COLLECTION FINDING AID



AMERICAN CITIZENS CONCERNED FOR LIFE, INC., RECORDS,

(1968) 1974-1982 (1986)




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Records documenting the formation and functions of American Citizens Concerned for Life, Inc. (ACCL). The ACCL was a national pro-life organization formed after the 1973 Supreme Court decisions legalizing abortion. In addition, papers regarding the National Right to Life Committee and the Minnesota Citizens Concerned for Life are housed within the collection. This finding aid describes those portions of the collection that have been fully arranged and described by the Ford Library. Approximately 25 linear feet remain unprocessed and unavailable to research.

QUANTITY
50 linear feet (ca. 100,000 pages)

DONOR
Joseph A. Lampe (accession number 87-35)

ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Joseph A. Lampe donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Raymond Lennard, February 2001
[s:\bin\findaid\American Citizens Concerned for Life.doc]


INTRODUCTION

American Citizens Concerned for Life, Inc. (ACCL) was formed and incorporated in 1973 as a national membership association engaged in educational, legislative, research and service activities that promoted respect for human life in contemporary society. Specific issues addressed by the ACCL’s programs included increased legal protection for life, maternal and child health programs, death and dying issues surrounding the elderly; as well as broad issues like health care for the poor, respect for the handicapped, and world hunger. The collection was donated by Joseph Lampe, who served in various roles within the ACCL (becoming president of the organization after the departure of Marjorie Mecklenburg).

Establishment
The ACCL was founded in the wake of the 1973 United States Supreme Court cases of Roe v. Wade and Doe v. Bolton, both of which upheld a woman’s right to an abortion. The core founders of the ACCL lived mainly in Minnesota and were instrumental in raising over $50,000 for the establishment of a national pro-life group. This national group became known as the National Right to Life Committee (NRLC). Core ACCL founders, such as Marjory Mecklenburg, served in various capacities with the NRLC. The ACCL was legally incorporated before the NRLC, but the ACCL was held in abeyance until the NRLC’s policies and direction became more clear.

In its first year of existence, the NRLC attempted to take on all areas of pro-life lobby functions: education, policy, legal, medical, amendment, state organizations and development, intergroup liaison, political, and publishing. At the end of the first year, the funding for the NRLC’s programs proved to be insufficient. In 1974, the NRLC changed its focus to political actions that would result in a Constitutional Amendment banning abortion. It dropped all other programs.

The ACCL picked up several of the NRLC’s dropped initiatives. The main goals of the ACCL in 1974 were to foster the development of the pro-life movement, develop supportive services for women and children, and work towards pro-life issues that were broader than abortion.

Programs and Services
The ACCL developed a strategy of providing information services along with legislative services to the pro-life movement, staying away from direct services and direct political action. Within this “consultant” role, the ACCL focused their services on four main areas; advocacy, instigation of social change, formation of grass-root organizations to further the goals of the cause, and lastly, coordination with other like-minded groups.

Scope and Content of the ACCL Records (currently processed sections only)
While certain items are dated as late as 1986, the bulk of the ACCL records are from 1974-1982. The records cover the establishment of the Minnesota Citizens Concerned for Life, and the growth of American Citizens Concerned for Life. Within the MCCL and ACCL records are the group’s mailings, educational materials and operating records. Also included within the collection is a significant body of materials related to the work of the National Right to Life Committee (1968-1977).

One segment within the collection focuses on Marjorie Mecklenburg’s appointment to the Office of Technology Assessment and the presidential elections of 1976 and 1980. In addition, the ACCL kept a clipping file on several of the key players in the abortion debate. The records are valuable sources about the political climate of abortion in the late 1970’s in America. Coordination with other pro-life groups is noted within the files and is a valuable source for understanding other anti-abortion groups.

Related Materials (February 2001)
The most significant Ford administration materials on abortion appear in White House Central Files category WE3: Family Planning, the Domestic Council Files of Sarah Massengale, and the Counsel’s Office Files of Philip Buchen and Bobbie Kilberg. Information on the abortion issue in the 1976 presidential campaign appears in the President Ford Committee Records.

The unprocessed papers of pro-life activist Judith Fink are not currently available for research.

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

March of Dimes, 1974-1979.  (Boxes 1-2, 0.6 linear feet)
Publications and other materials produced by the March of Dimes for distribution of information about birth defects.

