Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



OFFICE OF WHITE HOUSE CENTRAL FILES FILES, (1971) 1974-77

Permanent Operating Offices



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection consists of official statements of departing White House staff on the disposition of their files, records of changes and additions made by White House Central Files staff to their filing manual, and a collection of White House staff rubber name stamps. Also included in the collection are copies of the White House Central Files Subject Files filing manual and the White House East Wing / Social Office filing manual.

The log books for oversized attachments, oversized attachments – shelf, and oversized attachment – confidential file are included in this collection as well. The Office of White House Central Files logged and assigned control numbers to items filed in the oversized attachment files. To facilitate research, Ford Library staff interfiled many of the items listed in these logs in appropriate Ford Library collections. Many of the items listed in the oversized attachments – shelf, however, were destroyed in accordance with the Library’s disposal authority. Ford Library staff annotated these logs to indicate the disposition or new location (name of collection) of the items. For more information about the oversized attachments files, consult the White House Central Files finding aid.

QUANTITY
3.3 linear feet (ca. 2,700 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession numbers 78-NLF-28, 81-NLF-31)

ACCESS
Open.

COPYRIGHT
Mr. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Nancy Mirshah, November 1992, revised by J.P. Schmidt, September 2012
[s:\bin\findaid\white house central files, office of - files - updates.doc]


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Administrative Files

  • Changes and Additions to Filing Manual

Box 2 - Administrative Files

  • Rubber Name Stamps

Box 3 - Administrative Files

  • Staff Files Disposition Forms (1)-(9)

Box 4 - Administrative Files

  • White House Filing Manual (1)-(4)
  • White House East Wing / Social Office Filing Manual (1)-(2)

Box 5 - Administrative Files

  • Oversized Attachments – Shelf Log
  • Oversized Attachments – Confidential File Log
  • Oversized Attachments Log