Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



U.S. NATIONAL SECURITY AGENCY

NON-RECORD COPIES OF HELICOPTER RADIO MESSAGES DURING

EVACUATION OF U.S. EMBASSY IN SAIGON, 4/29-30/1975



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Introduction | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Non-record copies of communications between evacuation helicopters and their command and control center intercepted during the final hours of the U.S. evacuation of Saigon, April 1975. These communications were collected by a National Security Agency signals intelligence command post known as Cricket.

QUANTITY
Less than 1 linear foot (ca. 250 pages)

DONOR
National Security Agency (1999-NLF-031)

ACCESS
Open except for security classified information.

COPYRIGHT
Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Karen B. Holzhausen, April 16, 1999
[s:\bin\findaid\u.s. national security agency - radio messages.doc]


INTRODUCTION

In his letter donating this collection to the Gerald R. Ford Library, Lt. Gen. Kenneth A. Minihan, Director, National Security Agency, described the materials as follows: “The enclosed file represents messages pertaining to the evacuation of Saigon, 29 and 30 April 1975. As a classified file, it was in the possession of an NSA analyst since the evacuation, and only recently came into the Center for Cryptologic History. It is no longer considered sensitive, and we have secured authorization from the Office of the Secretary of Defense for its declassification and release. In view of the importance of the evacuation to the history of the Ford Administration, it is appropriate that the file be turned over to the Ford Library for dispostion.”

He continued, “When the evacuation plan was written, one of the SIGINT collection units in Southeast Asia was tasked with intercepting U.S. communications and forwarding copies to U.S. command and control authorities in Hawaii and Washington. This organization collected communications from the EC-130 Airborne Battlefield Command and Control Center (ABCCC), as it relayed communications to and from the helicopters ferrying evacuees from the DAO [Defense Attache Office] compound at Tan Son Nhut, and from the American Embassy, to the U.S. fleet off-shore. The enclosed messages are verbatim transcripts of transmissions from that command post, commonly referred to by its covername, Cricket.”

“Although the helicopter evacuation began about 1400 Saigon time on 29 April, this file of messages does not begin until 1602 local. (Note that the time following each message is in Zulu time, which is eight hours behind Saigon time.) This probably accounts for the fact that, though 236 messages were passed, this file contains only 216. The evacuation’s conclusion, and the last transmission in the file, were at 0751 Saigon time (2351Z). At that time the Marine ground security force was on the last helicopter and the embassy was abandoned to the remaining Vietnamese.”

The messages are very cryptic and replete with military jargon making them most useful to researchers who already have a full grasp of the events, but to such a reader they provide drama and immediacy rarely found in historical documents.

The transcriptions have been divided into folders by hours with titles being given in Washington,D.C. and Saigon time to assist researchers wishing to place these messages in context with other documents using non-military times.

Related Materials (April 1999)
National Security Adviser: Files (1969) 1974-77, particularly NSC Staff, Convenience file of communications with the U.S. Embassy in Saigon, (1963) 1970-75 (1976).


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Message Intercepts

  • Washington, DC Time: 4:02 a.m.-4:55 a.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 4:02 p.m.-4:55 p.m. (April 29, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 5:00 a.m.-5:33 a.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 5:00p.m.-5:33 p.m. (April 29, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 6:00 a.m.-6:54 a.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 6 p.m.-6:54 p.m. (April 29, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 7:02 a.m.-7:44 a.m. (April 29, 1975; Saigon Time: 7:02 p.m.-7:44 p.m.) (April 29, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 8:11a.m.-8:59 a.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 8:11 p.m.-8:59 p.m. (April 29, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 9:01 a.m.-9:59 a.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 9:01 p.m.-9/59 p.m. (April 29, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 10:22 a.m.-10:55 a.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 10:22 p.m.-10:55 p.m. (April 29, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 11:00 a.m.-11:59 a.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 11:00 p.m.-11:59 p.m. (April 29, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 12:01 p.m.-12:53 p.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 12:01 a.m.-12:53 a.m. (April 30, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 1:08 p.m.-1:58 p.m. (April 19, 1975); Saigon Time: 1:08 a.m.-1:58 a.m. (April 30, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 2:09 p.m.-2:59 p.m. (April 29, (1975); Saigon Time: 2:09 a.m.-2:59 a.m. (April 30, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 3:05 p.m.-3:58 p.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 3:05 a.m.-3:58 a.m. (April 30, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 4:00 p.m.-4:58 p.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 4:00 a.m.-4:58 a.m. (April 30, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 5:01 p.m.-5:57 p.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 5:01 a.m.-5:57 a.m. (April 30, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 6:03 p.m.-6:56 p.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 6:03 a.m.-6:56 a.m. (April 30, 1975)
  • Washington, DC Time: 7:00 p.m.-7:51 p.m. (April 29, 1975); Saigon Time: 7:00 a.m.-7:51 a.m. (April 30, 1975)
  • Defense Attache Office, Photos of (Record of photos transferred to AV)