Arranged chronologically. Publications by the March of Dimes are included at the beginning of the file.

View container list for this series

Clippings and Miscellaneous Reference Materials, 1970-1975.  (Boxes 3-4, 0.5 linear feet)
Press releases, newspaper clippings, newsletters and unpublished articles concerning abortion and the right to life movement.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

National Right to Life Committee, 1968-1977.  (Boxes 4-11, 3.0 linear feet)
Correspondence, notes, memos, agendas, minutes, press releases, publications, and newspaper clippings. The materials concern abortion and the organization and operation of the NRLC.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

Minnesota Concerned Citizens for Life, 1970-1977.  (Boxes 11-13, 2.0 linear feet)
Publications, memoranda, agenda, minutes and reports related to the formation and functions of the state-wide pro-life group.

Arranged chronologically.

View container list for this series

American Citizens Concerned for Life Administrative File, 1973-1986.  (Boxes 14-42, 11.5 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, agenda, minutes and publications relating to the functions of the ACCL and their pro-life activities.

The series is divided into sub-series of general correspondence, program, organizational planning, organizational development, office management, board of directors, people, fundraising, Kennedy Foundation proposal, development, special events, special projects, newsletters and publications, Office of Technology Assessment, and educational materials. Files within each sub-series are arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

American Citizens Concerned for Life Political File, 1975-1981. (Boxes 42-46, 2.0 linear feet)
Clippings, articles, correspondence and publications relating to the PAC’s and elections from 1976 to 1980. The ACCL and their president, Marjory Mecklenburg, supported and campaigned for Gerald R. Ford.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - March of Dimes

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Publications (1)-(5)
  • Teenage Pregnancy
  • Undated

Box 2 - March of Dimes

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • 1974
  • 1975
  • January-June1976
  • July–December1976
  • 1977
  • Speaker’s Kit 1977
  • 1978
  • 1979

Box 3 - Clippings and Miscellaneous Reference Materials

  • Clippings 1971
  • Clippings 1972
  • Clippings 1973
  • Miscellaneous
  • Miscellaneous Reference Materials (1)-(10)

Box 4 - Clippings and Miscellaneous Reference Materials

  • Miscellaneous Reference Materials (11)
  • Miscellaneous Reference Materials, Political Action

Box 4 (Continued) - Early National Right to Life Committee

  • Rosters, Mailing Lists (1)-(2)
  • Undated (1)-(2)
  • National Right to Life Meeting, July 31-August 2, 1970
  • 1971
  • 1972
  • National Right to Life Convention, June 16-18, 1972
  • 1973 (1)-(5)

Box 5 - Early National Right to Life Committee

  • 1973 (6)-(8)
  • Board and Executive Committee, 1973 (1)-(9)

Box 6 - Early National Right to Life Committee

  • Bylaws, 1973
  • National Right to Life Convention, June 8-10, 1973 (1)-(2)
  • Constitutional Amendment, 1973
  • The Greene Sheet, 1973
  • Handwritten Notes, 1973
  • Mailings to Right to Life Committees, 1973
  • Mid-Year Report, 1973 (1)-(4)
  • Resumes, 1973
  • States Program Committee, 1973 (1)-(2)

Box 7 - Early National Right to Life Committee

  • States Program Committee, 1973 (3)-(6)
  • 1974 (1)-(5)
  • Board and Executive Committee, 1974 (1)-(2)

Box 8 - Early National Right to Life Committee

  • Board and Executive Committee, 1974 (3)-(15)

Box 9 - Early National Right to Life Committee

  • Budget, 1974
  • Bylaws Revision, 1974 (1)-(4)
  • Convention, 1974
  • The Greene Sheet, 1974
  • Roncallo Amendment, 1974 (1)-(2)
  • State Board Members, 1974
  • 1975 (1)-(4)

Box 10 - Early National Right to Life Committee

  • Board of Directors, 1975(1)-(5)
  • Convention, June 1975
  • Exhibit and Educational Materials, 1975
  • 1976 (1)-(4)

Box 11 - Early National Right to Life Committee

  • Convention, 1976
  • National Right to Life News, 1976
  • 1977 (1)-(4)
  • Convention, 1977
  • National Right to Life News, 1977 (1)-(2)

