|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2114www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
|
|
Gerald R. Ford Library1000 Beal Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2114www.fordlibrarymuseum.gov |
Editorial Staff
PAUL THEIS AND
ROBERT ORBEN
Executive Editor
(Theis) and
Special Assistant
to the President (Orben):
Files, 1974-77
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION
Primarily case files on presidential
speeches, articles and other public statements. A file typically includes
background material, drafts, and final text. Also included are Theis's and Orben's chronological
files and some office administrative files.
QUANTITY
41
linear feet (ca. 82,000 pages)
DONOR
Gerald
R. Ford (accession number 77-45)
ACCESS
Open. Some items are temporarily restricted under
terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or
under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR
1256).
COPYRIGHT
Gerald
Ford has donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his
unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other
individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees
as part of their official duties are in the public domain.
Prepared by Leesa Tobin, July 1983; revised September 1985
Revised by William McNitt, April 1996
[s:\bin\findaid\theis, paul and orben, robert - files.doc]
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Paul A. Theis
1948 Received a
B.A. degree in journalism from the University of Notre Dame
1949 Received a
B.S. degree in foreign service form
1950‑53 Reporter,
Fairchild Publications
1953‑54 Correspondent,
"Newsweek"
1955‑57 Executive assistant
to Congressman Oliver P. Bolton, Ohio
1958‑60 Radio and
television director, Republican Congressional Committee
1960‑74 Director of public
relations, Republican Congressional Committee
1974‑75 Executive editor,
White House Editorial Office
1976‑77 Deputy Under
Secretary of Agriculture for Congressional and Public Affairs
1977‑81 Staff consultant,
U.S. House of Representatives
1981‑ President,
Headliner Editorial Service
BIOGRAPHICAL
INFORMATION
Robert
Orben
1962‑63 Writer, The Jack Parr
Show
1964‑70 Writer, The Red
Skelton Hour
1971- Editor, "Orben's Current Comedy"
1974 Consultant to
Vice President Gerald R. Ford
1974‑75 Speechwriter and
associate editor for President Gerald R. Ford
Jan. 1976‑Jan.
1977 Director, White House speechwriting
staff
Mar. 1976‑Jan.
1977 Special Assistant to the
President
INTRODUCTION
These are the combined files of Paul
Theis and his successor Robert Orben,
who were the immediate heads of the White House speechwriting unit. Until Theis
departed in January 1976, he had additional responsibilities as executive
editor for the entire Office of Editorial Staff. Discussed below under separate headings are:
organization and function of the Office of Editorial Staff; the speechwriting
process; and the scope of the content of the Theis‑Orben
files.
Organization and
Function of the Office of Editorial Staff
The editorial office was one of the
largest in the White House, with thirty to forty employees at any given
time. Within the office, there were
separate units for speechwriting, presidential messages, presidential
correspondence, and research (fact‑checking). Paul Theis directed
all these activities and reported to Robert Hartmann, Counsellor
to the President. Robert Orben and the heads of the other units each reported
directly to Hartmann. Hartmann was a
close advisor to Ford, had written many of Ford's congressional and vice
presidential speeches, and continued to play an active role in the
speechwriting process.
The correspondence unit's specific
responsibilities were to draft routine courtesy letters and telegrams signed by
the President. These included
expressions of sympathy, special greetings for anniversaries and birthdays, and
acknowledgements to public opinion mail.
Incoming public response was routed to a pertinent office or
agency. Roland Elliott was director of
correspondence.
The presidential messages unit
screened and responded to requests by individuals and organizations for
presidential messages congratulating them on their achievements. Approximately two hundred requests were
received each week, of which about fifty would merit a message to be read at a
meeting or published in a magazine. The
Counsel's office assisted in screening these requests. Gwen Anderson headed the messages unit, but
actual drafting of messages was done by Eliska Hasek and Michael Johnson.
A research unit verified the factual
accuracy of statements in draft presidential speeches, messages, and
articles. It maintained an extensive
clipping file, drew upon the White House Library and may have contracted
information services outside the government.
Gwen Anderson headed this unit also, assisted by Agnes Waldron and later
by Charles McCall. The research unit's
activities were mirrored by a similar operation in the Office of the Press
Secretary.
The speechwriting unit drafted most
presidential speeches, remarks, and magazine articles, and briefly assisted
Mrs. Ford before she acquired her own speechwriter. At any given time, there were perhaps five
speechwriters in addition to the unit head and Counsellor
Hartmann.
The
Speechwriting Process
During his two and a half year
administration, President Ford delivered approximately 1,200 speeches and
formal sets of remarks. Much of this
material was generated by a dozen speechwriters and Hartmann. Hartmann, Theis and
subsequently Orben, also acted as informal advisors
to President Ford concerning speech subjects and formats. Occasionally, when an event was designed to
be the forum for a major presidential policy statement, drafting of the entire
statement or particular passages was the responsibility of an advisor with a
direct policy interest. For example,
Domestic Council Associate Director Richard Parsons, and Executive Director
James Cannon were active in crime policy and drafted a major presidential
message to Congress on crime in June 1975.
Some 1976 campaign speeches also originated outside the speechwriting
unit.
Most speeches, however, were the
product of the speechwriting staff.
Every week, President Ford received hundreds of speech invitations. The White House scheduling office and the
president's top aides determined which invitation would be appropriate forums
for presidential speeches. Under normal
circumstances twelve major speaking engagements were accepted each month. This number increased dramatically during the
1976 campaign.
Under a formalized procedure, Theis and later Orben would
assign a writer to draft a presidential speech.
A "writer's assignment sheet" was sent to him, outlining
subject matter, the projected length of the speech, the deadline for the first
draft, the name of the researcher assigned to the project and the persons to
contact for additional information.
Often the speechwriting staff would
sit down with the president to discuss his ideas for a speech and its
purpose. Frequently other staff members
with a policy interest were consulted and offered their suggestions. A first draft would then be prepared and Theis or Orben would edit and
return it to the writer. A speech might
go through a number of drafts before an acceptable text was produced. At some point during this process the speech
was sent to the research unit to be checked for accuracy. The final draft was circulated to appropriate
White House and departmental aides for clearance, then on to Hartmann or the
president for final approval. A large
print reading copy was produced on which the President frequently made his own
additions and deletions.
This procedure was expanded for a
major speech such as the 1975 State of the Union Address. Work was begun in early December 1974 and the
speech went through seven drafts before an acceptable copy was produced. Clearance was sought from at least fifteen
administration officials before the final draft was approved and sent to the
President. Even so, Ford made changes in
the text almost up to the moment he delivered it on January 15.
Scope and
Content of the Theis‑Orben Files
When Theis
resigned in January 1976, Orben inherited and
continued Theis' files. The material from the Theis
period includes items relating to the message, research, and correspondence
units of the editorial office as well as the speechwriting unit. These functions are not reflected in the Orben material for 1976, but appear in the files of
editorial office staff persons Roland Elliott and Eliska
Hasek.
The heart of the Theis‑Orben
files are case files of speeches, articles, messages and other public
statements which typically include drafts, final text, and background
material. This Presidential Speeches and
Public Statements series is not complete, however. Some speeches do not appear at all and others
do not include all drafts and documentation produced by the speechwriting staff
or those involved in composing the speech.
Related
Materials (April 1996):
Related materials are scattered in
at least the following additional Ford Library collections:
White House
Central Files ‑ Subject File: SP (Speeches)
This file
includes drafts and background material for many presidential speeches. It is particularly helpful for the period
before November 1975 and speeches President Ford gave during his trips abroad.
Domestic Council
Staff Files
Often major
presidential statements were drafted by Domestic Council staff persons with a
policy interest, and their files will reflect this activity.
Presidential
Speeches: Reading Copies
In addition to
the President's annotated reading copies of speeches this file occasionally
includes draft background material. For
example, drafts for the 1975 State of the Union Address are in this files.
Permanent
Operating Offices. Legislation Case
Files
These files
occasionally include drafts or statements made by the President when vetoing or
signing legislation.
Ron Nessen Files
The series of
draft press releases in this collection occasionally includes the original
annotated final draft of a speech as prepared by the speechwriting staff and
sent to the press office for release. In
at least one case, a speech given to the Washington Press Club on September 18,
1974, this is the only existing draft located to date.
David Gergen Files
Gergen participated in
drafting speeches for Ford, particularly during the 1976 campaign. Included in his files are drafts and
background material for Ford's speech to the Daughters of the American
Revolution on April 21, 1976, his address st the
American Jewish Committee Dinner on May 13, 1976, and campaign speeches for
trips to Alabama, Indiana, Michigan, Nebraska, and Texas.
Robert Hartmann
Files and Papers
These
collections include correspondence, background material, and drafts relating to
some of President Ford's major speeches, including those drafted for the
Bicentennial, acceptance of the 1976 Republican nomination for president and
the 1977 State of the Union Address.
George H.
Denison Papers
This collection
contains case files on speeches that Denison drafted.
Chase Haddix Research Interviews
This collection
contains interviews focussing on speechwriting with Robert
Hartmann and Warren Rustand.
Series Descriptions
1 Ford Vice Presidential
Speeches
This series has been transferred to the Ford
Vice Presidential Papers - see
2‑81 Presidential Speeches and Public
Statements, 1974-77. (31.6 linear feet)
Case files for speeches, statements,
proclamations, executive orders, veto messages, book prefaces and articles
which were drafted by the editorial staff for delivery or release by the
president. A representative speech file
consists of successive drafts and a press release copy of the speech as
delivered. Often included are writer's
assignment sheets, schedule proposals, correspondence, background material,
programs and other information used by the staff in preparing the speech or
statement. Completeness of the
individual files varies greatly and for many presidential speeches no file
exists in this series.
Arranged chronologically.
81‑83 Paul Theis
Chronological File, 1974-76. (1.0 linear
feet)
Memoranda between Paul Theis
and the White House staff concerning the operation of the Editorial Office;
correspondence with the public; drafts of presidential letters, statements and
other messages edited by Theis; and occasional
questions and answer briefing sheets prepared by the editorial staff. This file covers the period of Theis' tenure as executive editor, August 1974 to January
1976. Included is material related to
all units of the editorial office for which he was responsible ‑
speechwriting, presidential messages and research, and correspondence.
Arranged chronologically.
84 Robert Orben Chronological File, 1976-77. (0.2 linear feet)
Material similar to that in the Paul Theis Chronological File, but not including items related
to the correspondence and presidential messages units of the editorial
office. The file relates only to Orben's position as director of the speechwriting staff
from January 1976 until the end of the administration.
Arranged chronologically.
84‑92 Office Coordinator's Editorial
File, 1975. (3.2 linear feet)
Editorial case files of schedules, background
material, correspondence, writer assignment sheets and memoranda related to
speeches and statements produced by the editorial staff, January to September
1975. The file was compiled by Susan Gregory,
editorial office coordinator, to aid her in monitoring progress of and
providing background for writer assignments.
Copies of some, but by no means all, of this material appear in the
series Presidential Speeches and Public Statements.
Chronologically arranged case files.
