SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

This collection contains material prepared or compiled by Slight documenting his work assisting Counsellor to the President Anne Armstrong and in communications office activities. There are extensive materials related to Spanish speaking Americans and White House communications.

QUANTITY
9.7 linear feet (approximately 19,400 pages)

DONOR
Gerald R. Ford (1977-NLF-021)

ACCESS
Open. Some items may be temporarily restricted under terms of the donor's deed of gift, a copy of which is available on request, or under National Archives and Records Administration general restrictions (36 CFR 1256).

COPYRIGHT
Gerald R. Ford donated to the United States of America his copyrights in all of his unpublished writings in National Archives collections. The copyrights to materials written by other individuals or organizations are presumed to remain with them. Works prepared by U.S. Government employees as part of their official duties are in the public domain.

Prepared by Jeremy Schmidt, Ashlee Chism, and Matt Green, June 2014
[S/BIN/Finding Aids and Guides/slight files.doc]

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

Frederic Slight

June 29, 1946 - Born in Alexandria, VA

1968 - B.A., College of William and Mary

1968-69 - Teacher, Fairfax County, VA

1969-1973 - Staff, Republican National Committee

5/1973-? - Staff, Cabinet Committee on Opportunities for Spanish Speaking People

?-12/1974 - Staff Assistant to Counsellor to the President Anne Armstrong

12/1974-9/1975 - Staff Assistant, Office of Public Liaison

10/1975-1/1977 - Deputy Special Assistant to the President (Communications), Press Secretary’s Office

INTRODUCTION

This collection contains letters, memoranda, published articles and drafts, clippings, publications, planning calendars, and press releases compiled by Frederic Slight during his service as staff assistant to Counsellor to the President Anne Armstrong and as a special assistant in the Office of Communications. The files contain very few documents from the period Slight served in the Office of Public Liaison.

Counsellor Armstrong established the first White House Office of Women's Programs in 1973 to provide a liaison between President Nixon and women and women's groups. It sought to recruit women appointees to high level government positions and to assist in gaining greater employment opportunity for women in the Federal sector through regulation and legislation. Ms. Armstrong continued her service in the Ford administration through December 1974, at which point Mr. Slight was assigned to the Office of Public Liaison.

The Slight Files document Armstrong’s work with Women, but to a greater degree her work with minority groups, especially Spanish speaking Americans. Much of the collection consists of background information and data related to Federal employment of these groups. A limited amount of material covers White House actions and programs. Also included in the collection are documents related to the Cabinet Committee on Opportunities for Spanish Speaking People and the Civil Service Commission. Much of the material dates from the Ford administration, but some documents are from the Nixon administration.

In October 1975, Frederic Slight transferred to the Press Secretary’s Office, and remained there through the end of the Ford administration. In this office he was responsible for coordinating responses to requests for Presidential statements and responses to questionnaires from the media, especially magazines, and organizations. These were either declined, or if accepted, sent to particular White House office for response, given responses from previously released material (e.g., speeches), or answered by the communications staff. Slight was also responsible for drafting fact sheets on Ford administration policies, programs, and achievements, which were used heavily during President Ford’s 1976 campaign.

Related Materials (June 2014)
Related materials include Anne Armstrong Files, Robert Quartel Papers (President Ford Committee Answer Desk Coordinator), Fernando De Baca Files, Thomas Aranda, Jr., Files (Hispanic Affairs, Office of Public Liaison), Patricia Lindh and Jeanne Holm Files (Women’s Affairs, Office of Public Liaison).

SERIES DESCRIPTIONS

Article Requests: Accepted, 1975‑76. (Boxes 1‑6, 2.7 linear feet)
This series consists of correspondence, statements, speeches, clippings, and magazines that document requests for Presidential statements and responses to questionnaires from the media, especially magazines, and organizations. All of these requests were acted on. Requesters were provided with original custom responses suitable for publication.

Arranged alphabetically by publication or organization name. At the beginning of the series are general and chronological files and a log.

View container list for this series

Article Requests: Regretted or Stock Material Provided, 1975‑76.  (Boxes 7‑11, 2.2 linear feet)
This series consists of correspondence, statements, speeches, clippings, and magazines that document requests for Presidential statements and responses to questionnaires from the media, especially magazines, organizations, and individuals. These requests were either declined or requesters received responses from previously released material (e.g., speeches).

