COLLECTION FINDING AID



WILLIAM J. BAROODY, JR., PAPERS, 1961-88

Aide to Congressman and Secretary of Defense Melvin Laird;
Assistant to the President for Public Liaison;
President of the American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Material from this collection encompasses Baroody’s work for Melvin Laird in Congress and at the Defense Department, 1961-73; and for Presidents Nixon and Ford as head of the White House Office of Public Liaison, 1973-77. Republican Party activities, policy positions, and presidential campaigns (especially 1964 and 1976) are also among the topics. See also the Laird Papers and the Baroody Files for closely related material. Material from Baroody’s work as head of the American Enterprise Institute remains wholly unprocessed and closed to research.

QUANTITY
200 linear feet (ca. 400,000 pages)

DONOR
William J. Baroody III (accession number 97-NLF-019)

ACCESS
All series covering Baroody’s government service, 1961-77, can be made available to research with significant advance consultation. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256). The remainder of the collection, dating from 1977-88, is wholly unprocessed and therefore closed to research.

COPYRIGHT
William J. Baroody III donated to the United States of America all copyrights which he has in (a) such of the Materials as are unpublished and (b) in such of William J. Baroody, Jr.’s unpublished writings as may be among any collections of papers received by the United States of America from others and deposited in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Meghan Lyon, March 2007; updated by William McNitt, November 2007
[s:\bin\findaid\baroody, william - papers.doc]


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


William J. Baroody, Jr.


November 5, 1937 - Born, Manchester, NH

1959 - B.A., Holy Cross College

1959-61 - U.S. Navy

1961-63 - Graduate studies in political science, Georgetown University

1961-64 - Staff assistant, U.S. Representative Melvin Laird; staff member, House Appropriations Committee

1965-69 - Legislative and press assistant, U.S. Representative Melvin Laird

1968-69 - Research Director, House Republican Conference

1969-73 - Assistant to Secretary of Defense Melvin Laird

1973-74 - Special Assistant to the President, White House

1974-77 - Assistant to the President for Public Liaison, White House

1977-78 - Executive Vice President, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research

1978-86 - President, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research

June 8, 1996 - Died, Alexandria, VA


INTRODUCTION

William J. Baroody, Jr., began his career in Washington in 1961 as legislative assistant and press secretary to Republican congressman Melvin Laird. He also served as research director for the House Republican Conference in 1968 and 1969.

Baroody followed Laird to the Pentagon in 1969 and served as his aide during Laird’s post as Secretary of Defense. In 1973, Laird resigned from the post and recommended Baroody for a staff position in the White House. President Nixon appointed him as the head of the Office of Public Liaison (OPL), which was assigned to managing contacts between the White House and American interest groups. He also played a role in White House attempts to improve public perception of the Nixon administration following the Watergate scandal. After Nixon’s resignation, Baroody remained as the head of the office under President Ford.

Upon the departure of Anne Armstrong from the White House in December 1974, President Ford merged the liaison functions of her office with those of Baroody's office and several independent liaison efforts to form a consolidated Office of Public Liaison. Baroody and his staff handled most interest group liaison for the remainder of the administration. The OPL listened to group concerns and communicated them to the President or the appropriate agency. They explained the administration's positions and programs to groups, and pursued a media outreach effort to make the public aware that there were people in the White House ready and eager to listen to their views. They were also involved in President Ford’s 1976 campaign. Their goal was to project an image of an open, inclusive White House.

After leaving the White House in 1977, Baroody served as Vice President and President of American Enterprise Institute (AEI) until 1986. Under his direction, AEI became a major contributor in developing many Reagan Administration policies. Baroody also served on several government and private boards and commissions, including the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

Scope and Content of the Baroody Papers
The collection is useful for studying both Baroody’s work as an aide to Melvin Laird, 1961-73, and his later service in the Nixon and Ford Administrations.

One focus of the materials from the Laird years is the 1964 Republican platform and campaign. Baroody assisted Laird (who served as chairman of the Republican Platform Committee) in the development of the platform. Other Laird congressional materials include research files drafts of some of his published writings. There are also several series dating from Laird’s time as Secretary of Defense, which offer insight into national security policy and the operations of that office.

The Baroody Papers are also useful for studying White House liaison with interest groups during the Nixon and Ford presidencies, especially White House briefings and White House conferences. The collection contains extensive information on the White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs. There are also materials detailing the role of the Office of Public Liaison in gauging public opinion and concerns. Documents concern a large number of issues such as consumer affairs, economics, foreign policy, urban development, minority concerns, Watergate, and political campaigning. Other materials concern the management of the OPL and the responsibilities of that office.

The OPL was very involved with President Ford’s 1976 campaign. The collection contains numerous materials regarding Ford’s speeches and interviews, White House statements regarding the campaign, and reports on Jimmy Carter’s campaign. Baroody took an active role in advising senior staff as to how Ford should portray himself.

A large portion of the collection dates from the years following Baroody’s government service (ca. 150 feet). These materials are not yet processed and are therefore unavailable for research.

Related Materials (March 2007)
The Library also has a collection of William Baroody Files, donated as part of President Ford’s papers at the end of the administration. They focus entirely on the operation of the Office of the Public Liaison and its interactions with various interest groups during the Ford administration.

The Baroody Papers are closely related to the Melvin Laird Papers, also in the Ford Library. The two collections were stored together in Washington after each man left Government service. Due to errors made when the collections were separated, parts of some series appear in both collections. Therefore any researcher interested in the events of 1961-77 should plan on using both the Laird and Baroody Papers.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Congressional Papers: Subject File, (1957) 1960-63 (1968).  (Boxes 1-7, 3.2 linear feet)
Congressional bills, directories, articles, news clippings, pamphlets, handwritten notes, correspondence, reports, drafts, speeches, surveys, schedules, transcripts, and newsletters. Healthcare and Republican Party politics and strategies are heavily discussed. Other topics include foreign policy, foreign aid, defense spending, the Cold War and nuclear testing, and the space program. Includes documents from Melvin Laird’s involvement with the American Enterprise Association, the Republican Policy Committee, Young Americans for Freedom, and Chase Manhattan Bank. The series overlaps with the “Congressional Papers: Baroody Subject File” in the Melvin Laird Papers, another Ford Library collection.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Congressional Papers: 1964 Republican Platform File, 1964.  (Boxes 8-10, 1.2 linear feet)
Correspondence, reports, briefs, lists, directories, transcripts, newsletters, drafts, speeches, statements, and press releases. This series documents the activities of the 1964 Republican Platform Committee, of which Melvin Laird was the chairman. Topics include civil rights; national defense; foreign policy, especially Cuba and Vietnam; the economy; science and technology; and healthcare, especially the elderly. Republican platforms from 1960 and 1956 are also mentioned. The series overlaps heavily with the “Congressional Papers: Baroody 1964 Republican Platform File” in the Melvin Laird Papers, another Ford Library collection.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Congressional Papers: 1964 Presidential Campaign File, (1960) 1963-64.  (Box 11, 0.4 linear feet)
Correspondence, articles, transcripts, pamphlets, lists, speeches, and political analyses. A majority of the file documents Barry Goldwater’s political campaign and platform, including topics such as nuclear power, education, foreign policy, and foreign aid, including the Peace Corps. There are also a few documents from Nelson Rockefeller. The series overlaps heavily with the “Congressional Papers: Baroody 1964 Presidential Campaign File” in the Melvin Laird Papers, another Ford Library collection.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Congressional Papers: Research File, (1962) 1965-67 (1968).  (Box 12, 0.4 linear feet)
Correspondence, pamphlets, statements, articles, reports, and charts. The file covers a wide variety of material relating to Laird’s congressional term, including Wisconsin dairy farming, urban housing, healthcare, and labor laws. Also included are reports about Democratic Party activities, criticizing the national budget, defense policy, and the political tactics of Lyndon B. Johnson and Robert Kennedy. The series overlaps with the “Congressional Papers: Baroody Research File” in the Melvin Laird Papers, another Ford Library collection.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Congressional Papers: Laird Books File, 1963-68.  (Boxes 13-15, 1.2 linear feet)
Drafts, correspondence, articles, and outlines. Material relating primarily to Republican Papers, a book edited by Melvin Laird in 1968, with article submissions by congressmen (including Laird) and academic theorists. A small amount of earlier material concerns an earlier book Conservative Papers. The series overlaps with the “Congressional Papers: Baroody File on Laird Books,” a series in the Melvin Laird Papers which also covers his other publications.

