 - Reception; New York, Ohio, New Jersey, Congressional Members
  • 1976/03/19 - Reception; National Newspaper Association
  • 1976/03/22 - Reception; Committee for the Preservation of the White House
  • 1976/03/23 - Reception; Congressional Republican Western Members
  • 1976/03/24 - Reception; Signing Ceremony for the Marianas Covenant Bill
  • 1976/04/01 - Reception; Advertising Council
  • 1976/04/01 - Luncheon; Medal of Freedom Presentation
  • 1976/04/06 - Reception; National Alliance of Businessmen
  • 1976/04/07 - Luncheon; Nashville Banner Newsmen
  • 1976/04/07 - Reception; Midwest and Mountain States Republican Congressional Members
  • 1976/04/12 - Reception; President Ford Committee Staff
  • 1976/04/13 - Reception; American Society of Newspaper Editors

Box 9 - Social Events File

  • 1976/04/26 - Reception; Midwest State G.O.P. Chairmen
  • 1976/05/03 - Luncheon; Senate Ladies
  • 1976/05/05 - Luncheon; Class of 1949 of "The Jaycee's Ten Outstanding Young Men of America"
  • 1976/05/06 - Reception; Editorial Cartoonists
  • 1976/05/08 - Luncheon; Bridal Shower for Bay Anderson
  • 1976/05/11 - Luncheon; Queen Margrethe and the Prince of Denmark
  • 1976/05/11 - Reception; Republican Heritage Leaders
  • 1976/05/13 - Reception; Scholastic Achievement Awards - Recording for the Blind
  • 1976/05/13 - Reception; White House Fellows Alumni
  • 1976/05/14 - Reception; Azalea Festival Committee
  • 1976/05/20 - Luncheon; Economist
  • 1976/05/20 - Reception; Kentucky and Tennessee Media
  • 1976/05/21 - Reception; Former Members of Congress Auxiliary
  • 1976/05/28 - Reception; Signing Ceremony for PNE Treaty
  • 1976/05/31 - Reception; Holton Arms Senior Prom
  • 1976/06/04 - Breakfast; Los Angeles Times
  • 1976/06/09 - Happy Rockefeller's Birthday
  • 1976/06/09 - Reception; National Broadcast Editorial Association

Box 10 - Social Events File

  • 1976/06/10 - Reception; Business Committee for the Arts (1) - (2)
  • 1976/06/11 - Dinner; Presidential Appointees (1) - (2)
  • 1976/06/12 - Luncheon; Presidential Advisors
  • 1976/06/13 - Reception; Women United for the President
  • 1976/06/21 - Dinner; Presidential Advisors
  • 1976/06/23 - Reception; Republican Candidates for Congress
  • 1976/06/25 - Luncheon; West Virginia Delegation
  • 1976/06/25 - Reception; Republican National Committee
  • 1976/06/30 - Luncheon; Prime Minister Miki of Japan
  • 1976/06/30 - Reception; Republican National Committee Finance Group
  • 1976/07/01 - Reception; National Commission on the Observation of International Women's Year
  • 1976/07/01 - Reception; Delaware Delegates
  • 1976/07/13 - Reception; American Field Service Students
  • 1976/07/16 - Reception; American Indian Leaders
  • 1976/07/19 - Reception; New Jersey Delegates
  • 1976/07/20 - Reception; Diplomatic Corps Bicentennial Celebration

