Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



SAINT VINCENT COLLEGE (PA)

U.S.S. MONTEREY COLLECTION: COLLECTED ITEMS, 1943-97



SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Materials collected by the Saint Vincent College Center for Northern Appalachian Studies from crewman John Paul Priolette during oral history interviews conducted with men who had served in World War II on the U.S.S. Monterey. Included are a photocopy of Mr. Priolette’s personal war diary and fragmentary ship publications, such as newsletters edited by Lt. Gerald R. Ford, daily ship work schedules, memos issued by commanding officers, war news releases, and a ship anniversary celebration menu. Mr. Priolette’s diary will be published as an appendix to the Center’s upcoming book, Brothers in Arms. Related materials, including additional newsletters, may be found in the Gerald R. Ford Papers Relating to his U.S. Navy Service, 1941-75.

QUANTITY
Less than 1 linear foot (ca. 75 pages)

DONOR
John Paul Priolette and the St. Vincent College Center for Northern Appalachian Studies Oral History Program (accession number 98-NLF-005)

ACCESS
Open for research.

COPYRIGHT
The copyrights to Mr. Priolette’s diary presumably remain with him. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Nancy Mirshah, June, 1998
[s:\bin\findaid\saint vincent's college - collected items.doc]