Arranged alphabetically by the name of publication, organization, or individual.

View container list for this series

Subject File, (1972-73) 1974‑77.  (Boxes 12‑19, 3.5 linear feet)
This series primarily consists of documents compiled during Frederic Slight’s work assisting Counsellor to the President Anne Armstrong, and later, communications work in the Press Secretary’s office. The series includes extensive reports and data on employment of Spanish-speaking Americans (SSAs) and other minorities, and materials relating to the Cabinet Committee on Opportunities for Spanish Speaking People and the Civil Service Commission’s 16-Point program. The 16-Point program offered assistance to SSAs in joining the Federal workforce. Also included in the series are materials pertaining to women in the Federal Government and includes reports, data, and listing of women appointees and senior level employees.
Another significant portion of this series relates to political affairs and includes Republican National Committee (RNC) research reports and quote books on Jimmy Carter, polling data on candidates and issues, and RNC publications especially related to ethnic affairs. Also included in this series are documents pertaining to employment inquiries, political appointments, article requests, Armstrong speeches, Ford administration factsheets, and lists of news events for White House and agencies during the summer of 1976.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

Publications, 1969‑74. (Boxes 20‑22, 1.3 linear feet)
This series contains publications used for reference. The focus of these publications is employment of minorities by the Federal Government.

Arranged alphabetically.

View container list for this series

CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Article Requests: Accepted

• Article and Questionnaire Requests - General
• Article and Written Interview Request Log
• Articles Published: October 1976 (1)
• Articles Published: October 1976 (2)
• Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association
• Alaska Voters
• American Association of Retired Persons
• American Bar Association Journal
• American Council of Life Insurance Response Magazine
• American Geophysical Union
• American Institute of Architects

Box 2 - Article Requests: Accepted

• American Legion
• American Public Health Association
• American Rifleman
• American Society for Public Administration
• American Society of Safety Engineers
• American Society for Training and Development
• Amoco
• Association of Rehabilitation Facilities
• Better Roads Magazine
• The Catholic News
• Change Magazine
• Christian Life Magazine
• Christianity Today
• Citizens' Committee for Watergate Reform
• Common Cause

Box 3 - Article Requests: Accepted

• Community Education Today
• Direct Selling Association
• Donrey Media Group
• The Dreyfus Corporation
• Jeannette Edelman
• European Community
• Family Weekly
• Farm Journal
• The Farmer
• Federal Bar Association
• Florida Catholic Conference
• Friends Committee on National Legislation

Box 4 - Article Requests: Accepted

• Hearst Newspapers
• Illinois Council Congress Organizations of the Physically Handicapped
• The Italo-American Times
• Jewish Community Council
• Jewish War Veterans Magazine
• Knight Newspapers
• Ladies Home Journal
• The Los Angeles Times
• Massachusetts Children's Lobby
• Michigan Milk Producers Association
• National Association of Broadcasters
• National Association for the Repeal of Abortion Laws (NARAL)
• National Association of Wholesaler-Distributors
• National Business Woman Magazine
• National Enquirer
• National Federation of Independent Business
• National Foundation of the March of Dimes

Box 5 - Article Requests: Accepted

• National Journal
• National Small Business Association
• New York Daily News
• Our Sunday Visitor
• Outdoor Life
• Panax Newspapers
• Pennsylvania and Connecticut News Services
• Prairie Farmer

Box 6 - Article Requests: Accepted

• Psychiatric Institute
• The Reading Eagle
• Retirement Living Magazine
• Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
• San Angelo Standard Times
• Shale Country Magazine
• The Single Parent
• Texas Towns and Cities
• Textile World
• Thompson Newspapers
• Today's Catholic Teacher
• Top Farmers of America/Farmfutures
• Veterans of Foreign Wars

