## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## JUNE 10, 1975

## Office of the White House Press Secretary

## THE WHITE HOUSE

The President today announced the appointment of three persons as members of the Privacy Protection Study Commission. The Commission was created by Public Law 93-579 of December 31, 1974. They are:

> William O. Bailey, of West Hartford, Connecticut, Executive Vice President of the Aetna Life & Casualty, Hartford, Connecticut.

David F. Linowes, of Scarsdale, New York, Partner, Laventhol & Horwath, New York, New York.

Willis H. Ware, of Santa Monica, California, member of the Corporate Research Staff, Rand Corporation, Santa Monica, California.

The Commission is to make a study of the data banks, automated data processing programs, and information systems of governmental, regional, and private organizations, in order to determine the standards and procedures in force for the protection of personal information; and recommend to the President and the Congress the extent, if any, to which the requirements and principles of section 552a of title 5, U. S. Code, should be applied to the information practices of those organizations by legislation, administrative action, or voluntary adoption of such requirements and principles, and report on such other legislative recommendations as it may determine to be necessary to protect the privacy of individuals while meeting the legitimate needs of government and society for information.

The Commission consists of seven members. Three are appointed by the President; two are appointed by the President of the Senate; and two are appointed by the Speaker of the House.

The members shall elect a Chairman from among themselves.

The Commission shall, from time to time, and in an annual report, report to the President and the Congress on its activities. The Commission shall make a final report to the President and to the Congress on its findings pursuant to the required study mentioned above not later than two years from the date on which all of the members of the Commission are appointed. The Commission shall cease to exist thirty days after the date on which its final report is submitted.

# # #