Arranged alphabetically by last name.

View container list for this series

Department of Defense Papers: Subject File, 1969-72.  (Boxes 15-28, 5.2 linear feet)
Correspondence, transcripts, speeches, newspaper clippings, invitations, announcements, pamphlets, resumes, and surveys. The series contains both Baroody and Laird materials. Baroody’s documents consist largely of correspondence, including official correspondence along with personal materials like party invitations and Christmas cards. Laird’s documents consist mostly of official correspondence, transcripts, and newspaper clippings about Department of Defense activities and topics, including Vietnam, military spending, NATO, and national security. The series overlaps heavily with the “Department of Defense Papers: Baroody Subject File” in the Melvin Laird Papers, another Ford Library collection.

Arranged alphabetically by subject, and then chronologically within each subject.

View container list for this series

Department of Defense Papers: Chronological File, 1969-72.  (Boxes 28-30, 1.0 linear foot)
Outgoing memoranda and correspondence. Most letters are written by Baroody, occasionally by Laird. They are addressed to a wide range of people in the Administration, Congress, and private sector. 

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Nixon White House Papers: Subject File, (1972) 1973-74.  (Boxes 31-37, 3.2 linear feet)
Correspondence, directories, phone messages, mailing lists, calendars, memoranda, meeting notes, speeches, and invitations. The series includes several folders from the Committee to Re-elect the President (1972-1973). The meeting notes cover a wide range of topics and are usually handwritten. Additional materials from this time period appear in the “Nixon White House Papers: Baroody Subject File” in the Melvin Laird Papers, another Ford Library Collection.

Arranged alphabetically by subject or type of material (for example: meeting notes, lists, invitations, etc).

View container list for this series

Nixon White House Papers: Staff Memoranda, 1973-74.  (Boxes 38-41, 1.6 linear feet)
Correspondence, notebooks, lists, speeches, and reports. Consists mainly of internal memoranda and correspondence between staffers of the Nixon Administration. Common topics include Watergate, the economy, women’s issues and abortion, the Bicentennial, the Veterans Administration, and foreign policy.

Arranged alphabetically by staff member’s last name.

View container list for this series

Nixon White House Papers: Chronological File, 1973-74.  (Boxes 42-44, 1.2 linear feet)
Carbon copies of outgoing correspondence covering a wide variety of topics.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Ford White House Papers: Subject File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 44-85, 16.8 linear feet)
Speeches, articles, drafts, briefing books, correspondence, manuals, correspondence templates, news clippings, reports, memoranda, notebooks, address lists and cards, and transcripts. Most materials relate to Baroody’s activities as director of the Office of Public Liaison. Approximately one third of the series relates to Baroody personally, including office directories, his souvenirs of the 1976 Republican National Convention, and letters congratulating him for his new position as the President’s aide.

The rest of the series documents the activities of the Office of Public Liaison. Topics include the Economic Summit in September 1974, the formation of the Committee on Urban Development and Neighborhood Revitalization, preparation for State Dinners, and drafts for Ford’s State of the Union addresses. There are also numerous materials on the 1976 presidential campaign, covering both the primary and general elections. Materials include proposed campaign strategies, briefing books, and sample debate questions. There are several folders with internal Office of Public Liaison correspondence and notes, including invitations, secretary notebooks, and resumes submitted to the Office for consideration for presidential appointments.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Ford White House Papers: Staff Memoranda, 1974-77.  (Boxes 85-87, 1.2 linear feet)
White House staff correspondence, briefings, and memoranda sent and received by Baroody in the Office of Public Liaison. Materials include activities of the Office of Public Liaison, and Baroody’s input on 1976 campaign strategies and platforms, among other topics.

Arranged alphabetically by staff member’s name.

View container list for this series

Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda, 1974-76.  (Boxes 87-97, 4.4 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, and resumes surrounding presidential appointments. Baroody’s office worked closely with the Personnel Office, each receiving and commenting on applications and letters of recommendations.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs, 1974-75.  (Boxes 98-113, 6.2 linear feet)
News clippings, correspondence, transcripts, memoranda, pamphlets, agendas, conference books, reports, research papers, and name lists. Materials surrounding the preparation and production of conferences hosted by the Office of Public Liaison and held in 15 cities to discuss business and domestic concerns with community leaders. President Ford and other high level administration officials were frequently in attendance. Conferences dated from July 26, 1974–October 7, 1975. Additional materials about the South Florida and Milwaukee conferences can be found in the “Ford White House Papers: Baroody Subject File” in the Melvin Laird Papers, another Ford Library collection.

Arranged chronologically by the date of each conference, and alphabetically by headings thereunder.

View container list for this series

Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File, 1974-76.  (Boxes 114-122, 3.6 linear feet)
Correspondence, phone messages, address lists, and speeches. Incoming and outgoing correspondence to Baroody’s office regarding Office of Public Liaison activities.

Arranged alphabetically by last name of sender.

View container list for this series

Ford White House Papers: Chronological File, 1975-77.  (Boxes 122-126, 1.6 linear feet)
Carbon copies of outgoing memoranda and correspondence. The series contains copies of Baroody’s letters and reports, including proposed presidential schedules, meeting participants, and activities. It also includes copies of correspondence with citizens discussing their concerns and interests as related to the president’s activities.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Ford White House Papers: Briefings for Associations and Groups, 1974-77.  (Boxes 127-130, 1.6 linear feet)
Correspondence and briefing papers concerning White House briefings for various associations and groups arranged by the Office of Public Liaison. The groups attending the briefings were primarily business and trade associations, but some other groups appear.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Post-Government Papers, 1977-86.  (approx. 150 linear feet)
These series are unprocessed and therefore not available for research.


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Congressional Papers: Subject File

  • Agriculture Bills, 1963
  • American Political Science Association Directory, 1968 (Publication)
  • Articles - Bud Litton "Pamphlet", 1959-61 (1)-(3)
  • Articles - Koch, George, 1961
  • Articles - Medical Research and the Space Effort, 1960-61
  • Articles - Ohio Wesleyan College Project, 1961 (1)

Box 2 - Congressional Papers: Subject File

  • Articles - Ohio Wesleyan College Project, 1961 (2)
  • Articles - Peterson's Report on Political Trends on Campus, 1961
  • Clippings re Politics, Feb.-April 1967 (1)-(4)
  • Cold War Policies (Foreign Policy), 1961-64 (1)-(2)
  • Conference on Newer Respiratory Disease Viruses, 1962 (Publication)

Box 3 - Congressional Papers: Subject File

  • Conference - Workshop on Regional Medicinal Programs - Proceedings, 1968 (1)-(2) (Publication)
  • Conservatism - Colleges, etc., 1961
  • Correspondence (for Laird), 1963-65 (much concerns Laird books and articles)
  • Cuba, 1962-63
  • Defense Appropriations FY 1966 (1)-(2)
  • Defense Policy Since World War II, 1962
  • Disarmament and Nuclear Testing, 1963 (1)-(2)

Box 4 - Congressional Papers: Subject File

  • HEW-Labor Appropriations, 1963 - Children's Bureau Publications (1)-(2)
  • HEW-Labor Appropriations, 1963 - Education
  • HEW-Labor Appropriations, 1963 - Final Copy of Bill
  • HEW-Labor Appropriations, 1963 - Health (1)-(2)
  • HEW-Labor Appropriations, 1963 - Labor
  • HEW-Labor Appropriations, 1963 - Welfare
  • Laird - Newsletters, 1959-62
  • Laird - Work Done For, 1962
  • Miles, Tom, 1961-62
  • Military Construction, 1963
  • Miscellaneous, 1965

Box 5 - Congressional Papers: Subject File

  • News Media Directory, 1968 (Publication)
  • Niemeyer, Gerhart, 1962 (1)-(2)
  • Objectivist, 1962-64
  • Operation Employment Project, 1961 (1)-(2)
  • Participation Sales Act, 1966
  • Political Theorists, 1961-63
  • Proxmire, William - 1957
  • Proxmire, William - 1958 (1)-(2)
  • Proxmire, William - 1959

Box 6 - Congressional Papers: Subject File

  • Proxmire, William - 1960 (1)-(2)
  • Proxmire, William - 1961 (1)-(2)
  • Proxmire, William - 1962
  • Proxmire, William - 1963
  • Proxmire, William - Clippings (1)-(2)
  • Proxmire, William - Dairy Legislation
  • Proxmire, William - Deception
  • Proxmire, William - Economic Issues
  • Proxmire, William - Foreign Aid
  • Proxmire, William - Ineffectiveness
  • Proxmire, William - Miscellaneous
  • Proxmire, William - Newsletters
  • Proxmire, William - Social Security
  • Publications Transfered to Book Collection
  • Radio and TV scripts, 1962
  • Republican Convention, 1968