93‑101 Editorial Office Administrative File,
1974-77. (4.0 linear feet)
Correspondence, memoranda, personnel files,
requests for articles, memoranda to and from the Staff Secretary, material
relating to publication of "Public Papers of Gerald R. Ford,"
background information concerning the Bicentennial and the federal budget,
letters and statements drafted by the National Security Council and other
government officials and sent to the editorial staff for editing, action memoranda
from the Domestic Council, and speeches and remarks prepared for other
government officials by the editorial staff.
Also included is a general office chronological file for 1975 compiled
by the editorial office coordinator, Susan Gregory. Eight of Mrs. Ford's speeches and remarks
prepared before she had her own speechwriter are also included. The largest portion of this series concerns
the operation of the editorial office during Theis'
tenure as executive editor.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.
102 Subject Index to Taped
Speeches, 1974-76. (0.4 linear feet)
Subject index to tapes of selected speeches and public statements by President Ford. This index is on permanent loan to the Ford Library audiovisual unit.
Container List
(Transferred to
Ford Vice Presidential Papers - see
8/9/74 ‑
Sworn in as 38th President of the United States
8/12/74 ‑
Joint Session of Congress (Empty)
8/13/74 ‑
Presidential Appointees
8/19/74 ‑
75th Convention of the Veterans of Foreign Wars
8/20/74 ‑
Bipartisan Leadership Meeting on Wage and Price Controls
8/20/74 ‑
Honor Mansfield Reception
8/20/74 ‑
Announcing Nelson Rockefeller as Vice President Designate
8/21/74 ‑
Signing Amendments to H.R. 69, Elementary and Secondary Education Act
8/21/74 ‑
President and Kissinger Remarks to the Family of Rodger Davies
8/22/74 ‑
Signing S. 3066, Housing and Community Development Act
8/22/74 ‑ Women's
Equality Day Proclamation
8/23/74 ‑
General Creighton Abrams Death
8/23/74 ‑
Signing S. 3919, Wage and Price Stability Act
8/24/74 ‑
Michigan Republican State Convention
8/24/74 ‑
Signing S. 3331, Small Business Amendments
8/26/74 ‑
Farewell Party for Herbert Stein
8/26/74 ‑
Death of Charles Lindbergh
8/27/74 ‑
Signing of H.R. 2, Pension Bill
8/30/74 ‑
Labor Day
9/74 ‑
Report of the National Heart and Lung Institute
9/74 ‑
Signing of S. 3270, Defense Production Amendments
9/3/74 ‑
Signing of S. 1871, Youth Conservation Corps Act
9/4/74 ‑
National Endowment for the Arts Tenth Anniversary Reception
9/4/74 ‑
Swearing‑in of Alan Greenspan
9/6/74 ‑
Signing H.R. 13871, Federal Employees Compensation Act Amendments
9/6/74 ‑
Reconvening of the First Continental Congress Dinner
9/8/74 ‑
Signing S. 821, Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act
9/9/74 ‑
Sports Award Program
9/9/74 ‑
Conference on Urban Transportation
9/11/74 ‑
Pope Air Force Base
9/11/74 ‑
Conference on Inflation
9/16/74 ‑
Press Conference Questions and Answers
9/16/74 ‑
Republican National Committee Luncheon
9/19/74 ‑
Report to Congress of United States' Work with the United Nations
9/19/74 ‑
Belle Haven Country Club
9/19/74 ‑
Congressional Action on Federal Pay
9/20/74 ‑
Congressional Message on the Budget
9/24/74 ‑
Reception for Congressional Staff Members
9/24/74 ‑
Unveiling Portrait of Congresswoman Leonor Sullivan
9/24/74 ‑
Visit of President Leone of Italy
9/25/74 ‑ Federal
Conservation of Energy
9/27/74 ‑
Country Music Month Proclamation
9/27/74 ‑
Wilderness Message and Letter of Transmittal
9/28/74 ‑
Conference on Inflation
9/29/74 ‑
Dedication of Churchill Porch of the National Cathedral
9/30/74 ‑
Meeting of the Board of Governors of the International Monetary Fund and World
Bank Group
9/30/74 ‑
GOP Ethnic Publication Message
9/30/74 ‑
Ocean Policy Committee
10/74 ‑
Veto of H.R. 15323, Amendments to the Atomic Energy Act
10/74 ‑
Veto of H.R. 4861, Piscataway Park Act
10/74 ‑
Veto of H.R. 15301, Railroad Retirement Bill
10/74 ‑
Veto of Vocational Rehabilitation Amendments
10/1/74 ‑
Michigan Women for Milliken Message
10/1/74 ‑
Veto of H.R. 12000, Egg Research and Consumer Information Act
10/2/74 ‑
National Flag Foundation Bicentennial Message
10/3/74 ‑
Congressional Retirees Dinner
10/4/74 ‑
United Nations Association
10/5/74 ‑
Child Health Day Proclamation
10/5/74 ‑
Diplomatic Corps Reception
10/7/74 ‑
Vermont
10/8/74 ‑ Signing
of H.R. 16243, Defense Appropriations Bill
10/9/74 ‑
Visit of Edward Gierek
10/9/74 ‑
Dinner Honoring Governor William Scranton
10/10/74 ‑
Michigan Republicans Salute the President
10/10/74 ‑
Convention of the American Lutheran Church
10/11/74 ‑
Signing H.R. 11510, Energy Reorganization Act
10/11/74 ‑
Drug Abuse Prevention Week Proclamation
10/11/74 ‑
National Legal Secretaries' Court Observance Week Proclamation
10/14/74 ‑
Governors and Mayors (telegram)
10/14/74 ‑
Continuing Resolution Veto (TV clip, Statements)
10/15/74 ‑
Signing Federal Election Campaign Act
10/16/74 ‑
Dinner for Indiana Republican Candidates
10/16/74 ‑
GOP Candidates' Breakfast
10/16/74 ‑
Lincoln Municipal Airport
10/17/74 ‑
Veto of H.R. 12471, Amendments to Administrative Procedures Act
10/17/74 ‑
Immunization Act Week Proclamation
10/17/74 ‑
Epilepsy Month 1974
10/17/74 ‑
Signing S. 3362, Columbia River Transmission Act
10/18/74 ‑
Dedication of Department of Labor Building
10/19/74 ‑
Greenville ‑ Spartanburg Jet Airport
10/19/74 ‑
Greenville Memorial Auditorium
10/19/74 ‑
Rock Hill Mall
10/19/74 ‑
High Point ‑ Winston‑Salem Regional Airport
10/19/74 ‑
GOP Fund‑Raising Dinner
10/19/74 ‑
Signing H.R. 11541, Transfer of Wildlife Refuge Rights‑of‑Way
10/21/74 ‑
Mexico Trip
10/22/74 ‑
Veto of H.R. 13113, Commodity Futures Trading Commission Act
10/22/74 ‑
GOP Fund‑Raising Dinner
10/23/74 ‑
Dinner Honoring General Al Haig
10/24/74 ‑
Parkinson Week Proclamation
10/24/74 ‑
Iowa State House
10/24/74 ‑
VIP Republican Reception
10/24/74 ‑
United Republican Fund Dinner
10/28/74 ‑
Veteran's Day
10/28/74 ‑
Signing S. 2840, Foreign Investment Study Act
10/28/74 ‑
American Education Week Proclamation
10/29/74 ‑
Energy Team Appointments
10/29/74 ‑
Calder Plaza
10/29/74 ‑
GOP Reception
10/29/74 ‑
Republican Rally
10/31/74 ‑
Sioux City Municipal Airport
10/31/74 ‑
California Republican Dinner
10/31/74 ‑
"Fun in Your Life" (film clip)
11/74 ‑
Death of Paul Hoffman
11/74 ‑
Mental Retardation
11/74 ‑
Propeller Club (film clip)
11/74 ‑
Army‑Navy Game (letter)
11/74 ‑
Standards of Conduct (memorandum)
11/74 ‑
Signing S. 3838, Regulation of Interest Rates Bill
11/74 ‑
National Council on Crime and Delinquency (film clip)
11/1/74 ‑
Auction of Oregon Museum of Science and Industry
11/1/74 ‑
Urban League Dance
11/1/74 ‑
Oregon GOP Reception
11/1/74 ‑
Fresno Air Terminal
11/1/74 ‑
White House Conference on Domestic and Economic Affairs
11/2/74 ‑
University of Utah Special Events Center
11/2/74 ‑
Rally for Senator Peter H. Dominick
11/4/74 ‑
Skylab Crystal Statement
11/4/74 ‑
Election Eve Statement
11/5/74 ‑
Election Day Statement
11/5/74 ‑
Executive Order on Export Control
11/5/74 ‑
Tribute to Representative Bob Sikes (Taped Message)
11/6/74 ‑
National Day of Prayer Proclamation
11/7/74 ‑
Hospitalized Veterans in VA Hospitals Taped Message
11/7/74 ‑
University of Alabama Participation in Bicentennial Program
11/7/74 ‑
National Alliance of Businessmen
11/11/74 ‑
Thanksgiving Day Proclamation
11/14/74 ‑
National Association of Realtors
11/14/74 ‑
Society of Professional Journalists
11/14/74 ‑
Luke Air Force Base
11/15/74 ‑
Fortieth Anniversary of the Federal Communications Commission
11/16/74 ‑
National Association of Educational Broadcasters Message
11/18/74 ‑
Sugar Statement
11/18/74 ‑
Congressional Message on Legislative Action
11/18/74 ‑
Letter to State and Local Government Officials on Economic Policy
11/26/74 ‑
Congressional Message on Economic Policy
11/26/74 ‑
Veto of H.R. 12628, Veteran's Education Bill
11/26/74 ‑
Reception for Congressman John Rooney
11/26/74 ‑
National Mass Transportation Assistance Act Signing Statement
11/28/74 ‑
30‑30 Club
11/29/74 ‑
Signing Executive Warrants for Clemency
11/30/74 ‑
President's Commission on Olympic Sports Executive Order
12/1/74 ‑
Reception for Lee Elder
