Gerald R. Ford Museum
Exhibits, Events, Education Center

303 Pearl Street, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

616-254-0400 (tel)
616-254-0386 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Museum Facebook Page

Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm (Daily)
(Closed New Year's, Thanksgiving, & Christmas Days)



Gerald R. Ford Library
Research, Events, Small Exhibits

1000 Beal Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-205-0555 (tel)
734-205-0571 (fax)

e-mail
Ford Library Facebook Page

Hours: 8:45am-4:45pm (M-F)
(Closed Federal Holidays)




Textual Collections, A-M

Select a letter below to go directly to entries starting with that letter
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Explanatory Notes
All Ford Library manuscript and other non-audiovisual collections are listed here alphabetically by title. Most collections are technically subgroups of the Gerald Ford Papers, but many other donations and deposits are included as well. When you read the collection entries, please bear in mind these points:

  • A person's "Files" are materials left in the White House to become part of the Ford Papers. A person's "Papers" are materials that he or she held privately and later donated to the library. The difference in content can be very small.
  • Every collection that is open to research has its own finding aid--a narrative explanation and summation of contents plus a list of folder titles. Full finding aids to open collections can be viewed by clicking on collection titles below.
  • Collection topics are mentioned selectively in order to illustrate contents. They are not comprehensive listings.
  • A parenthetical date, such as (1971) 1974-76, means that a small body of material is dated earlier or later than the bulk of the material.
  • Quantities (expressed here in linear feet of shelf space) can be translated roughly into 1 foot equals 2,000 pages.


AD HOC ADVISORY GROUP ON PUERTO RICO
See U.S.  AD HOC ADVISORY GROUP ON PUERTO RICO

AMERICA SINCE HOOVER:
Selected documents from the Presidential libraries, 1929-80 (5 feet)
This is a compilation of letters, diary entries, diplomatic cables, memos, and transcripts selected and reproduced by Presidential libraries from their holdings in 1991. The items were assembled for high school instructional use as an archival sampler at each library. Topics range from the 1931 Japanese invasion of Manchuria to the 1967 Detroit riot and Carter administration concerns about ozone depletion.

AMERICAN AGENDA, INC.:
Records, 1988 (32 feet)
Unprocessed - closed to research.

AMERICAN CITIZENS CONCERNED FOR LIFE, Inc.:
Records, 1972-86 (50 feet)
The ACCL was a national membership organization with early ties to the National Right to Life Committee. It undertook an advocacy and educational mission regarding abortion, maternal and child health programs, death and dying issues of the elderly, and other health care issues. There is a large unprocessed accretion.
NOT FULLY DESCRIBED IN PRESNET.

ANDERSON, GWEN A.:
Files, 1974-77 (12 feet)
Assistant to White House Counsellors Dean Burch and Robert Hartmann; White House Editorial Staff: Editor, Presidential Messages and Research.
Anderson was a liaison with local, state, and national Republican Party organizations. Most of her files concern routine aspects of Presidential messages and trip planning, interspersed with reports and comments on the political scene. The files of Robert Hartmann and John Calkins are closely related.

ANDERSON, GWEN A.:
Papers, 1972-84 (14 feet)
Unprocessed - closed to research.

ANDERSON, ROBERT:
Papers, (1948) 1965-95 (16 feet)
State Department: posts include Press Spokesperson and Special Assistant for Press Affairs to Henry Kissinger; and Ambassador to Dahomey , Morocco , and the Dominican Republic .
The collection contains materials primarily documenting the public side of diplomacy, especially Henry Kissinger’s public statements and press conferences (1974-75) and Robert Anderson’s later positions as U.S. Ambassador to Morocco and the Dominican Republic.

ANDERSON, STANTON:
Papers, (1972) 1975-76 (one foot)
President Ford Committee: Republican National Convention Operations Director.
President Ford's annotated original reading copy of his nomination acceptance speech to the Republican National Convention is the collection highlight. Other files concern convention scheduling, communication facilities, assignments, budget, security, space allocation, and White House liaison are the main topics.

ARANDA, THOMAS, JR.:
Files, 1975-77 (5 feet)
Office of Public Liaison: Special Assistant to the President for Hispanic Affairs.
Aranda was a White House liaison with Hispanic Americans. Immigration, community development, federal employment, and senior appointments were major concerns. Related material is in predecessor Fernando De Baca's files and in Reynaldo Maduro's files.

AREEDA, PHILIP See SCHMULTS, EDWARD.

ARMENTROUT, RUSSELL H.:
Files, 1974-77 (30 feet)
First Lady's Staff: Director of the Social Entertainments Office.
Material pertaining to social events at the White House, Camp David, aboard the yacht Sequoia, and occasionally during State visits abroad. Also includes material about White House Christmas cards and events, and about public requests for acknowledgement of birthdays, anniversaries, and graduations.

ARMSTRONG, ANNE:
Files, 1973-74 (1 foot)
Counselor to the President.
This is a fragmentary file of speeches, memorandums, and courtesy correspondence.

ASMUS, LARRY and PAULINE:
Papers, 1975-77 (2 feet)
California-based members of the Bicentennial Wagon Train
The collection documents the Asmus family's participation on the Bicentennial Wagon Train, especially along the Santa Fe Trail .

ASSASSINATION RECORDS REVIEW BOARD:
Photocopy of diary of Gerald R. Ford, November 22, 1963 to September 27, 1964. (less than one foot)
The Board acquired from Gerald Ford a photocopy of his personal diary for the period between the assassination of President Kennedy and the release of the Warren Commission's report. The Board then made this copy for the Ford Library.  Open to research.

BAILAR, BENJAMIN:
Papers, 1974-78 (2 feet)
Deputy Postmaster General; Postmaster General.
Scrapbooks of clippings and memorabilia form the bulk of this collection.

BALES, SUSAN FORD:
Papers, 1974-94 (1 foot)
Daughter of President and Mrs. Ford
Unprocessed - closed to research.

BALLENGER, WILLIAM S., III:
Papers, 1973-78 (6 feet)
Department of Health, Education and Welfare: Assistant for Special Projects; Deputy Assistant for Legislation.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

BARNES, DENNIS:
Files, 1976 (2 feet)
Domestic Council: Assistant Director for Energy and Science.
Barnes accumulated files especially on earthquake prediction, energy issues, and National Medal of Science awards. Barnes was an assistant to Glenn Schleede, whose files are much more complete on science, technology, and energy issues.

BARNES, SHIRLEY PECK:
Papers, 1967-2005
(5 feet)
Operation Babylift participant, author The War Cradle.
The collection contains correspondence, newsletters, newspaper clippings, research materials, and artifacts relating to Shirley Peck-Barnes’ involvement with Friends of Children of Vietnam (FCVN) and “Operation Babylift”.

BARNUM, JOHN:
Papers, 1971-78 (81 feet)
Department of Transportation: Undersecretary and Deputy Secretary.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

BAROODY, WILLIAM J., JR.:
Files, 1974-75 (1976) (21 feet)
Public Liaison Office: Assistant to the President.
The Public Liaison Office, headed by Baroody, fostered better communication between the White House and voluntary organizations and interest groups concerned with social or economic issues. Special White House briefings and conferences were a major part of the office's work.

BAROODY, WILLIAM J., Jr.:
Papers, 1961-88 (200 feet)
Assistant to Melvin Laird as Congressman and Secretary of Defense; Assistant for Public Liaison to Presidents Nixon and Ford; President, American Enterprise Institute.
Materials in this collection are from Baroody’s 1961-77 government service.   It concerns a wide range of policy issues and administrative matters, as well as Republican Party affairs.  Materials from Baroody’s post-government work at AEI, however,  remains entirely unprocessed and closed to research. 

BARRETT, ROBERT E.:
Papers, 1979-88 (3 feet)
Friend and associate of Gerald Ford.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

BECKER, BENTON:
Papers, (1967) 1973-76 (1980) (1 foot)
Attorney. Friend and adviser to Gerald Ford.
These fragmentary but informative papers mostly concern Becker's role in Ford's Vice Presidential confirmation hearings, the pardon of Richard Nixon, the disposition of Nixon's papers, and the 1976 campaign.

BELIN, DAVID:
Papers, (1961) 1963-88 (28 feet)
Counsel to the Warren Commission, Executive Director of the Rockefeller Commission, Attorney, and Author.
Material concerning Belin’s work on the staffs of the Warren Commission (1964), investigating the assassination of President John F. Kennedy, and the Rockefeller Commission (1975), investigating alleged intelligence community abuses of U.S. law.  The collection also includes much on his unofficial role as a leading defender of the Warren Commission report against such critics as Mark Lane, G. Robert Blakey, and Oliver Stone.