Box 7 - Article Requests: Regretted or Stock Material Provided

• A Public Affair
• Achievement
• Actors' Equity Association
• Adherent
• AFL-CIO
• Agriview
• Akron Newspaper
• Alabama League of Aging Citizens
• Allegany County Republican Committee
• American Agri-Women
• American Banker
• American Council for Capital Formation
• American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages
• American Friends Service Committee
• American Indian Historical Society
• American Judicature Society
• American Nuclear Society
• American Public Power Association
• American Road Builder Association
• Americans for Democratic Action
• Arms Control Association
• Art News
• Association for Education in Journalism
• Association of Junior Leagues
• Association of Mental Health Administrators
• Edward E Barsness
• Bay County Rehabilitation
• Bluefield Daily Telegraph
• Boston Globe Editorial Page
• Jack H. Brandwein
• Hans G. Brauch
• Breeze Publishing
• Bremerton Sun
• Bridge
• Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists
• California Business Education Association
• California Nurses' Association
• California Wildlife Federation
• Carroll Association for Religious Liberty
• Catholic War Veterans
• CATV Magazine
• CB Life Magazine
• Chamber of Commerce of the Rockaways, Inc.
• Chemical Week
• Chicago Bureau of Journal of Commerce of New York
• Chicago Sun-Times
• Christian Action Council
• Christians Care for America
• Chronicle-Tribune (Marion, IN)
• Church of Jesus Christ (Edwardsville, IL)
• Citizens Action Committee to Oppose Big Walnut Reservoir, Inc.

Box 8 - Article Requests: Regretted or Stock Material Provided

• Civil Engineering Magazine
• Clark County Press
• Cleveland State University
• College Press Service
• Dorothy Conaghan
• Committee for Better Transit
• Communications Equipment Distributors Association
• Community Action Program of Evansville, IN
• Community Newspapers
• Concerned Christians of Oklahoma
• Constitutional Rights Foundation
• Context Magazine
• Contra Costa Times
• Robert Cornell
• Correctional Service Foundation
• Council of Construction Employers
• Joseph O. Croteau
• Cruzada Spanish Publications
• Daily Camera (Boulder, CO)
• Danville Area Chamber of Commerce Congressional Action Committee
• Darke County Chamber of Commerce
• Dateline Magazine
• Douglas Davis
• Day Care Council of New York
• Delta AirLines
• Detroit News
• The District Forum
• Dixie Contractor
• Duluth Citizens for Decency Through Law
• Howard Dyote
• Eastern Orange County Chamber of Commerce
• Education and Research Institute
• Electrical Perspectives Magazine
• Eleftherotypia (Athens, Greece)
• K. Barry Ellis
• El Matancero Libre (Miami, FL)
• Emotion Management Magazine
• E-Systems, Inc.
• Exceptional Parent Magazine
• Executive Magazine
• Fairview High School (Grant, LA)
• Family Magazine
• Family Weekly
• FAR-MAR-CO, Inc.
• Fayetteville Times
• Federal Art Patronage Notes
• Festival Magazine
• Fins and Feathers
• Flight Lines Times
• Fortune Society
• Furniture Today
• Genesis Magazine
• The Globe (Sioux City, IA)
• Golf Business
• Goodwill News
• Gordon Kamp Productions
• Gore Newspapers
• Greater Baltimore Board of Realtors
• Greek Press
• Greenville News-Piedmont
• Grossman and Rubin
• Ha Emek Region of United Synagogue Youth
• Hagerstown Jaycees
• Hall-America Media
• Harrisburg (PA) Evening News
• Health Security Action Coalition
• Paul W. Heimil
• Hellenic Journal
• Hofstra University
• Hospital Association of New York State
• Human Events
• House and Home
• House Beautiful
  

Box 9 - Article Requests: Regretted or Stock Material Provided

• Human Events
• Humane Society
• Illinois Federation for Right to Life
• Illinois Society of Anesthesiologists
• Independent Insurance Agents of America
• Industrial Distribution Magazine
• Inquirer Publications Ministries
• International Order of Odd Fellows
• International Yoga and Meditation Conference
• Interstate Oil Compact Commission
• Jewish War Veterans of the United States of America
• Jewish Week
• Jewish Welfare Federation of Toledo
• Journal of International Physicians
• The Kaleidoscope
• Kentucky Citizens for Child Development
• Kokomo (IN) Tribune
• Labor Today
• League of Women Voters of New Hampshire
• Le Militant Catholique International
• Edward T Lewis
• Lexington (SC) Baptist Church
• Libraries Unlimited
• Little Kingdom Come
• Living Biography
• Lodi Middle School
• Ralph E Loewe
• The Long Island Catholic
• Los Angeles Pierce College Roundup
• Edward Lrif
• Lutheran Women
• Dan Martin
• Martinsville-Henry County Chamber of Commerce
• Massachusetts Community Action Program Directors Association
• Massey Business College
• McLean County Farm Bureau
• Media Enterprises
• Medical World News
• Metron Corporation
• Miami Magazine
• Midwestern Association of Teachers of Educational Psychology
• Milwaukee Sentinel
• Ralph Moncrief
• Money Making Magazine
• Ralph Morrell
• Patsy Musler
• Michael J. Myers
• The Naples Record
• Nation's Business
• National Asphalt Pavement Association
• National Association of Black Social Workers
• National Association to Keep and Bear Arms
• National Association of Wheat Growers