12/2/74 ‑ Scouter of the Year Banquet
12/2/74 ‑
Appointment of William N. Walker
12/2/74 ‑
Death of Gould Lincoln
12/3/74 ‑
American Conference on Trade
12/4/74 ‑
Rockefeller Public Service Awards Luncheon
12/4/74 ‑ Visit
of Pierre Elliott Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada
12/5/74 ‑
Breakfast for Defeated Members of Congress
12/6/74 ‑
Harlem Globetrotters Visit
12/8‑11/74
‑ Conference of State Legislators Message
12/10/74 ‑
Unveiling of Portrait of Congressman George H. Mahon
12/10/74 ‑
Awards Dinner, National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame
12/11/74 ‑
Business Council
12/11/74 ‑
Michigan Farm Bureau Meeting Message
12/11/74 ‑
Inventor's Day Proclamation
12/12/74 ‑
Newsweek Statement on America's Major Problem
12/12/74 ‑
Canonization of Mother Seaton
12/12/74 ‑
Law Day Proclamation
12/14/74 ‑
Senate Approval of Foreign Trade Bill
12/14/74 ‑
Death of Walter Lippmann
12/14‑16/74
‑
12/17/74 ‑
Christmas Ball
12/18/74 ‑
Signing of S.4016, Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act
12/19/74 ‑
Senate Confirmation of Vice President Rockefeller
12/19/74 ‑
Medal Presentation to General Andrew Goodpaster
12/19/74 ‑
American Freedom Train Certification
12/19/74 ‑
Press Corps Christmas Party
12/20/74 ‑
Adjournment of the 93rd Congress
12/20/74 ‑
Birthday Party for Senator John J. Sparkman
12/27/74 ‑
Telegram on the Death of Jack Benny
12/27/74 ‑
Telegram on the Death of William Draper
12/30/74 ‑
March of Dimes Birth Defects Prevention Month Proclamation
12/30/74 ‑
Clemency
1/75 ‑
Parents Magazine Article
1/3/75 ‑
Signing Ceremony for Trade Act
1/7/75 ‑
National Collegiate Athletic Association Honors Luncheon
1/9/75 ‑
Coaches of the Year Ceremony
1/10/75 ‑
Vince Lombardi Outstanding College Lineman Award Dinner Videotaped Message
1/10/75 ‑
Article for U.S. Medicine Magazine
1/12/75 ‑
Agriculture Article
1/14/75 ‑
Anniversary of Martin Luther King's Birthday
1/15/75 ‑
Gift of Phone/Lamp
1/16/75 ‑
Governors, Mayors, and County Officials Meeting
1/17/75 ‑
Legislator of the Year Awards
1/18/75 ‑
New York Times Article on Economics
1/18/75 ‑
Robert A. Georgine Testimonial Dinner
1/19/75 ‑
Telegram ‑ John West, Man of the Year
1/21/75 ‑
Press Conference
1/22/75 ‑
Conference Board
1/22/75 ‑
National Jaycees Week Proclamation
1/22/75 ‑
Signing Instruments of Ratification of Geneva Protocol of 1925 and the
Biological Weapons Convention
1/23/75 ‑
Oil Import Tariffs
1/23/75 ‑
National Newspaper Publishers Association
1/24/75 ‑
Radio/Television News Directors Association
1/25/75 ‑
Alfalfa Club
1/26/75 ‑
National Press Club Swearing‑in Ceremony
1/26/75 ‑
Kennedy Center Preview of Capitol Hill Historical Society Film
1/28/75 ‑
National Religious Broadcasters
1/30/75 ‑ International
Clergy Week Proclamation
1/30/75 ‑
National Prayer Breakfast
2/75 ‑
National Salesman's Month
2/75 ‑
2/75 ‑
Letters to High School and College Graduates
2/1/75 ‑
Press Briefing on the Budget
2/3/75 ‑
Governors Meeting
2/3/75 ‑
Signing Budget Message to Congress
2/3/75 ‑
Signing Economic Report to Congress
2/4/75 ‑
Press Conference
2/4/75 ‑
Opportunities Industrialization Centers Convention
2/5/75 ‑
Editors, Publishers, and General Managers Breakfast
2/7/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Edward H. Levi, Attorney General
2/7/75 ‑
U.S. Senate Youth Program
2/10/75 ‑
Houston Chamber of Commerce Energy/Economic Conference
2/10/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of James T. Lynn, Director of the Office of Management and
Budget
2/10‑11/75
‑ Governors' Dinner and Press Breakfast
2/11/75 ‑
Press Conference in Topeka, KS
2/11/75 ‑
Governors Luncheon
2/11/75 ‑
Kansas State Capital
2/12/75 ‑
National Entertainment Conference
2/12/75 ‑
Wreath Laying Ceremony, Lincoln Memorial
2/13/75 ‑
New York Society of Security Analysts
2/14/75 ‑
Death of Representative Jerry Pettis
2/14/75 ‑
Testimonial for Congressman Sam Devine
2/15/75 ‑
Bicentennial Declaration
2/15/75 ‑
Introduction to the Book "Our Country's Presidents"
2/18/75 ‑
First National Banker Article by L. William Seidman
2/18/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Betty S. Murphy, Chairman of the National Labor Relations
Board
2/19/75 ‑
Senate Energy Vote
2/19/75 ‑
Death of Raymond Moley
2/19/75 ‑
White House Reception for 94th Congress Club
2/21/75 ‑
Reserve Officers Association
2/22/75 ‑
Reception of Iwo Jima
Marine Survivors
2/23/75 ‑
Women's Forum on National Security
2/25/75 ‑
White House Conference, Miami, FL
2/25/75 ‑
National Bicentennial Conference
2/25/75 ‑
Meeting with Southeastern Mayors and Governor Askew of Florida
2/26/75 ‑
Remarks of the President and Jackie Gleason
2/26/75 ‑
Scholarship Foundation, Hollywood, FL
2/26/75 ‑
Press Conference
2/27/75 ‑
Red Cross TV Commercial
2/27/75 ‑
Unveiling of Olin Teague Portrait
2/28/75 ‑
Young Republican Leadership Conference
3/1/75 ‑
Davis High School Newspaper Article
3/3/75 ‑
Forward to Book of Prayers by House Chaplain
3/4/75 ‑
Veto of H.R. 1767, Energy Bill and Proclamation on Petroleum
3/5/75 ‑
Henry Dormann Testimonial Dinner
3/5/75 ‑
University of Michigan Club Congressional Dinner
3/6/75 ‑
Press Conference
3/6/75 ‑
Doral Celebrity Dinner
3/7/75 ‑
William T. Coleman Swearing‑in Ceremony
3/7/75 ‑
Republican National Committee Leadership Conference Dinner
3/12/75 ‑ Voice
of Democracy Contest Winners
3/13/75 ‑
Issuance of Commemorative Stamp
3/13/75 ‑
Institute of Collective Bargaining Dinner
3/14/75 ‑
National Newspaper Association Government Affairs Conference
3/17/75 ‑
Notre Dame Academic Council
3/17/75 ‑
Press Conference
3/17/75 ‑
Indiana College and University Presidents
3/17/75 ‑
Governors' Reception and Dinner
3/17/75 ‑
Media Luncheon
3/17/75 ‑
Motorcade Trip in Downtown South Bend, IN
3/17/75 ‑
St. Patrick's Day Message
3/18/75 ‑
Teacher of the Year
3/19/75 ‑
Dinner for Labor Secretary John Dunlop
3/19/75 ‑
Boy of the Year
3/20/75 ‑
Foreign Diplomats Travel Program Luncheon
3/21/75 ‑
"Women's Wear Daily" Message
3/21/75 ‑
White House Conference on the Coal Industry
3/22/75 ‑
Anniversary of Patrick Henry's "Liberty or Death" Speech
3/22/75 ‑
Response to Congressman Pete McCloskey (Letter)
3/25/75 ‑
Sister Cities
3/26/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Frederick B. Dent, Special Representative for Trade
Negotiations
3/26/75 ‑ Cancer
Control Month Proclamation
3/26/75 ‑
White House Republican Reception
3/28/75 ‑
Baseball Pass Presentation
3/29/75 ‑
Address to the Nation on the Tax Bill
3/29/75 ‑
Elk Hills Visit
3/31/75 ‑
Meadows Field Airport
4/5/75 ‑
Death of Chiang Kai‑Shek, President of the
Republic of China
4/6/75 ‑
30th Anniversary of the Liberation of Buchenwald
4/7/75 ‑
National Association of Broadcasters
4/8/75 ‑
National Alliance of Businessmen
4/8/75 ‑
Close‑Up Program
4/9/75 ‑
National Explorer President's Congress
4/11/75 ‑
Death of Mrs. H.S. Jones, DAR President
4/14/75 ‑
National Commission on the Observance of International Women's Year
4/14/75 ‑
Swearing in of Federal Election Commission
4/15/75 ‑
Daughters of the American Revolution Convention
4/15/75 ‑
Republican Senate‑House Dinner
4/16/75 ‑
American Society of Newspaper Editors
4/16/75 ‑ White
House News Photographers Dinner
4/18/75 ‑
Hampshire Plaza, Manchester, NH
4/18/75 ‑
White House Conference on Domestic and Economic Affairs
4/18/75 ‑
State Capitol, Concord, NH
4/18/75 ‑
New Hampshire State Legislature
4/18/75 ‑
Old North Church, Boston, MA
4/19/75 ‑
Old North Bridge, Concord, MA
4/19/75 ‑
Lexington Green, Lexington, MA
4/19/75 ‑
Visit of Kenneth Kaunda, President of Zambia
4/21/75 ‑
Death of Franklin Rockefeller Little
4/21/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of John E. Robson, Chairman, Civil Aeronautics Board
4/21/75 ‑
Interview by Walter Cronkite, Eric Sevareid, and Bob Schieffer
4/24/75 ‑
Advertising Council
4/24/75 ‑
Presidential Portrait Unveiling at Capitol Hill Club
4/25/75 ‑
State Legislative Leaders
4/25/75 ‑
Yale Law School
4/25/75 ‑
General Revenue Sharing Amendments
4/25/75 ‑
United Negro College Fund
4/25/75 ‑
Iowa Republican Town Meeting
4/26/75 ‑
Virginia GOP Reception
4/26/75 ‑
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority
4/28/75 ‑ U.S.