Box 11 (Continued) - Minnesota Citizens Concerned for Life

  • Undated
  • 1971
  • 1972
  • 1973
  • Fundraising, Seattle, Washington, 1973
  • 1974

Box 12 - Minnesota Citizens Concerned for Life

  • Board Meeting, December 1976
  • Board Meeting, March 1977—Research Project
  • Convention, 1975
  • Convention, 1976
  • Constitution and Bylaws
  • Executive Committee
  • Fact File
  • Information Mailings 1977
  • Legal Documents
  • Lifemobile
  • Mailing Lists
  • March of Dimes Material
  • Maternal/Newborn Advocate Newsletters
  • Miscellaneous Information
  • Mission Possible
  • Newsletters (1)-(2)

Box 13 - Minnesota Citizens Concerned for Life

  • Newsletters (3)
  • Notes from NRL Organizational Meeting
  • Organizational Development Report & Bylaws
  • Organizational Notes; Meeting Notes (1)-(3)
  • Political Material
  • State of Minnesota Court Cases (1)-(3)
  • State of Minnesota Legislation
  • State Organizational Meeting Notes

Box 14 - ACCL Administrative File: General Correspondence

  • Activities
  • Aged, Sweden
  • Closed Correspondence, 1980-1982 (1)-(3)
  • Correspondence, 1978 (1)-(2)
  • Correspondence, 1979 (1)-(2)
  • Editorials, 1976-1984
  • Family Planning/Supportive Services Mailing
  • General Correspondence, 1980 (1)-(5)
  • General Correspondence, 1982

Box 15 - ACCL Administrative File: General Correspondence

  • General Correspondence, 1983 (1)-(2)
  • General Request File (1)-(2)
  • Letters Re: ACCL Organization from late 1974
  • Letters to the Editor, 1976-1984 (1)-(2)
  • M. Mecklenburg—Personal Correspondence File
  • Mail Responses From Mail-O-Gram
  • Mailings/Pamphlets
  • Marjory Mecklenburg, Correspondence, 1977-1979
  • Media Correspondence, 1982
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, undated
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1975 (1)-(3)

Box 16 - ACCL Administrative File: General Correspondence

  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1976-1977
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1978
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1981 (1)-(2)
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1982 (1)-(2)
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1983 (1)-(2)
  • Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1984
  • Organizational/Start-up Notes
  • Planning
  • Political Actions
  • Press Releases
  • Radio & TV Commentary, 1976-1984
  • S 2910 Grants

Box 17 - ACCL Administrative File: General Correspondence

  • Student Request Files (1)-(2)

Box 17 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Program

  • ACCL, 1974
  • ACCL Philosophy & Objectives
  • Accomplishments, January 1981
  • Bill Hunt Fund Project
  • Chapter Organizations
  • Editorial Statement October 1980 Update
  • Encyclopedia of Associations
  • History & Program: Statement of Purpose
  • Insiders Mailing Ideas
  • Letters to Prospective Members
  • Q & A File, 1975 (1)-(2)

Box 18 - ACCL Administrative File: Organizational Planning

  • ACCL Budget: Cash Flow, May-August 1980
  • ACCL Core Group, 1978
  • Budgets
  • Kokaisel Design Projects, August 1978
  • Legislative Program Board Planning
  • Local League Finance Training, July 26, 1973
  • Miscellaneous Letters
  • Organizational Development Catalogs
  • President’s Advisory Committee, 1977
  • Priority Goals, 1978
  • Steering Committee
  • Strategy, November 1977

Box 18 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Organizational Development

  • Communication, Leadership (1)-(2)
  • Courtesy Associates
  • Miscellaneous Office Management, Washington Office
  • Mobilizing Pro-Life Forces
  • Organizational Development., 1977
  • State Organizational Booklet (1)-(2)
  • Volunteer File
  • Volunteer Information (1)-(2)

Box 19 - ACCL Administrative File: Office Management

  • American Society of Association Executives (1)-(6)
  • Bev Abrahamson
  • ED Fund, Education Plan, September 1979-September 1980
  • Employment Forms, Amsterdam Printing
  • Employment, January 1980
  • Fundraising
  • Funds for National Pro-Life Office, 1973
  • Intern Program

