COLLECTION FINDING AID



NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISOR.

NSC EUROPE, CANADA, AND OCEAN AFFAIRS STAFF FILES, 1974-77



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Introduction | Series Descriptions | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials of A. Denis Clift and his staff concerning U.S relations with and events in specific countries in Europe and Canada, trips there by American officials, visits to the U.S. by European and Canadian leaders, and ocean policy.

QUANTITY
30.8 linear feet (ca. 61,600 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-118)

ACCESS
Open, but some materials continue to be national security restricted. Access is governed by the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, and National Archives and Records Administration regulations (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Geir Gundersen, June 2012
[s:\bin\findaid\nsc\nsc europe, canada, and ocean affairs staff.doc]


INTRODUCTION

The “NSC Europe, Canada, and Ocean Affairs Staff Files” is a sub-collection of the National Security Adviser Files. The provenance of the Ford Library’s National Security Adviser Files is described in Appendix A.

The NSC Europe, Canada, and Ocean Affairs staff provided foreign policy support to the President, Vice President, and National Security Adviser on bilateral and multilateral relations in the region. This included, for example, the preparation of briefing materials, talking papers, schedule proposals, Qs and As, and courtesy messages. The staff also served as points of contact for the Legislative branch, American businesses, inter-American organizations, and the general public. It often assisted with Congressional and constituent services.

The NSC Europe, Canada, and Ocean Affairs staff was headed by NSC Senior Staff Member A. Denis Clift. Clift joined the NSC in 1971 and carried over from the Nixon administration when Gerald Ford became President in August 1974. Other staff members included Gerry Flynn and Robert Gates.

Scope and Content of the Materials
The collection is comprised of four series. The materials tend to duplicate materials found in other collections (such as those listed under Related Materials), but some of the internal memoranda and supporting materials used in creating final versions of documents prepared for the President and Vice President may be found only here.

The Country File contains strong materials on US diplomatic and economic relations with the Soviet Union, Canada, France, Great Britain, Greece, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Romania, and Spain, as well as the conflict between Greece and Turkey over Cyprus.

The General Subject File contains materials on a variety of topics including the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, Eastern Europe, the European Community, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, trade, energy, and ocean policy.

The Trip File contains material on trips made by President Gerald Ford to the Vladivostok Summit, the NATO Summit, West Germany, Poland, Romania, Yugoslavia, and the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe.

The Visits File contains material for head of state and other visits from leaders of Austria, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Great Britain, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Turkey, West Germany, and Yugoslavia.

Related Materials (June 2012)
The most closely related materials are in the National Security Adviser’s Presidential Country Files for Europe and Canada, Trip Briefing Books and Cables of President Ford, Presidential Briefing Materials for VIP Visits, Presidential Correspondence with Foreign Leaders, Kissinger-Scowcroft West Wing Office Files, Kissinger Reports to the President on USSR, China, and Middle East Discussions, Trip Briefing Books and Cables of Henry Kissinger, and U.S. National Security Council Institutional Files. Several categories of the White House Central Files Subject File, especially “CO-Countries” files, also contain related materials. Researchers can identify the file locations of additional materials relating to Europe, Canada, and ocean policy from PRESNET search reports, which are available upon request.


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Country File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1-41, 16.4 linear feet)
Memorandums, memorandums of conversations, briefing papers, reports, cables, and correspondence on U.S. diplomatic relations with countries of Eastern and Western Europe, in particular Cyprus, France, Great Britain, Greece, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Romania, the Soviet Union, Spain, and Turkey, as well as Canada. Substantive topics include arms control, East-West relations, energy, foreign aid, military assistance, military bases, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, trade, the Turkish arms embargo, and policy and security interests in the region.

Arranged alphabetically by name of country.

View container list for this series

General Subject File, 1974-77. (Boxes 42-67, 10.4 linear feet)
Memorandums, memorandums of conversations, briefing papers, and correspondence on a variety of topics including the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, Eastern Europe, East-West trade, energy, the European Community, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, military exercises, SALT, Law of the Sea, Two-Hundred-Mile Limit, deep seabed mining, Svalbard, Berlin, U.S. policy and security objectives in the region, and U.S. bilateral relations with many countries in the region.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series

Ford Trips File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 68-70, 1.2 linear feet)
Memorandums, memorandums of conversations, briefing papers, reports, cables, correspondence, press releases, biographies, and newspaper clippings regarding trips by President Gerald Ford. Included are Fordís 1974 trip to the Vladivostok Summit and his 1975 trips to the NATO Summit, West Germany, Poland, Romania, Yugoslavia, and the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe. The materials address U.S. bilateral relations with each country and multilateral issues within the region.

Arranged chronologically by date of trip.

View container list for this series

Visits by Foreign Leaders File, 1974-77. (Boxes 71-77, 2.8 linear feet)
Memorandums, memorandums of conversations, briefing papers, reports, cables, correspondence, press releases, and biographies for head of state visits from Italy, Poland, Austria, Canada, West Germany, Yugoslavia, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, France, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, and Finland. Also included are materials on a visit by Soviet Foreign Minister Gromyko and an unofficial visit by Queen Margrethe II of Denmark. The materials address U.S. bilateral relations with each country and multilateral issues within the region.

Arranged chronologically by date of visit.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Country File

Box 2 - Country File

Box 3 - Country File

Box 4 - Country File

Box 5 - Country File

Box 6 - Country File

Box 7 - Country File

Box 8 - Country File

Box 9 - Country File

Box 10 - Country File

Box 11- Country File

Box 12 - Country File

Box 13 - Country File

Box 14 - Country File

Box 15 - Country File

Box 16 - Country File

Box 17 - Country File

Box 18 - Country File

Box 19 - Country File

Box 20 - Country File

Box 21 - Country File

Box 22 - Country File

Box 23 - Country File

Box 24 - Country File

Box 25 - Country File

Box 26 - Country File

Box 27 - Country File

Box 28 - Country File

Box 29 - Country File

Box 30 - Country File

Box 31 - Country File

Box 32 - Country File

Box 33 - Country File

Box 34 - Country File

Box 35 - Country File

Box 36 - Country File

Box 37 - Country File

Box 38 - Country File

Box 39 - Country File

Box 40 - Country File

Box 41 - Country File

Box 42 - General Subject File

Box 43 - General Subject File

Box 44 - General Subject File

Box 45 - General Subject File

Box 46 - General Subject File

Box 47 - General Subject File

Box 48 - General Subject File

Box 49 - General Subject File

Box 50 - General Subject File

Box 51 - General Subject File

Box 52 - General Subject File

Box 53 - General Subject File

Box 54 - General Subject File

Box 55 - General Subject File

Box 56 - General Subject File

Box 57 - General Subject File

Box 58 - General Subject File

Box 59 - General Subject File

Box 60 - General Subject File

Box 61 - General Subject File

Box 62 - General Subject File

Box 63 - General Subject File

Box 64 - General Subject File

Box 65 - General Subject File

Box 66 - General Subject File

Box 67 - General Subject File

Box 68 - Ford Trips File

Box 69 - Ford Trips File

Box 70 - Ford Trips File

Box 71 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

Box 72 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

Box 73 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

Box 74 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

Box 75 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

Box 76 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File

Box 77 - Visits by Foreign Leaders File