Chamber of Commerce
4/29/75 ‑
Civic Organizations, White House Meeting
5/1/75 ‑
Veto of H.R. 4296, Emergency Agricultural Act
5/1/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Rogers C.B. Morton, Secretary of Commerce
5/1/75 ‑
Trophy Presentation to Handicapped American of the Year
5/1/75 ‑
Purchase of First Bicentennial Series E Bond
5/2/75 ‑
National Education Association Board Briefing
5/2/75 ‑
Harmon Trophy Presentation
5/2/75 ‑
Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival
5/3/75 ‑
White House Correspondents Association
5/3/75 ‑
Commissioning of the USS Nimitz
5/5/75 ‑
Death of Ken Keating
5/5/75 ‑
Unveiling of Portrait of George P. Shultz
5/6/75 ‑
Death of Jozsef Cardinal Mindszenty
5/6/75 ‑
Press Conference
5/7/75 ‑
American Enterprise Institute Board of Trustees
5/9/75 ‑
Executive Order on Advisory Committee on Refugees
5/9/75 ‑
National Association of Foreign Students
5/10/75 ‑
Organization of American States
5/12/75 ‑
National Day of Prayer Proclamation
5/12/75 ‑
Introduction to Senate Prayer Book
5/12/75 ‑
International Women of the Year (Background Only ‑ No Speech)
5/13/75 ‑
Sustaining of Veto of H.R. 4296
5/14/75 ‑
Visit of Johannes Den Uyl, Prime Minister of the
Netherlands
5/15‑16/75
‑ Visit of Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, Shahanshah of Iran
5/16/75 ‑
World Trade Week
5/16/75 ‑
National Republican Heritage Groups Council
5/16/75 ‑
Council on Aging
5/18/75 ‑
Reception for Hugh Scott, Pennsylvania Senator
5/18/75 ‑
University of Pennsylvania Commencement Address
5/19/75 ‑
Advisory Committee on Refugees
5/19/75 ‑
White House Fellows
5/20/75 ‑
North Carolina Bicentennial Committee Picnic Luncheon
5/21/75 ‑
Death of Clarence Evans Kilburn
5/21/75 ‑
Small Business Award Winners
5/21/75 ‑
Republican National Committee Major City Conference
5/22/75 ‑
Toast for President Senghor of Senegal
5/22/75 ‑
Former Members of Congress
5/24/75 ‑
Reunion of the Crew of the USS Monterey
5/26/75 ‑
Memorial Day Ceremony at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier
5/27/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Lowell Perry, Chairman of the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission
5/27/75 ‑
Energy Address on Radio and Television
6/75 ‑
Preface to Republican National Committee Humor Book
6/75 ‑
"TV Guide" Article
6/75 ‑ Statement
for the Pittsburgh Press
6/75 ‑
"Bicentennial Times" Letter
6/4/75 ‑
West Point Military Academy Commencement
6/5/75 ‑
Holton Arms School Commencement
6/9/75 ‑
Gospel Films Plaque Presentation
6/9/75 ‑
Message for Judy Eisenhower
6/9/75 ‑
Graduates of the Capitol Page School
6/9/75 ‑
Press Conference
6/10/75 ‑
Members, National Industrial Council
6/11/75 ‑
American Newspaper Publishers of America (No speech; just background)
6/11/75 ‑
National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Youth Group
6/13/75 ‑
Bicentennial Message for KYNT ‑ South Dakota
6/13/75 ‑
Tri‑State Fundraiser
6/13/75 ‑
College Republican Convention
6/13/75 ‑
Labor‑Management Committee Recommendations on Electric Utilities
6/13/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Stanley Hathaway, Secretary of the Interior
6/13/75 ‑
National Association of Student Councils and Advisors
6/14/75 ‑
Flag Day Army Bicentennial Celebration
6/16/75 ‑
Vince Lombardi Cancer Fund Film
6/16/75 ‑
Visit of Walter Scheel, President of West Germany
6/16/75 ‑
Signing of H.J. Res. 492, Supplements for Summer Youth Employment
6/16/75 ‑
Signing of S. 1296, Emergency Livestock Credit Act Amendments
6/17/75 ‑
National Federation of Independent Business Conference
6/18/75 ‑
Loy Norrix High School Choir
6/19/75 ‑ Crime
Message to Congress
6/19/75 ‑
Teen‑Age Republicans
6/20/75 ‑
John Anderson Fundraising Event
6/23/75 ‑
USSR Trans‑Polar Aviators
6/24/75 ‑
Death of Eugene Pulliam
6/24/75 ‑
Death of Ivy Baker Priest
6/24/75 ‑
Veto of H.R. 4485, Emergency Housing Act
6/24/75 ‑
Republican National Associates
6/25/75 ‑
House Action Sustaining Veto of Housing Legislation
6/26/75 ‑
National Youth Governors of the YMCA Program
6/27/75 ‑
Uranium Enrichment Message
6/30/75 ‑
Signing of H.R. 6900, Emergency Compensation and Special Unemployment
Assistance Extension Act
7/75 ‑
Statement for Newhouse Newspapers
7/75 ‑
Statement on "Foreign Affairs" Magazine
7/75 ‑
Letter to Traverse City "Record‑Eagle"
7/75 ‑
Statement for Pensacola "News‑Journal"
7/75 ‑
Statement for Drug Enforcement Magazine
7/75 ‑
Introduction to NASA Booklet "New Horizons"
7/1/75 ‑
Presidential Scholars
7/1/75 ‑
NAACP Convention
7/1/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Theodore Cooper, Assistant Secretary of HEW
7/2/75 ‑ Signing
of H.R. 5398, Emergency Housing Act
7/2/75 ‑
40th Anniversary of the National Labor Relations Board
7/3/75 ‑
Bicentennial Message
7/3/75 ‑
National Environment Research Center
7/3/75 ‑
Cuyahoga GOP Dinner
7/3/75 ‑
Ohio River Valley White House Conference
7/4/75 ‑
Independence Day Message
7/4/75 ‑
Our Country Celebration
7/5/75 ‑
Visit of General Suharto, President of Indonesia
7/7/75 ‑
Highway Program Message to Congress
7/8/75 ‑
American Bicentennial Theatre
7/8/75 ‑
Announcing Presidential Candidacy
7/9/75 ‑
Sixty Second Bicentennial Message
7/9/75 ‑
Thirty Second Bicentennial Message
7/9/75 ‑
Signing of S. 2003, International Travel Act Amendments
7/9/75 ‑
WGPR TV Station Message
7/10/75 ‑
Award Presentation to Outstanding Disabled Veteran of the Year
7/10/75 ‑
Groundbreaking Ceremony for the Uniformed Services University of the Health
Sciences
7/10/75 ‑
Briefing on General Revenue Sharing
7/10/75 ‑ Meeting
of Chairmen and Commissioners of Independent Regulatory Agencies
7/11/75 ‑
Mid‑America Committee for International Business and Government
Cooperation
7/12/75 ‑
Michigan Visit
7/13/75 ‑
Sixth Circuit Judicial Conference
7/14/75 ‑
Death of Congressman Lawrence Williams of Pennsylvania
7/14/75 ‑
International Women's Year Meeting
7/14/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Philip C. Jackson as a Member of the Federal Reserve Board
7/14/75 ‑
Compromise on Oil Decontrol
7/15/75 ‑
Death of May Craig
7/15/75 ‑
Defense Department Management Conference
7/15‑17/75
‑ Apollo‑Soyuz Space Mission
7/17/75 ‑
Meeting with Distinguished Scientific Leaders (Text of Remarks Not Included)
7/17/75 ‑
University of Michigan's Washington Intern Program
7/17/75 ‑
National League of Families
7/17/75 ‑
Service Employment Redevelopment National Board of Directors
7/18/75 ‑
Longshoreman's Convention
7/18/75 ‑
Girl's Nation
7/21/75 ‑
Presentation of Prayer Proclamations by Religious Leaders
7/22/75 ‑
Future Farmers of America
7/23/75 ‑
Congressional Summer Interns
7/23/75 ‑
Boy's Nation
7/24/75 ‑
United Way Campaign
7/24/75 ‑
All‑American Collegiate Golf Dinner
7/24/75 ‑
Apollo Splashdown
7/25/75 ‑
Oil Decontrol Plan
7/25/75 ‑
Veto of H.R. 5901, Education Appropriation Act
8/75 ‑
College Republican Recruitment Brochure
8/75 ‑
National Saint Elizabeth Seton Day Proclamation
8/75 ‑
Norwegian‑American Day Proclamation
8/75 ‑
"Documents of Freedom" Statement
8/75 ‑
USIA Magazine "Horizons" Article
8/5/75 ‑
Signing of S.J. Res. 23, Restoration of Citizenship to R.E. Lee
8/5/75 ‑
Visit of Takeo Miki, Prime Minister of Japan
8/6/75 ‑
Signing of H.R. 6219, Voting Rights Act
8/8/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of David Mathews as Secretary of HEW
8/8/75 ‑
White House Interns
8/9/75 ‑
Awards Ceremony for Apollo‑Soyuz Astronauts
8/10/75 ‑
Visit to Arkansas
8/15/75 ‑
Vail Symposium
8/18/75 ‑
Iowa State Fair
8/18/75 ‑
Iowa GOP Reception
8/19/75 ‑
Minnesota GOP Rally
8/19/75 ‑ Minnesota
GOP Luncheon
8/19/75 ‑
American Legion Convention
8/19/75 ‑
Dedication of the Dirksen Wing of the Illinois Public
Library
8/19/75 ‑
Death of Miss Ima Hogg
8/19/75 ‑
White House Field Conference, Peoria, IL
8/24/75 ‑
Chicago Yacht Club
8/24/75 ‑
Dedication of Libby Dam
8/25/75 ‑
White House Conference on Domestic Affairs and the Economy, Milwaukee, WI
8/25/75 ‑
Hardware Industry Conference
8/27/75 ‑
Tribute to Woody Hayes
8/30/75 ‑
GOP Fundraising Luncheon, Portland, ME
8/30/75 ‑
Newport Gala Dinner Reception, Rhode Island
8/31/75 ‑
Labor Day Message
9/75 ‑
9/2/75 ‑
IMF Annual Meeting of the Board of Governors
9/4/75 ‑
Arrival at Boeing Field, Seattle, WA
9/5/75 ‑
GOP Fundraising Luncheon, Seattle, WA
9/4/75 ‑
Washington GOP Luncheon ($500 a plate)
9/4/75 ‑
White House Conference on Domestic and Economic Affairs, Seattle, WA
9/4/75 ‑
GOP Fundraising Dinner, Portland, OR
9/4/75 ‑ Portland,
Oregon, Youth Bicentennial Rally
9/5/75 ‑
Sacramento Host Breakfast
9/8/75 ‑
Republican National Committee Reception
9/9/75 ‑ Veto
of S. 1849, Price Controls Extension for Domestic Oil
9/9/75 ‑
Commission on Olympic Sports
9/10/75 ‑
Congressional Override of Education Act Veto (Not Used)
9/10/75 ‑
U.S. Jaycees
9/10/75 ‑
Fundraising Reception for National Republican Club of Capitol Hill
9/12/75 ‑
Foster Grandparents Ceremony
9/12/75 ‑
National Baptist Convention
9/12/75 ‑
St. Louis GOP Reception