Box 20 - ACCL Administrative File: Office Management

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

  • Joint Fundraising Cocktail Party: ACCL, Edina MCCL, HPCL, December 1, 1979
  • Non-Profit Organization Questionnaire
  • PIC-PIC
  • Employment Applications, Pre-1980 (1)-(2)
  • Priests, August 1977
  • Researchers; Re: ACCL
  • Resumes/Prospective Employees
  • Sandy Shroder

Box 20 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Board of Directors

  • ACCL Board Mailings, June 26, 1982
  • ACCL Board Mailings, May 2, 1983
  • ACCL Speakers/Board Letters/Information on Board Members
  • Board of Directors, General File
  • Board of Directors, Mailings: 12/18/81; 2/3/82; 6/26/82;8/2/82
  • Board of Directors, Responses from Mailings, 1980
  • Board of Directors, Unofficial Correspondence, 1977
  • Board Mailing, ACCL Board & Officers, April 6, 1982
  • Board Mailing, November 18, 1975
  • Board Mailing, April 4, 1976 (1)-(2)

Box 21 - ACCL Administrative File: Office Management

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Board Mailing, December 2, 1981
  • Board Mailing, March 16, 1982
  • Board Mailing, October 1982
  • Board Mailing, December 1983
  • Congressional Action Project Advisory Board, January-May 1977 (1)-(2)
  • David Allen, M.D.
  • David Novak, MHL, Ph.D.
  • Expanded Board of Directors, 1977
  • Hymie Gordon, M.D.
  • Jan Wilkings
  • Jean Garton
  • Judith Fink
  • Board Meeting, May 1980
  • O’Connor, Paul, Treasurer
  • Originals, Board Packet; November 17, 1977 (1)-(2)
  • Paul Ramsey, Ph.D.
  • Rev. Richard John Neuhaus
  • Rev. Robert Holbrook
  • Rev. William C. Hunt, S.T.D. (1)-(2)

Box 22 - ACCL Administrative File: Board of Directors

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Seymour Siegel, DHL
  • Sidney Cornelia Callahan
  • Thomas Gray
  • Valerie Vance Dillion

Box 22 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: People—General

  • Abzug
  • Paul Andreini
  • Michael Barone
  • Dr. Maxwell Barr
  • Daniel Barrigan
  • Thea Rossi Barron
  • James Beatty
  • Dr. Ernst Benda
  • C. Bendorf
  • Leon Blair
  • Pat Boone, 1983
  • Joe Boyle
  • William Brennan, Ph.D. (St. Louis)
  • James Buckley
  • Bulfin
  • W.C. Burns
  • Dainel Callahan
  • Bishop Carroll
  • Jerome J. Choromanski
  • Flora Coan
  • Dennis Cook (1)-(2)
  • Cranford, Dr. Ronald E.
  • Erma Craven
  • Irvin M. Cushnev
  • Dorthy Czarnecki
  • Doug Dahl
  • Mark Dayton
  • Pat DeGrinney
  • James DeMarce
  • Dr. Eugene Diamond
  • Ray DiBlasio
  • Elizabeth Dole
  • Phil Donahue
  • Arthur J. Dyck
  • Rev. Calvin J. Eichhorst
  • The Honorable Arlen Erdahl
  • Nancy Etzwiler

Box 23 - ACCL Administrative File: People—General

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Mia Farrow
  • Gerald R. Ford
  • Gloria Ford
  • Anne Fox
  • Donald M. Fraser
  • Sue Fremgan
  • Betty Friedan
  • Jo Ann Gasper
  • Ellen Goodman
  • Miriam Gray
  • Nellie Gray
  • Greeley
  • Greene
  • The Honorable Thomas Hagedorn
  • John Hagen
  • Mari Anne Hamilton
  • Denise Handler
  • Alice Hartle
  • Hellegers
  • General Patrick J. Hessian
  • Msgr. George G. Higgins
  • Cynthia Hilton
  • Dennis Horan
  • Humphrey
  • Jessie Jackson
  • Mildred Jefferson
  • Mary R. Joyce
  • Karl Kassulke
  • James Kelly
  • Michael L. Koempol
  • Janet Krocheski
  • David Kucharsky
  • Ralph Kuether
  • Kuharski Testimony
  • Mary Ann Kuharski
  • Timothy LaHaye
  • Joseph Lampe
  • Lannan
  • Harold Lindsell
  • Eugene Linse
  • Juli Loesch
  • Dr. Pere Lonning
  • Clare Booth Luce
  • Coleman McCarthy
  • McCormack
  • Bob McCoy
  • Mary & Michael McGillicuddy
  • McLaughlin

