Gerald R. Ford Museum
Exhibits, Events, Education Center

303 Pearl Street, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

616-254-0400 (tel)
616-254-0386 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Museum Facebook Page

Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm (Mon-Sat)
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm Sundays
(Closed New Year's, Thanksgiving, & Christmas Days)


Gerald R. Ford Library
Research, Events, Small Exhibits

1000 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-205-0555 (tel)
734-205-0571 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Library Facebook Page

Hours: 8:45am-4:45pm (Mon-Fri)
(Closed Federal Holidays)



Core Collections on Science and Technology
September 2005

National policies and programs in science and technology are among the historical issues documented in the estimated 20 million pages of archival material at the Ford Library. Some of these materials are summarized below, but more is available in many different collections. Not included, for example, are extensive additional files on energy and environmental policies. Anyone may use these collections, and Library staff can provide database searches and other assistance at finding material on specific topics. The reference desk may be reached by telephone (734) 205-0555 or via email at ford.library@nara.gov. Research room hours are 8:45 am to 4:45 pm , Monday through Friday except Federal holidays. View detailed inventories of all Library collections.

DOMESTIC COUNCIL STAFF: Files, 1974-1977 (ca. 300 feet)
The Library has approximately three dozen collections from White House domestic policy advisers who specialized in different subject areas, some related to science issues. George Humphreys, for example, specialized in environmental issues and accumulated files on such topics as air and water quality, climate change, and wildlife management. Sarah Massengale handled many health topics, so that material on biomedical research issues can be found in her files. Glenn Schleede specialized entirely in science and energy issues, and his collection is highlighted below. James Cannon, as executive director of the Domestic Council, wrote and received material on many of the science and technology issues handled by his staff.

SCHLEEDE, GLENN R.: Files, 1974-1977 (28 feet)
Schleede was Domestic Council Associate Director for Energy and Science. His collection includes large and significant files on such topics as the space program, earthquake prediction, proliferation of nuclear technology, uranium enrichment, the organization of science and technology advice for the President, and other matters. This is also a key collection on policy affecting the production, conservation, and environmental impact of nuclear, fossil, and alternative energy sources. Some additional materials on science issues appears in a separate collection – the files of his assistant Dennis Barnes.

STENECK, NICHOLAS: Research materials for The Microwave Debate (1984) (3 feet)
Included are government documents released under the Freedom of Information Act, technical articles, and journalistic accounts from University of Michigan historian Nicholas Steneck's research on the microwave bombardment of the U.S. embassy in Moscow and related matters.

STEVER, H. GUYFORD: Papers, (1930) 1936-1990 (96 feet)
This collection spans Stever's career: a physics student before World War II, various positions at M.I.T. and with the military 1941-65, president of Carnegie Institute and Carnegie-Mellon University 1965-72, director of the National Science Foundation 1972-76, director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy 1976-77, and consultant to government and industry. Stever's interests especially included aviation, guided missiles, space craft, outer space, and technology development in the U.S. and overseas. In the 1980s, Stever was very active with the National Academy of Sciences while also holding advisory positions related to oceanographic and atmospheric research, the superconducting super collider, the space shuttle, space policy, and other topics.

U.S. NATIONAL AERONAUTICS AND SPACE ADMINISTRATION. HISTORICAL OFFICE: Interviews and documents, 1973-1980
Included are selected oral history interviews, documents, and publications related to the early development of the space shuttle program. Interviewees are John Ehrlichman, James Fletcher, Don Rice, H. Guyford Stever, and Caspar Weinberger. These copies were donated by the NASA Historical Office.

WHITE HOUSE CENTRAL FILES (ca. 2000 feet)
White House staff shared this vast common filing system. Among the many subject file categories used by the White House, some headings were directly related to science and technology issues, e.g. Atomic Energy, Health, Outer Space, Sciences, and each of the science-related federal agencies. An important supplement to this collection is the President’s Handwriting File which is arranged under similar headings to those in the Central Files Subject File. The Handwriting File generally contains smaller amounts of material, but is often of fairly high quality.