ÔĽŅ
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



U.S. SECRET SERVICE. EXECUTIVE PROTECTIVE SERVICE FILES, 1974-77




SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection contains records created by the Executive Protective Service in the performance of their duties of securing the White House and Old Executive Office Building facilities and grounds, and protection of the President and the First Family. The records document the visitors to the Oval Office, Presidentís Private Study, and Cabinet Room, and the movement and activities of the President and the First Family at the White House. The bulk of this collection consists of group lists and individual appointment cards of visitors.

QUANTITY
124 linear feet (ca. 225,000 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (accession number 77-NLF-106 and 89-NLF-018)

ACCESS
Closed. This collection is temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256). Researchers may contact the Library for information about how to appeal the access restriction decision of individual documents.

COPYRIGHT
Gerald Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by J.P. Schmidt, September 2014
[s:\bin\findaid\u.s. secret service files.doc]


SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Oval Office, Presidentís Private Study, Cabinet Room Post Log Book, 5/1974‑2/1975.  (Box 1, 0.1 linear feet)
This series consists of a log recording individuals who entered the Oval Office, Presidentís Private Study, and Cabinet Room for meetings or to perform work. Each entry includes the date, name of individual who entered the space, time in and out, remarks, and the name of the officer making the entry.

Arranged chronologically.

Presidentís White House Movement Log, 9/1974‑12/1974. (Box 1, 0.1 linear feet)
This series consists of a log recording the movements of the President around the White House complex. Each entry includes the date, time, location, signal, and the name of the officer making the entry.

Arranged chronologically.

Presidentís White House Activity Log, 8/1974‑1/1977.  (Box 1, 0.4 linear feet)
This series consists of a log recording the activities of the President at the White House. Each entry includes the date, time, description of the activity, and name of the officer making the entry.

Arranged chronologically.

Mansion Movement Post Logs, 1974‑77. (Boxes 2‑4, 1.3 linear feet)
This series consists of post logs indicating the time that the President, First Lady, First Family members, and visitors entered and exited the White House Executive Residence, or Mansion. A monthly report on the number of visitors each day is also included.

Arranged chronologically. The monthly reports appear at the beginning of the series.

Monthly Reports, 1974‑77.  (Box 4, 0.1 linear feet)
This series consists of monthly reports on the number of White House and Old Executive Office Building (OEOB) visitors. The data are presented in tables arranged by week and post. There are no reports for August to September 1974, December 1974, February to March 1975, May to August 1975, and November 1975.

Arranged chronologically.

Daily Summation Reports, 1974‑77. (Box 5, 0.4 linear feet)
This series consists of daily summary reports of visitors arriving through each post. The report includes the post, month, date, and number of visitors (individuals and groups).

Arranged chronologically.

Individual Appointment Slips, 1974‑77.  (Boxes 5‑83, 82 linear feet)
This series consists of individual appointment record forms. The form includes the name of the visitor, name of the White House staff member who requested the appointment, date, time expected, time arrived, identification used, remarks, officerís name, and post. Also included for the month of August 1974 is a list of individual appointments. The list includes the name of the visitor, name of White House staff member visited, and time entered.

Arranged chronologically, thereunder by post.

Group Appointment Lists, 1974‑77. (Boxes 84‑161, 34 linear feet)
This series consists of group appointment lists. The lists include the names of the people included in the group, and occasionally, additional information about the person. Many of the lists have been annotated by the Secret Service agents to indicate that an individual was present and the arrival time. Interfiled throughout these lists are access lists for those awaiting a White House pass determination. Also included are the Vice Presidentís group appointment lists for September 1975.

Arranged by month, thereunder by post.

Tour Group File, 1974‑77.  (Boxes 162‑165, 1.5 linear feet)
This series consists of memoranda from Michael Farrell of the White House Tour Office to Secret Service Chief Earl Drescher. The memoranda list the tour groups for each day, who requested the tour, the groupís leader, tour time, and number of people in the group. Many documents are annotated by the Secret Service to update tour time and number in each group.

Arranged chronologically.

Badge Logs, 1/1976 and 4/1976. (Box 165, 0.2 linear feet)
This series consists of logs recording the use of White House badges by visitors, mostly vendors, contractors, press, and Federal employees. The log includes the individualís name, date of birth, and company, name of White House employee responsible for individual, badge number, and time signed in and out.

Arranged chronologically.

Press Appointment Logs, 1974‑77.  (Boxes 166‑168, 1.2 linear feet)
This series consists of logs of press appointments. The log includes the name of the visitor, date of birth, affiliation, the name of the White House staff member that authorized the appointment, arrival gate and time, and the time the appointment was received at the post.

Arranged chronologically.

Presidentís Schedules, 1974‑77. (Boxes 169‑170, 0.8 linear feet)
This series consists of the Presidentís daily schedule. Each schedule entry includes the time and a description of the event.

Arranged chronologically.

Social Events File, 1974‑77.  (Boxes 171‑174, 1.8 linear feet)
This series consists primarily of lists of individuals participating in social events at the White House. The lists include attendee names, and occasionally, additional information about the person. Many of the lists have been annotated by the Secret Service agents to indicate that an individual was present.

Arranged chronologically.

Control Center File, 9/1974‑2/1976. (Box 175, 0.4 linear feet)
This series consists primarily of name check requests for attendees at White House events. Also included are group appointment lists and administrative correspondence.

Arranged chronologically.