Box 10 - Article Requests: Regretted or Stock Material Provided

• National Coalition to Fight Inflation and Unemployment
• National Congress of Affirmative Action Associations
• National Courier
• National Endowment for the Arts
• National Education Association
• National Farm Organization Newsletter
• National Federation of State Youth Service Bureau Associations
• National Organization for Women Legislative Task Force
• National Rehabilitation Association
• National Service Secretariat
• The National Suggestion Box
• Navarro County Farm Bureau
• New Hampshire Times
• New Pittsburgh Courier
• New York Farm Bureau
• New York Public School 19Q Parent-Teachers Association
• New York State Coalition of Concerned Older Americans
• The New York Times
• Michael S. Nugent
• Hodge O'Neal
• Organization of Chinese Americans
• Pacific Palisades Sentinel
• Pacific Stars and Stripes
• Paraprofessional
• Passenger Transit
• Pekin High School (Pekin, IL) - Chuck Baker
• Pennsylvania Association on Probation, Parole, and Correction
• The Pennsylvania Optometrist
• Petroleum Managing Consultants Corporation
• Philadelphia Inquirer
• Physically Impaired News Service
• The Point (University of Connecticut)
• Policeman's Magazine
• Positive People
• Prentice-Hall Media
• Progressive Magazine
• Public Relations Promotions Marketing
• The Record (Hackensack, NJ)
• Remco Enterprises - Bullsheet
• The Republican
• Rock Superstars Poster Magazine
• Sacramento Union
• Saturday Evening Post
• Scholastic Magazine
• Science and Medicine Publishing Co.
• Scoop (Owensboro, KY, High School)
• Senior Scholastic
• Mrs. Edward Settle
• Sierra Club
• Sinh Hoat
• Smithsonian Magazine
• Social Science
• Society of Evangelical Agnostics
• Southwest Virginia Newspapers
• Spirit of American Renewal
• Sports Illustrated
• St. Petersburg Times
• Stromberg Publications

Box 11 - Article Requests: Regretted or Stock Material Provided

• Stuarts Draft Meteorite
• Success
• Suffolk Life
• Tackle Times
• Lawrence Taylor
• Susan Tennenbaum
• Tivy High School (Kerrville, TX)
• Trailer Life
• Dina Tritsch
• Unified Homeowners / Renters of Los Angeles County
• United Focus Journal
• United Kentucky Churches in Action For: Alcohol-Narcotic Education, Moral & Civic
  Righteousness, and Better Government
• United Republicans of California
• United States Association of Evening Students
• United States Catholic
• United States Citizens' Congress
• United States Merchant Marine Academy
• United Steelworkers
• University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
• Utah Retail Grocers Association
• The Valley Voice
• Virginia Council on Social Welfare
• Voluntary Action Center of Champagne County
• Wards World
• Washington International Arts Letter
• WCBS-TV
• Welcome to Finland
• Westin-Ferber Production
• Wisconsin's Environmental Decade
• Anne Wohl
• Women's Action Alliance
• Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
• World Oil
• WQLN
• WTOP Radio
• Yeshiva College
• Youth Beat
• Youth City of Pittsburgh
• Zionist Organization of America - Detroit District

Box 12 - Subject File

• Amnesty
• Biography - Anne Armstrong
• Carter File: 7/1976 - 8/1976
• Carter File: 9/1976 - 10/1976
• Carter File: Quotebook (1)
• Carter File: Quotebook (2)
• Carter File: Quotebook (3)