Box 7 - Congressional Papers: Subject File

  • Republican Party, 1965
  • Republican Platform, 1968 (1)-(2)
  • Republican Staff Coordinating Committee, 1963-65 (1)-(2)
  • Republicans, 1962
  • Special Task Force - Republican Members of the Appropriations Committee, 1963-65
  • Speech - Undated
  • Speeches and Articles, 1961
  • Student Anti-Communist Council, 1961
  • Sullivan, William C - Speeches on Communism, 1960-61 (1)-(2)
  • Trade with Communist Countries, 1962-63
  • Vietnam War, 1965

Box 8 - Congressional Papers: 1964 Republican Platform File

  • Addresses, 1964
  • Agenda for Platform Meetings, 1964
  • American Strategy and Strength, 1964
  • Apportionment, 1964
  • Briefs on Committee Position Papers, 1964
  • Civil Rights, 1964
  • Committee Members, 1964
  • Committee Staff, 1964
  • Comparison of Last Three Platforms, 1964
  • Correspondence, 1964
  • Critical Issues Council, 1964
  • Cuba , 1962?
  • Defense, 1964
  • Department of Justice, 1964?
  • Draft, 1964
  • Draft Material, 1964 (1)-(2)
  • Economy, 1964
  • Families, 1964
  • Foreign Affairs, 1964 (1)-(2)
  • Goldwater, Barry - Speech to the Platform Committee, 7/10/64
  • Invitations, 1964
  • Jobs, 1964
  • Laird, Melvin R. - Interview, 1964
  • Laird, Melvin R. - National Press Club Speech, 1964
  • Laird, Melvin R. - Overseas Press Club Speech, 1964
  • Laird, Melvin R. - Speech, 1964
  • List of Delegates, 1964
  • Miscellaneous, 1964

Box 9 - Congressional Papers: 1964 Republican Platform File

  • Military Assistance, 1964
  • Minority Views, 1964
  • Monday Night Meeting, 1964
  • Newspaper Clippings, 1964
  • Panel Assignments, 1964
  • Party to People Forum, 1964
  • Pending, 1964
  • Pending Inactive, 1964
  • Phone Numbers, 1964
  • Photographs, 1964
  • Platform (1960), Statement of Party Principles and Policy (1962), and Manhattan Accord
  • Platform as Approved, 1964
  • Platform Committee Members Subcommittee Assignments, 1964
  • Platform Committee Memos, 1964
  • Platform Drafts - 1st, 1964
  • Platform Drafts - 2nd, 1964 (1)-(2)
  • Platform Drafts - 3rd, 1964
  • Platform Drafts - 4th, 1964
  • Platform Drafts - Micellaneous, 1964
  • Platform Material - Pending, 1964
  • Poverty Programs, 1964
  • Press Conference Statement, June 15, 1964
  • Press Releases, 1964
  • Printed Version of Platform, 1964

Box 10 - Congressional Papers: 1964 Republican Platform File

  • Public Relations, 1964
  • Research and Development, 1964
  • Rockefeller and Goldwater Positions, 1964
  • Rockefeller Papers, 1964
  • Schedule of Witnessess, 1964
  • Schedules, 1964
  • Senior Citizens, 1964
  • Space, 1964
  • Taxes, 1964
  • Technological Change, 1964
  • Testimony, 1964
  • Tickets and Passes, 1964
  • Transcript of Proceedings, 1964 (1)-(4)
  • Vietnam , 1964

Box 11 - Congressional Papers: 1964 Presidential Campaign File

  • Alliances (Defense), 1963
  • Civil Rights, 1957-63
  • Conventional Forces (Defense), 1961
  • Education, 1964
  • Foreign Aid, 1960-63 (1)-(2)
  • General Views, 1961-64
  • Goldwater Campaign, 1964
  • Issue Index, 1964
  • Miscellaneous, 1957-61
  • Peace Corps, 1961-63
  • Political Comments, 1964-65 (1)-(2)
  • Questions and Answers, 1960-64 (1)-(2)
  • Rockefeller Speeches, 1964
  • Space (Defense), 1960-63

Box 12 - Congressional Papers: Research File

  • Agriculture, 1965-66
  • Anti-Ballistic Missile System, 1967
  • Budget FY 1968
  • Congress - 90th, 1965-66
  • Congress - Reform, 1967
  • Foreign Policy, 1963
  • Government - Federal/State Relations, 1966
  • Government - Organization, 1965
  • Health/Welfare, 1965-67
  • Housing, 1966
  • Johnson, Lyndon B., 1966
  • Kennedy, John and Robert, 1967
  • Labor Reform Legislation, 1967
  • Laos, 1962
  • Nagaland, 1967 (1)-(3)
  • Taxes, 1968

Box 13 - Congressional Papers: Laird Books File

  • Conservative Papers
    - Final Galley Proof, 1964? (1)-(2)
    - Strauss, Leo, 1951-63
    - Voeglin, Eric, 1953-62
  • Republican Papers
    - Anderson, John B. - The Public and the Private Sectors of the Economy, 1967?
    - Battin, James F. - Social Security: The Next Thirty Years, 1967
    - Bibby, John F. - Legislative Oversight of Administration: Congress' Neglected Function, 1967?
    - Blakey, G. Robert - Criminal Justice in the United States 1967: A Survey
    - Boarman, Patrick M. - The World's Money, 1965
    - Bow, Frank T. - The Federal Budget, 1967
    - Brozen, Yale - The Untruth of the Obvious, 1967
    - Budget Statement, 1967
    - Campbell, Colin D. - Social Security: The Past Thirty Years, 1967
    - Campbell, Colin D. and Rosemary G. - Cost-Benefit Ratios Under the Federal Old-Age Insurance Program, 1967
    - Chapter Outlines, 1967
    - Curtis, Thomas B. - The Current 1968 Crisis in Economic Thinking: Jobs and the Case for the Republican Human Investment Act, 1967
    - Dickerman, John M. - Housing - A Social Paradox - Facing A Twin Challenge, 1967
    - Draft Material, 1967
    - Esch, Marvin L. - Oversight and Congressional Reform, 1967

Box 14 - Congressional Papers: Laird Books File

  • Republican Papers
    - Final Galley Proof, 1967 (1)-(4)
    - Footnotes, 1967
    - Friedman, Milton - The Negative Income Tax as an Alternative to Present Welfare Programs, 1967
    - Goodell, Charles E. and Albert H. Quie - Poverty in America, 1967
    - Haberler, Gottfried - The United States Balance of Payments, 1967
    - Introduction, 1967
    - Laird, Melvin R. - The Case For Revenue Sharing, 1967
    - Langen, Odin - Farm Prices - and Food for a Hungry World, 1967
    - McCracken, Paul W. - Economic Policy and the Lessons of Experience, 1967
    - McCulloch, William M. - Man Was Born to be Free, 1967
    - Michel, Robert H. - The Need For Balance, 1967
    - Moynihan, Daniel P. - Where Liberals Went Wrong, 1967

Box 15 - Congressional Papers: Laird Books File

  • Republican Papers
    - Paarlberg, Dan - Agriculture in Midpassage, 1967
    - Poff, Richard H. - A Report and Critique of the Current Efforts of the Federal Government to Control and Combat Crime in America, 1967
    - Press Releases, 1968
    - Republican Program for Housing, 1967
    - Saulnier, Raymond J. - A Monetary and Fiscal Strategy For the Nineteen-Seventies, 1967
    - Saulnier, Raymond J. - Remarks, 1967
    - Suggested Remarks, 1967
    - Table of Contents, 1967
    - Urban Programs, 1967
    - Wallich, Henry C. - The Employment Act Objectives - Retrospect and Prospect, 1967
    - Wallis, W. Allen - Commitment, Concern, and Apathy, 1967
    - Weidenbaum, Murray L. - The Need for Budgetary Reform, 1967
    - Widnall, William B. - A Republican Program For Housing, 1967
    - Wright, Deil S. - Perspectives on Federal Grants-In-Aid, 1967 (1)-(2)

Box 15 (Continued) - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Baroody, William J. - Appointments, 1970-71 (1)-(6)

