The original documents are located in Box 44, folder "1975/05/01 - Consumer Advisory Council Swearing In" of the James M. Cannon Files at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

Copyright Notice

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. If you think any of the information displayed in the PDF is subject to a valid copyright claim, please contact the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

1:50 PM - Consumer Swearing - In Rose Garden

Thursday, May 1, 1975

THE WHITE HOUSE

WASHINGTON April 30, 1975

SWEARING-IN OF NEW MEMBERS OF CONSUMER ADVISORY COUNCIL

Thursday, May 1, 1975 1:50 p.m. (10 minutes) Rose Garden

From: Jim Cannon

I. PURPOSE

This swearing-in ceremony for 5 new members of the Consumer Advisory Council will provide an opportunity for you to highlight further your consumer policies.

II. BACKGROUND, PARTICIPANTS, AND PRESS PLAN

A. Background:

The Consumer Advisory Council was established by Executive order in 1971. It is composed of 12 citizen experts who are to advise the Director of the Office of Consumer Affairs on consumer policy matters. Many of the members are well-known national consumer leaders.

Being sworn in today are 5 members that you have recently appointed or reappointed.

Mrs. Knauer, who serves as Executive Secretary of the Council, will introduce to you the members to be sworn-in. You may then wish to make some remarks concerning your recently announced consumer initiatives.

John Ratchford will administer the oath.

B. Participants:

- Mrs. Virginia Knauer, Director of the Office of Consumer Affairs and Executive Secretary of the Consumer Advisory Council
- 5 new members of the Consumer Advisory Council (at Tab A)
- 5 current members of the Council (at Tab A)

Staff: Pam Needham

C. Press Plan:

To be announced; press photo session.

III. TALKING POINTS

Provided by Paul Theis at Tab B.

COUNCIL MEMBERS TO BE SWORN-IN

Dr. Stewart M. Lee Chairman, Department of Economics Geneva College

Dr. Jean Mayer Professor, Department of Nutrition Harvard School of Public Health

George E. Myers Director of Public Relations CUNA, Inc.

Dr. Hans B. Thorelli Professor of Business Administration Graduate School of Business Indiana University

Dr. Edward R. Willett Professor of Finance College of Business Administration Northeastern University

CURRENT COUNCIL MEMBERS

Mr. Adolfo G. Alayon Executive Director Consumer Action Program of Bedford-Stuyvesant

Mrs. Camille A. Haney Consumer Affairs Coordinator Department of Justice

Dr. Robert Lee Wright, Jr.

Mrs. Linda Lee Graham Wichita State University

Mrs. Edna DeCoursey Johnson Director, Consumer Services Baltimore Urban League