Office of the White House Press Secretary

THE WHITE HOUSE

The President today announced the appointment of eight persons as members of the National Council on the Arts. These are for terms of six years. They are:

Martina Arroyo, of New York, New York, Concert and Opera Singer.

Willard L. Boyd, of Iowa City, Iowa, President of the University of Iowa.

Hal C. Davis, of Brielle, New Jersey, President of the American Federation of Musicians, New York, New York.

J. C. Dickinson, Jr., of Gainesville, Florida, Director, Florida State Museum, University of Florida.

William H. Eells, of Columbus, Ohio, Executive and Regional Manager, Ford Motor Company.

Harold Prince, of New York, New York, Director-Producer.

Franklin J. Schaffner, of Santa Monica, California, Film Director, Hollywood, California.

Geraldine Stutz, of New York, New York, President, Henri Bendel.

The appointees succeed eight persons whose terms have expired. They are:

Maurice Abravenel
Kenneth N. Dayton
Charles K. McWhorter
Beverly Sills Greenough
James Earl Jones
E. Leland Webber
Charles Eames
Robert E. Wise

The purpose of the Council is to advise the Chairman with respect to policies, programs, and procedures for carrying out her functions, duties, or responsibilities and review applications for financial assistance and to make recommendations to the Chairman.

The Council consists of the Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts, Nancy Hanks, who serves as Chairman of the Council, and 26 members appointed by the President and who serve terms of six years.