BENNETT, DOUGLAS P. See WHITE HOUSE PERSONNEL OFFICE: FILES

BENNETT-ALEXANDER, DAWN:
Files, 1974-77 (4 feet)
Domestic Council: Assistant Director for Justice, Civil Rights, Drugs, Consumer Affairs.
Bennett-Alexander, an assistant to Richard Parsons, created files on privacy protection and illegal aliens. She also inherited Kathleen Ryan's responsibilities and most of Ryan's files on consumer protection issues.

BLASER, DOUGLASS See ROSENBERGER, ERIC.

BRANDON, RON:
Papers, 1975-76 (less than one foot)
President Ford Committee chairman for Bell County , Texas .
Newsclippings, correspondence, and press releases concerning the Republican primary and November general election in Bell County , Texas .

BUCHEN, PHILIP W.:
Files, 1974-77 (47 feet)
Counsel to the President.
Ford's longtime friend and former law partner, Buchen directed the White House legal staff. He advised and assisted the President, his family, and White House staff, on constitutional and statutory powers and duties, campaign law, conflict of interest, judicial appointments, legislation, legal documents, and contacts with regulatory agencies, among other matters. Selected subjects include: the Nixon papers and pardon, the Vietnam War and the War Powers Resolution, and the nomination of John Paul Stevens to the Supreme Court. A file series on congressional investigations of the intelligence community is closed.

BUCHEN, PHILIP W.:
Papers, (1962) 1973-92 (2 feet)
Speeches, clippings, correspondence, souvenirs and other material on both social and official matters.  Includes some of Mrs. Buchen's desk calendars and her sporadic diary notes early in the Ford presidency.

BUCKLES, ANDRE:
Files, 1974-75 (2 feet)
Domestic Council: Staff Assistant for Community Development.
Buckles monitored District of Columbia affairs including legislation, Presidential appointments, Bicentennial planning, mass transit development, and Congressional Black Caucus interests.

BURCH, DEAN:
Files, 1974 (3 feet)
Counsellor to the President for Political Affairs.
Although uneven in quality and fragmentary in scope, the files document Burch's political advice from August to December 1974, including White House relations with the Republican Party, the 1974 elections, and other matters.

BURNS, ARTHUR F.:
Papers, 1969-87 (239 feet)
Counsellor to President Nixon, 1969-70. Federal Reserve System Board of Governors: Chairman, 1970-78. Ambassador to Federal Republic of Germany, 1981-85.
Most materials are from Burns' tenure on the Federal Reserve Board, although one important segment concerns domestic policy development in the first year of the Nixon Presidency. The Board was deeply involved in international and domestic monetary affairs, and the Burns Papers are an exceptional resource for both. Other prominent topics include, on the domestic side, innovations in banking practices, regulatory issues, inflation, the federal government's role as an emergency loan guarantor for corporations and municipalities, and an increased congressional role in Federal Reserve Board operations. Selected international topics include balance of payments, floating exchange rates, recycling of dollars earned by oil exporters, and multilateral financial assistance. Federal Open Market Committee materials, 1970-78, are among the open files and include verbatim transcripts of meetings and telephone conferences March 1976 - March 1978. Burns' papers as ambassador to West Germany and some lesser files are currently being processed. Materials will be opened as work is completed. A useful supplement to this collection is Wyatt Wells, Economist in an Uncertain World: Arthur Burns and the Federal Reserve, 1970-78, (1994). See also the Burns handwritten journals in the below entry.

BURNS, ARTHUR F.:
Private Journals, 1969-74
(less than one foot)
Counsellor to President Nixon, 1969-70. Federal Reserve System Board of Governors: Chairman, 1970-78.
Burns sporadically kept a private journal or diary between January 20, 1969 and July 25, 1974 while serving as Counsellor to President Richard Nixon and then Chairman of the Federal Reserve Board. View a transcript of the Burns journals.

BUTTERFIELD, KEENEY and AMBERG, ATTORNEYS:
Papers, 1943-64 (less than one foot)
Gerald Ford joined this Grand Rapids firm upon discharge from the Navy in 1946. Most of the collection is Ford's correspondence with friend Philip Buchen and others in the firm, 1945-52. The correspondence, most concerning routine matters, comes from the office of a successor firm.

BUTTERFIELD, ALEXANDER:
Collected items, 1973 (less than one foot)
Deputy Assistant to President Nixon.
Butterfield revealed the existence of the Nixon White House taping system during a private interview with Senate staff on July 13, 1973 . Included here are the stenographer's notes and a copy of the interview summary with Butterfield's annotations.

CABINET MEETINGS:
Collected items, 1974-76 (2 feet)
Cabinet meeting agendas, attendees' meeting notes and minutes, and closely related items are scattered through many Ford Library collections. In 1994, Ford Library staff attempted to locate and photocopy these core items in order to create this artificial collection for the convenience of researchers. Background papers on individual meeting topics were not copied for this collection. This set of reproductions is not subject-indexed in PRESNET, but most of the scattered originals were previously indexed.
SPECIAL NOTE: View minutes of many Cabinet meetings, contemporaneous biographies of Cabinet members, and more.

CALKINS, JOHN T.:
Files, 1975-76 (2 feet)
Executive Assistant to Robert T. Hartmann.
Calkins assisted primarily in White House relations with local, state, and national Republican Party organizations from January 1975 to January 1976.

CALLAWAY, HOWARD H. "BO":
Papers, 1972-77 (1979) (2 feet)
Department of the Army: Secretary, 1973-75. President Ford Committee: Chairman, 1975-76.
Included are miscellaneous materials from Callaway's posts in government and the 1976 campaign, and a detailed legal file on the Crested Butte Resort ethics controversy.

CANNON, JAMES M.:
Files, 1975-77 (36 feet)
Assistant to the President for Domestic Affairs. Domestic Council: Executive Director.
The collection provides a good, top-level view of most domestic policy issues, and it is a key source on management of the Domestic Council's staff and operations. Also, portions can be helpful on domestic program budget reviews, Cannon's limited role in the 1976 campaign, and Vice President Rockefeller's role in the administration. Cannon was an assistant to Rockefeller when Ford selected him as domestic affairs assistant.

CANNON, JAMES M.:
Papers, 1974-79 (16 feet)
The Cannon Papers are closely related to the Cannon Files, albeit less comprehensive in the scope of domestic policy issues covered. Notable here are segments on Vice President Rockefeller, the 1976 and 1977 State of the Union Addresses, the fiscal year 1978 budget process, and Ford's Puerto Rican statehood proposal.

CANNON, JAMES M.:
Research interviews and notes for Time and Chance, 1989-94 (2 feet)
The collection consists of research materials for Cannon's book Time and Chance: Gerald Ford's Appointment with History (1994) and a projected second volume. Included are transcripts and audiotapes of Cannon's interviews with President Ford and Ford's family and associates. Also included are notes and transcript excerpts from Trevor Armbrister’s 1977 interviews with President Ford during writing of Ford’s memoir A Time to Heal.

CARGILL, R. MASON and TIMOTHY HARDY:
Files, 1975-76 (3 feet)
Staff Assistants to Counsellor Marsh.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

CARLSON, JOHN G.:
Files (1972) 1974-77 (4 feet)
Press Secretary's Office: Assistant Press Secretary for Domestic Affairs; Deputy Press Secretary to the President.
Carlson assisted Press Secretary Ron Nessen, often acting as his representative at meetings. This collection is significant for informal notes and minutes from 1976 Cabinet meetings, and meetings with congressional leaders and others. The notes reflect a variety of campaign, domestic, defense, and foreign affairs topics.

CASSELMAN, WILLIAM E.:
Files, 1974-75 (2 feet)
Office of Counsel to the President: Counsel to the President.
The files represent only a fragment of Casselman's work and concern such topics as crime policy, privacy law, the Nixon-Ford transition, and the Interagency Classification Review Committee. Many more of Casselman's workproducts may be found in the Kenneth Lazarus Files.

CAVANAUGH, JAMES H.:
Files, 1974-76 (2 feet)
Domestic Council: Associate Director for Human Resources; Deputy Director for Operations. Deputy Assistant to the President for Domestic Affairs.
For most of his Ford White House tenure, Cavanaugh was deputy to Domestic Council executive directors Kenneth Cole and James Cannon. This collection is a daily file of his outgoing correspondence, primarily memos to other White House staff.

CAVANEY, BYRON M. "RED":
Files, 1974-77 (89 feet)
Scheduling and Advance Office: Special Assistant to the President. Advance Office: Director.
Materials concerning the operation of the White House Advance Office and its logistical planning for foreign and domestic Presidential trips. The majority of the collection has not been processed; only the International Trips Series has been processed and made available for research. This series documents President Ford’s trips to Mexico, Asia, Europe, the Pacific Basin, and Puerto Rico from October 1974 through June 1976.

CAVANEY, BYRON M. "RED":
Papers, 1974-77 (18 feet)
Unprocessed - closed to research.