Box 24 - ACCL Administrative File: People—General

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Wanda Macy
  • David Mall
  • Carol Los Mansmann
  • John Markest
  • Connie Marshner
  • Marx
  • Dr. Fred Mecklenburg (1)-(2)
  • M. Mecklenburg
  • Kenneth Miller
  • March Of Dimes, 1980
  • Mooney
  • Jim Mooney
  • J. Patrick Moore
  • Bob Morrison
  • Candice Mueller
  • Bernard N. Nathanson
  • Nelson
  • Jack Nicholson
  • Nix
  • Jacqueline M. Nolan-Haley
  • John T. Noonan, Jr.
  • Elizabeth W. Numrich
  • Olivaraz
  • Lawrence O’Shaughnessy
  • P.T.A. Contacts
  • Payant
  • Bill Pierce
  • Plante
  • Pope John Paul II
  • Powell
  • Prem
  • Jacob A. O. Preus
  • Psychiatrists
  • Louis H. Pumphrey
  • Jeremy Rifkin
  • John Riley
  • Rosemarie B. Ryan
  • St. Martin-Thomas
  • Warren Schaller

Box 25 - ACCL Administrative File: People—General

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Joseph Scheidler
  • Phyllis Schlafly
  • Sandy Schroeder
  • John Scullin
  • Selzer
  • Mary Senander
  • Shriver
  • S. Simmons
  • Sipple
  • Madonna (Donna) Spaeth
  • Gloria Steinem
  • Joe Sullivan
  • Sutherland, Sutherland Learning Assc.
  • Honorable Richard S. Schweiker
  • Oren Teicher
  • Mother Teresa
  • Thomas
  • Michael Thompson
  • Roger Toogood
  • Jome Toscano
  • Patrick Trueman
  • Valdettare, Gemma M.
  • Paula Vandegaer
  • John Vasconcelles
  • Maris Vinorskis
  • Dennis Wadley
  • Marlene Walters
  • Sarah Weddington
  • Marvin Weinberger
  • Roy Weir
  • Margaret White
  • Faith Ryan Whittlesey
  • George F. Will
  • Wilke
  • Mark Winiarski
  • Pat Zenner
  • Dan Ziedler

Box 26 - ACCL Administrative File: Fundraising/Mailings

  • February 13, 1976
  • ACCL Fundraising
  • ACCL Position on Pregnancy Disability Bill, March 8, 1978
  • Action Alert
  • Action Alert, August 1979
  • Adolescent Pregnancy Bill Mailing, June 5, 1978
  • America, December 1980
  • America, May 19, 1981
  • America, Library Mailings
  • Assistant, Old Mailings, July 1979
  • Alternatives to Abortion Questionnaire, April 14, 1977
  • Birthright Mailing, October 21, 1975
  • CAP Mailing to Bill Burns list, April 1977
  • CAP Mailing to Catholic Priests, April 1977
  • CAP Mailing to House List, April 1977
  • CAP Mailing to Petition Signers, April 1977
  • Campaign for Human Life
  • Cause for Concern, October 1977
  • Complimentary Outgoing April Letter
  • Congressional Alert, Testimony, Senate
  • Congressional Action Donor, Follow-up, January 25, 1978
  • Development Fund Letter to Large Donors, December 1981
  • Direct Mail
  • Direct Mail, Cost Sheets
  • Direct Mail, Doug’s Letters
  • Doctor’s Mailing, December 29, 1976
  • Doctor’s Mailing, 1977
  • Donor Follow-up Mailing, February 4, 1977
  • Fund Drive Follow-up Letters
  • Fundraising
  • Fundraising Letters, pre1979 (1)-(3)
  • Fundraising Mail-O-Gram to Donors, April 1984
  • Government Grant Proposal (1)-(3)