Box 16 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Baroody, William J. - Appointments, 1970-71 (7)-(11)
  • Baroody, William J. - Miscellaneous, 1969-72 (1)-(4)
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files, 1969
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Athletic Center, 1970-1971
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Banking Matters, 1970
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Christmas, 1969
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Dictation, 1969
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Miscellaneous, 1969

Box 17 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Notes on Appointments, 1969 (1)-(4)
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Office Parties, Get Togethers, 1970-1971
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Personal Correspondence, 1969 (1)-(3)
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Personal Correspondence, 1970-1971 (1)-(8)
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - RAMS Meetings, 1970-1971
  • Baroody, William J. - Personal Files - Secretary of Defense Mess Fund, 1969-1971 (1)-(2)

Box 18 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Clips - Air Force, 1972
  • Clips - Arms Sales, 1972
  • Clips - Army, 1972
  • Clips - Cuba: U.S. Policy Toward, 1972
  • Clips - Excerpt from an Address by Deputy Secretary Packard, 1972
  • Clips - How Much Defense for U.S.?, 1972
  • Clips - Indochina, 1972
  • Clips - Laos, 1972
  • Clips - Military Aid Program, 1972
  • Clips - Navy Budget, 1973
  • Clips - Nixon, 1972
  • Clips - Pentagon Management, 1972
  • Clips - POW's - The Record, 1972
  • Clips - Racial Discrimination, 1972
  • Clips - Russian-Chinese Relations, 1972
  • Clips - Safeguard, 1972
  • Clips - SALT - Various Sub-Subjects, 1972
  • Clips - Vets Benefits, Increased, 1972
  • Clips - Vietnam, 1972
  • Clips - Vietnam - Air War (also RVNAF), 1972
  • Government Organization Manual, 1971-1973
  • Knight, Col. A. W. – Notebook of Memos to Baroody, 1969-1970 (1)-(2)
  • Laird, Melvin - Congressional Statements, 1971
  • Laird, Melvin - Congressional Statements, 1972 (1)-(3)

Box 19 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Laird, Melvin - Press Conferences, 1970 (1)-(3)
  • Laird, Melvin - Press Conferences, 1971 (1)-(3)
  • Laird, Melvin - Press Conferences and Interviews, 1972 (1)-(4)

Box 20 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Laird, Melvin - Recommendations for Appointments to DOD Positions in the Second Term, 1972 (1)- (4)
  • Laird, Melvin - Television and Radio Appearances, 1970 (1)-(2)
  • Laird, Melvin - Television and Radio Appearances, 1971
  • Laird, Melvin - Television and Radio Appearances, 1972
  • Miscellaneous (Laird), 1969
  • NATO
  • Net Assessment/Total Force Planning/Long Range Planning - Graphics for Overhead, 1972 (1)-(4)

Box 21 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Net Assessment/Total Force Planning/Long Range Planning - Support Group Report, 1971-73
  • Nixon - Statements before the Presidency, 1968
  • Nuclear Proliferation, 1972
  • Outgoing Correspondence by Name (Baroody), 1969-70 (1)-(8)
  • Outgoing Correspondence by Name (Baroody), 1970-71 (1)-(4)

Box 22 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Personnel, 1972 (1)-(2)
  • Personnel Appointments - DOD, 1969
  • Posture Statement, 1972 - DDR&E (Foster)
  • Posture Statement, 1972 - Department of the Air Force
  • Posture Statement, 1972 - Department of the Navy (1)-(2)
  • Posture Statement, 1972 - Manpower
  • Posture Statements - Background Materials (Air Force), 1969
  • Presidential Documents - USSR Visit and Agreements, 1972
  • ROTC, 1969-70
  • SALT (Strategic Arms Limitation Talks), 1972
  • Seapower, 1971 (1)-(2)

Box 23 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Seapower, 1971 (3)-(4)
  • Southeast Asia Casualties Statistical Summary, 1972
  • Space Programs - Apollo 16 DOD Support, 1972
  • Speeches (Laird)
    - Lists
    - 1/26/71 - National Religious Broadcaster Convention, Washington, D.C.
    - 1/28/71 - Commonwealth Club of California, San Francisco
    - 2/12/71 - Rotary Club of Phoenix, Arizona
    - 4/21/71 - American Newspapers Publishers Association, New York
    - 6/9/71 - U.S. Military Academy Graduation Exercises, West Point
    - 8/16/71 - Veterns of Foreign Wars National Convention, Dallas, Texas
    - 9/28/71 - National League of Families of American Prisoners and Missing in Southeast Asia, Dinner
    - 10/11/71 - Association of the United States Army, Washington, D.C.
    - 10/13/71 - Association of Old Crows Annual Convention, Washington, D.C.
    - 10/19/71 - Rhinelander Area Chamber of Commerce, Rhinelander, Wisconsin
    - 10/19/71 - National Hardwood Lumber Association, Chicago
    - 11/12/71 - National Association of Manufacturers, Washington, D.C.
    - 11/18/71 - Navy League Councils, Los Angeles
    - 11/23/71 - Special Convocation Ceremony, Illinois College, Jacksonville, Illinois
    - 11/23/71 - Community and Military Leaders, Leavenworth, Kansas
    - 12/4/71 - Navy League Meeting, San Juan, Puerto Rico
    - 1/18/72 - Dedication of the Secretaries of Defense Corridor, Pentagon
    - 1/23/72 - Fogarty Foundation Ceremony, Providence, Rhode Island
    - 2/3/72 - U.S. Senate Youth Group
    - 2/11/72 - Civic Club of San Diego, California
    - 2/12/72 - Business Statesmanship Conference of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Litchefield Park, Arizona
    - 2/24/72 - Before ROTC Students at Pentagon
    - 2/25/72 - Meeting of Reserve Officers Association, Washington, D.C.
    - 3/2/72 - Associatoin of Commerce and Industry of McLean County, Bloomington, Illinois
    - 3/6/72 - Mid-Winter Convention of Veterans of Foreign Wars, Washington, D.C.
    - 3/10/72 - Cincinnati Council on World Affairs, Cincinnati, Ohio
    - 3/21/72 - Talking Paper for JCS/CINCS Conference
    - 3/22/72 - Association of the U.S. Army, Fort Rucker, Alabama
    - 3/23/72 - "Salute to Mel Laird" Dinner, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    - 3/23/72 - Executives' Club, Chicago
    - 3/29/72 - Ceremony for National Week of Concern for Americans Who Are POW's or MIA, Pentagon
    - 4/7/72 - Greater Johnstown Chamber of Commerce, Johnstown, Pennsylvania
    - 4/10/72 - Welcoming Remarks to Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Services
    - 4/10/72 - Twentieth Anniversary Ceremonies, SACLANT, Norfolk, Virginia
    - 4/13/72 - Joint Session of Nat. War Coll. and the Industrial College of the Armed Forces, Fort McNair, Washington, D.C.
    - 4/25/72 - National Cathedral School, Washington, D.C.
    - 4/26/72 - Rotary Club of Brooklyn, St. George Hotel, NYC, N.Y.
    - 5/3/72 - Remarks to Logistics Team to South Vietnam
    - 5/4/72 - Ceremony Rendering Departing to Secretary of Navy, John H. Chafee
    - 5/4/72 - Swearing In Ceremony of Secretary of Navy John W. Warner
    - 5/4/72 - Annual DoD Savings Bond Rally
    - 5/9/72 - Nation's Capital Chapter of Air Force Association
    - 5/11/72 - Race Relations Institute, Patrick AFB, Florida
    - 5/12/72 - Ellington Air Force Base
    - 5/12/72 - National Association of Chain Drug Stores, Palm Beach, Florida
    - 5/12/72 - Armed Forces Day Luncheon, Houston, Texas
    - 5/12/72 - Young Executives Seminar, Houston, Texas
    - 5/13/72 - Remarks and Q&A at Joint Civilian Orientation Conference
    - 5/15/72 - Presentation of Bronze Bust of Former Secretary of Defense James Forrestal to GSA
    - 5/24/72 - Message to Armed Forces in Observance of Memorial Day
    - 6/1/72 - Remarks at Conclusion of DoD Distinguished Civilian Service Award Ceremonies, Pentagon
    - 6/7/72 - Graduation Ceremonies, US Naval Academy, Annapolis, Maryland
    - 6/10/72 - Remarks to Residents of Marshfield of the Year 2072 A.D.

