FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

C ctober 11, 1974

Cffice of the White House Press Secretary

THE WHITE HOUSE

The President today announced the appointment of four persons as Members of the National Advisory Council on Extension and Continuing Education for terms of three years, expiring June 30, 1977:

> Ruth C. Crasweller, of Duluth, Minnesota; Fashion Coordinator and Public Relations Director of two Glass B. Block Stores and Producer-Hostess of a noontime television show, The Scene Today, for WSDM-TV, of Duluth. This is a reappointment.

Kenneth T. Lyons, of Norwood, Massachusetts; National President, National Association of Government Employees, Boston, Massachusetts. This is a reappointment.

Armand L. Hunter, of Okemos, Michigan; Director, The Continuing Education Service, Michigan State University. He succeeds Mark Guerra whose term expired.

Charles H. Lawshe, of Lafayette, Indiana; Vice President and Dean of Continuing Education, Furdue University, West Lafayette. He succeeds Dorothy Bewley whose term expired.

The Council advises the Commission on Education on the preparation of general regulations and policies to eliminate duplication of continuing education programs.

#