Box 11 - Social Events File

  • 1976/07/22 - Reception; New York Delegates
  • 1976/07/23 - Luncheon; Virgin Island's Delegation
  • 1976/07/26 - Reception; Maryland Delegates
  • 1976/07/26 - Reception; Spouses of Presidential Appointees and White House Staff
  • 1976/07/29 - Reception; Pennsylvania Delegates
  • 1976/07/31 - Luncheon; Phi Delta Phi Yale Law School Fraternity
  • 1976/08/04 - Reception; Virginia Delegates
  • 1976/08/05 - Reception; U.S. Olympic Team
  • 1976/08/12 - Reception; Hadassah National Board
  • 1976/09/01 - Dinner; President Ford Committee
  • 1976/09/07 - Reception; Mrs. Giovanni Leone
  • 1976/09/13 - Reception; Women Members of the Hispanic Community
  • 1976/09/14 - Reception; American Business Volunteers for Ford
  • 1976/09/16 - Reception; Young Presidents Organization
  • 1976/09/17 - Reception; National Federation of Republican Women
  • 1976/09/20 - Reception; Jewish Community Leaders
  • 1976/09/22 - Reception; Signing Ceremony for Defense Appropriations
  • 1976/09/24 - Dinner; President - Elect of Mexico, Lopez Portillo
  • 1976/09/24 - Reception; National Issues Conference of Black Women
  • 1976/09/29 - Reception; Business Leaders
  • 1976/09/30 - Reception; Singing Ceremony for Veterans and Survivors Pension Adjustment Act
  • 1976/10/13 - Reception; "Citizen of the Americas Award"
  • 1976/10/14 - Dinner; Medal of Freedom to Martha Graham
  • 1976/10/18 - Reception; National Medals of Science Presentation
  • 1976/11/16 - Reception; Republican Eagles

Box 12 - Social Events File

  • 1976/11/29 - Reception; Republican Governors
  • 1976/12/09 - Reception; Ball for Members of Congress
  • 1976/12/10 - Reception; White House Christmas Volunteers
  • 1976/12/10 - Dinner; Mrs. Charles Engelhard
  • 1976/12/11 - Dinner; Joint Chiefs of Staff
  • 1976/12/14 - Reception; Diplomatic Children's Christmas Party
  • 1976/12/14 - Reception; Press Corps
  • 1976/12/17 - Reception; White House Staff
  • 1977/01/05 - Luncheon; Vice President, Ronald Reagan, John Connally
  • 1977/01/07 - Dinner; Chowder and Marching Society and S.O.S.
  • 1977/01/10 - Luncheon; Presidential Medal of Freedom Presentation
  • 1977/01/14 - Reception; Republican National Committee
  • 1977/01/18 - Reception; Surprise Party for Mrs. Ford

Box 13 - State Dinners File

  • 1974/08/16 - Jordan
  • 1974/09/12 - Israel (1) - (2)
  • 1974/09/25 - Italy
  • 1974/10/08 - Poland (1) - (2)
  • 1974/11/12 - Austria (1) - (2)
  • 1974/11/20 - Japan (Out of House)
  • 1974/12/04 - Canada
  • 1974/12/05 - Federal Republic of Germany (1) - (2)
  • 1974/12/15 - Martinique (Out of House)

Box 14 - State Dinners File

  • 1975/01/30 - Great Britain
  • 1975/02/05 - Pakistan
  • 1975/02/15 - Saudi Arabia
  • 1975/04/19 - Zambia
  • 1975/04/22 - Morocco (Canceled)
  • 1975/04/29 - Jordan
  • 1975/05/10 - Tunisia
  • 1975/05/08 - Singapore
  • 1975/05/14 - Netherlands
  • 1975/05/15 - Iran
  • 1975/05/28 - 1975/06/03 - European Trip (Out of House) (1) - (2)

Box 15 - State Dinners File

  • 1975/05/28 - 1975/06/03 - European Trip (Out of House) (3) - (4)
  • 1975/06/11 - Israel
  • 1975/06/16 - West Germany (1) - (2)
  • 1975/07/28 - Poland (Out of House)
  • 1975/08/05 - Japan (1) - (2)
  • 1975/09/23 - Luxembourg (Canceled)
  • 1975/09/25 - Colombia (1) - (2)

