COLLECTION FINDING AID



WHITE HOUSE USHERS OFFICE FILES, 1974-77

Permanent Operating Offices




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

The White House Ushers Office, headed by Rex Scouten, was responsible for White House Executive Residence operations. This collection includes materials pertaining to staff appointments, events, swimming pool construction, Christmas preparations, budgets and expenditures, and construction of a warehouse for storage of furnishings. Also included in the collection is material related to the production of a film on the history of the White House.

QUANTITY
3.3 linear feet (approximately 1,925 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 2011-NLF-007, 2012-NLF-061, 79-NLF-4)

ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Jeff Senger, October 2015
[S:\BIN\Finding Aids & Guides\White House Usher's Office.doc]

RELATED MATERIALS (October 2015)
Additional material related to the Executive Residence are found primarily in the White House Central Files Subject File, category WH (White House), as well as FG-100 (Committee for the Preservation of the White House) and FG-180 (National Park Foundation) categories. Materials pertaining to the swimming pool specifically can be found in the John Stiles and Merrill Mueller Files.


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION


Rex Scouten


September 16, 1924 - Born: Snover, MI

ca. 1942- 45 - US Army (Europe)

1948 - B.S., Michigan State University

1948-57 - US Secret Service

1957-63 - Assistant to the Chief Usher

1963-69 - National Park Liaison to the White House

1969-86 - White House Chief Usher

1986-97 - White House Curator

February 20, 2013 - Died: Fairfax, VA


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Staff Appointment Logs, 1974‑77.  (Boxes 1‑15, 2.4 linear feet)
This series consists of appointment logs showing the names of persons who met with individual White House staff in their West Wing offices, and the times of those meetings.

Arranged chronologically by appointment date.

View container list for this series

General Subject File, 1974‑77. (Boxes 16‑17, 0.9 linear feet)
This series contains correspondence, memorandums, reports, proposals, and plans pertaining to White House Executive Residence events, operations, maintenance, and construction projects, as well as a White House film project.

Arranged alphabetically by subject.

View container list for this series


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 8/19-9/30/1974

Box 2 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 10/1-11/30/1974

Box 3 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 12/1/1974-1/31/1975

Box 4 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 2/1-3/31/1975

Box 5 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 4/1-5/31/1975

Box 6 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 6/2-7/31/1975

Box 7 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 8/1-9/30/1975

Box 8 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 10/1-11/28/1975

Box 9 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 12/1/1975-3/31/1976

Box 10 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 2/2-3/31/1976

Box 11 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 4/1-5/31/1976

Box 12 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 6/1-7/31/1976

Box 13 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 8/2-9/30/1976

Box 14 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 10/1-11/30/1976

Box 15 - Staff Appointment Logs

  • 12/1/1976-1/19/1977

Box 16 - General Subject File

  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Arbor Day
  • Budget
  • Christmas 1974
  • Christmas 1976
  • Directives – Escort Responsibilities (Security)
  • Electricity Consumption
  • Entertainment/ Special Events
  • Film (1)
  • Film (2)
  • Film (3)
  • Film (4)
  • Gifts
  • Matchbooks
  • Menus
  • National Park Service Involvement with the White House
  • New clippings
  • Nixon Transition

Box 17 - General Subject File

  • Swimming Pool 1974
  • Swimming Pool 1975
  • Swimming Pool 1976
  • Warehouse
  • WIN Garden