CENTRAL FILES See White House Central Files

CHANOCK, FOSTER:
Files, 1975-76 (2 feet)
White House Operations Office: Staff Assistant to Richard Cheney.
Chanock was a liaison with the President Ford Committee's polling operation. His files include his analyses of such issues as "Presidentiality" and Gerald Ford's and Ronald Reagan's electability versus Jimmy Carter.

CHAPMAN, DUDLEY:
Files, 1974-76 (6 feet)
Office of the Counsel to the President: Associate Counsel to the President.
Most of the materials concerns Chapman's work on Civil Aeronautics Board decisions and airline regulatory reform. Chapman's other work is reflected in more fragmentary files on such miscellaneous topics as domestic nuclear industry security, coyote control, document declassification requests. See the Kenneth Lazarus Files for additional material created by Chapman and his peers in the Counsel's office.

CHENEY, RICHARD B.:
Files, 1974-77 (8 feet)
White House Operations Office: Deputy Assistant to the President; Assistant to the President.
As an assistant to Donald Rumsfeld and then as his successor, Cheney worked in the center of White House activities. His files concern domestic issues, foreign affairs, White House management, congressional investigations of the intelligence community, Supreme Court and other appointments, and the 1974 and 1977 Presidential transitions. Extensive material on the 1976 campaign includes weekly reports from the Ford campaign organization, plus Ford's notes from telephone calls to Republican convention delegates. There is an October 1976 planning memo for Ford's second term, should he have won the election. View digital images of the documents.

CHERNE, LEO:
Papers, 1973-77 (1986) (4 feet)
President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board: Member, 1973-76; Chair, 1976-77. Intelligence Oversight Board: Member, 1976-77.
The papers include informal correspondence with people prominent in the intelligence community and material on the origins and duties of the intelligence boards. There is little or no material on specific intelligence operations.

CODY, THOMAS:
Papers, 1972-76 (2 feet)
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: Executive Director. Department of Housing and Urban Development: Assistant Secretary for Administration.
Fragmentary materials, including manuscript and nearprint items, concerning management problems and procedures within Cody's agencies.

COLE, KENNETH, JR.:
Files, 1974-75 (1 foot)
Assistant to the President for Domestic Affairs. Domestic Council: Executive Director.
Cole headed Nixon's Domestic Council staff, remaining to serve Ford until early 1975. Although Cole's files are incomplete, the collection is significant for his notes from various Presidential meetings and for brief but regularly-made notes and checklists from White House senior staff meetings.

COLLINS, HELEN M.:
Files, (1974) 1976-77 (1 foot)
Press Secretary's Office: Television Coordinator.
Collins provided day-to-day production support for Presidential television appearances. The file is largely routine but contains a few items on 1976 campaign media evaluations and strategy. Robert Mead was Ford's television advisor and Collins's supervisor, but he left no files among the Ford Papers.

COLODNY, LEONARD
Papers: 1971-96 (3 feet)
Author, Silent Coup
Unprocessed - closed to research.

COMPOSITE GENERAL ACCESSIONS, 1964-present (2 feet)
Miscellaneous items relating to Gerald Ford or his administration form this collection. Donors include citizens, former officials, scholars and others. The earlier accessions are open, but subsequent accessions are unprocessed and therefore closed.

COMPOSITE GRAND RAPIDS ACCESSIONS, 1925-present (2 feet)
Miscellaneous items relating to Gerald Ford and donated by Grand Rapids area residents form this collection. Donors include Ford's scoutmaster, associates in his 1948 campaign, constituents, and others. The earlier accessions are open, but subsequent accessions are unprocessed and therefore closed.

COMPOSITE ORAL HISTORY ACCESSIONS, 1971-present (less than 1 foot)
Some researchers have donated tapes or transcripts of their research interviews with former President Ford and other administration officials. When a donation involves a single interview or a very few, that donation may be added to this collection. New researchers should credit interview donors when citing this material. Larger donations appear in this guide as separate collections. The earlier accessions are open, but subsequent accessions are unprocessed and therefore closed.

CONNOR, JAMES E.:
Files, 1974-77 (23 feet)
White House Staff Secretary. Secretary to the Cabinet.
As Cabinet Secretary, Connor organized Cabinet meetings, facilitated Cabinet member access to Ford, and mobilized Cabinet members on behalf of Presidential initiatives. His files include minutes of selected Cabinet meetings, October 1974-October 1975. As a protege of Chief of Staff Donald Rumsfeld, Connor accumulated files on management of the White House Office, especially personnel levels; Presidential scheduling; and early planning for the 1976 campaign. As Staff Secretary, Connor accumulated files of issue and personnel documents that went to Ford and files of memoranda that communicated to staff Ford's decisions. The collection also relates to reform and oversight of the intelligence community, the White House Fellows program, and Connor's special interest in energy policy.

DANNENHAUER, JANE:
Files, 1974-77 (65 feet)
Office of the Counsel to the President: Staff Assistant.
Open to research is a sanitized version of the extensive 1974 FBI background investigation of Vice President-designate Nelson Rockefeller. All other portions of this collection are unprocessed/closed.

DE BACA, FERNANDO:
Files, 1974-76 (7 feet)
Office of Public Liaison: Special Assistant to the President for Hispanic Affairs.
De Baca, like his successor Thomas Aranda, was an advocate for Hispanic Americans and a White House spokesman to them. The files document his role as communicator more than policymaker in such areas as bilingual education, employment opportunity, community development, and immigration.

DENISON, GEORGE:
Papers, 1976-77 (1 foot)
White House Editorial Office: Presidential speechwriter.
Drafts, notes, and texts of various Ford speeches and remarks.

DEVLIN, L. PATRICK:
Research interviews, 1976-77 (less than one foot)
Professor of Speech Communications
Transcripts of interviews with Ford campaign advertising advisers Bruce Wagner and Doug Bailey, and Democratic media consultant Tony Schwartz; and a related article by Devlin.

DOMESTIC COUNCIL COMPUTER OFFICE:
Files, 1975-76 (11 feet)
Domestic Council administrative staff tracked memos, letters, and enrolled bills by computer after November 1975. In box 1 are computer printouts that inventory these documents and provide cumbersome access to succeeding boxes of document copies and control sheets, all arranged by control number. The control numbers approximate chronological order. Much of this material is duplicated in collections of Domestic Council staff. See "Must I make advance arrangements to see certain "open" collections?"

DOWNS, MARIA:
Files, 1974-77 (12 feet)
First Lady's Staff: Social Secretary.
The Social Secretary planned official and private social events hosted by the President or Mrs. Ford. She and Mrs. Ford selected entertainment, menu, and decor for state dinners, holiday events, special receptions, and smaller private gatherings. Most were held in the White House, but some were at Camp David , U.S. embassies, and aboard the U.S.S. Sequoia. Downs and her predecessors, Lucy Winchester and Nancy Lammerding Ruwe, worked closely with Mrs. Ford, the President's staff, and the State Department Chief of Protocol.

DOWNS, MARIA:
Papers, 1975-77 (1 foot)
Included is an unpublished, upbeat book manuscript, "Mostly Wine and Roses," and other drafts and articles related to Downs 's work.

DOWNTON, DOROTHY E.:
Files, (1972) 1974-77 (2 feet)
President's Office: Personal Secretary to the President.
Downton assisted the President and First Family with personal correspondence and records of living and entertainment expenses. She also accumulated a few files on official and political matters, including a 1976 campaign strategy book and related media plan.

DUVAL, MICHAEL
See RAOUL-DUVAL, MICHAEL

ELLIOTT, ROLAND:
Files, 1974-77 (18 feet)
Editorial/Speechwriting Staff: Director of Correspondence and Deputy Special Assistant to the President.
Includes such administrative material as weekly public mail reports and analyses, an office manual, master form letters and response cards, and related attachments. Much of the collection is carbon copies of routine outgoing letters sent over Elliotts' signature or the President's mechanical signature. See "Must I make advance arrangements to see certain "open" collections?"

ERICSON, CLIFFORD:
Scrapbook on the American Revolution Bicentennial, 1976
(less than one foot)
Citizen and celebrant of the Bicentennial.
Ericson solicited and received letters from all U.S. governors on what the Bicentennial meant to them. He compiled these letters and related items in a personal scrapbook.

EVES, JEFFREY P. and JOHN SHLAES :
Files, 1974-76 (12 feet)
Office of Public Liaison: Directors of White House Conferences.
Eves and successor Shlaes organized White House conferences, briefings, and field conferences for representatives of business, labor, student, women's and other interest groups. Most events were town hall-type forums on major domestic and economic issues. Arrangements and proceedings are much better documented than policy impact.

FALK, JAMES:
Files, 1974-75 (1976) (14 feet)
Domestic Council: Associate Director for Intergovernmental Affairs.
Falk handled White House relations with U.S. territorial, state and local government officials and their organizations and lobbies. Renewal of the general revenue sharing program and the economic impact of military base closings are typical and prominent concerns.

