# The original documents are located in Box 50, folder "1975/08/06 - Voting Rights Bill Signing Ceremony" of the James M. Cannon Files at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

# **Copyright Notice**

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. If you think any of the information displayed in the PDF is subject to a valid copyright claim, please contact the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

#### THE WHITE HOUSE

#### WASHINGTON

#### VOTING RIGHTS SIGNING CEREMONY

Wednesday, August 6, 1975 12:00 Noon (10 minutes) The Rose Garden

From: Jim Cannop

### I. PURPOSE

Signing Ceremony for Voting Rights Bill (H.R. 6219).

## II. BACKGROUND, PARTICIPANTS & PRESS PLAN

A. <u>Background</u>: As you know, the Voting Rights Act was originally enacted on August 6, 1965. Several of the provisions of the Act were enacted on a five-year temporary basis. These special provisions were extended for an additional five years in 1970, and in January of this year you recommended another five-year extension of these provisions.

This bill will extend the special provisions of the Act for an additional seven years, and will permanently ban the use of literacy tests and devices nationwide. The bill will also extend coverage under the special provisions of the Act to jurisdictions with substantial language-minority populations (persons of Spanish heritage, American Indians and Asian Americans) which had low voter participation in the 1972 Presidential election, and will require such jurisdictions which have illiteracy rates higher than the national average to conduct bilingual elections and registrations.

B. <u>Participants</u>:

The Vice President, civil rights leaders, and administration officials--Tab A.

Members of Congress--Tab B.

C. Press Plan: Press photo session.

### III. TALKING POINTS

Remarks to be provided by Paul Theis.

ARONSON, Arnold Director or Program Planning National Community Relations Advisory Council New York, New York

CHAVEZ, Gilbert President IMAGE Office of Education Department of Health, Education, and Welfare

COLOM, Mr. Audrey Rowe President National Women's Political Caucus Washington, D. C.

EILISON, Mrs. Pauline A. National President The Links, Inc. Washington, D. C.

FIERRO, Manuel President National Congress of Hispanic American Citizens Washington, D. C.

FLEMMING, The Honorable Arthur S. Chairman U. S. Commission on Civil Rights Washington, D. C.

GONZALEZ, Manuel, National President League of United Latin American Citizens Phoenix, Arizona

FORREST, Erin (Mr.) Vice Chairman National Tribal Chairmen Association Xl Rancheria, California

JORDAN, Vernon Executive Director National Urban League New York, New York

LEWIS, John Executive Director Voter Education Project Atlanta, Georgia MITCHELL, Clarence Director Washington Bureau National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Washington, D. C.

PEREZ, Al Associate Counsel Mexican-American Legal Defense and Educational Fund Washington, D. C.

RUSTIN, Bayard Executive Director A. Phillip Randolph Institute New York, New York

 $\cdot$ 

TORRES, Estaban Assistant Director for International Affairs United Auto Workers Washington, D. C.

TRIMBAL, Charles Executive Director National Congress of American Indians Washington, D. C.

WILKINS, Roy Executive Director National Association for the Advancement of Colored People New York, New York

WILKS, John Director Black Political Council Republican National Committee Washington, D. C.

YZAGUIERRE, Raul Executive Director National Council of La Raza Washington, D. C. RESTON, Tom Attorney at Law Hogan and Hartson Washington, D. C.

TATEL, David Attorney at Law Hogan and Hartson Washington, D. C.

, ·

## EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION

PERRY, The Honorable Lowell W. Chairman

# DEPARIMENT OF THE INTERIOR (Bureau of Indian Affairs)

BEEBE, Tana (Ms.) - Office of Public Information - Photographer

BROWN, Terry Special Assistant to the Commissioner

THOMPSON, The Honorable Morris Commissioner

### DEPARIMENT OF JUSTICE

LEVI, The Honorable Edward H. Attorney General

JONES, Gerald W. Chief, Voting Rights Section Civil Rights Division

POTTINGER, J. Stanley Assistant Attornéy General Civil Rights Division

• [

TURNER, James P. Deputy Assistant Attorney General Civil Rights Division

٠.

#### WHITE HOUSE STAFF

BUCHEN, Philip W. Counsel to the President

CALHOUN, John C. Deputy Special Assistant to the President

CANNON, James M. Assistant to the President for Domestic Affairs

DeBACA, Fernando E. C. Special Assistant to the President

LAZARUS, Kenneth A. Associate Counsel to the President

MARRS, Dr. Theodore C. Special Assistant to the President

SCOTT, Stanley C. Special Assistant to the President

SPAULDING, Aaron L. Associate Director Presidential Personnel Office

### DOMESTIC COUNCIL

CAVANAUGH, James H. Deputy Director - Operations

PARSONS, Richard D. Associate Director and Counsel

·MYER, Paul Staff Assistant

#### OFFICE OF THE VICE PRESIDENT

THE VICE PRESIDENT

GARRETT, Thaddeus A., Jr. Special Assistant to the Vice President OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET

O'NEILL, Paul H. Deputy Director

OAXACA, Fernando Associate Director for Management and Operations Congressman Robert F. Drinan Senator Philip Hart Senator Floyd Haskell Congressman William Hungate Congresswoman Barbara Jordan Congressman Robert Kastenmeier Congressman James Mann Senator Charles McC. Mathias Congressman Robert McClory Congressman Charles B. Rangel Congressman Peter W. Rodino Congressman Ray Thornton Senator John V. Tunney

### STAFF

J.C. Argetsinger Bob Alcock Ben Dixon Earl C. Dudley Jane Frank Kenneth Klee Janet McNair Alan Parker Frank Polk Pat Villareal Ken Davis Tracy Mullin Louise Bracknell Pat Shakow Ralph Neas

Senator Edward Kennedy