FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 18, 1975

Office of the White House Press Secretary

THE WHITE HOUSE

FACT SHEET

The President today awarded the National Medal of Science, the Nation's highest award for distinguished achievements in outstanding contributions to science and engineering development, to the thirteen 1974 recipients.

BACKGROUND:

The National Medal of Science was established in 1959 by the 86th Congress. It is presented to individuals who, in the judgment of the President, "are deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences." Since 1962, the medal has been awarded on a periodic basis to distinguished scientists and engineers in the United States.

AWARD WINNERS:

Nicolaas Bloembergen, Professor of Applied Physics, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

For pioneering applications of magnetic resonance to the study of condensed matter and for subsequent scientific investigations and inventions concerning the interaction of matter with coherent radiation.

Britton Chance, Director of the Johnson Research Foundation and Chairman of the Department of Biophysics, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

For his contributions to our knowledge of cellular and subcellular physiology made through work on enzyme-substrate complexes, on the kinetics of enzyme action, and on the mechanism and control of membrane-bound electron transfer during cellular respiration.

Erwin Chargaff, Professor of Biochemistry, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University School of Medicine, New York, New York.

For fundamental chemical and biological studies establishing the basis for modern concepts of the mechanisms of protein synthesis and the genetic role of nucleic acids.

Paul John Flory, Jackson-Wood Professor of Chemistry, Stanford University, Stanford, California.

For his outstanding contributions to our understanding of the modes of formation and structure of polymeric substances.

William Alfred Fowler, Professor of Physics, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California.

For his scientific contributions to nuclear physics and astrophysics, which permitted him to span both disciplines to unravel the nuclear processes that control the evolution of stars.

Kurt Godel, Professor of Mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey.

For laying the foundation for today's flourishing study of mathematical logic.

Rudolf Kompfner, Director, Electronics and Radio Research, Bell Telephone Laboratories, Inc., Holmdel, New Jersey.

For his invention of the traveling-wave tube and for major contributions to communication satellites and to optical communications.

James Van Gundia Neel, Lee R. Dice Professor of Human Genetics, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

For pioneering achievements in creating the science of human genetics and discovering the genetic basis of several human diseases.

Linus Carl Pauling, Professor of Chemistry, Stanford University, Stanford, California.

For the extraordinary scope and power of his imagination, which has led to basic contributions in such diverse fields as structural chemistry and the nature of chemical bonding, molecular biology, immunology, and the nature of genetic diseases.

Ralph Brazelton Peck, Consulting Foundation Engineer, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

For his development of the science and art of subsurface engineering, combining the contributions of the sciences of geology and soil mechanics with the practical art of foundation design.

Kenneth Sanborn Pitzer, Professor of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley, California.

For his pioneering application of statistical thermodynamics and spectroscopy to our understanding of the properties of organic and inorganic materials.

James Augustine Shannon, Special Adviser to President, Rockefeller University, New York, New York.

For outstanding leadership in biomedical research following an earlier career in distinguished laboratory investigation of kidney function and antimalarial drugs.

Abel Wolman, Professor Emeritus, Sanitary Engineering, The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland.

For significant improvements in the environment and in the health and prosperity of large populations through the development of better water supply and wastewater systems for cities, regions, and entire nations.

#