Box 24 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Speeches (Laird)
    - 6/14/72 - Dedication and Ribbon Cutting for Bradley Corridor at Pentagon
    - 6/20/72 - Taping for TV Program "I pledge Allegiance" for WSPD TV, Toledo, Ohio
    - 6/20/72 - American Enterprise Institute, Washington, D.C.
    - 6/22/72 - CINC's Conference, SecDef's Office
    - 6/23/72 - Business - Government Relations Council, Hot Springs, VA
    - 6/30/72 - Retirement Ceremonies for General Westmoreland, United States Army, Ft. Myer, VA
    - 7/18/72 - Welcoming Remarks to American Legion Boys' Nation Delegates, Pentagon
    - 7/20/72 - Preation of DoD Medal for Distinguished Public Service - Helmut Schmidt
    - 7/21/72 - Host Luncheon for North Atlantic Assembly Military Committee, Fort McNair, Washington, D.C.
    - 7/26/72 - Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    - 7/31/72 - ROTC Summer Training at Indiantown Gap Military Reservation, Pennsylvania
    - 7/31/72 - Before Area Leaders at Clinton County Air Force Base, Wilmington, Ohio
    - 8/4/72 - Talking Points at Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board Luncheon, Blair House, Washington, D.C.
    - 8/8/72 - Executive Committee of National Committee for Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve, Pentagon
    - 8/16/72 - Luncheon for Community and Military Leaders, U.S. Naval Base, Charleston, South Carolina
    - 8/22/72 - Luncheon Hosted by the Sacramento, California Chamber of Commerce and McClellan Air Force Base
    - 8/23/72 - Statements before going to Los Angeles and Camp Pendleton
    - 8/24/72 - DoD Conservation Award Presentation, Camp Pendleton, California
    - 9/20/72 - Introduction of Senator Magnuson at "Stateman in Medicine" Dinner, Airlie House, Warrenton, Virginia
    - 9/22/72 - 13th Anniversary Ceremonies, Letterkenny Army Depot, Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
    - 9/27/72 - The Civic Clubs, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    - 9/28/72 - Civic Clubs Breakfast, 25th Anniversary of US Air Force, Whichita Falls, Texas
    - 9/28/72 - Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce, Air Power Council, and Services Organizations, Fort Worth, Texas
    - 9/28/72 - Wichita Economic Adjustment Council, Wichita, Kansas
    - 10/6/72 - Defense Orientation Conference Association at Pentagon
    - 10/13/72 - 26th Annual Banquet of the Pensacola and Panama City Area Chapters of the National Association of Supervisors, Pensacola, Florida
    - 10/31/72 - Change of Command Ceremonies of Supreme Allied Commander Atlantic, Norfolk, Virginia
    - 11/2/72 - Secondary School Administrators Association, Oshkosh, Wisconsin
    - 11/10/72 - Placing of Wreath at Marine Memorial, Washington, D.C.
    - 11/16/72 - Annual Meeting of the Associated Press Managing Editors, Kansas City, MO
    - 11/21/72 - Dedication of the Correspondents Corridor, Pentagon
    - 11/23/72 - Navy Swearing-in Ceremonies Preceding NFL Football Game, Dallas, Texas
  • Speeches (Secretary Seamans) - 10/15/71 - Air Force Programs
  • Strategic Posture, 1968-72
  • Strategy of Realistic Deterrence, 1972
  • Tactical Nuclear Warfare Paper, 1970
  • Telephone Calls Taken by Staff - Summaries, 1969 (1)-(3)
  • Telephone Calls Taken by Staff - Summaries, 1972

Box 25 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Telephone Log, 1968-69 (1)-(3)
  • Telephone Log, 1969 (1)-(5)
  • Telephone Log, 1970 (1)-(3)
  • Telephone Log, 1971 (1)-(2)

Box 26 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • ULMS - Navy, 1972
  • USSR
  • Veterans - Facts and Figures on Jobs, etc., 1971-72 (1)-(4)
  • Vietnam, 1968-72 (1)-(4)
  • Vietnam - Public Opinion, 1969-70
  • Vietnam – Veterans

Box 27 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Vietnam - Vietnamization, 1967-72 (1)-(2)
  • Weapons System Acquisition Materials, 1969-70 (1)-(2)
  • White House - Speech Material, 1972
  • Woodrow Wilson Center, 1971-73 (1)-(8)

Box 28 - Department of Defense Papers: Subject File

  • Young People - Public Opinion Surveys on, 1969-70 (1)-(7)

Box 28 (Continued) - Department of Defense Papers: Chron File

  • Chronological File, 1969

Box 29 - Department of Defense Papers: Chron File

  • Chronological File, 1970 - January 1972

Box 30 - Department of Defense Papers: Chron File

  • Chronological File, February - December 1972

Box 30 (Continued) - Nixon White House Papers: Subject File

  • Advertising Council - Mailing List, 1973 (1)-(3)
  • Americans for Winning the Peace, 1973 (1)-(2)

Box 31 - Nixon White House Papers: Subject File

  • Applications for Positions, 1972-73 (1)-(9)
  • Appreciation Letters, 1972-73 (1)-(2)

Box 32 - Nixon White House Papers: Subject File

  • Baroody, William Notes, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Battle of the Budget, 1973 (1)-(3)
  • Business Council - Mailing List, 1973
  • Camp David Meeting - Mailing List, 1973
  • Citizens for a New Prosperity, 1973
  • Committee for the Re-election of the President, 1972-73 (1)-(2)
  • Committee for the Re-election of the President - Ethnics, 1973 (1)-(2)

Box 33 - Nixon White House Papers: Subject File

  • Committee for the Re-election of the President - Interest Groups, 1972 (1)-(2)
  • Committee for the Re-election of the President - Lists, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Desk Calendar, 1973
  • Impeachment Support Program, 1974 (1)-(3)

Box 34 - Nixon White House Papers: Subject File

  • Invitations - 1973 (1)-(5)
  • Invitees to White House Events, 1973 (1)-(3)
  • Laird Speech, 1973
  • Lists, 1973 (1)

Box 35 - Nixon White House Papers: Subject File

  • Lists, 1973 (2)-(5)
  • Meeting Notes (Yellow Pad), 1973
  • Memos to the Record, 1973 (1)-(4)
  • Miscellaneous, 1973-74 (1)-(3)

Box 36 - Nixon White House Papers: Subject File

  • Recommended Presidential Contacts - Arts/Intellectuals, 1973
  • Recommended Presidential Contacts - Heritage Groups, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Recommended Presidential Contacts - Politics, 1973
  • Recommended Presidential Contacts - Prominent Laymen, 1973
  • Rural Water and Sewer Grants, 1973
  • Secretarial Notebooks, 1973 (1)-(5) [CLOSED]

Box 37 - Nixon White House Papers: Subject File

  • Secretarial Notebooks, 1973 (6)-(9) [CLOSED]
  • Transition Book (including Chuck Colson materials), January 1973
  • Veto Strategy, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Vietnamese War, 1964-73
  • Vocational Rehabilitation Veto, 1973 (1)-(3)

Box 38 - Nixon White House Papers: Staff Memoranda

  • Andrews, John, 1973
  • Armstrong, Anne, 1973 (1)-(4)
  • Ash, Roy, 1973 (1)-(10)

Box 39 - Nixon White House Papers: Staff Memoranda

  • Ash, Roy, 1973 (11)-(12)
  • Balsdon, Kathleen, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Balzano, Michael, 1973
  • Bennett, John, 1973
  • Buchanan, Pat, 1973
  • Buchanan, Pat - Briefing Notes, 1973 (1)-(3)
  • Cavanaugh, Jim, 1973 (1)-(3)
  • Clawson, Ken, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Cole, Ken, 1973 (1)-(2)

Box 40 - Nixon White House Papers: Staff Memoranda

  • Cole, Ken, 1973 (3)-(7)
  • Duval, Mike, 1973
  • Edwards, Jim, 1973
  • Ehrlichman, John, 1973
  • Elliott, Roland, 1973
  • Fairbanks, Dick, 1973 (1)-(3)
  • Falk, Jim, 1973
  • Flanigan, Peter, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Garment, Len, 1973

Box 41 - Nixon White House Papers: Staff Memoranda

  • Gergen, Dave, 1973 (1)-(8)
  • Gosden, Craig, 1973 (1)-(4)
  • Guthrie, John, 1973
  • Haig, Al, 1973
  • Miscellaneous Memos to White House Staff

Box 42 - Nixon White House Papers: Chronological File

  • January 1 - March 25, 1973

Box 43 - Nixon White House Papers: Chronological File

  • March 26 - October 31, 1973

Box 44 - Nixon White House Papers: Chronological File

  • November 1973 - August 1974

Box 44 (Continued) - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Abortion
  • Action Memoranda
  • Additional Name Files

