Brent Cebul Wins 2011 Gerald R. Ford Scholar Award in Honor of Robert M. Teeter

The Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library is proud to announce that Brent Cebul has been chosen as the 2011 winner of the Gerald R. Ford Scholar Award in Honor of Robert M. Teeter.  Mr. Cebul is a doctoral student in American History at the University of Virginia and is completing his doctoral dissertation: Freedom From: Small Government, Big Government Policies, and the Rise of Blue Collar Republicans, 1970-1994.  He is exploring the rise of working class white voters within the Republican Party from 1970 – 1994 through the lens of conservatives, decentralized federal community and economic development.

This annual award of $5,000 is given to a doctoral student conducting dissertation research and writing on an aspect of the United States political process during the latter part of the 20th century.  It was established in 2005 to honor the life and work of Robert Teeter.  Mr. Teeter spent over thirty years as a leader in public opinion analysis and campaign strategy, including the 1976 campaign of President Gerald R. Ford.  The majority of written materials from Mr. Teeter’s career are part of the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library collection. This award has been made possible by the generous support of the Teeter family and friends, and his colleagues on the United Parcel Service Board of Directors.

The application deadline for next year’s award is May 1, 2012.  For more information, please visit the Ford Library’s website at: or contact the Libraryat (734) 205-0555 or at