Box 16 - State Dinners File

  • 1975/10/02 - Japan (1) - (2)
  • 1975/10/27 - Egypt (1) - (2)
  • 1975/11/12 - Luxembourg
  • 1976/01/27 - Israel (1) - (3)
  • 1976/03/17 - Ireland (1) - (2)
  • 1976/03/30 - Jordan (1) - (2)

Box 17 - State Dinners File

Box 18 - State Dinners File

  • 1976/07/15 - West Germany (1) - (2)
  • 1976/07/27 - Australia
  • 1976/08/03 - Finland
  • 1976/09/22 - Liberia (1) - (2)
  • 1976/12/06 - Italy

Box 19 - Entertainment File

  • Agent Index (1) - (9)
  • Agents and Contacts (Misc.)
  • Ballet (1) - (2)
  • Broadway Plays, Road Shows, Etc.
  • Celebrities
  • College Singing Groups
  • Easter

Box 20 - Entertainment File

  • Events: 1974/08/16 - Howard Devron Orchestra
  • Events: 1974/09/12 - Eugene Fodor
  • Events: 1974/09/25 - New England Conservatory of Music
  • Events: 1974/10/05 - Meyers Davis Orchestra
  • Events: 1974/10/08 - Claude Kipris
  • Events: 1974/10/23 - Headliners of the West Point Glee Club
  • Events: 1974/11/12 - Vikki Carr (1) - (2)
  • Events: 1974/12/05 - Joel Grey
  • Events: 1974/12/11 - Amazing Randi
  • Events: 1974/12/15 - Sarah Vaughn

Box 21 - Entertainment File

  • Events: 1974/12/17 - Michael Carney and Orchestra
  • Events: 1975/01/30 - Beverly Sills
  • Events: 1975/02/05 - Billy Taylor
  • Events: 1975/02/20 - Mike Carney and Orchestra
  • Events: 1975/04/19 - James Tocco and Gilan Akbar
  • Events: 1975/05/05 - Colonial Singers and Players
  • Events: 1975/05/08 - Edward Villella and Violette Verdy
  • Events: 1975/05/15 - Ann - Margret and Company
  • Events: 1975/06/16 - Tennessee Ernie Ford and Opryland
  • Events: 1975/10/02 - Van Cliburn
  • Events: 1975/09/27 - Roberta Peters

Box 22 - Entertainment File

  • Events: 1975/10/27 - Pearl Bailey
  • Events: 1975/12/15 - U.S. Naval Academy Glee Club
  • Events: 1975/12/16 - Kukla, Fran and Ollie
  • Events: 1975/12/17 - Mike Carney Orchestra, "The Travelers" of Mount Vernon College
  • Events: 1975/12/19 - Howard University Choir, Howard Devron Orchestra, Cathedral Boys Choir
  • Events: 1976/01/27 - Carol Burnett and Helen Reddy
  • Events: 1976/02/15 - Dave Boyer
  • Events: 1976/02/23 - Tony Bennett
  • Events: 1976/03/17 - Ben Vereen
  • Events: 1976/03/30 - Charlie Byrd
  • Events: 1976/05/26 - Earl Hines
  • Events: 1976/06/02 - Gil Morgenstern
  • Events: 1976/07/07 - Bob Hope, The Captain and Tennille
  • Events: 1976/07/15 - Phyllis Curtin

Box 23 - Entertainment File

  • Events: 1976/07/20 - A Salute to American Music - Tammy Wynette, Roger Miller, Ella Fitzgerald, The World's Greatest Jazz Band
  • Events: 1976/07/27 - Sherrill Milnes
  • Events: 1976/08/03 - George Shearing
  • Events: 1976/09/21 - Wayne Newton
  • Events: 1976/10/14 - Martha Graham
  • Events: 1976/12/06 - Tony Orlando and Dawn
  • Events: 1976/12/09 - University of Maryland Chamber Singers, Mike Carney Orchestra, Immanuel Church - on - the - Hill Choir
  • Events: 1976/12/14 - Big Bird
  • Events: 1976/12/15 - Mike Carney Orchestra, Catholic A Cappella Choir, Partially Informed Sources
  • Events: 1976/12/17 - Cast of "All Night Strut"
  • Events: 1976/01/07 - Cast of "All Night Strut"
  • Forms
  • Holton Arms Prom (Susan Ford)
  • Kennedy Center
  • Offers and Suggestions, 1973 - 74