FARRELL, MICHAEL J.:
Files, 1974-77 (29 feet)
Staff Secretary's Office: Director of the White House Visitors Office.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

FELTNER, RICHARD L.:
Speeches, 1974-77 (less than one foot)
Department of Agriculture: Assistant Secretary for Marketing and Services.
Text, notes, and drafts of Assistant Secretary Feltner's speeches.

FIELD, H. JAMES, JR.:
Files, 1976 (less than one foot)
White House Operations Office: Staff Assistant to Richard Cheney.
Field responded to routine campaign requests for Presidential messages, endorsements of candidates, and fundraising letters. Also included is a small file on campaign telephone calls made by Mrs. Ford.

FINK, JUDITH:
Papers, 1972-77 (20 feet)
Pro-life activist.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

FISHER, WILLIAM L.:
Papers, (1974) 1976-77 (2 feet)
Department of the Interior: Assistant Secretary for Energy and Minerals.
This is primarily a file of outgoing memos and letters from 1976, arranged by date, on such topics as energy and mineral leases on public lands and the continental shelf, ocean mining, mine health and safety, and mineral and energy stockpiles. Two 1974 briefing books concern a variety of Interior Department issues.

FLETCHER, ARTHUR:
Files, 1976 (3 feet)
Deputy Assistant to the President for Urban Affairs.
Fletcher advised and represented the President on such matters as urban affairs, minority businesses, and black colleges and universities.

FORD LIBRARY PROJECT FILE OF DOCUMENTS DECLASSIFIED THROUGH THE REMOTE ARCHIVE CAPTURE (RAC) PROGRAM:
Copies of documents, 1969-77
(20 feet)
This artificial collection includes copies of all Ford Library documents that have been declassified, wholly or partly, under the RAC program since November 2008.  Earlier RAC openings are omitted.  The Project File's main value is temporary access to declassified material until the source collection itself is processed and opened.
NOT FULLY DESCRIBED IN PRESNET.


FORD LIBRARY PROJECT FILE ON THE PRESIDENT KENNEDY ASSASSINATION RECORDS ACT:
Photocopies of documents, 1959-92
(2 feet)
Included here are duplicate photocopies of those Ford Library documents that were released by the President Kennedy Assassination Records Review Board and which are now, in photocopy form, part of the Center for President Kennedy Assassination Records at the National Archives in College Park, Maryland. Because the source or master copies of these documents are scattered in numerous Library collections, several of which are currently unprocessed and closed, this Project File affords the public with a convenient alternative means of access.

FORD LIBRARY PROJECT FILE ON PINOCHET/CHILE: Photocopies of documents, 1970-76 (less than one foot)
Included here are duplicate photocopies of those Ford Library documents that were released under a Clinton Administration program concerned with human rights and U.S. relations with Chile . Because the source or master copies of these documents are scattered in many Library collections, several of which are currently unprocessed and closed, this Project File affords the public with a convenient alternative means of access.

FORD, BETTY:
Estate Materials, 1950-2007
(20 feet)
Unprocessed - closed to research.

FORD, BETTY:
Papers, 1973-2011 (142 feet)
Trip and local event case files for the White House period outline Mrs. Ford's activities, including political travels, ceremonies, and White House dinners and entertainments. Also open is a select collection of popular magazine articles about Ford family members. Other segments are closed to research. For closely related collections, see the White House Social Office Central Files and the listing of First Lady's Staff files.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Congressional papers, 1948-73 (921 feet)
Ford's campaigns, voting record, bill sponsorship, speeches, newsletters (view digital images of the newsletters), and press releases are documented, 1948-73. Ford's work on House committees to 1965, and as Minority Leader thereafter, is thinly documented with the exception of his membership on the President's Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy (Warren Commission). The Ford office routinely destroyed many noncurrent files until 1964, when the University of Michigan approached Ford about the archival deposit of the papers now at the Ford Library. As a result, constituent and interspersed political correspondence, House Republican circulars and press releases, Republican Party publications and other reference material, special subject files, and travel and office administration files are extensive (or even extant) only from the early 1960s. See also especially the Ford Vice-Presidential Papers, which include congressional-era materials gathered during the confirmation process, and the Robert Hartmann Papers.
NOT FULLY DESCRIBED IN PRESNET.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Material from the writing of A Time to Heal, 1977-79 (15 feet)
Open to research are Ford's handwritten reflections (42 pages) on twenty-seven topics such as "How I make decisions," "What religion means to me," and "Richard Nixon's place in history." Ford prepared them at the request of Trevor Armbrister, a journalist who assisted in the research and writing of A Time to Heal. View digital images of the reflections. The bulk of this collection, which includes no White House-era files, is unavailable to research.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Papers relating to his U.S. Navy service, 1941-75 (less than one foot)
A copy of Lieutenant Commander Ford's official Navy personnel file, his own file of orders and fitness ratings, and materials received from former shipmates. During World War II, Ford served in the Pacific on a light aircraft carrier as director of physical training, a gunnery officer, and an assistant navigator.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Personal financial records, 1942-92 (2004) (99 feet)
Unprocessed - closed to research.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Personal papers, 1913-2006 (26 feet)
Unprocessed - closed to research.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Post-Presidential office files, 1977-2006 (596 feet)
Unprocessed - closed to research.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Reproductions from other Presidential libraries, 1949-68 (less than one foot)
The Ford Library has acquired reproductions of miscellaneous Ford-related items at other presidential libraries. Limited searches in obvious file locations yielded these miscellaneous materials about Ford in the Truman, Eisenhower, and Johnson Libraries. Included are tape recordings and transcripts of telephone and other conversations by President Johnson concerning the Warren Commission and the assassination of President Kennedy.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Redacted version of the FBI investigatory report on Gerald Ford, nominee for Vice President, 1973 (less than one foot)
This report, submitted to the Congressional committees charged with investigating Vice President-designate Gerald R. Ford, consists of field office reports and raw investigative data prepared by special agents, along with supporting materials.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Scrapbooks, 1929-2006 (36 feet and 73 volumes)
From 1929-78, Gerald Ford, his family, and later his staff, compiled 73 scrapbooks documenting his activities. The first 37 volumes, extending to Ford's Vice-Presidential nomination, are an especially useful biographical resource. The scrapbooks primarily include newspaper and magazine articles, but also programs, invitations, newsletters, other memorabilia and occasional correspondence. After 1978, Ford Library volunteers undertook the task of clipping articles from periodicals accumulated by Ford's staff. The 1929-78 scrapbooks are available on microfilm through interlibrary loan; a duplicate non-circulating set is available in the Grand Rapids Public Library.

FORD, GERALD R.:
Vice-Presidential Papers, (1948) 1973-74 (105 feet)
The collection dates from October 12, 1973, when President Nixon nominated Gerald Ford to become Vice President. The Robert Hartmann segment, however, includes material culled from Ford's Congressional Papers for use during Ford's confirmation hearings. The Vice-Presidential Papers are relatively complex and hard to use, in part because of the suddenness of events and re-organization of Ford's staff. The collection includes material on Ford's congressional career and Vice-Presidential confirmation; miscellaneous domestic and foreign policy issues; Ford's scheduling, travel, and speeches; office organization; and constituent casework and public opinion mail. However, material on the Watergate affair and relations with the Nixon White House is scattered, and material on the Presidential transition is very limited. View digital images of files concerning Vice President Ford's meetings with foreign and diplomatic officials.

FORD, RICHARD A.:
Ford Paint &Varnish Company scrapbook, 1929-62 (2 feet)
Brother of Gerald Ford; Grand Rapids businessman.
Scrapbook primarily of newsclippings, photos, and advertisements related to the Ford family business. The scrapbook was kept by Gerald R. Ford, Sr., as company founder, and continued by son Richard as his successor. A microfilm copy is available on interlibrary loan.

FORD, THOMAS:
Papers and family books, 1880-1978 (5 feet)
Brother of Gerald Ford; legislator and official, Michigan state government.
Included are a few early letters from Gerald Ford, Jr., to family, souvenir items, and a scrapbook on Thomas Ford's career in government. The bulk of the collection comprises books that belonged to the Ford family. A microfilm copy of the scrapbook is available on interlibrary loan.

FRENCH, JAY T.:
Files, 1974-75 (3 feet)
Office of the Counsel to the President: Assistant Counsel to the President.
The files primarily concern the Presidential Clemency Board and the amnesty program for Vietnam-era draft evaders and military absence offenders.

FRIEDERSDORF, MAX L.:
Files, 1974-77 (6 feet)
Congressional Relations Office: Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs.
Friedersdorf assisted, then succeeded, William Timmons as head of the Congressional Relations Office. A subject series contains a small amount of material on Congress and each of the many domestic and foreign issues before it. Other files include extensive sets of standard briefing papers for Presidential-congressional meetings, personnel clearance records, and social invitations to members of Congress. Friedersdorf conducted much of his business in person on Capitol Hill, often reporting orally to Ford. This collection is most useful when read with the files of office colleagues and John Marsh. See the Loen-Leppert collection for Friedersdorf's 1974 files as an assistant for liaison with the House of Representatives.

