# The original documents are located in Box 43, folder "1975/03/18 - John T. Dunlop Swearing In" of the James M. Cannon Files at the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

#### **Copyright Notice**

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. If you think any of the information displayed in the PDF is subject to a valid copyright claim, please contact the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.

#### THE WHITE HOUSE

WASHINGTON

#### SWEARING IN OF

### JOHN T. DUNLOP AS SECRETARY OF LABOR

TUESDAY-MARCH 18, 1975

2:00 P.M. - The East Room

From:

Terry O'Donnell O

#### BACKGROUND:

John T. Dunlop was nominated as Secretary of Labor on February 8 and confirmed by a voice vote in the Senate on March 6, 1975. He will serve as the fourteenth Secretary of the Department of Labor. A biographical sketch of the Secretary-designate is attached at TAB A.

You will greet the Secretary-designate and Mrs. Dunlop in the Red Room and then proceed to the East Room where you will deliver remarks before approximately 300 guests, including Members of the Cabinet, Members of Congress, Administration officials, and relatives, friends and associates of the Dunlops. Following your statement, Judge Charles Fahy, Senior Circuit Judge of the United States Court of Appeals of the District of Columbia Circuit, will administer the oath, Secretary Dunlop will deliver remarks, and you will invite the guests to proceed to the State Dining Room for coffee and pastries.

There will be full press coverage of the East Room ceremony and no press coverage of the informal reception. A list of platform guests is attached at TAB B. A list of special guests seated in the front rows is included at TAB C. Suggested remarks will be forwarded separately.

#### SEQUENCE:

2:00 p.m.

You depart Oval Office and proceed to the Red Room to greet Secretary-designate and Mrs. Dunlop.

NOTE:

The platform guests (TAB B) with the exception of Secretary-designate and Mrs. Dunlop, will have departed the Red Room to take their standing positions on the platform just prior to your arrival at the Red Room.

2:05 p.m.

Accompanied by Secretary-designate and Mrs. Dunlop, you proceed to the East Room center doors, pause for announcements, then move to the platform near the East Wall.

You proceed directly to the podium.

To your left several feet from the podium will be Secretary-designate Dunlop, then Mrs. Dunlop, then Judge Fahy.

2:07 p.m.

YOU DELIVER YOUR REMARKS.

FULL PRESS COVERAGE ATTENDANCE: 300

At the conclusion of your remarks, you ask Judge Fahy to administer the oath, then move to the Secretary's right as the oath is recited.

Secretary Dunlop delivers remarks. At the conclusion of his remarks, you join him at the podium and invite the guests for coffee and pastries in the State Dining Room.

NOTE:

The Marine Orchestra will play as the guests move to the State Dining Room.

2:14 p.m.

2:15 p.m.

You and Secretary and Mrs. Dunlop proceed to the <u>State Dining Room</u> followed by the platform guests and the seated guests. En route to the State Dining Room, you may wish to greet Congressional guests and other family members seated in the front row.

INFORMAL RECEPTION NO PRESS COVERAGE NO RECEPTION LINE

2:30 p.m. You depart the reception and return to the Oval Office.

# # # # # #

#### Office of the White House Press Secretary

## THE WHITE HOUSE

The President today announced his intention to nominate John T. Dunlop, of Belmont, Massachusetts, to be Secretary of Labor. He will succeed Peter J. Brennan who has resigned.

Dr. Dunlop will continue as Coordinator of the President's Labor-Management Committee and will serve as a member of the Economic Policy Board.

Dr. Dunlop has taught economics at Harvard University since 1938 and was Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences from 1970 to 1973 and is currently a Lamont University Professor. He was Chairman of the Construction Industry Stabilization Committee from 1971 to 1973 and has served as a member of the National Commission on Productivity since 1970.

For the last 25 years Dr. Dunlop has served on numerous Presidential boards, panels, committees and commissions studying labor disputes and has had a long association with the Labor Department dating back to 1938. During World War II, he worked with the National War Labor Board, and was a consultant to the Office of Economic Stabilization and the Office of War Mobilization and Reconversion. Since that time he has served as a member or consultant to a number of State and Federal organizations on matters relating to labor relations and economics.

Dr. Dunlop is the author and editor of a number of books and has made contributions to other books as well as professional journals.

He was born in Placerville, California on July 5, 1914. He is married to the former Dorothy Webb. They have three children and reside in Belmont, Massachusetts.

# # #

### **PLATFORM**

President Ford
Vice President Rockefeller
Dr. John T. Dunlop
Mrs. Dorothy Dunlop (wife)
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Donahue (daughter & husband)
Judge Charles Fahy (to administer Oath)

## Congressional Members:

- a. (to be determined Monday by Max Friedersdorf)
- b. Dr. Dunlop's State & District:

Senator Edward W. Brooke

Senator Edward M. Kennedy

Representative Thomas P. O'Neill

#### Family:

Mr. and Mrs. David Dunlop
Mr. and Mrs. Harry J. Dunlop
Mr. and Mrs. Paul A. Dunlop
Captain and Mrs. Roy Dunlop
Mr. and Mrs. William W. Dunlop
Mrs. Margaret Freeman
Lt. and Mrs. Gordon Haynes
Ms. Margaret Ann Porter
Mrs. Jeanie E. Porter
Ms. Linda Jeanie Porter
Mr. Charles Ovid Porter

#### Mrs. Charles Fahy

#### Cabinet Members:

Honorable Henry A. Kissinger Secretary of State Honorable William E. Simon Secretary of Treasury Honorable James R. Schlesinger Secretary of Defense Honorable Edward H. Levi Attorney General Honorable Rogers C. B. Morton Secretary of the Interior Honorable Earl L. Butz Secretary of Agriculture Honorable Casper W. Weinberger Secretary of HEW Honorable Carla A. Hills Secretary of HUD Honorable William T. Coleman Secretary of Transportation

Honorable Philip W. Buchen Honorable Robert T. Hartmann Honorable John O. Marsh, Jr. Honorable Donald H. Rumsfeld VIP (PREFERENTIAL SEATING)
Page 2

#### Former Secretarys of Labor:

Mr. Peter J. Brennan Mr. George P. Shultz Mr. W. Willard Wirtz Mr. David A. Morse

#### Congressional:

Appropriate members to be determined on Monday by Max Friedersdorf.

# <u>Labor Management Committee:</u> (Presidential Appointees)

Mr. I. W. Abel
President, United States Steelworkers
Mr. Murray H. Finley
President, Amalgamated Clothing
Mr. Frank E. Fitzsimmons

President, International Brotherhood

Mr. Paul Hall
President, Seafarers International

Mr. and Mrs. Lane Kirkland
Secretary/Treasurer - AFL-CIO

Mr. and Mrs. George Meany
President, AFL-CIO
Mr. Arnold Miller

President, United Mine Workers

Mr. Leonard Woodcock
President, International Union of
United Automobile, Aerospace and
Agricultural Implement Workers of America

Mr. Stephen D. Bechtel, Jr. Chairman, Bechtel Group of Companies

Mr. Richard C. Gerstenberg Chairman, General Motors Corporation

Mr. John D. Harper
Chairman, Aluminum Company of America

Mr. Reginald H. Jones
Chairman, General Electric Company

Mr. R. Heath Larry
Vice President of the Board

Mr. Rawleigh Warner, Jr.
Ghairman, Mobile Oil Corporation

Page 3

Mr. Arthur M. Wood Chairman, Sears, Roebuck Mr. Walter B. Wriston Chairman, First National City Bank

Benjamin F. Bailor Postmaster General