Box 27 - ACCL Administrative File: Fundraising/Mailings

  • HEW Budget Mailing, February 3, 1978
  • House Hearings, October 11, 1975
  • House Hearings, December 15, 1975
  • House Hearings, January 13, 1976
  • House Hearings, January 25, 1976
  • House Hearings, February 25, 1976
  • House Hearings, March 15, 1976
  • House Hearings, March 17, 1976
  • House Hearings & CAP Background
  • House Hearings, Follow-up, March 1976
  • House Hearings Letters
  • House Hearings Lutheran Church
  • House Hearings Report, May 17, 1976
  • Kennedy Foundation Proposal, February 1979
  • Lapac List Mailing, March 28, 1980
  • Legislation Bill F3 (Adoption Bill), May 12, 1977
  • Legislative Bulletin, May 9, 1977
  • Legislative Bulletin & Pregnancy Disability Packet, April 20, 1977
  • Legislative Bulletin F4, July 11, 1977
  • Legislative Report, May 5, 1997
  • Letter Re:S2910 (Kennedy Bill)
  • Letters to Hymie Gordon
  • MN Priests, December 1977
  • MN Pro-life Leaders, May 13, 1977
  • MN Prospect Mailing, November 13, 1976
  • Mailogram, September 14, 1975
  • Mailogram, July 18, 1977
  • Mailogram (to all ACCL Donors), August 12, 1978
  • Mailogram, September 1978
  • Mailogram, July 3, 1980
  • Mailgram to MN Priests
  • Membership Renewal, December 1, 1977
  • Membership Renewal, February 1978
  • Membership Renewal, February 23, 1979
  • Membership Renewal, June 1, 1981
  • Membership Renewal, October 22, 1981
  • Membership Renewal Follow-up, November 1980
  • Memo, March 24, 1976
  • Michigan Prospect List, August 16, 1984
  • Minneapolis-St.Paul Priests Mailing, October 10, 1976

Box 28 - ACCL Administrative File: Fundraising/Mailings

  • NCEA Member Letter, July 12, 1979
  • NCR, America, Commonwealth Prospect Mailing, June 1980
  • NCR Mailing, May 21, 1981
  • News Release, November 30, 1977
  • November 1976 Mailing to MN non-members
  • Oberstar Dinner
  • Originals, Adolescent Pregnancy Bill
  • Past Donor Follow-up, November 8, 1977
  • Past Due Membership Renewal, February 1979
  • Past Due Membership, April 1980
  • Past Due Membership Letter, April 1978
  • Possible Follow-up
  • Previous Donor Follow-up, June 1977
  • Previous Donor Follow-up, July 1977
  • Previous Donor Mailings, December 21, 1976
  • Priests, July 1977
  • Priests (no salutation), September 1977
  • Priests Follow-up Mailing, February 21, 1977
  • Priests, Fr. Hunt’s Letters, September 1977
  • Pro-life Leaders—LHJ Competition “Woman of the Year”
  • Prospect Letter, September 1982
  • Prospect Letter to Complementary’s, December 1984
  • Prospect Letters
  • Prospect Mailing, September 1982
  • Prospect Mailing, Religious Leaders, October 1984
  • Prospect Mailing Responses, June 1980
  • Regular Membership Renewal, April 1975
  • Reminder to 1978 Donors, February 1981
  • Sample Mailings, 1982
  • “Save a Life” & “Johnny” Fundraising Letter, March 1980
  • “Save a Life Now” Letter, August 1979
  • Schlesinger Library
  • Second Notice—Membership Renewal, March 27, 1979
  • September 1979 Save a Life Today
  • Shafer Koop Fundraising Letter
  • Supreme Court Decision, July 16, 1976
  • Update, May 1976
  • Update #4, September 27, 1975
  • Update—Birthright, October 23, 1975
  • Updates 1-2-3
  • Wasie Foundation Proposal
  • Who Cares, August-October 1975
  • Who Cares Oregon, August 7, 1976

Box 29 - ACCL Administrative File: Fundraising

  • Fundraising—Campaign for Human Life
  • “Fundraising Can Be Fun” (1)-(2)
  • Fundraising Ideas, 1984
  • Fundraising Letters
  • Fundraising Philanthropists
  • L. W. V. Fundraising
  • Model Fundraising Packet
  • Phone Solicitation (1)-(3)
  • Telephone Scripts

Box 29 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Kennedy Foundation Proposal

  • Grant Application (1)-(4)

Box 30 - ACCL Administrative File: Kennedy Foundation Proposal

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Shriver Campaign Committee (1)-(3)

Box 30 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Development

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • ACCL Organizational Development
  • Allied Institutional Development Services (1)-(5)
  • General Information Packet (1)-(3)

Box 31 - ACCL Administrative File: Development

  • Ideas for State Legislation
  • Steering Committee
  • Washington, D.C. Office Space