FRIEDERSDORF, MAX L.:
Papers, (1971) 1974-77 (4 feet)
Miscellaneous scheduling, appointments, correspondence, trip, and subject folders supplementing the Friedersdorf Files above.

FUHS, HENRY GEORGE (HANK), Jr.:
Papers, (1950) 1979-88 (8 feet)
Official, Kent County and State of Michigan Republican Party
Unprocessed - closed to research.

GERALD R. FORD COMMEMORATIVE COMMITTEE:
Records, 1977-84 (4 feet)
The committee oversaw fundraising and construction of the Ford Museum .
Unprocessed - closed to research.

GERALD R. FORD PRESIDENTIAL LIBRARY ORAL HISTORY PROJECTS:
Oral history transcripts and audiotapes, 1981-Present
(less than one foot)
Oral history interviews conducted by Library staff with Ford administration officials, journalists, and others.


GERALD R. FORD MUSEUM RE-DEDICATION COMMITTEE:
Records, 1996-97 (1 foot)
Unprocessed - closed to research.

GERALD R. FORD PRESIDENTIAL MUSEUM DEDICATION COMMITTEE INC.: Financial records, 1981-82 (2 feet)
Unprocessed - closed to research.

GERGEN, DAVID R.:
Files (1973-75), 1976 (12 feet)
Special Assistant to Richard Cheney. Communications Office: Director; Special Counsel to the President for Communications.
Gergen assisted in the 1976 campaign. He compiled debate briefing material on Jimmy Carter's positions, drafted some Presidential speeches independently of Robert Hartmann's speechwriting staff, and handled some media relations independently of Ron Nessen's Press Office. Gergen also coordinated the nomination process for the Medal of Freedom awards. There is no documentation for Gergen's relationship with the President Ford Committee, however, and the standing functions of the Communications Office are better documented in the Gerald Warren and Margita White Files.

GOLDWIN, ROBERT A.:
Files, 1974-76 (2 feet)
White House Operations Office: Special Consultant to the President.
The Goldwin Files supplement the Goldwin Papers described below.

GOLDWIN, ROBERT A.:
Papers, 1973-77 (12 feet)
A self-proclaimed "outsider on the inside," Goldwin sought ideas from scholars working outside the government to pass on to officials within the government. He organized a series of White House seminars, assisted in drafting speeches for President Ford and Secretary of Defense Rumsfeld, and identified scholars for possible positions within the administration. The papers reflect Goldwin's extensive contact with prominent intellectuals nationwide on such issues as education, the humanities, crime, and the philosophy of limited government. The papers also include material on  President Ford's November 1975 reorganization of senior personnel.

GOODELL, CHARLES E.:
Papers, 1973-77 (9 feet)
Presidential Clemency Board: Chairman. Attorney, lobbyist, and former U.S. Representative and Senator.
The clemency program for Vietnam War draft evaders and military absence offenders is extensively documented in Clemency Board minutes, case summaries, and internal memorandums. Also documented is Goodell's attorney/lobbyist work on such issues as privacy legislation, auto emissions, and Concorde SST landing rights.

GORDON, SHANA:
Papers, 1975-77 (less than one foot)
Department of Health, Education, and Welfare: Assistant Commissioner for Public Affairs (Office of Education); Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs.
The main topic is HEW's overall public relations efforts, especially the planning and execution of the Office of Education's public information program.

GOROG, WILLIAM F.:
Files, 1975-76 (4 feet)
Office of the Presidential Assistant for Economic Affairs: Deputy Assistant to the President for Economic Affairs. Economic Policy Board: Deputy Director.
The 1976 amendments to the Clean Air Act and Gorog's activities as an economic spokesman are focal points of this fragmentary, diverse file.

GRAND RAPIDS ORAL HISTORY COLLECTION (less than one foot)
Seven people who knew Ford as a young man discuss their acquaintanceships, Grand Rapids politics in the 1930s and 1940s, and Ford's 1948 congressional campaign. Interviewees are Arthur Brown, Philip Buchen, Kay Clark, Margaret and Paul Goebel, Dorothy Judd, Willard Ver Meulen, and Niel Weathers. National Archives staff conducted the interviews in 1980.
View digital images of the oral history transcripts.

GRAND RAPIDS SOUTH HIGH SCHOOL:
Publications, 1927-31 (1 foot)
Student yearbooks and magazines from Ford's South High years.


GRASSMUCK, GEORGE:
Papers, 1977-90 (2 feet)
Political Scientist. Gerald R. Ford Foundation officer.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

GREENE, JOHN ROBERT:
Research interviews and papers, 1986-94 (9 feet)
Historian. Author, Gerald R Ford: A Bibliography (1994); The Presidency of Gerald R. Ford (1995); and Betty Ford: Candor and Courage  in the White House (2004).
Unprocessed - closed to research.

GREENER, WILLIAM I., Jr.:
Papers, 1975-76 (7 feet)
Press Office: Deputy Press Secretary. Department of Defense: Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs. President Ford Committee: Director of Communications.
The papers in part concern press briefings, media liaison during trips, the organization and operation of White House and Defense Department press offices, and the advocates program of the 1976 Republican campaign.

GULLEY, WARREN L. "BILL"
Air Force One Passenger manifests, 1974-77
(less than one foot)
White House Military Office: Director
This collection consists of passenger manifests of flights made by President Ford, Mrs. Ford, and the Ford family on government-owned aircraft. Also included is a chronological list of Air Force One trips of President Ford and a map of Camp David. Mr. Gulley donated additional items to the Ford Museum.

HAIG, ALEXANDER M.:
Files, 1973-74 (3 feet)
White House Operations Office: Assistant to the President.
An August-September 1974 file of communications with White House staff concerns the Nixon-Ford transition: personnel, selection of a new Vice President, Richard Nixon's transition to private life, and scheduling for the new President. A file dating to 1973 has invitations, congratulations and other routine social correspondence. Haig briefly reviewed his weeks in the Ford White House in his memoir Inner Circles (1992).

HALDAMAN, JAMES D.:
Photographs and Papers, 1980-81 (less than one foot)
Official Photographer, Community Events Committee, Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum Dedication Committee .
This collection consists of textual and audiovisual materials related to the planning and execution of community events held in conjunction with the dedication of the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum in September 1981. The textual materials, which consist of press releases, schedules, correspondence, agendas, and minutes, document the work of the Gerald R. Ford Museum Dedication Committee’s Community Events Committee headed by Peter Secchia. These events celebrated the opening of the Ford Museum, and included a lecture series, fireworks, and the dedication ceremony, among others. There is also a significant amount of material in the collection related to the week-long “Celebration on the Grand” in Grand Rapids, MI, which took place at the same time as the dedication.

HALPER, SAMUEL:
Files, 1974-76 (1 foot)
Domestic Council: Consultant on Puerto Rico .
The collection consists primarily of Norman Ross's and James Falk's files from their work on the Ad Hoc Advisory Group on Puerto Rico . Halper, a journalist, inherited and used the files while serving as a part-time consultant.

HAMPTON, ROBERT E.:
Papers, 1960-77 (16 feet)
Civil Service Commission: Commissioner and Chairman. Federal Labor Relations Council: Member and Chairman.
Hampton 's speeches and trip case files are the bulk of the collection. Labor-management issues within the federal government and Hampton 's membership in the National Academy of Public Administration are prominent topics in the modest subject files.

HANZLIK, RAYBURN:
Files, 1975-76 (11 feet)
Domestic Council: Coordinator of Public Forums on Domestic Policy; Associate Director for Intergovernmental Relations.
Vice President Rockefeller conducted a series of meetings around the country to gauge public domestic policy concerns. Hanzlik handled the logistics, staff, and records of proceedings but not policy evaluation or follow-up. A small portion of this file concerns Hanzlik's work as an assistant to Stephen McConahey.

HARDY, TIMOTHY See CARGILL, R. MASON

HARTMANN, ROBERT T.:
Files, 1974-77 (38 feet)
Counsellor to the President.
Hartmann was senior staff adviser and speechwriter to Representative and Vice President Ford. He remained a senior adviser in the White House, where his formal duties included direction of the Editorial and Speechwriting Staff and relations with national, state, and local units of the Republican Party. Hartmann personally drafted many important Ford speeches, including those on the Bicentennial of American independence and Ford's acceptance of the Republican Presidential nomination. His files are useful on many other topics, for example, the 1974 nomination of Nelson Rockefeller as Vice President, but overall this collection does not fully reflect Hartmann's senior role.
See especially the Hartmann personal papers described below. See also the Ford Congressional and Vice-Presidential Papers for Hartmann materials 1968-1974, the files of White House Editorial and Speechwriting Office staff, and the files of political liaison assistants Gwen Anderson and Jack Calkins.