9/12/75 ‑
White House Conference on Domestic Affairs and the Economy, St. Louis
9/12/75 ‑
Kansas GOP Capitol Club
9/12/75 ‑
Missouri GOP Dinner
9/13/75 ‑
National Federation of Republican Women
9/13/75 ‑
GOP Fundraiser at the Trammell Crow Residence
9/13/75 ‑
Dedication of the Permian Basin Petroleum Museum
9/15/75 ‑
National Endowment for the Arts
9/15/75 ‑
Federal Bar Association Law Day
9/15/75 ‑
Dedication of the "Dial a President" Exhibit, Center of Science and
Industry, Columbus, OH
9/15/75 ‑
Tribute to I.W. Abel
9/16/75 ‑
National Polish Alliance
9/16/75 ‑
Air Force Association Salute to Congress
9/16/75 ‑
Termination of the Clemency Board
9/17/75 ‑
Presidential Interchange Executives
9/18/75 ‑
National Medal of Science Awards Ceremony
9/19/75 ‑
Oklahoma State GOP Reception
9/20/75 ‑
Firestone Fieldhouse Dedication, Pepperdine
University
9/20/75 ‑
Brock House Dedication, Pepperdine University
9/21/75 ‑
National Association of Life Underwriters Annual Convention
9/22/75 ‑
World Affairs Council Luncheon
9/23/75 ‑
Disabled American Veterans Meeting
9/24/75 ‑
American Chamber of Commerce Executives
9/26/75 ‑
National Association of Elementary School Principals
9/26/75 ‑
LEAA Career Criminal Conference
9/29/75 ‑
Contribution to the Combined Federal Campaign
9/29/75 ‑
Signing of H.R. 9524, Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act
9/30/75 ‑
Illinois GOP Fundraising Dinner
10/1/75 ‑
Conference on Domestic Affairs and the Economy
10/4/75 ‑
Mountain State Forest Festival, Elkins, WV
10/4/75 ‑
New Jersey GOP Fundraising Dinner
10/4‑11/75
‑ National Newspaper Week
10/6/75 ‑
Recommendations for Reductions in Taxes and Spending
10/7/75 ‑
Mid‑Appalachia White House Conference on Domestic and Economic Affairs
10/7/75 ‑
Appalachian Regional Commission Meeting
10/7/75 ‑
American Society of Oral Surgeons
10/7/75 ‑
U.S.‑U.S.S.R. Trade and Economic Council
10/8/75 ‑
Christmas Message for Hospitalized Veterans
10/10/75 ‑
Energy Independence Authority
10/10/75 ‑
Michigan GOP Fundraising Dinner
10/10/75 ‑
Press Conference, Detroit, MI
10/11/75 ‑
Columbus Day Dinner
10/13/75 ‑
Visit of Soviet Cosmonauts and United States Astronauts
10/13/75 ‑
Sinai Technician Bill Signing
10/14/75 ‑
Connecticut Association of Realtors
10/14/75 ‑
Connecticut GOP Fundraising Dinner
10/15/75 ‑
National Association of Food Chains Executives Annual Meeting
10/16/75 ‑
Kentucky GOP Fundraiser (Cancelled)
10/16/75 ‑
Seventh World Conference on Law
10/17/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Thomas S. Kleppe, Secretary of
the Interior
10/23/75 ‑
Japanese Governors Meeting (No speech included)
10/24/75 ‑
Gator Bowl, University of Florida
10/24/75 ‑
Blue Key Honor Society Banquet, University of Florida (Cancelled – No Speech
Draft)
10/24/75 ‑
Veteran's Day Message
10/28/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Rod Hills, Chairman of the SEC
10/30/75 ‑
San Francisco GOP Fundraising Luncheon
10/30/75 ‑
Milwaukee, Wisconsin GOP Fundraising Dinner
11/75 ‑ Pepperdine University Questions and Answers for School
Paper
11/2/75 ‑
Jacksonville Naval Air Station Stopover
11/3/75 ‑
Audio History of Alf Landon
11/3/75 ‑
American Indian Center Dinner
11/3/75 ‑
Presidential Greeting, Presidential Classroom for Young Americans
11/3/75 ‑
Federal Mediation Meeting
11/3/75 ‑
Dedication of the Houston Sports Arena
11/4/75 ‑
Newsletter Article on Selected Mandatory Minimum Sentences
11/5/75 ‑
American Business Press Reception (Not Used)
11/7/75 ‑
New England Council Conference
11/10/75 ‑
National Association of Home Builders Meeting (Not Used)
11/11/75 ‑
Induction Ceremonies for West Virginia Cub Scouts
11/12/75 ‑
Magazine Publishers Association Meeting
11/12/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Daniel Boorstin as Librarian of
Congress
11/12/75 ‑
Meeting with Veterans/Military Organizations
11/12/75 ‑
Visit of Gaston Thorn, Prime Minister of Luxembourg
11/13/75 ‑
Salute to Frank Capra
11/13/75 ‑
Dedication of St. Jude Hospital Addition
11/13/75 ‑
Republican Contributors and Fundraisers Reception
11/14/75 ‑
North Carolina GOP Fundraising Reception (5)
11/15‑17/75
‑ Trip to
11/19/75 ‑
Ten Outstanding Young Women of America
11/19/75 ‑
National Center on Productivity and Work Quality (Not Used)
11/20/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Donald Rumsfeld as Secretary of
Defense
11/21/75 ‑
30‑30 Club
11/21/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Jack Eckerd as Administrator of GSA
11/24/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of John McLucas as FAA Administrator
11/24/75 ‑
President Ford Finance Committee Reception
11/24/75 ‑
Federal Judiciary Dinner
11/24/75 ‑
Statement for DEA Publication "Drugs of Abuse"
11/25/75 ‑
Thanksgiving Statement
11/26/75 ‑
Press Conference and Statement on New York City
11/28/75 ‑
Signing of H.R. 3922, Older Americans Amendments
11/29/75 ‑
Senator Ted Stevens Birthday Party, Anchorage, Alaska
12/75 ‑
Statement on Refugees for Howard University Publications
12/7/75 ‑
USS Arizona Memorial
12/11/75 ‑
Republican National Hispanic Assembly
12/11/75 ‑
Board of Overseers, Hoover Institution
12/12/75 ‑
Signing of H.R. 6971, Repeal of Fair Trade Laws
12/15/75 ‑
National Minority Purchasing Council
12/15/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of T. Vincent Learson as
Representative at the Law of the Seas Conference (Not Used)
12/15/75 ‑
Christmas Party for the White House Staff
12/15/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Karl Bakke as Chairman of the
Federal Maritime Commission (Cancelled)
12/17/75 ‑
Advisory Committee on Refugees
12/18/75 ‑
Veto of H.R. 5559, Tax Cut Bill
12/19/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of John Paul Stevens as Associate Justice of the Supreme
Court
12/19/75 ‑
Statement on Angola
12/19/75 ‑
Christmas Party for the Press Corps
12/22/75 ‑
Tournament of Roses Parade
12/22/75 ‑
New Year's Message
12/22/75 ‑
Signing of S. 622, Energy Bill
12/22/75 ‑
Christmas Messages
12/22/75 ‑
Acceptance of First National Bicentennial Medal
12/31/75 ‑
Bicentennial Message
1/6/76 ‑
"Tuesday at the White House" Meeting on Emergency Medical Services
1/8/76 ‑ U.S.
Savings Bond Campaign
1/8/76 ‑
National Alliance of Businessmen's Youth Motivation Task Force
1/8/76 ‑
Symposium on the American Presidency
1/8/76 ‑
President's Advisory Committee on Trade Negotiations
1/9/76 ‑
Meeting with American Legion Leadership
1/9/76 ‑
State Chairmen and Advisory Committee of the PFC
1/9/76 ‑
Presentation of the Bicentennial Commemorative Plaque by the National Education
Association
1/14/76 ‑
Western States Republican Chairmen's Meeting
1/14/76 ‑
Vince Lombardi Outstanding College Lineman Award Dinner
1/14/76 ‑
National Prayer Breakfast Message to Military
1/14/76 ‑
Acceptance of the Ukrainian "Man of the Year" Award
1/16/76 ‑
National Association of Home Builders
1/20/76 ‑
OMB Press Briefing on Fiscal Year 1977 Budget
1/21/76 ‑
Legislative Council of the National Retired Teachers Association and the
American Association of Retired Persons
1/21/76 ‑
Questions from the Boston Herald American
1/21/76 ‑
Signing of the Fiscal Year 1977 Budget
1/21/76 ‑
Sub‑Cabinet Budget Briefing
1/22/76 ‑
Budget Briefing for Business Leaders
1/23/76 ‑
Social Service Groups Budget Presentation
1/23/76 ‑
Budget Briefing for Spouses
1/23/76 ‑
U.S. Industrial Payroll Savings Committee
1/25/76 ‑
National Day of Prayer for American Prisoners and Missing in Southeast Asia
Proclamation
1/26/76 ‑
Signing of the Economic Report
1/29/76 ‑
Seattle Variety Club Telethon
1/29/76 ‑
Chicago Boys Club's "Chicagoan of the Year" Award
1/29/76 ‑
Introduction to Washington State Precinct Training Workshops
1/29/76 ‑ Chamber
of Commerce
1/29/76 ‑
U.S. Mayor's Delegation
1/29/76 ‑
Young Republican Leadership Conference
1/29/76 ‑
National Prayer Breakfast
1/30/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of George Bush as Director of the Central Intelligence Agency
1/31/76 ‑
Virginia General Assembly
2/2/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of Elliot Richardson as Secretary of ommerce
2/5/76 ‑
Signing of S. 2718, Railroad Bill
2/7‑8/76 ‑
2/7/76 ‑
Budget Briefing for New Hampshire State Elected Officials
2/8/76 ‑
President Ford Committee Volunteer Reception, Concord, NH
2/9/76 ‑
Science and Technology Bicentennial Exhibition, Cape Canaveral
2/9/76 ‑ Signing
of Older Americans Message
2/10/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of W.J. Usery, Jr., as Secretary of
the Department of Labor
2/12/76 ‑
Lincoln's Birthday Address, Lincoln Memorial
2/12/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of Mitchell Kobelinski as
Administrator of the Small Business Administration
2/13‑14/76
‑ Florida Trip Background Information
2/13/76 ‑
Orlando Press Conference
2/13‑14/76
‑ Presidential Ford Committee Volunteers' Reception (4 stops)
2/14/76 ‑
South Florida Federal Bar Association
2/14/76 ‑
Address to Public Gathering of Senior Citizens at Williams Park, St.