Box 45 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Additional Travel Files (1)-(4)
  • Address Cards (1)-(4)
  • Addresses
  • American Association of Colleges Schools of Business - Baroody Remarks, 3/23/76
  • American Enterprise Institute (1)-(3)
  • Association List

Box 46 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Baroody - Calendar (1)-(3)
  • Baroody - "Eyes Only" (1)-(5)
  • Baroody - Mail Log (1)-(5)

Box 47 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Baroody - Press Conference, 11/7/74
  • Baroody - Speeches
    - American Association of Magazine Editors, New York, NY, Sept. 9, 1974
    - Town Hall, Los Angeles, CA, April 4, 1975
    - National Press Club, Washington, D.C., July 9, 1975
    - Commonwealth Club, San Francisco, CA, Sept. 2, 1975
    - Draft State of the Union, December 1975
    - Dutch Treat Club, New York, April 13, 1976
    - American Assoication for Public Opinion Research, Asheville, NC, May 14, 1976
    - Chamber of Commerce, Los Angeles, CA, May 17, 1976
    - B'nai B'rith, Beverly Hills, CA, May 17, 1976
    - Seattle University, Seattle, Washington, June 6, 1976
    - Nat. Leadership Symposium, Maline, Illinois, Oct. 23, 1976
  • Bicentennial (1)-(2)
  • Biographies - William J. Baroody
  • Birthday/Anniversary Requests
  • "Blind Californian" Article
  • Briefing Papers for Presidential Meetings (1)-(3)

Box 48 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Briefing Papers for Presidential Meetings (4)-(12)
  • Campaign, 1976 (1)-(2)

Box 49 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Campaign, 1976 (3)-(4)
  • Campaign Themes (1)-(2)
  • Carter, Jimmy (1)-(7)

Box 50 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Castelli, Jim - Interview with President Ford
  • Channer, Harold Hudson
  • Cheney Notes
  • Christmas Card List (1)-(2)
  • Citizens Action Committee
  • Citizens for Reagan
  • Committee on Urban Development and Neighborhood Revitalization (1)-(6)

Box 51 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Conference on Ethnicity and Neighborhood Revitalization (1)-(2)
  • Congratulatory/Thank you Letters (1)-(6)
  • Congressional
  • Consumer Hearings
  • Convention Material (1) - (3)

Box 52 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Conversation Luncheons
  • Defense - Rumsfeld, Donald
  • Department of HEW
  • Desk Calendar, 1974
  • Desk Calender, 1976 (1)-(3)
  • Eastern Europe
  • Economic and Energy Booklet

Box 53 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Economic Policy Board Meetings - Agendas - Eyes Only (1)-(3)
  • Economic Summit (1)-(5)
  • Ethnic Appointment (1)-(3)

Box 54 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Ethnic Groups (1)-(2)
  • Ethnic Meeting, 10/12/76 (1)-(2)
  • Events - May 1976 (1)-(5)
  • Executive Committee, National Conference of Catholic Bishops, 9/10/76 (1)-(3)

Box 55 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Feldman, Trude (1)-(2)
  • File List
  • Final Report of the Special Assistant to the President for Ethnic Affairs (1)-(3)
  • Ford Presidency: A Portrait of the First Two Years
  • Goldwater, Barry
  • Illegal Aliens - Domestic Council Committee Report (1)-(2)

Box 56 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Incoming Mail Reports (1)-(2)
  • Invitations, 1974 (1)-(9)

Box 57 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Invitations, 1975 (1)-(9)

Box 58 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Invitations, 1975 (10)-(13)
  • Invitations, 1976 (1)-(4)

Box 59 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Invitations, 1976 (5)-(6)
  • Invitations - Additional (1)-(3)
  • K'ung, L.K.
  • Labor
  • Laird, Melvin R. - Speech on Revenue Sharing, 1966
  • Lebanon
  • Marrs, Theodore - Copies of Incoming Thank You Letters (1)-(3)

Box 60 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Marrs, Theodore - Copies of Incoming Thank You Letters (4)-(7)
  • Miscellaneous (1)-(6)
  • Miscellaneous (Personal)
  • Miscellaneous Bills (Expenses)

Box 61 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Miscellaneous Lists
  • Miscellaneous Notes (1)-(2)
  • Miscellaneous Notes (Baroody Desk)
  • National Alliance of Businessmen
  • National Security Council
  • News Articles (1)-(6)

Box 62 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • News Articles (7)-(8)
  • Notes for Memo to the President on the Office of Public Liaison, 8/11/74
  • Office Equipment Receipts
  • Office of Human Resources Meetings (1)-(7)

Box 63 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Office of Human Resources Meetings (8)-(13)
  • Office of Public Liaison (1)-(2)
  • Office of Public Liaison - Charts
  • Office of Public Liaison - Computer System Users Guide
  • Office of Public Liaison - Memos and Plans

Box 64 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Office of Public Liaison - Personnel (1)-(8)
  • Office of Public Liaison - Summary of Activities, 1975
  • Open House Invitations
  • Parking

Box 65 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Participatory Politics (1)-(3)
  • Photo Requests (1)-(8)
  • Photographs

Box 66 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Planning Schedules/Calendars (1)-(2)
  • Platform for Democratic Party (1)-(2)
  • Pre-Summit Meeting in Pittsburgh
  • President Ford '76 Factbook (1)-(3)
  • President Ford - Vail - 1974
  • President Ford Committee

Box 67 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • President Ford Committee - Adovcate's Briefing Book (1)-(3)
  • President Ford Committee - Contact File (Campaign)
  • President Ford Committee - Contacts
  • President Ford Committee - Organization
  • President Ford Committee - State Organizations
  • President Ford's Tax Cut Proposal
  • Presidential Appointees (1)-(3)

Box 68 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Presidential Appointees (4)-(11)
  • Presidential Box - Invitees
  • Presidential Debates (1)-(2)
  • Presidential Debates - Eastern Europe (1)-(2)

Box 69 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Presidential Letters and Telegrams (1)-(5)
  • Presidential Meeting with Ethnic Leaders, 10/12/1976
  • Presidential Speeches
  • Presidential Spokesman Briefing, 7/14/1976 (audiotapes)
  • Press Office Announcement About Office of Public Liaison
  • Proposed Invitees for White House Dinners
  • Public Liaison Office - Presidential Briefing Book, 8/24/74 (1)-(2)

Box 70 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Queen Elizabeth's Visit - Reception Line (videotape)
  • Regulatory Reform
  • Republican Governor's Association
  • Republican National Convention Delegates List (1)-(6)
  • Resignation Letters (including Melvin Laird resignation from White House staff in 1973)
  • Resumes - 1974 (1)-(3)

Box 71 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Resumes - 1974 (4)-(11)
  • Resumes - 1975 (1)-(4)

Box 72 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Resumes - 1975 (5)
  • Resumes - 1976 (1)-(7)
  • Schedule Proposals (1)-(2)

Box 73 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Schedule Proposals (3)-(12)

Box 74 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Schedule Proposals (13)-(24)
  • Secretarial Notebooks (1)-(2) [CLOSED]

Box 75 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Secretarial Notebooks (3)-(11) [CLOSED]

Box 76 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Secretarial Notebooks (12)-(20) [CLOSED]

Box 77 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Secretarial Notebooks (21)-(26) [CLOSED]
  • Special Assistant for Minority Affairs
  • Special Assistant to the President for Hispanic Affairs (1)-(3)

Box 78 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Special Assistant to the President for Women
  • Speech - Defense Credit Union Council, 9/17/1974
  • Speeches/Speech Drafts (1)-(2)
  • Staffing Procedures
  • State - Kissinger, Henry
  • State Dinner Honoring Prime Minister Rabin of Israel, 9/12/74
  • State Dinner Honoring Secretary Gierek of Poland, 10/8/74
  • State Dinner Honoring Chancellor Kreisky of Austria, 11/12/74
  • State Dinner Honoring Chancellor Schmidt of Germany, 12/5/74
  • State Dinner Honoring Prime Minister Wilson of Great Britain, 1/30/75
  • State Dinner Honoring Prime Minister Bhutto of Pakistan, 2/5/75
  • State Dinner Honoring President Kaunda of Zambia, 4/19/75
  • State Dinner Honoring King Hassan of Morocco, 4/22/75
  • State Dinner Honoring King Hussein of Jordan, 4/75
  • State Dinner Honoring Prime Minister Lee of Singapore, 5/8/75
  • State Dinner Honoring the Shah of Iran, 5/15/75
  • State Dinners: Tunisia, Netherlands, Senegal, Germany, and Japan
  • State Dinner Honoring President Lopez of Colombia, 9/24/75