HARTMANN, ROBERT T.:
Papers, (1884) 1934-83 (96 feet)
Journalist. Senior adviser to Ford as House Minority Leader, Vice President, and President.
In 1966, Hartmann left a successful journalism career to work for the Republican Party in the House of Representatives. Thus began a close and long association with Gerald Ford, who was then Minority Leader. Topics in Hartmann's papers include Republican opposition to Great Society programs, speechwriting and press relations, and liaison between House Republicans and the Nixon White House, including minutes of 1969-71 leadership meetings (view digital images of the minutes). Subsequent material concerns the Ford vice presidency, operation of the Ford White House, the 1976 campaign, and Hartmann's important memoir, Palace Politics: An Inside Account of the Ford Years (1980).
The collection also richly documents Hartmann's earlier life and journalism career. There is material on Hartmann's youth and public schooling in Beverly Hills, California, and at Stanford University during the Great Depression, a 1938 post-college trip to Japan and occupied Manchuria and thence to Europe , World War II service in the Pacific, and Hartmann's career as a Los Angeles Times reporter and bureau chief.
In 1994, the Library received an additional shipment of chronologically and topically diverse papers. These are currently unprocessed.

HASEK, ELISKA A.:
Files, 1974-77 (3 feet)
Editorial and Speechwriting Staff: Director of Presidential Messages.
Hasek, after screening requests from the public, drafted messages of commendation, greetings, and good will to individuals and groups or to mark such special occasions as National Hobby Month. In 1976 assistant Michael Johnson answered politically-oriented message and article requests.

HENDRIKS, WARREN K.:
Files, (1974) 1975-76 (3 feet)
Scheduling and Advance Office: Director, Office of Presidential Spokesman.
Material concerning White House efforts to identify administration spokesmen to fill key speaking invitations that the President could not accept.  The bulk of the collection dates from 1976.

HENKEL, WILLIAM See CAVANEY, BYRON

HILLS, CARLA:
Speeches, 1975-77 (1 foot)
Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
A complete set of speeches from her HUD service.

HILLS, RODERICK M.:
Papers, 1975-2000 (34 feet)
Counsel to the President. Securites and Exchange Commission: Chairman. Attorney in private practice and advocate for effective corporate governance.
The collection includes some correspondence from Hill's White House service, but most of Hills' work files went to his successor Edward Schmults. Hills' Securities and Exchange Commission work is reflected especially in files of his speeches and congressional testimony. The bulk of the collection concerns Hills' post-government work, but these files remain unprocessed/closed.

HOFFMANN, MARTIN R.:
Papers and Scrapbooks, (1962) 1971-77 (1991) (26 feet and 9 volumes)
Atomic Energy Commission: General Counsel; Department of Defense: General Counsel, then Secretary of the Army; member, Defense Secretary's Commission on Base Realignment and Closure (1988).
Material primarily from Hoffmann's work as General Counsel under James Schlesinger at both the Atomic Energy Commission (1971-73) and  the Defense Department (1973-75); and his work, mostly under Donald Rumsfeld, as Secretary of the Army (1975-77).   Hoffmann's 1988 work on military base realignment is significantly documented also.

HOLLOWAY, EVERETT RAY:
Papers, 1971-76 (less than one foot)
U.S. Navy serviceman, participant in clemency program.
Materials concerning his Vietnam-era military service and participation in the Ford administration's clemency program.

HOLM, JEANNE See LINDH, PATRICIA.

HOOPES, DAVID C.:
Files, (1972) 1974-77 (26 feet)
Staff Secretary's Office: Special Assistant to the President.
Materials primarily related to daily administration of White House Office spending, personnel actions and allocations, office space, passes, equipment, perquisites, and comparable matters. Some material relates to other Executive branch personnel matters or to administration of the Executive Office of the President. Additionally, there is an extensive chronological set of briefing papers for Presidential meetings and events. See "Must I make advance arrangements to see certain "open" collections?"
NOT FULLY DESCRIBED IN PRESNET.

HOPE, JUDITH:
Files, 1974-77 (18 feet)
Domestic Council: Consultant; Associate Director for Transportation.
Prominent topics include domestic and international aviation, Department of Transportation budgets, highways, railroads, trucking, mass transit, domestic waterways, and motor vehicle safety and energy efficiency. There is a small file on federal paperwork reduction.

HORN, ROBERT J.:
Papers, 1974-75 (8 feet)
Presidential Clemency Board: Executive Secretary.
Materials concern the organization and operation of the Presidential Clemency Board.

HULLIN, TOD R.:
Files, 1974-76 (1 foot)
Domestic Council: Associate Director for Housing and Community Affairs.
Hullin's chronological correspondence file is here, but successor F. Lynn May inherited his subject files.

HUMPHREYS, GEORGE:
Files, 1975-77 (12 feet)
Domestic Council: Associate Director for the Environment.
Environmental protection, climate change, oceanic resources, national parks, clean air, and wildlife protection are illustrative topics.

HUTCHINSON, EDWARD:
Papers, 1959-76 (181 feet)
Michigan state government, 1947-62. U.S. Representative, 1963-76. Ranking Republican Member, House Judiciary Committee, 1973-76.
Of special interest are files on the House inquiries into impeachment of Justice William O. Douglas in 1970 and President Richard Nixon in 1973, and files on the Vice-Presidential confirmation hearings of Gerald Ford and Nelson Rockefeller. Other files relate to bills considered by the Judiciary Committee, the House Ethics Committee, the Commission on Revision of the Federal Court Appellate System, and the 1961-62 Michigan Constitutional Convention. The collection is on deposit from Michigan Historical Collections--Bentley Library. See "Must I make advance arrangements to see certain "open" collections?"
NOT FULLY DESCRIBED IN PRESNET.

HYDE, JAMES F.C., Jr., and STEPHEN WAYNE:
Research interviews, 1975-77 (less than one foot)
Political scientists.
Between 1975-77, Hyde and Wayne interviewed 20 Ford staff members as part of a research project on legislative clearance, enrolled bills, and legislative programming. Many interviews also discussed work relationships and job stresses. Interviewees included Domestic Council and Congressional Relations staff members, Donald Ogilvie of OMB, Richard Cheney, James Connor, Robert Hartmann, and others.

HYLAND, WILLIAM G.:
Printed material and papers, ca. 1975-92 (48 feet)
Deputy Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, 1975-77, and other government posts. Editor, Foreign Affairs, 1984-92.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

INGERSOLL, ROBERT S.:
Papers, 1972-75 (6 feet)
Ambassador to Japan; Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian Affairs; Deputy Secretary of State
Unprocessed - closed to research.

JENCKES, JOSEPH See O'DONNELL, PATRICK.

JOHNSON, SPENCER:
Files, 1976-77 (5 feet)
Domestic Council: Associate Director for Health, Social Security, and Welfare.
The collection covers such issues as food stamps, swine flu immunization, national blood supply policy, and physical fitness and sports.

JOHNSON, U. ALEXIS:
Diary transcript, 1974-77 (less than one foot)
Ambassador-at-large and chief U.S. delegate to Strategic Arms Limitation Talks, 1973-77.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

JOHNSTON, JUDITH:
Files, 1973-77 (1 foot)
Domestic Council: Staff Secretary.
Johnston tracked personnel levels, compiled budget figures, kept payroll and leave records, and provided daily administrative support. Administrative files are open, but individual personnel files are closed.

JONES, JERRY H.:
Files, 1974-77 (24 feet)
White House Staff Secretary. Scheduling and Advance Office: Deputy Assistant to the President.
Jones's files are especially informative on administration of the White House Office, the 1976 Presidential nomination, and general election campaigns, media relations, and the purposes and planning of Presidential trips and schedules. Jones worked under the immediate direction of Donald Rumsfeld and Richard Cheney.

JONES, SIDNEY L.:
Papers, (1954) 1969-92 (1995) (8 feet)
Economist; Department of the Treasury, Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy; other senior government positions; academic positions.
Jones held a variety of important economic policy positions in the Nixon, Ford, Reagan, and Bush, senior, administrations. The collection spans his government and non-government career and includes highly substantive policy memoranda, academic papers, speeches, and other material.

JUREY, PHILOMENA SPARANO:
Papers, 1961-89 (11 feet)
Voice of America White House correspondent and division editor-in-chief.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

KAMSTRA, ANNE F.:
Files, 1974-77 (7 feet)
President's Office: Staff Assistant.
This collection contains index cards prepared by Anne Kamstra documenting autograph requests for President Ford.
NOT FULLY DESCRIBED IN PRESNET.