Petersburg, FL (1)‑(3)
2/15/76 ‑
Prayer Breakfast for Athletes
2/18/76 ‑
Executive Order, U.S. Foreign Intelligence Activities
2/19/76 ‑
Signing a Proclamation Terminating Executive Order 9066
2/19/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of Anne Armstrong as Ambassador to Great Britain
2/19‑20/76
‑ New Hampshire Trip Background Information
2/19‑20/76
‑ New Hampshire Speeches
2/21/76 ‑
Reserve Officers Association of the United States
2/25/76 ‑
Television Message on Health Block Grants
2/25/76 ‑
Inland Daily Press Association
2/26/76 ‑
Republican National Committee Reception
2/26/76 ‑
Signing of Energy Message
2/28‑29/76
‑ Florida Speeches
2/29/76 ‑
Tampa, Florida, Rally
2/29/76 ‑
Sarasota, Florida, Barbecue
3/1/76 ‑
Signing of Education Message
3/2/76 ‑
Boy Scout Eagle Recognition Banquet, Grand Rapids, MI
3/3/76 ‑
Birthday Reception for Senator John L. McClellan
3/4/76 ‑ Broward
County, Florida, Minutemen and Wives
3/4/76 ‑
Medal of Honor Ceremony
3/4/76 ‑
Birthday Reception for Representative Al Cederberg of
Michigan
3/4/76 ‑
National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs
3/5‑6/76 ‑
3/5/76 ‑
Farm Leadership Luncheon, Springfield, IL
3/5/76 ‑
Dedication of Visitors' Center at Lincoln Home, Springfield, IL
3/5‑6/76 ‑
Illinois Speeches
3/11‑13/76
‑ Illinois Trip Background (Second Trip)
3/11‑13/76
‑ Illinois Speeches
3/11/76 ‑
Cherryvale Mall, Rockford, IL
3/13/76 ‑
Guilford Courthouse National Military Park, North Carolina
3/13/76 ‑
Press Conference, Greensboro, NC
3/14/76 ‑
Radio Spots Encouraging Voting
3/16/76 ‑
Lincoln Day Dinner, Grand Rapids, MI
3/20/76 ‑
Airport Rally, Avery County, NC
3/20/76 ‑
Breakfast Honoring Representative James Martin
3/20/76 ‑
North Carolina Speeches
3/20/76 ‑
Asheville, NC
3/20/76 ‑
Hickory, NC
3/22/76 ‑
Signing Transmittal of the Science and Technology Message
3/23/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 8835, Truth in Leasing Bill, and H.R. 6516, Equal Credit
Opportunity Bill
3/24/76 ‑
Swine Flu Statement
3/25/76 ‑
Radio/Television Correspondents Dinner
3/25/76 ‑
Young Presidents Organization
3/26‑27/76
‑ California Trip Background
3/26‑27/76
‑ California Speeches
3/26/76 ‑
American Textile Manufacturers Institute
3/29/76 ‑
Presentation of National Defense Medal
3/30/76 ‑
Visit of King Hussein of Jordan
4/1/76 ‑ Advertising
Council
4/1/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board
4/1/76 ‑
Presentation of the Medal of Freedom to Artur
Rubinstein
4/2‑3/76 ‑
Wisconsin Trip Background
4/2‑3/76 ‑
Wisconsin Speeches
4/2/76 ‑
Greater Milwaukee Ethnic Organizations
4/3/76 ‑
Green Bay, WI
4/3/76 ‑
Gridiron Dinner
4/5/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of Robert Strausz‑Hupe as
Permanent Ambassador to NATO
4/5/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 49, Naval Petroleum Reserves Production Act
4/5/76 ‑
Older Americans Month Proclamation
4/5/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 6346 with Leadership of the Kansas Farm Bureau
4/6/76 ‑
Dedication of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Memorial Grove
4/8/76 ‑ National
Alliance of Businessmen
4/8/76 ‑
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission Seminars
4/8/76 ‑
Radio Messages for Nebraska and South Dakota Primaries
4/8/76 ‑
Christian Bicentennial Celebration, Detroit, MI
4/8/76 ‑
Signing of Summer Youth Employment Program Supplemental Message
4/9‑10/76 ‑
4/9‑10/76 ‑
Texas Speeches
4/9/76 ‑
Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, TX
4/10/76 ‑
War Memorial Plaza, El Paso, TX
4/10/76 ‑
Amarillo, TX
4/12/76 ‑
Veto of Hatch Act Amendments
4/13/76 ‑
American Society of Newspaper Editors (Not Used)
4/14/76 ‑
30‑Second TV Spot for Congressman Albert W. Johnson
4/14/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of Thomas Gates as Ambassador to China
4/15/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of Samuel Martinez as Director of the Community Services
Administration
4/15/76 ‑
Signing of H.J. Res. 890, Emergency Supplemental Appropriations
4/20/76 ‑
Dedication of the Marshall Corridor of the Pentagon
4/21/76 ‑
Bill Usery Day Telephone Call
4/22‑23/76
‑ Indiana Trip Background Information
4/22‑23/76
‑ Indiana Speeches
4/22/76 ‑
Interview, WRTV‑TV, Indianapolis, IN
4/23/76 ‑
Evansville, IN
4/23/76 ‑
Indiana Broadcasters Association
4/23/76 ‑
Georgia Trip Background
4/23/76 ‑
Georgia Speeches
4/23/76 ‑
Peachtree Street Presbyterian Church (Gold Star Mothers)
4/23/76 ‑
Freedom Foundation Dinner
4/24/76 ‑ Citizens'
Advisory Council on the Status of Women
4/26/76 ‑
Women in Government
4/27/76 ‑
Presentation of the President's Trophy to the Handicapped American of the Year
4/27/76 ‑
Signing the Drug Message
4/27‑30/76
‑ President's Briefing Book:
4/27/76 ‑
Louisiana Trip Background Information
4/27/76 ‑
Louisiana Speeches
4/27/76 ‑
State and Local Government Officials, Bossier City, LA
4/27/76 ‑
Barksdale Air Force Base Question and Answer Session
4/28‑30/76
‑ Texas Trip Background Information
4/28‑30/76
‑ Texas Speeches
4/29/76 ‑
Opening Statement for Houston Press Conference (Not Used)
4/30/76 ‑
Chamber of Commerce Open Forum, Dallas, TX (1)
4/30/76 ‑
Chamber of Commerce Open Forum, Dallas, TX (2)
5/1/76 ‑
White House Correspondents Association Dinner
5/2‑3/76 ‑
Indiana/Alabama Trip Background Information
5/2/76 ‑
Indiana Speeches and Interviews
5/2/76 ‑
Fort Wayne, IN
5/3/76 ‑
Alabama Speeches
5/3/76 ‑
Chamber of Commerce Open Forum, Birmingham, AL
5/5/76 ‑
Ethnicity and Neighborhood Revitalization Conference
5/5/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 8235, Federal Highway Act
5/5/76 ‑
American Mothers' Committee Awards Dinner
5/6/76 ‑
Association of American Editorial Cartoonists
5/6/76 ‑
Michigan Broadcasters Association
5/7/76 ‑
Veto of S.2662, Foreign Aid
5/7/76 ‑
Signing of 1980 Olympic Funding Requests
5/7‑8/76 ‑
Nebraska Trip Background
5/7‑8/76 ‑
Nebraska Speeches
5/7/76 ‑
Groundbreaking Ceremony, Archbishop Bergan Mercy
Hospital, Omaha, NE
5/8/76 ‑
Dedication Ceremonies of the Harry S. Truman Statue, Independence, MO
5/10/76 ‑
Armed Forces Week Exhibit
5/11/76 ‑
Statement after Meeting with the Administrator of Veterans Affairs (Not Used)
5/11/76 ‑
Visit of Margrethe II, Queen of Denmark
5/11/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 10230, National Science and Technology Policy Organization and
Priorities Act
5/11/76 ‑
Republican Heritage Group Leaders
5/12/76 ‑
Michigan Trip Background Information
5/12/76 ‑ Shain Park, Birmingham, MI
5/13/76 ‑
White House Fellows Reception
5/14/76 ‑
Tennessee and Kentucky Speeches
5/14/76 ‑ Mid
America Mall, Memphis, TN
5/14/76 ‑
Freedom Hall, Johnson City, TN
5/14/76 ‑
Armed Forces Committee, Louisville, KY
5/15‑16/76
‑ Michigan Speeches
5/16/76 ‑
Saginaw, MI
5/17‑19/76
‑ Visit of Valery Giscard
d'Estaing, President of France (1)‑(2)
5/20/76 ‑
Republican Heritage Groups Council
5/21/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of Federal Election Commission
5/22/76 ‑
Library Park, Medford, OR
5/22/76 ‑
World Affairs Council, Portland, OR
5/23/76 ‑
Oregon Speeches
5/23/76 ‑
Commencement Exercises of Warner Pacific College
5/23/76 ‑
Pendleton, OR
5/23/76 ‑
Mission Viejo, CA
5/24‑26/76
‑ California Speeches
5/24/76 ‑
Nevada Speeches
5/24/76 ‑
San Fernando Valley, CA
5/25/76 ‑
San Jose, CA
5/25/76 ‑
Los Angeles Press Club Breakfast
5/25/76 ‑
Walnut Creek, CA
5/26/76 ‑
Ohio Governor's Conference on Aging
5/26/76 ‑
Capitol Building, Columbus, OH
5/27/76 ‑
General Aviation Manufacturing Association
5/28/76 ‑
Signing of the Treaty on Underground Nuclear Explosions for Peaceful Purposes
5/29/76 ‑
Los Angeles Bicentennial Youth Rally
5/31/76 ‑
Memorial Day Services
6/1/76 ‑
Signing of Second Supplemental Appropriations Bill ‑ Italian Disaster Aid
6/2‑3/76 ‑
Visit of King Juan Carlos of
6/3/76 ‑
Summit Conference Statement
6/3/76 ‑
General Revenue Sharing Meeting
6/5/76 ‑
Dinner Honoring Catherine Filene Shouse,
Wolf Trap Farm Park, VA
6/6‑7/76 ‑
Ohio and New Jersey Trip Background Information
6/6‑7/76 ‑
Ohio and New Jersey Speeches
6/6/76 ‑
Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ
6/6/76 ‑
Great Falls Designation as a National Historic Landmark, Patterson, NJ
6/6/76 ‑
Golden Agers Banquet, Cleveland, OH
6/6/76 ‑
National Conference of Christians and Jews, Cleveland, OH
6/7/76 ‑
Ohio Stump Speech
6/7/76 ‑
Bowling Green State University
6/8/76 ‑
National Spelling Bee Finalists
6/9/76 ‑
National Broadcast Editorial Association
6/11/76 ‑
Teton Dam Disaster Fund Appropriation Statement
6/11/76 ‑
Vocational Industrial Clubs of America National Leadership Conference and U.S.
