Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



WHITE HOUSE CENTRAL FILES

BULK MAIL FILE, 1974-77

Permanent Operating Offices



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection consists of bulk public opinion mail on a variety of topics and issues, including the pardon of Richard Nixon, Common Situs picketing legislation, amnesty for draft evaders, GI Bill, Vietnam veterans, New York City financial crisis, and energy, among others. Another major component of this collection is the uncategorized bulk mail received from children and adults.

The Ford Library saved an appropriate sample of general opinion mail from each of the major bulk mail subject areas, with the exception of the Nixon pardon, where staff retained all of the mail related to the pardon. Presently, only a small percentage of the Nixon pardon bulk mail has been made available for research. The sample items retained by the Library illustrate the type, quantity, quality, and sentiments of the whole. For most topics, the Library preserved a minimum one to two percent sample, but in some cases the sample size is as large as 5%.

QUANTITY
285 linear feet, of which only 18 linear feet (ca. 36,000 pages) is processed and open to research at this time

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (78-NLF-28, 81-NLF-31)

ACCESS
Some folders are open to research, while others are open upon request. Researchers should consult with an archivist prior to their visit in order to request that specific folders be added to the Library’s review-for-access queue. Even after the completion of this review some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

RELATED MATERIALS
Samples of public mail were filed in the White House Central Files (WHCF) Subject File “General” folders. Weekly public mail tabulations and summaries are located in WHCF Subject File subcategory WH 4-1 and in the Robert Hartmann Papers, boxes 139 - 144. A sample of received telegraphs can be found in the collection White House Telegraph and Travel Section: Sample of Telegrams. Public mail related to the First Lady and the Ford children was filed in the White House Social Office Central Files.

Prepared by J.P. Schmidt, November 2012
[s:\bin\findaid\white house central files bulk mail file.doc]


CONTAINER LIST

(Note: Folders with the titles struck through are not yet open to research, but can be added to the Library's review queue.)

Box 1 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Common Situs Picketing (1)
  • Common Situs Picketing (2)
  • Common Situs Picketing (3)
  • Common Situs Picketing (4)
  • Common Situs Picketing (5)
  • Common Situs Picketing (6)

Box 2 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Common Situs Picketing (7)
  • Common Situs Picketing (8)
  • Common Situs Picketing (9)
  • Common Situs Picketing (10)
  • Common Situs Picketing (11)
  • Common Situs Picketing (12)

Box 3 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Common Situs Picketing (13)
  • Common Situs Picketing (14)
  • Common Situs Picketing (15)
  • Common Situs Picketing (16)
  • Common Situs Picketing (17)
  • Common Situs Picketing (18)

Box 4 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Common Situs Picketing (19)
  • Common Situs Picketing (20)
  • Common Situs Picketing (21)
  • Common Situs Picketing (22)
  • Common Situs Picketing (23)
  • Common Situs Picketing (24)

Box 5 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Common Situs Picketing (25)
  • Common Situs Picketing (26)
  • Common Situs Picketing (27)
  • Common Situs Picketing (28)
  • Common Situs Picketing (29)
  • Common Situs Picketing (30)

Box 6 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Common Situs Picketing (31)
  • Common Situs Picketing (32)
  • Common Situs Picketing (33)
  • Common Situs Picketing (34)
  • Common Situs Picketing (35)
  • Common Situs Picketing (36)

Box 7 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Common Situs Picketing (37)
  • Common Situs Picketing (38)
  • Common Situs Picketing (39)
  • Common Situs Picketing (40)
  • Common Situs Picketing (41)
  • Common Situs Picketing (42)
  • Common Situs Picketing (43)
  • Common Situs Picketing (44)
  • Common Situs Picketing (45)
  • Common Situs Picketing (46)

Box 8 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Happy Birthday America Cards (1)
  • Happy Birthday America Cards (2)
  • Happy Birthday America Cards (3)
  • Happy Birthday America Cards (4)
  • Miscellaneous WIN Requests (1)
  • Miscellaneous WIN Requests (2)
  • Miscellaneous WIN Requests (3)
  • Miscellaneous WIN Requests (4)
  • Miscellaneous WIN Requests – Declarations of Oil Independence
  • Miscellaneous WIN Requests – The Pittron Way Coupons

Box 9 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (1)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (2)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (3)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (4)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (5)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (6)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (7)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (8)

Box 10 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (9)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (10)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (11)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (12)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (13)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (14)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (15)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (16)

Box 11 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (17)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (18)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (19)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (20)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (21)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (22)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (23)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (24)

Box 12 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (25)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (26)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (27)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (28)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (29)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (30)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (31)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (32)

Box 13 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (33)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (34)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (35)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (36)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (37)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (38)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (39)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (40)

Box 14 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (41)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (42)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (43)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (44)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (45)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (46)

Box 15 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (47)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (48)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (49)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (50)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by Miscellaneous Enclosures (Special Interest / “Gems”)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (1)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (2)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (3)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (4)

Box 16 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (5)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (6)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (7)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (8)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (9)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (10)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (11)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (12)

Box 17 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by P. 851 (1)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by P. 851 (2)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by P. 851 (3)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by P. 851 (4)
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by P. 101
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by P. 97
  • Children's Mail Acknowledged by PK 1
  • Children's Mail Photo Requests (1)

Box 18 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Children's Mail Photo Requests (2)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by P. 97 (1)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by P. 97 (2)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by P. 97 (3)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by P. 101
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (1)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (2)

Box 19 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (3)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (4)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (5)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (6)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (7)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (8)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (9)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (10)