KEESLING, KAREN See LINDH, PATRICIA

KELLY, MICHAEL:
Political campaigns ephemera collection, 1912-2008 (12 feet)
Collector of political memorabilia.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

KENDALL, WILLIAM:
Files, (1971) 1974-77 (7 feet)
Congressional Relations Office: Deputy Assistant to the President for Legislative Affairs (Senate).
Kendall , with assistants Patrick O'Donnell and Joseph Jenckes, handled White House relations with senators. He succeeded Thomas Korologos, whose materials dating from 1971 are scattered in this collection. Topics include the Vietnam War, military spending, intelligence community oversight, and energy issues. Other files concern confirmation of appointees, courtesies, and scheduling.

KILBERG, BOBBIE GREENE:
Files, 1974-77 (10 feet)
Office of the Counsel to the President: Associate Counsel to the President.
Prominent topics include busing for school desegregation, the Arab boycott of U.S. firms dealing with Israel , the Vietnam-era clemency program, Secret Service protection, and the Cabinet Committee to Combat Terrorism. Other, smaller, files range from abortion to implementation of the Helsinki agreements.

KISSINGER, HENRY A.:
Photocopies of selected files from the Kissinger Papers at the Library of Congress, 1974-77 (6 feet)
Secretary of State. Assistant to the President for National Security.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

KISSINGER, HENRY A. See also NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISER

KNAUER, VIRGINIA H.:
Files, (1967-68) 1969-77 (34 feet)
Public Liaison Office: Special Assistant for Consumer Affairs; and
Director of the Office of Consumer Affairs,
Department of Health, Education, and Welfare .

This collection contains materials relating to Virginia Knauer’s work as Director of the Office of Consumer Affairs under the Nixon and Ford administrations. The materials document consumer programs, budget development, and implementation of the President’s Consumer Representation Plan, as well as related speeches, press releases and publications.

KONTOS, C. WILLIAM:
Papers, 1976-82 (less than one foot)
Sinai Support Mission (SSM): Director and Special Representative of the President.
The SSM managed an early warning system in support of a United Nations buffer zone between Egyptian and Israeli armed forces in the Sinai. Included are Kontos's remarks to International Peace Academy seminars and other groups and SSM reports to Congress. The use of sensor technology as a peacekeeping tool is a collateral topic.

KOSTERS, MARVIN:
Files, 1974-75 (2 feet)
Office of the Presidential Assistant for Economic Affairs: Consultant.
Main topics are the creation of the Economic Policy Board, the board's March 1975 quarterly policy review, and relations with the Office of the Special Representative for Trade Negotiations during a period of upheaval in OSTR personnel and responsibility.

KUROPAS, MYRON B.:
Files, 1976-77 (5 feet)
Office of Public Liaison: Special Assistant for Ethnic Affairs.
Kuropas was a liaison with ethnic community leaders and voluntary organizations during 1976. The collection includes a generally routine reference file for such groups as the American Latvian Association and the Japanese-American Citizens League.

KUROPAS, MYRON B.:
Papers, (1963) 1975-77 (10 feet)
Materials relating primarily to Kuropas’s work as Special Assistant to the President for Ethnic Affairs in 1976, including arrangements for meetings with ethnic groups and background information on ethnic issues. A few items concern his duties in 1977 as Legislative Assistant to Senator Robert Dole

LACLAIRE, DAVID:
Papers, (1965) 1975-95 (one foot)
Grand Rapids photographer, associate of Gerald Ford, and Gerald R. Ford Foundation trustee
Unprocessed - closed to research.

LAIRD, MELVIN R.:
Papers, 1941-2004 (124 feet, 224 microfilm cartridges, 7 microfilm reels, and 4 oversize volumes)
U.S. Representative, 1953-68; Secretary of Defense, 1969-72; domestic adviser to President Nixon, 1973-74; senior counselor Reader's Digest, 1974-2006   .
The collection spans Mr. Laird's distinguished career, especially from 1961 onward.  Prominent topics include the 1964, 1968, and 1972 presidential campaigns; Congressional Republicans in the 1960s; the Vietnam War; numerous Department of Defense issues and policies of the Cold War-era; some Nixon White House efforts to avoid impeachment; selected domestic policy issues; and Mr. Laird's post-government activities.  Included are extensive  files created by Laird assistant William J. Baroody, Jr. (see also the Baroody Papers). The collection also includes research interviews and drafts for an authorized biography by Dale Van Atta. In some file series, most documents are closed pending declassification. There are unprocessed accretions.

LAZARUS, KENNETH A.:
Files, 1974-77 (24 feet)
Office of the Counsel to the President: Associate Counsel to the President.
The breadth of topics in this collection and the variety of staff who contributed to it suggest that these files may have been shared by several attorneys in the White House Counsel's Office. Illustrative topics include: John Paul Stevens' nomination to the Supreme Court, sex discrimination and the Title IX program, claims of executive privilege or legislative encroachment, standards of conduct for White House staff, the death penalty, public access to government information, and the pardon of Iva Toguri ("Tokyo Rose").

LEACH, PAUL C.:
Files, 1974-76 (16 feet)
Domestic Council: Associate Director for Agriculture, Economic Development, and Commerce.
Leach worked on agriculture, world food supplies, capital markets and financial institutions, small businesses, and regulatory reform.

LEHMANN, WOLFGANG J.:
Papers, 1973-79 (2002) (one foot)
U.S. Consul General, Can Tho, South Vietnam; U.S. Minister to the Republic of Vietnam
Includes oral histories, memos, and published and unpublished commentary on the fall of Saigon; memorabilia such as maps, an embassy directory, and issues of the Saigon Post; papers on administrative matters in the wake of the evacuation; and photos from the period preceding the fall of Saigon.

LEONARD, MILDRED V.:
Files, 1974-76 (8 feet)
President's Office: Personal Assistant to the President.
The bulk is routine personal correspondence between President Ford (or Mildred Leonard on his behalf) and his family, friends, colleagues, and former constituents.  Many of these letters are congratulatory in nature, but some also express opinions of the Nixon pardon and other events and policies and “get well soon” wishes for Mrs. Ford. See "Must I make advance arrangements to see certain "open" collections?"
NOT FULLY DESCRIBED IN PRESNET.

LEONARD, MILDRED V.:
Papers, 1965-91 (1993) (2 feet)
Personal secretary to Gerald R. Ford, 1949-77.
Includes a scrapbook, miscellaneous personal notes and messages, a 1973 Rolodex, and other memorabilia.

LEPPERT, CHARLES See LOEN, VERNON.

LEVI, EDWARD H.:
Speeches and scrapbooks, 1975-77 (6 feet)
U.S. Attorney General.
A bound volume of speeches and 13 scrapbooks of mostly newspaper and magazine clippings.

LINDH, PATRICIA S.:
Papers, (1970) 1973-77 (less than one foot)
Special Assistant to President for Women's Programs. Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Cultural and Educational Affairs.
Speeches, clippings, occasional memos, and other items related primarily to her White House work.

LINDH, PATRICIA, and JEANNE HOLM:
Files, 1974-77 (21 feet)
Office of Public Liaison: Special Assistants to the President for Women's Programs.
Lindh, her successor Holm, and their assistant, Karen Keesling, served as liaisons between the White House and women's organizations. The Equal Rights Amendment, International Women's Year, presidential appointment of women, and issues affecting the civil and economic rights of women are prominent topics.

LISSY, DAVID:
Files, 1974-77 (19 feet)
Domestic Council: Associate Director for Education, Labor and Veterans. Special Assistant for Domestic Affairs.
Includes files of Lissy's predecessor, Roger Semerad. Numerous and varied issues including, for examples, Ford's "Work and Education" proposal, training and benefits for the unemployed, medical care for veterans, and the Civil Service. Lissy also had major role in White House liaison with Jewish groups.

LOEN, VERNON, and CHARLES LEPPERT:
Files, 1974-77 (18 feet)
Congressional Relations Office: Deputy Assistants to the President for Legislative Affairs (House).
Max Friedersdorf, Loen, and Leppert successively handled White House relations with the House of Representatives. Their files are intermingled here along with files of their assistants. A subject file includes about 2,000 pages on the House Select Committee on Intelligence, but more typical are single folders on House issues ranging from starling control to the 1975 Sinai Agreement. A chronological file on Presidential meetings with Representatives provides standard briefing papers and, sometimes, additional information. Another file documents the routine personnel clearance process with the House Minority Leader.

LUDLOW, NICHOLAS H.:
Papers and publications, 1974-81
 (3  feet)
Chief editor and publications director of National Council for U.S.-China Trade.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

LYNN, JAMES T.:
Papers, 1974-78
(31 feet)
Department of Housing and Urban Development: Secretary; Office of Management and Budget: Director
Unprocessed - closed to research.

MACDONALD, DAVID R.:
Papers, 1973-76 (1978) (14 feet)
Treasury Department: Assistant Secretary for Enforcement, Operations, and Tariff Affairs. Defense Department: Undersecretary of the Navy.
The papers are substantive and relate especially to foreign trade and tariff matters, and Treasury Department law enforcement responsibilities. There is scant material from Macdonald's Navy post.