Skill Olympics
6/11/76 ‑
Japanese Americans Citizens League Convention
6/11/76 ‑
National Association of Student Councils and Student Activities Advisors
6/11/76 ‑
Slovak Bicentennial
6/11/76 ‑
International Bicentennial Message for the United States Information Agency
6/11/76 ‑
Dance Honoring Presidential Appointees
6/14/76 ‑
Technology Exposition at Kennedy Space Center
6/14/76 ‑
Questionable Corporate Payments Initiatives
6/16/76 ‑
Signing of H.J. Res. 92, Statistics for Americans of Spanish Origin or Descent
6/16/76 ‑
National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Student Delegates
6/16/76 ‑
Visit of Pierre Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada
6/17/76 ‑
Signing of Social Security Decoupling Legislation Message to Congress
6/17/76 ‑
Teenage Republicans
6/18/76 ‑
Dinner Honoring Mrs. Mary Louise Smith
6/19/76 ‑
Services for Francis Maloy and Robert Waring
6/21/76 ‑
Thomas Road Baptist Church
6/21/76 ‑
National Association of Counties, Salt Lake City, UT
6/21/76 ‑
Elks Rededication of Memorial Building
6/21/76 ‑
Fourth of July Bicentennial Message of the President
6/23/76 ‑
Capitol Hill Club Fundraiser
6/24/76 ‑
Signing of the Busing Message
6/26‑28/76
‑ International Economic
6/29/76 ‑
Committee on Urban Development and Neighborhood Revitalization
6/29/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of C. Austin Montgomery as Administrator of the National Credit
Union Administration
6/29/76 ‑
Signing the Fourth of July Proclamation
6/30/76 ‑
Visit of Takeo Miki, Prime Minister of Japan
6/30/76 ‑
Signing of the Tax Extension Bill
6/30/76 ‑
Reception for Republican Leaders
7/2/76 ‑
Acceptance of Mormon Pioneer Statuette
7/4/76 ‑
Volunteers of America Convalescent Hospital
7/4/76 ‑
Valley Forge State Park
7/6/76 ‑
Veto of S. 3201, Public Works Employment Act
7/7‑10/76 ‑
Visit of Queen Elizabeth II of the
7/12/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 9771, Airport Act
7/13/76 ‑
Operation "Sting" Meeting
7/14/76 ‑
All‑Star Football Luncheon
7/14/76 ‑
National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs Convention
7/14/76 ‑
Antioch Orthodox Church Convention
7/14/76 ‑
N.A.S.A. Satellite Technology Television Demonstration Program
7/14/76 ‑
Presidential Spokesman Meeting
7/15‑17/76
‑ Visit of Helmut Schmidt, Chancellor of the
7/16/76 ‑
University of Michigan Summer Interns
7/20/76 ‑
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA
7/20/76 ‑
Young American Medal Winners Award Ceremony
7/22/76 ‑
Future Farmers of America
7/22/76 ‑
Omnibus Message to Congress
7/26/76 ‑
Signing of S. 586, Coastal Zone Management Act
7/27/76 ‑
Colorado Centennial
7/27/76 ‑
American GI Forum
7/27/76 ‑
Seventh Day Adventist Church Convention
7/27‑28/76
‑ Visit of J. Malcolm Fraser, Prime Minister of Australia
7/30/76 ‑
Mississippi Trip Background Information
7/31/76 ‑
Yale Law School Fraternity Luncheon
8/3/76 ‑
Visit of Urho Kekkonen,
President of Finland
8/4/76 ‑
Boys and Girls Nation Delegates
8/5/76 ‑
National Medical Association Convention
8/5/76 ‑
Christian Broadcasting Network
8/6/76 ‑
Swine Flu Statement
8/8/76 ‑
Eucharistic Congress
8/11/76 ‑ President
Ford Committee Headquarters Staff
8/12/76 ‑
Signing of S. 3735, National Swine Flu Immunization Program
8/12/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of H. Guyford Stever
as Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy
8/15‑20/76
‑ Republican National Convention (1)‑(3)
8/29/76 ‑
Yellowstone National Park
9/1/76 ‑
Labor Day Message
9/7/76 ‑
Signing of S. 3542 ‑ Teton Dam Disaster Assistance
9/7/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 12455, Child Day Care Bill
9/8/76 ‑
Space Shuttle Enterprise
9/10/76 ‑
World Travel Congress of the American Society of Travel Agents
9/10/76 ‑
National Hispanic Heritage Week
9/11/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 1332, New River Bill
9/13/76 ‑
Signing of S. 5, "Sunshine" Bill
9/13/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 8410, Packets and Stockyards Act Amendments
9/14/76 ‑
American Business Volunteers for Ford
9/16/76 ‑
Young President's Organization Reception
9/16/76 ‑
Shrine of the Immaculate Conception Catholic University Campus
9/17/76 ‑
National Federation of Republican Women Board of Directors
9/18/76 ‑
Senior Citizens
9/18/76 ‑
Farmers
9/20/76 ‑
National Farm Credit Directors
9/21/76 ‑
National Association of Homebuilders Board Meeting
9/21/76 ‑
Jim Thompson Meeting and Dinner (Not Used)
9/21/76 ‑
Visit of William R. Tolbert, President of the Republic of Liberia
9/22/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 14262, Defense Appropriations Act
9/24/76 ‑
Statement on Rhodesia
9/25‑27/76
‑ Southern Stump Speech (1)‑(2)
9/28/76 ‑
Signing of S. 327, Land and Water Conservation Fund Act
9/28/76 ‑
Veterans' Administration Christmas Show
9/29/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 366, Public Safety Officers Benefits Act
9/29/76 ‑
Business Organizations Leaders
9/29/76 ‑
Veto of H.R. 14232, Departments of Labor and HEW Appropriations
9/30/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 14298 and H.R. 14299, Veterans Pension and Compensation Acts
10/2/76 ‑
Retirement Dinner for Clancy Adamy
10/2/76 ‑
National Prayer Congress
10/4/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 10612, Tax Reform Act
10/4‑10/76
‑ West Coast Trip Background Information and Stump Speeches (1)‑(2)
10/5/76 ‑
Statement to Congress
10/6/76 ‑
Post‑Debate Rally
10/6/76 ‑
San Francisco, CA
10/7/76 ‑
B‑1 Bomber Visit, North American Rockwell, Hawthorne, CA
10/7/76 ‑
GOP Fundraising Dinner, Beverly Hills, CA
10/8/76 ‑
Lawton, OK
10/8/76 ‑
Native American Awareness Week
10/9/76 ‑
Love Field, Dallas, TX
10/9/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 9019, Health Maintenance Organization Amendment
10/9/76 ‑
Texas State Fair Board, Dallas, TX
10/9/76 ‑
Apparel Mart, Dallas, TX
10/11/76 ‑
Wreath‑Laying Ceremony Honoring Christopher Columbus
10/12/76 ‑
Meeting with Ethnic Leaders
10/12‑13/76
‑ New York and New Jersey Trip Background Information
10/12/76 ‑
Neighborhood Revitalization, Brooklyn, NY
10/12/76 ‑
GOP Fundraiser, New York City
10/13/76 ‑
General Revenue Sharing Bill, Yonkers, NY
10/13/76 ‑
White Plains, NY
10/14/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 71, Veterans Medical Care
10/15‑16/76
‑
10/15/76 ‑
Iowa Farm Forum, Ames, IA
10/15/76 ‑
Iowa State University, Ames, IA (1)
10/15/76 ‑
Signing of H.R. 15059, Emergency Livestock Credit Act Extension
10/18/76 ‑
TV Spots
10/18/76 ‑
Veteran's Day Message
10/18/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of Edward Aguirre as U.S. Commissioner of Education
10/19/76 ‑
Golden Helmet Award
10/21/76 ‑
Swearing‑in of the Federal Council on the Aging
10/21/76 ‑
Aviation Noise Statement at JFK Airport
10/22/76 ‑
"High Road" Stump Speech
10/23‑24/76
‑
10/23/76 ‑
State Capitol, Richmond, VA
10/23/76 ‑
South Carolina Speeches
10/24/76 ‑
California Speeches
10/25/76 ‑
Southwest Border Economic Region Statement, San Diego, CA
10/25/76 ‑
Mutual Radio Network Broadcast, San Diego, CA
10/25‑26/76
‑ Washington, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Illinois Trip Background
Information (1)
10/25‑26/76
‑ Washington, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Illinois Trip Background
Information (2)
10/25/76 ‑
Boeing Airport, Seattle, WA
10/25/76 ‑
Pier 57, Seattle, WA
10/25/76 ‑
Medal of Honor Grove Dedication, Veteran's Administration Hospital, Seattle, WA
10/25/76 ‑
Portland, Oregon Speeches
10/25/76 ‑
National Association of Broadcasters, Portland, OR
10/25/76 ‑
Mutual Radio Network Broadcast, Portland, OR
10/26/76 ‑
Illinois Speeches
10/27/76 ‑
New Jersey and Pennsylvania Trip Background Information
10/27/76 ‑
National Aviation Facilities Experimental Center, Atlantic City, NJ
10/27/76 ‑
Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ
10/27/76 ‑
New Jersey School Boards Association State Meeting
10/27/76 ‑
Pennsylvania Speeches
10/28‑29/76
‑
10/28/76 ‑
Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce (Not Used)
10/28/76 ‑
Greater Cincinnati Airport, Covington, KY
10/28/76 ‑
Fountain Square, Cincinnati, OH
10/28/76 ‑
Fleet Avenue Parade Site, Cleveland, OH
10/28/76 ‑
Sun Newspaper Good Neighbor Award Banquet, Cleveland, OH
10/29/76 ‑
Master Stump Speech ‑ Final Days of Campaign
10/29/76 ‑
Ford‑Dole Committee Reception, Milwaukee, WI
10/29/76 ‑
Smith Memorial Park, St. Louis, MO
10/29/76 ‑
Hobby Airport, Houston, TX
10/30/76 ‑
Public Rally, Houston, TX (Not Used)
10/30/76 ‑
Syracuse, NY
10/31/76 ‑
New York Trip Background
10/31/76 ‑
Buffalo, NY
10/31/76 ‑
Rochester, NY
10/31/76 ‑
Colonie Hill, Hauppauge, NY
10/31/76 ‑
Hempstead, NY
11/1/76 ‑
Taped Broadcast, Air Force One
11/1/76 ‑
Akron, OH
11/1/76 ‑
State Capitol, Columbus, OH
11/1/76 ‑
Fort Hayes Career Center, Columbus, OH
11/1/76 ‑
Detroit Metro Airport, Detroit, MI
11/1/76 ‑
Wonderland Center, Livonia, MI
11/1/76 ‑ Pantlind Hotel, Grand Rapids, MI
11/1/76 ‑
Dedication of the Gerald R. Ford Health and Physical Education Building, Grand
Rapids, MI
11/2/76 ‑
Kent County Airport, Grand Rapids, MI
11/11/76 ‑
Death of Alexander Calder
11/20‑21/76
‑ Tarrytown, NY
11/23/76 ‑
Meeting with Bowie Kuhn, Chairman of National Bible Week
11/24/76 ‑
Tribute to Governor Dan Evans of Washington
12/3/76 ‑
Forward to Presidential Papers
12/7/76 ‑
Circus, Saints and Sinners Tribute to General Jimmy Doolittle
12/8/76 ‑
Presentation of Congressional Silver Medal to Brigadier General Charles E.
Yeager
12/8/76 ‑
Unveiling of Portrait of Les Arends, Capitol Hill
Club
12/10/76 ‑
Bicentennial Minute ‑ Dec. 31, 1976
12/10/76 ‑
New Orleans Chamber of Commerce Meeting Honoring Congressman Hebert
12/15/76 ‑
Press Corps Christmas Party
1/5/77 ‑
Songs for Cabinet Dinner
1/7/77 ‑
Introduction for "All Night Strut"
1/12/77 ‑
State of the Union Address (1)
1/13/77 ‑
Diplomatic Corps Reception for Secretary and Mrs. Henry A. Kissinger
1/18/77 ‑
Dedication of the National Defense University, Fort McNair
Paul Theis
Chronological File
Aug. 1974‑Jan.
1975 (1)‑(9)
Feb.‑Aug.
1975
Sept. 1975‑Jan.
1976
Robert Orben Chronological File
Jan. 1976‑Jan.