Box 20 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (11)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (12)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (13)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (14)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (15)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (16)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (17)

Box 21 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (18)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (19)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (20)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (21)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (22)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (23)
  • Adult Mail Acknowledged by KO Cards (24)

Box 22 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (1)
  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (2)
  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (3)
  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (4)

Box 23 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (5)
  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (6)
  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (7)
  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (8)

Box 24 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (9)
  • Blue Card Case (BCC) – Nixon Pardon / Amnesty / Assorted (10)
  • Arms Sales to Egypt (1)
  • Arms Sales to Egypt (2)
  • Arms Sales to Egypt (3)
  • Arms Sales to Egypt (4)
  • Busing (1)

Box 25 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Busing (2)
  • Busing (3)
  • Congressional Pay Raise (1)
  • Congressional Pay Raise (2)
  • Congressional Pay Raise (3)
  • Congressional Pay Raise (4)
  • Congressional Pay Raise (5)
  • Construction Mobilization Day

Box 26 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Energy (1)
  • Energy (2)
  • Energy (3)
  • Energy (4)
  • Energy (5)
  • Energy (6)
  • Energy (7)
  • Federal Elections Campaign Bill (1)

Box 27 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Federal Elections Campaign Bill (2)
  • Federal Elections Campaign Bill (3)
  • Federal Elections Campaign Bill (4)
  • Fort Monmouth Movement of Personnel (1)
  • Fort Monmouth Movement of Personnel (2)
  • Fort Monmouth Movement of Personnel (3)
  • Fort Monmouth Movement of Personnel (4)
  • Fort Monmouth Movement of Personnel (5)
  • Fort Monmouth Movement of Personnel (6)

Box 28 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Fort Monmouth Movement of Personnel (7)
  • Fort Monmouth Movement of Personnel (8)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (1)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (2)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (3)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (4)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (5)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (6)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (7)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (8)

Box 29 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (9)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (10)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (11)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (12)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (13)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (14)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (15)

Box 30 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (16)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (17)
  • GI Bill – Vietnam Veterans (18)
  • Gun Control (1)
  • Gun Control (2)
  • Gun Control (3)

Box 31 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Gun Control (4)
  • Hatch Act Revisions (1)
  • Hatch Act Revisions (2)
  • Immigrants
  • Income Tax Surcharge (1)
  • Income Tax Surcharge (2)
  • Income Tax Surcharge (3)

Box 32 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Income Tax Surcharge (4)
  • Income Tax Surcharge (5)
  • Milk Bill (1)
  • Milk Bill (2)
  • Milk Bill (3)
  • Milk Bill (4)
  • New York City (1)

Box 33 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • New York City (2)
  • New York City (3)
  • New York City (4)
  • New York City (5)
  • PK-1 Acknowledgments (1)
  • PK-1 Acknowledgments (2)
  • President-Campaign Related (1)
  • President-Campaign Related (2)

Box 34 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • President-Campaign Related (3)
  • President-Campaign Related (4)
  • President-Campaign Related (5)
  • President-Campaign Related (6)
  • President-Campaign Related (7)
  • President-Campaign Related (8)
  • Spiritual Bouquets (1)

Box 35 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Spiritual Bouquets (2)
  • Spiritual Bouquets (3)
  • Miscellaneous Subjects (1)
  • Miscellaneous Subjects (2)
  • Miscellaneous Subjects (3)

Box 36 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Miscellaneous Subjects (4)
  • Miscellaneous Subjects (5)
  • Miscellaneous Subjects (6)
  • Miscellaneous Subjects (7)
  • Miscellaneous Subjects (8)
  • Miscellaneous Subjects (9)

Box 37 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Miscellaneous Subjects (10)
  • Strip Mining (1)
  • Strip Mining (2)
  • Strip Mining (3)
  • Strip Mining (4)
  • Strip Mining (5)

Box 38 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Comments Regarding Earl Butz (1)
  • Comments Regarding Earl Butz (2)
  • Comments Regarding Earl Butz (3)
  • Comments Regarding Earl Butz (4)
  • Schlesinger and Colby Firings (1)

Box 39 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Schlesigner and Colby Firings (2)
  • Schlesigner and Colby Firings (3)
  • Schlesigner and Colby Firings (4)

Box 40 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Comments Regarding General Brown (1)
  • Comments Regarding General Brown (2)
  • Comments Regarding General Brown (3)
  • Comments Regarding General Brown (4)
  • Comments Regarding General Brown (5)

Box 41 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Ford’s Comments Regarding Eastern Europe (1)
  • Ford’s Comments Regarding Eastern Europe (2)
  • Telegrams Referred to Departments (1)
  • Telegrams Referred to Departments (2)
  • Fair Trade Laws
  • Sowing the Seeds of Peace
  • Steel Import Quotas
  • DOT Bills H.R. 8235, S. 2711

Box 42 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Sugar Prices
  • B-1 Bomber
  • Letters in Spanish
  • Prayer Cards – Great Commission Prayer League
  • Condominium Developers / FTC Rules
  • Closing of Military Bases
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (1)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (2)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (3)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (4)

Box 43 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Miscellaneous Legislation (5)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (6)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (7)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (8)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (9)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (10)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (11)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (12)

Box 44 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Miscellaneous Legislation (13)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (14)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (15)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (16)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (17)
  • Miscellaneous Legislation (18)

Box 45 - White House Central Files Bulk Mail Files

  • Nixon Pardon – Pro (1)
  • Nixon Pardon – Pro (2)
  • Nixon Pardon – Con (1)
  • Nixon Pardon – Con (2)