Box 79 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • State Dinner Honoring President Leone of Italy, 9/25/75
  • State Dinner Honoring the Emperor of Japan, 10/2/75
  • State Dinner Honoring President Sadat of Egypt, 10/27/75
  • State Dinner Honoring Prime Minister Rabin of Israel, 1/27/76
  • State Dinner Honoring the President Tolbert of Liberia, 2/21/76
  • State Dinner Honoring Governors, 2/23/76
  • State Dinner Honoring Prime Minister Cosgrave of Ireland, 3/17/76
  • State Dinner Honoring King Hussein of Jordan, 3/30/76
  • State Dinner (Luncheon) for Queen Margrethe II of Denmark, 5/11/76
  • State Dinner Honoring President d'Estaing of France, 5/17/76
  • State Dinner Honoring King Juan Carlos of Spain, 6/2/76
  • State Dinner Honoring Prime Minister Caramanlis of Greece, 6/15/76
  • State Dinner Honoring Prime Minister Miki of Japan, 6/30/76
  • State Dinner Honoring Queen Elizabeth of England, 7/7/76
  • State Dinner Honoring Chancellor Schmidt of Germany, 7/15/76
  • State Dinner Honoring Prime Minister Fraser of Australia, 7/27/76
  • State Dinner Honoring President Kekkonen of Finland, 8/3/76
  • State of the Union - 1975
  • State of the Union - 1976 (1)-(5)

Box 80 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • State of the Union - 1976 (6)-(16)

Box 81 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Teachers for Ford (1)-(2)
  • Telephone Log - 1974 (1)-(4)
  • Telephone Log - 1975 (1)-(6)

Box 82 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Telephone Log - 1976 (1)-(5)
  • Travel
  • Travel Vouchers (1)-(4)

Box 83 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Travel Vouchers (5)-(9)
  • Treasury - Simon, William
  • Tuesday at the White House Meetings Attendance Cards (1)-(4)

Box 84 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Tuesday at the White House Meetings Attendance Cards (5)-(14)

Box 85 - Ford White House Papers: Subject File

  • Tuesday at the White House Meetings Attendance Cards (15)-(17)
  • Whistle Stop Boat Tour
  • White House Correspondence Manual (1)-(2)
  • White House Press Conference, 1/25/76 (audiotape)
  • White House Tours
  • WIN Ties
  • Women

Box 85 - (Continued) - Ford White House Papers: Staff Memoranda

  • Bennett, Douglas
  • Calhoun, John
  • Cannon, James
  • Cheney, Richard (1)-(2)
  • Connor, James
  • Duval, Mike

Box 86 - Ford White House Papers: Staff Memoranda

  • Eves, Jeffery
  • Featherall, Mary
  • Hartman, Robert
  • Holm, Jeanne
  • Holm, Jeanne and Women's Issues Briefing Book
  • Hoopes, David
  • Jones, Jerry
  • Knauer, Virginia (1)-(3)
  • Kuropas, Myron
  • Lynn, James
  • Marsh, Jack
  • Memoranda for the Record (1)-(4)

Box 87 - Ford White House Papers: Staff Memoranda

  • Mitler, Milton
  • Nessen, Ron
  • Powell, Pamela
  • President Ford Memoranda (1)-(4)
  • Shlaes, John
  • Valis, Wayne
  • Vickerman, John

Box 87 (Continued) - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • July and August 1974 (1)-(2)
  • September 1974 (1)-(4)

Box 88 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • October 1974 (1)-(3)
  • November 1974 (1)-(5)
  • December 1974 (1)-(3)

Box 89 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • December 1974 (4)-(6)
  • January 1975 (1)-(7)

Box 90 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • January 1975 (8)-(9)
  • February 1975 (1)-(7)

Box 91 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • March 1975 (1)-(7)
  • April 1975 (1)-(3)

Box 92 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • April 1975 (4)-(5)
  • May 1975 (1)-(6)
  • June 1975 (1)-(2)

Box 93 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • June 1975 (3)-(6)
  • July 1975 (1)-(4)
  • August 1975 (1)-(2)

Box 94 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • September 1975 (1)-(3)
  • October 1975 (1)-(2)
  • November 1975 (1)-(2)
  • December 1975 (1)-(2)

Box 95 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • January 1976 (1)-(3)
  • February 1976 (1)-(3)
  • March 1976 (1)-(3)

Box 96 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • April 1976 (1)-(3)
  • May 1976 (1)-(3)
  • June 1976 (1)-(4)

Box 97 - Ford White House Papers: Presidential Personnel Office Memoranda

  • July 1976 (1)-(2)
  • August 1976 (1)-(4)
  • September 1976 (1)-(5)
  • October 1976

Box 98 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • General Information
  • July 26, 1974 - Chicago
  • September 24, 1974 - New Orleans (1)-(4)
  • November 1, 1974 - Portland - Conference Book (1)-(2)
  • November 1, 1974 - Portland - Correspondence (1)-(3)

Box 99 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • November 1, 1974 - Portland - Miscellaneous
  • November 1, 1974 - Portland - Press
  • November 1, 1974 - Portland - Transcripts (1)-(2)
  • November 26, 1974 - Minneapolis - Conference Book (1)-(2)
  • November 26, 1974 - Minneapolis - Correspondence (1)-(2)
  • November 26, 1974 - Minneapolis - Miscellaneous
  • November 26, 1974 - Minneapolis - Press (1)-(2)

Box 100 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • November 26, 1974 - Minneapolis - Transcript (1)-(2)
  • February 3, 1975 - Atlanta - Conference Book
  • February 3, 1975 - Atlanta - Correspondence (1)-(4)
  • February 3, 1975 - Atlanta - Miscellaneous
  • February 3, 1975 - Atlanta – Personnel

Box 101 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • February 3, 1975 - Atlanta - Press (1)-(3)
  • February 25, 1975 - Hollywood, FL - Personnel
  • February 25, 1975 - Hollywood, FL - Transcript and Research
  • April 3, 1975 - San Diego - Conference Book
  • April 3, 1975 - San Diego - Correspondence (1)-(4)

Box 102 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • April 3, 1975 - San Diego - Expenses and Program
  • April 3, 1975 - San Diego - Media
  • April 3, 1975 - San Diego - Miscellaneous
  • April 3, 1975 - San Diego - Personnel (1)-(2)
  • April 3, 1975 - San Diego - Press (1)-(3)
  • April 3, 1975 - San Diego - Research Paper
  • April 3, 1975 - San Diego - Transcript
  • April 18, 1975 - Concord - Conference Book
  • April 18, 1975 - Concord - Correspondence (1)

Box 103 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • April 18, 1975 - Concord - Correspondence (2)-(4)
  • April 18, 1975 - Concord - Personnel
  • April 18, 1975 - Concord - Press (1)-(5)

Box 104 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • April 18, 1975 - Concord - Press (6)-(8)
  • April 18, 1975 - Concord - Program Materials
  • April 18, 1975 - Concord - Research Papers
  • April 18, 1975 - Concord - Transcript

Box 105 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • July 3, 1975 - Cincinnati - Conference Book
  • July 3, 1975 - Cincinnati - Correspondence (1)-(6)
  • July 3, 1975 - Cincinnati - Media
  • July 3, 1975 - Cincinnati - Personnel
  • July 3, 1975 - Cincinnati - Press
  • July 3, 1975 - Cincinnati - Publisher's Dinner and Miscellaneous
  • July 3, 1975 - Cincinnati - Research and Program
  • July 3, 1975 - Cincinnati – Transcript

Box 106 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • August 19, 1975 - Peoria - Conference Book
  • August 19, 1975 - Peoria - Correspondence (1)-(3)
  • August 19, 1975 - Peoria - Miscellaneous
  • August 19, 1975 - Peoria - Personnel
  • August 19, 1975 - Peoria - Press (1)-(2)
  • August 19, 1975 - Peoria - Research
  • August 19, 1975 - Peoria – Transcript

Box 107 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • August 25, 1975 - Milwaukee - Miscellaneous
  • August 25, 1975 - Milwaukee - Press (1)-(2)
  • August 25, 1975 - Milwaukee - Research
  • August 25, 1975 - Milwaukee - Transcript
  • September 4, 1975 - Seattle - Conference Book
  • September 4, 1975 - Seattle - Correspondence (1)-(4)
  • September 4, 1975 - Seattle – Miscellaneous