Box 13 - Subject File

• Carter File: Quotebook (4)
• Carter File: Staff
• Chronological File: August 1974
• Chronological File: September 1974
• Chronological File: October 1974
• Chronological File: November 1974
• Chronological File: December 1974
• Chronological File: January to April 1975
• Chronological File: August / September 1976
• Chronological File: December 1976 / January 1977

Box 14 - Subject File

• Employment Inquiries (1)
• Employment Inquiries (2)
• Media Transcripts - Meet the Press, 6/2/1974
• Memoranda (from Slight) - April to September 1975
• Memoranda (from Slight) - August 1976
• Memoranda (from Slight) - September 1976 (1)
• Memoranda (from Slight) - September 1976 (2)
• Memoranda (from Slight) - October 1976 to January 1977

Box 15 - Subject File

• Messages - Anne Armstrong
• Messages - Presidential
• News Events - Calendar (1)
• News Events - Calendar (2)
• News Events – General
• News Events - Carter
• News Events – Congress
• News Events - Agriculture Department
• News Events - Commerce Department
• News Events - Council on Wage and Price Stability

Box 16 - Subject File

• News Events - Defense Department
• News Events - Energy Research and Development Administration
• News Events - Environmental Protection Agency
• News Events - Federal Energy Administration
• News Events - General Services Administration
• News Events - Health, Education, and Welfare Department
• News Events - Interior Department
• News Events - Labor Department
• News Events - State Department
• News Events - Treasury Department
• News Events - Veteran's Administration
• Organizational Chart and Floor Plan
• Presidential Trips
• Political Appointment / Employment Inquiries Chronological File
• Political Appointment Recommendation Requests (1)
• Political Appointment Recommendation Requests (2)
• Press Releases (1)

Box 17 - Subject File

• Press Releases (2)
• Press Releases (3)
• Republican Party (1)
• Republican Party (2)
• Republican Party (3)
• Spanish Speaking Americans (1)
• Spanish Speaking Americans (2)

Box 18 - Subject File

• Spanish Speaking Americans (3)
• Spanish Speaking Americans (4)
• Spanish Speaking Americans (5)
• Spanish Speaking Americans (6)
• Spanish Speaking Americans (7)
• Speeches - Anne Armstrong

Box 19 - Subject File

• White House Conferences (1)
• White House Conferences (2)
• White House Visitors
• Women in Federal Government (1)
• Women in Federal Government (2)

Box 20 - Publications

• Cabinet Committee on Opportunities For Spanish Speaking People, Annual Report, Fiscal
  
• Year 1972
• Cabinet Committee on Opportunities For Spanish Speaking People, Annual Report, Fiscal
  
• Year 1973
• Counting the Forgotten: The 1970 Census Count of Persons of Spanish Speaking Background
  
• in the United States
• Directory of Minority Media, June 1973
• Directory for Reaching Minority Groups
• Factual Campaign Information, Revised 1972
• Federal Civil Rights Enforcement Effort: A Report of The United States Commission on
  
• Civil Rights, 1971
• The Federal Civil Rights Enforcement Effort--A Reassessment: A Report of The United
  
• States Commission on Civil Rights, January 1973
• Federal Civilian Manpower Statistics, May 1974
• Federal Civilian Manpower Statistics, June 1974

Box 21 - Publications

• Preliminary Report of Minority Group Employment in the Federal Government, 1969
• Study of Minority Group Employment in the Federal Government, November 30, 1969
• Minority Group Employment in the Federal Government, May 31, 1970
• Minority Group Employment in the Federal Government, November 30, 1970
• Minority Group Employment in the Federal Government, May 31, 1971
• Minority Group Employment in the Federal Government, November 30, 1971

Box 22 - Publications

• Minority Group Employment in the Federal Government, May 31, 1972
• Minority Group Employment in the Federal Government, November 30, 1972
• Minority Group Employment in the Federal Government, May 1973
• OMBE Funded Organizations
• Public Information Guidelines, Cabinet Committee on Opportunities for Spanish Speaking
  People, February 1974
• Regional Decision Making: New Strategies for Substate Districts
• Supplement To Nomination and Election of The President And Vice President of The United
  
• States Including the Manner of Selecting Delegates To National Political Conventions