Box 24 - Entertainment File

  • Offers and Suggestions, 1975 - 76
  • Policy - Nixon Administration
  • White House Entertainers List

Box 25 - Decor File

  • Events: 1974/11/14 - State Dinner for Austria
  • Events: 1974/12/05 - State Dinner for West Germany
  • Events: 1975/01/30 - State Dinner for Great Britain
  • Events: 1975/04/19 - State Dinner for Zambia (1) - (3)
  • Events: 1975/05/15 - State Dinner for Iran
  • Events: 1975/06/16 - State Dinner for West Germany
  • Events: 1975/09/25 - State Dinner for Colombia
  • Events: 1975/10/02 - State Dinner for Japan
  • Events: 1975/10/27 - State Dinner for Egypt

Box 26 - Decor File

  • Events: 1975/11/24 - Dinner for the Federal Judiciary
  • Events: 1976/01/27 - State Dinner for Israel
  • Events: 1976/02/23 - Dinner for Governors
  • Events: 1976/03/17 - State Dinner for Ireland
  • Events: 1976/03/30 - State Dinner for Jordan
  • Events: 1976/05/03 - Luncheon for Senate Ladies
  • Events: 1976/05/11 - Luncheon for Queen Margrethe of Denmark
  • Events: 1976/05/17 - State Dinner for France
  • Events: 1976/06/02 - State Dinner for Spain
  • Events: 1976/07/07 - State Dinner for Great Britain
  • Events: 1976/07/15 - State Dinner for West Germany (1) - (2)
  • Events: 1976/07/27 - State Dinner for Australia
  • Events: 1976/08/03 - State Dinner for Finland
  • Events: 1976/09/21 - State Dinner for Liberia

Box 27 - Decor File

  • Events: 1976/10/14 - Dinner for Martha Graham
  • Events: 1976/12/02 - State Dinner for Italy
  • Events: 1977/01/07 - Dinner for Chowder and Marching Society
  • Ideas (1) - (5)

Box 28 - Administrative Subject File

  • Bicentennial
  • Christmas - Entertainment Ideas
  • Christmas - White House Creche
  • Christmas - 1974 - Candlelight Tours
  • Christmas - 1974 - Decorations (1) - (2)
  • Christmas - 1975 - Candlelight Tours
  • Christmas - 1975 - Decorations (1) - (2)
  • Christmas - 1976 - Candlelight Tours
  • Christmas - 1976 - Decorations (1) - (2)
  • Christmas - 1976 - Ideas Not Used

Box 29 - Administrative Subject File

  • East Wing - Staff Meeting Minutes
  • Florists
  • Head of State Dinner - Procedures
  • Head of State Gifts - Ideas, Policy and Procedures
  • Head of State Gifts - Selection Memoranda
  • Head of State Visits - NSC Memoranda
  • The Hospitality and Information Service (THIS)
  • House and Garden Magazine Article - June 1975 (1) - (2)
  • Policy and Procedures Information
  • Press Contacts
  • Resumes (1) - (2)

Box 30 - Administrative Subject File

  • Shelbourne Museum
  • Thank You Letters and Photograph Requests - 1974
  • Thank You Letters and Photograph Requests - 1975 (1) - (2)
  • Thank You Letters and Photograph Requests - 1976 (1) - (6)
  • White House Events - Attendance of Staff and Congress
  • White House Furnishings
  • White House Garden Tours
  • Wine Served at the White House