Box 108 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • September 4, 1975 - Seattle - Personnel
  • September 4, 1975 - Seattle - Press (1)-(2)
  • September 4, 1975 - Seattle - Research Papers
  • September 4, 1975 - Seattle - Transcript
  • September 12, 1975 - St. Louis - Conference Book (1)-(4)
  • September 12, 1975 - St. Louis - Correspondence (1)-(3)

Box 109 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • September 12, 1975 - St. Louis - Lorraine Hodkinson Notebook (1)-(3)
  • September 12, 1975 - St. Louis - Miscellaneous
  • September 12, 1975 - St. Louis - Personnel
  • September 12, 1975 - St. Louis - Press (1)-(4)
  • September 12, 1975 - St. Louis – Transcript

Box 110 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • October 1, 1975 - Omaha - Conference Book (1)-(3)
  • October 1, 1975 - Omaha - Correspondence (1)-(6)
  • October 1, 1975 - Omaha – Personnel

Box 111 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • October 1, 1975 - Omaha - Press (1)-(3)
  • October 1, 1975 - Omaha - Research (1)-(2)
  • October 1, 1975 - Omaha - Transcript
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Conference Book (1)-(5)

Box 112 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Conference Plans (1)-(3)
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Correspondence (1)-(6)
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Finances (1)-(2)

Box 113 - Ford White House Papers: White House Conferences on Domestic and Economic Affairs File

  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Media
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Miscellaneous
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Personnel (1)-(2)
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Press (1)-(4)
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Research (1)-(3)
  • October 7, 1975 - Knoxville - Transcript

Box 114 - Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File

  • A-B

Box 115 - Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File

  • C-D

Box 116 - Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File

  • E-G

Box 117 - Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File

  • H-K

Box 118 - Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File

  • L-M

Box 119 - Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File

  • M-Q

Box 120 - Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File

  • R-Shi

Box 121 - Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File

  • Sm-Wilkes

Box 122 - Ford White House Papers: Correspondence File

  • Will-Z

Box 122 (Continued) - Ford White House Papers: Chronological File

  • August - December 1974

Box 123 - Ford White House Papers: Chronological File

  • January - April 1975

Box 124 - Ford White House Papers: Chronological File

  • May - October 1975

Box 125 - Ford White House Papers: Chronological File

  • October 1975 - March 1976

Box 126 - Ford White House Papers: Chronological File

  • March 1976 - January 1977

Box 127 - Ford White House Papers: Briefings for Associations and Groups

  • Adhesive and Sealant Council
  • American Advertising Federation
  • American Association of Advertising Agencies
  • American Bankers Association
  • American Chamber of Commerce
  • American Enterprise Institute
  • American Federation of Information Processing Societies
  • American Fishing Tackle Manufacturers Association
  • American Frozen Food Institute
  • American Gear Manufacturers Association
  • American Home Economics Association
  • American Hotel and Motel Association
  • American Industrial Development Council
  • American Institute of Biological Science
  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers
  • American Meat Institute
  • American Metal Market
  • American National Cattleman's Association
  • American Optometric Association
  • American Retail Federation
  • American Society for Industrial Security
  • American Society of Pension Actuaries
  • American Supply Association
  • America 's Foundry Industry
  • ARMCO Steel Corporation
  • Associated Industries of Alabama
  • Association of American Publishers, Inc.
  • Association of Government Accountants
  • Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers
  • Association of National Advertisers
  • Automotive Service Industry
  • Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association, Inc.
  • Better Vision Institute Board of Directors
  • Brand Names Foundation
  • Business Council for International Understanding
  • Business Records Manufacturing Association
  • Business Records Manufacturers Association and Wholesale Stationers Association
  • Business-Government Relations Council
  • California Bankers Association
  • Car and Truck Renting and Leasing Association (CATRALA)
  • Carpet and Rug Institute
  • Chamber of Commerce Executives (State)
  • Chemical Specialties Manufacturers Association
  • Club Managers Association of America
  • Coal - Private Companies
  • Coffee Warehouse Association of America
  • College of American Pathologists

Box 128 - Ford White House Papers: Briefings for Associations and Groups

  • Computer and Business Manufacturers
  • Constituents of Congressman John W. Wydler
  • Council of Communication Societies
  • Council of Engineering and Scientific Society Executives (CESSE)
  • Direct Mail/Marketing Association
  • Direct Selling Association
  • Distilled Spirits Council of the United States, Inc.
  • Electronics Representatives Association
  • Explorers Club Briefing
  • F. Clifton White & Associates, Inc.
  • Farm Credit Administration
  • Financial Executives
  • Financial Executives Institute
  • Firearm Meeting
  • Foodservice and Lodging Institute
  • Gas Appliance Manufacturers Association
  • General Aviation Manufacturers Administration
  • Greater Hartford Chamber of Commerce
  • Greater South Dakota Association
  • Gypsum Drywall Contractors International Association
  • Hand Tools Institute
  • Harshe-Rotman-Druck
  • Hearing Aid Industry
  • Holiday Inn Executives
  • Imported Hardwood Products Association
  • Industrial Safety Equipment Association
  • International Association of Holiday Inns
  • International Carwash Association
  • International Council of Shopping Centers
  • International Management and Development Institute
  • International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
  • International Snowmobile Industry Association
  • Man-Made Fiber Briefing
  • Manufacturing Chemists Association
  • March of Dimes Poster Child
  • Meeting Between the President and James A. Gray
  • Meeting with Edmund W. Littlefield
  • Mobile Homes Manufacturers Association
  • National Association of Engine and Boat Manufacturers
  • National Association of Food Chains
  • National Association of Hosiery Manufacturers
  • National Association of Independent Insurers
  • National Association of Industrial Parks Executive Board
  • National Association of Life Underwriters
  • National Association of State Development Agencies
  • National Association of Temporary Services

Box 129 - Ford White House Papers: Briefings for Associations and Groups

  • National Association of Truck Stop Operators
  • National Concrete Masonry Association
  • National Construction Industry Council
  • National Council of Farmer Cooperatives
  • National Electrical Manufacturers Association
  • National Environmental Systems Contractors Association
  • National Erectors Association
  • National Forest Products Association
  • National Frozen Food Association
  • National Grange
  • National Independent Meat Packers Association
  • National Industrial Council
  • National Investor Relations Institute
  • National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association (NLBMDA)
  • National Paint & Coatings Association
  • National Paper Box Association
  • National Pest Control Association
  • National Parking Association
  • National Office Products Association
  • National Oil Jobbers Council
  • National Precast Concrete Association
  • National Restaurant Association
  • National Right to Work Committee
  • National Roofing Contractors Association
  • National School Transportation Association Board
  • National Society of Professional Engineers
  • National Soft Drink Association
  • Northeastern Poultry Producers Council
  • Optical Manufacturers Association
  • Opticians Association of America
  • Outdoor Power Equipment Institute
  • Pacific Northwest Waterways Association
  • Petrochemical Energy Group
  • Producers Council, Inc.
  • Public Affairs Council
  • Public Relations Society of America
  • Republican Eagles
  • Republican Fund Raising Dinner (April 15)
  • Republican Senate--House Dinner Briefing
  • Rockford Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Rubber Manufacturers Association
  • Salt Institute

Box 130 - Ford White House Papers: Briefings for Associations and Groups

  • San Francisco Chamber of Commerce
  • Savings Association League of N.Y. State
  • Society of American Wood Preserves
  • Society of Industrial Realtors
  • Society of the Plastics Industry
  • Solar Energy Industries Association
  • Special Voters Groups
  • Stamford Area Commerce and Industry Association
  • State Environmental Balance Association
  • Steel Service Center Institute
  • Tax Foundation
  • Texas Manufacturers Association
  • Travel Lodge International
  • United States Steel Corporation
  • United Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Association
  • United States Gymnastics Safety Association
  • Unveiling of GRF Medallion at George Washington Masonic National Memorial
  • USDA Young Executives
  • U.S. Industrial Payroll Savings Committee
  • U.S. League of Savings Associations
  • Valve Manufacturers Association
  • Washington Weekly Association
  • Water Pollution Control Federation
  • Water Quality Association
  • Western Michigan Business Leaders
  • Wheeling Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Wholesale-Distribution Industry
  • Woodworking Machinery Manufacturers of America (WMMA)
  • Wool Grower Delegation
  • Writing Instrument Manufacturers Association
  • Young Presidents' Organization