Ford Library Home Skip Navigation Links
  • President & Mrs. Ford
  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Digital Collections
  • Education Center
  • Events
  • Plan Your Visit
  • More Options
President Gerald R. Ford | First Lady Betty Ford | White House Pets
Conducting Research | Textual Collections | A / V Collections | Oral Histories | Artifact Collections | News for Researchers | Research Grants | Contact Us
Permanent Exhibits (Grand Rapids) | Temporary Exhibits: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Online Exhibits | Artifact Collections | Digital Collections | Contact Us
Textual & A/V Collections | Artifact Collections
Museum's Online Education Center | Library Educational Programs: On-Site • Virtual | Public Programs
Upcoming Events | Previous Events
Museum in Grand Rapids Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Tour Groups | School Field Trips | About the Museum
Library in Ann Arbor Hours and Admissions | Maps and Directions | Special Needs | Researcher Accommodations | About the Library
About the Library | About the Museum | Contact Us | Facility Rental: Grand Rapids • Ann Arbor | Museum Store | Volunteer | Internships | Site Map | Search
 

COLLECTION FINDING AID



SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC.:

COLLECTED MATERIALS CONCERNING THE MAYAGUEZ INCIDENT, 1975



CONTENTS

Summary Description | Container List


SUMMARY DESCRIPTION

Audio tapes and photocopies of interview transcripts and notes relating to the Mayaguez incident.The bulk of the material concerns interviews with Mayaguez crew conducted by Donald O'Hare of Sea-Land Service, Inc., in the days following their release.The collection also contains notebooks prepared by Roy Rowan while conducting research for his book Four Days of the Mayaguez (apparently including his own interviews with Mayaguez crew), as well as possible chapter drafts.

QUANTITY
1.0 linear foot (ca. 1000 pages, 20 audio tapes)

DONOR
Sea-Land Service, Inc. (accession number 95-NLF-036 and 95-NLF-037). The Sea-Land interview transcripts and Roy Rowan's notes were copied from the Roy Rowan Papers and given to the Library through the courtesy of Dartmouth College.

ACCESS
Open.

COPYRIGHT
Copyright is presumed to remain with Sea-Land Service, Inc, and Roy Rowan.

Prepared by Jennifer Sternaman, September 1995
[s:\bin\findaid\sea-land service - collected materials.doc]


CONTAINER LIST

Box 1 - Audio Tapes

  • Audio Tapes

Box 1 (Continued) - Roy Rowan Mayaguez File

  • General
  • Interview Transcripts
    - Bayless, Gerald
    - Coombes, Burton (3rd Officer)
    - English, David (3rd Mate)
    - Faria, Americo
    - Greenlin, Vernon (1st Engineer)
    - Guerrero, Carlos (Fireman)
    - Harrington, Clifford
    - Lopez, Gerardo
    - Matthews, Tyrone
    - Minichiello
    - Miller Charles (Captain)
    - Myregard, Jared Clifford (2nd Mate)
    - Newman, James Patric
    - Omer, Munasser Thabit (Officer's Messman)
    - Rappenecker, Alfred J. (3rd Engineer)
    - Salah, Kassam
    - Sanchez, Juan Pacheco
    - Sereno, Anastacio (Seaman)
    - Notebooks (1)-(8)

Box 2 - Roy Rowan Mayaguez File

  • Notebooks (9)-(15)