1977 (1)-(11)
1/75 ‑ Agriculture
Statement for the Yakima, WA Herald‑Republic
1/75 ‑
International Clergy Week Proclamation
1/75 ‑
1/75 - Voting
Rights Act Extension Letter
1/9/75 ‑
International Women's Year
1/10/75 ‑
Vince Lombardi Award Dinner
1/13/75 ‑
Martin Luther King Day
1/16/75 ‑
Industrial Payroll Savings Committee
1/16/75 ‑
Mayors and Governors Meeting
1/16/75 ‑
Presidential Spokesmen
1/17/75 ‑
State Legislators' Award Dinner
1/18/75 ‑
AFL‑CIO Dinner
1/18/75 ‑
Article for "The Reporter"
1/23/75 ‑
National Newspaper Publishers
1/25/75 ‑
Alfalfa Club
1/26/75 ‑
New York Times International Economic Survey Statement
1/26/75 ‑ Kennedy
Center Flag Presentation
1/26/75 ‑
National Press Club
1/28/75 ‑
Religious Broadcasters
1/30/75 ‑
National Prayer Breakfast
2/75 ‑
Introduction to "Our Country's Presidents"
2/75 ‑
Biography for "Our Country's Presidents"
2/75 ‑
Article for "Natchez Democrat"
2/75 ‑
Article for "First National Banker"
2/75 ‑
Letter to High School and College Graduates
2/75 ‑
Summer Youth Employment Memo
2/1/75 ‑
Budget Briefing for Media
2/3/75 ‑
Atlanta White House Conference
2/4/75 ‑
State Days Message
2/4/75 ‑
Opportunities Industrialization Centers Luncheon, Atlanta
Box 86 Office Coordinator's Editorial File
2/7/75 ‑
Senate Youth Group
2/10/75 ‑
Energy Producers Meeting, Houston, TX
2/11/75 ‑
Kansas State Legislature
2/12/75 ‑
Lincoln Memorial
2/13/75 ‑
New York Security Analysts
2/13/75 ‑
Honor Rockefeller/Lincoln Day Dinner
2/17/75 ‑
Masonic Award Presentation
2/20/75 ‑
Bicentennial Declaration
2/20/75 ‑
Governors' Dinner
2/25/75 ‑
National Bicentennial Conference
2/25‑26/75
‑ White House Conference, Miami, FL
2/27/75 ‑
Unveiling of Portrait of Olin Teague
2/27/75 ‑ Dormann Dinner
2/28/75 ‑
Young Republican Reception
3/75 ‑
House Prayer Book Introduction
3/5/75 ‑
University of Michigan Club of Washington
3/6/75 ‑
Doral Celebrity Dinner
3/7/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of William Coleman as Secretary of Transportation
3/7/75 ‑
Republican National Committee Leadership Conference
3/10/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Carla Hills as Secretary of HUD
3/12/75 ‑
Voice of Democracy Winners
3/13/75 ‑
Collective Bargaining Dinner
3/13/75 ‑
Radio and TV Correspondents Association Dinner
3/14/75 ‑
National Newspaper Association
3/17/75 ‑
St. Patrick's Day Message
3/18/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of John Dunlop as Secretary of Labor
3/18/75 ‑
Teacher of the Year Meeting
3/19/75 ‑
Boy of the Year Meeting
3/19/75 ‑
John Dunlop Dinner
3/20/75 ‑
State Department's Travel Program for Foreign Diplomats
3/21/75 ‑
Coal Industry Dinner
3/22/75 ‑
"Liberty or Death" Speech Anniversary
3/22/76 ‑
Gridiron Club Dinner
3/25/75 ‑
Sister Cities International
3/26/75 ‑
Cancer Control Month Proclamation and Courage Award Presentation
3/26/75 ‑
Republican Organizations
3/28/75 ‑
Season Baseball Pass
3/29/75 ‑
Elk Hills Visit
3/29/75 ‑
California Trip Background Information
4/75 ‑
White House Magazine for Young Americans (1)‑(6)
4/75 ‑
Senate Chaplain Prayer Book Introduction
4/3/75 ‑
U.S. Naval Training Center Recruits, San Diego
4/3/75 ‑
White House Field Conference, San Diego
4/4/75 ‑
San Francisco Geothermal Plant Trip Information
4/4/75 ‑
San Francisco Bay Area Council Information
4/6/76 ‑ Buchenwald Liberation Proclamation
4/7/75 ‑
National Association of Broadcasters Convention
4/8/75 ‑
National Alliance of Businessmen
4/10/75 ‑
State of the World Address
4/14/75 ‑
International Women's Year Commission
4/15/75 ‑
Daughters of the American Revolution
4/15/75 ‑
Senate‑House Dinner
4/16/75 ‑ American
Society of Newspaper Editors
4/16/75 ‑
White House News Photographers
4/23/75 ‑
New Orleans Trip Background
4/24/75 ‑
Advertising Council Reception
4/24/75 ‑
Unveiling of Ford Portrait, Capitol Hill Club
4/25/75 ‑
United Negro College Fund Drive Endorsement
4/25/75 ‑
State Legislative Leaders
4/25/75 ‑
Yale Law School
4/26/75 ‑
Virginia GOP Fundraising Dinner
4/28/75 ‑
U.S. Chamber of Commerce
5/1/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Rogers C.B. Morton as Secretary of Commerce
5/1/75 ‑
Swearing‑in of Consumer Council
5/1/75 ‑ Bicentennial
Bond Purchase/Handicapped American Award
5/2/75 ‑
Robert J. Collier Trophy Letter
5/2/75 ‑
Harmon Trophy Awards
5/2/75 ‑
National Education Association Board Briefing
5/3/75 ‑
Commissioning of the USS Nimitz
5/3/75 ‑
White House Correspondents
5/7/75 ‑
American Enterprise Institute
5/9/75 ‑
International Students Reception
5/10/75 ‑
OAS Reception
5/15/75 ‑
Visit of Shah of Iran
5/16/75 ‑
Council on Aging
5/16/75 ‑
National Republican Heritage Groups Council
5/18/75 ‑
Reception for Hugh Scott
5/18/75 ‑
University of Pennsylvania Commencement Address
5/19/75 ‑
President's Advisory Committee on Refugees
5/19/75 ‑
White House Fellows
5/21/75 ‑
Republican National Committee Big Cities Conference
5/22/75 ‑
Former Members of Congress Reunion
5/24/75 ‑
USS Monterey Reunion
5/26/75 ‑
Memorial Day Ceremonies
6/4/75 ‑
West Point Commencement
6/5/75 ‑
Holton Arms School Commencement
6/9/75 - Capitol
Page School Graduates
6/10/75 ‑
National Industrial Council
6/11/75 ‑
National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
6/14/75 ‑
Army Bicentennial Visit to Fort Benning
6/16/75 ‑
Lombardi Cancer Fund
6/16/75 ‑
Visit of German President Scheel
6/19/75 ‑
Teen‑age Republicans
6/28/75 ‑
TV Guide Letter
7/75 ‑
Geriatric Dentistry Journal Article
7/75 ‑
Traverse City Record‑Eagle Letter
7/75 ‑
Bicentennial Message
7/1/75 ‑
NAACP Speech
7/3/75 ‑
White House Conference, Cincinnati, OH
7/4/75 ‑
Fort McHenry Bicentennial Program
7/4/75 ‑
Fourth of July Statement
7/11/75 ‑
Chicago State University
7/11/75 ‑
Mid‑American Committee
7/13/75 ‑
Sixth Circuit Court Judges Conference
8/10/75 ‑
Fort Smith/Fort Chaffee, Arkansas Visit
8/19/75 ‑
White House Conference, Peoria, IL
8/19/75 ‑
American Legion
8/20/75 ‑
Iowa GOP Fundraiser
8/30/75 ‑
AFL‑CIO Benefit
9/1/75 ‑ IMF
and World Bank Welcome
9/4/75 ‑
White House Conference, Seattle, WA
Editorial Office Administrative File
Armstrong, Anne ‑
Remarks to the Texas State Republican Convention, Houston, 9/17/74
Askew, Reubin ‑ Dinner for Anwar Sadat, 11/2/75 ‑ President Ford's Toast
Bicentennial ‑
General (1)‑(5)
Bicentennial ‑
Presidential Participation (1)‑(2)
Bicentennial ‑
Task Force
Bicentennial ‑
Themes
Budget/Federal
Spending (1)‑(2)
Correspondence ‑
Connor, James E.
Correspondence ‑
Ford, Betty
Correspondence ‑
General Services Administration
Correspondence ‑
Hartmann, Robert (1)‑(3)
Correspondence ‑
Hoopes, David
Correspondence ‑
Jones, Jerry
Correspondence ‑
White House Staff (1)‑(5)
Correspondence ‑
Writing Staff (1)‑(2)
Council on
International Economic Policy
Domestic Council
‑ Edited Materials, 6/75‑2/76 (1)‑(2)
"Fly Eagle
Fly" Song
Ford, Betty ‑
Remarks, 12/10/74 (Children's Christmas Party)
Ford, Betty ‑
Remarks, 5/5/75 (Luncheon for Senators' Wives)
Ford, Betty ‑
Remarks, 5/12/75 (Philadelphia Association for Retarded Citizens)
Ford, Betty ‑
Remarks, 6/18/75 (International Women's Year Conference)
Ford, Betty ‑
Remarks, 6/23/75 (Republican Women's Federal Forum)
Ford, Betty ‑
Remarks, 10/20/75 (Bicentennial Tree Planting Ceremony)
Ford, Betty ‑
Remarks, 10/21/75 (Association of American Universities)
Ford, Betty ‑
Remarks, 11/20/75 (Thanksgiving Dinner)
Ford, Gerald R. ‑
Biography (1)‑(3)
Ford, Gerald R. ‑
Public Papers: General
Ford, Gerald R. ‑
Public Papers: Proofs (1)‑(7)
Gergen, Dave ‑
Research, 1972‑73
Guidelines ‑
Miscellaneous
Hartmann, Robert
T. ‑ Miscellaneous
Hartmann, Robert
T. ‑ Schedules, Sept.‑Dec. 1975
Information for
Speeches ‑ Miscellaneous, Aug.‑Oct. 1975
Message to
Managers (Not Used)
Miltich, Paul
Miscellaneous
Material, 1974‑75
National
Security Council Edited Materials, May-November 1975 (1)-(11)
National
Security Council Edited Materials, December 1975 - January 1976 (1)-(4)
Speech Drafts
for State and Working Visits (1)‑(2)
Office
Chronological File ‑ General, Jan.‑Sept. 1975 (1)‑(8)
Office
Chronological File ‑ Domestic Council Action Memoranda, Aug.‑Dec.
1975 (1)‑(10)
Office of
Management and Budget ‑ Edited Materials (1)‑(3)
Office of
Management and Budget ‑ Edited Materials (4)
Research Office
File Classification
Requests ‑
General
Requests ‑
Articles (1)‑(2)
Requests ‑
Articles Forwarded to Margita White
Requests ‑
Autographed Pictures
Speeches ‑
Chronological Listing (1)‑(2)
Speeches ‑
Often Referred To (1)‑(2)
Staff ‑
General
Staff ‑
Birthdays
Staff ‑
Current (1)‑(3)
Staff ‑
Former (1)
Staff ‑
Former (2)‑(3)
Supply Issue
Requests
Theis, Paul ‑
Telephone Messages, Aug.‑Dec. 1974 (1)‑(3)
Time ‑
Annual Leave
Time ‑
Compensation Reports
Timecards (1)‑(3)
Travel Vouchers
Tuition Bond
Warren, Jerry ‑
Briefing Book Contributions (1)‑(2)
White House
Reorganization ‑ Press Briefing, 12/18/74
Index to
Speeches on Cassette Tape (Index and cassettes in Audiovisual Collection)