Box 31 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Special Events

  • Bio-Medical Ethics Workshop, March 1980
  • Demonstrations/Floats
  • Lutherans for Life Conventions, 1982-1986 (1)-(2)
  • Lutherans for Life Convention, November 11-13, 1983, Southfield, MI
  • March for Life, January 22 (1)-(2)
  • NRL Convention, July 1982, Cherry Hill, NJ (1)-(2)
  • NRL Convention, 1983, Orlando, FL
  • NRL Convention, 1984, Kansas City
  • NRL Convention, 1985, Washington, D. C.
  • Prayer Breakfast, 1975
  • Pro-life Network Convention, June 1985

Box 32 - ACCL Administrative File: Special Projects

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • ACCL Social Activities, People & Events
  • Chicago Meeting, October 1981
  • Food for Life, 1975
  • Food for Life, 1976
  • Foundation Information, General
  • Holiday Mailings
  • LOL Benefit, 1979
  • LOL Benefit, 1981-1982
  • “Love of Life” Ball
  • Love of Life Ball, 1975 (1)-(2)
  • Love of Life Ball, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Love of Life Ball, 1977 (1)-(2)
  • Mailhouse & Pharos
  • Mailing—Pro-life Physicians
  • Minnesota Citizens Concerned for Life Rep. Convention, 1974

Box 33 - ACCL Administrative File: Special Projects

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Mecklenburg Dinner, May 25, 1983
  • Memorials
  • Post-Election Party, November 1978
  • Philadelphia Dinner, January 22, 1976
  • Prayer Breakfast
  • Prayer Breakfast, 1975
  • Prayer Breakfast, 1976 (1)-(2)
  • Prayer Breakfast Brochure
  • Prizes LOL Benefit, 1979
  • Raffle, 1977
  • Raffle, 1978
  • Raffle & Correspondence, 1977 (1)-(2)

Box 34 - ACCL Administrative File: Special Projects

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Richfield Petition Lists
  • Rummage Sale, November 1978
  • Special Projects (1)-(2)
  • Student Activism
  • Totino Proposal

Box 34 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Newsletters/Booklets Produced by ACCL

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • ACCL Brochure # 1, June 1975
  • ACCL Update (1)-(3)
  • Adolescent Health, Services and Pregnancy Prevention
  • “All About Families”
  • Brochure Work Sheet
  • Circle of Life Bracelet (1)-(4)

Box 35 - ACCL Administrative File: Newsletters/Booklets Produced by ACCL

  • Counseling Manual, 1975-1978
  • Counseling Revision, 1980
  • “In Support of Life”
  • Jewelry & Order Forms
  • Ruffino Book
  • “This’ll Kill Ya” Project

Box 35 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Marjory Mecklenburg

  • ACCL Administrative File: Marjory Mecklenburg
  • 1973-1976 (1)-(2)
  • M. Mecklenburg Federal Positions
  • Mecklenburg, Marjory
  • OAPP-HEW, March 1, 1981 (1)-(2)
  • Parent Notification Regulation., 1982-1983
  • Resumes
  • Speaking
  • Speaking Engagements
  • Travel Schedule
  • Washington D. C. Trips

Box 36 - ACCL Administrative File: Office of Technology Assessment

  • 1979 Report of UN Fund for Population Activities
  • Environmental Contaminates in Food
  • Miscellaneous Consulting Projects, September 1979
  • OTA Annual Report, 1977
  • Office of Technology Assessment (1)-(7)

Box 37 - ACCL Administrative File: Office of Technology Assessment

  • Population Reference Bureau Mailing, February 11, 1981 (1)-(3)
  • Populi
  • Report (1)-(2)

Box 37 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Newsletter

  • Care Center
  • Churches
  • Congressional Action Report, 1979
  • Correspondence
  • Day Care
  • Definition of Death (1)-(2)
  • Editorial Material, 1979
  • Editorial Material, Rev. William Hunt, 1979
  • Federal Budget Social Programs, 1980
  • Federal Funding of Abortions, 1977-1979
  • Federal Funding of Abortions, Court Rulings
  • Funding for Abortions, States

