# The original documents are located in Box 9, folder "Congressional Leadership Meetings with the President - 2/5/76: Bipartisan" of the John Marsh Files at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

## **Copyright Notice**

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. If you think any of the information displayed in the PDF is subject to a valid copyright claim, please contact the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

#### THE WHITE HOUSE

WASHINGTON

February 5, 1976

# MEETING WITH BIPARTISAN CONGRESSIONAL LEADERSHIP

Thursday, February 5, 1976 5:30-6:30 p.m. (60 minutes) The Cabinet Room

From: Max L. Friedersdorf

#### I. PURPOSE

To discuss the recent Supreme Court decision affecting the Federal Elections Commission, and to consult on future legislation.

# II. BACKGROUND, PARTICIPANTS AND PRESS PLAN

- A. <u>Background</u>: The recent Supreme Court decision rendered unconstitutional certain provisions of the federal election laws (See TAB A).
- B. Participants: See TAB B
- C. Press Plan:

Announce to the Press, Press photos (if requested) and White House photos.

#### III. AGENDA

See TAB C

# IV. TALKING POINTS

See TAB D



#### PARTICIPANTS

The President
The Vice President

#### SENATE

Mike Mansfield \*Hugh Scott Bob Griffin Frank Moss Howard Cannon Claiborne Pell Mark Hatfield

#### HOUSE

Carl Albert
John Rhodes
John McFall
Bob Michel
Phil Burton
Bill Dickinson
Chuck Wiggins
Bill Frenzel

#### STAFF

Bob Hartmann
Jack Marsh
Dick Cheney
Phil Buchen
Max Friedersdorf
Ron Nessen
Jim Connor
Jerry Jones
Dave Gergen

#### REGRETS

Tip O'Neill
John Anderson
Wayne Hays
John Dent
Jim Eastland
Bob Byrd
Carl Curtis
Rog Morton

\* Hugh Scott must leave early



# AGENDA

5:30-5:40 p.m. (10 minutes)	The President opens the meeting and makes introductory remarks concerning the Supreme Court decision, and the President's views on remedial legislation.
5:40-6:15 p.m. (35 minutes)	The President invites the leaders to express their views. (Jurisdictional roster is attached in TAB E.)
6:15-6:30 p.m. (15 minutes)	The President invites the leaders to consider his proposals and ascertain a schedule for expediting legislation.
6:30 p.m.	The President adjourns the meeting.

#### JURISDICTIONAL COMMITTEES

#### HOUSE ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE

#### DEMOCRATIC

Rep. Wayne Hays (Ohio) (Chairman)
Rep. John Dent (Pa.) (Chairman, Elections Subcommittee)

#### REPUBLICAN

Rep. Bill Dickinson (Ala.)
(ranking)
Rep. Chuck Wiggins (Ca.)
(ranking, Elections Subcommittee)
Rep. Bill Frenzel (Minn.)
(Elections Subcommittee)

#### SENATE RULES COMMITTEE

# DEMOCRATIC

Sen. Howard Cannon (Nev.)
(Chairman)
Sen. Claiborne Pell (R.I.)
(Chairman, Privileges and
Elections Subcommittee)

#### REPUBLICAN

Sen. Mark Hatfield (Ore.)
(ranking)
Sen. Hugh Scott (Pa.)
Sen. Bob Griffin (Mich)
(ranking, Privileges and
Elections Subcommittee)