Digitized from Box 34 of the White House Press Releases at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

#### JANUARY 1, 1977

# Office of the White House Press Secretary

### 

# THE WHITE HOUSE

The President will present the Medal of Freedom on January tenth at noon to twenty-two distinguished Americans, including one to be honored posthumously. The recipients selected by the President are:

I. W. Abel, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, President, United Steelworkers of America, for his achievements in the field of labor-management relations.

John Bardeen, of Champaign, Illinois, physicist, corecipient of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1956 and 1972, for his achievements in the field of physics.

Irving Berlin, of New York, New York, composer, for his contributions to American music.

Norman Ernest Borlaug, of Mexico City, Mexico, agricultural scientist and Nobel Prize winner in 1970, for his achievements in the field of agricultural science.

General of the Army Omar Nelson Bradley, USA (Ret.), of New York, New York, former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, for his contributions to national security.

Admiral Arleigh Albert Burke, USN (Ret.), of Bethesda, Maryland, former Chief of Naval Operations, for his contributions to national security.

Alexander Calder, posthumously, sculptor, for his achievements in art.

Bruce Catton, of New York, New York, writer and editor, in recognition of his achievements as a writer and editor of American history.

Joseph Paul DiMaggio, of Atlanta, Georgia, retired baseball player for the New York Yankees, for his contributions to American sports.

- MORE -

Ariel Durant, of Los Angeles, California, writer and Pulitzer Prize winner, 1968, for her contributions to American literature.

-2-

William James Durant, of Los Angeles, California, writer and Pulitzer Prize winner, 1968, for his contributions to American literature.

Arthur Fiedler, of Boston, Massachusetts, conductor, for his achievements in the field of American music.

Henry Jacob Friendly, of New York, New York, judge, U. S. Circuit Court of Appeals, for his achievements in the field of jurisprudence.

Lady Bird Johnson, of Stonewall, Texas, former First Lady, for her contributions to American beautification.

Archibald MacLeish, of Conway, Massachusetts, poet and Pulitzer Prize winner in 1932 and 1959, for his contributions to American literature.

James Albert Michener, of Pipersville, Pennsylvania, author, Pulitzer Prize winner, 1947, for his contributions to American literature.

Georgia O'Keefe, of Abiquiu, New Mexico, artist, for her contributions to American art.

Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller, of Tarrytown, New York, Vice President of the United States, for his contributions to American Government.

Norman Rockwell, of Stockbridge, Massachusetts, illustrator, for his contributions to American art.

Katherine Filene Shouse, of Washington, D.C., donor, Wolf Trap Farm Park for the Performing Arts, for her contributions to the performing arts.

Lowell Thomas, of Pawling, New York, author, radio and television commentator, for his contributions in the field of communications.

James Dewey Watson, of Cold Spring Harbor, New York, educator and biochemist, recipient of the Nobel Prize in medicine and physiology, 1962, for his contributions in the fields of medicine and physiology.

-MORE -

The award was originally designated in 1945 to honor meritorious and war-connected acts of service by civilians. Then in 1963 the award was expanded to honor persons for meritorious contributions to the security or national interest of the United States, to world peace or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

The persons currently being honored who are unable to receive the award on January tenth will be represented at the ceremony either by a family member on that date, or by a special presentation through a representative of the President at a later time.

Previous recipients of the Nation's highest civilian award from President Ford are Ambassador David K.E.Bruce, pianist Artur Rubinstein, athlete Jesse Owens, and dancer Martha Graham.

# # #