MADURO, REYNALDO P.:
Files, 1976 (1 foot)
Office of Public Liaison: Deputy Special Assistant for Hispanic Affairs.
Maduro was a White House liaison with voters of Cuban and Puerto Rican descent in the closing weeks of the 1976 Presidential election. Much of the collection is routine travel and schedule information.

MARRS, THEODORE C.:
Files, 1974-76 (46 feet)
Office of Public Liaison: Special Assistant to the President for Human Resources.
Marrs handled relations with about 160 widely varied interest groups, accumulating files of substantial research value. Prominent topics include matters affecting Native Americans, veterans, retirees, health care professionals, refugees from Indochina , and families of servicemen taken prisoner or missing in action in Indochina .

MARSH, JOHN O.:
Files, 1974-77 (48 feet)
Counsellor to the President.
Ford had known Marsh as a conservative Democratic Representative from Virginia , then as Nixon's Assistant Secretary of Defense for Legislative Affairs, 1972-73. Marsh joined Ford's Vice-Presidential staff and emerged as a key White House adviser, directing the White House Congressional Relations and Public Liaison Offices.
Marsh worked on a wide range of domestic and foreign policy issues and handled special assignments. The latter included coordination of White House responses to congressional investigations of the intelligence community, celebration of the Bicentennial of American independence, and transition matters related to former President Nixon. Congressional relations are especially well documented, sometimes including minutes of Republican and bipartisan leadership meetings with Ford. There is little Public Liaison Office material. A file series on intelligence matters is closed.

MARTIN, GRAHAM See NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISER. SAIGON EMBASSY FILES KEPT BY AMBASSADOR MARTIN

MARTIN, ROBIN B. :
Papers, 1972-76 (4 feet)
Scheduling and Advance Office: Advanceman for Vice President and President Ford.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

MASSENGALE, SARAH:
Files, 1974-77 (15 feet)
Domestic Council: Assistant Director for Health, Social Security, and Welfare.
Topics include abortion, problems of the aging and the handicapped, child welfare, health care, and medical research. The files also reflect Massengale's work on historic preservation, fine arts, and other cultural issues.

MATHEWS, DAVID:
Microfilm and papers, 1975-77 (25 reels and three feet)
Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare; President, Kettering Foundation.
The extensive microfilm includes Mathews's communications with the White House, Members of Congress, governors, Cabinet colleagues, and HEW staff as well as images of related materials and publications. Advance written permission to use the microfilm is required and may be sought through the Curator of Special Collections, Main Library, University of Alabama, University, AL 35486. A much later accession, comprised of materials from an ongoing research project, is currently unprocessed/closed.

MAUPIN, JOYCE:
Correspondence with Sara Jane Moore, 1977-83  (less than one foot)
San Francisco-area social activist.
Unprocessed - closed to research.

MAY, F. LYNN:
Files, 1974-77 (18 feet)
Domestic Council: Assistant Director for Justice, Civil Rights, Drugs, and Communications; Associate Director for Housing, Community Affairs, and Communication.
This wide-ranging collection includes clusters of files on drug abuse, housing, telecommunications, the Postal Service, privacy protection, regulatory reform, Olympic sports, the Commerce Department, small businesses, and illegal aliens.

McCALL, CHARLES H.:
Files, 1974-77 (80 feet)
Editorial and Speechwriting Staff: Director of Research.
McCall and predecessor Agnes Waldron supervised a staff that checked the factual accuracy of draft Presidential speeches, messages and other statements. The staff also gave reference support to the speechwriters. An extensive reference file of newspaper articles, press releases, newsletters and similar material is open to research. Also included are copies of speeches and remarks sent to this office for fact and style checking.
NOT FULLY DESCRIBED IN PRESNET.

McCONAHEY, STEPHEN G.:
Files, 1975-77 (17 feet)
Domestic Council: Associate Director for Transportation. Special Assistant to the President for Intergovernmental Affairs.
McConahey handled liaison and policy coordination with state, local, and territorial governments, and with related organizations such as the National Governors' Conference and the National League of Cities. Community development, energy and environmental policies, revenue sharing, the 1976 campaign, and federal aid are typical issues. A smaller portion of the collection derives from McConahey's work on such transportation issues as no-fault insurance and highway projects.

McCRACKEN, PAUL W.:
Files, 1974 (2 feet)
White House staff: Consultant to Counsellor Kenneth Rush.
McCracken, a distinguished economist, served a three-week appointment to help with the Conference on Inflation and Ford's subsequent special economic address.

MCLENNAN, JULIETTE C. "Judy"
Papers, 1976
(less than one foot)
Director of Volunteers, President Ford Committee
The papers concern her activities as director of the National Volunteer Desk of People for Ford during the 1976 general election campaign. They include her overview, assesment, and final statistical reporting on the National Volunteer Desk.

MEDEMA, MELVIN:
Correspondence with Gerald Ford, 1949-77
  (less than one foot)
Grand Rapids constituent and businessman.
Approximately one dozen letters on a wide variety of public issues exchanged between Medema over the length of Ford's career in office.

MEEKER, DAVID O.:
Papers, 1971-84 (10 feet)
Department of Housing and Urban Development: Assistant Secretary for Community Planning and Development.
This is primarily a personal reference collection of reports, memos, speeches, and briefing and study material from Meeker's HUD tenure.  Major topics include housing, community development, disaster assistance national growth policy, urban policy, and celebration of the Bicentennial.  There are some materials from Meeker's work with the city of Indianapolis and the American Institute of  Architects.

MIECZKOWSKI, YANEK:
Research interviews, 1994-2007 (less than one foot)
Professor of History.
This collection consists of audiocassettes and transcripts of interviews of former President Gerald R. Ford, Ford White House staff, agency officials, and congressmen. Yanek Mieczkowski conducted the interviews in support of his scholarly works, including his book, Gerald Ford and the Challenges of the 1970s. The interviews focus heavily on Gerald Ford’s response to the economic and energy crises of the 1970s, relations with Congress, 1975 State of the Union Address, and the 1976 Presidential campaign.

MILLER, CHARLES T.:
Telegrams, April-June 1975
(less than one foot)
Captain, merchant ship Mayagauez
The collection primarily contains marine telegrams between Charles T. Miller, captain of the merchant ship SS Mayaguez, and officials from Sea-Land Service, Inc., the ship’s parent company.  The messages were exchanged shortly before the ship and crew were seized by Khmer Rouge armed forces and after they were recovered by U.S. armed forces in May 1975.

MILTICH, PAUL A.:
Files, 1974-75 (1 foot)
Press Secretary's Office: Assistant Press Secretary to the President.
The file contains miscellaneous and generally routine material.

MILTICH, PAUL A.:
Papers, (1972) 1973-77 (4 feet)
Press Secretary to Vice President Ford; Special Assistant to the President for Public Affairs.
The bulk of the collection consists of newspaper clippings, wire stories, and press releases. Also included are position papers on issues and administration accomplishments released to the news media, routine correspondence concerning press relations, and speeches and press interviews of Vice President Ford.

MITLER, MILTON E.:
Files, 1972-77 (17 feet)
Office of Public Liaison: Deputy Assistant to the President for Human Resources.
Some material concerns Mitler's relations with the National League of Families of American Prisoners and Missing in Southeast Asia . The bulk, however, reflects his role as White House representative to individuals and groups celebrating the Bicentennial of American independence.

MOORE, SARA JANE See both MAUPIN, JOYCE and TERRY, SUE

MOORE, W. ALLEN:
Files, 1975-77 (2 feet)
Domestic Council: Associate Director for Policy and Planning; Associate Director for Operations.
The files chiefly concern Social Security, welfare reform, office reorganization, and a May 1976 detailed status report on Ford administration policy initiatives.

MORTON, ROGERS C. B.:
Files, (1975) 1976 (2 feet)
Counsellor to the President for Political Affairs.
The collection focuses on the organization of the President Ford Committee (PFC) and its early efforts to secure the Republican Presidential nomination for Ford. Morton left the White House in April 1976 to become PFC chairman.

MOSKOW, MICHAEL:
Papers, 1969-92
(7 feet)
Federal government official with the Council of Economic Advisers, Department of Labor, Department of Housing and Urban Development, Council on Wage and Price Stability, and Office of U.S.Trade Representative.
The collection contains materials from economist Moskow’s work during the Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, and George H.W. Bush administrations.  They concern such topics as collective bargaining, labor disputes, employment, economic policies, wage and price policies, and U.S. trade.

MUELLER, MERRILL See STILES, JOHN R.

MYER, PAUL:
Files, 1974-76 (6 feet)
Domestic Council: Assistant Director, Associate Director for General Revenue Sharing.
Myer helped coordinate efforts to renew the general revenue sharing program, which disbursed federal funds to state and local governments.

               

View list of collections N-Z

Return to table of contents for the online Collections Guide