Box 38 - ACCL Administrative File: Newsletter

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • In Vitro Fertilization
  • Miscellaneous
  • Neutron Bomb
  • Nuclear
  • Phillip Becker
  • Pregnancy Disability
  • Teen Pregnancy (1)-(2)
  • Work Safety
  • “Wrong Sex” Abortions

Box 38 (Continued) - ACCL Administrative File: Educational Materials

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Minnesota Health Statistics, 1976
  • Minnesota Health Statistics, 1977
  • Minnesota Health Statistics, 1978
  • Minnesota Health Statistics, 1979
  • Minnesota Health Statistics, 1980
  • Minnesota Health Statistics, 1981
  • Minnesota Health Statistics, 1982
  • Minnesota Health Statistics, 1983

Box 39 - ACCL Administrative File: Educational Materials

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Abortion History
  • Abortion Surveillance, 1974
  • Abortion Surveillance, 1975
  • Abortion Surveillance, 1976
  • Abortion Surveillance, 1977
  • Abortion Surveillance, 1978
  • Abortion Surveillance, 1979-1980
  • America Magazine
  • Beyond Beginning
  • Commonweal Magazine
  • Continental Congress (1)-(4)
  • Counseling Manual Pregnancy Care Center
  • Ectopic Pregnancy Surveillance, 1970-1978
  • Educational Material

Box 40 - ACCL Administrative File: Educational Materials

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • For Educators
  • Fundraising Booklet
  • General Editorials (1)-(2)
  • In Good Conscience, Reviews
  • Information Requests, 1980-1981
  • Overview of Birth Defects in MN, 1950-1980
  • Pamphlets
  • Prof. R. Stith
  • Public Opinion Polls (1)-(3)
  • Pro-life Education

Box 41 - ACCL Administrative File: Educational Materials

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)
  • Reference Materials (1)-(3)
  • Reported Induced Abortions, 1975
  • Reported Induced Abortions, 1976
  • Reported Induced Abortions, 1979
  • Reported Induced Abortions, 1980
  • Reported Induced Abortions, 1981
  • Reported Induced Abortions, 1982
  • Reported Induced Abortions, 1983
  • Rhotoric of Abortion (1)-(2)
  • School & Resource Center Project, 1981
  • School Mailings, April 1980
  • Speakers, Education
  • Speech Ideas

Box 42 - ACCL Administrative File: Educational Materials

  • Statistics (1)-(2)
  • Statistics, Adolescent Pregnancy
  • Sue Fremgen
  • Surgical Sterilization Surveillance, 1970-1975
  • Surgical Sterilization Surveillance, 1976-1978
  • Surgical Sterilization Surveillance, 1979-1980

Box 42 (Continued) - ACCL Political File: PACs

  • Americans for Life, September 1979
  • EMPAC
  • LAPAC (1)-(2)
  • LAPAC Report to FEC (1)-(2)
  • Life PACs & Right Wing Groups (1)-(2)
  • Moral Majority
  • PACs, Miscellaneous
  • NC PAC
  • NRL PAC

Box 43 - ACCL Political File: Political

  • 1980 Elections (1)-(3)
  • 1980 Presidential Race (1)-(4)
  • Bernie Mendon/Hyde Project
  • Congressional Campaigning, Fundraising
  • Congressional Elections, 1982
  • Conservatives
  • Democratic Party Politics
  • Elections, 1984 (1)-(3)
  • Elections, 1984, Democrats
  • General Politics, 1978

Box 44 - ACCL Political File: Political

  • Hatch Amendment Clippings (1)-(4)
  • Letter to Platform, May 17, 1976
  • “Party of One”
  • Political Newsletters, 1979-1980
  • Political Miscellaneous
  • Political Strategy
  • Republican Party Politics
  • Single Issue Politics

Box 44 (Continued) - ACCL Political File: 1976 Presidential Campaign

  • Carter (1)-(3)
  • Carter-Mondale Clippings
  • Debate
  • Editorials & Letters to the Editor (1)-(2)

Box 45 - ACCL Political File: 1976 Presidential Campaign

  • Ford (1)-(2)
  • Ford Campaign (1)-(4)
  • Ford Mailings
  • GOP Campaign
  • Memos
  • Miscellaneous (1)-(6)

Box 46 - ACCL Political File: 1976 Presidential Campaign

  • News Clippings (1)-(2)
  • NRL Project
  • Population Renewal
  • Reimbursement
  • Religious
  • States (1)-(2)
  • VPLCC