COLLECTION FINDING AID



NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISOR.

OUTSIDE THE SYSTEM CHRONOLOGICAL FILE, 1974-77



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Introduction | Series Descriptions | Container List

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

A set of documents, primarily photocopies, that were not logged into the NSC computer control number tracking system. Many items had very high sensitivity for content or timeliness, but many others are unexceptional or even routine. The documents cover a wide range of topics, including nuclear test ban and arms control treaty negotiations, arms sales, military assistance to Israel, the Middle East peace process, Angola, U.S. relations with the Soviet Union and Cuba, and reorganization of the intelligence community.

QUANTITY
 2.0 linear feet (ca. 3,800 pages)

DONOR
 Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-118)

ACCESS
 Open, but many documents continue to be national security classified and restricted. Access is governed by the donor’s deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, and National Archives and Records Administration regulations (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
 Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Helmi Raaska, June 2005
[s/bin/finding aids & guides/nsc/outside-the-system chronological file]

Provenance of the National Security Adviser Files

INTRODUCTION

The Outside the System Chronological File is one of many sub-collections that comprise the National Security Adviser Files.

When National Archives staff received this collection at the end of the Ford administration, the boxes were labeled “Outside the System.” The exact office of origin is uncertain.

The collection consists almost entirely of photocopies, with occasional carbon and ribbon copies, of items that were not included in the regular National Security Council (NSC) computer control number system. Some items were not entered into the system because they were considered either highly sensitive or very routine in nature. They were often marked “OS,” “Outside the System,” or “Completely Outside the System.” “Completely Outside the System” appears to have been used for the most sensitive materials. In some cases the documents were time sensitive and were marked “Urgent Action,” “Urgent Staffing,” or “Urgent Information.” Originals or photocopies of many of these documents can be found in other National Security Adviser collections.

Scope and Content of the Materials

The collection contains memoranda, briefing papers, reports, correspondence, notes, and messages. These items are usually from the NSC staff to National Security Advisers Henry Kissinger and Brent Scowcroft, and from Kissinger and Scowcroft to the President. Supplemental materials from the Departments of State and Defense and Central Intelligence Agency are often included with NSC items. Researchers will not find a concentration of material on a given topic, but rather individual documents of high importance. Major topics include arms control negotiations, nuclear test ban negotiations, arms sales, military assistance for Israel, the Middle East peace process, reorganization of the intelligence community, Angola, Cuba, and the Soviet Union. Items concerning the Nixon-Ford transition and worldwide reaction to President Ford’s assumption of office are available, as well as briefing materials prepared for Donald Rumsfeld for his confirmation hearings as Secretary of Defense. Other materials relate to personnel matters and administration and organization of the NSC.

The volume of material is uneven over the course of the Ford administration. There are several folders for some months, while others have only one. The folder for September 1975 was received empty.

Approximately 50 percent of this collection remains classified. These classified documents relate especially to arms control and nuclear test ban treaty negotiations, the Middle East, and intelligence matters, and most have been referred for further systematic declassification review via the Remote Archive Capture project. Researchers can request access to materials that remain closed through the mandatory declassification review process

Related Materials (June 2005)
Related materials are available in a number of other National Security Adviser collections. Subject access to materials in processed collections is provided through PRESNET search reports. As collections are processed, the information is entered into the PRESNET database. Researchers can consult the Ford Library website for announcements of collection openings.

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Outside the System Chronological File, 1974-77.  (Boxes 1‑5, 2.0 linear feet)
Memoranda, briefing papers, reports, correspondence, notes, and messages, usually from the NSC staff to National Security Advisers Kissinger and Scowcroft, and from them to the President. Primary topics include arms control and nuclear test ban treaty negotiations, arms sales, the Middle East peace process, Angola, Cuba, the Soviet Union, and reorganization of the intelligence community. Materials concerning personnel matters and administration and organization of the NSC are also included.

Arranged chronologically.

CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Outside the System Chronological File

Box 2 - Outside the System Chronological File

Box 3 - Outside the System Chronological File

Box 4 - Outside the System Chronological File

Box 5 - Outside the System Chronological File